Skip to main content

Full text of "Illustrated Philadelphia : its wealth and industries. 1889"

See other formats











102 Chambers Streei 







OHE late Dr. Adam Smith's world-renowned work on the Wealth of Nations undoubtedly covers 
the theme of statistical knowledge in such direction so ably as to render the book a classic of 
its type. Yet none the less attractive a subject of a similar character, and one that brings nearer 
rc-il home the marked advancement of our own people, is comprehended in the detailed review 
of the progress and prosperity of individual cities, their merchants and manufacturers, narrowiucr, as it 
does, the uncertain scope of calculations based upon vast aggregate results, and defining in indelible characters 
the vim, energy, and industry of those directly identified with the rearing, growth, and sustenance of our great- 
est commercial centres. Aptly, indeed, has it been said that "knowledge is power," and perhaps in no coun- 
try is the thirst for information more marked than in our own, nor indeed anywhere has that information, when 
acquired, been utilized to more definite purpose, as is amply evidenced by the gigantic commercial ventures and 
the colossal financial interests which are, the world over, synonymous with the term — American Enterprise. 
We take it. in fact, that none, even though he be possessed of but the slightest modicum of patriotism, can do 
otherwise than regard with a species of self-congratulation the creditable reflex of his fellow-citizens' endeavors 
in trade and commerce, and in a perusal thereof acquire such food for reflection as must in some decree inspire 
an incentive to his own efforts, however humble, to emulate the example of those who, perhaps better favorf 
by fortune or circumstances, have climbed to a higher rung in the ladder of commercial fame. Under • .h 
impressions, apart from the purely practical medium this work conveys as a reliable vade-mecum to all l y are 
interested from a trading point of view, and are hence desirous of ascertaining the best purchasing and sell- 
ing centres for their goods, we launch this volume on the market, sparing neither time nor expense to render it 
at once a concise, intelligent and instructive epitome — historically and commercially considered — of America's 
greatest manufacturing centre, Philadelphia, the second city of the Western Hemisphere. The growth of the 
city will here be found traced, based ou the most reliable data, from the period of Philadelphia's inauguration 
by William Penn in 1682 ; her commerce, trade, manufacturing advantages, and representative business houses 
reviewed up to the present date ; her progress collectively in the fields of literature, science, and ar* given 
that appreciative comment so eminently due them ; — the whole forming a revelation of progressive enterprise in 
the annals of American history, surpassed by none and equalled by few, if any, of the cities of the New World. 
That such a work must of necessity prove of interest alike to the political economist, the philanthropist, the 
merchant, the manufacturer, and even the subordinate laborer, goes without the saying, and it affords us no 
small degree of gratification that cot only has the work itself been thus extensively circulated, but that we have 
received from all quarters, during the progress of compilation, such genuine expressions of approbation as are 
contained in the multitude of letters from Philadelphia gentlemen of the highest intelligence, education, and 
financial and commercial standing, bearing their unqualified endorsement of our efforts to reproduce an accurate 
esume of the Quaker City's progress and prosperity, which to-day stands alone in general exhaustiveness and 


1523 ,>, 


unique in point of varied statistical record. To tlie antiquarian the work presents an especially endearing feat- 
ure, Philadelphia possessing more relics of the pa-^t — more edifices around which hang a halo of history — than 
any other city of the Union ; as a manufacturing centre, the name and fame of Philadelphia stands pre- 
eminent from Maine to California; to the man of science no city can boast of better equipped institutions of 
learning ; and to the mechanic, artisan, and journeyman laborer of all classes the diversified character of her 
manufactures opens an avenue for the practical exhibition of their talents nowhere presented to them under 
such favorable auspices. While the compilation of this work has been a tedious and exacting undertaking and 
the contingent expense a weighty item, we feel confident that the highest degree of accuracy has been reached 
in every detail — a fact in a great measure due to the kindly collaboration and assistance afforded our corps of 
reporters by many of the leading city officials and well-known and old established Philadelphia merchants, 
whose personal recollections and opportunities for supplying reliable data were beyond the question of a doubt. 
To such we extend our heartiest thanks, fully recognizing how invaluable an auxiliary their courtesies have 
proved in enabling us to place this record before the community in a complete and authentic form. And with 
this our salutatory bow to the Philadelphia public, we close these few prefatory remarks, and beg to subscribe 


NewTokk. 1889. 

? V 





Abf.ndroth & MANFG. Co., Boilers 263 

Accident Insurance Co., The, of North America 1S1 

Aetna Silk Co 210 

Alber, Gustav, Sausages 266 

Albright, Harrison, Architect 10S 

Allen, R. J., Son & Co., China, Glassware, etc 223 

Allen, W. & T., iV Co.. Manfrs. Clothing 150 

American Life Insurance Co. of Philadelphia ill 

American Writing Machine Co., The 272 

Anderson, Johnston & Co., Children's Carriages, Ve- 
locipedes, etc 120 

Anderson, J. L.. Dry Goods and Notions 252 

Anderson, J. P., & Co., Manfrs. Confectioners' Tools, 

etc 159 

Andover Iron Co 120 

Arata, L., Trunks, etc 194 

Armstrong & Connor, Electrical Contractors. 270 

Ashman, S. A., Machine Blacksmith 245 

Atkin, Hercules, & Co. , Carpets, etc 15 r 

Auchincloss, W. S., Agt. for J. P. Coats' Spool Cotton . 224 

Anschutz, E , Sportsmen's Goods 235 

Bailey, J. F., Iron 230 

Bailey, E. H., & Co., Custom-House Forwarders 244 

Baker & Dallett, Architects 174 

Bancroft, R. F., & Son, Builders, etc 167 

Baraldi, F., Decorator 26S 

Barber. Jas. S., Manfrs.' Agent 239 

Barcus Bros., Manfrs. Coach Housings, etc 176 

Barnes, P. H. , Insurance 270 

Bartleson, H. C, Stencils 242 

Bartlett's, Job, Sons, Furnaces and Ranges 225 

Bartol.G. E., Co. (Limited), General Commission Mer- 
chants..' 1 10 

Barton, H. H., Manfr. Flint Paper, etc 15S 

Baxter, T. E., & Co., Flannel Shirts, etc 265 

Beale, J., Printer .' 237 

Beatty, John, Pharmacist 252 

Beck, Charles, Fancy Papers, Card Board, etc 217 

Becker, Conrad, Designer 246 

Becker, EHwood, Real Estate, etc 1 1 1 

Becker, G. H., Real Estate Agent 24S 

Belknap, Johnson & Powell, Umbrellas and Parasols. 247 

Bell, G. N., Civil and Sanitary Engineer 168 

Bellows, G. M. D., Bookbinder 245 

Benedict & Buruh.mi Manfg. Co., Manfrs. Sheet 

Brass, etc inj 

Banners, E F., Cigars an i Tobacco 266 

Bennett, W. H., & Co., Steel t 5 6 

Bennett, Thos., Carpenter 201 

Bentley, J. O., Stamping Emporium 226 

Benton & Bros., Gold Pen Manfrs 


Betz, H. M., Watches, Diamonds, etc igS 

Bickel, C. A., Manfr. Canes, Crutches, etc 175 

Bickel & Miller, Commission Merchants 155 

Billings & Co., Designers and Constructors of Artistic- 
Memorials J-; 

Bisel, G. T., & Co., Law Stationers, etc nS 

Bisler, G. A., Manfr. Paper Boxes 104 

Bianner, W., Feather Dusters 2 6q 

Blauvelt, H. J., Wholesale Lumber 137 

Blythe, R. A., Warps and Yarns 205 

Bockins, A. A., & Co., China, Glass and Queensivare. 131 , 

Boden, H. C, & Co., Opticians 261' 

Boericke & Tafel, Homoeopathic Pharmaceutists 2/ 

Bond. F., Japanese Goods r 

Boner. W. H., & Co., Music ' , IQ /' 

Bonsall. H. C. & Co., Coal « ' 

Borda, E., & Son, Coal.. .-. 2I _, ' 

Bornemann, W., Bags and Straps — * 2 7 o; 

Borsch & Rommel, Opticians , . 1 

Boston and Philadelphia Steamship Co 12V, 

Boswell & Co., Insurance 254 

Boughton, John W., Parquet Flooring, etc 243 

Bower Bros., Clothing 2 2" 

Boyd, J. R., Hardware 7 ->2 

Boyd, James, & Bro., Belting and Rubber Goods, etc. 117 

Bracher, W., Map Engraver 250 

Branson, J. L., Manfr. Knitting Machines, etc 133 

Braun, C. J., Leather 2; - 

Bridle, H. C Platinotype Enlargements 1 jq 

Brice, W., & Co., General Commission Mrrchants. . . . 1:2 

Briean & Godwin, Architects and Engineers 81 

Brinckman, H., & Co., Oysters, Clams, etc 155 

Brintzinghoffer, C, Brush Manfr ... ;r.f 

Briscoe & Stackhouse, Pharmaceutical Preparat'ons. . . 25 

Bristol, T. M., Merchandise Broker icjty 

Brown's Japanese Curio Bazaars 2 . ,4 

Brown, W., Corset Skirt Manfr 

Brown, S. W., & Co., Platinum Enlaru-nrnts 2: 

* o 

Brown, Thos., Plumber, etc c'- - 

Br^wn Bros. & Co., Bankers 121 

Buchanan, Bromlej & Co., Ph jraphic Materials . i- 

Bunnell, O. S.. Pictures and Cards 

Burk. W. B., & Co., Sporges and Chamois it ., 

Burns. J. E., Co., Spices and Mustard:- 124 





Buschner, C. R., Plumber 237 

Button, S. D., Architect, etc 152 

Caldwell, J. E., & Co.. Jewelers and Silversmiths. . . 114 

Carlile & Joy, Painters T19 

Carr, J. F., & Co., Upholstery Goods 221 

Cassel, J. C, Terra Cotta Ware 270 

Cassel, C. H., & Co., Confectionery 231 

Candela Mining and Smelling Co 175 

Chalmers Spence Co., The, Asbestos Fire Felt Cover- 
ings, etc 11S 

Chandler, T. P., Architect 169 

Chandler & Scheetz, Photographs 266 

Clark, C. W., & Son, Window Shades 109 

Clement, J. B., & Co., Fruit and Produce 265 

Clements, G. E., Furniture 190 

Clifton Iron Co., 137 

Cloud, E. H., Real Estate, etc 1S0 

Collins & M'Leester, Type Foundry 215 

Coles, G. W.. Confectionery 205 

Colesworthy, C. H., Manfr. Shoe Patterns 181 

Columbia Avenue Saving Fund, Safe Deposit, Title and 

Trust Company, and Tenth National Bank, The. . 196 

Columbian Iron Works 219 

Commercial National Bank of Penn 184 

Corn Exchange National Bank Ill 

Commonwealth National Bank 176 

Ccnaway. W. B., & Co., Produce 202 

Tonkle, H. C. Manfr. Darning Cotton 153 

insolidated Manfg. Co., Brushes 213 

v. tinental Manfg. Co., Manfrs. Mucilage, Ink, etc... 19S 

Conway Bros., Toys, Fancy Goods and Novelties.... 123 

\Cook, E. D, & Co., Engineers\Supplies and Oils 259 

Cooke. JaiT 1 "? W., & Co., Cottons and Woolens 230 

Cooper, DyO, Machinist 241 

Cooper, H. C. & Co., Brokers 122 

Cooper, H. L., Wool 115 

Coopsiman, H., Brushes 261 

Corson & Crenshaw, Insurance 247 

Courtney, J. F., Street Railway Supplies 204 

Gowperthwait & Co., Publishers 166 

Coy'.e, H. B., & Son, Blacksmiths 216 

Crew, P. E., & Co., Produce Commission Merchants. 218 

Crompton, J.. & Co., Manfrs. Paper Boxes 160 

Cro'.vther, S., Plumber 226 

Culm, Stewart, Syrups 3 id Molasses 259 

C ;l!en, E. E., Re^ Esraeo etc 200 

C jrr.-n'mgs & Myers, Boiler Manufacturers 222 

Cunninjharn, P. F., .. .-, Publishers, etc 1S2 

Carrey &Trester, Oysters, etc 193 

Curtis, H. C, & Co. , Collars and Cuff's 26S 

Cu [is, John, Society Goods 220 

D.-u. '.r, S„ & Co. Western Farm Mortgages 253 

Dalton & Gray, Frut and Produce 239 

Daniels, H., & Bro., Bookbinders 257 

Darmon, S. S., Whoiesai? Fruit, etc 145 

Day, C. B., & Co., Saddler;, Hardware, and Carriage 

Materials 104 

Day, Alfred, Cloths Dryers, etc 190 


De Cou, R., Scrap Iron 115 

Dell. J. C, & Son, Manfrs. Coffee Mills, etc 158 

De Morat's Photographic Studio 225 

Dengler, D. S., Confectioners' Supplies 264 

Descovich & Co., Ship Brokers 255 

De Zouche, J. J., & Co. (Limited), Furniture, etc 151 

Diehr, A., Silver Plater 267 

Dignan, John, Wholesale Grocer 271 

Dilkes, T., Renovating 260 

Dilkes, G. R., & Co., Forwarding Agents 259 

Dodd, F., & Co., Hatters 194 

Donaldson Iron Co.. Manfrs. Cast Iron Pipe, etc 184 

Donaldson, J. N., & F. A., Insurance 169 

Dornan, W. J., Printer 212 

Doyle's Engraved Brass Signs 231 

Drown, V. D., Architect 2:7 

Duncannon Iron Co., The, Manfrs. Nails and Bar Iron 200 

Dunn, S. W., &. H. L., & Co., Engraving 151 

Durang, E. F., Architect 155 

Durban, E. J., Fire Insurance 179 

Duryea's, Starch and Improved Com Starch, and 

Diamond Sugar Works 180 

Duy. C. A., Agt. for the Fidelity and Casualty Co. . . . 270 

Dye & Datesman, Engineers and Surveyors 136 

Ehfrt, M., Building Materials 1S4 

Edwards, S. R., & Son., Furniture 233 

Ehret, M. Jr., & Co., Distillers Coal Tar, etc 144 

Eichmann, G. T., Merchant Tailor 256 

Eldridge, C. H., Produce Commission Merchant 21S 

Electro Tint Engraving Co 205 

Ellis, J. P., Real Estate 109 

Emmott Spice Co., The (Limited) 200 

Employers' Liability Assurance Corporation (Limited), 

of London, England 146 

England & Bryan, Hides and Leather 144 

Englehart, W. F., Diamond, Watches, etc 116 

Estey, Bruce, & Co., Pianos, Organs, etc 177 

Ettinger, M. N., Picture Frames, etc 222 

Evans, G., & Co., Manfrs. of Uniforms 1 to 

Evans, Thos. R., Boots 240 

Faber, W., & Sons, Sterling Silverware 246 

Faering John, Inspector of Grain 262 

Fagley & Halpen, Tinware 268 

FelJstein. S., Cigars 245 

Fenstemaker. C. D., & Co., Butter. Eggs, etc 197 

Filley, H., & Sons, Manfrs. Silver Plated Ware 176 

First National Bank of Phila 169 

Fisher & Ross, Iron and Steel 156 

Fisk iV Everhart, Glass Signs 186, J. B., Stocks, Oil, and Grain 212 

Foster Pub. Co., The, Chas 238 

Fowler, B. W., Photographer 2&0 

Francis, J?mes G., Conveyancer 229 

Frazier W. C, Carpenter and Builder 226 

Frick, Nathan & Co., Oils 189 

Friedlander, E. H., Steamship Agent '.. 214 

Frishmuth Bro., & Co., Manfrs. Smoking Tobacco, etc. 193 

Fry, J. W. B . Architect 244 




Garrett, R. C, & Co., Produce and Fruit 264 

Geissinger & Hales, Architects 249 

German Fire Insurance Co 117 

Gerson's Leading Millinery, Dress Trimmings and 

Cloak Stores 161 

Ghriskey, C. M., Hardware Comraisiou Merchant 144 

Gilbert & Weinert, Commission Merchants 195 

Gillin, D. F., Printer 260 

Girard Life Insurance Annuity and Trust Co., The. . . . 124 

Glass, James, Packing Boxes 204 

Gleason, E. P., Silk, Linen and Cotton Goods 196 

Goldy, J. M..& Son, Printing , 23S 

Goodall, VV. .B, Diamonds, etc 194 

Goodman, Bros., Clothing 14S 

Greaves, Charles, Machinery 108 

Green, P. G-, Carpetings and Oil Cloths 259 

Grieb, J. L., Tailor 239 

Grieve, W., & Co., Tea Brokers 251 

Groves, Wiison & Groves, Furniture, etc 121 

Guarantee Trust and Safe Deposit Co 123 

Guarantee Co. of North America, The 209 

Gutekunst F. Photogravures, etc 209 

Hackenburg, W. B., & Co., Manfrs. Machine and 

Sewing Silk 148 

Hagan, J. S., Real Estate and Insurance 175 

Haines, Lindley, Banker and Broker 115 

Hail & Carpenter, Tin Plate, etc 164 

Hall, W., & Co., Manfrs. Shoddy, etc 197 

Hall. Geo., Jr., Real Estate 262 

Hall's Old Established Dry Goods Store 256 

Hamburg-Bremen Fire Insurance Co 208 

Hamilton & Diesinger, Manfrs. Silverware 150 

Haney & Heaton, Oysters 270 

Han ford, H. B., .It Co., Boots and Shoes 223 

Harkin & Becker, Manfrs. Shoes, etc 13S 

Hart Cycle Co., Bicycles, Tricycles, etc 227 

Hart, C. A., & Co., Society Goods, etc 259 

Hartford Steam Boiler Inspection and Insurance Co... 114 

Hartley, C. H., & Son, Electro Platers 260 

Hartnett, R. W., & Bros., Printers' Supplies 172 

Harper, B. W., Insurance Broker 175 

Harper, Reuben, & Co., Manfrs. of Heaters and 

Ranges 107 

Harpur, W. E., Watch Maker 237 

Haseltine, C. F.. Haseltine Galleries 1S6, 187 

Hawkins, W. K., Civil Engineer and Architect 211 

Hawkins. E. R., & Co., Cloth 267 

Haworth. J., Photographic Supplies 200 

Headiy, W. L. , & Co., Jewelry and Diamonds 25S 

Hecker & Longaker, Britannia and Silver Plated Ware 232 

Hempstead. O. G. , & Son, Forwarding Agents 219 

Henly's D. Sons, Flowers and Fea'hers 253 

Hensel Colladay Co., Mfrs. of Ladies' Dress Trim- 
mings 179 

Henszey W. C, Jr., Japanese Goods 262 

Hentschke, A.. Propr. Seefeldt Musical Instrument 

Manufacturing Co 171 

Herzog, Geo., Painter irg 

H ; cks & Dickey. Steel .' 146 


Hilborn, D. S., Hatter 24? 

Hilt, D. B., Insurance and Real Estate 205 

Hill, Philip, Belts, School Bags, etc 253 

Hill, R. H. C, Banker and Broker 230 

Hillemann. L., Bottler 207 

Hinds, Ketcham & Co., Color Printers and Litho- 
graphers 227 

Hitchcock, W., Engraver 252 

Hobson, J. F., & Co., Fruit and Produce Commission. 170 

Hodge & Huston, Photographic Enlargements 269 

Hodges W., & Co., House Furnishing Goods 144 

Hollinished Bros., Wholesale Jewelers 162 

Holzbaur, F. J,, Musical Iustruments 21S 

Homer, M., & Son, Toys and Fancy Goods, etc 24S 

Hover's Ink Manufactory 264 

Hovey & Co., Mfrs. Paste igi 

Howard, Bell & Co., Bankers and Brokers 2^9 

Huey's Storage Warehouses. . t6t 

Hulsteyn, L. W., Co., Mechanical Experts 256 

Humphrey's, D. C, Awnings. Signs, etc 120 

Hundertpfund, F., Florist 266 

Hunter, R. M., Mechanical Engineer 136 

Hunter & Dickson, Pipe Fittings, etc 1S2 

Hutton, A., Architect 157 

Illman Bros., Engravers and Printers 219 

Independence National Bank of Philadelphia 134 

Ingram, W. H., Hotel and Restaurant Supplies iS3 

Investment Co., The, of Philadelphia 134 

Irons, Show Cases, etc 231 

Irvine, G. C, & Co., Fruit aud Produce 26* 

Jackson, J. A., Stationery 2- 

Jackson, J. T., & Co., Real Estate 

J-.eger's Sanitary Woolen System Co. , Dr 

Jau\ F. B. V., Medals, etc. , 

James, F. ;._ Cigars 

Jamison, B. K.,& Co., B;'':kc*s '' 

Jaquett, Wm. N., Carpenter and Builder -_ 

Jeffries, I. C, Oysters, Clams, etc 249 

Jessup, C. Oysters, etc 174 

Johnson, L., & Co., Commission Merchants 207 

Johnston, Hollowav & Co . Proprietary Medicines. . . . 147 

Jones, Asa, Cattle Powder 269 

Jones, Charles, Fruit, Vegetables 254 

Jones, F., & Co., Paper Rulers, etc 241 

Kampe, H., & Co., Furniture .V 16S 

Kampen & Schneider. Merchant Tailors 242 

Kane Automatic Fire Extinguisher Co 165 

Kate. H. N.. Dry Goods 220 

Kaufman & Rubin, Underwear 261 

Keating, G. P., Ruf'er Goods 1 ' 

Keim, Geo. De B & Co., Mfrs. Horse Blankets, etc. . .' i_- 

Kelly, M. J., Linen 21 

Kelso, Robert, Iron Beds! -ads. etc 235 

Kennedy, J. H., Painter. 1 id Decorator 260 

Kennedy, R. M., Saw Mfr 233 

Ketler, D. L., Cigars, To' acco, etc 2rt 

Keppler, Julius. Fu in -lure 250 



Keystone Chocolate Co 164 

Keystone Lead Works ... 224 

Kimmig, L. P., & Co., Tobacco 240 

King, Hillman & Gill, Finishers of Cotton Goods 113 

Kirby, F. P., Dog Fancier 220 

Kirchner. J. A., Cutlery Grinder, etc 164 

Kirkpatrick, F. L. Diamonds, etc 219 

Klank, John, Scouring and Dyeing 242 

Knight, T. M., Diamonds and Precious Stones 130 

Kohler, I., German Publisher, etc 17S 

Koons, Jos., Watches, Jewelry, etc 241 

Kreeger & Connolly, Paper Boxes 24S 

Kreider, P. L., Co., Silversmiths, etc. 212 

Kretschman. E. B., Printer 237 

Krupp, P. & Sons, Mfrs. Shoes iSt 

Kunkel & Griffiths, Shoes 226 

Kyser, J. L., Merchant Tailor 246 

Lais S: Co., Wines and Liquors 235 

Lsmon. J, M., Gents' Furnishing Goods 230 

Land Tills and Trust Co., The 20S 

Landis & Co., Wholesale Wood and Willow Ware. . . . 178 

Lane's, D. M. Sons, Coach Makers 263 

LungfeM Bros., & Co., Mfrs. Pocket Books, etc 145 

Lanning, A. H., Heaters and Ranges 214 

Lapp Drug Co 177 

La Roche & Stahl, Florists 240 

Latta & Mulconroy, Rubber Goods 201 

Laubach, W. H., Jr., Apothecary 137 

Lauer, Frank, Cigars 266 

Lautz Bros.. & Co., Soaps 163 

aw and Real Estate Offices of Mershon Bros 22a 

vcock, Wm., Real Estate and Insurance 104 

ock, G., Real Estate, etc 176 

T.. & Co., Iron and Coal * . 

' . P., & Co., Fruit and Produce 242 

p., Pt/xh'-e ind T 1 236 

' . A., & Son, "a,7,or, Niclcel an^ Bronze Goods. . . 127 

i^eeds, Daniel L.. Lawyer and Real Estate 243 

Lehigh Zinc and Iron Co., The 141 

Lehman, J. A., Diamond Setter 241 

Leibrandt & McDowell Stove Co., The 183 

Letchworth, John, Glassware 257 

Leonharc't, T., & Son, Lithographers 265 

Lesher, U.S.. Butter, Eggs and Poultry 256 

Leupoid, T., Tailor , 185 

Leupold, J.. & Son, Tailors 237 

Lewis, H. R., & Co., Oils, etc 132 

Lipman, H. L., Patentee of Eyelet Machines 211 

Lippincott, C, & Co., Mfrs. Soda Water Apparatus... r62 

Lippincott, Johnson & Co., Woolens 224 

Lirigg & Bro., Watches, etc 233 

Lisser & Son, Mfrs. Cigars 171 

Liverpool and London and Globe Insurance Co., The. 106 

Locke, T. M., Carpetings 133 





Lodge. Jacob & Son. Machinisi J *. 
Love, R. T., & Son. Ovsters. . . \ . 

L'M '.-grove & Co. , Engines, B<- > '5, etc 

Lowe. A. C, Looking Glasses 'j tc 2ir 


Luniley, J., Machinery. -. . . . 129, 

Macintosh, S. G., Leather and Shoe Goods 259 

Mair & Cranmer, Sail Makers 140 

Magruder, R. B., & Co., Mfrs. Specialties, etc 153 

Maguire, E. T., Whiskeys, etc 221 

Maker, S. S., Engraver |„ 

Malone, A. J., Paint Mfr 2 I0 

Malseed & Reeves, Insurance. 25s 

Mangam, F., Blank Books and Stationery 210 

Mann, E. R., Steel, Iron, etc '. 262 

Manufacturers' National Bank, The 137 

Maris, J. M., & Co., Druggists' Fixtures, etc 2C7 

Maris & Smith, Bankers and Brokers 263 

Martel, John, Bleacher 260 

Martin, D. B., Hides and Skins 263 

Martin, A. M., Fancy Goods 264 

Martin, L.. & Co., Mfrs. Lamp Black 161 

Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Co 165 

Masters, Detweiler & Co., Clothing no 

Mayer, Sons, & Co., Whiskeys 127 

McCandless, W. J.. & Co., Plumbing 1S3 

McCauley, J. W., Packing Boxes 264 

McCargo. E. E. Steel 192 

McCay, John, Mfr. Packing Boxes- j6o 

McLane, W., Stables ■ 24; 

McLear & Kendall, Wagons and Carriages 1S0 

McColley, J. O.,' Jr.. Furniture ■ 206 

McCollin, T. H. & Co., Photographers' Supplies 132 

McFarland, E., Standard Heaters, etc 139 

McGrath, Charles, Cotton and Wool 249 

McKay, S. K,, Conveyancer, -etc 237 

McKee Bros., Carpenters 239 

McKinley & Horn, Fancy Goods, etc 230 

McKinley, Lanning, Loan & Trust Co., The 204 

McManus, L., Chemicals, etc 197 

McManus, Phil, Butter Merchant 22S 

McN'eeley & Co., Mfrs. Morocco and Kid 192 

Mechanics Insurance Co., The 159 

Melloy's ]. M., Sons, Tinware, etc 194 

Menke & Devitt, China, Glassware, etc 190 

Merchant & Co., Tin Plate, etc 107 

Merchant's National Bank 170 

Merchant's House 202 

Merchant's Exchange Bank 121 

Meriden Fire Insurance Co 265 

Merion Iron Co., Mfrs. Pig Iron 195 

Meyer & Dickinson, Dry Goods 120 

Meyers, D., & Co., Clothing 253 

Michael, W. H., Fruits 147 

Middleton, L., Real Estate, etc 17S 

Miller, Geo. & Son, Wholesale Confectioners 113 

Miller, G., & Sons, Wholesale Shoe Mfrs 193 

Miller, H. E., Real Estate 171 

Miller, Crawford. Insurance 230 

Moland. Wm., & Sons, Provisions 125 

Montgomery's Preparations 210 

Morley, J. B., & Co., Tailors. 13; 

Morse & Conipton, Woolens 25S 

Morris, S., & Son, Mfrs. Heaters, Ranges, etc 147 




Morris, Tasker, & Co. (Incor.), Mfrs. Boiler Tubes, etc. 142 

Moses & King, Architects 22S 

Moss, H. T., Plumber.." 245 

Moyer, Thos & Bro., Harness, Saddle and Trunks.... 269 
Muller. G. Ph., & Co., Manfrs., Ladies', Misses,' and 

Children's Straw Goods 156 

Munn & Shivers. Printers 235 

Murtha. P. E.. Boxes 263 

Murphy, M., Bookseller and Publisher 256 

Mustin's Original Trimming Store 127 

Mutual Aid Union Beneficial Association tig 

Myers & Taylor, Felt Hats, etc 222 

Myers, A. & H.. Whiskeys 195 

Myers, T. J., Wall Papers 191 

Nace & Swartlev. Produce 1S9 

Naegele, Watch and Jewelry Co 263 

National College of Commerce 154 

National Electric Service Co 223 

Naylor, Charles, Military and Society Goods, etc 214 

Newnam & Sons, Engravers and Plate Printers 122 

Newton, A. E, & Co., Stationers 251 

Nice & Schreiber, Produce 261 

Nisbet, Michael, Real Estate 234 

Noblit, D. & J. C, Upholstery Goods 162 

Norris, A. E., & Co.. Whiskeys 163 

North British & Mercantile Ins. Co 139 

Nye & Tredick, Manfrs. Knitting Machines 163 

Oak ford Isaac & Son, Hatters 239 

Oberteuffer & Marlin. Bookbinders 269 

Oehrle Bros. & Co., Cords, Chenilles, etc 249 

Office Specialty Mfg. Co 244 

Okie, F. E., Printing Ink 236 

O'Neill Bros., Printers 234 

Orth & Co., Sleeve Buttons, Scarf Pins, etc 241 

Outerbridge. D. A., Produce Dealer 257 

Owen &. Co., Manfrs. and Printers 1S5 

Pacific Mutual Life Ins. Co. of California, The,. 249 

Paisley's, Fine Shoes , 252 

Palmer, J. T., Printer 216 

Pancoast, K., Shoes 221 

Pardee, A. & Co. , Coal 223 

Parker, John, Manfg. Co., Manfrs. Elastic Surgical 

Hosiery 105 

, Parker, J. Jr. & Co., Shoes 250 

Patrick & Carter, Manfrs. Electrical Supplies 139 

Patterson & White, Printers. .. 252 

Paxson, Comfort & Co., Funeral Supplies lS3 

Penn Mutual Life Insurance Company The 103 

Pen nock, J. E. &" A. L., Builders 219 

Pennsylvania Steel Co 159 

Pennsylvania Salt Manfg. Co., Manufacturing Chemists 

and Importers of Kryolith 130 

People's Mutual Live Stock Insurance Co. of Penn. . . . 192 

Perry, C. P.. Oils. Paints, etc 17S 

Perpignan. W. II., Tailor T37 

Pfciffer, F. C. Fancy Goods 241 

Pfeil & Co., Pfeil's Antidote for Alcoholism iSS 


Phelps & Bigelow, Windmill Co 219 

Philadelphia Hardware Specialty Co 160 

Philadelphia Mortgage & Trust Co 167 

Philadelphia Emery Wheel Co 233 

Philadelphia Ornamental Wire Co., H. A. Darby, Propr. 14S 

Philadelphia Wood Engraving Co 245 

Phillips, H. F., Oysters 1S2 

Phillips, M., Wholesale Manfr. Ladies', Misses', and 

Childrens' Shoes 134 

Picard, Sylvan, Optician 229 

Piper, W. H. & Co., Coal and Coke 267 

Pitt. Jesse & Co., West India and Florida Fruit 234 

Potter, Thomas, Sons & Co. Manfrs. of Oil Cloth 107 

Powell, C. S., Watches, etc. . . 264 

Price, Thos'. W. Co., The, Manfrs. Paper, Envelopes, 

Cards, etc 188 

Pritchard, A. S., Penman 221 

Provident Savings Life Assurance Society of New York. 112 

Pulaski, M. H. & Co., Mfrs. Embroideries, etc 131 

Pursell, Isaac, Architect 129 

Pyle-Knadter Baking Co., The 221 

Quaker City Odorless Co 240 

Raleigh, W., Insurance Broker 145 

Randolph, Wm. C, Napkin and Harness Decorating 

Rings, etc 232 

Real Estate Trust Co. of Phila., The 112 

Real Estate Investment Co., The, of Phila 146 

Redner, L. H., Real Estate 24S 

Reese, D. A., Engraver of Jewelry 220 

Reformed Church Publication House 117 

Reicher:. F. , Oysters , ... 2)5 

Reiff, Wentz & Co., Wholesale Grocers \ .. 173 

Reutlinger, F. J., Steel Stamp Cutter. .• 261 

Rhoads, J. C, Insurance 207 

Richardson, J. O., Pig Iron 160 

Richelderfer's Bazaar, J. H 225 

Riehle Bros., Manfrs. Scales if.3 

Riggs & Co., Brokers m6 

Righter & Gibson, Bookbinders 234 

Riley, Wm. B. & Co., Horse Clothing, etc 215 

Ristine, Charles, Electro Plater 235 

Roberts, Taylor & Co., Manfrs. Paints, etc 135 

Roberts & Williams, Wholesale Fruit and Produce tjr 

Roberts, J., Carriage Builder 236 

Rockfellow, C. F., Wholesale Liq\:"r 147 

Rodrigo, P., Flower and Feather Manfr 268 

Roedel. W. K.. Cigars 227 

Rogers, T A. & Son, Oysters 104 

Roig, A. & Langsdorf (Limited), Manfrs. Cigars 179 

Rollison, R., Wood Turner, etc 193 

Roorbach, W. L., Extracts 240 

Rose Glen Paper Mills, A. G. Elliot & Co., Manfrs... 170 

Rosenthal. F. S., Yarn 122 

Rowe & Terry, Auctioneers and Commission Mer- 
chants 251 

Rowe, J. M., Son & Co. Br n and Brush Makers' 

Supplies T?7 

Rue, Theodore, Propr. Quaker City Stencil Works.... 224 


Rumpp, Chas 
Runge, G. & 

chants '"" 

Russell G W., Wair.hes and Clocks 

Ryer, E. C, Mangr. Vermont Life Ins. Co. 

SALTER, J. G., Mirrors, Picture, etc 

Fancy Leather Goods 

*Co., Importers and Commission 


. 240 




t 5 8 


. 206 


k, Importers of Diamonds and Precious 

Sanford & Cook, Importers o. """'"'" ~_ Kq 

Stones 2l2 

San Gabriel Wine Co., Wines •••••; 

Mezzotinto and Line Plate Prmtmg HI 

Proprs. Popular Hosiery Mills. . 

Sartain, H., 
Sasman, C. & G 

Sautter, P. F., Confectioner 

Saunders, W. H.. Hatter 

Savage. J. G., Oysters, etc. .......... 

rgood. S. S. & Co., Fruits, Nuts, eU... . . . • • 

■ and Engraver on Wood 


Serfass, J. 








I go 










Druggists and Chemists. 

Scattergood. D., Designer 

Scharff A., Canes and Umbrellas 

Scheibal, O., Picture Frames 

Schellmger, D. & Son, Manfg. Jewelers 

scholl B. F., Physician and Pharmacist 

Schrack & Sherwood, Funeral Supplies 

Schimpf & Keim, Boiler and Manfg. Co 

Schroeder, C Engraver •' - ' "l," "' " 

Schwartz & Graff, House Furnishing Goods 

Schymik & Lauer, Cigars.. - • ■ ••;■■•"'" ' c '' 

Seavey Foster & Bowman, Agts. Eureka Mfg. Co. 

Seidel, G. C Real Estate Broker £» g 

Selden, A. W-, Printer 

E E Papers, Twines, etc. . 

R., Real Estate and Commercial Broker 
. " iv \f *■ F W Cotton Yarns 

V ommunication 

Shea W. P., & Co., Whiskeys 

Sheafer. W. H„ & Co.. jewelry 

Sheafer, Henry C, Florist 
Shoemaker. R.. & Co 

Sheppard, A., Tea? ........ 1 

Shuster Bros., Tailors • ■"■• 

Sicker, A. H-, & Co., Printed Wrapping Papers 

Silver I P., Photographer 

Simmons. A. H.. Pianos, Organs, etc. 

Simmons, J., Paper and Rag Warehouse 

Simpson, W. A., & Son. Insurance. •••■■••■" • 

Sims & Sons, Photographic Copying House.... 

Sitley. J.M. W., Fruits 

Slifer, C. A., Mfr. of Mirrors 

Sloat, A. B.,Real Estate an 

Slocum. S- 6 ^^:" woodworking Machinery US 

Smith, H. B.. Machine Co., \\ 00a »«">■ b 

Smith & Dreer, Watchmakers 

c~;,h r \ & Co Cigars and Tohacco 

Smith Bros.,' Designers and Engravers on 

Smith, W. H.. Hardware 

Smith, C. E., Signs and Show Cards. 
Smith, Jer„ & Bro., Shipping Agents 
Snowden, W. H., Chairs 

Snyder, W., Knitting Machinery ■ 

Soistmann, J. W., Drums, Banjos, etc 

Spangler, E. J., & Co,. Mfrs. Envelopes, etc 

Spellier Electric Time Co., The ■•""." 

Sprague W. & Co., Millwrights and Machinists... 

Springer E., & Co., Dolls and Fancy Goods 

Sprog'ell, C. B., Real Estate and Mortgages 

Stahl & Straub, Bankers and Brokers 

Stambach & Love, Plumbers' Supplies :.■ 

Standard Suspender Co 

Star Novelty Co., Childrer s Caps 

Starr, J., Photographer ■■-'• 

State Mutual Life Assurance Co. of Worcester, Mass 

Stevenson. F. R., Real Estate 

Stevenson Bro. &. Co., Oils, etc 

Steinman's Bonnet Bleachery 

Sterling Watch Co., Watches, Chains, Lockets, etc.. 

Sternberger, S., & Co., Shirt Mfrs 

Stewart, C, Contractor 

Stewart. R. P. & Co., Fruits and Vegetables 

Stockham & Rowley, Oysters, etc 

Stoddart. J. A., Real Estate 

Stolpp, C. G., Cutlery, Shears, etc 

Stoy, C. H., Fish .••••• 

Street, H., Optician 

Sturtevant, C. A., Machinist 

Sullivan & Bro., Hosiery, Gloves, etc 

Suplee, H. H., Consulting Engineer 

weeting's Central Cycle Store 





207 ' 











, 205 

. 250 

. 260 

. 233 

• 257 

. 171 

- 109 

. 229 






j 66 
, 252 





nd Mortgage Broker 255 



Wood 214 



... 136 


TATHAM & BRO., Sheet Lead, Lead Pipe, etc 

Taylor, N. & G., Co., Tin Plate, Metals, etc 

Taylor Bros., Electro Platers 

Taylor, B. F., Photographer on Wood 

Teller, B. F., & Bro.. Real Estate, etc 

Terry O. T., & Co,, Cloths, etc " "TV 

Teufe'l, J. ]-, & Bro.. Mfrs. Surgical and Dental In 


Textile Machine Co. (Limited) 

Thomas, S. H. , Stock Broker 

Thomas. I. P.. & Son, Co., Mfrs. Fert.lizers '73 

Thomas, Joel, Ruches, Ruffling, etc.. . 

Thompson, J. C, Printer 

Thompson, F. B., Real Estate, etc. 
Thompson, Thos., Sons & Co., 

Goods, etc 

Thompson, W. H., Cotton and Woolen... 
Toomey, Frank, Engines, Boilers, etc... 
Trachsel, J. C. F., Steam and Gas Fitter 

Tredick, Charles, & Co.. Insurance 

Trimble, Sides & Co., WholesaleGrorer 
Trinidad Asphaltum Block Co 

Tmitt.C. B., jr., Real Estate 

Turner & Co., Auctioneers 

Twaddell, J. D., Shoes - 

Twitchell. S., & Bro., Bottlers' Supplies 

Tygert, J. E.,& Co., Fertilizers -.■";;■•■ 

Tyson & Newton, Mfrs. of Self-Wringing Mops 

Mfrs. Upholstery 




The, Paving Blocks. 


19 3 

■ 174 
. 232 
. 251 

Ulrich & Bell, Tailors' Trimmings. 


\J u it c n. rt L I IN U t A . 


Union Credit Co. of Philadelphia i 2 ' 5 

Union Trust Cu., The , Iro 

United States Paper Box Factory I 9 6 

Urff, Wm., Violins, Banjos, etc 231 

U. S. Plate Glass Insurance Co 247 

Vail, J. I.., Carpenter and Builder 22 r 

Vallee Bros. & Co., Mfrs. Electrical Supplies i 4 g 

Vandegrift & Bro., Produce Commission House 227 

Vendig, I. H., Overalls 20 g 

Voigt, C. A., Violins, Cellos, etc 2 ,S 

Vollrath, J. C , & Co., Tailors r S 5 

Waits & Van Harungen, Engineers I2 g 

Wagner & Taylor, Insurance I57 

Wall &'lreland, Wool "'/ 24Q 

Waller & Co., General Passenger Agents iq 2 

Walter, V. W., Tin Roofer, etc r=7 

Wanamaker, John, General Outfitter II2 

Wando Phosphate Co. of Charleston, S. C, Chas. 

Richardson. Propr t q . 

Ware and Degrasse, Coopers, Guagers, etc 2 6 7 

Warner, C. E., & Co., Fish, etc IOO 

Warr & Canby, Commission Merchants inn 

Warrington & Son, Fruit and Produce 247 

Watson, J S.. Jr., Files, Blacksmith Supplies, etc 153 

Watson & Peale, Plumbers x j r 

Wattson, Thos., & Sons, Commission Merchants....:. 2 6g 

Way Foundry Co., The 2U2 

Webb. Harry A., Art Photographer 2 ~6 

Weidener, A. J., Chandeliers. Lamos. etc 213 

Welch & Kelly, Shoes _ 2 - 7 

Welker, C. Cutler 2 o r 

Wemmer, E. V.. Wood for Engravers 244 

Wenzell & Co., Brokers in Petroleum in- 

West Philadelphia Odorless Excavator 250 

Wetherill, G. D., & Co., Drugs and Chemicals 202 

Wctherill, S. P., & Co., The (Limited), Mfrs. Indian/"" 

Tuscan, and Venetian Reds, etc Iq . 

Whaley, J. D., Printer . 202 

Wheeler and Wilson Mfg. Co., Sewing Machines' 108 

Whelen. T.. & Co., Bankers, etc "' , 6 

Whilt, J. J., Wrappers, Aprons, etc , 28 

White, G. W., Engraver on Wood 220 

White, Hentz X Co., Whiskeys, Wines, and Liquor's' '. '. l2 6 
Whitefield Mills of Newburyport, G. M. Fleming, 

Representative 1( jl 

Whiting Paper Co t 20x 

Wigmore, W. H., Surgical Instruments 2I? 

Wigton, R. B. & Sons, Coal I2 , 

Wilkins, W. P., Fruit and Produce 254 

Wilkinson's, C. Sons, Wholesale Fruits i 52 

W r illcox Paper Co., The, Jas. M " 2 i6 

Willes, H. A., Hardware and Stoves 2IQ 

Williams, R. M., Mfrs. Ladies', Misses', and Children's * 

Shoes ! 175 

Williams, A. H., Real Estate • 238 

Wilson, I. J., Bake House Machinery 220 

Windrim, J. T., Architect 1 -. 

Wisslicen, G. B., Wood Turning 207 

Wolf & Co., Fi^Art Novelties i3 2 

Woltjen, J., Broker , . 

Wright Bros. & Co., Mfrs. Umbrellas, etc I3 8 

Wurffiein, W., Sporting Goods, etc I( \ 

Wysham, Thos., Printing 220 

Yard, C, Broker, etc IPO 

Yarnall, E. A., Surgical Instruments 2 3 

Young & Sons, Mfrs. Engineering Instruments 165 

Zane, C. E., Leather, etc ,- 4 

Zentmayer, J., Optician ,„ 

Ziebers, W. B., Literary Emporium ISO 


■ ■■•■ :- .. -■ 


is one of the most marvelous 

cities of this marvelous New 

World — marvelous in its 

growth, in its manufactures 

the, dXj^ " No^ffi T'l.o^rsr^Ei'f". anc ^ commerce, in its civil and educational institutions, 

and in its uprising, within the range of little more 
==Sr"w- r~ than two and a half centuries, from a broad expanse 

of wilderness, peopled only by men and beasts as savage as each other, to the plane of one of the mightiest 

and most intelligent and progressive of the nations of the earth. Two hundred and seven years a 1 .'" in 

1682 — the famous William Penn planned the city of Philadelphia, but on a very much smaller scale than 
it is to-day. So well have the world's records of the past three hundred years been kept, that they bring 
down to us something of interest touching Philadelphia from an epoch when there "was 
no city at all, where now about a million inhabitants "move, live, and have their bein^," 
and when there was nothing but an absolute wilderness, traveled only by the bear and 
wolf, and the Red Men in pursuit of the chase. It is that, a score of years before Penn 
was born, the great Swede, Gustavus Adolphus, conceived the idea of a city of brotherly 
love in this very wilderness, mad.: a plan for it, and -'jned a contract pledging him- 
self to found and support it. Gustavus was a man and a monarch who looked 
ahead of his times; for there was very little of the brotherly love in the 
world in his dav. 

On all sides of him in Europe, religious fanatics — Protest- 
ants and Catholics — were but t< iger to clutch each other 

by the throat, and that never-ending struggle between rich and _ 

poor was as tierce then as it is to-day. If his biographers have 
spoken truthfully of him, Gustavus had a gigantic and healthy 
body and a nature that was heroic and generous. It became a 
mania with him to found a city '-where every man should have 
enough to eat, and toleration to worship God as he chose;" 
and that city he wished to see arise on the banks of the Dela- 
ware, "peopled by wild beast- and cannibals." In lt'>-Jb\ he issued 
an •• octroi " to Usselinx, giving authority to a trading company to -j 
emigrate to this land of savagery, and to "found a state absolutely 


- - , ( 


free, an asylum for the oppressed of every creed, where every man should enjoy the fruits of his own .abor." 
And, then, the land was " to be fairly bought from the wild peoples;" and the founders of this ''city of broth- 
erly love" were commanded by the king to teach these "wild peoples" the truths of the Christian religion, 
and to permit no slavery of any kind ; for, added his majesty, " the Swedes are industrious and intelligent 
citizens, whereas slaves cost much, labor with reluctance, and soon perish." Before, however, the expedition 
could set out to found this "New Sweden," trouble with the Poles arose, followed by the Thirty Years' War; 
and ere Gusta^us Adolphus could carry out his design, death claimed him for its own. But his purpose was 
not forgotten by his descendants, who, in 1637, seut out an expedition in his name, and his memory lived in 
the hearts of those who left their native soil for the new land, where they dwelt in caves at Wicaci and built 
mud lodges, in the fishing season, between the two rivers. These new settlers were exceptionally honest, just, 
and chaste. Convicts or persous of dissolute character had been forbidden to emigrate to this " New Sweden," 
which was regarded in Stockholm as "the jewel of the Swedish crown" — a fact in which Gustave's regal suc- 
cessors took great pride. 

The Swedish settlers occupied a narrow strip of ground along the rivers, on the edge of the forest, now 
known as Southwark, in Philadelphia. It begins below South Street, and runs down to the Neck, where now 
abound ship stores, junk-shops, and vessels. The Swedes found here a green, unbroken wilderness, and gaunt 
trees rearing their tops aloft and nodding in the breeze. Here they dug out caves and lived in them for a 
year or two, erecting, when the time seemed ripe for such a risky venture, log-huts calked with mud and 
lighted by holes cut in the walls. Herein the Swansons, the Keens, the Bengtsens, Kocks, and Rambos — the 
progenitors of the present affluent families bearing these names — lived, "in great quiet and great idleness," as 
Campanius relates, taking life much more easily, perhaps, than do their wealthier descendants to-da\. They 
barely worked the ground enough to furnish the winter's food; dressed in skins, and were happy. Though 
hasty in temperament, they were kindly in disposition, and extended open hands to the English when the lat- 
ter asked leave to settle there; but shut out the Dutch, who claimed the soil as their own. When Penn came, 
' he. declared them to be more sober and industrious than the people of other nations. By every chance that 
offered, the Swedes wrote to their fatherland, praying that "godly men might be sent to them to instruct their 
children, and help themselves to lead lives well pleasing to God." It was six years before their prayers were 
answered by the arrival of Rudman and Bjork — the first clergymen sent out by the Swedish king. These ex- 
pounders of the Gospel wrote home that they " found a block-house in use as a church, and but three books in 
nse among the colonists; yet these for sixty years had been so carefully cherished and loaned from house to 
house that every child could read." They reported, too, that the utmost good feeling existed between the 
colonists and the Indians — a friendship which had been established half a century before Penn's famous treaty 
with the Red Men was made. 

Immediately after the arrival of Rudman and Bjork, Gloria Dei Church, known now in Philadelphia as 
Old Swedes', was erected by the zealous, pious settlers; carpenters and masons giving their work, and the pas- 
tor laboring as a hod-carrier. The main body of the church remains in its original state. The tablets in the 
church remind those who read the inscriptions upon them, of the sacrifices and self-denial of the early mission- 
aries who arc buried below; and the chubby gilt cherubs in the choir, sent out from Sweden, still support the 
open Bible, with the significant, inscription, •' The people who sat in darkness have seen a great light." Wilson, 
the ^rcat ornithologist, was buried in the yard connected with this church. 

There are many interesting records extant of the first Swedish settlers in Philadelphia — histories of tedious 
squabbles with the Dutch; the rare book of Campanius on the wonders of Nye Sewerige, published in Stock- 
holm ; and the pictorial maps of Lindstrom, wherein is a numerous showing of wild beasts, rattlesnakes of 
immense size, and shad as long as a rope-walk. There are musty old manuscript records of the first courts 
of justice; their "fyncs of wampum and beaver," and the order of flogging, which an Indian laid on with 
hearty good- will; decrees of the court for "ze setting of 52 wolfe pitts, to restrain ze dayly spoyle and dam- 
adge wh. ze woolvcs commit on ze people;" and a " fync imposed on Oele Oelssen" for having thrashed the 
magistrate. Oele's fine, however, was remitted, after he had made a public statement that he was a poor man 
w" ■£,■) large family dependent upon him, on condition that he should humbly and publicly submit himself to 
■I magnate. This practice of remitting punishment, when a wrong-doer publicly humiliated himself, 
' until long after the Revolution, in Philadelphia. 

coming of Rudman and Bjork, there were some buccaneers of clergymen let loose among the 



honest Swedish folk. Among those were Fabritius, .a wild, quarrelsome fellow, ami Lokenius, " whose only 
fault was a love of liquor." The latter, when a layman ran away with Fabritius"s wife, and he went after them, 
not to recover his spouse, but a chest they had carried off, and when he returned, he applied for a divorce to be 
granted in ten days, declaring his family affairs required him to many in that time. And on the court declining 
to be convinced, he quietly, married himself, and kept his wife, too, in spite of both the court and public- opinion. 
He soon after distinguished himself as a student until he was expelled on account of his religious opinions. 
Afterward he travelled on the Continent; was again a student atSaumur; returned to study law in London; 
went to Ireland; became a soldier; heard the preaching of Loe, and was converted to the Quaker faith. His 
^oointed and angry father expelled him from hi- house; but he was not to be tunica a hair's breadth from 



his course, for he publicly proclaimed the doctrine of the Friends and was arrested and imprisoned in the Tower 
of London for nine months. Being released he repeated the offence, and lay for half a year in a dungeon at 
Newgate. A second time liberated, but despairing of toleration for his people in England he east his gaze across 
the Atlantic again. For more than a quarter of a century the Friends had been buffeted with shameful perse- 
cutions. Imprisonment, exile, and proscription had been their constant portion ; but that had not sufficed to abate 
their zeal or to quench their hopes of the future. The lofty purpose and philanthropic spirit of Fenn urged 
him to rind for his afflicted people a haven of rest. West Jersey was purchased from the heirs of Sir George 
Carteret, to whom the State of New Jersey had been conceded and who was the first governor of the State; 
but the boundary of the Friends was narrow, and the great-souled proprietor sought a grander and more beau- 
tiful domain. Then, the agent of Andros, the governor of New York in the interest of the Duke of York, was 
stationed at New Castle, on the western bank of the Delaware, to command the entrance to the river, and the 
Quaker ships were obliged to pay customs before proceeding to their destination. This led to a protest; and 
on the matter bein^ carried into the English courts a decision was given that the Duke of York through his 
agents had no right to collect customs or taxes in the country of the L>elaware. Thus tLe Quaker colonists 
were left in the enjoyment of independence. Though William Penn and eleven other Friends also purchased 
from the heirs of Carteret the province of East Jersey, and brought the whole of New Jersey under the au- 
thority of the Friends after he had obtained the grant of Pennsylvania in which to found a colony, it was in 
Pennsylvania that his chief interest centered. He had gone boldly in June, 1680, to King Charles, and had 
petitioned fur a grant of territory and the privilege of founding a Quaker commonwealth in the New World. 
The petition was supported by powerful friends in Parliament. Lords North and Halifax and the Earl of 
Sunderland favored the proposition, and the THike of York remembered a pledge of assistance which he had 

v^ ft ^^Mm few! 


, looking east from Eleventh Street 


given to Perm's father. On the 5th of March, 1681, a charter was granted with the royal signature, and Will- 
iam I'enn became the proprietor of Pennsylvania. The vast domain embraced under the new patent was 
bounded on the east by the river Delaware, extended north and south over three degrees of latitude, and west- 
ward through five degrees of longitude. Only the three counties comprising the present State of Delaware 
were reserved for the Duke of York. 

Penn, in consideration of this grant, relinquished a claim of £16,000, which was owing to his father's 
estate by the British government. He proclaimed that he intended to found a free commonwealth without 
respect t<> the race, color, or religion of the inhabitants; to subdue the natives with no other weapons than love 
or justice ; to establish a refuge for the pe iple of his own faith, and to enlarge the borders of the British empire. 
One of the first acts of the great proprietor was to address a letter to the Swedes who might be included within 
the limits of his province, telling them to be of good cheer, to keep their homes, make their own laws and fear 
no oppression. Within a month from the date of his charter, Penn published to the English nation a glowing 
account of his new country beyond the Delaware, praising the beauty of the scenery and salubrity of the climate, 
promising freedom of conscience and equal rights, and inviting emigration. There was an immediate and hearty 
response. William Markham, agent of Penn, came with the first batch of emigrants, as deputy-governor of the 
province. He was instructed by Penn to rule in accordance with law, to deal justly with all men, and especially 
to make a league of friendship with the Indians. In October of the same year, Penn sent a letter directly to 
the natives of the territory assuring them of his honest purposes and brotherly affection. The next care he had 
was to draw- up a frame of government for his province. Herein was his great temptation. He had almost 
exhausted his father's estate in aiding the persecuted Quakers. A stated revenue would be very necessary in 
conducting his administration. His proprietary rights under the charter were so ample that he might easily- 
reserve for himself great prerogatives and emoluments in the government. He had before him the option of 
being a consistent, honest Quaker, or a politic, wealthy governor. He chose like a man ; right triumphed over 
riches. The constitution which he framed was liberal almost to a fault, and (be people were allowed to adopt 
or reject as they might see fit. In the meantime, the Duke of York had been induced to surren ier his claim to 
the three reserved counties on the Delaware. The whole country on the western bank of the bay and river, 
from the open ocean below Cape Henlopen to the forty-third degree of north latitude, was now under the 
dominion of Penn. The summer of 1682 was spent in further preparation. The proprietor wrote a touching 
letter of farewell to friends in England, gathered a large company of emigrants, embarked for America, and on 
the 27th of October landed at New Castle, where the people were waiting to receive him. As soon as the 
landing was effected, Penn delivered an affectionate and cheerful address to the crowd of English, Dutch, and 
Swedes who came to greet him. His former pledges of a liberal and just government were publicly renewed, 
and the people were exhorted to sobriety and honesty. From New Castle the governor ascended the Delaware 
to Chester, past the site of Philadelphia, visited the settlements of West New Jersey, and then traversed East 
Jersey to Long Island and New York, whence, after spending a short time there, he returned to his own province 
and began his duties as chief magistrate. Markham had, before Perm's arrival, made treaties with, purchased 
lands from, and extended friendship to the Indians. Now a great conference was appointed with the native 
chiefs. All the sachems of the Lenni-Lenapes, and other native tribes were invited to assemble. The council 
was held on the banks of the Delaware. Penn, accompanied by a few unarmed friends, clad in the simple garb 
of the Quakers, came to the council ground, and took his place under a venerable elm. The chieftains, after 
their custom, sat in a semi-circle on the ground. It was not Perm's object to purchase land, to provide for the 
interests of trade, or to make a formal treaty, but rather to assure the untutored children of the woods of his 
honest purpose and brotherly affection. Standing before them with grave demeanor, and speaking through an 
interpreter, he said: " My friends, we have met on the broad pathway of good faith. We are all one flesh and 
blood. Being brethren, no advantage shall be taken on either side. When disputes arise we will settle them 
in council. P>etween us there shall be nothing but openness and love." The chief replied: "While the rivers 
run and the sun shines we will live in peace with the children of William Penn.'' No record was made of the 
treaty, for none was needed. Its terms were written, not on decaying parchment, but on the living hearts of 
men. No deed of violence or injustice ever marred the sacred covenant. The Indians vied with the Quakers 
in keeping unbroken the pledge of perpetual peace. 

For more than seventy years, during which the province remained undi r the control of the Friends, not a 
single war-whoop was heard within the borders of Pennsylvania. The Quaker hats and coats proved better de- 



fenders than coats of mail and muskets. On the 4th of December, 1682, a general convention was held at 
Chester. The object was to complete the territorial legislation, a work which occupied three days. At the 
conclusion of the address, Penn delivered an address to the assembly, and then hastened to the Chesapeake, to 
confer with Lord Baltimore about the boundaries of their respective provinces. After a month's absence he 
returned to Chester and busied himself with drawing a map of his proposed capital — Philadelphia. Tlie 
beautiful neck of land between the Schuylkill and the Delaware was selected and purchased from the Swedes. 
In February of 1683 the native chestnut, walnut, and ash trees were blazed to indicate the lines of the streets 
and thus was founded 


the City of Brotherly Love. Within a month a general assembly was in session at the new capital. The peo- 
ple were eager that their charter of liberties, now to be framed, should be dated at Philadelphia. The work of 

legislation was begun and the form of government adopted, which 
was essentially a representative democracy. Penn conceded every- 
thing to the people ; but the power of vetoing objectionable acts 
of the council was left in his hands. The growth of Philadelphia 
was astonishing, and by 1686 it had outgrown New York. Pcnn's 
work in establishing a free State in America had been well and 
nobly done. In August, 1684, he took an affectionate farewell 
of his flourishing colony and sailed for England. Thomas Lloyd 
was appointed as president during the absence of the proprietor, 
and five commissioners, members of the provincial council, were 
chosen to assist in the government. Nothing occurred to disturb 
the peace of Pennsylvania until the secession of Delaware in 1691. 
The three lower counties which, ever since the arrival of 

*- ^V , ' r *! 1 J^'i^yj !'_l l ffl& ! *&& ! >2 P enn > na d been united on terms of equality with the six counties 

1 of Pennsylvania, became dissatisfied with some acts of the Gen- 


•±x V. 

A ■ n 

V.MJ39 isha?^- 

;■■', pUJS§ 

!1# |p 

1° (r 

t * 7> C0 


eral Assembly, and insisted on a separation. The proprietor gave 
a reluctant consent. Delaware withdrew from the Union and 
received a deputv governor. Such was the state of affairs after 
the abdication of King James II. William Penn was a friend 
and favorite of the Stuart King. Now that the royal house from 
which he had received his charter was overthrown, he sympa- 
thized with the fallen monarch, and looked with coldness on the 
new sovereigns, William and Mary. For some supposed or real 
adherence to the cause of the exiled James II., Penn was several 
times arrested and imprisoned. In 1692 his proprietary rights 
were taken away, and by a royal commission the government of 
Pennsylvania was transferred to Fletcher, of New York. In the 
following year Delaware shared the same fate. All the provinces between Connecticut and Maryland were con- 
solidated under Fletcher's authority. In the meantime the suspicions against Penn's loyalty were found to be 
groundless, and he was restored to his rights as governor of Pennsylvania. In December, 1699, Penn again 
visited his American commonwealth, now grown into a State. 

The prosperity of the province was all that could be desired, but the people were somewhat dissatisfied 
with the forms of government. The lower counties were again embittered against the acts of the Assembly. 
In order to restore peace and harmony Penn drew up another constitution more liberal than the first, extend- 
ing the privileges and powers of the people and omitting the objectionable features of the former charter. 
But Delaware had fallen into chronic discontent and would not accept the new frame of government. In 1702 
the general assemblies of the two provinces were convened apart, and in the following year Pennsylvania and 
Delaware were finally separated, but the rights of Perm, as proprietor of the whole territory remained as before, 
and a common governor continued to preside over both colonies. 

William Penn left America in the winter of 1701 forever, and returned to England. Pennsylvania was 





'.An-~~-...^ £ * 


T ffl 

iaSlf •VwJ ;'J- ■' "-"T3 

tH ^^~ *~ ~ M^wwiiiipuiwiwuiirii *— ... r, '— .*% I-i^ — . ._ ~r , __ . _ , — ~- — » ,--~ . j^-v .; ; 

.1 . 1" g£ 

• _'_ J2 

Chestnut Street, looking west from Ninth Street. 


then in a state of peace and prosperity. Though there was not a single fort in the whole territory, the province 
had been secured against invasion. With neither police nor militia the people went abroad in safety. With 
no difference in rank, with no preference in matters of opinion, and no proscription for religion's sake, the 
province grew in strength and prosperity, but the English ministry had now formed the design of all proprie- 
tory governments with the view to the establishment of royal governments instead. The presence and influ- 
ence of Penn were specially required in England in order to prevent the success of the ministerial scheme. 
After much controversy his rights were recognized and secured against encroachments. In the meantime the 
aff;iirs of Pennsylvania were administered by the deputy governors, Andrew Hamilton and John Evans. The 
latter, a wordly sort of man, not very faithful to the principles of the Friends and ambitious for the glitter and 
show of majesty, greatly troubled the province by purchasing war like stores, building forts and attempting 
to organize a regiment of militia. All this was done when the war broke out in 1702 between England, 
France, and Spain, under the plea that Philadelphia was likely to be attacked ; but the Assembly entered a 
protest against the proceedings, so irreconcilable with the policy of the Quakers. In spite of this set-back 
Evans continued hungered for his lieutenant-governorship to be surrounded with something of that military 
"pomp and circumstance" characteristic of Old W orld dynasties, and that which he could not obtain from 
the Assembly by persuasion he sought to secure by strategy. Selecting a market-day, in 1706, and when the 
town was full of people, he caused a forged letter to be brought, stating that armed ships had entered the 
Delaware, and were coming up to ransack the city. Evans made his appearance on horseback and with 
drawn sword, among the quiet market people, and urged the townsfolk to rise in defence of their hearths and 
homes. Great excitement was roused; many of the inhabitants prepared to remove their families and prop- 
erty; valuables were thrown into wells or buried, and some of these were found as late as the year 1868; but 
the Quakers stood firm, and Evans failed to get the desired military organization. The fraud was afterwards 
discovered, and the discovery created considerable indignation. In 1708 Evans was required by William 
Penn that the indignation in the province might be allayed, to retire. Evans was succeeded by Charles Gookin 
as deputv-jovernor. Soon after, Penn was well nigh overwhelmed bv his English ascent, a man named Ford, 
who first plunged him into debt, and then had him imprisoned. From a disgraceful confinement of many 
months he was ultimately released, and his old age was brightened by a gleam of prosperity. In July, 1718, 
he died. His estates, valuable, but much weighted with debt, passed to his sons, John, Thomas, and Richard. 

For some time after his death, William's widow, Hannah Penn, whom her husband could not induce to 
reside in the colony, conducted the government in some sort by correspondence. The oldest son of the fam- 
ily, also named William, set up a claim to the colony as natural heir, but before the claim could be legally 
decided he died from drunken excesses. The three sons to whom Penn willed the colony were the issue of 
his second marriage. John, dying in 17-16 unmarried, left his whole estate to his brother Thomas, who thus 
became owner of two-thirds of the province. " He seems to have been a prudent and methodical man of 
business. Richard, the youngest of the brothers, was a spendthrift. Both were men of inferior capacities and 
narrow hearts, having iuherited nothing of the wide thought and wider humanity which distinguished their 
father, and which led him to erect barriers for the protection of generations yet unborn against even his own 
authority and that of his heirs. Insignificant among the gentry of their own country, without either place or 
influence, the heirs of Penn had yet the power to wield an almost royal control over a territory larger in extent 
than England itself. Ruling by deputy, and rarely visiting the country which they claimed as an inheritance, 
their sole care in the management seems to have been their own enrichment in wealth and importance. Rep- 
resentatives of a parent whoso virtues they neither understood nor imitated, and who would have been the 
first to condemn their methods of government, they used their authority to vex, retard, and hamper a com- 
munity which, regarding their, in the outset with a deep and grateful affection, learned in the end to feel 
toward them abhorrence and distrust, as the oppressors of the very people whom their father had given his all 
to make free." In short, this brace of proprietors were simply a pair of thick-headed despots, and their suc- 
cessor, John Penn, grandson of William, was in no sense an improvement upon them in the matter of wise 
government of the colony. The life and character of William Penn command the admiration of and imitation 
by all men in all time, but those of his successors merited the biting satire of the immortal Franklin's "Me- 
morial of T. and R. P. P. of P." (Thomas ami Richard Penn, Proprietaries of Pennsylvania), published 
in 1/64. The concluding sentences of this satire were :-—" The privileges granted by their father, Tiny, Fool- 
ishly and cruelly Taking advantage of public distress. Have extorted from the posterity of those settlers, And 



are daily endeavoring to reduce them To the most abject slavery, Though to the virtues and industry of these 
people In improving their country They owe all they possess and enjoy, — A striking instance Of human de- 
pravity and ingratitude, Ami an irrefragable proof That wisdom and goodness Do not descend with an inheri- 
tance, But that ineffable meanness May be connected with unbounded fortune." 

Philadelphia and the State remained under the government of the Penns until the Revolution. In 1770 
the whole >>f their interest in the State was purchased by the Legislature for £[:!0,000 ($6">0,000), and the 
British parliament made a grant of 820,000 annually in perpetuity to the Tenn family, whose connection with 
the State began and ended with the colonial period. The history of Pennsylvania in that period is one of 
special interest and pleasure, since it is a record of the victories of peace ami of the triumph of virtne over 
violence and injustice, and one which has no parallel in either hemisphere. The story of William Penn's 
achievements, and the wise, liberal and far-sighted policy which characterized the foundation of Ins "City of 
Brotherly Love" will always stand out in strong contrast with the history of great mo n arch s and governments, 
who, powerful in armaments, extended the boundaries of their empires by clutching little nationalities by the 
throat and stealing from them their lands on the principle that might is right. 

Market Street, east of Sixth Street. 


Interesting and instructive as is the story of the settlement and growth of Philadelphia under the ri 
of the J'enn family, the American republic has no city within its limits so rich in historical associations with 
that epoch which brought to the country its civil and political liberty. When it was found necessary to de- 
clare the separation of the colonies from the crown of Great Brit; in, this city was selected a-- the meeting-place 



fur the representative delegates from all the then colonies of Great Britain, from the province of Massachusetts 
to the province of Georgia. They met here as the then metropolis of the country, probably because it was the 

Independence Hall. 

most convenient central point for such a gathering. Here, in the deliberations of that Continental Congress, 
composed of the leading patriotic spirits of that day, the foundation stones of the great republic were laid, the 


building begun and carried to a certain point by the ability and limited treasures of the men of the Revolu- 
tion ; and when the grand struggle terminated in the recognition of the independence of the United States, 
and it became requisite to recast the institutions of the country, here again the assembled representatives of the 
infant nation met and provided for the people a constitution which was accepted by the requisite number of 
the States, — a Constitution which, with a few amendments that have since been engrafted upon it, lias become 
the great charter of our Union and tin- preserver of our civil and religious liberties. Not only were tin- Con- 
stitution and the Union given here, but that great impulse which was given to the trade of the country was 
originated and was developed here; and proudly and grandly the city of Philadelphia trod with a buoyant 
step the highway of nations, leading all her sisters in the magnificence and value of her trade for half a century 
almost. Up to the year 1825 she held the high rank of the commercial emporium of the nation, and her ships, 
with the stars and stripes, were afloat on every sea, carrying the treasures which poured into the city from the 
productive fields of the South and West. It was only when that expanded commerce was trenched upon, and 
to a great extent torn away from this city by the completion of the Erie Canal, of the State of New York, that 
Philadelphia ceased to be the commercial head of the United States. 


Philadelphia lies one hundred and thirty-six miles northeast of Wn-di'iDgton, and eighty-seven miles south- 
west of New York ; three hundred and twenty-three miles from Boston, ninety-eight miles from Baltimore, 
-one hundred and six from Harrisburg, and three hundred and fifty-seven from Pittsburg. The latitude 
(Independence Hall) is 39° 56' 59"; longitude from Greenwich, 79° 9' 54' west, from Washington, 1° 51' 39" 
•cast. The site of the city is nearly a level plain, varying from two to forty-six feet cbove tide-water; but in 
the new suburbs, west of the Schuylkill River, the land rises in places to an elevation of from 112 to 120 feet. 
Prior to 1854, the city was confined on three sides by the Delaware and Schuylkill rivers, and was shaped like 
an hour-glass, the narrowest portion being at Market Street. In that year the boundary line of the city was 
lifted beyond the Schuylkill on the west, and extended in other directions until it embraced the whole area 
of the county of Philadelphia, and brought within its control many populous suburban municipalities. This 
change gave to the city an area of one hundred and twenty-nine and one-eighth square miles, or eighty-two 
thousand seven hundred acres. Its length from north to south is about twenty-three miles, and its average 
width from east to west about five and a half miles. With the exception of London, no city in the world had, 
until recently, so large an area as Philadelphia; but her sister city of Chicago has, within the present vear, 
taken from Philadelphia this distinction by enlarging her own municipal borders so as to include a;; area of 
one hundred and seventy-four miles. 

Philadelphia, having a large river on the east and another on the west, and being fanned by strong cur- 
rents of air, is most advantageously situated in respect of both health and commerce. William Penn was alive 
to this fact when he saw it. The commissioners whom he sent on before him, finding a Swedish colony already 
here, decided to plant the future city of Philadelphia some twelve miles farther up the Delaware; but when 
Penn came and saw the noble waterway formed by the approach of the two rivers, the heavy timbering of the 
land, the existence of large quarries of building c tone and of heavy stratum of brick-clay, he promptly deter- 
mined that here should be his " City of Brother Love ;" and to this end effected with the Swedes an amicable 
-exchange of lands, and began the laying-out of : le city according to his plans. "The situation," writes Perm, 
" is not surpassed by one among all the many places I have seen in the world;" ami he had seen most of the 
cities of Europe. Time has justified this opinion, for the position of the city is one of almost unrivalled ad- 
vantage. Built on a neck of land between two rivers, which unite to form a third water front, and barely one 
hundred miles from the Atlantic, the city has all the practical advantages of a seaport, while holding in her 
hands the inland threads which link the commerce of the Northern and Southern States. With an abundant 
water supply, tie 1 city, from its foundation, possessed all the essentials of a rapid growth. 

The city of Babylon is said to have been Penn's model for his intended city, and his desire was that it 
should have a liberal area. To Thomas Holme, who was entrusted with the duty of laying out the city, his 
instructions were: — " Lay out a town in the proportion of two hundred acres for every ten thousand sold, of 
which the purchasers of five hundred acres were to have ten." The whole amount sold baring been nearly 
•four hundred thousan 1 acres, the city, as thus planned, would have covered an area of eight thousand 



It, however, became apparent that mutual protection among the inhabitants would necessitate a more compact 
town, and instead of the area being twelve and a half square miles, a size one-sixth of that was decided upon. 
Later, even this plan was abridged, and the boundaries of the city were declared to be Vine and Cedar Streets 
to the north and south, and the two rivers to the east and west. The whole district was then a gloom v forest, 
drained by creeks which crept through a jungle of undergrowth. "Be sure to settle the figure of the town so 
a^ that the streets hereafter may Le uniform down to the water from the country bounds," wrote William Peon 
before his coming. "Let every house be placed, if the person pleases, in the middle of his plat, so that there 
may be ground on each side for gardens, or orchards or fields, that it may be a green country town, which will 
never be burnt and always be wholesome." For Penn's own use a "plat," 403 feet long by 172 feet deep, and 
which extended from High Street, southward on Front and Second streets, half-way to Chesnut Street, was 
set a^ide by the commissioners. The house, in obedience to his wish, stood almost exactly in the midst of the 
enclosure. The building was plain and of brick, two stories in height. Penn's country seat was at Pennsbury, 
on the Delaware, above Bristol, and here he preferred to reside. 

Shiploads of immigrants arrived, and the new English comers huddled down in a corner by the Delaware, 
near to the kindly Swedes, and in that corner the town remained for nearly a hundred years. Houses of 
English brick, lined with black or of gray " glimmer " (mortar mixed with broken stone and mica), slowly 
took the p>ace of the first caves and cabins, in contrast with which they, doubtless seemed like palaces. They 
were in reality, as a rule, small, inconvenient, two-story buildings, built close along the river's edge, or at long 
intervals on the muddy roads which served as streets. There was from the commencement, however, a singu- 
lar simplicity and lack of self-assertion, not only in the houses of the new colonists, but in all their habits and 
ways. The Swedes and Friends, like the Puritans, did not shake the forests with their hallelujahs, nor harrow 
the feelings of succeeding generations with tales of the persecutions from which they fled, but they quietly made 
their little village the only home of. religious liberty then in the Xcw World. Hereto came those who were 

persecuted for their religious opinions, not only in the 
Old World, but in the young colonies in the new. Here 
the different sects lived together in "brotherly love" 
and the pastors evinced their friendliness toward each 
other by appearing occasionally in each other's pulpits. 

There was very little stir of any sort in the village. 
We find a curious account of the place, written by one 
Gabriel Thomas soon after landing. There were thirty 
carts in it, the only vehicles except Penn's calash. Labor- 
ing men were paid three times as much as in England, 
Gabriel himself having to pay two shillings for a pair of 
boots. Women's wages he writes down "as mo>t ex- 
horbitant — from .£."> to £10 per annum." They had the 
game in their own hands, he said, as "a wench, if not 
paid enough, will take land and turn farmer. There are 
no begars, nor olde maydes, neither lawyers nor doctors 
with lycence to kill and make inischcef." 

The village lay on the edge of an impregnable wil- 
derness, stretching to the Pacific ocean ; on the other 
side was the river, an open highway to the sea, where 
Kidd with other pirates plied their trade, storing their 
plunder in certain dens along the river. At long intervals 
came to the settlement men of means, cadets of respect- 
able families, driven by persecution from England, or 
emigrants from the Bar ba does, bringing their slaves or 
household goods with them ; and thus the population continued to grow. In the summer of 1683 there were 
only three or four houses in the town. The ground-squirrels still lived in their burrows, and the wild deer ran 
through the town without alarm. Two years later the town contained six hundred houses; the schoolmaster had 
come and the printing-press had begun its work; and by 1GS6 the population had outstripped that of New York. 





started with the erection of the historic '-Blue Anchor Tavern," which stood at what is now the corner of Front 
and Dock streets, and where was also the " Blue Anchor Landing," on which, according to tradition, Penn first 
set foot in the "City of Brotherly Love." Before the tavern was completed other houses were in com c of 
construction. The "Blue Anchor "Landing" was at the mouth of Dock Creek, which was a considerable stream 
that Penn intended should be a natural canal to the heart of the town. This stream was composed of two 
branches, one of which commenced between Fourth and Fifth Streets, north of Market, and ran south 1.;. east, 
crossin" Market Street west of Fourth and Chestnut Streets about the line of the present Hudson Strei t, and 
bv the latter south in rear of the 
property of the Board of Brokers, 
where it was joined by a branch 
which began west of Fifth Street, 
below Walnut Street, and flowed 
toward the northeast. It crossed 
Walnut Street between Fourth and 
Fifth, near the building of the 
Schuylkill Navigation Company. 
and crossed Fourth Street. These 
streams thus united, flowed east- 
wardlv, bearing to the south, and 
formed the body of Dock Creek, 
the course of which may be traced 
by the street of that name. Not 
far from the Delaware this stream 
received the water of another 
branch, which began at about the 
site of St. Peter's Church, at Third 
_ and Pine Streets until it struck 
ttie head of the present Little 
Dock Street, along which it flowed 
to the northeast, until it reached 
the main stream. This branch was ' 
called Little Dock Creek, the In- 
dian name for which was Coocon- 
.ocon. Where the Girard Bank 
now stands on Third Street, be- 
low Chestnut Street, vessels for- 
merly discharged their cargoes. 
The sluggish current of the creek 
caused its bed to gradually fill up 
with mud. anil in time the creek 
became the receptacle of a mass of 
sewer contamination and garbage, 
so much so that it caused great 
sickness in the town. In 1 7 s 4 it 

was cleansed and arched over, and a street was laid out above it. a proceeding which was followed by an 
immediate improvement in the public health. 

Front Street was the fir-t street to be opened, and as its name implies it was then in reality the front stn 
overlooking tie; waters of tic Delaware river. Delaware Avenue, now the centre of vast traffic and i rowded with 
wharves, ferry-houses, wholesah business and shipping-houses, had then no existence, and Pen ti had arranged 
that it should not have, but that the front of the Delaware should be an opt.: espl nade, to be planted with 

•'-- 3 ,*:q ■'■'-■'■■'•,',■ •!',"<•"■* JL-^> W i.i-;'' 

a£S- ^ :-?r-- '."I ' ■> ■■ * - . - - —t^ ' '■ a' Vi ..-■■ \- - -"r 


\ \. -J I - 

...7 t-i-^'iV- i ' " i.'^V. -- X *$gr %i 


r ) 

Old Swede's Church. 







trees, and form an airy and agreeable walk for the citizens. His straits for money at a later day, however, un- 
fortunately led him to relax from this intention, and to sell these lots for bank-vaults and stores/ It was a 
sore grievance to him, on his second visit to the city, to see the "growing deformity" of this part of the city. 
" My necessity, not my will, hath done this," he remarked. The abandonment of his plan was a great and last- 
ing loss to the city, only partially reme- 
died by the bequest of Stephen Girard 
at a later day for the improvement of 
the water front. 

To-day, Delaware Avenue, running 
the whole length of the Delaware river 
front within the city's limits, presents at 
all times one of the busiest scenes to be 
met with in the city, and the visitor is- 
not slow to discover that the thorough- 
fare is too narrow and contracted for the 
accommodation of the vast and varied 
business done in it, both night and day. 
Piers and wharves abound in the extreme 
lower portion of the city for the accom- 
modation of the extensive coal, oil and 
grain industries that are congregated 
there, and all along the water's ed're- 
from below Washington Avenue to above 
Richmond, there is a continuous line of 
ferry-boat slips, wharves, docks and piers, 
where are to be seen all kinds of ship- 
ping-craft, from the turtle-shaped ferry- 
steamer to the ponderous monarchs of 
the ocean. The avenue is the great cen- 
tre pf the fish and oyster trade, and 
hither resort, from all parts of the city 
and suburbs, the retail dealers in these 
articles of food. Here, too, the mer- 
chants in butter, cheese, cured meats,, 
vegetables, foreign and native fruits, and 
country produce of every description do- 
most abound. On the upper river front, 
in the old district of Richmond, is Port 
Richmond, where are located the Reading Railroad Company's coal wharves, which arc worth a visit. This 
point of interest is reached by a branch which leaves the main line of the Reading just south of the West Falls- 
Station, and, crossing the Schuylkill by a magnificent stone bridge, traverses the upper part of the city to the 
Delaware. Numerous steam-colliers are engaged in carrying coal from this point to eastern ports. In the neigh- 
borhood of these coal wharves, and located on the river front, are many extensive industrial establishments, 
prominent among which are the famous ship-building yards of Messrs. Cramp & Sons, where vessels of all sizes 
may be seen in course of construction. The river itself is at all times alive with craft of every description, with 
ferry-boats flitting between the Philadelphia and Jersey shores, coasting vessels coming and going, steam-tugs 
and row-boats, ocean tramps weighted with merchandise, and regular ocean steamers from all the principal ports 
of the world. 



As originally planned by Penn in 108:2 the city embraced less than two hundred blocks bounded on the 
north by Vine Street, on the south by South Street, on the east by the Delaware, and on the west by the Schuyl- 


kill river. For nearly a century this small area was much larger than the actual city. As late as 1770 the busi- 
ness section of the city, which alone was built up closely, occupied not more than thirty or thirty-five blocks, 
east of Seventh Street. Beyond these limits there were but comparatively feu houses, of which many were iso- 
lated as in the country, while there were a number of clusters like small villages. As the population increased 
in the city proper, the suburban districts, north, south and west of the city lines, slowly filled up and were 
organized into districts, each with a semi-municipal government. All of these have been absorbed by the city, 
and concerning these we shall have more to say hereafter. 

Penn's original plan for the laying out of the city was adhered to by his successors. Streets fifty feet in 
width run from north to south and from cast to west, crossing each other at regular angles. The streets which 
run from river to river (from east to west) are named in most part, after the fruit and forest trees which were 
found growing on the spot when the first settlers arrived. The streets from uorth to south are numbered in 
regular order from No. 1, on Front Street, upward. The citv is divided at Market Street into north and south, 
all streets above and below being known as North Third, South Third, etc. The buildings are numbered bj 
blocks, small intermediate streets being included in the blocks. Each block is calculated as containing one 
hundred houses, thus : Market to Arch, 100; to Race, 200, etc. The houses on the streets running east and 
west have the odd numbers on the north side and the even numbers on the south. The houses on streets run- 
ning north and south have the even numbers on the west, and the odd numbers on the east. For facilitating 
he fiuding of any number in any thoroughfare the following will be found very bandy for reference : — 

Streets Running North and South West of Delaware River. — Delaware Avenue; 100, Front Street ; 
200, Second Street; 300, Third Street; 400, Fourth Street; 500, Fifth Street; 000, Sixth Street; 700, 
Seventh Street; S00, Eighth Street ; 900, Niuth Street ; 1000, Tenth Street ; 1100, Eleventh Street ; 1200, 
Twelfth Street; 1300, Thirteenth Street; 1400 Broad Street; 1500, Fifteenth Street; 1600, Sixteenth Street; 
1700, Seventeenth Street; 1800, Eighteenth Street; 1900, Nineteenth Street; 2000, Twentieth Street ; 2100, 
Twenty -first Street; 2200, Twenty-second Street; 2300, Twenty-third Street; Schuylkill River; 3000, 
Thirtieth Street; 3100, Thirty-first Street; 3200, Thirty-second Street; 3300, Thirty-third Street; 3400, 
Thirty-fourth Street; 3600, Thirty-sixth Street; 3700, Thirty-seventh Street; 3800, Thirty-eighth Street; 
3900, Thirty-niuth Street; 4000, Fortieth Street; 4100, Forty-first Street; 4200, Forty-second Street; 4300, 
Forty-third Street; 4400, Forty-fourth Street; 4500, Forty-fifth Street; 4G00, Forty-sixth Street; 4700, 
Forty-seventh Street; 4S00, Forty-eighth Street; 4900, Forty-ninth Street; 5000, Fiftieth Street; 5100,. 
Fifty-first Street; 5200, Fifty-second Street; 5300, Fifty -third Street; 5400, Fifty-fourth Street; 5500, Fifty- 
fifth Street; 5000, Fifty-sixth Street; 5700, Fifty-seventh Street; 5800, Fifty-eighth Street; 5900, Fifty- 
ninth Street; 6000, Sixtieth Street; 6100, Sixty -first Street ; 6200, Sixty-second Street; 6300, Sixty-third 

The city contains over two thousand miles of streets, twelve hundred and fifty of which are public high- 
ways. The municipality stretches from north to south for a distance of eighteen and three-quarter miles, and 
from east to west fourteen miles, while the total length of boundary around the city limits is seventy and a half 
miles. There are over three hundred miles of street railways, and one hundred and thirty-five miles of steam 
railroads in the city, which is drained by over three hundred miles of public sewers. 

What a marvelous achievement in the line of progress in the course of less than half a century these figures- 
indicate ! In 1752 Philadelphia was still what its founder desired that it should be, " a green country-place," 
extending a mile along the Delaware, and about half a mile back from its shores. The houses, built principally 
of brick and stone, as to-day, stood each surrounded by its garden. Almost every householder kept his cow, 
which was pastured in the outskirts of the city. The peach orchards bore so abundantly that pigs were fat- 
tened on the fruit. There were still persons who remembered when the site of the city was a forest ; indeed 
the first child born in the colony was yet living, a man of sixty-two years. Game was plentiful m the near 
neighborhood; and as late as the middle of the last century, wolves and bears were occasionally .-hot within 
eight miles of the State Bouse. The paving of the thoroughfares has long been a vexed question with the 
Philadelphians. In 1700 the streets all remained unpaved. The soil being of clay, the streets in the wet 
season wen' almost impassable. It was not an infrequent sight to see carts stuck fast in the mud and horses up 
to their knees in mire. The roads leading to the city were in even a worse condition. Franklin, "seeing with 
pain the e'eanly people wading in mud up t-. the sta!U'' about the market place, used his influence to secure a 
pavement, and later set on foot a subscription for having it regularly swept. The convenience of this pavement 



aroused a general desire for the paving of other streets, and made the people willing to be taxed for the pur- 
pose. Second Street was the first thoroughfare to receive a pavement, and in 1761 $7500 were raised bv 
lottery to be used in paving the streets. Another lottery produced §5250 for the same purpose ten years 
later. The sidewalks v-'ere generally laid in brick. Now there are more than nine hundred miles ol streets 
paved, and over eleven hundred miles cither unpaved or laid with gravel. There are over five hundred miles 
of streets paved with cobble-stones, and concerning these there is unceasing grumbling on the part of the public, 
for where these are the streets are more or less in a bad state. Forty-seven miles or more of streets have already 
been paved with stone blocks, and is likely to be the style of pavement in the future. The roadbed of more than 
one hundred miles of streets is of broken stone, and that of two hundred and fifty miles of streets is of rubble- 

mill ffl 


^ y |JIisi|!g^s 

" ffillt 




Mils - 

J>. l^Tvr 1 ;" <r; 

1 t fi If i 

spill I iilmw^&apK I 

Arch Street, west of Sixth Street. 

• ■ cc - 

.*.«- X — > 

stone. Asphalt and wood have been tried in some places, but not 
to any grcati extent. The streets were first illuminated with oil 
lamps in 1742; now they arc profusely lighted by gas and numer- 
ous electric lights, the city in this respect being abreast with any other munici- 
pality on the continent. 

The earliest settled portion of the citv — that section comprised within Vine Street on the north and South 
Street on the south, and from the banks of the Delaware on the east to Fourth and Fifth Streets on the west — 
is the main mercantile business portion of the city, through Market Street, extending from the river up to the 
City Hall, and other thoroughfares are noted wholesale business centres ; but the chief warehouses and great 
stores, a-> well as the mercantile exchanges, arc to be found in the streets bordering on and near the bank of 
the river. The value of property in this section is immense, and it will continue to increase in ratio with the 
expansion of the city. Watson, in his "Annals of Philadelphia," tells a story of one Anthony Duche, " a 
respectable refugee from France," who was one of I'enu's ship's company on his second voyage to Philadelphia. 
Duche had lent Penn a small sum of money, about thirty pounds. On their landing, Pcnn offered him, in lien 
of the debt, what he called " a good bargain in land,"' namely, the who!'; square between Third and Fourth 



Streets, witb the exception of a small piece, already occupied a.s a Friend's Burial Ground. Duche replied, 
" i'ou are very good, Mr. Penn, and the offer might prove advantageous; but the money would .suit me bi 
"Blockhead!" cried Penn, "thou shalt have thy money; but canst thou not see that this will be a verv ;real 
city in a very short time .'" "So I was paid," adds Duche, " and have ever sine repented of my folly." 'I >-d f 
that self-same property is worth many millions. All this section of the city contains the principal importing 
houses in every line of merchandise, exporting establishments, the handlers of liquors at wholesale, the 
in manufactures and products of the soil of every description, shipping-houses, coal, iron, and insurances otliees 
railroad offices, Chamber of Commerce, Maritime Exchange, and other commercial institutions. 

Fifth, Sixth, Seventh, and Eighth Streets, and notably the 
latter, are the principal retail shopping centres, and thereon are to 
be found many stores of a metropolitan character, brilliant with 
variegated wares, and crowded by buyers hunting for bargains by 
day and night. The same may be said of Ninth, Tenth, Eleventh, 
Twelfth, and Thirteenth Streets, each of which has attractions 
peculiar to itself. Next to Thirteenth Street is Eroad Street, a 
magnificent thoroughfare, so called because of its great width, 
though it counts in the numbering of the streets as Fourteenth. 
It has a width of one hundred and thirteen feet, and built across 
it and also across Market Street stands the majestic and ponderous 
marble pile, the new City Hall, or Public Buildings, as it is vari- 
ously called, and which has been for many years in course of erec- 
tion, and will require many more years to complete it. The main 
tower of the building lifts its head high above all other buildings 
in the city, and when completed will contain an illuminated clock 
and be surmounted by a bronze statue of William Penn, the crown 
of whose head will be rive huudred and thirty -seven feet above the 
street. Away up for hundreds of feet the tower has now been 
reared, and from whatever point of the compass Philadelphia is 
approached the incomplete tower is the first object that strikes the 
vision. By means of two workmen's elevators, placed in different 
parts of the building, we are enabled to ascend the tower to a height 
of three hundred feet, and to the apartment immediately below the 
clock chamber. Up to this dizzy height we go and there obtain 

A BIRD'S-EYE VIEW OF THE CITY. Penn Mutual Life Insurance Co.'s 


From the four windows, leading on to heavv stone verandas, 
& magnificent view is to be had from each, — to the north, to the south, to the west, and to the east,— and the 
scene is to be remembered for a lifetime. There, brought within range of the eye, is the whole expanse of the 
«ity, covering an area of nearly one hundred and thirty square miles, crowded with piles of brick, stone, and 
mortar, relieved by "breathing spaces" designated by the rich foliaged trees lifting their green branches above 
the housetops (for Philadelphia has numerous small parts as well as one of immense size), and by the winding 
rivers, on which are afloat craft of every conceivable kind. Up to this high elevation comes the din of rum- 
bling vehicles over the troublesome cobblestones, the snorting of locomotives as they creep snake like along the 
iron roads branching out here and there to some far distant city, and the hum of conversation and the clatti i 
of feet of hundreds of thousands of busy, enterprising people, who have the appearance of dwarfs on the strei t>. 
which cross each other like the dividing lines of a checker-board. From this vantage-ground one picks out 
from the conglomeration of almost innumerable structures edifices that are as the milestones in the history of 
both the city and nation, — buildings that are familiar to the eye from whatever point seen, and the associ iti n - 
of which have been told and retold to us thousands of times from our childhood to old age. Let us turn in the 
direction of the rising sun— the east — and to where this mighty city had its beginning, down on the banl i l 
the tortuous Delaware, on the bosom of whose waters dance saucy, puffing tugs flitting hither and thither, squat, 


turtle-like ferry steamers carrying passengers to and from the sister city of Camden on the opposite shore, col- 
liers and other crafts plowing their way up and down the stream, and ocean-going steamers lying snugly in their 
wharves and evincing their presence by their towering masts. ■ It was up the 


that William Penn came in his good ship Welcome to found the city which will forever hold his name in 
reverence. Of the greatest importance to Philadelphia is this stream, to which various Indian names have been 
assigned. Heylin, in his " Microcosnios," or description of the world, published in 162:2, calls the river 
Arasapha, which seems to have been derived from Arasaphe, " it goes fine," meaning a river at all times 
navigable and useful. Poutaxat was another Indian name sometimes applied to the river, but supposed to be 
more applicable to the bay. It means round or broad, and is applied exclusively to bays. Lenape, Whittuck, 
and other names were also given to the stream. Lenape means " Indian," and " Whittuck," a tree. Ttie river 
was discovered by Henry Hudson, an Englishman in the service of the I>uteh East India Company, on 
the 2Sth of August. 160'J. Hudson was the same navigator after whom the Hudson, or North River, was 
named. After Hudson, the first explorer was Captain Cornelius Jaeobsen Mey, who in the year 1613 entered 
the river in the yacht Fortune. He called the eastern cape Mey and the western Cornelis, another of the west- 
ern capes being called Hindlop or Hinlopen, which latter name was subsequently transferred to Cape Cornelis. 
The original Cape Hinlopen, near the present town of Lewes, lost its designation altogether. Mey, on his 
return to Holland, left behind him a Captain Hendrickson in the yacht Onrust (Restless), who explored the 
river, it is believed, as far as the mouth of the Schuylkill. On his return to Holland, Hendrickson accom- 
panied his report with a map, on which the river now called the Delaware was designated as the Riviere Van 
der Vorst Mauritius. But Mey had already chosen as a name the Znydt, or South River, in contradistinction 
from the Nord, or North River. The Dutch also called the stream Nassau River, Prince Hendrick's River, and 
Prince Charles River. When the Swedes came they called it Suenska Riviere, or Swedish River, and it was 
also called New Swedeland Stream, or the River of New Sweden. The English gave it the name of De la War, 
which has been modernized into Delaware. This name was given because they supposed that Thomas, Lord 
De la War, who touched at the bay in his voyage to Virginia in 1610, was the discoverer of the river; and as 
early as 1012 Captain Thomas Argall, of Virginia, speaks of it as the De la War River. The name was there- 
fore given to the river before that which was assigned to it by the Dutch, but the claim that Lord De la War 
was the discoverer was untenable, inasmuch as Hudson had entered the river in 1000. The bay of the Dela- 
ware was called bv the Dutch Newport Bay, also Godyn's Bay, after Samuel Godyn, a Dutchman, who made a 
purchase of land in 1629 from the Indians, extending from Cape Cornelis or Hindlop (Henlopen) inland thirty- 
two miles and two miles in breadth. The Delaware rises by two branches, botli of which are on the west side 
of the Catskill Mountains, X. Y. The Mohawk, or main branch, rises from a small lake near the border of 
Schoharie County, in that State, at an elevation of one thousand eight hundred and eighty-six feet above tide- 
water, and gradually winds its way tortuously to the Pennsylvania State line, in -Vl° N. Jat, eight miles below 
which it receives the Popachton branch from the southeast. The river then proceeds in a winding course 
southeast for sixty miles, to the northwest corner of New Jersey, at Carpenter's Point, at the mouth of the 
Neversink River. It then turns to the southwest, along the base of the Kittanning chain of mountains thirty- 
five miles, when it passes this mountain by what is called the ''Water Gap," which is considered a great 
curiosity. The distance through the mountains is two miles, and the banks rise in a rugged and lofty wall, 
one thousand six hundred feet high, precipitously from the water's edge, leaving at the southeast entrance 
scarcely room for a road, overhung with immense masses of rock. Tne passage, however, widens towards the 
northwest, and the river has bordering upon it some beautiful and fertile lands. The view of the "gap "is 
highly picturesque, ami the river here has a great depth. From this point it pursues a southeast, and then a 
southwest, course to Easton, where it receives the Lehigh, a large branch from the west. Thence the river has a 
southeastern course to Trenton, sixty miles below Easton, having in that distance twenty-five rapids, with a 
total fall of one hundred and sixty-five feet. These rapids are navigable at high water. At Trenton is a fall 
which obstructs navigation, and below which it enters tide-water. The river below Trenton turns to the 
southwest, until near the bay, which enters the ocean in a southeastern direction. Seven miles below 
Philadelphia it receives the Sehuykill River, flowing from the northwest. The whole course of the Delaware, 

from its source to its entrance into the bay, is about three hundred miles, and, to its entrance into the ocean, 
three hundred and seventy-five miles. It is navigable for shi[>> of the line to Philadelphia, by the course of the 
river and bay, one hundred and twenty miles from the ocean, and forty-five miles from its entrance into the 
bav: and for sloops thirty-five miles farther, or one hundred and fifty-five miles from the ocean to Trenton. 
Above the falls at Trenton it is navigable for boats of eight or nine tons for about one hundred miles. The 

Public Ledger Building. 

Delaware is connected with the Hudson River by the Delaware and Hudson Canal, which commences : 
in the Delaware, near the mouth of the Lackawaxen Creek, and extends to Eddy ville or Rondout ¥ 
miles from its entrance into Hudson River, and by the Morris Canal, which leaves the Delaware 
Easton, Pa., and terminates at Jersey City opposite to New York City. A vast amount of coal 
on these canals. There is also a canal from Delaware City, forty-two miles below Philadelph : 
i tributary of Elk Creek, which falls into Chesapeake Bay. This canal i- Fourteen miles loi 


passage of considerable vessels. Delaware Bay, at the mouth of the Delaware River, is a large arm of the sea, 
seventy-five miles long and twenty miles across its mouth, between Cape Hay on the north and Cape Uenlopen 
on the south. In the middle it is thirty miles wide. The navigation is difficult, bavin" many shoals. To 
remedy the inconvenience of having no safe natural harbor the government has erected a magnificent break- 
water within Cape Uenlopen. The anchorage or roadstead is in a cove, directly west of the cape. The east- 
ern or seaweed end of the Breakwater rests on the southern end 
of an extensive shoal called the " shears," about two miles north of 
the shore at the cape. The estimated cost of this great work was 

At Philadelphia the Delaware flows by a crescent-shaped 
channel past the city's wharves, giving the business section of the 
city a concave front, opposite to the centre of which, and in the 
middle of the river, are located Smith's and Windmill Islands, with 
the adjacent shoals stretching to Petty's Island, about a mile above, 
which by location unfavorably influences the entire 
river channel. The situation of these islands, and the 
narrowness of the channel between them and the ends I C^\Sj 

of the piers on the Pennsylvania side, make 
the further extension of the wharves into the 
river a physical impossibility, and the only 

Broad Street, looking north from Public Buildings. 

remedy left is to secure the removal of the islands. This is what the Philadelphia Board of Trade, in its annual 

report, just issued, says, and it is what the various commercial organizations in the city have been for a long time 

••ating year after year. The difficulty that Philadelphia labors under, says the Board of Trade report, and 

■t must eventually retard her progress and cripple her as a commercial centre, is the lack of proper wharf 

c or the Targe vessels now engaged in trade. From the influences now being brought to bear it is 

he national government will be induced to remove the present obstructions in the river. Among 

to be gained by the removal of the islands and shoals now obstructing the river will be the 

new wharf line for both sides of the river. Tt is desired that the Philadelphia wharves may 

->per length, so that the increasing commerce of the city may be adequately accommodated 


and the existing difficulties may be remedied, and also that the traffic between the two states on the op] 
sides of the stream be made easy and direct across a river entirely free from obstructions. "The network of 
railways ramifying through the New Jersey peninsula, and terminating opposite the city of Philadelphia, will 
be vitalized by larger, inure efficient and economical terminals, and the cross-river transit could then bo made 
possible in a shorter time by more capacious ferry-boats than ean now be used. An extensive water-front 
could also be reclaimed on the New Jersey shore and made available for com men ial purposes." 


From our vantage in the tower of the new City Hall the eye has a full, clear sweep of that magnificent 
thoroughfare, Market Street, down to its terminus on the bank of the Delaware. In these pages will be found 
beautiful views of those sections of the street looking east from Sixth Street and between Twelfth Street and 
the hall in whose tower we are standing. These views will give a fair idea of the character of the business 
houses which line this busy thoroughfare, which for the most part is devoted to the wholesale br nches of the 
various departments of commerce. The street is one hundred feet in width, and the commercial marts located 
upon it are noted not only for the richness and elegance of their architectural designs and embellishments, but 
also for their substantial aspect. The majority of these structures are of vast dimensions, and will compare 
favorably with those of their class in any city either in the New or the Old World. Market Street is full of 
historic associations endeared to all Philadelphians. Tt is the main artery of the city, the spinal column of the 
body corporate, and from it all the avenues of human and commercial life branch out to all sections of the 
municipality. Market Street was the High Street of Penn and his successors, and was first utilized to accom- 
modate a line of market-houses which the founders of the city early provided for. By degrees the encroach- 
ments of business marts swept these out of existence, but not before their presence had brought to the street 
its new name. There arc, however, two market buildings now on the street, but these are of comparatively 
modern construction and there are rumors to the effect that these also will have to disappear ere long to make 
way for a railroad depot. Fabulous prices are now demanded for property on this thoroughfare, yet the value 
of land within the city's limits little more than a century ago was remarkably low. In 173V the whole square 
from Market to Chestnut, and from Tenth to Eleventh Streets, was leased for twenty years for ten dollars per 
annum and the additional consideration that the lessee should fence the plot and sow it with "English grass. - ' 
Subsequently the lessee sold his interest in the lease for twenty dollars. The coachman to William Penn was 
offered by his employer, in lieu of a year's wages, the whole of a square between Market and Second and 
Chestnut and Walnut Streets. Penn offered to sell for one hundred dollars the whole square from Market 
Street to Arch Street, and from Front to Second Streets, and the offer was declined. When, in 1792, a house 
was built on Market Street, above Fifth, the owner was "almost considered as deranged for putting his building 
so far bevond the seat of civilization." On this street, between Fifth and Sixth Streets, stood the residence of 
Robert Morris, the financier of the Revolution. It had to give way to the advances of commerce. It v. as a 
lara;e marble house, built in the plain style of architecture which at that time and since has been characteristic 
of the "City of Brotherly Love." It was three stories high and thirty-two feet in width; it had eleven win- 
dows in front and a door furnished with three stone steps. It had formed part of the marriage portion of the 
wife of Richard Penn, son of the last Proprietary, and for some years was occupied by him. When the British 
forces were in possession of the city in Revolutionary days it was the headquarters of Lord Howe. W hen 
Washington became president he took up his residence in this house, for which he paid a rent of three thou- 
sand dollars, after refusing the office of the State Legislature of ;i finer house on Ninth Street, on th ■ • 
that he would bv no means consent to live in any house which was not hired and furnished from his own 
means. From his house "at twelve every day it was the President's custom to walk forth and set 1;:~ watch 
bv Clark's Standard, southeast corner of Front and nigh (Market) Streets. All the passers-by took off their 

hats and st I uncovered till he turned and went back again. He always returned these salutations bj lifting 

his hat and bowing low. On fim; days he went out to walk, attended by his two secretaries, one walking on 
either side of him. They were never seen to talk to each other. On Sunday h ■ drove t- Cflrist Church lit a 
cream-colored coach with enamelled figures on the panels. (The carriage is r-t " i I preserved in Philadelphia.) 
All his servants wore liveries of white cloth turned up with scarlet or oral 

On this street also lived the famous Bcnjaman Franklin, whose memory i- n vered h- .>!! Americans, and 


particularly by Philadelphians. Here he died, after an eventful and useful life, at the age of eighty-five. Oa 
the corner of Market and Front Streets was built, about the year 170.', the Oid London Coffee House, where 
the celebrities of that age were wont to assemble for sociable intercourse. The building has now descended to 
the plane of a ciLi'ar store. It was in a house in this (Market) street that the committee of five members en- 
trusted with the task of framing the Declaration of Independence held their meetings, and where Thomas 

Jefferson wrote the immortal document. The exact site of this house is in dispute, 
but the general belief is that it was on the corner of Seventh and Market Streets, 
where the Perm Township Bank now stands. A plate bearing an inscription to that 
effect has been affixed to the present building. Running parallel with Market 
Street, and lying on the south of it, is another historic thoroughfare, the pride of 
Philadelphians, and an object of interest to all visitors to the city. This is 


This thoroughfare is, in its upper portions, Philadelphia's fashionable prome- 
U ji^sE" Jtk- nade, and in its lower part is largely devoted to commission and jobbing houses. 

From Delaware Avenue and Water Street, where once dwelt "many of the richest 
and genteelest merchants," to Third Street, it is almost wholly taken up with com- 
mercial establishments, representing the cotton, wool, iron, dry goods, hardware, 
and tobacco trades. At Third Street begins the principal financial centre of the 
citv, and the visitor finds banks, insurance brokers' and corporation offices extend- 
ing up and down Third, up Chestnut to Sixth, along Fourth, and up and down 
Walnut Streets. A. fine view of the commercial buildings in Third Street will be 
found given ; n this work. Chestnut Street has a width of twenty-five feet, and it 
is lined on each side by buildings whose architectural magnificence and substantial 
construction in stone command the admiration of all who see them. The First 
National Bank Building, on the corner of Third and Chestnut Streets, is a struct- 
ure of fine proportions, and near it is the National Bank of the Republic, -which 
presents to Chestnut Street an imposing front of English redstone and Philadelphia red pressed-brick, and the 
entire structure of two stories covers an area of thirty feet front and one hundred and eighty feet in depth. A 
little farther up, at Nos. 3-27-331, is the splendid edifice of the Fidelity Insurance, Trust and Deposit Com- 
pany, incorporated in 1880. A short distance from Chestnut Street, and on the east side of Fourth Street, is 
a building worthy of mention in this connection. This is the William Forest Estate Building, which comprises 
three separate structures of different styles of architecture and dates of constructive. Of these the southern- 
most is the most attractive and striking to the visitor. It has a height of six stories, the second, third, and 
fourth of which have a central projection in the facade that gives a pleasant aspect to the building. There are 
two banks—the Central National and the Fourth Street National — located in this building, which also affords 
office facilities to a large number and variety of professional and business men. 

Standing on the corner of Fourth and Chestnut Streets is the R D. Wood Building, unique in it* architec 
tural desigu,"and rising to a height of seven stories. It is admittedly one of the most elegant and useful busi- 
ness edifices in the city. Near" this building'is a passage-way guarded by iron railings, hading to a building 
which was the cradle of American independence. This is Carpenter's Hall, the place where, as the visitor is 
told by an inscription on the walls, "Henry, Hancock, and Adams inspired the delegates of the colonies with 
Nerve and Smew for the Toils of War ;" the place where the first Continental Congress assembled, and where 
the first prayer in Congress was offered up by the rector of Christ Church, Mr. Duebe, on the morning after 
the false repor' had been received of the bombardment and destruction of Boston. The first Provincial As- 
sembly also hel 1 its sittings here, and later it was occupied by the British troop-, and next by the United States 
Bank-and the Bank of Pennsylvania in succession. The hall was built in 1770 as a meeting-place for the house- 
carpenters of Philadelphia. After its use by the first Continental Congress and for other public purposes, the 
building, which is a substantial two-story brick structure, passed int.. the hands of one tenant, after another, 
until it degenerated into an auction-room. Then the Company of Carpenters retook possession, restored it as 
nearlv as possible to the state it was in when the Continental Congress gathered within its walls, and it is now 





carefullv preserved and daily thrown open to the inspection of risitors. The walls have suspended upon them 
many curious ami interesting mementoes of the Revolutionary days, and the visitor will find imieli here to 
interest him. « 

Above Fourth Street is the Custom House, a splendid marble building, erected in imitation of the Parthe- 
011 at Pans, and is one of the finest specimens of Doric architecture in the United State-. It was 
erected in 1819, completed in 1S24, and cost half a million dollar-. It is built upon a raised platform, has a 
front of ST feet, is 101 feet deep. In the front eight fluted Doric columns 21 feet high, 4 feet in diameter, 
support a heavy entablature. The building has a very splendid interior, of winch the principal apartment, 81 
feet long by 4S wide, is ornamented by fluted Ionic columns and sculptured embellishments. 

Two blocks' distance away, between Fifth and Sixth Streets, is the historic edifice 


whose history is a familiar one to every school-boy in the country, and a handsome view of which will be found 
in these pages. The long, old-fashioned fabric of red brick, with its white marble facings and thick window- 
sashes, is, from step to steeple, venerated by all patriotic Americans, for almost every name and every incident 
connected with the birth of the nation is associated with it. Independence Hall was originally the State House, 
and while it has its front on Chestnut Street it has in its rear Independence Square, now a beautifully laid-out 
and admirably cared for park. It was built by the Colonial Assembly in the years 1732-1741; and though it 
was occupied in 17:3-5, it was not considered completed until 1741, and even then neither tower nor steeple 
crowned it. In 17.50 the Assembly determined to erect a building " on the south side of the State House, to 
contain a staircase, with a suitable place for hanging a bell." Two detached wings had been added in 1740, 

4 __ 


Mai '<et Street, from Twelfth Street. 


and the building as it appeared in revolutionary days was slightly different in external appearance from what it 
is now. Since the " times which tried men's souls" the three isolated buildings have been connected, others 
having been built in the spaces between them, and the entire square is now used for court rooms and offices con- 
nected with them, and has a local designation as "State House Row." When the Assembly had determined to 
provide "a suitable place for hanging a bell," a bell was ordered to be cast in England, with the famous inscrip- 
tion, then almost prophetic of the paean of neatly a quarter of a century later: "Proclaim liberty throughout 
all the land, unto all the inhabitants thereof (Leviticus xxv. 10). The bell was received in Philadelphia in 
August, 1752, but upon trying the tone, it was found to be cracked. Messrs. Pass A: Stow, of Philadelphia, 
recast it, but in consequence of having had too much copper put into it, it proved unsatisfactory in tone, and 
was recast a second time with eminent success. This was the far-famed "Liberty Bell," which, upon the 8th of 
July, 1776, rang out the glad tones of American liberty, in obedience to its inscription. In 1828 a bell oi 4275 
pounds weight was cast to occupy the new steeple which had been erected, and from this time the " Liberty 
Bell" was rung only on, special occasions, until it was cracked on the 8th day of July, 1835, while tolling in 
honor of Chief Justice Marshall, who had died in this city two days before. Several offers were made to ring 
it, or repair it, but on Washington's birthday, 1843, it was found that the fracture had so increased that the 
bell could not be rung at all, and it has ever since been a venerated invalid and permitted to rest in honored re- 
tirement. It is now one of the chief attractions in Independence Hail, it being hung overhead, in the base of 
the steeple, the rotunda, where is a staircase, by ascending which visitors can have a full and close view of the 
famous old bell. It was in Philadelphia Hall, so familiar to every reader of American history, that the Declara- 
tion of Independence was considered and adopted, and from its portals it was proclaimed. In this hall Wash- 
n^ton read his farewell address, in it the articles of confederation were adopted in 1778, and in it the Constitu- 
tion of the United States was framed in 1787. The interior of the hall is preserved in its original state, and is 
carefully kept. The ancient furniture is religiously guarded, and in the building an interesting museum of arti- 
cles connected wiih American history lias also been established. The museum contains much to attract the 
v patriotic visitor. In front of the building stands a handsome statue of the " father of his country," and in the 
'interior of the hall are paintings of Washington and al<o many other objects of interest. Some of these are es- 
pecialiv suggestive. Still hanging from the ceiling is the antique glass chandelier which shed light upon the 
momentous and prolonged proceedings during the night of the Third of July, and the furniture is the same as 
that, used by Congress. There is a chair here which is noteworthy, as being in itself quite an aggregation of 
antique and historical curiosities. It was constructed in 1838, and among the materials used are a portion of a 
mahcanv beam from a house built in 149(3 — the first by European hands in America — for the use of Christo- 
pher Columbus, near the present city of St. Domingo; fragments of the Treaty Elm, and of William Penn's 
Cottage iii Letitia Court, since removed to Fairmount Park ; of the frigate Constitution ; of the ship of the 
line Pennsylvania ; and one of a group of noted walnut trees which in the olden times served as a landmark 
to persons going from the city to the State House, then out of town, and in front of which the trees stood. 
Among the other relics invested in this piece of furniture are portions of cane seating from a chair which be- 
longed to Penn, and a lock of hair of Chief Justice Marshall. Franklin's desk, and a portion of the pew used 
by Washington in Christ Church happily link the truths and wonders of science and the blessings of revealed 
religion through two of our most loved names. The walls are hung with portraits of historical characters from 
Hernando Cortez to William Penn, from Thomas Jefferson to Andrew Jackson — including, so far as attainable, 
correct likenesses of the signers of the Declaration, and the leading soldiers who carried out the doctrines of that 
document, and forced them through the privations, battles, cabals and victories of seven years to the very throne 
of England, from which George Third had to acknowledge their supremacy, if not their wisdom. The gallery 
contains such 'effigies of heroes as arc beloved of the Republic, and the painter of the large majority of the heads 
was Charles \Vilson Peale, who had seen the men whose features he transferred to canvas in their heroic 

moods. \ 

A little beyond Independence Hall the visitor reaches the busy newspaper region, the "Printing House 
Square" of Philadelphia. At the corner of Chestnut and Sixth Streets is the splendid Public Ledger Building, 
where is daily issued the Public Ledger, one of the most noted daily newspapers in the country, by Mr. George 
\V. Childs. Around about this neighborhood are the homes of the other principal leading daily newspapers 
of the citv, namely, the German Democrat, Inquirer, North American, Press, Record, Times, A'eiCS, Call am! 
[; illetin all of which are housed in commodious buildings, that of the Record being a must elegant and costly 


structure. The Court Record, Fret Press, Gazette, Tageblatt, Volksblalt, Star, Item, Telegroj>/> — have their 
offices in different parts of the municipality. There are also several religious, trade, and other weekly papers 
published in the city, and these are severally ably conducted, and have large circulations even beyond the city's 


A short distance from the Ledger ..Hire i- the new magnificent Drexel Building, ;i splendid marble edifice 
which towers above all its neighbors in the city save the new public buildings. In this building are two banks. 
Tlir Stock Exchange has recently removed into this building and also the Board of Trade. Both have most 
convenient and commodious quarters. The Stock Exchange was originally organized in the Exchange Coffee 
Ilouse, in Second Street, where, in one corner of a room used by merchants and others as a common rendezvous, 
at certain hours of the lay the brokers met to deal in stocks, bills of exchange, and promissory notes. This 
was about the year 179", ami the secretary of the exchange, Mr. John C. Johnson, has in his possession a stock 
list bearing the date 1792. In the course of its history the exchange has been located in various places, but. in 
its present rooms it is very comfortably housed. The Board of Trade is the successor of a commercial organi- 
zation founded in 1801, called the Philadelphia Chamber of Commerce, which was absorbed in the present 
Board of Trade in 1S45. This is a strong and influential commercial body, and has for its president Mr. Fred- 
erick Fraley, and for its secretary Mr. William R. Tucker. The Drexel Building is also occupied by many 
professional and business men. Between the Drexel Building and the corner of Ninth Street several old build- 
ings have been torn down to make room for more ornamental and artistic edifices now in course of erection 
and, when completed, will add to the many attractions of this popular thoroughfare. 

On the corner of Ninth Street is the Post-office Building, four stories high, and extending from Chestnut 
to Market Streets, and adjoining the Record Bnildino; on Chestnut Street. The Post-office, by reason of its 
great size and the solidity of its construction, is an edifice that arrests the attention of even the most careless of 
visitors to the city. It is built in the modern renaissance style, ami it is admirably adapted to the uses to which 
it is devoted. Besides the Post-office, it contains the United States court rooms and offices for various officials- 
of the Federal Government 

On the corner of Tenth and Chestnut Streets is a magnificent granite building worthy of special mention, 
being one of the handsomest edifices in the city. This was built by and belongs to the Mutual Life Insurance 
Company of New York. The building is fire-proof, and no expense has been spared to render it perfect in 
every respect. It has a frontage on Chestnut Street of fifty-eight feet, and extends down Tenth Street for one 
hundred and seventy-six feet. It has a sub-cellar, a basement, three full stories, and a Mansard. The depth of 
the sub-cellar below the street level is thirteen feet; from the sidewalk to the top of the Mansard crest is ninetv- 
seven feet ; from the sidewalk to the top of the main pavilion is one hundred and four feet, and to the top of 
the flag-staff one hundred and forty feet. The only woodwork is in the doors. The exterior walls on Chest- 
nut Street are of Rhode Island light granite, backed by a brick wall, sufficiently thick to sustain the whole- 
structure even if the granite were removed by the action of tire. The floors are of white Italian marble tiles 
laid upon wrought-iron beams and turned-brick arches, levelled with concrete and hollow brick tiles. The 
■window and door frames are of iron, the wainscoting and surbases of marble, and the staircases of marble 
and iron. 

In this section of Chestnut Street are several splendid insurance companies' buildings, many fashionable 
jewellers' -tores, and nearly a whole block devoted to the sale of pianos and known as "Piano Row." At the 
corner of Twelfth Street is the world-famed general store of Mr. John Wanaraaker, the present Postmaster- 
General, whose establishment covers an entire block with frontage on Chestnut and Market Streets. This estab- 
lishment is claimed to be the largest of its kind in the world; undoubtedly it is the largest in America. A 
little beyond this and on the same side of the street is one of the most interesting buildings in the city. This 
is the United State- Mint. This structure, whirl, is of the Ionic order of architecture and copied from a 
temple at Athens, was built in 1^-29, pursuant to an act of Congress enlarging the operations of the goi :rni 
coining, ami supplementary to the act creating the mint, which was passed in 179-'. The edifice is of brick 
faced with marble ashlar. Except Saturday and Sunday, it is open daily to visitors between twelve and nine 
o'clock; and the beautiful and delicate operations and contrivances for coining, as well as the jxtensive numis- 
matic cabinet, are well worth seeing. Opposite the Mint is the handsome new Lucas Building, and near to the 
former, on the corner of Broad and Chestnut Streets, a magnificent new structure, is in course of erection for 
the Girard Fire and Fife Insurance Company. 




From our vantage in the tower of the Public Buildings we next trace Walnut Street from the Delaware 
River to Broad Street. It runs next to and parallel with Chestnut Street, and though it is not so popular or 
much frequented a thoroughfare as the latter, it contains many historical and notable buildings, and is the 
centre of a vast and important business. The lower portion, from Front up to Third Streets, is largely devoted 
to shipping-offices, wholesale liquor, and other commercial houses. At its junction with Dock Square stands 
the old Merchants' Exchange, a magnificent marble building, with semi-circular portico of Corinthian columns, 
an illustration of which will be found in these pages. It is ninety-five feet wide, one hundred and fourteen 
feet lone, and three stories high. Formerly the basement was occupied by the post-office and two insurance 

Fairmount Waler-work 

companies. The building is now occupied by the Maritime Exchange and the Lumberman's Exchange. In 
this neighborhood many elegant buildings devoted to the business in insurance, coal, iron, real estate, etc., are 
to be seen. At Nos. 308 and 010 is the substantial building of the American Fire Insurance Company. A 
few doors away is tfie Philadelphia agency of the Liverpool and London and Globe Fire Insurance Company, 
whose building presents to the eye a facade simple, chaste, and elegant in design. Nearly opposite stands the 
venerable pile of St. Joseph's Roman Catholic Church, which fronts on Willings Alley, a small thoroughfare 
communicating from Third to Fourth Streets. Oa its site the first Catholic church in Pennsylvania was 
erected about tie year 1730. It was of small dimensions, and, when enlarged, a few years after its erection, it 
was then only 40x40 feet. As such, however, it served the purpose of the parishioners for nearly one hundred 
vears. It was further enlarged in 1821, and rebuilt to it-; present dimensions, 40x100 feet, and consecrated 
in 1830. 


Between Walnut Street and Adelphi Street, on Sixth Street, is the Athenaeum Library Building, which is 
deserving of inspection. This library was organized in 1813, and the present building was erected in 1S47. 

The edifice is an excellent specimen of Italian architecture, tasteful in appeara , yet simple in design. At 

present the large room on the ground floor is used as the library room of the Law Association of Philadelphia. 
The second story is used" by the Athenieum, and is divided into a news-room, library, and chess-room. 

Between Fifth and Sixth Streets is Independence Square, formerly called Stair House Yard. This ground 
was purchased in 17-29, by order of the General Assembly of Pennsylvania, for the purpose of building a State' 
House. Originally the space extended from Chestnut Street, about half way t.> Walnut; the remaining lots on 
Fifth, Sixth, and Walnut Streets were purchased at various times before the Revolution. The lots at the 
corners of Fifth and Sixth Streets, on Chestnut, occupied by the City Hall and the Court House, were granted 
to the city and county before the Revolution. By act passed in 17:SG the ground south of the State House 
Building was ordered to be " enclosed, and remain a public green and walk forever." The same declaration 
was made by act passed in 1762, and by act passed in 1816, when the State of Pennsylvania .sold the buildings 
and ground to the city of Philadelphia. Notwithstanding these pledges, the ground has been encroached upon 
by the erection of the building of the American Philosophical Society on Fifth Street, below Chestnut. The 
square contains four acre; "^d two roods. ' ear this is Washington Square, which was originally bounded by 
Walnut, Sixth, and back ends of Spruce Streets and Eighth Street lots. Ic is now 540 feet north and south, by 
540 feet 4 inches east and west, and contains six acres and two roods. By resolution of Common Council, 
September 21, 1705, the acquisition of a piece of ground for a burying-placc for strangers dying in the city 
was ordered. The Common Council, which already had a right to the square under the dedication by Penn, 
applied for a patent for the southeast ground, and it was granted to them January 20, 1706. From that time 
it was used as a potter's field up to about 1794. During the Revolution the bodies of hundreds of Continental 
soldiers and British prisoners were buried there. Space for a street on the west side, which was called 
Columbia Avenue, was appropriated in 181 C. The improvement of the ground commenced in the same year, 
when it was laid out and fenced in by George Bridport, artist and engineer, and trees were planted by Andrew 
Gillespie. By ordinance of May 19, 1825, the name was changed to Washington Square. On February 22, 
1833, a corner-stone was laid in the centre for a monument to the memory of Washington, which still remains 
in place. The square was first lighted by gas in 1837. Above this point there are several substantial resi- 
dences, interspersed with offices and stores, up to Broad Street, and beyoud this point the thoroughfare is a 
fashionable residential section. 

From our high elevation there is a splendid view of the whole region of the city lying between Wainut 
Street on the north, and the Horse Shoe Shoals on the south, and between the Delaware and Broad Street. 
The scene is a grand one. Along the river front are ships of all sizes, the fiers of ocean going steamers, and 
huge manufacturing establishments, among which stand out prominently the large sugar refineries of E. C. 
Knight ifc Co. and Clans Spreckles. Away in the distance is Greenwich Point, where are extensive petroleum 
storage and other wharves, which are connected with the Greenwich extension of the Pennsylvania Railroad and 
the Delaware Branch of the Schuylkill River E. S. Railroad. The principal streets running east and west in this 
section are: Locust, Spruce, Union, Pine, Lombard. Gaskill, South, Bainbridge, Monroe, Fitzwater, German, 
Catharine, Queen, Christian, Marriott, Carpenter, Washington. Ellsworth, Federal, Marion, Wharton, Reed, 
Dickinson, Greenwich) Tasker, Morris, Pierce, Moore, Siegel, Mifflin, McKean, Snydi r, Jackson, Wolf, Ritner, 
Porter, Shunk, Oregon Avenue, Johnson, Bigler, Pollock, Packer, and Curtin Streets, and part of League 

Down near the verge of the river, in Swanson Street, below Christian Street, in the old district of South- 
ward where the early Swedes first established there abodes, can be seen the spire of the famous Old Swede's 
Church, on the site of which, in 1677, the Swedes built a log structure, which served equally well for church 
or fort, as the exigencies of those somewhat uncertain times might demand. The present building was; erected 
in 1700, and it is the oldest church in Philadelphia. To all appearances it is just as sound now as when it was 
built. It long ago passed under Episcopal control, and a congregation of that faith w< rships in it at present. 
The building is of brick and stands in a cemetery where arc to be found gravestones dating as far back as 
1612, and the years following down to yesterday, though most of tie ire so much v-rathrr- won: as to 

render many of the inscriptions illegible. A little to the west of the ancient ecclesiastical pile is sc in a ■■< 
patch that relieves the monotony of the scene of house-tops and tall chimneys. This i% Jefferson Square, a 


popular " breathing-place" for the resident? in the Southwark district In 1835 the Assembly authorized the 
commissioners of the 


"to purchase a lot of land in that district to be kept open for a public square foreverdn the same manner that 
the public squares in the city of Philadelphia are kept open." The whole of this district, known as Southwark 
and sometimes as the Southern Liberties, was, prior to 185-t, when it became a part of the city of Philadelphia, 
the oldest district in the county. It began to grow much earlier than the northern portions of the county 
beyond the city bounds. In this increase the section was very much aided by the Swedish settlements of 
Wicaco and Moyamensing. This region was the first which required the attention of the General Assembly. 
By agreement the inhabitants had continued some of the principal streets of the city runntnc north and south 
hrough their territory. In regird to the cross-streets there was not always as much unanimity, and for the 
want of such regulations the inhabitants applied to the Assembly by petition. On May 1-1, 1762, an act was 
passed creating the district of Southwark a distinct municipality. The bounds commenced on Cedar Street, at 
the Delaware, and proceeded thence west to Passyunk road; along the latter to Moyamensing road; thence by 
Keeler's Lane to Greenwich road; thence to the river Delaware, and along the several courses of the same to 
the place of beginning. On September 29, 1787, the General Assembly passed an act to appoint commissioners 
to lay out the district of Southwark, marking out the courses of the principal streets, not only in that district, 
but also in Moyamensing and Passyunk. This was preparatory to the passage of an act of April 18, 1794, 
which erected' a full corporation under the title of "the Commissioners to lay out the district of Southwark." 
They laid out a large number of streets, and most of their plans were confirmed by the Supreme Executive 
Cour/j.U 1790. The greatest dimensions were one and a quarter miles in length, by one and a quarter miles in 
bjadth, and the total area was 760 acres. The name Southwark was partly adopted not only in allusion to 
the situation of the district south of the city of Philadelphia, but it was also adopted from the name of a 
borough in the county of Surrey, England, immediately opposite the city of London, and for many years con- 
sidered a portion of that metropolis. Just before the conso'idation of Southwark with the city of Philadelphia 
in 185 4, the commissioners ordered to buy a public square, purchased a lot belongiug to the Miller estate, situ- 
ated between Third and Fourth Streets, and extending from Washington Avenue to Federal Street, 392 feet 
from east to west, 307 feet on Fourth Street, and 292 feet on Third Street; area, two acres and two roods. The 
commissioners called the ground Jefferson Square. It was laid out by order of the city of Philadelphia after con- 
solidation, improved with trees, grass, and walks, and enclosed with an iron fence, which has since been removed. 
Looking to the extreme south is 


separated from Greenwich Island by Back Channel. On League Island is the LJnited States Navy Yard, an 
institution of vast proportions. Extensive improvements are proposed to be carried out on the island. Two 
dry docks are to be ouilt by the government, and other improvements are to follow, while a permanent plant 
will be established for the building and repairing of ships for the navy. This will assure to many of the skilled 
mechanics of Philadelphia, as well as to a large number of workmen of the different branches of industry repre- 
sented in ship-building, etc., profitable employment. The benefits to Philadelphia frorn this will be of a most 
desirable character. 

Separating Greenwich Island from the mainland is Hollander Creek, which formerly made a clear course 
through from the Delaware to the Schuylkill, making the lower part of the Neck an island, which was further 
divided by other streams, so that there were three islands at the lower end of what is now considered fast land 
in Philadelphia, in addition to League Island. The westernmost was called Manasonk or Manazunk. It was 
adjoined on the east by Drufivc Island, Isle des Raisins or Grape Island, which was immediately north of 
League Island, and is now known as Greenwich Island. North of Drufivc Island was another, which has no name- 
The creek was named after Peter Hollander, a Swedish governor who succeeded Peter Minuit as commandant at 
Fort Christina in 1039. 


a distinct municipality, formerly comprised this seeiion of the city. Passyunk i^ variously spelled in ancient 
documents, and was' the name of an Indian Village here, and afterward-, a tract of land computed at one thou- 



sand acres, given originally by Queen Christina, August 20, L653,to Lieut, Swen Schuie, and to. his wife and to 
his heirs, in considnration of good and important services rendered to the king of Sweden bv the said gallant 
lieutenant. On Jan. 1. 1667-68, Gov. Richard Nichols, granted Passyunk to Robert Ashman, John Ash- 
man, Thomas Jacob, Duncan Williams, Francis Walker, Thomas Hewlin, Frederick Anderson, Joshua Jacobs, 

1 ims-Wl I'll wi>m 

■» r ' r It! : «! H iff- 3! 8i ^^~^-v— — n _ 7 


Colonnade Hotel. 

ami Thomas Jacobs had a quit rent of ten bushels of wheat per year. Passynnt was' the first tract above 
he marshland in the Neck, which latter has since become fast land. It fronted on Schuylkill River from 
about Point Breeze up to a little called Pinney's or Piney Creek, which Mr. Henry >av>. means in the 
Delaware Indian language -a place to sleep." From about the level <>f Pinney's < V. k the boundary of Pass- 
yunk's tract extended in a straight Inn' towards tin- southeast, t<> a point which f . ■: -n- •.] ., boundarv of Moyi 



iht-j, thenee south by west to the limit of the fast land, and over in an irregular shape to the Schuylkill. The 
northeastern boundary was about on a parellel with Twelfth Street. Passyunk occupied more than a quarter of 
the fast land south of the city. It became a township at a very early period. The limit of the township was 
extended from the South Street city line along the Schuylkill and the Delaware and Back Channel to a point 
bevond the eastern end of League Island, whence it ran north by west and struck the city line at South Street 
between Schuylkill Fifth (Eighteenth) and Sixth (Seventeenth) streets. The township was estimated to be in 
its greatest length three and three quarter miles; greatest breadth three miles; area, 5110 acres. Passyunk, 
according to Henry, means " a level place," "a place below the hills." There were no villages in this town- 
ship, but it was at one time a favorite place 
for country-seats. It was traversed by the 
Federal road, afterwards called Federal Street, 
from the Delaware to Gray's Ferry, by a por- 
tion of Moyamensing road across to Green- 
wich Island, Passyunk road, Long Lane, and 
Irish Tract Lane. 

North of Hollander Creek is seen the 
extensive and well-managed institution, the 
Woman's Hospital, located on League Island 
road, and still farther north are seen two 
large buildings, one being the Thirteenth and 
Fifteenth Street Depot, and the other the 
Lombard and South Street L'epot. A block 
away the Passyunk Avenue is seen to take a 
diagonal course and to cut across the regular 
squares from Broad to Fifth and German 
Streets. On this avenue, at the corner of 
Tenth Street, is Moyamensing, or Philadel- 
phia County Prison, the building of which 
was completed in 1836. It is a prominent 
object in the view, being a massive building 
of Quincy granite. It contains four hundred 
cells for male and one hundred cells for female 
prisoners. This place of public correction 
stands in what was formerly the 


t; 'v f i^-~ C: 

' " I ' ■ -• •*"' " 


First National Bank. 

It embraced that portion of the fast land 
of the Neck lying between Passyunk and 
Wicaco. It was granted by the Dutch gov- 
ernor Alexander d'Hinoyossa, on fourth 
month, third day, 1664, to Martin Clensmith, 
William Stille, Andrew Bankson, and John Mntson. Moyamensing included this ground and Wicaco, except 
sued- narta of the latter as were included in Southward It extended from about Schuylkill Sixth (Seventeenth 
Street) and South Street, over to the Passyunk road, and over to the Delaware below the built-up parts of 
Southward In 1816 the'greatest length of Moyamensing was estimated to be three miles; the greatest breadth 
two mile!.? area, 2-'60 acres. By act of March 24, 1812, the inhabitant- of Moyamensing were incorporated by 
tbe style of "the commissioners and inhabitants of the township of Moyamensing." By act of April 4, 1831, 
the township was divided into East and West Moyamensing. On the authority of Acrclius it is said that Moyr 
mensing signifies an '•unclean place," or - dung heap," which was adopted from the fact that at one time grca 
flock- of pigeons had their roosts in the forest and made the place unclean for the Indians, from which circum- 
stance it received its name. -The township was 'one of the earliest created after the settlement of Pennsylvania. 



The green patch lying a block or two to the west of the prison is Passyunk Square, bordering on Whar- 
ton and Reed and Twelfth and Thirteenth Streets. A portion of the ground was purchased on the l :5th of 
April, 1832, by the commissioners of tbc county of Philadelphia, for the purpose of building a prison. The 

whole tract was something less than sixteen and one half acres; the prison occupied only a portion of this, and 
left vacant ground oh the west extending from near Kleventh to Thirteenth Streets. About 1833 the Legisla- 
ture appropriated the ground west of the prison for use as a parade-ground for the Volunteers of the First 
Division of Pennsylvania militia, under the charge of the major-general and brigadier-general commanding 
The enclosure was occasionally used for military purposes, ami remained nothing more than a dustv field until 
the township was annexed to the city in 1854, since which date the Square has been levelled and improved by 

HI i^SPli! Iftf 

planting trees, laying out walks, sowing srrass, etc. This district has several library and other useful public 

Farther north, South Street, yet containing many buildings of ancient strnctui?. especially in those prrts 
near the Delaware, is an interesting thoroughfare. In this and the adjacent streets of Lombard, Pine, Spruce 
Ann, and Union Streets there is also much to interest visitors to the city in the way of old-time edifices, 
markets, etc.; and hereabouts are to be found the slums, the resort of the "hardest characters." The el • trie 
lights have, however, lit up many dark alleys and byways, and the police in late years have been vigilant in 
hunting down questionable idlers. Through these combined agencies the district has lost run'. ,.f its unsavory 
reputation, so characteristic of it in the past. On Front, South, and Lombard Streets there isa large p 
tion of negroes. The poorer class is to be found in the eastern and the better-to-do class in the wi sec- 

tions of Lombard, South, and Pine Streets, between the Delaware and Broad Street. Lombard Street has 
several notable buildings, and among these i> tie- Howard Hospital and Infirmary for [nc u ibh - at N-js. 1518 
and 1520. Few of the buildings, however, are more interesting than the Eotel Felis, whie' . r a hostelry of a 
most unique character. Anglicised, " Hotel Felis " is " Cat Hotel,'" and the establish"-,. *' ■ >t< I to caring 

for the feline pets of the city during the absence <>f their owners. It is ■ »nagenient of the 



Women's Branch of the Pennsylvania Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals, is located at Xo. 124l' 
Lombard Street, and here Tabby is systematically fed and compelled to observe regulation hours. 

The large building seen standing amid a group of fine trees, two blocks away from Washington Square, is 
the Pennsylvania Hospital, situated on Eighth and Pine Streets ; Dr. Thomas Bond and Benjamin Franklin 
were the active spirits who secured from the General Assembly in 1750 a charter for this time-honored and 
most beneficent institution. In the following year the hospital was started upon its active career in a pri- 
vate house, the residence of Judge John Kinsey, on the south side of Market Street, above Fifth. In the 
last month of the year 1754 the square of ground where the hospital now stands, and which was then 
"far out of town," was, with the exception of a portion of it given by the proprietaries, Messrs. Thomas and 
Eichard Penn, sons of William Perm; and on May 28, 175-5,. the corner-stone of the building, with the 
following inscription prepared by Franklin upon it, was laid: "In the year of Christ, MDCCLV., George the 
Second happily reigning (for he sought the happiness of his people), Philadelphia flourishing (for its inhab- 
itants were public spirited), this building, by the bounty of the government and of many private persons 
was piouslv founded for the relief of the sick and miserable. May the God of mercies bless the undertaking/' 
In L>eeember of the following year patients were admitted, but it was not until the close of the century that the 
hospital was completed in accordance with the original plans. Since the hospital was first opened more than 
one hundred and twenty thousand patients have been admitted and its benefits are offered to all. It is the 
great -accident hospital" of the city, and all cases of accidental injury, if brought within twenty -four hours, 
are received without question. The first clinical lectures on medicine and surgery in America were given in 
this hospital, and these are still continued on Wednesday and Saturday mornings. There is a fine medical 
library of over fifteen thousand volumes, and a large and useful pathological museum. There are eight attend- 
ing surgeons and physicians, and four resident physicians: also a female superintendent of trained nurses, who 
graduate after a year's service. Connected with the hcspital is an ambulance and telephone service. The insane 
were cared for by this hospital until 1841, when the insane patients were removed to the hospital which had 
been erected for them on Forty-fourth Street and Haverford Avenue. The grounds of the time-honored hos- 
pital are very tastefully kept, and in the centre of a lawn is a fine statue of William Penn. 

Not far awav is the Franklin Institute Building on Seventh Street, below Market Street, one of the fore- 
most institutions in the country for the promotion of the mechanical arts. Founded in 1824, it has had asso- 
ciated with it some of the most noted men in mechaTilcs. The building is three stories high and is a substan- 
tial structure, containing lecture-roota, chemical and physical i„ Nratories, a scientific and technical library of 
the most complete kind in the country, drawing school, etc. 

The plain, large brick building observed standing over on Tenth Street, between Walnut and Samson 
Streets, is the Jefferson Medical College, which, in respect of the number of its students, completeness of its 
equipment, and the learned ability and reputation of its faculty, holds a leading position among the medical 
institutions in the country. The founder was Dr. George McClellan, and it was established in 1S20. The 
present building, which was remodelled and enlarged in 1881, has been occupied since 1829. The institution 
. contains extensive and valuable anatomical, surgical, and pathological museums, which are annually enriched by 
iuiportant additions. 

The large, square building seen over on Tenth Street, and between Market and Chestnut Streets, is the 
Mercantile Library, which -was founded in 1S21 by a company of merchants, mechanics, clerks, and others. 
The library has since 1869 been located in the present building, which was formerly a market-house, and was 
•changed at a cost of £100,000 to its present condition. The library and reading-room have an area of 187x74 
feet, with arched ceiling, ventilated windows, and side-lights. The reading-room proper, which is in the west 
■end of the building, is 67x74 feet, and divided by a low partition into two rooms, one for the female and the 
-other for male visitors. There is, in addition to this, a newspaper and chess-room, on the second floor, over 
, \e main entrance The departments devoted to newspapers and periodicals are believed to be better supplied 
than those of any other library or reading-room in the country. On the first floor there are waiting and con- 
versation-rooms, ladies' parlor, directors' and lecture-rooms. A gallery added in 1S75 gives accommodation 
for 70,000 volumes. 

The ciooranl jldine; standing on the southwest corner of Locust and Thirteenth Streets is that of the 
Historical Societ r^vlvania, which was founded in 1825 by a number of Philadelphians, and which held 

its first meetings ;,. ' '' the'American Philosophical Society, on Fifth and Chestnut Streets. In 1877 



the present building was erected aud taken possession of by the society, and it contains a fine and valuable col- 
lection of original historical documents, curiosities, and more than twenty thousand volumes of books. In the 
next Mock in which the society's building is, stands, on the corner of Locust and Broad Streets the Academy 

' of the Protestant Episcopal Church, and 
is a most useful institution. Immediately 
opposite to this is the Philadelphia Li- 
brary, an institution which was the suc- 
cessor to " the first literary society in the 
province," formed in 1728, with Benja- 
min Franklin as the head, and organized 
and founded in 1731. The meetings were 
held in a small house located in Jones' 
Alley, afterwards called Pewter Platter 
Alley. From there a removal was made 
to a room in the State House, Chestnut 
Street below Sixth. In 1742 a charter 
was granted by Thomas Penn, Proprie- 
tary Governor. The institution afterwards 
occupied the second floor of the Carpen- 
ters' Hall Building, Chestnut Street below 
Fourth, which place was rented (17 72) 
for £36 per annum. At this period the 
librarian received 

■ 'mm 



■■ Ei 



J. C. Lucas Building. 

'-h collection numbered some three thousand five hundred volumes, 
- membership of more than five hundred. Tn 1869 C 

the munificent sum 
of £o per year for 
his services, out of 
which he paid an 
assistant/ In 1789 
on Fifth and Library 
Streets the founda- 
tion - stone was laid 
for a library build- 
ing. The building, 
with room for ten 
thousand volumes, 
was finished in 1791, 
and in 1792, the 
last work of adorn- 
ment, a statue of 
Benjamin Franklin 
by Lazzarina, was 
placed in a niche in 
the front of the 
building now demol- 
ished. In 1792 the 
library was enri' hed 
by the gift of James 
Logan, who pre- 
sente 1 entire the 

books of the I. h 

| a grand t >tal of 
Ri h left bi \ estate 



amounting to nearly a million dollars, to the company, and the money was used by the executor in erecting on 
the square fronting Broad and bounded by Christian, Carpenter, and Thirteenth Streets, a grand edifice, to be 
devoted to library uses, and known as the RLdgway-Rush Library. There was a certain restriction in the will to 
which the Philadelphia Library would not reconcile themselves, and in accordance with the intentions of the dona- 
tor in case these restrictions should go unrespected, the library was opened as a free institution, and henceforth 
' recognized as the Ridgway branch of the Philadelphia Library. The Library Company, not content with the 
prospect of the new building through the munificence of Dr. Rush, and having an extensive building fund, deter- 
mined in 1870 to inaugurate measures toward the erection of a suitable structure, and in 1879 the corner-stone 
of the new buildinc was laid. The new structure, which is chiefly built of brick, although bearing marks of no 
particular style of architecture, is pleasing to the eye, and although not seeming to resemble the old library, 
was constructed iu the interior as regards arrangement after the style of the original building. The library is 
rich in scarce books, etc., and the hours of admission are from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. 

Turning our attention north of Market Street the eye commands an uninterrupted view of the forest of 
buildings stretching up to Bridesburg and Fraukford, and to the open country beyond. The principal streets 
on the north of Market, and running from east to west, are Filbert, Commerce, Church, Arch, Cherry, Race, 
Branch, New, Vine, Wood, Callowhill, Willow, Noble, Margaretta, Buttonwood, Spring Garden, Green, Mount 
Vernon, Wallace, Melon, Fairmount Avenue, Olive, Brown, Parrish, Ogden, Poplar, Laurel, Beaver, George, 
Girard Avenue, Stiles, Thompson, Seybert, Master, Jefferson, Oxford, Columbia Avenue, Montgomery Avenue, 
Berks, Nnrris, Otis, Diamond, Susquehanna Avenue, Dauphin, York, Cumberland, Huntingdon, Lehigh Avenue, 
Somerset, Cambria, Indiana, Clearfield, Alleghany, Westmoreland Avenue, Ontario, Tioga, Venango, Erie Ave- 
nue, and Germantown Avenue. Close beside where we stand in the tower of the Public Buildings, and located 
on the corner of Broad and Filbert Street (the latter running parallel with Market Street), is the New Masonic 
Temple, one of the most elegant and costly buildings of its class to be found in the laud, and an illustration of 
which, will be found in this work. Looking over an immense group of buildings the eye alights upon the tall 
tower and spire of one of Philadelphia's most noted buildings. This is Christ Church, located on Second 
Street, north of Market Street. The edifice of to-day, built between the years 1727 and 1754, was the succes- 

--V-'-V --v m -i "' : . '($ 

■ "l v i ■ v . ' ' *•! '■ * I -....■;' 

Dock Street, from Walnut Street. 


sor of a building erected on the simie site in 1695. The steeple of this church is one hundred and ninety-six 
feet in height, and from it a splendid view is to be had. The bells in the high tower are said to be tlie oldest 
on this side of the Atlantic. They were cast in London in 1754, aud when the Liberty Bell proclaimed the 
birth of liberty these bells rang a merry peal. Washington worshipped in this church, and in the aisles of the 
edifice and in the adjoining graveyard are buried many notable men. Franklin and his wife are buried in the 
yard on the corner of Arch and Fifth Streets. A group of trees located several squares to the northwest of 
this spot is a square named after that famous philosopher aud statesman, namely, Franklin Square, which con- 
tains an area of seven acres and three roods. It was originally bounded by Race, Sixth, and Vine Streets. In 
1741 Thomas Penn issued a warrant in favor of the German Reformed congregation for a portion of the 
square on the northern side, one hundred and fifty feet in breadth east and west, and three hundred and six 
feet north and south, to be used as a burying-ground for the congregation, for the price of £50, subject to a 
quit rent of five shillings. The congregation occupied this ground for burial purposes for nearly a century. 
The city of Philadelphia for a great portion of the time was protesting against such occupation, upon the 
ground that William Penn granted the property free to the city, and that his descendants, when they issued 
the patent, had no title. The decision of the Supreme Court confirmed these positions about the year 1836. 
The congregation relinquished the use of the ground and removed some of the bodies, but the larger proportion 
were allowed to remain. Improvements commenced by the planting of trees, sowing grass, and inclosin" the 
ground in September, 1815. The street on the western boundary, now called Franklin Street, fifty feet wide, 
was ordered to be opeued in 1819. The name of the square was changed to Franklin by resolution of Council 
in 1825. A fine marble fountain stands in the centre of the square. The neighborhood east and north of this 
was, prior to 1854, a separate district, known as the 


and is now the centre of much commerce and considerable manufacturing enterprises. 

The " Liberties" was a term or name applied by William Penn to a certain tract of land ] v i n "■ north and 
west of the original city of Philadelphia. It contained what was called " the liberty land of free lots," because 
the proprietaries gave to the first purchasers of ground in the colony, according to the extent of their purchase, 
a portion of the land within those limits free of price. The original idea of Penn, as stated elsewhere, w;^ to 
lay out a great town of ten thousand acres. When the commissioners came to survey this space of ground it 
was found somewhat difficult, and when Penn arrived, in 1682, be determined to divide the town into two 
parts, one to be called the city and the other the "Liberties." The city contained about 1820 acres. The 
Liberties extended north of Vine Street to the mouth of the Cohoquinoque Creek, or Pegg's Run, and up the 
same so as to go around the land of Jurian Hartsfelder, which had already been granted away before Penn 
came to the colony. There were also Swedish, Dutch and English grants of land made, before Penn came to 
be the proprietary, that had to be respected, so that the liberty lands were very irregular in their boundaries, 
and ran by various courses along the Cohocksink, Wissanoming, Tacony, "Wingohoeksing, and other streams, 
and Gerniantown anil Bristol townships to the Schuylkill, over the same and out to Cobb's Creek, and down 
the same and alon^ the west side of the Schuylkill to a point opposite Vine Street at the north citv line, and 
along the same to the place of beginning This survey was made in 1682, and the Liberties contained on the 
east side of the Schuylkill nearly 9162 acres ; west side, 7074 acres, 2 q., 17 p. ; total 16, 236 acres, 1 q., 20 p. 
These liberty lands on the east side of the Schuylkill became a township nearly from the time of survey, and 
were called the Northern Liberties, while the Western Liberties, beyond the Schuylkill, became a portion of the 
township of Blockley. The territory between the Delaware and the Schuylkill was subsequently divided. 
The western part was called Penn Township and the eastern part was sometimes called the Uninc rporati 1 
Northern Liberties. Whenever so spoken of, the reference was to that portion of the township which had cot 
been taken up by the formation of districts, and by the time of consolidation (1854) the area of the tow] 
was very small, the districts of Northern Liberties, .Spring Garden, Kensington, Penn, Richmond, and the 
Township (if Penn and the boroughs of Aramingo and Bridesburg having been carved out of it. In 185' the 
township, or Unincorporated Northern Liberties was a space of land north of Kensington, west of Richmond 
d Aramingo, and a portion of Fr.inkford, south of a portion of Oxford and Bristol townships, and ;ast of 
enn Township. A part of it was west of Frankford road, and all ef it was east of the Gerniantown ro/>d. 



as stated in the foregoing, was a portion of the Township of the Xorthern Liberties, and this district was the 
first object of particular care by act of assembly of March 9, 1771, which provided for the appointment of 
persons to regulate streets, direction of buildings, etc. By act of March 30, 179], the inhabitants of that 
portion of Northern Liberties between Vine Street and Pegg's Run, and the middle of Fourth Street and the 
Delaware River, were empowered to elect three commissioners to lay taxes for the purpose of lighting, watching 
and establishing pumps within these bounds. On March 28, 1803, the legislature passel an act to incorporate 
that part of the township of the Northern Liberties lying between the west side of Sixth Street and the river 
Delaware, and between Vine Street and Cohocksink Creek. By the same act the corporation was created by 
the title of '-the Commissioners and Inhabitants of the Incorporated District of the Northern Liberties." The 
district was principally composed of a tract of land originally called Hartsfield. This was a title given in a pat- 
ent and some maps to the ground granted March 25, 1676, to Jurian Hartsfelder. It included all the ground 
bounded by the Delaware between Coakquenauque (Peggs's Run) and the Cohocksink Creeks, and extended 
westward about as far as the line of Ridge road. In the tract was nearly the whole of the ground afterward 
tho Northern Liberties, and a portion of Spring Garden and Penn districts. Hartsfelder sold a portion of this 
property in 1679-80 to Hannah Salter, and another portion to Daniel Pegg in 1688-89, the latter having pre- 
viously bought Hannah Salter's interest. "William Penn patented the whole Hartsfield tract to Daniel Pegg 
in 1689. 


now a most populous and wealthy section of the city, at one time formed the western part of the Northern 
Liberties Township, and in 1807 was formed a district township by order of the Court of Quarter Sessions. It 
was north of Vine Street (the original northern boundary of the city), bounded on the east by Sixth Street to 
the intersection of the road to Germantown, thence by the same north by west to the foot of Logan's Hill,, 
southwest to the Township-line road, along the same to a point a short distance above Manheim Lane, then 
over in a southwest direction to the Schuylkill, and down the same to Vine Street. Its greatest length was- 
four miles; its greatest width three miles; its area 7680 acres. The districts of Spring Garden and Penn were 
created out of this township, and it included portions of Rising Sun and Nicetown and Fort St. David's, after- 
wards called Falls Village. It was traversed in a northwesterly direction by Ridge Avenue from Ninth and 
Vine Streets, and northeastwardly from the Schuylkill, between F.iirmount and Lemon Hill, by Turner's Lane r 
which ran into the Germantown road, and by Nicetown Lane, from the Ridge road below the Falls, over to 
Nicetown, Germantown, and beyond. 

The Penn district was that portion of the Northern Liberties which lay north of the north boundary line of 
Spring Garden, between Delaware, Sixth Street, and the river Schuylkill, and between a line parallel with 
Hickory Lane (now Fairmount Avenue), west of Sixth .Street as far as Broad Street, and then due west to the 
Schuylkill, and along the same to a line parallel with, and at a distance of one hundred feet north of, Susque- 
hanna Avenue, and thence to the middle of Sixth Street. It was created a district by act of February 26, 1844, 
as '-the Commissioners and Inhabitants of the district of Penn." The 


alluded to was a small settlement marked on Varle's Map of 1796, lying between Vine Street and Button wood 
Lane, and a point on a line with Seventh Street (then unopened), and extending as far west as the Ridge road. 
There was a street (now known as Franklin Street), which ran north from Vine Street across Callowhi]], and 
stopped opposite a house half way between Callowhill Street and Buttonwood Lane. The street now known as- 
Eighth Street (then called Garden Street) ran through the centre of the district, and the street then called 
{', irden Street (now known as Spring Street) ran from Vine to Buttonwood. Charles Street ran from Callow- 
hiil to Buttonwood. The district was incorporated March 22, 1813, as "the Commissioners and Inhabitants of 
the District of Sprint; Garden." The original boundaries were Vine Street on the south; the middle of 
Hickory Lane (afterward Coates Street, now Fairmount Avenue) on the north ; Broad Street on the west, ar ' 
the middle of Sixth Street on the east. O.i March 21, 1827, the district was enlarged by adding that part i 



Penn township beginning at the middle of Sixth Street to a point 210 feet north of the north side of Poplar 
Lane; thence northwest, parallel to the lane, at a distance of 200 feet from the latter, to the middle of Broad 
Street; thence parellel with Vine Street to the river Schuylkill. The meaning of this was, that whilst the 
upper boundary of the district took a course from Sixth Street west by north to Broad Street, the line beyond 

the latter ran due east and west to the Schuylkill. It extended by the course 

of that river to Vine Street, and along the latter to Broad, where it met the 

old district line. By this addition the line of Spriug Garden was more than 

doubled ; at the time it was annexed to the city in 1854," the area 

O ^^^~ UtI ^.. of l ' ie t ' lstr ' ct was estimated to be eleven hundred acres. 

'"yP&SZ-!- i2§^ -r'^A There are two theories as to the origin of the name Spring 

derived from Spring Garden, the 
-seat in that neighborhood, which 

belonged to, and was for sale bv, 
net. A better suggestion is that 
it was derived from the Spring Gardens, an old-estab- 
lished place of resort in London. 




>.*'?N *. 

Js fSBraWfli ft |,|(K^s4- 

GdwILyM* . .'■•i..i , fl,f p 


was another township embraced in the 
Northern Liberties Township and 
added to the city in 1854. It is some- 
times called Fort Richmond, owing to 
its fronting on the Delaware and being 
the centre of large shipping interests, 
especially of coal. Richmond derived 
its name from two country-seats in the 
neighborhood — the Richmond prop- 
erty of the Roberts family, lying on 
the Point road near the Delaware, 
and Richmond Lodge, which in 
1808-09 belonged to 
the Fox family. It 
was incorporated a 
district on February 
27, 1847, under the 
title of "the Commis- 
sioners and Inhabitants 
of the district of Rich- 
mond, in the county of 
Philadelphia." It" ex- 
tended along the Dela- 
ware River to a point 

some distance northwest of the upper end of Treaty (Petty V) Island; thence 
northwest nearly to the point where Frankford Creek makes its most southerly 
bend; thence southwest to "Westmoreland Street; northwest along the same to Emerald Street; southwest 
along the latter to a lane running from Frankfoijd Turnpike to Nicetown Lane; along Frankford Lane to the 
north boundary of Kensington; and down the same to Gunner's Run, and along that stream to the Delaware 
River. The area of the Richmond district was 1163 acres, and within this region are many extensive manu- 
facturing concerns of various nature, and particularly those engaged in the different branches of the textile 
industry. To the northwest of Richmond is another large manufacturing section of the city, and formerly a 
district township. This is 

Mutual Life Insurance Building. 




which was also at one time a portion of the township of the Northern Liberties, which lay between the Cohock- 
sink Creek and Gunner's Run, in the neighborhood of the road to Frankford, and between that' road and the 
Delaware River. It was originally known as Shakamaxon, an Indian village, which is called on Lind?trom's 
Map '• Kackamensi," and in old deeds " Saeharuexin." It was a tract of land lying on the river Delaware above 
Hartafield, subsequently a part of Northern Liberties. Shakamaxon was known as a town before Nov. 12, 1678, 

South Broad Street. 

when Lawrence Cock made a grant of three hundred acres. In the deed it is stated that the whole tract of 
land surveyed at Shakamaxon was eighteen hundred acres, of which Lawrence Cock, Moens Cock, Gunner 
Rambo, and Michael Neilson were owners. Henry says that Shakamaxon means a "place of evil." It began to 
grow into a settlement soon after the village of the Northern Liberties felt an increase of population. Kensing- 
ton then was a scattered region of streets running parallel with the Delaware from southwest to northeast, and 
crossed by others from southeast to northwest. It was inhabited principally by fishermen and ship carpenters. 
Ou March G, 1820, the legislature created a new corporation, called "Commissioners and Inhabitants of the 
Kensington district of the Northern Liberties." Their jurisdiction extended over the ground which commenced 
at the Cohocksink Creek and the Northern Liberties line, along the river Delaware to the south line of Gibson's 
land, and thence along that line to Gunner's Creek, and across to the south line of the land of the Norris' estate ; 
then along the same, crossing Frankford road to the Germantown road, down the eastwardly side of the latter to 
the middle of Sixth Street, then along said street to the line of the Northern Liberties, which touched Sixth Street 
at Cohocksink Creek, and then along that creek to the place of beginning. The name is derived from Ken- 
sin ;ton, town and parish of Middlesex, England, and a western suburb of the city of London. 



As already stated elsewhere in these pages, Aramingo, through which runs the Aramingo Canal, connecting 
Frankford Creek with the Delaware, was a borough created out of the township of the Northern Liberties, and 
was incorporated April 11, 1S50. It was shaped something like a broad V reversed. It was bounded on the 
northeast by a portion of the borough of Bridesburg and the Frankford Creek, which divided it from a portion 
of Oxford township and Frankford ; on the northwest the L T nincorporared Northern Liberties and the district 
of the Northern Liberties were boundaries, the latter partly on the southwest, and Richmond district on the 
southeast and southwest. The name is an abbreviation and alteration from the Indian name of the stream adja- 
cent, called, by the Swedes and English, Gunner's Run. The original name was Tumanaranaming, the meaning 
of which is now not known. By cutting off a portion of the head and tail of the name and omitting two letters 
in the centre and adding an " o," the word " Aramingo" was fabricated. Farther to the northeast is what is 
still known as 


a busy manufacturing centre. It was a village, prior to its annexation to the city, located south of Frankford 
Creek, and upon a tract of laud at one time belonging to Point-no-Point on the Delaware. It took its name 
from Joseph Kiikbride, who for many years was land-owner there and proprietor of a ferry over Frankford 
Creek, to whom the legislature gave the right to build a bridge and receive toll for passage over the same by 
act March 20, 1811. On April 1, 1833, the county of Philadelphia bought the Kiikbride bridge and two and 
■a half acres of lane for §5500. Kirkbridesburgh was considered too long a name for convenient use, and a 
shorter one was adopted Bridesburg was incorporated asa borough on April 1, 1848. 


section of the city was at one period a township in the extreme northeastern part of the county of Philadelphia ; 
bounded on the east and northeast by Poqucssing Creek and Bucks County, on the northwest by Montgomery 
County; and on the west and southwest by the township of Moreland. Its greatest length was estimated at five 
miles; its greatest breadth, two and one half miles; its area, 4700 acres. The township was settled by a few 
Swedes previous to the year 1675, and in that year by four brothers, Nathaniel, Thomas, Daniel, and Wil- 
liam Walton, who were all young and single men. They had arrived at New Castle from England early in that 
year, and, having prospected the land in the neighborho od of the Delaware, chose the country near Poqucssing 
Creek and settled there. They gave to it the name of Byberry, in honor of their native town, near Bristol, 
England. They were joined, after the arrival of the ship " Welcome," in 1682, by Giles and Joseph Knight, 
John Carver, John Heart, Richard Collett, and their families and others. The township of Byberry was estab- 
lished at a verv early date after the coming of Penn. It contained very few villages at the time of considera- 
tion in 1854, and was the most rural of all the townships in Philadelphia county. Byberry Cross-roads, once 
called Plumbsoek and Knightsville, were the principal villages. 


The groups of buildings seen beyond Bridesburg, and northwest of that place, was formerly the borough 
of Whiti' Hall. The boundary of the borough extended westward from the huge building, or rather cluster of 
buildings, that stand over by the side of Frankford Creek, and which form the United States Arsenal, and the 
town lay in the bend made by the creek and Little Tacony and adjoined Frankford. The borough was situate 
in the old township of Tacony, and in the later township of the Northern Liberties. It was incorpoiated as a 
borough on April 9, 1849, and remained so until it was absorbed by the city in 1S54. 


Toaconing or Toaconick, was a small township laid down on Holme's map of 1CS3-84, situate in the bend 
between the river Delaware, Wissonoming Creek on the northeast, and Frankford Creek and Little Tacony 
Creek on the south and west. It lay east of the town of Frankford, and at an early date was incorporated in 


Oxford township. The name was derived from Tekene, and means " wood" or "an uninhabited place. The 
tract lying over to the west of what was Byberry township was 


located on a branch of Moquessing Creek. The manor consisted of 0815 acres, and was granted by William 
Penn, by warrant of November 5, 1682--83, and by patent of August, 1684, to Nicholas More. It was in the most 
northern portion of the county of Philadelphia, in the neighborhood of the Delaware, and lay to the west of 
By berry township. It extended over into Bucks County, and was divided into two townships, one in each 
county, and each called Moreland. The size of Moreland township in Philadelphia County was five miles, its 
greatest length; two miles its greatest width; area, 3720 acres. The principal village was Smithtield or Pleas- 
antville. afterward called Somerton, which was partly in Moreland and partly in Byberry. Adjoining Moreland 
and Byberry on the south was the 


commonly called Lower Dublin. It. extended southeast Dearly in parallel line to Poquessing Creek and the 
Delaware River. Bustleton, Fox Chase, and Holmesburg were in this township. It was five miles at the great- 
est length; three miles in breadth; area, 9509 acres. This township was frequently called Lower Dublin to 
distinguish it from another Dublin township, formerly in Philadelphia County, but not in Montgomery County, 
and there called Upper Dublin. This township was one of the first created in Philadelphia County, but the 
date is not known. 


was a township formed out of a portion of Dublin township in 1853. Its inhabitants voted at one geueral 
election. Its officers were superseded in the next year by consolidation. All the mills, churches, dwellings, 
and streets grouped to the west of White Hall, and intersected by the Little Tacony Creek and the line of the 
Pennsylvania Railroad form the great manufacturing district of 


It was formerly located in the lower part of the township of Oxford, and must have been founded at a 
verv early date — -almost as soon as the village of Germantown. Its name is mentioned in a discussion before 
the provincial council in 1687 between Thomas Fairman aud Robert Jeffs, concerning a piece of property. 
The name of the village was undoubtedly derived from the title of the Franckfort Company, which took up 
ground there. This village was incorporated into a borough by act of March 2, 1S00. By act of April 4, 1831, 
the boundaries of the borough were extended. The borough was then five miles out of the city, and was early 
a manufacturing town, possessing excellent and amply water-power. The Franckfort Company was composed 
of a number of Germans in the old country, and of the eight original stockholders of this company in 16S2 
nearly all were Mistics, or Mennonites, or Quaker converts made by William Penn during his visit in 1677. 
Thomas Parsons was the first to build a grist-mill here in 1698, and long afterwards the village consisted mainly 
of one long, broad street. During the Revolution both the English and American forces came out here on 
foraging expeditions, and there were frequent skirmishes in the village and neighborhood between detachments 
of the two armies. There are now many important manufacturing concerns here engaged in the production of 
woollen goods, prints, hardware, carpets, chemicals, etc. In 1S50 Frankford borough contained 5346 inhabi- 
tants, and four years later became a part of the municipality of Philadelphia. The cluster of buildings to 
which we have referred, and which are known as Frankford Arsenal, is not in Frankford at all, but in Brides- 
burg. Scattered all about are great piles of shells, cannons, mortars, and other instruments of death, but they 
have a peaceful look. The Arsenal is splendidly equipped for making nearly everything required in war, but 
only about one hundred men are now employed in its shops, and they make cartridges, fusees, and friction- 
primers. The cartridges are made for the regular army as well as for the militia. There is a large gun foun- 
dry on the grounds, but it is not used, and only a slight part of the resources of the establishment is utilized. 
The Arsenal grounds are attractively laid out, and contain many roomy old buildings. Imbedded in the wall 
of one of them are two cannon, bearing the date 1748, which an inscription says were surrendered at Saratoga 
during the Revolution. The Arsenal was built soon after the war of 1812, and Lafayette visited during hi 



trip to tliis country in 1825, but there arc not many visitors nowadays. It is but three or four minutes' walk 
from the Bridesburg station on the Pennsylvania Railroad's New York line, and is well worth a visit 

On the edge of Frankford is the handsomely laid-out Jewish cemetery, and to the northwest of this is the 
more extensive and equally well cared for Cedar Hill Cemetery, located on the Bristol turnpike, whi.h 
leads to 


This was formerly a separate township at the northern end of Philadelphia County, at the intersection of 
the angle which runs down from the extreme point of the city boundary and Montgomery County. It was of 
irreguiar form and was bounded on the northwest by a portion of Springfield township, Montgomery County ; 
on the northeast by Cheltenham, Montgomery County. It extended along the latter to Oxford township, but 
was bounded mainly on the ea.>t by Taoony Creek, on the south partly by Winghocking and the Township of 
the Northern Liberties, and on the west and southwest by Germantown township. The old York road ran 
through it to Brauchtown and Milestowu and thence to Buck's County. The greatest length of the township 

Delaware River, below South Street. 

was five and a half miles ; greatest breadth, three miles ; area, 56.50 acres. The time of the formation of the 
township is unknown, but it takes date at an early period. The name is derived from the city of Bristu!, in 
Enjrland. To the right of Bri.-tul is the district known as 


which was a township running from the county line in a southeastern direction to the Delaware River, and 
along the same southwest of the Frankford Creek, and up the same northwardly to Tacony Creek, which it 
followed until it reached the county line near where the northwestern boundary joined it. Frankford, White 
Hall, Fox Chase, Cedar Grove, and Volunteer Town were in this township, and it also took in a former town- 
ship of Tacony. Its greatest length was three miles; its greatest breadth, four miles; its area, 7080 acres. 
This was one of the earliest townships established. The name is supposed to have been derived from the city 
of Oxford, in England. The township was surrounded by the waters of the Delaware and Frankford Creek on 


two sides, and was traversed by the Little Tacony and Sissamoeksink (Wissanoming), or Little Wahauk 

The whole of Oxford and of the various aforenamed townships, now an integral part of the city, are 
largely devoted to manufacturing pursuits,as the numerous large mills, tall chimneys, and tall columns of smoke 
indicate. Here dwell a large portion of the industrial classes of the city ; and the long rows of neat, tidy- 
looking cottages are of a character that few other cities in the country can show the like of as the abodes of 
workmen and their families. Church steeples and spires are prominent here and there above the numerous 
buildings' tops, the green branches of trees peep out at intervals, and the external aspect of the whole region is 
one of progress, prosperity, and contentment. But now let us for a brief period turn to the north window of 
the tower in which we are standing, and take a view of North Broad Street and of those sections of the city 
lying on each side of it. 


is a noble thoroughfare, 113 feet in width, as straight as an arrow and extending northward as far as the eye 
can carry and until it is lost to vision beyond the city's lines in Montgomery County. Away in the distance 
on our right, and framed in by the boundary line of Montgomery County on the north, Tacony Creek ou the 
west, Frankford Creek and Frankford on the south, and Little Tacony Creek on the east, are the districts of 
Voluntcertown, Five Points, Cedar Grove, Crescentville. Bordering on bends of Frankford and Tacony Creeks 
are two adjoining places of sepulture — the Mount Auburn Cemetery and the K. of P. Greenwood Cemetery, 
and immediately north of the former is the Friends' Lunatic Asvlum, a most useful and well-manaered institu- 
tion. To the left of Tacony Creek and bounded by that stream, and by the Wingohocking Creek on the south 
and west, are the Nortkwood Cemetery and the thriving districts of Pittsville, Godfrey, Milestown, Somerville, 
Branchtown, Fern Rock, McCartersville, OIney, Fentonville, and part of Germantown. To the left, and 
bounded on the south by Roberts and Wissahickon Avenues and on the west by the Wissahickon Creek lies 
Germantown and Mount Pleasant, Mount Airy and Chestnut Hill on the north, these districts comprising the 
Twenty-second Ward of the city. Through the centre of Germantown, Mount Pleasant, and Mount Airy, and 
extending from Front and Laurel Streets on the bank of the Delaware right up to the county boundary line, 
runs Germantown Avenue, one of the most noted thoroughfares in the city. 


was, prior to its annexation in 1854 to the city, the most populous and prosperous of the many beautiful and 
flourishing suburbs of Philadelphia. The district, with the outlying villages, had in 1880 a population of 
31, 70S. These comprise a great part of the wealth and culture which enter into the composition of Philadel- 
phia's social world, ft has excellent and ample transportation facilities, and is a favorite residence for business 
men, as well as for gentlemen of wealth and leisure. The district is a diversified inclined plane from the Logan 
property below Fisher's Lane to Mount Airy, and many old stone houses still show how firmly the pioneers 
built their abodes. Germantown settlement was located in what was first called German township, and after- 
wards Germantown township, which was laid out by virtue of three warrants: eighth month, October 12, 1683, 
for 6000 acres, to Francis Daniel Pastorius, for the German and L>utch purchasers; twelfth month, February 
13, 16S:V34, to Francis Daniel Pastorius, for 200 acres; second month, April 25, 1684, to Jurian Hartsfelder, 
for 150 acres. The first purchasers of Frankford in Germany were Jacobus van der Walle, Johan Jacob 
Schutz, Johan Wilhelm Uberfeld, Daniel Behagel, George Strauss, Jan Leureiss, Abram Hasevoet. Among 
them were divided 2075 acres. The same quantity was divided among the first purchasers of Crcfelt in Ger- 
many, namely: Jacob Telner, Jan Strcpers, Dirk Sijyuan, Ganert Reniks, Lenard Artes, Jacob Isaacs. The 
township was divided into settlements, called Germantown, Cresheim, Sommerhausen and Crcfelt. These Ger- 
mans were from the palatinates of Cresheim and Crefelt, many of them having become Friends through the 
preaching of William Penn i:i Germany. The greatest length of the German township was five and one half 
miles; the greatest breadth, two miles; area, 7040 acres. This township was bounded on the northwest and 
northeast by Springfield township, Montgomery County; on the northeast and east partly by Bristol township; 
on the southeast by Penn township and Roxborough. Within the German township were the settlements 
known as Germantown, Cresheim (afterwards Mount Airy), Sommerhausen (called at a later period Chestnut 
Hill) and Crefelt, a rural section north of Chestnut Hill. Germantown settlement was commenced by l^s. 




1U -'AH PEV.N' 

f ,--'<' 1682; 

torius October 21, lo>.">. On August 12, 16S9, William Penn at London signed a charter constituting smue of 
the inhabitants a corporation by the name of "the bailiff, burgesses, ami commonalty of German towne, in the 
county of Philadelphia, in the province of Pennsylvania." Francis Daniel Pastorius was the first bailiff, Jacob 
Telncr, Dirck Isaacs Opdegraaf, Herman Isaacs Opdegraaf, and Tennis Coender were burgesses, besides 
six committee-men. They had authority to hold " the general court of the corporation of Germantown," to 
make laws for the government of the settlement, and to hold a court of record. This court went into opera- 
tion in 1690, and continued its session for sixteen years. The seal of the court bore the impression of a trefoil, 
with the motto, " Vinum, linum el textrinum" (wine, flax and cloth). Sometimes, to distinguish Germantown 
from the upper portion of German township, outside of the borough, the township portion was called Upper 
Germantown. Pastorius is pleasantly described by Whittier, in the "Pennsylvania Pilgrim," as the founder of 
Germantown. The situation of Germantown has been regarded as most picturesque. It occupies a grand 
slope of country, extending from the old Logan estate below Fisher's Lane, between two and three miles in 
a northwestern direction to Mount Airy. This in- 
clined plane is remarkably diversified with greater and 
less elevations, separated by ravines that begin near the 
Germantown Avenue, or Main Street, that widen into 
little vales that deepen as they go, until those on the 
south combine with the beautiful vales that extend 
down to Delaware River, while those on the west 
soon terminate in the Wissahickon, the western boun- 
dary of the slope, and help to form the scenes of en- 
chanting beauty and loveliness of that world-renowned 
drive in Fairmount Tark. These ravines are crossed 
by streams of water, supplied by multitudinous springs, 
constitutingthe most perfectly natural drainage possible. 
The town of Germantown comprised between five and 
six thousand acres, and in the early days had no rec- 
ognized community, except during the period of about 
fifteen vears, commencing in 1691, Pastorius himself 
being the bailiff. The town lost its charter because 
the religious scruples of the people would not permit 
them to take the oath of qualification for office. In 
1735 the first type foundry in the country was founded -- 
here by Christopher Sower, who began in 1739 the 
publication of a quarterly newspaper, for which he 
manufactured his own type and ink. In 17-13 he 
issued an edition of a quarto German Bible, the first 
published in this country. His son continued the business and greatly enlarged it, publishing many books, 
in addition to two editions of the Dible. The newspaper became a monthly, and as the stirring times of the 
Revolution approached it was issued weekly, obtaining a circulation of some twelve thousand, anil it became a 
power in the land. The early Gerinantown residents were distinguished for the interest they took in educa- 
tional matters, and they built a commodious building, which they called the Union School House. This stood 
on Bensill's Lane, now School Lane. It was both a German and English school, and at first had seventv Ger- 
man and sixty English pupils. It was liberally supported, ^nd in 17S6 was chartered by the Legislature as the 
Public School of Germantown, but for sixty years or more had been known as the Germantown Academy, and 
as such had considerable celebrity. It is still the object of the deepest interest and pride of the citizens, main 
of whom have been educated here. 

At the time of the Revolution the village of Germantown consisted of a single string of houses, about two 
miles long, built on both sides of the public road, which ascended over rolling hills to Chestnut Hill, there- 
branching in one direction towards Reading, and in the other towards Bethlehem. The houses were originally 
w, substantial structures, with steep roofs and projecting eaves. They stood detached from each other, each 
ith its enclosures, gardens, fences, palings, or walls around it, and in the rear cultivated orchards and fields. 

Penn Treaty Stone. 


During the Revolution Germantown was the scene of a tight between the contending military hosts. 
From Chestnut Hill to Waglee's Hill, the northern and southern extremities of the Germantown settlement, 
and of the field of action between the Americans under W ashington and the English under Lord Howe in 1777. 
The distance along the Skippack road (for so the street was called) is between two and three miles. Southeast 
of Watrlee's Hill is Stanton, the houses built by James Logan, where Howe had his headquarters at this time. 
Between the Skippack road and the Schuylkill, parallel to both in fact, crossing the Wissahickon at its mouth, 
catting the road at Barren Hill, and near the Germantown road as the two approached the city, was Manatawny, 
or Rido-e road, then a rough, wild country. Nearly parallel to the Skippack road, but diverting from it and 
from each other as they extended northward, were the old York and the Limekiln roads, the latter at Luken's 
Mill turning southwest and cutting the Skippack road at right angles, and under the name of Church Lane at 
the German Reformed church at Germantown, the former passing to the east of Nagle's Hill and Stanton. 
Fisher's Lane, running east from the Summit to Nagle's Hill, joined the Skippack to the old York road. The 
Church Lane, west of Skippack, becomes the School House Lane, and extends to the Ridge road and the 
Schuylkill. A quarter of a mile southeast of this Church Lane, at the Market House, Shoemaker's Lane cuts 
the Skippack road at rigllt angles. The east branch runs to the old York road, the west branch to the 
Rid'jje road. A quarter of a mile west of Church and School House Lanes another lane cuts the Skippack 
road once more at ri^ht angles, the eastern section being called Bristol or Meeting House road, the western the 
Rittenhouse (or Paper Mill) road. Northwest of this road stood the Mennonite Meeting House; north of it 
ao'ain, on the same side of the main road, was Chew's house, a fine, large, stone mansion, with extensive out- 
buildings. Beyond it the Lutheran Church, then Beggarstown, Mount Airy, Cresheim Creek, and so on to Chest- 
nut Hill. Such in short was the general topography of Germantown as it was in October, 1777. On the west 
of the village the land rolled away to the high place of the Wissahickon at its confluence with the Schuylkill, 
givino- protection to Howe's left wing. The ground on the east, cut up by the Wingohocken and other streams 
running into the Delaware, defended his right wing from attack. The British army, in fact, lay encamped in 
order of battle on the original line of the School House and Church Lanes at right angles to the Skippack road, 
its centre resting on that road at the Market House, its left at Robeson's house, and behind the Wissahickon 
were the Ridge road crosses it, its right on Luken's mill and behind Kelly's Hill. The position was a strong 
one, and it covered all the approaches to Philadelphia by the peninsula, between the Delaware and Schuylkill. 

Washington on September 29th marched from Pennypacker's Mill down to the Skippack, and on October 
2d to Worcester township. The object was to surprise Howe, and that object was successfully accomplished. 
The strategy was good, but the battle was lost by bad tactics on the field. The Americans were met by a 
strong force, and some of the former began to retreat. Exactly when, or with whom, the retreat began has 
not been ascertained. There are conflicting statements in the several accounts of the buttle. The retreat was 
slow. It was made general by the orders of Washington, who sent his couriers to call off every division, and 
all of the cannon were brought away, though none of the guns from which the enemy had been driven were 
carried off. The pursuit was not long. The disordered ranks were restored in a great measure in the presence 
of the enemv, who ceased to follow at all. The army retired behind the Perkiomen, and Washington returned 
that night to Pennvpacker's Mill. The loss in this battle was not excessive when we consider the extent and 
time of the engagement. The chroniclers of the time disagree as to the exact time the battle lasted, but one 
says it lasted two hours and forty minutes. The British had 70 killed, 450 wounded, and 14 missing. The 
Americans: Officers killed, 25; wounded, 102; missing, 102; militia officers, 3 killed; 4 wounded; rank 
and file — killed, 152; wounded, 521; prisoners — 54 officers, 346 men. The Americans were mortified at 
the result of the battle, yet it encouraged them. In Europe it occasioned a sensation, since no one dreamed of 
an American army of equal numbers taking the offensive against British regulars. Washington reported that 
his troops retreated when victory was declaring itself in their favor, and that he could not account for them not 
improving " this happy opportunity" other than the extreme haziness of the weather. Howe subsequently 
built a strong chain of fortifications across the peninsula on the lines marked out by Putnam for the American 
defence prior to the battle of Trenton, and then, perhaps, begun, but never completed. As soon as these lines 
were defensible, Gen. Howe withdrew his army from Germantown, and took up his position in the city, thus 
contracting his defences, and set ting free a large force with which to operate against the American fortifications 
and obstructions. Such is the account of the battle as described by a local historian. 

Germantown in 1700 had a mile of its main street lined on each side with beech trees, in full beam 



and each bouse had a fine garden. During the prevalence of yellow fever in Philadelphia in 1703 the salubrity 
and healthfulness of Germantown was much prized, and no case of that terrible disease was ever known to 
originate here. The members of the national and State governments made Germantown their place of retreat, 
and for a time the United States Dank was located here. The academy was offered to Congress and the State 
Legislature for meeting purposes, and for a time was occupied by two of the banks of Philadelphia. After the 
removal of the national government to Washington, and the withdrawal of t lie distinguished men who had 
become accustomed to make this their place of residence, Germantown became isolated and exclusive for a long 

Arch Street, west of Thirteenth Street. 

The introduction of manufacturing establishments, especially of hosiery and fine woollen goods, led to a 
rapid growth of the population. There is now great wealth and considerable industrial enterprise in this sec- 
tion. There are many old, quaint colonial buildings in the locality, as well as numerous elegant modern man- 
sions of artistic architecture. Improvements and changes are continuously going on. Some of the old churches 
of rather quaker plainness have given place in many cases to large and commodious structures, adorned ac- 
cording to the style and taste of modern church architecture. Everywhere there is evidence of thrift, enter- 
prise, and increasing wealth, contributing to the comfort, ease, and enjoyment of the people. When German- 
town was annexed to the city in 185-1, its population was about seven thousand. Germantown's aristocratic 
and fashionable neighbor, 



was also the scene of several skirmishes during the Revolutionary era. On December 3, 1776, Gen. Howe 
marched out of Philadelphia with an army fifteen thousand strong, and at eight o'clock in the morning of the 
4th arrived at Chestnut Hill, three miles below where the American army was encamped. Several detach- 
ments of the American army were sent out, and several skirmishes took place with a few casualties. Howe 
drew up his army for battle, with the right resting on the Skippack road and Chestnut Hill, the left on the 
Wissahickon — a strong defensive line. On Saturday night, December 6, Howe moved towards the York road, 
on the American left. The Americans sent out two or three brigades on a skirmishing expedition. AtEdgehill 
there was a spirited brush with the enemy, in which each lost about twenty killed and wounded. On the Sth Howe 
manoeuvred about in an apparently indefinite fashion until that night, when, kindling up his camp-fires brightly, he 
marched silently back to Philadelphia, thus declining the battle Washington had offered him to accept upon his own 
terms. On their march to the city the British burned the Rising Sun Tavern in Germantown and also a farm- 
house standing between the tavern and the city. Washington was surprised at Howe's prompt retreat, for his 
officers had boasted that they were going to drive " Mr." Washington " over the blue mountains." Howe and 
his officers were mortified and said very little of the march to Chestnut Hill and back again, an expedition 
which cost the British a loss of two hundred in killed and prisoners. 

Chestnut Hill lies on the border of Montgomery County, and is now a favorite place of suburban residence 
in a hilly country, where the views are exceedingly beautiful. It is the northern aristocratic section of the 
city : its high elevation, the purity of its air, its charming scenery, and its convenience of access from the cen- 
tral parts of the city combine to make it a very desirable suburb for the homes of very wealthy citizens. The 
mansions which abound here are architecturally rich and show much taste. South of Chestnut Hill, and con- 
fined on three sides by the Schuylkill River and the Wissahickon Creek, is the beautiful suburban residential dis- 
trict of Roxborough and the important manufacturing centre of 


^^^^gg^^^^g - iBm^r 



The latter place, formerly a distinct town, was, prior to its annexation in ls.'.i to the city, seven miles 
distant from Philadelphia. It lies on a declivity of the hills which rise near the margin of the river Schuylkill, 
and is not laid out with much regularity, a number of handsome residences and churches occupying the higher 
parts of the district, which is the seat of extensive manufactures of cotton, woollen, paper, etc., ami tin i are 
many rolling' mills and other industrial establishments. Manayunk is an Indian name which means, according 
to Henry, "our place of drinking," ami has been applied to the Schuylkill River. The original name was Flat 
Rock, from a peculiar fiat rock lying on the lower side of the bridge, which was subsequently called Fiat Rock 
Bridge. The settlement had its origin from the construction of the dam, canal, and locks there by the Schuyl- 
kill Navigation Company. These works were finished about the end of the year 1818, and, the water-power 
being extensive, the Navigation Company sought for lessee's of the power for use in mills and factories. Captain 
John Towers was the first lessee of the water-power, one hundred inches, April 10, 1819, and he built a mill at 
Flat Rock. About the same time Silas Levering built the first hotel in the place. In 1820 Charles V. Hag- 
ner was the second person who bought a water-right and erected an oil-mill. After that purchases of water- 
power and the erection of mills and factories increased greatly, and the place became famous as a manufactur 
ing village. After a time the inhabitants became dissatisfied with the name Flat Rock, and held meetings on 
the subject. On such an occasion, some time in May or June, 1824, it was resolved to adopt for the place one 
of the names of the river Schuylkill, and from that time the village was known as Manayunk. The borough 
of Manayunk was incorporated June 11, 1840, and became part and parcel of the city of Philadelphia. Nearer 
to us, on the east of Manayunk, and embracing the entire area, fringed by Wissahickon and Roberts Avenues 
on the north, the long, winding Ridge Avenue on the -.vest, Montgomery Avenue on the south, and Germantown 
Avenue on the east, is the wealthy and prosperous v n known as 


which embraces many of what were formerly villages, such as Tioga, Rising Sun, Nicetown, etc., on the out- 
skirts of the city numerous public institutions and elegant residences. The drives afforded by Broad Street, 
Germantown Avenue, Ridge Avenue, and other thoroughfares in this section, are favorites with owners of 
"fashionable turnouts" and " high steppers." To the extreme right, lodged between two fork-like streets, 
both bearing the name of Indian Queen Lane, is the Philadelphia Schuetzen Park, a handsomely laid out and 
much appreciated " breathing spot." To the right, and south of it and bordering on Alleghany Avenue, is 
another of those open, health-giving places for which Philadelphia is noted, and which William Penn wisely 
provided at the outset the city should have. The ward contains seven cemeteries, and on its divisional lines are 
two others, the latter being Fairhill Cemetery ci the east side of Germantown Avenue, ami Laurel Ili'I Ceme- 
tery, lying between Ridge Avenue and the Schuylkill River. Near the latter cemetery are Mt. Peace and Mt. 
Vernon Cemeteries, connecting, and the Lehigh Avenue separates these from the German Lutheran Ceini tery. 
The large sheet of water seen near these is the Cambria Reservoir. Three of the other cemeterii s are connected 
and stand on Ridge and Islington Avenues. These arc Glenwood, Odd Fellows' and Mechanics' Cemeteries, 
and east of this, and stretching across Fifteenth and Sixteenth Streets and Berks and Norris Streets, i-. the 
spacious Monument Cemetery. The large building standing between Twenty-first and Twenty -second 
Streets, and between Lehigh and Huntingdon Avenues, is the Municipal Hospital, a time honored institution, 
which, it is likely, will ere long be removed to some other section of the city. The hospital, while tilling a 
field of usefulness and humanity, has long acted as a bar to improvements in that part of the city, but recently 
building operations have begun on all sides of it, and it is only a question of a short time before the neighbor- 
hood will be built up solidly. The Lehigh Avenue Passenger Railway Company is anxious to open its line, 
which runs ju-t north of the hospital, ami a short distance to the south the Pennsylvania Railroad Company is 
preparing to carry Twenty second Street under its tracks. This will open up a large tract of land near the 
hospital. To the east several manufacturing establishments have recently been erected, and on the west the 
"Swampoodle" district is adding to ; ts residences. 

The hospital and its grounds, wivh the dog-pound, Potter's Field, and other peculiar public institutions 
cover several acres of land which the city could sell at a verv handsome profit. The monc^ secured would 
more than suffice to erect another hospital in some locality where it would be less objectionable. The taxes 
that would be secured by the sale and improvement of the property would also be very considerable. 


As it stands to-day, the hospital retards the growth of the Twenth-eighth Ward. It is in a part of the 
city with excellent rapid transit facilities, and which would be rapidly developed if the hospital was removed. 

At the intersection of Broad Street and Huntingdon Avenue, where flags are flying, is the ground of the 
Philadelphia Base Ball Club, and for extent, elegance of buildings, and completeness of appointments have 
no superior in the land. This elegant park was inaugurated on April 30, 1887, by a game between the 
" Philies," as the club is called, and the New York Club. Tbe situation is a most excellent one, and the trans- 
portation facilities between it and all parts of the city are most admirable and ample. 

All over the ward church spires are seen, and here and there new ecclesiastical structures are seen arising. 
One of these is the new St. Simeon's Protestant Episcopal Church soon to be erected at the intersection of 
Ninth Street, Lehigh Avenue, and Hutchinson Street as a memorial to the late Bishop Stevens. The church, 
when finished, will be one of the most imposing edifices in the northern section, or, for that matter, in the 
entire city. The style of the architecture is pure English decorated Gothic. There will be in the group three 
buildings in all, these being the church proper, a parish building, and a rectory. The main building will have a 
stone clere-story carried on the stone columns. The interior will be apportioned off into a nave, aisles, tran- 
septs, chancel, sacristy, and vestry room. A handsome window of tracery design pierces the eastern end of the 
chancel, which latter faces toward the East. On the northern side of the chancel is located the organ chamber. 
The rectory will be built upon a lot facing the south side of Ninth Street, and will be of stone corresponding in 
character to that used in construction of the church. The vestry room and sacristy will form the connection 
between the church and the rectory. In the parish building there will be accommodations for the Sunday School, 
guilds, and other societies associated with the church. In the same building will be coutained a residence for 
the sexton and a large, commodious, and completely equipped gymnasium. The parish building faces on 
Hutchinson Street aud Lehigh Avenue. The entire group of buildings incloses the three sides of a rectangle, 
leaving in the centre a spacious court-yard, and permitting of the free access of light on all sides. All of the 
buildings will be constructed of a light-colored stone, the exact description of which has not as yet been de- 
termined upon. The roof of the church will be of open construction of yellow pine timber. Mr. Frank Wat- 
son is the architect. 

Another ecclesiastical edifice that is now being reared is the new Universalist Church of the Messiah, the 
corner-stone of which was recently laid at the northeast corner of Broad Street and Montgomery Avenue. The 
congregation has for years worshipped at the church on Locust Street, below Broad. The corner-stone was laid 
at the base of the tower on the Montgomery Avenue side, and was sprinkled with water brought from the river 
Jordan. The price paid for the site was §55,000. The foundations and first floor are now well under way, and 
the church will be finished in the fall. The chapel and church parlors will cost §60,000. The cost of the 
church building is not yet settled. It will be constructed of Avondale stone, and will be of pure Gothic archi- 
tecture. The congregation now numbers three hundred and forty, and is growing rapidly. When completed 
the church will seat one thousand persons and the chapel six hundred. 

Another church in course of erection is the new Grace Baptist Temple at the southeast corner of Broad 
and Berks Streets, and which is to cost §150,000. The building now occupied by the church at Berks and 
Mervine Streets has been sold to the Temple College for §70,000, of which §^0,000 was paid in cash, the 
church taking the remaining §50,000 in stock of the college, which was recently founded by Mr. Conwell, but 
is unsectarian in its nature. 

A piece of historic ground in this section of the city is soon to be covered by a new freight-yard of the 
Philadelphia &: Beading Railroad Company. The land is eight acres in extent, and lies between Lehigh 
Avenue and Cumberland Street and Thirteenth and Broad Streets, a portion of which was at one time occu- 
pied as the Oakdale Park. Recently the company began the necessary grading, and on a portion of it have 
already laid temporary tracks for freight cars. When the work is completed the yard will have a frontage on 
Thirteenth Street of 1057 feet 6 inches, and on Lehigh Avenue of 525 feet. Nineteen tracks are to be laid the 
full length of the yard, which will be capable of holding 030 eight-whee'ed freight cars, the largest that are 
run. The driveways between the tracks are to be 40 feet, and to paved with Belgian blocks. There will be 
an entrance for wagons on Cumberland Street and a number of others en Lehigh Avenue. The freight-house 
will be situated in the northwest corner and front on Broad Street. It will be a handsome and substantial 
brict structure, 100 feet long and 40 feet wide, and so arranged that it can be extended to a length of 300 feet 
as soon as the business of the locality increases sufficiently to warrant its being done. The grading of the lot 



and the necessary cutting down of the remaining trees on the ground destroy the last living associations con- 
uecti J with the work of Bernard McMahon, who established in that place ;i botanic garden that was in it 3 day 
famous. Tin' house in which he lived was torn down some tivffe ago to make wav for a street, and nothing 

• • o 

now remains but an old building, which is believed to have been usee" by him as a seed storage warden 

Among the trees standing up to a recent, date were .some fine osage orange, these being, it is supposed, from 

the first seed gathered in the fai is Lewis and Clark expedition across the continent in the early part of the 

century. McMahon enjoyed the friendship of Jefferson and other leaders in the Revolution, and they were 
frequent visitors and often in consultation with him. Among other notable prisons that he entertained was 
Archibald Hamilton Rowan, a prominent Irish refugee. Mr. McMahon himself was of gentle connections, an 
owner of larsre landed interests in Ireland, but throwing himself into Lord Charlemont's rebellion, had to be- 
come an exile from Ireland on the failure of Charlemont's attempt. Landing in this country with but limited 

fir ■,- , : ' -fy^^ptrigj 

Chestnut Street, looking east fi-om Fifteenth Street. 

financial resources, he embarked in the seed and florist business in his garden on this ground in 1809. He 
established a seed -tore on Second Street, near Market, and became tolerably successful. He died in Septem- 
ber, 1S16. The proposed work of the Reading Railroad Company has raised a storm of opposition, as there is 
a common belief that, if the building itself is not destroyed, the numerous tracks running to it will prove a 
serious obstruction. They all cross Huntingdon Street, which Ins been dedicated to public use as far west as 
Park Avenue, and is already such an important avenue that .3000 persons sometimes traverse it in a single day. 
The citizens in the vicinity are indignant at the action of the companj whom the) are opposing. But the com- 
pany have a further project in connection with this big freight depot, and one which will evoke much hostility. 
The company has made frequent applications to the City Council for permission to construct its new terminal 
road to Twelfth and Market Streets in vain ; and now it is stated that the attempt to secure legislation from 
the city government for the Terminal will he abandoned, and the Leading Road will now proceed to extend 
its main line from Broad and Callowhill to Twelfth and Market by virtu.: of its chartered rights, and, when this 



is done, extend from Twelfth and Market to Ninth and Green. The object of the Terminal was mainly to en- 
able the road to raise money through an independent corporation ; hut the company has concluded to do it 
under its charter and provide funds in a diffefert way. If built as a branch of their main line, it is claimed that 
the road, under its charter, has the right to cro.~s any street without the consent of City Councils. Of course, 
the new road will be elevated. If the company sets the City Council at defiance there will be something in 
this connection for future historians to chronicle. 


lyin<z to the east of Twenty-eighth, and which is bordered by Lehigh Avenue on the .south, the Delaware on 
the east, Germantown Avenue on the west, and Wingohocking and Frankford Creeks on the north. Close by 
the old York road is the famous Hunting Park, alongside of which runs Xieetown Lane. To the right of this 
are the extensive Stock Yards, to the east of which are two noted burial places, Greenmount and Xew Cathe- 

Third Street, above Dock Street. 

dral Cemeteries. Kensington, Bridesburg, and other old towns already referred to are contained in this ward, 
which covers a very large area. On its southern boundary and within a short distance of the intersection of 
Germantown road and Lehigh Avenue, is Fair Hill Reservoir. Below this point the wards are of less area, the 
buildings more closely packed, and whether we look along Broad Street, or to the left or to the right of it, there 
are many magnificent buildings of both a private and public character to greet the eye. To the right of us 
are several railroad depots and shops, and the pleasant Norris Square Park, bordering on Diamond Street, which, 
with its neighboring streets, is a fashionable residential section. To the left are numerous churches, and their 
number has been recently increased by the beautiful new edifice erected by the Methodist Episcopal Union 
Church, one of the oldest congregations in the city, on Diamond Street above Twentieth, and which was dedi- 
cated with due formality on February 17, 1SS0. The church is one of the handsomest of the many edifices 



which have grown up in the northwestern section of the city in late years, it is a very imposing structure, 
being elevated upon a terrace above the grade of the street, and is built in the solid massive Romanesque style 
of architecture, the constructive material being the handsome graj granite from the quarries of Port Deposit, 
Md., trimmed with light Indiana sandstone. The interior is beautifully finished. 

The building is 00 feet in width and 85 feet deep, with an imposing tower 100 feet in height. The main 
audience-room on the second door has, including the gallery, a total seating capacity of 1-100. The first story is set 
apart for the Sunday-school, and comprises a main assembly-room, three class-rooms, and the infant school-room, 
all being divided oS by sliding glass partitions, so that the whole can be thrown into one large room when oc- 
casion requires. In the basement is a supper-room, which will he utilized for meetings, lectures, church fairs 
and entertainments. The entire cost of the church wa s about S60,000. Of this $40,000 was realized by the sale 
of the old Union Church property, on Fourth Street below Arch, about three years ago. 

To the left of this are the Athletic Da.-e Ball Grounds, Spring Garden Reservoir, Girard Avenue, and other 
approaches to Fairmount Park, and hereabouts are some of the most elegant residences to be found in the 
country, and many of Philadelphia's capitalists and prominent and successful merchants an 1 business men have 
their abode here. The large massive buildings and grounds wdiich seem to have been planted athwart Girai 1 
Avenue comprise the far-famed 


This magnificent institution was founded by Stephen Girard, with a bequest of two million dollar.-, for the 
gratuitous instruction and support of destitute orphans. Mr. Girard came to Philadelphia in his youth com- 
paratively poor his parents being but common people in France. He was a Frenchman by birth, and at an early 
age went to sea and followed it for many years. It was as captain of a ship that he first entered the Delaw are, and 
he continued to make his voyages for sometime after he had fixed 
upon this city as his home. Finally he settled down in Philadelphia 
a- a general trader, became a banker, and at the time of his death in 
1831 was one of the richest men in the country. He left all his prop- 
erty, with the exception of a few insignificant personal bequests, to 
, the city. He willed half a million of dollars for the improvement of 
the river front, one hundred and sixteen thousand dollars to the 
various institutions of charity in and about the city, a considerable 
sum for the improvement of the police' system and the reduction 
of taxes, and the two millions for the building and endowment of 
the college. The several millions at which the Girard estate was 
then estimated is now worth more than fifty millions. Girard left 
explicit directions for the building and regulation of the college. 
He provided that no "ecclesiastic, missionary, or minister" should 
ever hold or exercise any office or duty in the college, or should 
ever be admitted within the walls for any purpose whatever, not 
even as a visitor. The institution had to give accommodations to 
not less than three hundred children, w ho must be poor, wdiitc male 
orphans, between the age of six and ten years, and who are to be 
supported and instructed until they arrive at the age of sixteen 
years, when they must be apprenticed to good trades or other 
useful avocations. To meet this requirement, the city erected ou 
the site designated by Girard, consisting of forty-five acres of 
ground on Ridge Avenue, the college bearing his name. The 
corner-stone was laid July 4, 1833; the buildings were completed in IS 17; and the institution went into 
operation January 1, 1S48. The grounds are enclose'! by a wall ten feet high. The college edifice presents a 
very imposing appearance. The central edifice, most substantially built of marble, is one of the most mag- 
nificent structures of its size in the world. It is in the form of a Greek t< mple, in the Corinthian stvle, resting 
on a basement of eleven steps which extend around the entire edifice, imparting to it a pyramidal appearance 
of great solidity. It is surrounded bycolonades of the most magnificent marble pillars, six feet i: diairn ter and 
fifty-five feet in height — eight columns on each end, and eleven on each side, including the corner columns both. 

Statue of Washington. 


ways. Its dimensions, including the coionades, are 160 feet wide, 2 IS feet long, 90 feet high; the body of 

the building alone is 111 feet wide, 169 feet long, and 56 feet 8 inches high. It is three stories high, each 
divided into four rooms, with vestibules. The roof, composed of most massive marble tiles, has an entire- 
weight of 969-J- tons, exclusive of its supports. Iu the lower vestibule rests the remains of Mr. Girard, beneath 
a marble statue of himself. Four other buildings, faced with marble, each 52 feet wide, 125 feet long, and 
three stories high, were built at the same time, and the cost of the entire buildings and improvement of the 
grounds was $1,933,821.78. Since then four other buildings have been added, and there is now accommoda- 
tions for more than thirteen hundred boys. There are now 13CS actually in residence, and nearly three hun- 
dredrwaitiu"' admission. Within the college grounds is a handsome monument erected to the memory of those- 
oraduates of the college who fell in the Civil War. The annual report of the Board of City Trusts for 1888 r 
in its reference to Girard College, says: "No more striking illustration of the change in the apprentice system 
can well be afforded than is shown by a comparison between the number of boys bound out this year and in 
1870, when our first report was made. Of the 121 boys who left the college in 1888, desiring occupations, we 
were able to obtain indentures but for six, while 115 found ready employment. In the year 1870, out of 70 
bovs who left the college, 53 were indentured. Fortunately, however, the training now given in the use of 
tools, iu free hand, mechanical, and geometrical drawing, in short-hand and type-writing, and in telegraphy,, 
enables us to find places for them with comparative ease." The report also points out a heavy decline in the 
rentals of the Girard estate, partly owing to loss of tenants during the erection of the new building at Twelfth 
and Market Streets. But the estate has also suffered in other directions, the report saying: '-The removal of 
the Stock Exchange from our building' in the rear of the Girard Bank to its new- quarters in the Drexe! Build- 
ing has naturally had a depressing effect upon all property on Third Street near Chestnut, where the Girard 
estate owns a considerable number of houses. The rentals on Water Street and Delaware Avenue, in the 
neighborhood of Market Street, have also declined. These last reductions, being caused by the shifting of 
trade centres, may not be so serious as at first they might seem ; others trades usually, after a more or less brief 
lap-e of time, coming in to take the place of those removed." • 

Immediately to the north of Girard College arc the Spring Garden Reservoir and the Women's Medical 
Cohere, the latter a handsome brick building built iu 187-1 and 1^75. Here medical education is given to 
women, and the majority of the professors are women, having all the necessarv ability and qualifications for in- 
structors. Many of the graduates are now in successful practice. The Woman's Hospital, which adjoins the 
college, furnishes clinical advantages. The college was originally formed in 1849, and was the first distinctive 
medical school for women in the world. 

In the vicinity of Girard College, on the south, are the Foster ITome, German Hospital, St. Joseph's Hos- 
pital, the House of Refuge, and the Eastern Penitentiary, the latter having been built in 1823. This prison was 
orio-inallv intended for the confinement of each prisoner in a separate cell, without any knowledge of the outside 
world, upon a belief that the association of criminals within the walls of a prison was demoralizing to young 
offenders not hardened in crime. The solitary confinement process produced numerous cases of insanity, and 
the strict prison rules had to be relaxed. The prisoners now associate to some extent iu their employments, and 
in some cases there are two occupants to a cell. The prisoners have the use of a library, and newspapers are 
distributed among them. The House of Refuge, which occupies a lot extending from Parrish Street to Poplar, 
and from Twenty-second and Twenty-third Streets, was incorporated in 1826 for the ,: employment of the idle,, 
the instruction of the ignorant, and the correction of the depraved." It has separate departments for boys and 
"ills, and a special department for colored children. It "ill accommodate about six hundred inmates. For ten 
years or more the Board of Managers of the House have regarded the densely populated condition of the neigh- 
borhood in its immediate vicinity as one which is not suitable for the proper education and training of the 
children committed to their care. The Board of Managers took the occasion of the presentation to the House 
recentlv of two fine oil portraits of its most liberal patrons, William Massey, of Massey's Brewing Company, 
and of the late millionaire, Isaiah V. Williamson, to announce that their wishes in this respect are now about to 
be fulfilled. The board have received within the past six months, for the accomplishment of their intentions, 
n^irlv the sum of -$300,000, and lately this sum was increased by -s25,000 more, the gift of John F. Smith, of 
the type-foundry firm of MacKellar, Smiths & Jordan, on Sansom Street. Mr. Massey contributed the sum of 
§100,000, -which was afterward duplicated by the late Isaiah V. Williamson. These sums were added to by 
other persons, including the relatives of Mr. Collins, who gave about §30,000, until now about mte half the 


requisite sum has been obtained. The board lias purchased 185 acres at Glenn Hill Station, Delaware County, 
for the erection of anew House of Refuge with better and more complete accommodations for the work of 
educating and training the children. 

- Oa the east side of Broad Street, standing on the corner of Callowhill Street, is the armory of the First 
Regiment, X. G., of Pennsylvania, ;i handsome castellated Gothic building three stories in height, and covering 
an area of 140x120 feet. The building is of rock-face mason work to the height of fourteen feet, the trim- 
mings to the windows and doors, the string and belt lines being of dressed stone. The upper portion of the 
building is of brick. The Broad Street entrance is flanked by two towers, rising to a height of oue hundred 
and twenty feet. There are also entrances on Callowhill and Carlton Streets. The building is two stories hi;^h, 
and contains a large number of store, dressing, and other rooms on the upper floor. The drill-room on the first 
floor is 13 1x155 feet, with gun-racks at the eastern end and a gallery for visitors at the western end. It also 

I'll '-!« i -11 L'l t_--J ,' ^»JI , '^-i- r . 3^.iS«!gfes£ ! - ■.':■■ !('*!,">•■ : I .' , 


Ninth Street, showing Post Office. 

has suitable arrangements for gymnastics and athletic sports. Architecturally the building is an ornament to the 
city, and as an ornament is complete in all of its appointments, amply providing for the convenience and comfort 
of its occupants. The laud and building . o-t §200,000. North of this, on the same side of the street, are the 
Boys' High School and the Spring Garden Institute. Within a short distance of this new and extensive buildinc 
improvements are projected, including the erection of another tip-town market-house. As the market-houses on 
Spring Garden Street, from Mai -hall to Twelfth, are to he removed, by directions of the <'it\ Councils, in order 
that the residents of the ucighborho id and patron- of the market may still have a convenient place to pui 
their meats and provisions, an organization known as the Spring Harden Farmers' Market Company has been 

formed, with a view of supplying the want. The new c pam has succeeded in purchasing all the prop 

on the south side of Spring; Garden Street from No. 1002 to 1026, both inclusive, and the north side of Nec- 
tarine Street, from No. 1001 to 1027, numbering in all about 25 properties. These buildings will be torn tl 


and on the site will be erected one of the most complete and commodious market-houses in the city, from plans 
prepared by Frank E. Watson, architect. The lot has a front on Spring Garden and Nectarine Streets of 234 
feet by an average depth of 113-V feet. The market-house will occupy 214 feet by 107 feet of this space. 
A private street on the east side (adjoining the building at the corner of Tenth Street, which was not pur- 
chased), 20 feet wide, will be opened from Spring Garden Street to Nectarine. On Nectarine Street the market 
house will recede 6J- feet from the present building line. The building will thus be given three wide fronts, 
affording ample light, ventilation, and convenience of access. The market-house will be built of pressed brick 
on Spring Garden Street and stretcher brick on the other streets. The fronts will be plain and of a substantial 
character. It will be one story high, except on the centre ot the Spring Garden Street front, where it will rise 
an additional story for the purpose of affording accommodations for the secretary and superintendent, and for a 
directors' room. All of the space within the walls is to be devoted to market purposes. There is to be a base- 
ment under a portion of the structure to be used for storage purposes and for a kitchen for the eating- stand. 
The roof will be broken by a large lantern skylight running the entire length of the building, which, together 
with the windows in the three fronts, will at all hours of the day throw a flood of light inside. The interior 
wall is to be wainscoted 10 feet high with glazed brick and plastered above. The house will contain over three 
hundred stalls. The floors are to be of patent pavement, as will be also-the pavement on Spring Garden Street. 
The other streets will be paved with Belgian blocks. The new street ami the enlarged width # of Nectarine Street 
will afford the wagons ample room to discharge their contents without encroaching on the public highways. 

On the corner of Spring Garden and Seventeenth Streets is the fine building of the Female Normal School. 
Fronting on Broad Street, and all comprised within a distance of three or four blocks from the Public Build- 
ings, are some magnificent structures — the Homoeopathic Hospital, the State Fencibles' Armory, the Aesalcmy 
of Fine Art-,, four churches at the corners of Broad and Arch Streets, and the beautiful Masonic Temple already 
referred to. The Academy of Fine Arts is a magnificent building from many points of consideration. The 
Academy had its birth at a meeting held in Independence Ball in 1805, and was incorporated in 180C. The 
first builditi;' occupied was situated on Chestnut Street, below Eleventh, and to this large additions were made 
in 1S40. A new building became a necessity, and the present handsome structure, with a highly ornate and 
striking facade, composed of a central tower and two slightly recessed wings, was completed ami occupied 
in April, 1870. The following is the style of architecture. The concentrated hall and staircase of the 
building, the principal ornamentation, is of Ohio sandstone. The shafts of the supporting columns are of Vic- 
toria and Rose C'rvstal marbles and Jersey granite. The capitals of the interior columns are of French Eschal- 
o'i marble, and the railing of the main staircase solid bronze. The entire cost of the structure was about. 
§400,000. and for the purpose intended is the largest and completest in the L'nited States. On the right of 
the entrance is the library, containing some 1200 volumes, the contents of which are devoted entirely to art. 
Next is the print-room, where are stored many thousands of engravings, etchings, and mezzotints. Bile is 
deposited the John S. Philips' collection of engravings and etchings, more than 60,000 in number. The 
donator was a retired merchant of the city, and spent the latter years of his life m making the collection which 
he so n-encrouslv presented to the institution. Adjoining the library are the rooms devoted to the Antique. 
Still further on are the rooms for drapery, painting, and for the life class. On the south side is a large lecture- 

r< i, with proper retiring rooms; and to the rear, modelling and private rooms, devoted to the use of the 

professors and students. In the gallery, which contains a larire hallway, are placed statues of marble and 
bronze. On either side of the hallway are six picture-galleries, of various sires and form's. In the galleries on 
the south side are found the most valuable paintings which the academy possesses, including specimens b\ 
Boni-uercati, Janssen, Vanderlvn, Faruh'ni, Gastoldi, Van Dyck, Vanderhelst, and Wittkamp, Stuart, Aiiston, 
Huntingdon, I'icknell, and West. Special mention should be made of the Care} ami Kail collections, which 
form a principal part of the general collection. In 1880 thj Academy was the recipient of a donation of 
£60,000 from Joseph E- Temple; also the disposition of the Charles Toppan prize, which amounts to one hun- 
dred dollars a year. Admission to the Academy, 20 cents; Sundays free, by ticket. 

The churches standing on the four corners of Arch and Broad Streets present an architectural group which 
for beauty cannot be excelled on the American continent. On the southwest corner is the green syenite build- 
in'* of tic Lutheran Chinch ; on the northwest coiner the rich brown-stone First Baptist Church, on tin/ north- 
east corner the pure white marble edifice of the Arch Street Methodist Episcopal Church, the handsomest 


church of this denomination in the city. But lotus now change our position in the Public Buildings' tower 
and take a view of 


which extends in a straight line for miles until it loses its identity in League Island. Near to the latter are seen 
toweling la*ge grain elevators, beside which are docks, connected with which is a line of railway. This spol is 
known as Giravd Point, and here the waters of the rivers Delaware and Schuylkill ruingle. A little to the north 
of the point is the admirably laid-out Point Breeze Park, occupying an area of many acres. To the left of this 
is Point Breeze, a place of considerable shipping, and the locale of several extensive sugar refineries, storage 
warehouses, gas-works, etc. The main highway to the Point is Passyunk Road, bordering on which are two 
cemeteries standing slightly apart. These are the Lebanon and Philadelphia cemeteries. Near the junction 
of Passyunk Avenue and McKean Street stands the handsome, spacious, well-arranged, thoroughly-equipped 
St Agnes's (Roman Catholic) Hospital, and about a dozen blocks north of this is the depot of the P. W. i- B. 
B. R., on the corner of Washington Avenue and Broad Street. Near this is the splendid Ridgway Library 
Building, on the corner of Carpenter Street, and occupying an entire block. Nine streets or so north of this, 
and situated on the west side of Broad Street, and at the corner of Pine Street, is the imposing stone building 
of the Deaf and Dumb Asylum. From this point up to the Public Buildings Broad Street has on its west side 
many elegant edifices, among which are the Horticultural Hall and the Academy of Music, which stand near to 
each other. The Academy of Music, built in 1856, is claimed to bo the fine>t music hall in America, and its 
exceptionally good acoustic properties make it also a favorite place for lectures and political speakers. The 
stage is 90x72i feet in dimensions, while the auditorium has a seating capacity for 2900 persons. Upon the 
boards of the Academy have appeared the greatest artistes of the age, and here royalty and the most noted 
personages of the republic have occupied boxes. The building is turned to many uses, for annual assemblies, 
charity balls, etc. Near it is the magnificent new building of the Philadelphia Club, the Adams Express Build- 
ing, the Union League Club House, ami the high-class Strafford, Bellevuc, and Lafayette Hotels. The Union 
League Club Building is a most imposing, massive edifice, which was built in 1865 at a cost of §200,000. 
Since then 8100,000 have been spent upon the building. This club had its birth during the civil war. the 
organization being effected on November 21, 1802, for the purpose of contributing moral and material aid to the 
government in the maintenance of the Union. The membership embraced professional men, merchants, and 
responsible citizens, and was instrumental in raising and organizing nine regiments of infantry and one of cav- 
alry, and it published considerable literature calculated to rouse patriotic fervor. After the war it was a strong- 
hold of Republicanism, but by degrees it has assumed a distinctively social character. The club has about 
fifteen hundred members. Turning ourselves to the west window in the tower of the Public Buildings the 


is »pread before us like a map. The broad thoroughfare of Market Street — the dividing line of streets on the 
north and the south — can be seen the whole length of its straight course until it merges itself in Westclx 5ter 
road, Delaware County, miles away, in a "green country." 

At our feet is the splendid Broad Street Station of the Pennsylvania Railroad, whose elevated tracks form 
a prominent object in the view. The station is a palatial structure, regarded as the finest of its kind in the 
country. The architectural design embraces Greek, Gothic, and Roman, with a frontage of red pressi d brick, 
that pleasantly contrasts with the immense white marble Public Buildings under whose shallow it nestles. The 
track-room of this great station i> wide and lofty, containing eisht tracks and broad passenger platforms. In- 
ternally the walls arc of various colored bricks in artistic patterns, relieved here ami there with terra cotta 
ornamentations. At the eastern end are iron gates, the opening of which admits passengers into a spacious 
vestibule, from which entrance is gained to handsomely fitted up waiting-rooms, restaurant, etc. At the 
southern end cf the building a wide stone staircase leads down from the vestibule to the lower floor and the 
street. The northern section of the ground floor is utilized for ticket-offices, baggage-room, entrance to ele- 
vator, Pullman car office, etc. ; tie' middle section is a stand for cabs and carriages : and the southern section is 
taken up with a vestibule and stairway. 

The whole of that section of the city lying between Broad Street and the Schuylkill River, with the ex- 
ception of Market Street, which is an entirely business thorougafare. i- occupied with residences of the 



wealthiest citizens, with churches, schools, public institutions, small parts, part of the great park of Fairmount, 
etc. Among the illustrations which embellish this work will be found views of Chestnut Street and Arch 
Street looking westward, and from these will be obtained a fair general idea of the character of the buildings 
which line these and neighboring thoroughfares. To the right of .Market Street and of where we stand, and 
withiu a few blocks of us, i= discerned the cross-surmounted dome and noble facade of the Cathedral of Saints 

Peter and Paul, ou Eighteenth 
Street, fronting Logan Square. 
This is one of the finest ecclesi- 
astical edifices which ornament 
Philadelphia. The land for this 
building was purchased in 1846, 
and on August 18 in that year 
the corner-stone was laid with 
imposing ceremonies, in the pres- 
ence of many thousands of per- 
sons. The work was begun by 
Bishop Kendrick, and was con- 
tinued by his successor Bishop 
Neumann and the latter's coad- 
jutor, Right Rev. James F. "Wood. 
The style of architecture is the 
modified or Roman Corinthian, 
and the building is modified on 
the Church of St. Charles in 
Rome. The handsonielv laid-out 


also sometimes 

Square — was originally bounded by Race 
kill Fifth (Eighteenth), and the back ends of Schuylkil 
Third (Twentieth) Street lots. It-- present s ize is six hun- 
dred and thirty-two feet north and south by five hundred 

and forty-three feet east and west. It contains .-even acres and three roods. The Southwest Square having 
been used as a potter's field at an earlv day, the Northwest was in time occupied for the same purposes. There 
does not seem to have been any authority given by Councils for that use. yet the practice was so common that 
the Northwest Square became known as Potter's Fit-id earlv in the present century. In 1S12 City Councils 
passed an ordinance specially declaring that this practice had been an infringement of right, and ordering, 
that after the 10th of July, 1812, no body should be buried in any of the squares of Philadelphia. The street 
on the west, originally called Logan Street, was authorized to be opened by ordinance of February 13, 1834, 

and t 

3 L( 

le name Lon;an 


liven to the enclosun 

1". ordinance passed in 1825. In 1801 tin- whole square 
was covered with buildings erected for the use of the L'nited State- Sanitary Fair, which realized more than a 
million dollars toward tin- relief of sick and wounded Soldiers. 

Also bordering on this square i- the large building of the Academy of Natural Science--, standing on the 
corner of Nineteenth and Race Street-. It dates it- organization back to the second decade of the present 



century, awl is tlie oldest institution in America devoted exclusively to the natural sciences. It was incorpo- 
rated in 1817, ami although several institutions have sprung up around it as rival- during tlu- intervening period, 
it .-till retains precedence as far as wealth of collections and the completeness of a consulting library are con- 
cerned. Its active workers have always comprised many of the must distinguished names connected with the 
history of American science. The Academy was founded with the view of promoting original investigation by 
mean- of varied facilities offered within the institution, and the publication of the results of such investigations' 
but latterly the Academy has added a department for the systematic teaching of science, and there are regular 
courses of instruction in Arclueology and Ethnology, Invertebrate Zoology, Invertebrate Paleontology, Miner- 
alogy, and Geology. The library comprises about 30,000 volumes. Of the collections, the most important is 
that of the birds, which numbers about 35,000 specimens. The reptiles and fishes are also abundantly repre- 
sented, and the collection of recent mammalia is a fine one. The Morton craniologieal collection is one of the 
most extensive of its kind. The most complete department i- that of Conchologv, which, as far as the number 
of species and .specimens is concerned, is not equalled in Europe or America. The Academy is very rich in 
fossil remains, both vertebrate and invertebrate. The minernlogical collection has recently received great 
accessions through the bequest of the late Mr. W. S. Vau\. The herbarium numbers about 25,000 species of 
flowering plants. Among other collections it comprises those of Schweinitz, Kiittall, and Pickering. 

A block away to the west of the Academy is a group of extensive buildings devoted to the housing and 
comfort of the sightless unfortunates. A prominent buiiding in the view is the sul stantial and imposing armory 
located on the corner of Twenty-first and Filbert Streets. Three blocks to the west of this the 


stretches across the land-cape like a great serpent, the glistening waters of the tortuous stream, with the moving 

craft buoyed on its bosom, forming pleasing and absorbiug features among the innumerable attractive objects 

that greet the eve in every direction. //5S^ 

This busy river, now lined with 

wharves, and its banks traversed on 

each side, and crossed and recrossed 

by railroads, is supposed to have been 

discovered by Captain Hcndrickson in 

the year 1615, in the yacht Onrust 

(Restless). He belonged to Captain 


(Restless). He belonged to Captain ,-V"^ -^".L. ;?■§?* ^j»Us^' : ■"■^'"^MJ^^^^jPy 

Mey's expedition, and was assigned to -TY---^ -■i"^I>' 1 ts>r*-_.-^^" , ^~ --"""W 

the work of exploration of the streams \ r •* ' '■'•' -- J "ia*c:*4^' -■""" \ .' • .V'-, 


in the neighborhood of the coast. 
On Hendrickson's map of his dis- 
coveries Fort von Nassonene or Fort 
Xas-au is marked, which must have 
been placed there after Ucndriekson's 
time. There is an island opposite the 
fort, but nothing like a river such as 
the Schuylkill is shown. It should 
be understood that Fort Nassau was 
built by the Dutch ou the east side 
of the river about 1626. It is sup- 
posed to have been situated at or near 
the present Timber Creek, and tie. re- 
fore nearly opposite the mouth of the 
Schuylkill River. Upon the m 

Menejackse. In the Lindstrom map, published by the Pennsyl 
"History of New Sweden," by Israel Aerelius, it 
Lindstrom map given by Thomas Campanius Hob 

''} i #g; 

' • ! 2 

-- . - . - 

- ' 


: /' I " | t»~v».-fr 

View from C\ amounix Drive. 

ap of Peter Lindstrom the Schuylkill is called Menejackse Kyi, or La Riviere de 

'vania Historical Society, accompany in" the 

ppeai- as Meneyackse Kyi, or Schuylkill Liver, [n the 

n as Skiar eller Li;, le River. The 

river is s. 

t do 



word "eller" moans "or," and this designation is therefore Skiar Eiver, or Skiar Kyi, or Linde River. Skiar 
seems to Lave been a method of spelling the word which Acrelms renders Skookyl. In the Swedish burmace 
skora. means "to make a loud noise." Mr. M. S. Henry says that one of the Indian names of the Sehuvlkill was 
Lena Bikbi, or Lcnni, which he derives from Bikbi ("a tree whose bark peels freely," which is the case with 
the linden). He also calls it Lenhi Biknnk ("a high place where houses are erected covered with linden bark") 
and Konk ("a place or locality"). Lcnni meant not only a "man" or "Indian," but also "common, plain, 
pure, unmixed," sometimes "high." This would seem to showthe origin of the name Linde River, us laid down 
on the Lindstrotn map. The river was sometimes called Manayunk, which is supposed to have been derived 
fr<>in Mana*onk, the name of an island at the mouth of the river. This word means "our place of drinking." 

■ n 1 ""V 

The Schuylkill, from the Wesi Bank. 


Heckewelder gives as one of the names of the river Ganshewen (" it roareth"), or Ganschowehan, and Der 
rauschende Strohm (" the stream which maketh a noise"), which is similar in meaning to the S-\ edisli skora. The' 
name Schuylkill is supposed to- have been applied by the Dutch, and is said to mean Schuyl (••hidden") and 
kill (•• river") — the "hidden river," because at its mouth the river is not plainly visible to persons coining up the 
Delaware. Upon a map of the British possessions in North America, engraved in England by Herman Moll in 
lTlo, and upon another of the possessions in New France in 1720, the Schuylkill is called Peromemuck and 
Perquemuk. The river rises by three principal branches in Schuylkill County, and, flowing southeast, enters 
the Delaware, as stated elsewhere in these pages, at Girard Point and League Island. It is about one hundred 
and fnrtv miles in length. It has numerous tributaries, the most important of which arc Till pehocken Creek 
from the west, and Perkiomen Creek from the east. Vessels of from three hundred to four hundred tons ascend 

to the western wharves of Philadelphia, where its average depth at i imon tide is from thirteen to fourteen 

feet. The river wind-- itself through a eountrv rich in natural beautv, and the charming scenen of Fairmount 


Park, lying on both sides of tlie Schuylkill, furnishes ample cvidcm •• of this. Tlic river is crossed bv several 
magnificent bridges that t>l.i_\ a very important part in binding together all portions of this great stracrglinw citv. 
Most of these arc substantial structures, which Lave been erected in recent years. That crossin tin Schuvlkill 
at Callowhill Street is the successor of the famous old Wire Bridge, which st",„l for manv voars and was con- 
sidered quite a marvel in its way. In these pages will be found an illustration of this bridge. Tin.- Girard 
Avenue Bridge, of which an illustration i- also given, and which cost about 81,500,000 of the citv's money, is 
one of the finest promenade bridges iu the world; and the bridge of the Pennsylvania Railroad, just above it, i- 
a graceful affair, with high stone arches carrying an iron structure in the centre, of the bridges connecting 
West Philadelphia with the city that at Chestnut Street is the oldest in existence, dating back about twenty five 
years. The new bridge at Market Street is considered a better piece of work than it- near neighbor, the west- 
ern end of which bad recently to be buttressed up by great iron cylinders filled with cement sunk far down 
into the ground and resisting the push of the bridge. The probabilities are that a new bridge will soon be 
added at Walnut Street to the half-dozen which already spau the Schuylkill between Gray's Ferry road and 
Girard Avenue. South of the Girard Avenue Bridge is the dam connected with the Waterworks and an ex- 
tensive reservoir. At the northern boundary of the west section of the park are the Falls of Schuvlkill, where 
an old-fashioned wooden bridge .-pans the stream, and forms the upper connecting link between the East and 
West Parks. The " Falls of Schuylkill," from which the cluster of buildings near it derives its name of Falls 
Village, are now scarcely perceptible, the hacking of the water occasioned by the dam of the Fair mount Water 
W r orks having pretty much obliterated them. Formerly, however, there was at this point a verv decided fall, 
so that the name of the locality and the village was not without significance. The village is the seat of ex- 
tensive water works which afford employment to thousands of operatives. A short distance above the falls the 
Wissahickon River, which ':= full of charming beauties all along its tortuous windings, and wealthy in attractive 
drives and sylvan nooks and flowery dells, has its confluence with the Schuylkill. By means of dams and 
locks the Schuylkill is navigable one hundred and eight miles, from Fairmount Dam to Port Carbon, in 
Schuylkill County. That section of the streau dividing Fairmount Park into two parts, and extending from 
Peter's PI and to the Schuylkill Falls, i s known as the Race Course, where, in the summer season, regattas 
attract thousands of spectators. At this point it is fitting that we should say something of 


itself. Philadelphia is essentially a city of business principles, and of severely utilitarian ideas. Yet these, 
having been carried out to their logical end, have resulted in placing the Quaker Citv in the front rank of 
municipalities which have understood the intimate and necessary connection of business enterprise with the- 
most necessary expression of beauty and sentiment. Of this Fairmount Park i< perhaps the best example. 
Utility and business principles suggested the necessity for an ample water supplv; painful experience had 
.' nstrated that the purity of such a supply could only be secured by the fullest control of the watershed 
which held the element in its range, so that no deleterious substances should be allowed to enter into i',. Mills 
and manufactories lined the banks of the Schuylkill, when in 1822 the water-works for Philadelphia were pro- 
jected on a scale commensurate with the growth of the city. How easily these might contaminate tin- drinkin" 
water ami thus endanger the health of the inhabitants had doubtless hen fully impressed on the minds of the 
Pbiladelphians since the first water-works were established in 1799, and a wise ami far-seeing policy looked in 1 
to the gradual acquisition of all sites which might be occupied by manufactories, and converted the whole into 
a park, which, for extent ami beauty, cannot be excelled on tie- continent, possiblv not in the world. Thus, that 
which might have proved detrimental to the city ha- become a source of never-failiiK' pleasure; delichtincr the 
eye of the lover of sylvan scenery ; gratifying even taste for the beautiful in nature; givino - almost unlimited 
scope to the _-e.'iius of the best landscape gardeners of the worfd, ami offering inestimable a . of rest 

and refreshment to the weary dwellers in the crowded city. Dividing the park inns the Schuylkill River lore 
for miles fulfilling the law of nature, bringing life anil health with it- flowing water-. 

The park began with the pur. -ha-' of five acres of ground at Mom- [Ml. On Juno 28, 1812, §16.666 was 
paid for this property, and the constrti :tion of water-works begun. As a part of tic finish of these works • 
grounds were laid out ami ornamented on tin- west side of 'he hoi from Callowhill Street up to arid in front of the 
pumping bou- -. This land, called the Fairmount Gardens, were opened in 1825,andatoi ' m< the show- 


place of the city, .so that the citizens, like so many Oliver Twists, began to ask for move. This desire was met 
by a purchase of additional tracts of land, until' the reservation comprised twenty-four acres in 182S. The 
property then extended from Biddle Street up to Coates or Fairmount Avenue, and from the Schuylkill over to 
Twenty-fifth Street. Tliis contented the people till 1844, when the failure of the United States Bank brought 
the Lemon Hill estate into the market, and the property passed to the city — the only bidder — for 875,000, the 
bank having paid §225,000 for it. The grounds covered an area of forty-two acres. It was allowed to be 
used for a summer garden by a private tenant till 1855, when an ordinance was passed dedicating Lemon Hill 
by the name of Fairmount Park. Even this failed to satisfy the land-hunger of the citizens. The Sedgeley 
estate was bought by subscription. Some of the subscribers failed to pay up and there was an aggravating 
deficiency of §43,000, which perplexed the directors, and they offered the land to. the city on condition that 
it assumed the debt. This condition was acceded to promptly, and the Sedgeley estate was added to Lemon 
Hill, which, by the way, had been the country seat of Robert Morris, the financier, yvhose last days were em- 
bittered by failure and imprisonment for debt. 

The next acquisition was rendered necessary to connect and correct the boundaries of the previous estates. 
The intervenin'T ground between the old Fairmount property and the Lemon Hill estate was taken by the city 
in 1S6T, under the right of eminent domain, $55,000 being awarded by a jury to the owners. This property- 
included the buildinc and grounds on the north side of Coates Street up to the line of the Reading Railroad, 
and westerly to the Schuylkill and the eastern boundary of Lemon Hill, about where the Lincoln Monument now 

But by far the most important transfer of land, and one which finally determined the character and extent 
of Fairmount Park, was that which took place under the act of March 26, 1S67, by which the Lansdowne 
property, on the west side of the Schuylkill River, above Girard avenue — which had been the country-seat of 
Governor John Penn and of United States Senator William Bingham, and which was then the propeity of the 
Baring family of England — was purchased for §84,953. There were 140 acres in the tract. It comprised all 
tlie ground on the west side of the Schuylkill of certain described depths extending up from the Callow hill 
Street bridge beyond Lansdowne as far north as Montgomery Avenue. In this area were included the West 
Philadelphia water-works, the country-seats of Solitude, Egglesfield, Sweet Brier, and Lansdowne. The grounds 
Were to be managed bv a board of commissioners, who were to have full charge of Fairmount Park on both 
sides of the river Schuylkill. The commissioners, upon meeting, were of opinion that the ground on the east 
■side of the river was not sufficient, as it extended no farther than the Spring Garden water-works. An act of 
Assembly passed in April, 1800, authorized the purchase of a small stiip of ground between the Reading Rail- 
road and the river, extending from the Spring Garden water-works to the Columbia bridge. For the protection 
of the purity of the water, further purchases on the banks of the river were necessary. City Councils met 
these suggestions liberally, and acceded to a proposition that the Park on the west should be enlarged by ex- 
tending it up from Lansdowne to the bridge at the Falls, and out the Ford mad to George's Run. On the east 
side it was to be extended from the Spring Garden water-works to the Laurel Hill Cemetery, so as to take in 
all the ground between Thirty-third Street and the Schuylkill River and up the river to the mouth of Wiss ; i_ 
hickon Creek. The Legislature, by act of April 14, lstiS, not only acceded to these propositions, but gave to 
the Park Commission a right to appropriate the banks of the Wissahickon on both sides from the mouth up to 
Paul's Mill road. Scarcely had this magnificent authority been given before the commissioners were surprised 
by the offer of Jesse George and his sister, Rebecca George, both of whom were of advanced years, to convey 
to theui, for the u*e of the people, the land adjoining Belmont and known as George's Hill. This gift added 
83 acres more to the Park at the highest point west of the Schuylkill, affording a magnificent view of the 
city and the adjoining country. The whole area of the Park thus acquired, including the river surface, was 
2740 acres. In the West Park the Lansdowne Drive, the first permanent road constructed, was opened on the 
21st of June, 1SG9, from the entrance at Girard Avenue to George's Hill. 

A full description or an adequate appreciation of Fairmount Park is absolutely impossible. The mere 
enumeration of walks ami drives, the descriptions of statuary that line the walks, or the many places designed 
for rest and recreation would only weary the reader. Vet with its natural attractions of hill and dale; of rich 
water-courses; the ever-flowing Schuylkill or the pretty Wissahickon, now broken in cascades, and again em- 
bouching into a broad lake-like surface that tempts the pleasure voyager of canoe and shallop; the pretty pleasure 
steamers on the Schuylkill landing picnickers by cool spots, where the day's outing can be enjoyed; the ever- 



present charm-; of natural scenery, whose exquisite beauty has rcc< ived but the touch of human genius, which 
has yet left the best efforts of Nature unharmed by the touch, arc all best realized b) experience. All these, 
with many other features, form but a portion of the grand total known ;i< Fairmouut Park, which stands almost 
preeminent ;h one .>f the hot examples of what a park should be — the lungs of the city, the rec 'i"ii ground 
of its people, rich and poor alike. 

As part of tin.' park's attractions, and yet in a certain sense independent of it, may he mentioned first the 


The Zoological Garden is the only institution of its kind in the country which can boast of a collection of 
animals comparing favorably with similar gardens in Europe. The bear-pit, the lion ami tigei house, the 
monkey-house, the seal-pond, ami the other spots of interest will he- recognized by every visitor as delightful 
places for passing two or three hours pleasantly. It is not generally remembered that the Garden occupies the 
site of the country-seat of John Penn, the grandson of William Penn, and that the old house standing in the 
grounds was his home, known as "Solitude." There is a subterranean passage running for some distance from 
the house, which is supposed to have been intended for use as a place of refuge in the event of a possible 
Indian attack. The thirty-three acres which make up the Garden lie within the limits c.f Fairmount Park, but 
are under the care of the Zoological Society, which has made them blossom like a rose. There is no more 
charming place in or around Philadelphia than the "Zoo." 

Not the least of the many attractions of the park, in addition to the statuary, representative of the art, the 
national history, aud the local associations of Philadelphia, is the presence of the old Penn House, removed from 



Li'titi.-i Street. This, the first house built in Philadelphia, will thus forever be held as an historical relic, the in- 
terest in which will immeasurably increase as the years roll by. 

The new music pavilion or amphitheatre at Lemon Hill, which was used for the first time June 29, 1880, 
is one of the most impoitant and successful additions vet made to the artificial attractions of Fainnount Park. 
It is a great natural amphitheatre among the trees upon the northwestern slope of Lemon Hill, between the 
mansion and the descent to the main drive, forming a sort of semi-circular basin paved with concrete, containing 
seats for several thousand- persons. The chord of the semi-circle is on the lower side of the hill, with the 
band platform in the centre, and a low wall rising from this on each side to the two pavilions that mark the 
ends of the semi-circular corridor enclosing the whole. The simplicity and at the same time the richness of it 
all ; the dull-colored brickwork ; the charming detail of the terra-cotta capitals and of the frieze of the pavilions, 
with musical emblems in relief; the tasteful iron-work, also suggestive of the purpose of the structure — in 
short, the whole design, at once modest and bold, and seeming to lie naturally upon the slope of the ground in 
the midst of the noble trees that surround and enclose it, is as admirable a piece of landscape architecture as is 
anvwhere to be found. An excellent military band, under a conductor who knows how to interest and please 
the masses with good music, plays here every week-day afternoon throughout the summer, making this the 
centre of popular interest in the East Park. 

The o-rcat Centennial Exhibition of 1876 left a permanent impression on Fairmont Park which requires 
that notice should be made of it. A result of this exhibition, one of the most successful ever held, has been the 
permanent retention of Horticultural and Memorial Halls. This celebration of the ceutcnnial of American inde- 
pendence was the outcome of an act passed by Congress in 1871, to hold an international exhibition of arts, 
manufactures and the products of the soil and mine. From that time measures were active among citizens of 
Philadelphia and Federal, State and municipal governments to render the matter successful. On the 4th of 
Julv, 1873, the Commissioners of Fairmont Park formally transferred to the Centennial Commission and the 
Centennial Board of Finance, for the use of the exhibition, 236 acres of ground, extending from the river road, 
or continuation of Forty-first Street, northwest to the Lansdowne Drive and Concourse, not far south of Belmont 
round th? same south by west by the Belmont Drive to George's Hill and south to Elm Avenue, and by the 
same to Fortv-first Street, the place of beginning. The buildings for the Centennial Exhibition, large and small, 
numbered about two hundred, and were ready at the opening of the Centennial Exhibition, on May 10, 1876, 
and closed on November 10 of the same year. During that period the Exhibition was visited by 9,910,966 
persons, of whom 1,906,692 were free, representing exhibitors, officers, employes, etc. After the conclusion of 
the Exhibition an attempt was made to maintain a permanent exposition in the great industrial building com- 
monlv called the Main Building. This project eventually proved to be a failure. The Main Exhibition Building 
was sold, and the materials were removed. 

Such, however, was not the fate of the 


■which is now one of the permanent features of the Park. It contains the Pennsylvania Museum and School of 
Industrial Art, and is located in the West Park. The building is in the style of the Renaissance, is fire-proof 
throughout, and the control, government, and regulations of the Hall are vested in the Legislature, who rein- 
vest the same in the Park Commission, as appointed by the city. The distinctive features of the building are 
the south entrance of arched doorways, the pavilions, arcade, windows, and the promenades, which command a 
panoramic view of the Park. The central hallway is 287 feet by 83 feet, from which doors open to the galleries 
on all sides. The building contains 75,000 feet of wall-space, and 2000 feet of floor-spare for exhibits. The 
Pennsylvania School of Industrial Art is patterned after the "South Kensington Museum," ami is in time in- 
tended to embrace the advantage of developing the State industries, promoting instruction in drawing, model- 
ling, desicninff, etc. The present exhibit is varied and elegant — art, manufactures, archaeology, and science 
each contributing their quota of knowledge and representation. The features of special interest are the fine 
specimens of china, cmbracinc; examples of Minton, Sevres, and Worcester ware; ivory, metal, and wood-work; 
Rothermel's " Battle of Gettysburg"; the mosaic altar, containing thousands of inlay, in colors; the Japanese 
suite; extensive coin collections; castings and mouldings; carvings; paintings and photographs; armor and 
Turkish hanfinfs, etc. Admission free, by application, between the hours of 9.30 a. m. and r> p. m. 


Located in the same West Park, one-half mile above Memorial Hall, is a large building composed of iron 
and glass, and was one of the main features of the Centennial Exhibition. There arc more than 7000 sp 
mens of rare and choice plants, trees, and shrubs, etc. There are well-kept lawns and walks tastefully arranged. 
Admission free, on application, between 9 a. m. and p. m. During the winter season lectures on botany are 

given gratuitously. 

It '^ interesting to note that the grounds of Memorial Hall show traces yet of the enormous wear and tear 
of the crowds to the Centennial while the land about Horticultural Hall is in splendid condition. 

One of the claims to public attention possessed bj Fairmont Park is its great extension over 3000 acres. 
Yet this is not altogether without some feature of discomfort to those whose steed consists of "Shank's mare" 
alone. In the future, however, the whole resources of the vast park will be placed at the command of any one, 
the City Council having granted a license to William Wharton, Jr., for the building of a gravity railway. The 
terms of the license seem to be reasonably protective to all public rights. The fare cannot exceed five Cents 
for a round trip, with children under tin- years of age free, but an extra fare max be charged for the suspended 
cable line across the Schuylkill into West Park. Two per cent of the gross receipts must In- contributed to 
the Park Commission for Tark improvements and decorations, and actual work must be begun within six 
months and the line completed within two years. The Commission reserve the complete control of the road, 
with power to revoke the license at any time if its provisions are not fulfilled. The period of the license is 
titty years. 

This meets the greatest want of Philadelphia's magnificent Park by making it thoroughly eujoyable for 
the masses of the people who have no carriages and cannot afford to hire them. Thev can now get to the 
Park, but they are weary from their daily labors; their children are with them and without nurses, and the 
most they cm do is to get into the Park and sit down under its heartsonie shades. 

The route of the proposed road Commences at a point at or near the foot of the old ii)clined plane, a short 
distance from the Columbia Bridge, thence with double track to the summit at or near the head of the inclined 
plane: thence with single track to Chamounix; thence with single track to the foot of the inclined plane; also 
extending from the summit with single track to the foot of the inclined plane; also extending from the summit 
with single track to a point at or near the intersection of Belmont and Elm Avenues; thence with a single 
track, to the foot of the inclined plane; also a branch with a double track beginning near the intersection of 
Huntingdon Street and Ridge Avenue, and extending thence westerly to and aeross the river Schuylkill by a 
suspension bridge to a point in the West Park, where it may connect with main single track between Chamounix 
and the foot of the inclined plane. Along the line of the road tunnels are to be constructed on the main track 
between the proposed suspension bridge and the foot of the inclined plane near Chamounix, midwav between 
Chamounix and Belmont Summit, under George's' Hill and under a concourse at the comer of Belmont and 
Elm Avenues. Stations are to be erected at such places as may be deemed necessary. The line of the pro- 
posed suspension bridge is a continuation of Huntingdon Street, and by means of the new Lehigh Avenue 
Electric Railway direct communication with the Park will be afforded the people of Kensington and Fraukford. 
The road will be ready for operation May 1, 1890. 


This district of Philadelphia comprises the whole region between the west bank of the Schnvlkill and the 
boundary line of the city. With the exception of those sections bordering close upon the river, and which arc 
devoted to shipping, commercial, and manufacturing enterprises, West Philadelphia is Iargeli occupied with 
wealthy and middle-class residences, and there are numerous magnificent church edifices, hospitals, and p 
institutions in this section. The section formerly comprised several independent townships, which contained 
various districts. 

One of these districts was Belmont, created by act of April 14, ISO::, ami Which embraced that part of 
Blockley township which lay along the river Schuylkill from the northern boundary-line of Wesl Philadi 
to the' northern boundary -line between Philadelphia and Montgomery Counties, ami had also it- ivi stern bound- 
ary on that line. This district had scarcely time to be organized before the Act of Consolidation of February 
■J. is.", t. put an end to its franchises. The name was derived from Belmont, the country-seat of the Peters 
family, which is now a portion of Fairmount Park. The mansion was erected by William Peter- about 1743, 



the name was descriptive of the tine position of the property, and suggestive of the beautiful views of two 

river and valley of the Sehuvlkill visible 

from the site. The property became the estate of Judge Richard 
Peters of the United States District Court in 1786, and he 
lived there until his death, which happened August 22, 1882. 
Bloekley was a township on the west sida of the Schuyl- 
kill River, north of Kingsessing township; bounded on the 
east by the river; extending south from the county-line, op- 
posite to, but a little below, the mouth of the Wissahiekon, 
down to the Nangancsy or Mill Creek, below the Wood- 
lands; thence by the same creek up to Chadd's Ford turn- 
pike, known in later years as the Baltimore pike ; along the 
same to Cobb's Creek; thence by the courses of the same to- 
the county-line adjoining Lower Merion township, Mont- 
gomery County, and along the same to the river Delaware. 
It was traversed by the Darbv road, the Chadd's Ford or 
Baltimore pike, the road to West Chester, to Haterford and 
to Lancaster. Within the boundaries were the villages of 
Hamilton, Mantua, West Philadelphia, Hestonville, and 


greatest length four miles ; the greatest 


"^/t 4 ill 

m mShp. i 

'breadth, five miles; area, 7580 acres. The date of the for- 
mation of this township is not known. It was created at a 
very early period after the establishment of the provincial 
government. The name is supposed to have been derived 
from Bloekley, a parish in England in the county of Wor- 

Kingsessing was a township in the extreme southwestern 
portion of the city, bounded on the north by Bloekley ; on 
the east by Mill Creek and Schuylkill River; on the south 
by Delaware River and Bow Crtek ; and on the west by 
Darbv Creek and Cobb's Creek; shaped irregularly. It em- 
braced the site of the old village of Kingsessing, but no 
settlement of any size except MaylandvilJe. It was traversed 
principally by the Darby road and the road to the Lazaretto. 
Its greatest length, five miles; greatest breadth, two and one 
half miles; area, 6800 acres. This was the oldest settled 
portion of the county of Philadelphia. Kingsessing, or 
Chinsessing, was the name of a place lying on the west 
side of the Schuylkill River, below the western abstinent of 
Penrose Ferry Bridge, and not far distant therefrom. Acre- 
lius savs Chinsessing was '• a place on the Schuylkill where 
five families of freemen dwelt together in houses two stories 
hich, built of white nut tree (hickory), which was at that 
time regarded as the best material for budding houses, but in 
later times was altogether disapproved of for such purposes."' 
Among the most noted public institutions in West Phila- 
delphia district is 


we have told but little of the gigantic marble pile itself 
bearing this designation. It is, in truth, Philadelphia's 
modern architectural monument — the largest edifice for 
municipal purposes in the world. Its tower, when com- 



pleted, will rank as the third highest edifice iu the world, the Washington Monument and the Eiffel Tower at 
I'mis being the other and taller structures. Certainly no city in the United States has anything to show in 
comparison with it. Perhaps it might also be added, none so costly, for it has already exceeded the original esti- 
mate by §5,000,000, and has occupied so far eighteen instead of ten years in its erection. Five years more may 
elapse before if is thoroughly finished and the cost accurately gauged. The true Philadclphian, however, counts 
neither time nor money, but aims at the thorough completion of the grand pile, to which generations yet to 
come will point with pride, as it lifts its snowy marble height into the blue sky, and acts a beacon for the b 

It standi at t lit- intersection of Broad and Market Streets, and practically bas four fronts, none of which 
lack in dignity of treatment and care of design. The north and south fronts measure 470 feet, and the east 
and west front 486J feet in their extreme length. Though it stands at the intersection of such a leading thor- 
oughfare it offers little or no impediment to traffic. Through its ample gateways and its noble quadrangle the 
streets it appears to block are continued, an advantage the busy residents of the section cannot fail to appreci- 
ate. The court-yard in the centre is 200 feet square, all flagged with massive stone. A reference to the illus- 
tration in the present work will give the ge: iral reader a better idea of it than a" detailed architectural descrip- 
tion, though the dimensions should be borne in mind, in order to adequately grasp the details of this enormous 
and stately structure. 

On the north side of the square interior rises a grand tower of white granite and marble, which, when com- 
pleted, will make it, as above stated, the third highest tower in the world. It is to be surmounted with a bronze 
statue, twenty feet high, of William Penn. Ground was broken for the building August 10, 1.871. The first 
stone of the foundation was laid just a year later, August 12, 1872, and on July 4, 1874, the corner-stone was 
laid in the presence of an influential throng of state and civic dignitaries and other citizens, impressive cere- 
monies governing the occasion. Some idea of the preliminary work for the vast structure may be gained from 
the fact that th._- excavations for cellars and foundations required a 
year's work and necessitated the removal of 141,500 cubic feet of 
earth. The most remarkable trait attending the design for this 
work has been the recognition of the possibility of future growth 
of the city. Building for posterity has not hitherto been a feature 
of American architecture, the crv of being cramped for room being 
the most often heard. Iu the Public Buildings of the Quaker 
City it is fair to suppose will be found adequate accommodations 
for many years to come. 

The style is that of the Renaissance of the French order, 
modified to suit the exigencies of the requirements. It is distin- 
guished by a wealth of ornamentation, which nevertheless is rigidly 
held within the bounds of good taste, so that nothing incongruous 
or meretricious strikes the observer. Pillars, pilasters, niches, 

statues, caryatides, and other sculptured work enliven the facade jM '^ ^^PcA^itl''' 

in the interior. The whole makes an agreeable and lasting im- ^ ^ l',j jgy — 

pression, but there is a shade of doubt as to the effect likely to be ," -' V.'* 

-'. V / '•*--[-- j\ 
produced by the Penn statue, which cannot be wholly solved till it \\, !\S<~ r -:'''\' / 

is placed in position. John McArthur is the architect, and the F+.lLX^' 

work is being done by a commission of which the chairman is I 

Samuel C. Perkins. The building contains 520 rooms aggregating ^- V 


a floor space of 14\ acres. Though, as has been pointed out, the 

building has four " fronts," the natural and proper front is to the 

north on Broad Street. Here, where it opens out into a broad esplanade, stands an equestrian monument to 

General Reynolds, who laid down his life in the first .lay's fight at Gettysburg. 

The last report of the building commission enclosed a statement from Architect McArthur, in i 
the completion of the tower, that it will require a peri.'. 1 of four years to prepare and erect com] I I ! same, 
and that the estimated cost is §325,000. The tower on which th i metal superstructure, as above noted, i I 
<■■ 1, is .■; marble, finished at :i:i7 feet, t V inches above the pavement, and from which the skin or covering 



of the clock story starts, is capped with large granite blocks IS inches thick, and a solid floor of iron beams, 
brick arches, concrete and asphalt covers the interior space at this higher level. Eight anchoring rods three 
inches ic diameter and 55 feet loug have been built in the walls for the purpose of anchoring and securing the 
metal work, and the general drawings with much of the details are completed. The skeleton framework is 
proposed to be of wrouaht-iron or steel, and the exterior covering of the clock story, rising 67 feet 8 inches, of 
cast-iron, painted white to harmonize with the marble below. The balance of the metal work — the dome — 
risk)"- 105 feet 7 inches to the base of the terminal figure, as well as the statue itself, is recommended to be of 
aluminum bronze, the most preferable of non-rusting materials suitable for such a purpose. A covering or 
gutter of this metal will be placed over the top of the marble work, properly connected with the drainage sys- 
tem of the tower, in order to prevent any possible discoloration of the marble from the oxydation of the iron-work 
above. The preliminary work, including the completion of the main structural features of the clock story, and 

*:-.-, --J*". ^%^F^*-TT7 t ^^ 

^^ > zr > = * - >*^ ?irrs£*wr^ 

' ti -^^^v&r-^ 

V: - ■■■=:■■ , - ,-. • . ..:'.", --.;•" -Sg:--*:.-.^; ' <-;7»» £'- 

■. -je- - - - - j' •*..-,".- ..—-~. ,,^.^.. -- K-. v -- ~r -•, -.: "^ " ■-- ' ..- ... . .-TV--.'-- _:,. ^. ---. -. - -- . ,-jI -- .- 

- : |^. _;;; r ^T^a^ 


Zoological Garden— Girard Avenue Entrance. 

the necessarv preparations for the fundamental elements of the balance of the superstructure, which are essential 
to the further advancement of the work after the clock story shall have been so far completed as to allow of the 
continuance of the work of erection, can probably be accomplished by the end of 1S90, at a cost within a rea- 
sonable portion of the amount appropriated and to be appropriated to the Commissioners for that period. 

Portions of the building have recently been occupied. Mayor Fitler was the first to enter into the elegant 
suite of rooms designed for the mayoralty offices, which suite is a suggestion of the rooms designed for the other 
departments. . For Mavor Fitter's private use there is a long, handsome room, wainscoted, like all the others, 
with Tennessee marble, and with an elaborate mantel of vari-colored stone. Adjoining is the great audience- 
room, a laroy, square apartment where visitors may seek the Mayor's ear through his private secretary. Opening 
into this room is a larjre office for the Mayor's clerks, beyond is a similar room for the clerks of the Depart- 
ment of Public Works, and at the opposite end of the suite from the Mayor's sanctum is the private office of 


Director Wagner, the chief of that department. The entire suite has a high wainscoting of Tennessee marl le, 
the ceilings ami walls are painted in a pleasant tint, and gas ami electric fittings are supplied in abundance. 

Along the opposite of the corridor is a nearly similar suite of rooms overlooking the interior court-yard, 
and designed for the use of the Department of Public Safety. Directly over the Market Street entrance is a 
large apartment for the daily meetings of the police lieutenants with Superintendent Lamon, whose private office 
adjoin- tin! assembly-room on the south. In his office Superintendant Lamon has an immense rack against the 
wall with spaces for the names of nearly 5000 officers, each placed upon a strip of card. On the opposite side 
of the meeting-room is the private office of Director Stokely, of the Department of Public Safety, and then 
comes tie- staircase leading to the floors above. A private passage beneath the stairs leads from Director 
Stokely's office to a series of rooms which will be devoted to the clerks of the department. One of these 
offices is now occupied by the Building Inspectors, who will be transferred to another floor. 

To get rid of the hangers-on who congregate around Central Station Magistrate hearings, the Central Station 
has been located up in the top of the building upon the sixth floor. Prisoners will be taken within the court- 
yard to the turreted tower that creeps up the southern wall of the inclosure on the east side of the Broad Street 
entrance. Here an elevator will lift them to the sixth floor to the lock-up, a huge and lofty room with thirty- 
two iron cages ranged in rows in the centre of the room. A short corridor leads around to the Magistral :'s 
room on the east side of the court-yard, a large apartment like the Police lieutenants' assembly-room on the 
second floor, and, like that, also furnished with a smaller room on either side. Along the corridor leading from 
the lock-up is a series of small rooms for the various uses of the department, and a corresponding suite on tin- 
floor beneath, reached by a small staircase, is set aside for the use of the Central Station detectives. All of 
these rooms are handsomely wainscoted with fancy-colored tiles, and are now almost ready to receive their 

Across the main corridor from the Magistrate's Court, on the sixth floor, are the large rooms occupied b\- 
the Electrical Department, looking down into Market Street from a high elevation. Other city department 
offices already occupied are in close proximity to the Mayor's apartments. On the fourth floor, directly over- 
head, are five rooms occupied by the Survey Bureau, while the apartments on the Mayor's floor, south of the 
Market Street entrance, are devoted to the Highway Department. The ground floor north of the Market Si reel 
entrance is occupied by the various branches of the Tax Office — the Board of Revision of Taxe.-, Delinquent 
Tax Bureau, Bureau for the Collection of Water Rents, Board of Assessors and the office of the Receiver of 
Taxes, which extend from the Market Street entrance around to the north Broad Street entrance. . Then tin- 
other half of the east side is devoted in the order named: To the Park Commission, the Commissioner! of 
City Property and the City Commissioners, while the City Controller's office and the City Treasurer's office 
divide between thein the eastern half of the south floor, the Controller's office outside and tie- City Treasury 
inside. With the departments already established in the Public Buildings and those soon to enter, the princi- 
pal city offices will then centre there. 


In point of manufactures Philadelphia has always taken the lead of all other American cities. Manufac- 
turing was active here when the British Parliament sought to compel the provincials to rely upon British work- 
men for all sorts of manufactured materials and to discourage mechanical industry in America. Durinf the 
Revolutionary period the Philadelphians were kept busy in manufacturing cloth, guns, swords, cannon, etc. for 
tie- American army. During 1S75, a year succeeding a period of distress till over the country, the leading 
manufactures ..f Philadelphia were estimated by Lorin Blodgett, from statistics furnished by prominent m inn 
facturers, to be worth in money §552,000,000, upon which the estimated profit, at no more than 6 per cent, 
was over 133,000,000. The number of distinct manufactures is so great as to almost baffle an attempt to 
describe them, many of them being small and of article's difficult to classify. In the aggregate of manufac- 
turing establishments, the variety of articles made, the number of persons employed, and the value of mal 
used, Philadelphia surpasses all other cities in the United States. In 1S70, according to the census, there were 
8579 manufacturing establishments in the city and vicinity, which were operated by 2177 steam- > : of 
57,304 horse-power, and 59 water-wheels of CCC-G En : 1875 the city boiler-inspector reported 
30f>S steam-boilers in use, being an 'dn-jjk-ise it. u\- years of S91, or :;:; per cent. At that ratio the number of 

' : i 



manufacturing establishments in 1ST6 was about 11,000 and the capital $250,000,000. Then about ICOjOOO 1 
hands are eraploved in good times in these manufactures. Since that period, manufactories have been multi- 
plying on every hand, and the ranks of artisans have been continuously increasing. 


Fiduciary institutions play an important part in the encouragement and advancement of the manufactures 
and commerce of the city, and in this respect Philadelphia is liberally provided, the following being a list of 
the leadi no- monetary institutions: America, 327 Walnut Street; North America, 309 Chestnut Street ; Beneficial 
Saving Fuud, Twelfth and Chestnut Streets; Centennial, Thirty-second Street cor. Market; Central, 109 S. 
Fourth Street; City, 33 N. Sixth Street; Columbia, 432 Chestnut Street; Commercial Bank of Pennsylvania, 
311 Chestnut Street; Commonwealth, Fourth and Walnut Streets; Consolidation, 331 N. Third Street; Cora 
Exchange, Second and Chestnut Streets; Eighth, Second Street and Girard Avenue; Farmers' and Mechanics', 
427 Chestnut Street; First, 315 Chestnut Street; First, of Camden, Second and Market Streets; Girard, 116 
S. Third Street; Independence, Chestnut Street below Fifth; Kensington, Frankford Road and Girard Avenue;, 
Keystone, Chestnut Street cor. Juniper; Manayunk, 4371 Main Street; Manufacturers', 27 N. Third Street; 
Mechanics', 24 S. Third Street; Merchants', 108 S. Fourth Street: Merchants' Exchange, 131 S. Third Street; 
National, of Commerce, 211 Chestnut Street ; National, of Germantown, 4800 Germantown Avenue; Northern 
Liberties, Third and Vine Streets; Republic, 320 Chestnut Street; Security, 701 Girard Avenue; State Bank 
of Camden, 212 Church Street; Northern Saving Fund, Sixth and Spring Garden Streets; Penn, Seveuth 
Street cor. Market; People's, 435 Chestuut Street: Philadelphia, 423 Chestnut Street; Philadelphia Saving 
Fund, Seventh Street cor. Walnut; Germantowi; Savings Fund, 4794 Germantown Avenue; Second, 4434 
Frankford Avenue; Seventh, Fourth and Market Streets; Shackamaxon, Frankford Avenue cor. Nonas Street;. 
Sixth, Second and Pine Streets; South wark, 610 S. Second Street; Spring Garden, Twelfth and Spring Gar- 
den and 400 Chestnut Streets; Third, Market and Merrick Streets; Tradesman's, 113 S. Third Street; Union, 
Third and Arch Streets; West Philadelphia, Fortieth and Market Streets; Western, 408 Chestnut Street;. 
Western Saving, Tenth and Walnut Streets. 


The o-rowth of a citv is greatly enhanced bv the extent and liberal character of its transportation facilities.. 
The railroads having depots in the city are: Baltimore and Ohio, Chestnut Street Bridge; Camden and Atlantic 
Railroad, Vine Street Ferry ; North Pennsylvania Railroad, Berk's and American, above Second, Ninth and 
Green Streets; Pennsylvania Railroad, Broad and Filbert Streets; Philadelphia and Atlantic City Railroad, 
Pier 8, Walnut Street Wharf ; Philadelphia and Reading Railroad, Thirteenth and Callowhill Streets; Ger- 
mantown and Norristown Branch and Bound Brook Division, Ninth and Green Streets; West Jersey Railroad, 
Market Street Ferry. 

The street-car passenger service of Philadelphia consists of 47 routes, covering every point of interest and 
the convenience of the visitors. These cars are propelled by cable, horse, or electric power, and intersect the 
city in every possible direction, with frequent service of a few minutes' interval at the most. To give the 
routes in detail would be to give a practical street directory of the city. 


That Philadelphia continues to grow rapidly, there are evidences on every hand; and if the building opera- 
tions of the last half of 1889 approximate in number to those of the first half, the present year will break the 
city's record in building. The record is 83S7 new buildings, not counting alterations, additions, and back 
buildings erected in 188S. The total number of operations for the first six months of 188D, according to the 
Real Estatt Record and Guide, is 6408, or only 18S9 less than for all last year. Two-story houses continue to 
be the favorites as the hemes of the people, and 4711 >.f them have been erected this year. The Twenty-eighth 
ward leads with 1181, followed by the Twenty-sixth ward with 609, the Twenty-fifth with 517. and the Twenty- 
fourth with 497. Compared with the first six months of 1SSS, 14G4 more of these little homes have been built 
this year than last. Three-story houses, which, have Mther suffered through the rag' for smaller dwellings, are 
ao-ain rapidly coming into favor. The number ereet'ed i:p ,t» , July 1 a 1839 was 143 7, against 1007 for the 



same period of IS8S, a gain of 420. Four-story dwellings are also picking up, 20 having already gone up, as 
against only 14 during the whole of 18SS. The increase in the number of the three- and four-story dwellings 
is a good indication of the general prosperity. The estimated cost of the new two-storj houses was $9,428,- 
000; of the three-story ones, §0,421,500; and of the four-story, 8156,000. The total cost of all the operations 
was 819,860,31 7, which i-- exclusive of 81,040,400 spent on alterations and additions, making the grand t"t.;l 
820,900,717. There has been a noticeable decrease this year in the number of costly office structures and 
other large buildings erected. Still, permits have been taken out for three large office buildings to cost §660,- 
000, 11 warehouses, 32 factories, 36 foundries ami shops, 38 stores, :'. theatres, 4 freight stations, 2 library 
buildings, 3 club-houses, 7 churches, and 5 school house.-.. The number of conveyances recorded during the 
first six months of 18S9 was S419, representing property valued at 842,374,824. This was an unusually large 
amount, the total value of all the transfers of 1SSS being only §62,663,201. 

Then, the city is in this year (1SS9) spending more money for improvements than ever before, ami the cost 
of the permanent, improvements to be effected will be between four and five million dollars. Nowhere are the 

__ -—..-- - 

£ - 

r: Ss? 



•;•;■'■■: ; ' 

■ - . --T "/' 



• - ■ ■' . , : "•- " ■ "-' ''J 





Zoological Garden— Rustic Bridge— Yaks. 

signs of progress more evident than in the centre of the city. With the §200,000 appropriated for repaying 
streets occupied by street-car companies, Chestnut Street is being put in g 1 condition from Front t'> Eigh- 
teenth. All the old-fashioned heavy square stone blocks and cobbles have been removed and replaced with 
Belgian block-.. The same- work is nearly completed on Arch Street from Second to Seventh. Sansom, Race, 
Fourth, Eighth, and a number of other streets, principally the numbered ones, are to be similarly repaved, and 
in a short time a cobblestone pavement in the central portions of the city will be a thing of the past. The 
expenditure appropriated bj the City Council for repaying streets not occupied by street-car comp 
will accomplish a great deal, but its good effects will not be so apparent becanse they will be more 
i red. One of the most important b'u< of repaving v.i'l be the laying of an asphalt pavement or. Diamond 
Street from Broad to Third, connecting with the present pavements of the same material west of Broad £ 
and east of Third, and giving a fine drive to the Park to the residents of the northeastern section of the city. 
Work will also be begun on the new West Philadelphia drive to the Park by way of Thirty-ninth and other 


streets, and the asphalt pavement on Broad Street will be continued to Glenwood Avenue. In the centre of the 
citv Cherry and the few other streets not occupied by horse-car tracks will be repaved, mostly with Belgian 
blocks. As far as possible these streets will connect with those being repaved out of the 8300,000 appropriation. 
Such great improvements will be effected by the appropriation given for repaying this year that members of the 
Finance Committee of Councils have expressed themselves in favor of appropriating $1,000,000 for continuing 
the work next year. With a portion of this amount all the central portion of the city between the Delaware 
and the Schuylkill Rivers can be replaced with Belgian blocks and asphalt, and a large proportion be devoted 
to repaying in other sections. Simultaneously with the work of repaying goes the completion of the last section 
of the East Bark Reservoir. In this improvement, which will insure a supply of pure drinking-water to the 
greater part of the city, and in other works of the Water Bureau, nearly $1,000,000 is being spent. The piers 
of the Walnut-street Bridge are now under contract, and Director Wagner will ask for $400,000 for the super- 
structure next year. This will leave only the approaches to be erected in 1891. The abolition of Gunner's 
Run has been begun at an expenditure this year of $200,000, and will be continued with yearly appropriations 
of $100,000 or more until the nuisance shall be gotten rid of forever. Work on other sewers, main and branch, 
is bein^j pushed at a cost of several hundred thousand dollars. Other works of improvement, such as the new 
county prison, new school-houses, the opening of new s' r : ts, and many others are being prosecuted at an 
expense that will make the total very large. As a result of all this labor, the close of the year 1889 will find 
the city in much better shape than did the beginning. 

Hitherto Philadelphia has been regarded as the first city in the country in point of territorial area, and as 
second in respect of population. Chicago has recently annexed several extensive suburban towns, and the area 
of its municipality is now much in excess of that of Philadelphia, which heretofore has been the largest in the 
country. In view of the approaching census, the prophets have been considerably exercised in asserting and 
denying that Philadelphia will have to give second place also to Chicago in the matter of population. In the 
absence of an actual count, these figures maybe interesting: The total vote polled in Chicago in 1SSS was 
123,475, and in Philadelphia 205,747. The ratio of voters to the population in 1SS0 was in Chicago 6.06 
and 4.93 in Philadelphia. This would give in Chicago, before the annexation of a large part of Illinois, a popu- 
lation of 748,258 in 1SS8, and, with the estimated 200,000 added by the taking in of suburban towns, gives 
Chicago in round numbers 1,000,000, while, even at the very low ratio given above, Philadelphia has m round 
numbers 1,200,000. 

Whatever the census may show positively, there is no denying the fact that in all the features which dis- 
tinguish a threat metropolis, as connected with religion, morality, charity, benevolence, industry, trade, art, 
science, literature, education, Philadelphia is behind no city of its size in the world, while by its broad terri- 
torial size, peculiarities of building, cheap and good markets, with abundance of air, light, and water it exceeds 
in comfort within the reach of the poorest classes any other city in the world, and is justly entitled to its 
appellation of the "City of Homes" as well as to that of the "City of Brotherly Love." 


The pages that follow contain many of the representative houses of Philadelphia, and in con- 
nection with the illustrated portion of the work will be found profitable and interesting. 

THE PENN MUTUAL LIFE.— Its New Office Building, Pro- 
gress, Etc.— The following description from the plans of the 
Penn Mutual Life Insurance Company's Dew building is 
taken from the Philadelphia Ledger: The plans for the new 
structure of the Penn Mutual Life Insurance Company, at Xos. 
921, 923 and 925 Chestnut Street, prepared by Theophilus P. Chand- 
ler, Jr., architect, give promise of a build- 
ing th it will not only be remarkably well 
adapted to commercial, corporation, and 
professional uses, but will also, from its 
handsome and substantial exterior, be an 
attractive feature of Chestnut Street 
architecture. The building will have a 
frontage of 77.1).,' feet, and a depth of 216 
feet to Chant Street. The front will be 
eight stories in height, and be used for 
office purposes. The rear portion, on 
Chant and Kelly Streets, which will be 
occupied exclusively by the Penn Mutual 
Lire, will be four stories in height only, 
and will be constructed of brick, with 
brown stone trimmings. The general 
style of the front will be classical. The 
material used in the facade will be white 
marble, rock faced and tooled. The fi out 
will lie broken at the western entrance, 
over which will rise an imposing tower, 
projecting 10?^ feet from the rest of the 
building, the line of which is the same as 
that of the Record building to the east. 
The line of the tower entrance is a eoutin 

marble columns, of five feet in diameter and 32 feet in height 
The columns will be spanned by an archway, in the shadow of 
which, resting on a highly ornamental lintel, will stand a statue 
of William Penn. Carvings, touches in window sills, conceits in 
balustrades and other indications of an artist's skill v. 
grace to the dignity of the tower, which will be surmounted by a 
gilded dome. The towel entrance will 
lead into a marble v.ainscotted corridor, 
15 feet wide, and an iron stairway and 
two fast elevators will carry the visitors 
to any of the upper floors. The corridor 
will run to the quarters of the Penn 
Mutual Life in the rear, the main office of 
which, on the first floor, will be 60x75 !, et 
and 25 high. The kitchen will be on the 
AVr't f0l "' tn noor i and the offices of the direc- 
$S? tniS aml otliers wil1 be on tlie second aud 
third, as will also be the dining-room. 
| The cost or the building is estimated at 

between .ft.'uion and s« f,, , ,.,..] t ne 

Jffl contractors, J. E. & A. L. Pennock, are 
| „'.■ , to have the structure completed bj Sep 
;- ) - \\ tember 30, I?90. The follow:, 

1 '•/ show the progress of the institution, ren- 

nation of that of the Citj Trust buildin; ';< . .' % CiS 
to tin' west. The recessed portion of the 
front will rise in three square piers 32feet 


rnent 35 feet high, So feet wide and loo 
deep, admirably adapted either for one, 
or. by the use of a partition, fortwostores. 

The upper floors will be divided f 

there being two suits of si\ offices each, 
divided by alight well on each Boor. A marble gable will ri 
feet over the recessed portion of the front, and graceful ornamen- 
tation will relieve the otherwise classic outline of Ihe facade. 
Tie- tower, as already stated, will project from the rest of the 
'■ face on a line with that o( the Citj 

Trust building, and is 19)4 feet wide. It will rise on two n 

1887, 88,009,76*; 1- -. 83,353 i i, Instance 
in fore, 1880, $31,608,51 I; 1881, - 14,637.444.; 
1882. $38,194,522; 1883, $11,521,675 ; 1534, $43,- 
979,860; L8S5, $47.9S9,223; 1886, 553,911.673; 
; 1887, $61,018,805 ;1&5S, $68,372,882. Its board 
I of trustees compi isesa list of citizi ns long 

• ami favorably known for their ; ; 
I rectitude, their success in business, and 
9 their excellent reputation in ;:. 

• quarters, its officers are E. M. Seed ■ 
president; R, s. Stephens, vice-pn sident; 

I II. C. Brown, secretary, and J. J. I i 
actuarj Board of trusti es: William II. 
Kern. James O. Pease rhom . W. ' ■ ■ 
Ji eph M. P. Price, Charles W [son 
j, , 

Joseph, B. Hoda ilt Howard Hlnchinan, William H. 1: 
Atwood Smith, John II Watt, N. Parker Shortrldge I 
Brock, Benjamin \i: u, John Scott, Charles . I. Field, Robert 
I'm n. .ii. William M. Runk, K. All ' er, Henry S. 1 

Noah \. Plynipton, Benj.S Beutly, Frank Markoe, Harry K. 
Lincoln K. Fassmore, and K lohnson, Jr. 




GYV. RUSSELL, American Watch Salesroom, Importer of 
Fine French anil English Clocks, etc., No. 22 Noith Sixth 
Street.— The city of Philadelphia is one of the principal 
centres of the United States for the trade in diamonds and 
jewelry, and it is here that the public generally rind everything in 
these lines, both watches, precious stones and jewelry in the 
newest styles and of the most reliable quality. Prominent among 
the representative and influential houses, actively engaged in this 
important trade, is that of Mr. G. W. Russell, No. 22 North Sixth 
Street, importer of fine French and English clocks, and dealer in 
diamonds, jewelry and silverware. This business, which is the 
oldest of its kind in Philadelphia, was established in 182S by Mr. 
George Russell, the father of the present proprietor. In 1861 Mr. 
G. W. Russell succeeded to the management. Mr. Russell has had 
great experience in all brandies of the jewelry trade, and is a well 
known importer of diamonds and other precious stones, buying the 
loose stones and setting them here in the best manner, and after 
the most approved fashion and original designs. The premises 
occupied comprise a superior three-story and basement building 
20x80 feet ill area. The various departments are elegantly fitted 
up with every appliance and convenience for the accommodation 
and display of the extensive and valuable stuck and the comfort of 
customers. The first floor is utilized for diamond goods, precious 
stones, jewelry of all kinds, American and foreign watches, silver 
and silver plated ware, etc. The second for lamps, novelties, 
bronze goods, clocks, etc. The third floor is the repairing and 
manufacturing department, where special attention is given by 
higiiiy skilled workmen to all orders. In precious stones Mr. Rus- 
sell has achieved merited distinction, and shows a magnificent 
stock of diamonds, rubies, emeralds, sapphires, pearls, opals, etc . 
and possesses many matched stones of rare beauty, which cannot 
be readily duplicated elsewhere. Very moderate prices prevail in 
this establishment, while polite and efficient assistants serve 
customers intelligentlyand promptly. All goods are selected with 
great care, the first considerations being quality, excellence of 
workmanship and beauty of design. Mr. Russell is a native of 
Philadelphia, where he has made hosts of friends in consequence 
of his ability and integrity, justly meriting the abundant success 
that lias attended his well directed efforts in the jewelry trade. 
Of one thing lie justly boasts, nothing but first class and genuine 
a,- tides are kept at his establishment, as lie deals in no imitation 
Jewelry of any description, consequently his patrons are absolutely- 
sure of at all times getting superior and reliable articles. 

TAv ROGERS & SON, Planters and Wholesale Dealers in 
Fresh and Salt Oysters, Nos. 321 and 326 South Delaware 
Avenue.— Representative in the wholesale oyster trade 
is tiie widely and favorably known bouse of Messrs. T. 
A. Rogers & Son of Nos. 324 and 326 South Delaware Avenue. 
The public of this city and surrounding country are great con- 
sumers of oysters and other shell fish, but their tastes aie refined 
and their requirements exacting and only the choicest growths 
find an extended market here. Realizing this factMessrs. Rogers 
& Son, have ever devoted their attention solely to the best grades 
of oysters, both fresh and salt. This extensive business 
was founded in I860 by Mr. T. A. Rogers, a merchant of marked 
eneigv and enterprise, who admitted his son, Mr. Maurice A. 
Rogers, to partnership in 1885. Mr. Maurice A. Rogers although a 
youug man has had a practical experience of oversixteen years, 
before becoming a member of the firm having been brought up in 
it from boyhood. Extending theii connections, developing their 
facilities and giving their personal attention toall orders the house 
has kept steadily enlarging its business til! it now extends to every 
portion of New York State, New Jersey and Pennsylvania. The 
firm supply oysters in bulk and at wholesale and also upon com- 
mission. Their Philadelphia trade is of the greatest magnitude, 
including leading dealers and large consumers such as the first 
•., iss oyster houses, hotels and restaurants. They are owners of 
thirteen oyster bouts and have a large picking house at Maurice 
River Cove, where the firm are extensive planters of these bivalves 
and where from seventy-five to one hundred handsale constantly 
employed. No house in Philadelphia is better prepared to fill the 
largest orders at the shortest notice with the freshest, finest and 
choicest oysters than this reliable old concern whose reputation 
for the uniform superiority and excellence of its product is unrival- 

led by any similar first class house in the trade. Mr. T. A. Rogers 
is a native of New York State and lias resided in Philadelphia for 
over thirty-six years, and Mr. Maurice A.Rogers, is a native ot this 
city, both residing in Camden, N.J. The firm ever maintains au 
enviable reputation [or dealing in the best qualities of stock, solid 
measure and the lowest market rates, and their unflagging enter- 
prise and honorable dealing have secured to Philadelphia a highly 
beneficial branch of wholesale trade, and they are worthy the sub- 
stantial trade that has attended their efforts. 

CONRAD B. DAY" & CO., Saddlery Hardware and Carriage 
Materials, No. 38 North Third Street.— The trade iu saddlery 
hardware and carriage materials of all kinds, has its oldest 
and one of its most reliable and leading exponents in the 
celebrated house of Messrs. Conrad B. Day & Co. The business was 
founded in lS4Sby Mr. W. P. Wilstach, who was succeeded in 1855 
by Messrs. W. P. Wilstach & Co., and iu 1867 by Messrs. Scott & 
Day. It was in 1877 that Sir. Day succeeded to the sole control of 
the business under the existing name and style. Since the incep- 
tion of the business to the present the house has always had its 
headquarters on Third Street, and where it early became justly 
celebrated for the superior characterof all goods handled. Mr. 
Day brings to the business special qualifications, including vast 
practical experience, perfected facilities and influential connec- 
tions. Their warehouse and salesrooms occupy a five-story build- 
ing 25x165 feet in size with basement, and is finely fitted up and 
arranged, and affording a complete and comprehensive display of 
all fine goods in this line. An immense and A 1 stock is constantly 
carried, comprising a general line of all articles, which are used in 
the building of carriages, including axles, springs, bolts, washers, 
patent leather, cloth, rubber and enameled drills, and every thing 
comprehended under the head of carriage materials. They have 
relations abroad which enable them to import the finest lines of 
saddlery hardware, besides with home manufacturers which is 
adapted to the special wants ot the best classes of American trade, 
and constantly keep in stock everything in the shape of saddlery 
hardware and all kinds of metal goods used iu the manufacture of 
either carriages or harness. They also keep a generalliue or horse 
clothing and lap robes of every description, besides combs, brushes 
and all the requisites of a horse. This is one of the largest houses 
of the kind in Pennsylvania, and their trade reaches to every part 
of the United States, six travelers representing the house upon the 
road. The firm's name has become a veritable trade mark for all 
goods leaving the establishment, and secures to Philadelphia a 
most valuable factor of mercantile activity. Mr. Day is a native of 
this city, and has long been identified with the city's leading busi- 
ness circles, and is highly esteemed as one of her able and honor- 
able business men. 

WM. LAYCOCK, Real Estate and Insurance, No. 914 Walnut 
Street.— Among the multiplied in tercets of Philadelphia, 
none mi pass those of real estate. The business is ably 
conducted by men of enterprise, integrity anil ability 
and operations on a large scale are continually going on. Among 
those prominently identified with the business is Mr. Win. Layeock, 
who has hail considerable experience iu the purchase, sale and ex- 
change of property, and is probably the youngest representative of 
the fraternity of real estate and insurance agents. lie is a native 
Pliiladelphi.m, eighteen years of age, and brings to bear upon the 
business a comprehensive knowledge of all the details pertaining 
to it. He has been located at No. 911 Walnut Street the past year, 
and is rapidly building up a good substantial connection with 
capitalists and property owners. His particular attention is 
devoted to all branches of the real estate business and also negoti- 
ating loans on mortgages and renting houses and lands and col- 
lecting rents ami buying and selling and exchanging property on 
order. Mr. Layeock is especially interested in property in the 
twenty-seventh ward and has to offer some very desirable building 
lots in splendid locations at fair reasonable prices on easy methods 
of time payments. This section of the city is rapidly growing and 
investments made now will prove very valuable iu a few years. 
In his business transactions he is very prompt, correct and reli- 
able, and the most implicit confidence can be pla I in him. He 

also effects insurance in any of the old stanch, strong companies 
at the lowest rates of premiums. 



Nos. 1104 and 1106 Chestnut Street, Scribner & Sulzer, Pro- , 
prietors. — This is abranch establishment founded in Octo- 
ber, 1887, of the famous Dr. Jaeger's Sanitary Woolen 
System Compauy, who-.,; headqu irters are situated at Sos. 827-829, 
Broadway, New York. The Philadelphia store, which is under the 
able and energetic management of Messrs. Scribner & Sulzer, is 
located at No. 1104 and 1106 Chestnut Street. Dr. Jaeger's sanitary 
woolen system, includes all articles worn by men. women and chil- 
dren and quite appropriately Introduces to the American public 
many articles, new and foreign to our use, but entirely essential 
to perfect comfort and health. Dr. Jaeger's sanatory woolen 
clothing has had marked success in Germany ami England, and 
other foreign countries (where leading members of the medical 
profession have testified to its value), and its introduction into 

this country, where the climate is so liable to sudden and extreme 
changes of temperature, may well be hailed as a public benefac- 
tion. The system needs only to be tried to ensure its hearty and 
general adoption. All articles are manufactured of the fine-it and 
purest sheep's or camel-hair wool, without any admixture of linen or 
cotton, or trace of noxious dyes. The great prevalence of the prae 
tice of adulterating woolen fabrics with cotton, and the free use ol 
injurious dyes, make this a most important consideration. To 
he ilthj persons the timely adoption of Dr. Jaeger's sanatory woolen 

cl.ti.iii;; will prove an excellent defe 1 against bodily disorders 

from climatic and other influences; while its use will be attended 

with -t beneficial results to those whose constitutions are not 

robust, oi those whose health is impaired— especially to sufferers 
from asthma and other pulmonary complaints, affections of the 
chest, gout, rheumal in, d >i,l»-rs of the digestive organs, etc. 
The sanitary woolen -> srt-m acts on such diseases by assisting the 

efforts or the skin to expel the rbid humors, ft may he well to 

declare explicitly that the sanatory clothing and bedding of the 

Dr. Jaeger system, do not consist of medicated fabrics, but that 
their sanatory efficacy is due to properties Inherent in m- <• • ■ i > 
fibre of the material, and to special modes of construction, and 
are therefor.-, as durable as the fabric itself. Their trade marl; Is 
tie- sole guarantee ol manufacture under Dr. Jaeger's authority. 
In appearance and feeling Dr. .1 i tlr'cs m,- very similar to 

spun silk, and it may be justly declared that no garments hitherto 
made are 50 agreeable and. comfortable to the wearer. They are 
perfectly sort, mad.- of the finest wool in the world, and will not 
irritate the most delicate skin, while at the same time the folds 
adapt themselves to the body in a graceful 111 inner. Dr. Jaeger's 
clothing may be worn through the heat of summer with the great- 
est, comfort, and in colder weather they maintain as much warmth, 
as the ordinary heavier flannel garments. All kinds of shirts, night 
dresses, chemises, drawers, combination garments of shirts or 
chemises for both sexes are manufactured from 
Dr. Jaeger's unrivalled stockinet. This splen- 
did stockinet material i^ also for sale by the 
yard. In the bedding department are found 
the following articles; vi?.. camel's hair pil- 
lows, blankets, comfortables, sleeping sa. ks. 
mattresses, pillow cases and sheets. The 
camel's hair pillows are rilled with pure 
camel's hair, and are covered with a thick, 
soft woven material of the same. The sheets 
and pillowcases are made of the finest durable 
white cashmere and will not shrink In wash- 
ing. The blankets and bed coverings are 
made of the finest quality of undyed natural 
brown camel's hair or Australian she- p . 
wool. Dr. Jaeger states: " The advantage 
of the natural-brown coverlets consists in 
their freedom from all artificial dye; this I 
personally guarantee. They therefore attract 
less dirt and evil odors, and secure a more 
undisturbed sleep. The blankets and pillows 
of camel-hair wool retain the peculiar odor 
which proceeds from the camel, and which is 
an excellent remedy (long known In the East) 
for soothing the nerves; consequently the 
sleep which these articles induce is still more 
quiet and refreshing. than in the case of the 
coverlets of sheep's wool. Camel hair wool 
blankets are especially to be recommended to 
nervous persons and sufferers from sleepless- 
ness." These blankets and lap robes may 
therefore be considered indispensable to all 
who adopt the sanitary woolen system of Dr. 
G. Jaeger, and they will be found of the 
greatest use to travelers (protecting against 
damp and unclean beds) and sportsmen, as 
well as for driving and for carriage rugs. 
Tourists are particularly recommended to use 
Dr. Jaeger's sanatory boots and shoes, as ou 
long walkingexcursions.the feet remain longer 
fresh and capable of exertion. Dr. Jaeg- 
er's miscellaneous articles comprise among 
others, socks and stockings, ladies' corsets a ml corsetcovers, ladies' 
petticoats, ladies' dressing robes, camel's hair shawls, men's smok- 
ing jackets, knitted garment--, lawn tennis shirrs, children's stock- 
inet night dresses, white woolen handkerchiefs, white woolen col- 
lars, natural brown laces, tyrolese belts forcorpulent p - 
penders, belt bandages for stomach disordei 5, pure camel's hair 
wadding, cyclists' stocking,, ladies' dress goods, and camel hair 
suiting, gentlemen's suitings, trowsering, overcoating, etc. All 
goods manufactured by the Dr. Jaeger's Sanitary Woolen System 
Co. are made with the greatest care, and arc absolutely unrivalled 
for quality, finish, reliability and uniform excellence.while theprice 
quoted in all cases are extremely just and moderate. Persous who 

have once bad the satisfacti if wearing Dr. J 1 natory 

specialties, will in the future have no others. Careful attention 
is given by the firm to orders by mail, and correspou 1 mts can 
always rely upon being as well served through then mail ord r 
department, as they would be, il they personally mad" their own 
selections at the stoic. 



CE. WARNER & CO., Wholesale Commission Merchants in 
Fish. Lobsters, Terrapin, Game, Etc., Nos. 22, 23, 32, 33, 3.?, 
39, 4S and 49 Dock Stieet Wharf.— The mention of the name 
of C. E. Warner & Co., the wholesale commission mer- 
chants in fish, carries with it a prestige and confidence enjoyed in 
a greater degree by none in the city, and is proof positive that the 
liberal and just policy exercised in the management of the busi- 
ness carried on by the firm is such as to give the co-partneis Mr. 
C. E. Warner and Mr. P. F. Jam) a wide popularity alike with con- 
signors and dealers. The business which was originally estab- 
lished in 1867 by Mr. Warner and who was joined by Mr. Jann in 
18S1 has always been successful and prosperous and is steadily 
growing and expanding. The premises occupied on Dock Street 
Wharf are very spacious and commodious and are numbered from 
22 to 49 and in every particular are thoroughly and well equipped 
and fitted up with every convenience for supplying the large trade 
and receiving consignments which come in daily and consists of 
fish of all kinds when in season from the ocean, lakes, river and bays 
and .also lobsters and diamond back and other terrapin and game 
from the Chesapeake and other sections. Competent assistants are 
employed, and orders are filled and promptly delivered without 
delay. The reputation of the firm is of the highest character and 
as everything handled and dealt in is of the best qualityandpriees 
satisfactory, business is lively and brisk and nourishing. Mr. 
Warner who is a native of Massachusetts, a resident of Camden, N. 
J., is well and favorably known in business and financial circles 
in this city. Mr. Jann is a young man and a Philadelphia!! by 
birth and is also well known in the trade having an experience of 
over twenty years in this line. The firm is one of the most stanch 
aud reliable in the city in the fish business and is highly endorsed 
and recommended by all having dealings with it. 

RIGGS & CO., Business aud Financial Brokers, No. 703 Walnut 
Street.— There are at all times people seeking to in- 
vest capital in such a manner as to insure to them the 
utmost element of safety combined with a reasonable 
rate of income. The field for daring and hazardous ventures 
always exhibits a restless throng making haste to be rich: while 
the field of legitimate investment is a less crowded one but, be- 
yond any question, one in which more satisfying harvests are 
seasonably secured. The conservative investor, buying neither an 
option nor a chance, but legitimately placing his money where all 
human probabilities and safeguards are on his side, is possibly a 
less prominent, but certainly amore profitable, member financially 
of the great body politic. Among those gentlemen in Philadelphia 
who make the wants of the conservative investor their constant 
study, and whose reputation for affording accurate information 
and for possessing that intelligence and thorough integrity which 
conduce to success, the name of J. B. Riggs stands second to none. 
This gentleman, doing business at No. 703 Walnut Street, as Riggs 
& Co., has been prominent in financial circles since 1S72. The title 
of his occupation, business and finaucial broker, is one easily 
assumed, but to attain the eminence which entitles one to meri- 
toi iously possess it, and that to a degree that shall be attested by 
satisfaction given to longstanding customers, means years of 
patient application and conscientious care. Mr. Riggs makes a 
specialty of the purchase and sale of legitimate business of all 
kinds, the negotiation of partnerships, the procurement of special 
capital, the sale of stocks and bonds of first-class manufacturing 
and mineral corporations, and he also acts as trustee and trans- 
fer agent. He is prepared to transact business in all parts of the 
United States aud Canadas, and enjoys a liberal and substantial 
patronage both at home ami in distant sections of the country. 
No more careful, well-posted ami reliable broker can be found 
than Mr. Riggs. If safety and not hazard, prudence and not reck- 
lessness, fair income and not greedy gain, legitimate properties 
and nut wildcat schemes are desired by an investor, let them eon- 
suit Kiggs & Co. Mr. Riggs is in the prime of life, and known and 
honored in commercial and financial circles for his business ability 
ami sterling worth. 

EHTEFIF.LD MILLS, of Neuhuryport. Mass. Represented 
by George M. Fleming, No. 35Strawberry Street.— The de- 
termination of the American people to vie with the older 
countries in ruts, science aud manufactures, and all the 

operations (if trade, is now recognized as a national characteris- 
tic. In any specialty to which investigation is addressed, the truth 
of this statement will be found to be fully borne out by the perse- 
verance and courage of her manufacturers. This is illustrated by 
our products in cotton yarns, as shown by a visit to the headquar- 
ters in this line conducted by Mr. George M. Fleming, at No. 35 
Strawberry Stieet. in this city. This gentleman is a well-known 
manufacturers' agent and general dealer in yarns, with an exper- 
ience of twenty years in the business, and established his present 
enterprise here in 1879. Ue occupies a Hue three-story building, 
25x100 feet in dimensions, ami, with his widespread and influen- 
tial connections with the best manufacturing sources, coupled 
with his foundation understanding of all the wants and require- 
mets of the trade, he is prepared to conduct all operations under 
the most favorable auspices, and to grant his patrons every advan- 
tage known to the trade. Mr. Fleming is especially prominent 
and popular in trade circles as the representative of the Wliite- 
ficld Mills, manufacturers of cotton yarns, at Newburyport, Mass. 
These mills make a specialty of soft-twisted, high grade hosiery- 
yarns, in numbers from i's to 20's, in 8-inch caps, skeins or on 
cones ; also warp yarn on beams, spools or in long or short skeins, 
of worsted and yarns, and handles cotton and woolen yarns in 
general for manufacturing purposes, in which he supplies an 
extensive and influential demand throughout the entire United 
States. Mr. Fleming isanative of this city, of excellent status in 
business and social circles, and his large and growing trade, in 
connection with the recognized superiority of the goods lie han- 
dles, forms the best possible guarantee of his continued success 
and permanent prosperity. 

COMPANY, Atwood Smith, Agent, Nos. 331-337 Walnut stieet 
— One of the largest, wealthiest and most popular tire insur- 
ance companies in the world is the Liverpool aud London 
and Globe, of Liverpool, England. The agent of this great corpo- 
ration in Philadelphia and vicinity is Mr. Atwood Smith, who suc- 
ceeded his father, Richards. Smith, and has been agent u f the 
company since 1S61. He occupies spacious and elegant office 
quarters on the ground floor of the company's own building, 
erected in 1885 at Nos. 331 to 337 Walnut Street. This company was 
established in 1836, as the Liverpool Insurance Company. By thr 
marked success experienced in London, it was deemed desirable 
in 1S4S to change the title of the company, and it accordingly 
became the Liverpool and London Insurance Company, and. on 
the acquisition of the business of the Globe Insurance Company in 
1864, the title was further changed to the Liverpool and London 
aud Globe Insurance Company. In the year 184S an agency was 
established in New Yoik. and a year later in Philadelphia. Step 
by step the business of the company has extended to every state 
in the Union. The wise and prudent policy of the management has 
been continually demonstrated, and in no way so forcibly as in its 
accumulation of capital in the form of a reserve fund. From sur- 
plus income, reserves were early created, not only affording pro- 
tection against ordinary loss, but also from those extensive and 
destructive conflagrations which occur from time to time. The 
year 1871 accordingly found this company thoroughly prepared to 
meet its engagements. By the disastrous fire at Chicago in that 
year, the Liverpool and London and Globe suffered a loss of 
$3,239,091, and by the Bo-ton lire the following year it satisfied 
claims to the extent of $1,427,290. Its entire history has been 
marked by a course of conservative enterprise am! honorable 
management that has not only brought it an immense business, 
but has made for it a, name that inspires confidence in its patrons 
and the general public. In short, as an illustration of the higher 
grade of fire insurance, the Liverpool and Loudon and Globe 
stands without a peer. The assets of the United States blanch of 
the company on January 1st. 1889, were $(>,9o3, 5 S11.91 : its surplus 
was -". 000.527.28; net lire pi end urns in 1888, $3,928,010. The amount 
paid in satisfaction of fire losses in the United States in the course 
of forty-one years is $14,316,329.16. Mr. Smith, the agent in tin's 
city, is a native Philadelphia!), and still in the active prime of 
life, and, it is almost needless to say. he is doing a flourish- 
ing business tor this giant corporation, as its policies aie much 
sought for by our largest property holders ami prominent busi- 
ness men. 



THOMAS POTTER, su.vs & CO, Manufacturers of Oil Clotli, 
No.S.J Arch Street : New York Establishment, No. 35 Thomas 
Street.— The leading manufacturers of floor, table and car- 
riage oil cloths in the United states are M.-s,is. Th,.-. put- 
ter, Son* & Co., of Nn 522 Arch Street, and who are directly 
represented In every large city of the Union. The industry Is one of 
the oldest established and must impoi Cant in the city, ha\ ing been 
rounded In 1817 by Mi-. Isaac MacCaulley and in 1837 Mr. Thomas 
rotter. They early achieved the must enviableof reputations 
for their product as being the best on tne market and it has ever 
since sustained this flattering and well deserve,! distinction. In 
lsTn, the present firm name was adopted ; Mr. Thomas Potter, Jr.. 
Mr. William rotter. Mr. Henry A. Fotter, Mr. Charles A. Potter 
ami Mr. James F. Hope forming the co-partnership. The den- , -,,- 
of Mr. Thomas Potter occurred in 1S7S after a long, honored and 
useful career. Tim firm brings to bear every possible qualification 
for the successful prosecution of its branch of industry, including 
vast practical experience, perfected facilities ami influential con- 
nections. Their manufactory is located on Second Street and 
Erie Avenue, and is an immense and substantial structure, equip- 
ped in the most elaborate manner with improved machinery and 
appliances, affording employment to upwards of -150 skilled hands. 
The most thorough system of organization is enforced, and the 
works are the model of their kind, in every respect a thorough em- 
bodiment of the best methods and most improved processes. 
Quality has ever been the tirst consideration with this honorable 
old house. It uses only the best of raw materials, and employs the 
highest talent in the designing of the beautiful and artistic pat- 
terns and shades for which its product is so justly celebrated. The 
firm's office ami warehouse are centrally located at No. o'J'J Arch 
Street, a five-story building, 31.6x200 feet in dimensions, and hand- 
somely equipped throughout with the latest improvements. Here 
is carried the largest and most comprehensive stock of oil cloths 
for floor, table and carriage coverings in the United States, and 
from which the leading jobbers am! dealers of this city and the 
middle states obtain their supplies. Both as to pi ices and quality, 
the firm offer substantial inducements which cannot be duplicated 
elsewhere. With characteristic enterprise Hie firm has extended 
its branches to every great centre of trade in the United States. 
Tie- New York warehouse i> located at No. 3-" Thomas Street. Mr. 
H. A. Potter represents the concern in New York, and resides at 
Orange, N. J. The firm are represented in Chicago by Mr. C. W. 
Hall; by Mr. Win. J. Hull, in Baltimore, at No. 5 Hanover Street; by 
Messrs. K. McKay Jones A Co., in St. Louis, at No. 618 Locust Street; 
by Mr. F. A. Howe, in Boston, at No. 56 Bedford Street: by Messrs. 
Pollock A Co.. in Cincinnati, at No. ">2 .Main Street; by Messrs. H. 
B. F.d wards & Co.. in New Orleans, at No. IT Decatur Street; by 
Messrs. Ktiauth & Co., in the cities of Hambui g, Berlin and Leip- 
zig. Germany ; by Mr. H.S.Chipman in the Australian Colonies, and 
likewise directly in China, and in fact in ever) civilized section of 
the world. Tie- Messrs. Potter are all natives ,.[ Philadelphia and 
nmie of her sons have rendered more material service to the 
advancement of her commerce ami industries. They are popular 
and puli' 1 - sph it d citizens. Mr. Thomas Potter, (2nd), is promi- 
nent in public life, and is the assistant quartermai tei general of 
Pennsylvania, on the staff of Governor Beaver and has the regi- 
mental rank of lieutenant colonel. Mr. Henry A.Potter is very 
widely and favorably known in New Jersey republican circles, 
and faitli fully served as a member of the legislature of that state. 
He was one of the official electoral delcgat ; chosen on be] 
President II irrisi n and Vice President Morton, and Is one of New 
Jersey's leading representative men. The co-partners are n en of 
large means interested in various corporations, and Mr. William 
Puffer is a director of theCitj National Bank of which Mr. Thomas 

Patter was president up to the ti of his deceasi and under 

whose able, eonservati vi guidance the bank was uniformly pros- 
perous. Mr. Wm. Potter Is an ex-director of the Investmeiu i m 
pany of Philadelphia, formerly a member of r lie executive com- 
mit eeof one hundred, ami acting trustee of the Thomas Putter 
estate. Mr. Chas, A. Potter, though yuan- in years, i- reported to 
be one of the most skilled manufacturers of this city. Mr. Hope is 
a native of Scotland, resident in Philadelphia for forty years past, 
and a worthy and able business man. universally respe I 
recognized authority on all -lei dls of oil cloth manufacture. The 
firm is tie- leading representative in its line in America, and a 

sterling exponent of those principles and methods, which alone 
form the basis for enduring prosperity and usefulness. 

RT. LORK & SON, Planters and Wholesale Dealers in Fresh 
and Salt Oysters, Office Nos. and 11. Pier 17, South Dela 
M ware Avenue.— An old established ami representative 
house engaged in the planting, shipping *nd 
trade in fresh ami salt oystei s is that of the widely known house 
of Messrs. R. T. Lore & Son, whose offices are eligibly located at 
Nos. 9 and 11, Pier 17. South Delaware Avenue. This bush.. 
established in 1S67 by Mr. R. T. Lore under Whose successful and 
honorable management the house early gained an enviable repu- 
tation for t lie excellence of its product, which attracted a large 
patronage from every portion of the country till now it is at once 
large, permanent ami prosperous and reaches to every portion of 
the I'nited States. In 1374 Mr. Lore admitted his son. Mr. Wm. 
Lore, to partnership, who combined his fine business talents to- 
thoseof his father, who. aided with ripe experience in foiniing a 
firm of commanding strength in the oyster trade of Philadelphia 
as planters and wholesale dealers in these popular and healthful 
bivalves. The firm aim to produce the finest-flavored and choicest 
stock on the market by selecting their seed with judgment and 
care from superior oysters only, the firm being expert judges of 
shell -fish in their different grades of excellence. They have five- 
large plants at Maurice River Cove, their facilities for handling, 
shipping and packing of oysters being unexcelled, eight boats- 
being used, and from thirty to thirty-five hands are constantly- 
employed. The product of this house is recognized as the stand- 
ard goods on the market, and are in demand by dealers every- 
where as being the most salable of any handled, always being 
reliable for freshness and uniform quality. An immense whole- 
sale trade is ministered to and all orders from any part of the- 
country receive prompt and careful attention, the prices at a! 
times being safe from successful competition. Mr. Lore anil 
his sou are both natives of Camden, N. J., where they still reside. 
In all their transactions Messrs. Lore & Son will be found prompt, 
liberal and enterprising, always solicitous for the benefit of patrons- 
and pleasant gentlemen with whom to deal 

REUBEN HARPER & CO., Manufacturers of Heaters and 
Ranges, Etc., No. 201 Duponceau Street, Rear of No BIS 
Walnut Street.— This is undoubtedly an age of prugi 
and each year witnesses fresh triumphs In the Held of In- 
vention. Perfection is rapidly approaching in every artich of man- 
ufacture.and nowhere Ls this more clearly to be seen than in the pro- 
duction of ranges and in heaters for the warming of public build- 
ings, private dwellings, offices, stores, etc. Mr. Reuben Harper 1ms 
been a diligent and successful laborerin this field of enterprise, and 
by an improved mode of beating and ventilating (which he has pat- 
ented,) troublesome heaters are now made to work like a charm. 
Messis. Harper& Co. are manufacturers of heaters and ranges, and 
by the application of his improvement the cold air is drawn from 
the floor and carried np thesmoke flue. It also furnishes the means 
of regulating the fire without the necessity of opening the door, 
j saving the heat, which would otherwise be driven Into the 
gas flue. It saves trouble, saves coal and furnishes a regular heat 
at any desired temperature. With this system in use, anybody can 
easily regulate from the first flour the temperature of the entire 
house, there being no necessity to go into the cellar and attend to 
the heater as that is always kept closed. The improvem. nl can be 
applied at small expense to any heater, and it is specially adapted 
for churches and public buildings. Mr.Harperb. ucsson 

Race Street, and in 1867 removed to No. 201 Du] :eau Street, rear 

of No. 818 Walnut Street, where he occupies a tine, -story buildiu - 
which is fully equipped with steam power and the best me- 
chanical appliances known to the trade, li- lit to twelve 
workmen are employed in making 1! trper'sWrotlghtlron Portable 
Cold Case Dunn Heaters, designed to take the place of brli t heat- 
ers; also in making and repairing refrigerators, and in exec 
all kinds of sheet iron, r>n, zinc and copper work. All kinds ,.f hot 
air work for buildings are given prompt and prucl Hon, 
ami the trade of the house extend throughout the middle states. 
Messrs. Harper & Co. form one of Philadelphia's most useful 
and are well known throughout the trade as upright, hou 
business men. 



HAKRI.30N ALBRIGHT, Architect, No. 50S Walnut Street — 
With the increase of population, refinement and wealth in 
the principal centres of the United States, lias arisen a 
growing demand for the Mending of the artistic and the 
beautiful with the utilitarian in modern architecture. The result 
lias been extremely gratifying to the advocates of progress in this 
most vitally important profession. Among those who have ac- 
quired a wide reputation for his great skill and aitistie conceptions 
as an architect in tins city is Mr. Harrison Albright, who occupies 
spacious and eligible office quarters at No. 508 Walnut Street. Mr. 
Albright is a native Philadelphian, and eailyin life acquired a 
thorough practical as well as theoretical knowledge of the science 
of architecture. He opened bis present office here in April, 1SS7, 

manufacturer, Mr. Greaves is a large dealer in new and second- 
hand machinery, belting, pulleys, shafting, etc. He makes a spe- 
cialty of all kinds of woolen knitting machinery, cotton machin- 
ery, etc., aud in this line does a large trade. Mr. Greaves estab- 
lished the business thirty-one years ago. In 1S71 he erected the 
present buildi ;, three stories of which, (the second, third and 
fourth,) are occupied by the business. The dimensions of each 
floor are 20x60 feet. A very large stock is carried, Mr. Greaves' 
establishment being a recognized headquarters for goods of the 
kind. Mr. Greaves is a native of England, and has been a resi- 
dent of Philadelphia thirty-six years. He is one of the city's fore- 
most business men. and is highly esteemed in mercantile circles. 
The first circular frame for the manufacture of hosiery, etc., was 

made by Mr. Chris. Leman 
in 18.58. In 1859 Mr. 
Greaves built a factory 
in the nineteenth ward, 
having the first frames 
worked with power for 
the manufacture of hos- 
iery, etc. Messrs. Arthur 
and William Kitson, now 
the most prominent men 
in that line, were at that 
period in Mr. Greaves' 




■where he enjoys every modern facility for designing 
■draughting, making computations, etc.. and gives em- 
ployment to a corps of talented assistants. He attends 
faithfully to details, his plans are well digested and 
studied, and his architectural efforts have tended 
greatly to beautify the urban characteristics of this 
city and state. Among the many specimens of his skill 
and ability as an architect which are easily pointed out. may be 
mentioned the handsome Police. Fire and Patrol houses at Twen- 
tieth Street and Long Lane, Phila.; the residence and farm build- 
ings of W. Frederick Snyder. Esq.. at Chelten Hills: a series of 
seven houses and Melrose Hall for Mr.T. Henry Asbury. president 
of the Fnterprise Manufacturing Co. of Pa., at Oak Lane; the 
residences of Prof. Francis P,. Cummers, and Coleman L. Nichol- 
son, at Haverforrt College; the residence of Win. A. Briscoe, aud 
a stable and residence for Mr. Samuel E. Landis, at Ashbourne; 
the residence of Samuel R. McDowell, at F.lin ; the residence of L. 
M. Mussing, at Ambler; and the residences of C'lias. B. Slioemaker 
and Sumner G. Brosius, at Lansdowne, all in this state. Mr, 
Albright is constantly engaged in planning and supervising the 
•erection of the most advanced classes of public and private 
■buildings, ami is prepared to execute all commissions not only 
promptly, but with that intelligent apprehension of design which 
has < rved to make his efforts so highly appreciated. Mr. Albright 
is recognized as a young man of marked professional attainments 
and great promise. 

CHARLES GREAVES, Dealer in New and Second-Hand 
Machinery, No. 109 North Front Street— One of Philadel- 
phia's most extensive manufacturing enterprises, and one 
which has achieved a much more than local reputation, is 
that of Mr. Charles Greaves, of No. 100 North Front Street. Mr. 
■Greaves is a general dealer and manufacturer of woolen and cot- 
ton yarns, and his factory at Manayunk.Pa , gives constantemploy- 
ment to from ten to fifteen persons. The goods manufactured by 
the house have won a deservedly high reputation, and Mr. Greaves' 
trade extends throughout the middle and eastern states, and is 
steadily growing in volume. In addition to his business as a yarn 


CO., Manufac- 
of Sewing Ma- 
and Dealers in 
Sew'uig Machine Supplies, 
Shafting, Steam Power At- 
tachments, Oil, Belting. 
Etc., E. M. Cooper, Agent, 
Few will dispute the right 
of the sewing machine to 
be placed on a level with 
its powerful rivals of the 
nineteenth century— the 
steam engine and tele- 
graph. The inventor of the sewing machine has added countless 
hours to woman's leisure for rest and refinement, and has brought 
many comforts within the reach of all which once were enjoyed 
only by the wealthy. For nearly forty years, the Wheeler A Wilson 
Manufacturing Company have taken an active and important 
part in the development of the art of sewing by machinery. It has 
constantly striven for the accomplishment of such improvements, 
based on the rotary principle, which it has always adhered to in 
the inteilooping mechanism as would enable it permanently to 
maintain its position of superiority in the production of sewing 
machinery, not only for use in the household, but for all grades of 
manufacturing, whether in fabrics or leather. Those who wish a 
sewing machine embodying all the best results of inventive skill, 
and constructed to do the best of service for a lifetime, should 
not fail to examine this reliable company's productions. The 
salesrooms of this company in Philadelphia are eligibly located at 
No. 1312 Chestnut Street, and are under the experienced manage- 
ment of Mr. E. M. Cooper, who opened them ten years ago, and 
has the agency of the company in the states of Pennsylvania, 
New Jersey, Delaware. Virginia, West Virginia and Ohio. The 
premises occupied here comprise an entire four-story and basement 
building, 25xlt» feet in dimensions, giving ample accommodation 
for supplying the most extensive demands at both wholesale and 
retail. This house is prepared to supply and fit out factories 
with everything required to operate these machines by steam 
power, and deals extensively in sewing machine supplies, shaft- 
ing, steam power attachments, oil, belting, etc. Mr. Cooper is a 
native of New York, thoroughly experienced in t lie sewing machine 
trade, and a reliable, popular and worthy representative of this 
giant corporation and ill securing his services the company have a 
man whom it would be hard to replace. 




HAS. W. CI akk & SON, Manufacturers of Window Shade 
cloth ami Window Shade}, No. 013 Market Street. Another of 
the old established and thoroughly representative hou esof 

Philadelphia, which strictly on the merits ol their goods and 


* Win so w^s h ad e & 






In 1 ?! 


- ;riVTri-~5r<-* .tp 

Hi m% 



i in ■ -t ' / vV&? i'- " ; ~ 

g£3(l iitftBlr" 

most solid coucern in Pennsylvania, and stands second to 
either in New l'ork or throughout the country at large. The busi- 
ness was established about loyi lis ago, by Mr. Charles W. Clark. 
He early achieved an enviable reputation for the superiority of his. 

goods, and the trade continued to- 

steadily enlarge, i.. ex- 

tended facilities. In 1883, his son, Mr. 
Win. Shade Clark, was admitted into 
co-partnership under the name and 
style of Chas. W. Clark i Son. He is 
a popular young business man, and is 
master of every detail ot the trade. 
The concern has always bei n located 
in this section of the city, and lor 25 
years was at Sixth and Chestnut 
Streets, since 1887 being in its present 
spacious premises No. 613 Market 
Street. It is four stories and base- 
ment in height, 25 by 160 feet in dimen- 
sions, and is thoroughly equipped for 
the business. The first floor is de- 
voted to the firm's office and sales- 
room, while the rest of the building 
is set apart for decorating shad* 
A large force of skilled hands are 
also employed in the production of 
shade cloth at their factory, So. 62S 
North Fifth Street.' This cloth is 
used for their beautiful and original 
patterns of fancy dado shades, and 
also sold to dealers for cutting into- 
Shades. Their ", 
and the popular "B" dead finish 
he ill i n 4s .ire specialties with the firm. 
They also make extra heavy "A" 
Cambric shading, an article twice as 
durable as any other. These are 
goods that are in staple demand with 
the leading dealers .of Philadelphia 
and the United States. The firm are 
also leaders in the trade of the coun- 
try at large, in plain and fancy win- 
dow shades, mounted on spring fix- 
tures. Fringes and upholsterers' 
hardware are specialties with this 
firm, and substantial inducements 
are offered in prices. The firm is 
responsible and honorable, noted for 
its enterprise and energy, and for 
the sound judgment and ability, 
which ever maintains it in the van of 
progress in its line. The senior part- 
ner, Mr. Chas. W. Clark, has had 
forty-s< veu years experience in bu -c 
ness. He is still active, and a very 
genial man, greatly respected bj thl 
entire trade, who pleasantly call him 
the "Father" or "Nestor," of the 
" window shade trade." In ordering 
from this house, you are certain to 
get best goods at lowest price u.,1 
prompt attention to your orders. 
When the salesmen of this firm calls 
do not fail to look at their samples. 


W m k 



■ 233 14] Wi'li '///a 

- - - 

/ -/' 





•orable policy, maintain the lead in their branch of trade is that of 

' s.Charles W. Clark & Son, the nationally celebrated maim- 

. i's of window si. ..ile materials, and fixtures of all d ii ,- 

'ikewis i phol tercrs' hardware. This is the eldest and 

Estate Agent, No.. ST> Walnut 
Street.— This business was 
established sixty years .- 
by David Ellis, the present proprietor 
succeeding in 1880. Mr. Ellis devotes 
special attention to the entire care of rial estate an ' i 
rents. In this line ol I ' : ate* which have 

' in the care ol the family for over sixty years. Inthci 
of valuation or division and partition he is a recogni; i d authority. 



GEORGE E. BARTOL, Co., (Limited,! Importers, Exporters and 
General Commission Merchants, No. 139 South Front Street. 
—It seems within reason to believe that a house with an 
experience of over thirty years must have facilitiesand con- 
nections, and be in a position to offer inducements, unknown to 
firms of later date. Certainly, they have the time and opportunity 
to become familiar with the best sources of supply, learn the wishes 
an 1 requirements of their patrons, and cany the precise class of 
goods necessary for their trade. Of sucli establishments in this 
city, that of George E. Bartol Co.. (Limited) at No. 139 South Front 
Stieet, is an eminent representative. As importers and general 
commission merchants, tins house has long held a foremost position 
in its line of trade. The business was founded in 18.57, by Mr. B. H. 
Bartol, as a sugar merchant and refiner. At his death in 18S8, his 
sou, Mr. George E. Bartol. succeeded to tlie control, and the present 
company was incorporated, under the laws of the stateof Pennsyl- 
vania, with a capital of S10O.0OO, and with George E. Bartol, chair- 
man: George H. Rogers, treasurer. These gentlemen are both 
practical exponents of the sugar trade, and give their close per- 
sonal attention to this branch of the business. The company are 
lessees of the Grocers' Sugar Refining Company, agents for the 
Enterprise Sugar Company of this city, and are extensive manu- 
facturers of sugar, molasses and syrup, supplying jobbers and 
refiners in New York, Philadelphia and Boston to the full extent 
of their wants at short notice, and at terms and prices which few 
of their contemporaries in any part of the country can afford. 
They are also large exporters of grain to European ports, and their 
great resources and perfected facilities enable them to advance in 
the highest degree the interests of their patrons on both sides the 
water. The long experience of the management in Philadelphia 
commerce gives thein peculiar advantages for this branch of trade, 
while the high character of the officers is a sufficient guarantee 
that all transactions will be honorable and straight-forward. Mr. 
Bartol was born in this city, trained in the business from his youth 
up. and is a well-known member of the Commercial Exchange, and 
of excellent standing in financial and trade circles. Mr. Rogers is 
also a native Philadelphian, with this house since 1370, and deserv- 
edly popular with its host of patrons. 

GEORGE EVANS & CO., Manufacturers of Military, Band 
and Police Uniforms, No. 132 North Fifth Street.— A depart- 
ment of industry svhicli is possessed of much importance 
and which has been developed to a high standard of per- 
fection is that devoted to the production of military and civic uni- 
forms. The largest concern in this city engaged in this line, and 
one that has achieved marked distinction, is that of which George 
Evans & Co.. are the head, and which has its headquarters at No. 
132 North Fifth Street. The business of this house was founded in 
I860 by Mr. George Evans, and it has ever since been prosecuted 
by him under the present firm style. Mr. Evans is practically ac- 
quainted witli all the details of his vocation and being a business 
man of strong executive ability, he soon made his presence known 
in the business world, and won substantial recognition. His trade 
has gone on steadily increasing until now it extends to all [parts 
of the United States and Canada, ami also to South America and 
the M.-st Indies. The home of the industry is comprised in three 
spai !■ 'us floors admirably furnished, and employment is furnished 
some 100 to 150 hands. Mr. Evans personally directs the labors of 
his assistants and manufactures every variety of band, military, 
firemen's, police, and society uniforms, and executes a large 
amount of state militia and army work. Only the best materials 
are utilized in the manufacture and the goods turned out are unsur 
pas-ed for correct taste and fineness of finish, new and unique 
designs in braiding and ornamentation continually being brought 
out. Orders of any magnitude are always promptly met, and the 
best of service and satisfaction is guaranteed in every instance. 
Mr. Evans is very popularly known in business and social circles and 
lie enjoys the esteem of all with whom he has business relations. 

STEVENSON, BKO. S; CO., Oils, Paratline Wax and Manufac- 
turers' Specialties, No. 132 South Second Street.— An old 
established and widely known Philadelphia house exten- 
sively engaged in the- oil line is that of Stevenson, Ilro. & 
Co., whose salesrooms and office are located at No. 132 South 
Se< 1 Street, with capacious works at corner of Wharton and 

Thirty-Sixth Streets, and factory also at Norristown, Penna. 
They are refiners of and wholesale and retail dealers in al! kinds 
of oils; and also manufacturers of parafllne wax, lubricating 
compounds, petroleum products, etc., and have a large business, 
selling extensively to exporters. The firm are manufacturers of 
the justly famed Anti-Lamina, an article of exceptional merit 
for the purposes intended, viz., removing scales from steam 
boilers; also the "gold medal " lubricant and "valvine" cylinder 
oils, which have gained an enduring hold on popular favor every- 
where owing to their unequivocal excellence, while the produc- 
tions of the concern are in extensive and growing demand both for 
home and export trade. This flourishing enterprise was started in 
IhW) by J. H. Stevenson and six years later the firm ofStevenson, 
Bro.& Co., was organized, and under this style the business has 
since been conducted with uninterrupted prosperity, although 
several changes have taken pluee in the personnel. In 1S6.S Win. 
B. McMain, one of the members, was removed by death and the 
senior partner. H. C. Stevenson, retired in 1881, since which time 
James H. Stevenson has been sole proprietor. The combined 
capacity of the oil works averages 1,000 barrels per week, ami over 
twenty in help are employed. The premises occupied at No. 132 
South Second Street are commodious and well appointed, while a 
heavy stock is constantly carried on hand here, including besides 
oils and the preparations already mentioned, the following manu- 
facturers' specialties, cau axle and roll greases, steam packing of 
all kinds, leather and gum belting, crude and refined Japan wax, 
bees-wax, spermaceti, etc., etc.. and all orders for the trade are 
promptly and reliably filled, the business of the concern being 
almost entirely of a wholesale character. Mr. James H. Steven- 
son, who is a Philadelphian by birth, is a gentleman in the prime 
of life, and a man of standing in the community, well and favor- 
ably known in commer r :ial circles and in private life. 

^|T ASTERS, DETW1LER & CO., Manufacturers of Clothing. 
'§ No. 438 Market Street.— No industrial interest of the city of 
Philadelphia is of more importance than the manufacture 
of clothing. Among the old established and representa- 
tive houses actively engaged in this steadily growing trade, a 
prominent one is that of Messrs. Masters, Detwiler & Co., manu- 
facturers of men's, youths', boys' and children's clothing, whose 
office and salesrooms are located at No. 436 Market Street. This 
business was established forty years ago by Stilz & Mellick, who 
were succeeded by Mellick, Masters & Co. Eventually, in IS''!', the 
present firm of Messrs. Masters, Detwiler & Co., was organized, 
and assumed the management. The co-partners, Messrs. David 
Masteis, I. L. Detwiler and W. M. B. Ball, have had great expe- 
rience, and manifest excelleut judgment in the selection of all 
cloths and suitings entering their establishment, while at the same 
time they are always among the first to secure and make up all the 
new styles and textures of both domestic and foreign productions. 
They give close personal attention to all the details of the manu- 
facture of their goods, and employ, outside and inside their estab- 
lishment, seven hundred skilled operatives. The secret of their 
continued success lies in their just methods and the superiority of 
their clothing, which is always maintained at the highest standard, 
both as regards materials, cut, style, fit and workmanship, while 
the prices quoted are as low as those of any other contemporary 
first-class house in the trade. The premises occupied comprise a 
spacious five-story and basement building, 25x100 feet in dimen 
sions, fully equipped with every appliance and facility for the sys- 
tematic and successful conduct of this extensive business. A 
large stock of all grades of the firm's clothing is kept constantly 
on hand, and the trade Of the house extends throughout all sections 
of Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Delaware and Maryland. Seven 
traveling salesmen are constantly employed, and the trade of the 
house is strictly wholesale. Mr. Masters is a native of Columbia 
county, Pa.; Mr. Detwiler of Montgomery County, Pa., and Mr. 
Ballot Delaware County, Pa. Mr. Ball has resided in Philadelphia 
for tiie last fifty years, while his partners, Messrs. Masters and 
Detwiler, have lived in tie 1 Quaker City twenty and twenty-three 
years respectively. They are noted in business circles for their 
promptness, ability and integrity, and those who enter into rela- 
tions with them, can always rely upon securing advantages and 
inducements in goods and prices very difficult to be obtai" 
elsewhere in Philadelphia. 



PHIA; Corner Walnut and Fourth Streets. John J.Macfar- 
l.inr. Presidents Louis' E.Pfeiffer, Vice President; 

C.Wilson, Jr., Secretary and Treasurer. — The American 
Lib- Insurance Company, of Philadelphia, was Incorporated in 
L830 i>v a special act of the Legislature of Pennsylvania, and it 
has already returned upwards of 312,000,000 to the Insured. All 
policies now issued bj it are non-forfeitable, and Incontestable 
after one year, while the company makes no deduction on account 
of defei red premiums, and alter the first year places no restriction 
oji travel or residence. Everything that is possible to be done lias 
been accomplished for the advantage and conservation of the best 

in (••n— ts of policy holders. The American Life [us .nci Com 

pany is conservative in its management, economical in its expend- 
itures, treats all claimants with liberality and equity, and fur- 
nishes a policy at the lowest possible rate that is unexceptionable 
in its security. The following gentlemen, who are widely known 
and highly esteemed In business circles for their executive ability 
and just methods are the officers and trustees: John J. Macfar- 
lane, president; L. E. Pfelffer, vice president; Henry vv. Smith, 
actuary; George C. Wilson, Jr., secretary. Trustees: Job.nJ.3IaC- 
farlane, Louis E. Pteiffer, Isaac Hazlehurst, Charles Carver, Alex. 
G. Cattell, Chas. g. Robeson, Chas. T. Evans, Geo. H. Stuart, Jr., 
Walter E. Hex. Chas. W. Macfarlane, Jas. S. Dungan, Geo. W. 
Hall, John C. McNaughton. The company's building, southeast 
comer Fourth and Walnut Streets, will be ready for occupancy 
July, 1889. It is eight stories high, having a frontage of 50 feet on 
Walnut and 101 feet on Fourth streets. The materials used are 
Wyoming Valley Milestone for the fronts, wrought and cast iron, 
with steps of polished Georgia red marble for the staircase, and 
BDished in hard wood and plate glass. The building is lighted by 
gas and electricity of the best system, while two superior hydrau- 
lic elevators give easy access to all offices. The cost of the build- 
ing, which is practically tire proof, has been upwards of $400,000. 
The office accommodations compare favorably with those of any 
other first clas. office structure In Philadelphia, New York, or any 
other city. The following thirty-ninth annual statement for 'he 
year ending Dec. 31, 18S8, shows the affairs of the American Life 
Insurance Company, to be in a most substantial and flourishing 
condition: Assets, January 1, lsS9: mortgages upon real estate, 
$550,950; stocks and bonds, 5184,247.58 ; real estate. 8314,390.11; loans 
on collateral amply secured. $674,502.57; premium notessecured by 
policies, $180,342.47; net deferred and uncollected premiums, $7,- 
033.00: agents' ledger balances, Sll.09S.78 ; accrued interest to Janu- 
ary 1st. $25,954.92; cash on hand and in banks, 8178,749.15. Total 
assets, $2,077,208 67 Liabilities: reserve, American experience, 4% 
per cent. 31,410,729; death claims not yet due, $14,535; funds held in 
trust, £108,867,13 ; net premiums and interest paid in advance, etc., 
$2 110 82. Total liabilities,$l,536,241.95; surplus as to policy holders. 
$541,026.72. Total $2,077,265.67. Mr. John J. Macfarlane, the presi- 
dent, is an authority on life insurance, and is one of our public 
spirited and influential citizens. He is state senator, fourth dis- 
trict, Philadelphia. Mr. L. E Pteiffer, the vice pn sident, is presi- 
dent of the fiank of America. Mr. George C. Wilson, Jr., the sec- 
retary -and treasurer, is an energetic, honorable business man 
eminently qualified for the important trust reposed in him. The 
company's agents are reliable men, who will always give the fullest 
information of the standing and resources of the corporation, as 
also of the different forms of insurance it issues, while its officers 
and trustees h 111 have pleasure likewise in furnishing at all tunes 
any needed information to proposing insurers. 

ELLWOOD BECKER, Real Estate Broker, Conveyance) and 
Notary Public, Northwest Comer Fourth and Pine Streets.— 
One of the reliable and representative brokers ii real estate 
and insurance in this city is Mr. Ellwood Becker, whose 
office is eligibly situated at the northwest corner of Fourth and 

Pine Streets. He has been established in the business here sii 

1815, and is deservedly pi inent and popular as a real estate 

brok iveyan er, insurance hiok-1 and notary public. His 

facilities and conn ctions are alike unsurpassed, while he brings 

to bear that wide range of practical experience so essential to the 

best interests of the public at large. He is a recognized authority 

•on present and prospective values of city and suburban prop- 

ty, and intending investors can fully rely upon lus sound judg- 

ment and judicious advice In making purchase.. He always has 
upon ins books descriptions of the most eligible properties for 
investment purposes. The wide range of the same as regards 
location, size and price affording both the capital! I with ins sin 
plus resources, and the man of moderate means in ., M .ii ol a 
home, equal opportunities ti n securing Just « hat they most desire. 

Mr. Beckor buys, sells, leases and exchanges prop..- | ,n 

kinds, negotiates loans on bond and mortgage, collects rents, and 
takes entire chai • otestates. As an insurance broker, he 'Is pre- 
pared to promptly place the largest risks in reliable companies 
quoting the lowest rates ot premium, and guaranteeing a prompt 
and speedy adjustment of all losses. He enjoys a large first-class 
and influential patronage, which is annually increasing under 
enterprising and reliable management. Mr. Becker is anatlve 
Philadelphian, a director of the Real Estate Exchange, and a 
young man of high social ami business standing, who ha, won suc- 
cess by honestly deserving it. 

Daniel schklungf.k & SON, Manufacturing Jewelers, 
Diamonds. Watches, Jewelry, Precious stone., Etc \ > 703 
Cuestiut Street, (Third Floor).— The manufacturing jewelry 
trade, of the city has able and excellent exponents in the 
firm of Messrs. Daniel SchellingerS: Son, oi No.70n Chestnut si n—t. 
This house was founded many years ago by the senior member of 
the firm, who on January I, 1889, took Into partnershiphls son, Mr. 
Robert P. Schelllnger. From its inception the enterprise has been 
accorded a very libera! and substantial patronage, and the turn 
have acquired an enviable reputation, chiefly due to the excelli nt 
quality of goods produced in their manufactory. There will at all 
times be found at this establishment a full and complete ., o I 
meut of every description of fashionable jewelry In all the 1, ading 
and most popular styles, fine gold and silver watches of both for- 
eign and American manufacture, also diamond, mid ot!. , ;>r ,.. 
cious stones tastefully and beautifully set. The stock can ie,| by 
the firm is large and prices will compare favorably with th 
any other jewelry establishment in the city. The manufactui Ing 
department is admirably arranged and thoroughly equipped with 
all the necessary machinery and appliances. A number ol skilled 
_and. experienced artisans are employed, and all kinds ul ]■ welry 
-•articles are promptly and neatly made to order for the trade and 
the products for originality of design, beauty of finish and general 

excellence cannot be surpassed. The firm import di; , i , i 

other precious stones from Europe, and are fully prepare,! v.ith all 
necessary facilities to execute any kind of work in their line, not 
only promptly, but with that intelligent apprehension of design 
which makes their efforts so highly appreciated. Both members 
of the firm are natives of the city, and highly esteemed m l l 
and other circles. 

Corner of Chestnut and Second Streets.— Among the sub 
stautial and responsible financial corporations ol 
delphia, to which business men can a! I with 

confidence, is the Corn Exchange National Bank, which was 
chart. -icd in 1858, mid eventually in 1864 was I 
under the national banking laws. With a cash capital i • 
000. the surplus and undivided profits on April 15, 1883 
to $311,605 64, a fact which proves the soundness of its present con 
ditioii, as well as the ability ofits management. The hank solicits 
the accounts of ban:.., bankers, merchants, corporations and 
others, and offers every facility for the safe and speedy transact! m 
of all kinds of financial business on favorable terms. Tin 
deals in government and other first-class bonds, an l atti nds care- 
fully to collections in all accessible points. Tile following | 
men are the officers and directors: J. Wesley Supple | 

H. Wilson Cathen I, vice president; J. P.. Stewart, cashier. 

Directors: j. We. by Supplt e, II. Wilson Catliewood, Join, ii. Gra- 
ham, Benjamin Githens, James McCandless, So 
Henry N. Ri.ltenb.ouse, Seth f. Comly, John Hay, Richard 11. 
Chapman, E. C. Knight, Jr., Albert E. Bailey. The president, 
Mr j. Wesley Supplee, i. a thoroughly capable financier, as 
widely known for liis ability, foi tie- just manner he attend to 
the interests ol stockholders and depositors. Mr. H. VI Cather- 
wood, the vice president, and Mr. .1. B. Stewart, the cashier are 
experienced and energi tii hank, of cers 



JOHN WANAMAKER, Genera] Outfitter; Emporium of Dry- 
goods, Clothing, Household Furnishings, Books, etc , Chest- 
nut Street, Thirteenth Street, City Hall Square, and Market 
Street. — That combination of mental qualifications which can 
rear such a magnificent emporium as that of John Wanamaker's is 
as rarely met with as it Ls of exceeding value and practical benefit 
to the public at large. It is fitting that in Philadelphia, tbe old 
capital of the richest, most progressive and powerful nation on tbe 
globe, should be located the largest, most ably conducted, and most 
extensively patronized mercantile house in the world, and which has 
been developed within a comparatively few years to its present pro- 
portion of enormous magnitude, by reason of the marked abilities 
of the great head of the concern, Hon. John Wanatnaker, and who 
is now so ably supported in tbe executive guidance by Mr. Thomas 
B. "Wanamaker, his son, and Mr. Robert C. Ogden. who had been 
with him since he established in business here. Hon. John Wana- 
maker was born on the 11th of July in 1837, in Philadelphia County. 
Bis father was of German descent, while his mother was a descend- 
ant of che Huguenot refugees expatriated from France by reason of 
devotion to their religions faith. Here were the junction of two of 
the leading strains of the nationalities of Europe, generally indica- 
tive of conservatism and tenacity combined with the sanguine tem- 
perament and keen business foresight of the French race. Mr. Wana- 
maker's father moved to Indiana in 1856, where he was a successful 
farmer, but John shortly returned to Philadelphia, and in 185? 
founded a newspaper under the title of "Everybody's Journal." He 
soon after became a clerk in a mercantile house on Market Street, 
affording abundant evidence of his gifts as a business man. The op- 
portunity to embark in business on his own account soon presented 
itself, and in 1S(J1 he established the well-known house of Wana- 
maker & Brown, corner of Sixth and Market Streets, and whose 
achievements in the line of fine clothing and merchant tailoring 
have secured to them a national reputation. With the great ex- 
perience and material success attending his operations there, he in 
1SG0, in partnership with his brother, Mr. S. M. Wanamaker. 
founded the house of S. M. Wanamaker & Co., located on Chestnut 
Street, and which from it^ inception took front rank in the whole- 
sale cinthin* trade. The business had received its impetus from Mr. 
Jf-hn Wanamaker, and leaving it an assured success, he turned in 
1876 with laudable ambition to the purpose of his lire— the develop- 
ment of a vast emporium of trade— a comprehensive establishment 
to cover practically all the wants of the family and the household 
—just what the present concern on Chestnut Street is to-day. He 
bought, out the old Pennsylvania Railroad property, so desirably 
located, and here erected by degrees the present mammoth and 
architecturally handsome building, tbe largest and most attractive 
in the hue of any in the world! Mr. Wanamaker not only withdrew 
from S. M. Wanamaker & Co., but eventually retired his interest in 
the house of Wanamaker & Brown, to devote his resources and at- 
tention to the vast establishment so familiarly and appropriately 
known throughout the United Stares as "Wanamaker's.'* It is the 
mosr advanced type of mercantile organization in existence, where 
the practical master mind has developed a perfected and well- 
rounded plan that covers every detail and provides every facility 
and convenience. Such is the "Wanamaker's" of today, with 
its fifty-eight distinct departments, each a large store distinct and 
under its own skilled manager and staff of assistants, yet but part of 
one harmonious whole The vast premises are one of the most nota- 
ble features of the city. The buildintrs are of the most substantial 
character, and four lofty stories in height on three sides, while front- 
ing for 560 feet on Thirteenth Street, and towering to a height of 
seven stories. The frontage on Chestnut Street is 210 feet, with a 
direct depth to Market Street of 580 feet, while light and air are 
equally d ; -tributed from tht- City Hall Square and Thirt^-uth Street 
sides If is in fact a va<t square harmoniously organized as an em- 
porium of the goods and wares essential in every field of supply to 
meet the warns of the public, and wherein 3,4*X> people are em- 
ployed, while five trucks and fifty-six wagons do the receiving and 
delivering of the Tadp at wholesale and retail. At the comer of 
Thi .!■■■ nth and Market Streets, the building is surmounted by an 
architecturally beautiful clock tower, in which is a large chime clock, 
striking the quarters, half--, and hours -by far the handsomest public 
timepiece in town. The vast interior is elegantly decorated, fitted 
up and furnished in modern style, and all the modern improvement? 
have been introduced, including steam heat supplied from a battery 

of thirteen boilers in the basement, aud which also supply power 
for the electric-lighting dynamos aud motive-force for pumps, etc. 
There are eleven safety passenger and freight elevators, rendering 
every floor of direct and easy access, while pneumatic tubes carry 
the cash from every part of the building to the large cashier's ottiee- 
on the second floor. If we were asked what was the most striking 
feature of this vast establishment, we should say, the perfect sys- 
tem of organization observable. Discipline is here seen in its most 
appropriate form — uuder tbe beneficent rules of an employer who 
seeks his employees* welfare jointly with his own. The principal 
departments, each with appropriate subdivisions, are those devoted to- 
dry-goods, clothing, boots and shoes, hats and caps, gentlemen's 
furnishings, household furniture and furnishings, carpetings, books,, 
etc. The house is a direct importer and a direct buyer everywhere; 
the choicest products of the loom are here side by side with the prod- 
ucts of the skilled artificers of all lands. Not only is the stock the 
largest and most comprehensive, but it is the freshest in assortment 
and choicest in quality of any in the United States. Mr. Wana- 
maker is spoken of as the best judge of character and ability in 
town. It is notably the fact that be has built up a staff of the most 
talented business men. experts in each department, whose advice 
can be acted on to the best advantage, and. whose united forces, with 
the brilliant leadership of the head of the house, emphatically places- 
this establishment far in the van of progress, and where the pur- 
chasing power of the dollar is the greatest, quality considered. 
Limits of space prevent any attecipt at a detailed description of this- 
truly unique concern. There is a splendid restaurant in the base- 
ment, a second Delmonico's, at moderate prices for all the delicacies, 
of the season. There is thoughtful consideration shown for the com- 
fort and convenience of the thousands of customers who throng 
here during business hours, by such faculties as a United States mail- 
ing and postage-stamp office on the first floor; also a telegraph and 
long-distance telephone office, ladies' reception and waiting rooms, 
children's play-rooms in charge of matrons, etc. An appreciated 
boon to literature-loving Americans is Mr. Wanamaker's book and 
periodical department, in which any work can be procured at a 
uniform discount off published prices, while his monthly journal, 
" Book News," is most ably edited, and full of the very latest literary 
announcements. A house can be furnished and its inmates be 
clothed complete, inside of a few hours, from Wanamaker's. The 
goods are always the best of the grade, from finest to medium, while 
tbe prices agreeably surprise the purchaser from New York. Chicago, 
or elsewhere. The certainty of always getting what you want at 
Wanamaker's, and at a fixed ratio of profit to cost, has built up here 
the mammoth mail-order business of the continent, and it is hut 
natural that the receipts of the retail departments now aggregate 
over 525,000,000 annually! One year ago Mr. John Wanamaker 
took into copartnership his son Mr. Thomas B. Wanamaker, a 
young business man of marked executive capacity, devoted to the 
discharge of the onerous duties devolving upon him, aud univer- 
sally popular and respected. Mr. Robert C- Ogden also became a 
partner at the same time. He is a merchant of widest experience 
and sound judgment, who has been identified with the house since 
1^76, and has proved a trusted lieutenant, indefatigable in sustain- 
ing the splendid system of organization and advanced methods here, 
observable. Mr. John Wanamaker not only believes that the 
laborer is worthy of his hire, but thrt fidelity, loyalty, and industry 
in helping him to buildup this national emporium should be re- 
warded by a share of the profits, and his admirable system of profit 
sharing is now in its third year of existence. The total distribution 
for the past two years amounts to a grand total of $213,780.3*5. in 
addition, of course, to the usual salaries, and which are liberal and 
promptly raised when any employee merits an increase, without 
solicitation on his or her part At the last distribution Mr. J. Wana- 
maker forcibly presented the reasons therefore in the course of which 
he said: ''This p'an was intended to enlist more fully trio heart 
and soul of our people in the business of the house, to lend to greater 
zeal in economy of time, faithfulness of effort, diligence, patience 
and educated clerking, unity of purpose, and general interest in the 
extension of nur business." 

"I wish to do two things by this plan: First, to give actual proof 
of heartfelt interest in our people 

"Second To solidify tbe people into one micrbtyand perfect force 
to increase the business forthe benefit of themselves and their e* 
plovers " 



GEORGE Mil. 1.1:1: & SON, Wholesale Confectioners, S'os. 2S3 
and 237 South Third Street. The largest and oldest estab- 
lished firm o( manufacturing confectioners in Philadelphia 
is that of Messrs, George Miller & Son, whose product has 
a> in.' ed a national reputation for its delicacy, purity and superi- 
ority in every way. The business was founded n»«) back in 1833, 
by Mr. George Miller, in 1861 ins s"ii, Mr. Charles B. Mlllei . came 
into co-partnership under the name and style of George Miller & 
Son. In 1878 Mr. George Miller retired after a long, honored and 
useful career, leaving his son sole proprietor Of what had become 
one of the great industries of the city. He continued it upon an ever 
increasing ratio of Growth, until in Ikst he took into co-partner- 

buill by the flrm, which is six stories in height and Gjx1S4 In di- 
me 1 ns, equipped throughout with the latest Improved machinery 
ami ai pliances run by steam power. Profiting by theii vasti pei 1 
ence the proprietors h;:ve introduced many Improvements and 
conveniences, and this is unquestionably the model establishment 
of the kind on the continent. The firm enforce a thorough system 
of organization, aud employ upwards of ISO hands In the various 
departments, engaged In the manufacture ot tin.- candies and 
chocolates for the wholesale trade. They are justly celebrated 
for their superfine chocolate goods, and are direct importers 
of the choicest Caraccas cocoas, and manufactured by th» most 
improved processes. Purity and quality in all their confec- 
tions has ever been their tirst consideration, tliej use 
only tiie very best quality of sugars, the finest essen 
tial oils ami extracts, only authorized vegetable col- 
orings, etc., while the system pursued insures uni- 
form high standard of excellence and delirious char- 
acter of all goods manufactured Chocolate creams, 
caramels, bon bous, glace fruits, fig paste, lozenges 
and all staple caudies are daily manufactured by the 
firm, who cater to the best class of city trade 111 
addition to selling to jobbers and dealers all over the 
United States and Europe, in their handsomely 
fitted up salesroom can be seeu the finest assortment 
of candies and chocolate confections in the city, and 
which are offered at prices which offer the most sub- 
stantial inducements to the trade. Mr. Charles B. 
Miller is a respected member of commercial circles, 
a worthy exponent of the most honorable methods 
and is member of the Importers' and Grocers' Ex- 
change. His son, Mr. William D. Miller, is equally 
popular, and the house is unquestionably the most 
eminent representative of the confectionery manu- 
facturing interests. 



S^^JWE^j, " - f_\ ----- -' *--\ --?,,r»— ' ^.^ 


ship, his son. Mr. W. D. Miller, under the old name and style, '.b 
is . 1 young business man of ability and energy and is a valued ac- 
cess The business was started in a small way on Market 

Street above Sixth, over fifty-six yeai - ago, and after repeated 1 ti 
largemeuts at the old stand, was removed, in 188S, to 1 
magnificent establishment, Nos. '255 and..; South rhird Street, 

LNG, HILLMAN & GILL, Finishers and Con- 
verters of Cotton Goods, Nos. 4 and 6 Straw- 
berry Street. —No branch of trade of this great 
metropolis has been conducted with greater 
vigor and discretion, or with more substantial results, 
than that devoted to dry goods. The capita! invested 
Is large and the character of the firms engaged in the 
business unexcelled in commercial life. A promi- 
nent and popular firm in this liue is that, of Messi i. 
King, Hillman & Gill, located at Nos. i and G Straw- 
berry Street. The business wasoriginally established 
in 185S, and in 1879 the present firm succeeded to the 
control. They occupy spacious and commodious prem- 
ises and operate branches in both Chicago and Haiti- 
more. Both of the partners, Messrs. John D. King 
and Joseph C.Gill, are gentlemen of experience in 
the dry goods business, and possess an intimate 
knowledge of the wants of the American market. 
They make a leading specialty of handliug finished 
cottons and are accomplished and experienced con- 
verters of cotton goods. They have intimate .11 d 
influential connections with manufacturers every- 
where and have unusually good opportunities for ob- 
taining the most reliable goods and leading novelties 
in this line of trade. The firm has brought into 
every day practice a thoioughly efQeieut system of 
organization, which conduces greatly to the suci 
ful prosecution of their exteusive business, while 
they represent a number of leading manufacturing 
concerns whose products are unsui passed forquality, 
finish and durability by those of any in the market. 
Their stock is kept up to the highest standard of ex- 
cellence and efficiency, and orders are filled with 
promptness and dispatch In all cases and 
11. nts are offered to both producers and buyers which are 
rarely duplicated in liberality by any contemporary concern. 
The business is widely scattered over all portions of the United 
States, and the bouse is a credit to»the intelligent enterpriseaud 
1 ral busin method!! ol the proprietors, and also to the 
city in which i; is so permanently located. 



JE. CALDYTELL & CO., Jewelers and Silversmiths, No. 9)8 
Chestnut Street.— The house of Messrs. J. E. Caldwell &. 
Co., so pre-eminent in every branch of the business of the 
1 jeweler and the silversmith, was founded in 1838 by the 
late Mr. J. E. Caldwell, who brought to bear special qualifications 
including unrivalled facilities for the inipoitation, desiguing and 
manufacture of all that was rare, artistic, decorative and sei vice- 
able in the lines of diamonds, jewelry, antiques, bric-a-brac, silver 
ware, porcelain and glass, art furniture, statuary and the fine arts 
generally. The business developed at a rapid ratio, with far 
reaching connections, and the firm name of J. E. Caldwell & Co., 
became and has since continued a Veritable trade mark as regards 
all classes of the above goods dealt in by it. The decease of Mr. 
Caldwell after a long, honorable and useful career, was followed by 
the formation of the present co-partnership which includes Mr. J. 
Albert Caldwell, son of the founder, born in this city, and for twenty- 
years past an active member of the firm; Mr. Joseph H. Brazier, a 
native of Maine, also twenty years in the firm: Mr. H. B. Houston, 
a native Philadelphian, fifteen years in the firm; Mr. Frederick 
Shaw, born in Providence. R. I., for thirteen years in the firm; 
Mr. Kichard N. Caldwell, born in the city aud a son of the founder, 
for eighteen years in the firm, and Mr. James Riley, a native of 
Pennsylvania, four years a partner. It will thus be seen that the 
co-partners unite vast practical experience, while their resources, 
facilities and sound judgment, correct taste and great energy, 
place their house in the van of progress, the largest and leading 
jewelry house in Pennsylvania, comparing with that of Messrs. 
Tiffany & Co., in New York, handling, importing and makiug iden- 
tically the same classes of goods. Their establishment at No. 902 
Chestnut Street, is most desirably and centrally located, and is a 
magnificent and spacious structure, 30x285 feet iu dimensions, four 
floors and basement in height, fitted up in the most elaborate man- 
ner, both as to furnishings, decorations and all modern con- 
veniences, including elevator to all floors, marble wainscots, art 
tile floors, hardwood and plate glass show cases, cabinets, etc., 
form a fitting setting for the superb and comprehensive stock here 
gathered. The firm are direct importers of the finest diamonds 
and precious stones, selected by their own expert buyers in the 
markets of London, Amsterdam and Paris. They carry a large 
toi tune in cut diamonds, parcels of the choicest gems, of pure 
water, free from flaws, specks, feathers, and all imperfections, of 
all sizes from oue-half a carat up to twenty aud thirty carats, or 
even larger, adapted to meet every possible requirement. The 
public heie select their gems, including matched pairs for earrings 
and have them mounted in the firm's own factory after the latest 
original and fashionable designs. The diamond mounting is done 
on Sansom Street, while on the fourth floor of this building is a 
complete shop for manufacturing jewelry, repairing, etc., silver- 
smith work, etc., and where a large force of hands is employed. 
The firm's stock of rich gold jewelry is unrivalled in the city and 
covers every possible form aud device of beauty and for personal 
adornment. The firm has attained a national celebrity and in sets, 
half and quarter sets and single articles, such as rings, lace pins, 
brooches, necklaces, bracelets, chains, and ornaments the require- 
ments of the most exacting can be promptly gratified. The stock 
is noticeable for elegance of designs and careful finish in every 
minute detail, the result of employing only skilled workmen. In 
silver jewelry and ornaments, the stock is equally extensive and 
desirable, while an immense department is devoted to sterling 
silver aud silver-plated wares and novelties in same. Their solid 
silver sets are in great demand, being manufactured from the 
British standard of fineness and of highly artistic designs and 
most elaborate chasing, carving and general finish. Another de- 
partment is devoted to watches, and one of immense size it is, 
including thousands of the finest imported and domestic move- 
ments in all desirable casings, ranging from the lowest price at 
which a reliable watch can be bought up to the most expensive 
chronometers and repeaters made. The styles include massive 
cases aud smaller sizes, plain, etched, chased and decorated in 
scores of the newest designs. Another department is devoted to 
high art glass from Vienna, etc., decorated china wares, fancy poi- 
cel tins and artistic pottery of all the world renowned makes. 
Here are clocks in marbles, bronze and ormolu, bronze statues 
and ornaments, decorated lamps in the new styles of bowls. stands 
and shades, and a great array of fancy brass goods. Here are the 

most beautiful and costly ivory and other styles of fans, some 
decorated with precious stones and richly mounted and worth 
$1,500, while iu parasols the stock includes all the fashionable 
novelties. Another department includes Italian maible statuary, 
copies of the old masters and original productions of modern sculp- 
tors, quoted at moderate prices In paintings in oils and water 
colors, the stock is likewise representative, and many of the can- 
vasses are from painters of renown both in America and Europe. 
Special attention is directed to their magnificent assortment of 
modern and antique cabinet furniture, including richly ornate 
parlor cabinets, fancy chairs, tables, book cases, desks, chiffoniers, 
cheval glasses, sideboards, etc., easels, pedestals, aud scores of 
foreign novelties, unique in design and ornamentation. The 
choicest and rare woods are found here, developed by the skill of 
the carver and cabinetmakers into the most decorative articles of 
furniture aud in great demand witli the public. Here also are 
rich tapestries and stuffs from the most famous looms of Europe, 
and a general line of rich interior decoratious that charm the eye 
and add so greatly to the luxurious surroundings of modern inter- 
iors. The co-partners devote personal attention aud direction to 
every detail of their immense business, which is developing at a 
rapid ratio, and includes far-reaching connections, with valued 
customers iu almost every section of the United States, people of 
refined tastes ami sound judgment, and who have learned by ex- 
perience that nowhere can selections be made from such a com- 
prehensive and valuable stock'as that of Messrs. J. E. Caldwell & 
Co., to which the art and skill of every land have been laid under 
contribution, while as manufacturing jewelers, importers and 
mounters of diamonds, silversmiths and importers and dealers in 
watches, they are the leading representative house iu Pennsyl- 
vania, rivalling the principal firm In New York, and in numerous 
ways offering inducements as to the beauty and quality of their 
jewelry and wares impossible of duplication elsewhere. Messrs. 
Caldwell & Co., have ever retained the confidence of the commer- 
cial world; their executive capacity is of the highest order, and 
with the able support accorded by the junior partners, the house 
stands forth the great modern exponent of the trade and business 
of the jeweler and silversmith. 

ANCE CO., Corbin & Goodrich, General Agents, No. 430 
Walnut Street.— The frequent explosions of steam boilers 
in all parts of the couutry have served to call the attention 
of manufacturers to the importance of having these boilers per- 
iodically inspected by a reliable eorpoiu'ion, having acash capital 
ample to guarantee its work. In order to meet this pressing 
necessity and demand'in lst¥ the Hartford Steam Boiler Inspec- 
tion and Insurance Company was duly incorporated under the 
laws of the state or Connecticut, with a cash capital of SoOo.OOO, and 
with a perpetual charter. In 1867 the company established a 
branch office in Philadelphia, placing it under the management of 
Messrs. Corbin & Goodrich, as general agents, who have conducted 
the agency ever since with marked ability and steadily increasing 
success, occupying eligible office quarters at No. 430 Walnut 
Street. They have charge of the business of the company in this 
state east of the Allegheny mountains. Southern New Jersey and 
Delaware. This is the pioneer boiler inspection and insurance 
company of America. Its affairs have been ably and successfully 
managed from the start, and the company, on January 1, 1SS0, 
had total assets amounting to $1,275,114.02, and a surplus, as regards 
policy holders, of $586,804.36. The follow ing are some of the advan- 
tages derived by insurers: The boilers insured are visited at 
stated periods, gauges tested, safety-valves properly weighted, 
and all the boiler appliances carefully examined. Should an 
explosion or rupture occur, the company makes good all loss or 
damage, (except by fire, and not exceeding the sum insured) to 
the boilers and surrounding property. This being the pioneer 
company of America it has wide experience aud has become 
familiar with the business. The company furnishes complete 
plans for boilers, settings and piping; also for steam-chimneys, 
and supervises the erection of them at reasonable exdense. The 
agents iu this city, Messrs. E. A. Corbin and H. (J. Goodrich, are 
both natives of Hartford, and young men who have made this 
system of insurance a life study and are highly esteemed for their 
sound business principles. 



HB. SMITH MACHINECO., Manufacturers of Wood Work- 
ing Machinery, Etc., No. 925 Market Street.— It Is abso- 
lutely certain that in no country in the world has wood- 
working machinery been brought to such a state of per- 
fection, as in the United States, and in tins connection special 
reference Is made in this commercial rei lew of Philadelphia to the 
old-established and representative H. B. Smith .Machine Company. 
This business was established in 1849, and eventually was incor- 
porated in 1878, with large capital. The company's works which 
are fully equipped with the latest improved tools, machinery and 
appliances are situated at Smlthville, N. J. MivH. B. Smith, the 


•Kill 'JPA 


I ? ; m ■mm ■■- 

. ._ m _p\ It! gM 

late president of the company, was one of the ablest mechanical 
engineers and machinists in his special line in the United Stares. 
He was the first to use iron frames and to simplify the construc- 
tion of woodworking machines, and at the present day the best 
moulding, mortising and tenoning machines In America are those 
manufactured by the H. B. Smith Machine Co. All the woodwork- 
ing machinery and specialties made by this company are con- 
structed with unusual care and accuracy and of the most durable 
materials, while the prices quoted in all eases are extremely 
moderate. All machinery handled is warranted to be exactly as 
represented in every particular, and the ti - of the company 
now extends not only throughout all sections ol the United States 
and Canada, but also to Europe, South America, Mexico and Aus- 
tralia. The officers are highly regarded in trade circles for their 
ability, skill and integrity, and their success in this valuable 
industry is as substantial as it is well merited. The company 
manufactures and is prepared to furnish complete outfits for 
planing mills, sash, door and blind factories, furniture factories, 
wagon and agricultural implement works, etc. The leading 
specialties consist of improved machinery for planing, moulding, 
mortising, tenoning, sawing, boring and turning ill kinds of wood, 
and their faculties for manufacturing are unexcelled. In addition 
to their large line of wood working machinery the H. B. Smith Co. 
are sole manufacturers of the celebrated star bicycles. Illustrated 
catalogues of all their machinery are forwarded promptly upon 

LINDI.EY HAINES, Banker and Broker, No. 430 Library 
Street.— The importance of Philadelphia as a great finan- 
cial centre is generally recognized. This is in fact a noted 
point of desirable investment securities, and 
the purchase and sale "f active stocks and bonds, while the Stock 
Exchange of this city ranks second only to that of New York in 
volume of trade and number of members. Representative among 
tlie members is Mr. Mndley Haines, the Well known banker and 
broker, whose office is eligibly located at No. 430 Library Street. 
He was originally in business as partner in 1880, with L. H.Taylor 
s Co., who dissolved in IS* I, and Haines Bros, continued the busi- 

ness and in January, 18S9, Mr. Liudlej Haines, who had been a 
partner from the < mencement of the bui becan : sole pro- 

prietor. He has been a member o( the Philad k Ex- 

change for the past ten years, and] corded a conscien- 

tious support to all measures and regulations for the bem SI o! 
this useful institution and to secure increased facilities to the 
public. He conducts a general commission business in the pui 
chase and sale, for cash or on a margin, of all stocks, boi 
miscellaneous securities as listed by this board or on the New 
York Stock Exchange. His New York correspondents are Messrs 
Boody, McClellan & Co. His offices are situated on the ■ 
floor, and fitted up in the most convenient manner with tickers and 
stock indicators, and every facility is offered to customers, • 
elude many of the leading capitalists and investors of th 
His advantages for obtaining the latest reliable Information as to 
the course of the market are of the most complete and gratifj Ing 
character, and no one is better qualified to fill orders for country 
capitalists or city operators and investors, either for investment or 
speculative purposes. He is a recognized authority on the mark, t 
intimate with the records of railroads and other corporations, 
while his methods are truly conservative, his reputation and stand- 
ing in financial circles are of the highest character, and he Is a 
faithful exponent of those principles of equity which ar-- the sub- 
stantial foundations of the influence and success of the Philadel- 
phia Stock Exchange. Mr. Haines is a native of Philadelphia, and 
a young man of large business experience, wide acquaintance and 
eminent popularity and has been a member of Boardof Governors 
of the Stock Exchange for five years. 

HL. COOPER, Wool, No. 8 North Front Street.— From com- 
paratively limited proportions the wool interest of Phila- 
delphia has developed vast magnitude during the past 
quarter of a century. The trade in domestic and import- 
ed fleeces In this city in the course of a yearsow is something 
enormous, representing hundreds of millions of dollars while the. 
volume of business transacted grows apace annually. Among the 
merchants contributing most largely to the sum of commercial 
activity in the line indicated here in Philadelphia can be named 
H. L. Cooper, the well-known wool dealer, with a capacious estab- 
lishment at No. 8 North Front Street, who has an extensive and 
substantial business connection, selling to manufacturers all over 
the middle and some of the eastern states. Mr. Cooper, who Is a 
gentleman of about forty years and a native of this city, Is a man 
of thorough experience in the wool trade, as well asof energy and 
judicious enterprise, and prior to going into business on his own 
accountin lSS^had been employed in this same line for nearly fifteen 
years. Mr. Cooper, who handles wools of all kinds and all grades, 
occupies as office and warehouse the whole of a large five-story 
and basement building, where be carries on hand always a heavy 
and varied stock, while an efficient staff is employed, and is pre- 
pared to fill all orders for anything in the line of wool in the most 
prompt and reliable manner. The house is conducted on strict 
business principles and its management characterized by sagacity 
and reliability. All persons having dealings herewith are assured 
of finding the same of an entirely satisfactory character. 

RICHARD DeCOU. Successor to John K. Shivers & Co.. Scrap 
Iron and Old Metals, Northeast Corner Twelfth and Noble 
Streets. — Among the leading dealers in scrap irons and 
old metals in this city is Mr. Richard DeCou, who has 
achieved an enviable reputation for his prompt, honorable methods 
and liberal policy. He buys scrap iron and old metals from every 
part of the country and ships in car lots to consumers all over 
Pennsylvania, Delaware and New Jersey with a local trade in this 
city. His business premises are located at the corner of Twelfth 
and Noble Streets, 75x200 feet in size, and where be carries hun- 
dreds of tons of the scrap iron and metals. A railroad track con- 
necting him with the main line makes his transportation fai 
complete, and all orders are filled promptly, the highest market 
rates being paid for all descriptions of old iron and metals received 
by him, ami a number of hands are constantly employed. Mr. 
DeCou, who is respected by all who know him, and in his particu- 
lar line is conceded among the foremost, Is an energetic b 
man of ability and enterprise and one greatly respected in I 
of trade for his honorable and straightforward business methods. 



THE UNION' TRUST COMPANY, Nos. 715 to 719 Chestnut 
Street, ,[. Simpson Africa, President; John G. Reading, Vice 
President ; Mahlon S. Stokes, Treasurer ana Secretary ; Wil- 
liam Henry Price, Trust Officer.— The position occupied 
by The Union Trust Company of Philadelphia is such that in compil- 
ing a work as is contemplated in the present publication wherein 
trust companies and hanks are prominent features, it is absolutely 
necessary to make special mention of an institution, which adds 
materially to the solidity and solvency of our enterprises, affording 
that protection and security guaranteed only by reliable organiza- 
tions of this character. The Union Trust Company was duly in- 
corporated under the laws of Pennsylvania, October 16,1882, the 
charter being perpetual. It has an authorized capital of $1.000,0011, 
of which SToO.OOO has beeu paid up and the remaining $250,000 
subscribed for. The company acts as assignee, receiver, 
guardian, executor, and administrator under appointment by 
the courts for corporations or individuals. It is likewise 
authorized to act as agent for the registering of bonds or other 
obligations of any corporation, association, state or public 
authority. The Union Trust Company receives on deposit for safe 
keeping jewelry, plate, stocks, bonds and all valuables at 
moderate-charges. It takes charge of the property of abseutees, 
collects and remits income promptly, and executes trusts of every 
description known to law. while at the, same time it receives 
money on deposit on time or subject to check and allows interest. 
Trust turds are always kept separate and distinct from the assets 
of the company. The Uniou Trust Company also rents safes at $5 
tq $200 per annum, that are impregnable to burglars and indes- 
tructible by fire, Western farm and city mortgages are likewise 
for sale, bearing six and seven per cent, per annum interest, 
being guaranteed by institutions of 'undoubted soundness. In 
consequence "f i steadily increasing patronage the company is 
erecting a splendid stone building on Chestnut Street at a cost of 
$3 0,000, which it will soon occupy. Executors, trustees of estates 
and ladies unaccustomed to the transaction of business, as well as 
religious and benevolent institutions will find The Union Trust 
Company a convenient depository for money. The following 
gentlemen, widely and favorably known in financial and business 
circles for their prudence, executive ability and just methods are 
the officers and directors: J. Simpsou Africa, president; John G. 
Reading, vice president; Mahlon S. Stokes, secretary and 
treasurer; William Price, trust officer. Directors:— J. Simpson 
Africa, late secretary of internal affairs of Pennsyluania; John G. 
Reading, capitalist, 2126 Walnut Street ; Alfred S. Giltett, presi- 
dent of theGiv.ird Fire Insurance Company : Charles P.Turner, M. 
D., 150G Walnut Street-; Joseph I. Keefe, merchant, 32 South Front 
Street; .John T. Monroe, of Monroe Bros. & Co., manufacturers 
and jobbers of boots and shoes, 438 Market Street; William J. 
Nead. contractor; D. Hayes Aguew, M. D, 1601 Walnut Street; 
Thomas K. Patton, retired merchant, 1308 Piue Street; Robert 
Paitersou, of Hughes & Patterson, iron manufacturers, 800 Rich- 
mond Street : Jacob Naylor, president of Eighth National Bank: 
TheoUor C. Engel, president of Bergner & Engel Brewing Co.; Wil- 
liam S. Price, attorney-at-law, 633 Walnut Street; Thomas G. 
Hood, of Hood. Ronbright & Co., wholesale dry goods; Edward L. 
Perkins, attorney-at-law. 110 South Fourth Street ; Joseph Wright, 
of Wright Bros. & Co., umbrella manufacturers, 32-1 Market Street: 
William H. Lucas, of John Lucas & Co., paint manufacturers, 141 
and 143 North Fourth Street: William Watson, retired merchant, 
3933 W ilnut Street: Dr. George W. Reily, president of the Harris- 
Inn g N'ational Bank.Karrlsburg; Edmund S. Doty, attorney-at-law, 
Minneapolis, Minn.; W. W. H. Davis, U. S. pension agent, Philadel- 
phia; Henry S. Eckert, president of the Farmers' National Bank, 
Reading: Hubert E. Monaghan, attorney-at-law, Westchester; 
Hairy W. Moore. Bush Hill Iron Works; Jacob G. Neafie, of Ne.ilie 
& Levy, ship builders. Conservative principles and sound judg- 
ment have marked the course of this responsible company in the 
past, and give ample promise of a long and prosperous career in 
the future. The company's offices are open from nine a. in. to 
four p. in. except on Sundays and legal holidays. 

enced, able and enterprising proprietor. He is prominent in the 
trade, and is a worthy representative of the highest achievements 
in artistic jewelry and silverware. The extensive business eon- 
ducted by him was founded by his father, Mr. C. M. Euglehart and 
himself in 1860, under the name and style of C. M. Euglehart & Son. 
They early became noted for the superiority of their product, and 
for making a specialty of the finest society and official badges, 
emblems and ornaments ever offered to a discerning public. They 
built up a most influential, desirable connection, and at rude of great 
magnitude. In ISS6, Mr. William E. Euglehart succeeded to the 
sole proprietorship. As a practical manufacturing jeweler of 
thirty years experience he is a recognized authority in his line, and 
carries one of the largest and finest stocks of jewelry, watches and 
solid silverware in Philadelphia. His establishment is most cen- 
trally located on Market Street, and 2.5x150 in dimensions, hand- 
somely fitted up and furnished, and making the finest display in 
town in not only staple lines, but also in Masonic andothersociety 
marks, jewels and emblems, etc. In these lines Mr. Euglehart 
leads the trade of the United States, and has a corresponding 
couuection. He supplies leading Masonic lodges, with their 
marks and jewels, and also- fills orders for all kinds of society 
emblems. New designs will be promptly duplicated in solid 
gold at lowest prices. Mr. Euglehart is the contractor for and 
manufacturer of the civic emblems, police badges, firemen's 
badges, and those for deputy sheriffs, coroners and other officials. 
He employs a numerous force of skilled hands in the produc- 
tion of his goods, and gives close, personal supervision over 
every department of the business. He carries a large stock of 
unset diamonds, of all sizes from }*£ carat up, and of the purest 
" water," specially adapted for mounting in jewelry, or for Masonic 
and other jewels. In watches also lie handles the finest American 
and foreign movements in all styles of solid gold and silver cases, 
both plain and ornamental, and quotes prices for fine watches, 
warranted accurate timekeepers, not duplicated elsewhere. Mr. 
Euglehart also deals in solid silverware of latest styles, and in 
everything found in his shop, the public will find the utmost value- 
for their money and the utmost satisfaction in use. Mr. Euglehart 
is an able business man and a respected citizeu, aud is well worthy 
of the large measure of success achieved. 


I [.[.'AM F. ENGLEHART, Dealer in Diamonds, Watches 

and Solid Silverware, No. 20.") Market Street— One of 
the oldest established jewelry houses of Philadelphia, is 
that of which Mr. William F. Euglehart is the experi- 

CHARLKS TREDICK & CO., Insurance Agents and Brok- 
ers, No. 339 Walnut Street.— The city of Philadelphia is 
one of the principal centres in the United States for fire- 
insurance. This all agree can be secured only through 
the medium of well regulated, honestly conducted anrr-sound fire 
insurance agencies, those that not only issue policies, but 
promptly adjust and pay losses, as soon as they are stated aud 
clearly shown. At the present day many leading insurance cor- 
porations place their interests in the control of gentlemen who. 
have secured honorable reputations in tins important branch of 
business. Prominent among these in Philadelphia is the reliable* 
and popular firm of Messrs. Charles Tredick & Co., whose offices 
are located at No. 339 Walnut Street. This business was estab- 
lished in 1869 by Mr. C. Tredick.who conducted it till 1SS3 when Mr. 
W. C. Benuett became a partner. Both Messrs. Tredick and Bennett 
are practical and experienced underwriters, who are always pre- 
pared to offer substantial inducements to patrons, including low- 
rates and liberally drawn policies, while losses sustained are equit- 
ably adjusted and promptly paid through their agency. Messrs. 
Charles Tredick & Co.. represent the following first-class and sub- 
stantial companies viz: New Hampshire Fire insurance Com- 
pany of Manchester, N. H.; California Insurance Company of San 
Francisco, California; Jefferson Insurance Company of New 
York, N. Y.; Peoples Fire Insurance Company of Pittsburg, Pa.; 
City Insurance Company of Pittsburg, Pa.; German American 
Insurance Company of Pittsburg, Pa. ; Grand Rapids Insurance 
Company of Grand Rapids, Mich. They likewise attend carefully 
to life, gl.iss and boiler insurance. Botli partners are popular 
members of the Board of Underwriters and Tariff Association. 
They are highly esteemed by the community for their prompt- 
ness and integrity, and enjoy an extensive aud influential patron- 
age among our leading merchants, manufacturers and property 
owners, not only in Philadelphia but throughout the United States 
and Canada. They have also correspondents in London for plac- 
ing business in British and Continental companies. 



facturers ot No. 1 Asphaltum Paving Blocks, ifcc; Office So. 
129 South Front Street; Works, Thirtieth Street and Powel- 
ton Avenue.— Tin- leading contractors for laying asphaltum 
paving blocks in this city are the Trinidad Asphaltuui Block Com- 
pany, whose office is located at No. 129 South Front Strei t, with 
works at Thirtieth Street ami Powelton Avenue. This company 
are extensive manufacturers of No. l Asphaltum Paving Blocks, 
to) roadways, sidewalks, gutters, cellars, breweries, stables, etc., 
and were incorporated in 1881, under the laws of the state of New 
Jersey, with a capital of SiOO.OOO, and with Dr. L. S. Filbert, presi- 
dent; Mr. John B. Wat [.sou, secretary and treasurer. The facili- 
ties of tliis company are perfect for work of the most substantial 
and elegant character. Its great resources are not surpassed by 
ai>> similar establishment in this section of the country, while the 
means at its command and the many appliances and arrangements 
in operation for promoting the value of the goods and cheapening 
the cost of manufacture enable the management to offer the most 
attractive terms to customers. Large and important contracts 
have been executed in this city and in the neighboring towns of 
Chester, York and other points, which have established the reputa- 
tion of the company for doing the finest work in its line and in- 
sures its continued popularity and permanent prosperity. Their 
manufactures rank high in the market, and wherever their ser- 
vices have been called into requisition they have left the impress 
of a reliable and enterprising concern. They give prompt and 
careful attention to all orders and commissions, and strive to excel 
in every undertaking. The president, Dr. Filbert, is also president 
of the Vulcanite Paving Company of Philadelphia, a native of this 
city and prominently identified with its growth and prosperity in 
many ways. Mr. Wattson is a member of the well-known commis- 
sion firm of Thomas Wattson & Sons, and highly regarded in the 
commercial and financial circles of this his native city. Both gen- 
tleman ate members of the Commercial Exchange and the Phila- 
delphia Maritime Exchange, and bear the name of energetic, en- 
terprising and honorable business men. 

street.— While in the main this work will be found descrip- 
tive of the mechanical industries and commercial interests 
of this flourishing city, yet there mast be set apart space 
for mention of the equally important interest; that are vested in 
and represented by our publishing houses. The religious publica- 
tions are especially worthy of note and in this special connection 
we desire to present to our readers a brief sketch of the Reformed 
Church Publication House, of No. 907 Arch Street, whose produc- 
tions are of large interest to a large number of people throughout 
the United States. The business of this house was founded in 1S64 
by the Reformed Church Publication Board, which was formed to 
is^e publications bearing upon the doctrines inculcated in the 
teachings of the Reformed Church, and was continued by the 
board until 1888 when the Rev. Chas. G. Fisher, formerly superin- 
tendant, secretary and treasurer of the Board, secured the sole 
right, by purchase and lease, of continuing the work which has 
been so successfully prosecuted for the past quarter century. The 
periodicals and Sunday school papers published by him comprise 
the following, with the prices attached: Reformed Church Messen- 
ger (weekly), two dollars per year; Reformed Quarterly Review, 
three dollars per year; Tin? Guardian (monthly), $1.25 per year, in 
clubs, one dollar per year; The Sunday School Treasury (semi- 
monthly), HO for 100 copies per year, single copy, 25 cents; Re- 
formed Missionary Herald (monthly), £20 for 100 copies per year, 
single copy, 23 cents; Sunshine (weekly), $25 for 100 copies per 

year, slngl py :-"> cents; Scholars' Quarterly, $10 for 10" eopl IS 

per year; Lesson Papers (advanced and primary), advanced, $6; 
primary. S7 v "o per 100 copies a year. Samples are sent free. As 
three pi r cent, of the gros? re< eipts of each year have to be paid to 
the publication board, it will be seen that it is to the advantage of 
the church to encourage the circulation of the above mentioned 
publications* Hymn books, order Of worship, directory of wor- 
ship, catechism ; of all kinds and style-, theological works, Sunday- 
School libraries, reward cards, Bible-, (pulpit and family), miscel- 
I ous books, stationary of all kinds, certificates, etc., etc., and 
also. all th" German publications of the church, are. furnished at 
the lowest cash pi ice- « ith promptness and 

President; Christian Gross, Vice President : H I i. 
Secretary ; No. 412 Walnut Street.— There Is no single inter- 
est that affects the business community with the same de- 
gree of Importance, as that of a sure protection ag ilnst loss by lire. 
This all agree is secured only through the medium of a well regu- 
lated, hone, fiy conducted, and sound fire insurance company, 
one that not only i,^- s a policy, but adjusts and pays all losses, 
as soon as they are properly declared. In this connection, I pedal 
reference is made In this commercial review of Philadelphia, to 
the progressive and representative German Fire Insurance Com- 
pany, whose offices are centrally located at No. -!1l' Walnut Street. 
This company was duly incorporated in 1S71 under the laws of 
Pennsylvania, with a paid up capital of $l00,00rt,and its acsets now 
amount to $296,067,43. Conservative and just in it-, management, 
the course of this popular company has been a most commendable 
one, which has placed itupon a high plane of confidence and suc- 
cess. The following gentlemen, widely and favorably known in 
business circles for their executive ability, prudence and just 
methods are the officers and directors: Frank Bower, President; 
Christian Gross, Vice President; H. F. Robeno Secretary. Direc- 
tors, Christian Gross, John F. Betz, Edward Walden, L. Bam- 
berger, W. Frederick Snyder, Jacob Recti, J. Christian .Miller, 
Charles G. Berlinger, Christian Schmidt, Frederick Leibfreld, F. 
Gutekunst, Peter Stang. Frank Bower, Alfred Ogden, Anton Win- 
ters, A. M. Langfield, Frederick Mayer, Samuel A. Wertz, H. W. 
Catherwood, Augustus F. Brecht. The German Fire Insurance 
Company insures all kinds of property, at the lowest rates consist 
ent with absolute safety, and rather than transact an unreliable 
and hazardous business refuses any risk, that is not in every re- 
spect up to its standard. Mr. Frank Bower.the president, and Mr. 
Christian Gross, the vice president, are able and careful officers 
with every qualification for their important positions. Mr. Robeno, 
the secretary, has had great experience in insurance affairs, and 
is as widely known for his promptness, as for the honorable manner 
in which he attends to the interest of patrons. In conclusion it 
should be added, that this responsible company is in every way 
worthy the attention of all persons, desirous of placing their 
property in the hands of a corporation, which is abundautly able and 
makes a specialty of promptly adjusting and paying all losses, as 
soon as they are properly determined. 

JAMES BOYD & BRO., Manufacturers' Agents. Belting, H I, 
Rubber Goods, Etc., N'o. 14 North Fourth Street.— At the 
present day, the best and most reliable goods produced in 
the United States, are handled by those, who are technic- 
ally called manufacturer's 1 agents. Prominent among these 
agents in Philadelphia is the representative and responsible firm 
of Messrs. James Boyd & Bro., whose offices and salesrooms ate 
located at No. 14 North Fourth .street. This business, which is 
both wholesale and retail, was established six years ago by Mr. 
James Boyd, who admitted later to partnership with b;m,. his 
brother Mr. Alex. Boyd, Jr., under the style and title of James 
Boyd & Bro. Both partners are able and energ tic business men, 
fully conversant with every detail of this important industry and 
the requirements of the trade and a critical public. They occupy 
a spacious and well equipped store and basement, which are fully 
stocked with a superior assortment of rubber, leather and cotton 
belting: rubber, cotton and linen hose; mechanical lubber goods 
and asbestos matei lal of every description. Ml ssrs. James Boyd 
& Bro., are sole agents in Philadelphia for the Boston Belting Com- 
pany and the Asbestos Packing Company, and their trade now 
extends throughout all sections of Pennsylvania, Delaware, Mary- 
land, Virginia and West Virginia, New Jersey, Ohio and the south. 
This tii in has secured an excellent reputation for handling only 

the best e Is, and in consequence of their influential 

are enabled to otter substantial inducements to the trad • In prices 
very difficult to be secured elsewhere. They make a specialty of 
everything p rtaiiitiig to complete fire equipments for , 
tion of mills, factories, hotels, etc., and fully warrant all goods to 
be exactly as represented. A complete force ol clerk i, as istanl -, 
etc.. are employed in the store by the firm, and several tra 

n on the road. Both partners are from Boston. They are 
honorable and energetic b n a, and are abundantly worthy 

of their hug.- measure of success. 



Coverings, etc.. Office, No. 24 Strawberry Street, D. 
T. Dickson, Manager.— Mineral asbestos is not only 
indestructible by fire or acids, but differs from all other 
known mineral substances in possessing fibres, resembling flax or 
sills. These tough mineral fibres are now manufactured into a 
great number of useful articles, requiring to be durable under a 
high degree of temperature, and at the same time have consider- 
able tensile strength anil durability. In connection with these 
remarks, special reference is made in this mercantile review 
to the representative and successful Chalmers-Spence Com- 
pany, whose office and salesrooms in this city under 
the able and energetic management of Mr. D. T. Dickson, are 


•±~ ?m* 



- ,:• • 

located at No. 24 Strawberry Street. The Chalmers-Spence Com- 
pany was incorporated in 1806 under the laws of New York with 
large capital, and its patronage now extends throughout all sec- 
tions of the United States and Canada. The works, which are the 
largest and best equipped of the kind in America, and furnish con- 
stant employment to 130 skilled operatives, are situated in 
Eighth Street, New York. The principal executive officers of 
the company are R. H. Martin, president, and C. H. Van 
Nostrand, secretary and treasurer. The Chalmers-Spence Com- 
pany manufacture extensively asbestos non conducting coverings, 
tire proofing, building papers, packing, cement, etc., also a vast 
number of specialties too numerous to mention. Asbestos mater- 
ials, like everything else, should be properly used, and satisfactory 
results can only be obtained by the correct adaptation of the 
materials to the work to be performed. All asbestos goods manu- 
factured by this responsible company are absolutely unrivalled for 
utility, reliability and uniform excellence, while the prices quoted 
in all cases are exceedingly moderate. This progressive company 
was quick to recognize the value of asbestos cloth, as a barrier 
against fire in theatres. As early a- 1SS6 they induced the man- 
agers of the American Academy of Music, to give them an 
order for an asbestos curtain. This novel appliance was 
sucfi a success, that other prominent theatres quickly followed 
the lead and were supplied with asbestos curtains. These curtains 
can be painted and decorated the same as if made from cloth, 
while in case of fire they can be at once lowered, preventing the 
rapid entry of the flames and smoke in the auditorium, and thereby 
enabling the audience to leave the building in safety. The com- 
plin's Philadelphia branch is spacious and is fully stocked, enab- 
ling Mr. Dickson, to promptly fill orders for all sections of Penn- 
sylvania, Delaware, New Jersey, Maryland and the South. 
Branches have also been established in Boston, Pittsburg, Provi- 
dence and Chicago. 

SCHWA KTZ & GRAFF, Manufacturers, Importers and Whole- 
sale Dealers in House Furnishing Goods, Nos. "is Market, 
and 7!:; Jayne Streets.— As one ofthe principal centres of the 
United States for the trade in all kinds of house furnishing 
goods, Philadelphia has attained great prominence and is becom- 
ing more than ever a favorite purchasing point. Prominent among 
the old established and representative houses extensively engaged 
in this important business, is that of Messrs. Schwartz & Graff, 
whose office and warehouse are located at Nos. 713 Market and 
713 Jayne Streets. Tins business was established in 1S71 when the 
present firm commenced business, having previously been mem- 
bers of the firm of A. H. Francis & Co. Both Messrs. C. W. Schwartz, 
and Albert Graff are able and energetic business men, fully 
conversant with every detail and feature of this steadily growing 
Industry, and the requirements of dealers, jobbers and the general 
public. They occupy a spacious four-story building '25x286 feet in 
dimensi • -. which is fully supplied with every appliance and con- 

venience for the systematic conduct of this extensive business. 
The stock is immense and well selected, and embraces all kinds 
of carpets, oil cloths, matting, rugs, shading, pails and tubs, wash 
boards, brooms, baskets, brushes, looking glasses, cloeks, cotton 
yarn, rope and twine, batting, express wagons, lamp burners, lamp 
wicks, grain bags, stair rods, and all descriptions of house furnish- 
ing goods. Messrs. Schwartz & Graff handle only the best and 
most desirable goods, and offer advantages in prices very difficult 
to be secured elsewhere in this country. They employ twenty 
traveling salesmen, and their trade now extends throughout all 
sections of the United States and Canada. Mr. Schwartz is a native 
of Pittsburg, Pa., while his partner, Mr. Graff, was born in Phila- 
delphia. Both partners are honorable wholesale dealers, liberal 
in all transactions, and well merit the substantial success they 
are achieving in this useful industry. 

JOSHUA R. SERFASS. Conveyancer, Real Estate and Commer 
cial Broker, Office, No. 431 Walnut Street, Rooms 7 and S.— 
The development of the real estate market of Philadelphia 
has been upon a. scale of magnitude commensurate with the 
importance and rapid growth in wealth and population of the 
^-second city of the Union, while much of the credit attaching there- 
to is due to the intelligent efforts and honorable policy of our lead- 
ing and representative real estate brokers. Prominent among the 
number referred to is Mr. Joshua R. Serfass. the well-known con- 
veyancer, notary public, and real estate and commercial broker, 
whose office is eligibly located at No. 4S1 Walnut Street. This gen- 
tleman established himself in business here in 1S87, and has de- 
veloped a widespread connection of the most superior character, 
including among his clients many of our leading capitalists 
and operators in realty. He is a recognized accurate authority on 
the present and prospective values of realty throughout all sec- 
tions of this city and vicinity, so that the utmost reliance can be 
placed upon his judgment and advice by intending investors. He 
transacts a general real estate business, buying, selling, exchang- 
ing and renting, and has carried through to a successful issue 
many important transactions. He has in his care fine, desirable 
lots in this city and in New Jersey for investment by speculators 
or for sale on the installment plan, which are located near the 
rapid transit and will rapidly enhance in value. He also negoti- 
ates loans promptly on bond and mortgage, collects rents, and 
takes entire management, of estates. He is especially prominent 
in real estate circles as the representative of the Baldwin Home- 
stead Association and the Highland Mutual Laud Association, and 
is in a position to place all transactions on a substantial and satis- 
factory footing. Mr. Serfass is a loug resident Philadelphian, a 
member of the city Bar, and influential and popular in real estate, 
business and professional circles, as a gentleman of large experi- 
ence, sound judgment and marked ability, with whom it will be 
found a pleasure and a profit to opeu business relations. 

GEORGE T. BISEL & CO., Law Stationers and Booksellers, No. 
730 Sausom Street.— A popular source of supply for new 
and second-hand books, law stationery, and kindred sup- 
plies, in this city, is the establishment of Geo. T. Bisel 
located at No. 730 Sausom Street. This reliable house was origin- 
ally established iu 1S77, by Messrs. W. F. Bisel & Bro., who were 
succeeded by the present firm in 1881. To every stranger this 
establishment is from its literary and artistic attractions, a place 
not to be overlooked, and all lovers of good reading make it a 
popular rendezvous. It is patronized by all classes of society, 
while it also enjoys an extensive aucl influential wholesale trade 
throughout Pennsylvania and the adjoining states. Its stock con- 
tains at all times law works from the best authors of America and 
Europe; books in fine bindings, rare specimens of ancient law 
nowhere else obtainable ; and one of the finest and most compre- 
hensive lines of law stationery, blanks, blank books and commer- 
cial paper to be found in the city. This house is, in fact, head- 
quarters for the trade and public for every line of goods here 
mentioned. Us methods of dealing are eminently liberal and 
honorable, and its facilities for the purchase of its supplies are 
such as enable the proprietor to compete successfully with any of 
its contemporaries in this section, as regards terms and prices. 
The individual member of the firm is Geo. T. Bisel, a native of 
Pennsylvania, and eminently popular in this city. 





South Seventh Street.— One of the most popular ol the 
beneficiary Institutions of Philadelphia Is the Mutual 
Aid Union Beneficial Association, whose home office Is at 
No, 159 South Seventh street. It was Incorporated In 1878, under 
the laws of the state of Pennsylvania, for beneficial and protective 
purposes, and has been an Important educational factor in every 
community where its influence has been felt, promoting habits of 
economy, prudence and provident thrift. The principles on which 
t!i is association is conducted are not experiments, hut are such as 
exp*o lence and observation have proved to besound and reliable. 
Applicants are taken on probation for six months. At the expira- 
tion of that time. If in good health, anil the monthly payments have 
all been promptly made, certificates of membership and pass 
books are issued. If not in good health at the expiration of six 
months from date of their application, the amount paid by them is 
refunded and their application destroyed. There being no admis- 
sion fee, the applicants fur membership are required to make their 
first monthly payment at the time they make their application. 
The monthly rates are from twenty cents to two dollars, securing 
both sick and death benefits. The steady growth of the Mutual 
Aid Union is due principally to its liberal contracts and generous 
dealiug, together with the issuance of all safe and desirable forms 
of policies. The fact that constant accessions are annually made 
to the business of the association without resort to other than 
legitimate methods is conclusive evidence of the high esteem in 
which this staunch and ably-managed corporation is regarded by 
the public, and a membership in the Mutual Aid Union affords not 
only the saTest, but one of the most profitable of investments. 
Thoroughly informed as to insurance matters, the officers and 
directors have no hesitation in presenting this company to the pub- 
lic, feeling secure in the fact that no life corporation now engaged 
in issuing policies does so with a greater regard to the holder, or 
is more ready and able to promptly pay all losses as soon as prop- 
erly declared. Mr. Win. J. Moore is in charge of the office of the 
association, and will be found a gentleman of ability and experi- 
ence, with whom it is always a pleasure to do business. 

CARULE & JOY, House, Sign and Fresco Painters, No. 1727 
Chestnut Street.— The Rev. Sidney Smith used to exclaim, 
as he flung wide the shutters, Glorify the room! and in 
these three words lies the whole secret of decoration. Deco- 
ration is the glorification of the room. Let in first the light of 
heaven, and then the light of good taste, refinement and cultiva- 
tion. Drive out the darkness of ugly colors and inharmonious, 
combinations; glorify the room with pure art and taste. Call a 
trained artist t,o the work, and the result will be both gratifying 
and successful. Such artists are Messrs. Carlile & Joy, the cele- 
brated house, sign and fresco painters and plain and decorative 
paper hangers, whose main office and salesrooms are located at 
No. 1727 Chestnut Street, with paint and fresco departments at 
Nos. 1727 t" 1739 St. Joseph's Avenue. This firm have had a life's 
training and experience in the beautifying of homes, offices and 
public buildings with artistic designs botli original and tasteful, 
and have been established in the business here since 1S70. Their 
main establishment on Chestnut Street is four stories in height, 
20x150 feet in dimensions, and one of the largest and finest in tins 
line in the city or state. As general interior decorators, making 
a leading specialty of fine artistic work, this firm have no superiors 
and few equals in the country. The work achieved by them on the 
Broad Street Theatre, the Chestnut Street Theatre, and the 
Weigh tmao mansion, in this city, sufficiently demonstrates their 
Commanding ability and superior skill, while their services are in 
import, uit request throughout Pennsylvania, New York, New jer- 
sey, Delaware and Maryland, and are rendered in such a manner 
as to increase thi Ir reputation and leave an honored name behind 
them. Tic > are doing a line cbiss of gilt edge work, and are sup- 
plying a line of leaded and stained glass, that is nowhere else 
obtainable. Steady employment is given to some two hundred 
skilled hands, and orders by telephone, telegraph or mail are 
given prompt and careful attention in all cas.-s. The co-partners. 
Messrs. Wm. B. Carlile and Maurice Joy, are gentlemen of the 
highest repute and standing in business circles, whose work is 
every whi re recognized as an example of what can be achieved in 
the way of magnificence by a master mind in the busil 

WH. BONER & CO., .sheet Music and Music Books, No 
llO'J Chestnut Street.— The nterprise which 

t contributes to tic advancement ol the mu ileal tastes 
of the pe iple, must always be a popular pursuit, par- 
ticularly in tliis. country where music as a study is cultivated to a 
marked degree. Among those establishments which have done 
much to gratify the refined and artistic tastes of this cultured city 
we may mention the well-known and prosperous house of Messrs. 
William H. Boner & Co., and who has for many years a most 
enviable reputation for the superior excellence of its products and 
the honorable manner in which its business affairs are conducted. 
Mr. Boner is a native of North Carolina and has been a resident of 
Philadelphia ever since 1857. Having acquired a thorough knowl- 
edge of tins business in all its various branches he inaugurated 
this enterprise on his own account, under the present firm title in 
1S67, at this location which he has occupied continuously ever 
since, and has built up a very large trade which extends through- 
out the entire United States, and is constantly increasing in vol- 
ume and importance. The store Is the oldest of its kind on this 
street, and in addition to its capacity is a basement of the same 
dimensions, 25x125 feet. The store is handsomely fitted up and 
most conveniently arranged for the prompt transaction of the 
business, which is both wholesale and retail, and the comfort of 
patrons. The stock is full and complete, and in tact the premises 
are a perfect repository of vocal and instrumental gems, while its 
information on musical matters is derived from the best and most; 
accurate sources. Here can be found at all times everything per- 
taining to the line of musical publications cither of their own or 
other standard productions, embracing all the latest and most 
popular vocal and instrumental gems by the most celebrated com- 
posers of the present time, including those of the old masters 
such as Handel, .Mozart, Beethoven, Balfe, Meyerbeer, Wagner and' 
others, including the great operas as well as those of the present 
day. Here will be found also the leading and most reliable instruc- 
tion books as recommended by the best teachers in the world, and, 
in fact, the character of all goods emanating from this establish- 
mectare reliable and first class in every particular. 

GEORGE HERZOG, Decorative Tainter, No. 1334 Chestnut 
Street.— The thoroughly artistic effects, beauty of designs 
and exquisite workmanship in the line of mural art, decor- 
ating and all-round decorative painting, George Her;og, 
the widely known artist of No. 13S4 Chestnut Street, this city, with 
office also at No 501 Fifth Avenue. New York, stands at the head of 
his profession. He is by general consent one of the foremost 
exponents of the art indicated in the United States, and has a 
national reputation, some of the notable buildings and finest pri- 
vate residences throughout the country attesting his skill. Mr. 
Herzog, who is a gentleman in the prime of life, is a native of Ger- 
many, where he acquired his profession, and has resided in this 
city since 1S72. He is a thoroughly practical designer and an 
expert decorative painter of twenty years' experience, and is in 
short, a complete master of his art in all its branches. He was 
formerly a member of Reiser & Herzog, which he succeeded in 
1&77, and has occupied the present commodious quarters about 
eleven years. Mr. Herzog occupies here a finely appointed suite 
of oi ces (three rooms) on the third floor, and is assisted by auefti- 
Cient staff, emploj ing some twenty-five hands, all of them skilled 
workmen, the most of them Americans, and his patronage, which 
i.s of ,i highly flattering character, extends to all parts of tin 
try and is steadily improving. Mr. Herzog Is prepared to enter 
into contracts foi all clasip, of work in the line indicated, includ- 
ing frescoing, ceiling- and h ill decoration s, and high-class Interior 
di lorative painting of every description, special attention being 
given to churches, theatres, and fine dwellings, and guarantees 
satisfaction in every instance, exercising Immediate personal 
supervision over all work executed. Among th^ more noteworthy 
buildings for which may be seen evidences of this gentleman's 
artistic skill can be named the Liederkranz I ill. New 

Yoik: the Harmonie Club building, same city; the Academy of 
Music, Philadelphia; Union League building, this city; Egyptian 
Hall and Masonic Temp!.', and a number of others equally worthy 
o! i te : also the residences of Charles Dan ah, E 11. Filler, p. a. 
B. Widener, Thorn. Dolan, and about one hundred handsome man- 
sions and villus throughout the United States. 




■EVER A. DICKINSON", Pry Gomls, Importers and Commis- 
sion Merchants. Xos. 223, 223. ami 227 Cliestnut Street.— A 
reliable and representative firm, successfully engaged In 
the Philadelphia dry goods commission and importing, is that of Messrs. Meyer & Dickinson, whose office and sale, - 

n is .ire situated at Nos. 223 to 227 Chestnut Street. This business 

was established January 1, lssr-, by Messrs. Charles H. Meyer and 
Jos. R. Dickinson, who eventually admitted into partnership Henry 
Lewis Meyer in 18S5,and Carl Ebeling,Jr.,iu 1889. The partners bring 
great practical experience to bear and possess an intimate 
knowledge of every detail and feature of the dry goods commis- 
sion trade and the requirements of the American market. The firm 
occupy two spacious and well equipped buildings, which a,i e fully 
stocked with an extensive and well selected assortment 9! dry 
goods, woolens, silk goods, upholstery, etc. They have likewise a 
branch in New York at Nos. 83 and 85 Greene Street. Messrs. 
Meyer & Dickinson handle only the best and most desirable grades 
of goods, and offer advantages in prices, that necessarily attract 
the attention of close and careful buyers. The woolen department 
is under the management of Mr. E. Fink. The firm promptly 
til! orders at the lowest possible prices, and their trade now ex- 
tends throughout all sections of the United States. Charles H. 
Meyer, the senior partner, is also a member of the firm of C. H. 
Meyer & Co., and is German consul for Pennsylvaniaand Delaware. 
Messrs. Meyer & Dickinson are also the selling agents iu this city 
for the Miesch Manufacturing Company, of Paterson, N. J., of which 
they are the principal stockholders. This company, which is in- 
corporated under the laws of New Jersey, has a paid up capital of 
$100,000 and manufacture on an extensive scale all kinds of fine 
ribbons and silk goods that are used in the millinery trade, making 
a specialty of manufacturing only the finest class of goods. The 
factory is a spacious three-story building 60x2no feet in size and 
which is fitted up with all the latest improved machinery and ap- 
pliances necessary for the prosecution of the business on the 
largest scale with a capacity of 150 looms and is run by steam power. 
This business was started on July 1,1889. and the goods have 
already attracted a large demand wherever introduced, and the 
trade of the company is steadily increasing, the tine quality of the 
goods making them general favorites with the trade and public 
everywhere. Henry Lewis Meyer is the representative of the 
house in New York. The partners are highly esteemed in trade 
circles for their excellent business qualities, promptness and 
integrity, ami have gained the entire confidence of their numerous 
patrons in all sections of the country. 

ANDERSON, JOHNSTON & CO.. Manufacturers of Children's 
Carriages, Velocipedes, Doll Coaches. Etc., No. 150 Dock 
Street, (East of Second Street).— The oldest hou^e in the 
United States devoted to the manufacture of children's car 
riages, velocipedes, etc., is that of Messrs. Anderson, Johnston & Co., 
of No. 130 Dock Street. They have alsoever maintained the enviable 
reputation of pioducing the most elegant and durable work, The 
business was founded in 1841 by the late Mr. C. Askam, succeeded 
by his son, Mr. James Askam. They early achieved a national 
celebrity for the superiority of their product and developed a trade 
of corresponding magnitude. Upon the decease of Mr. James 
Askam in 1377. the present firm succeeded to the proprietorship 
composed of Mr. M. M. Anderson. Mr. Robert Johnston and Mr. 
Luke Askam. They are all possesed of vast practical experience 
acquired from long identification with the house, and superior 
facilities coupled with influential connections. Mr. Anderson is a 
native of Ireland, resident in Philadelphia since 1852, and who 
has been connected with the bouse since 1S5S. Mr. Robert Johnston 
was also born in Ireland and came to Philadelphia iu 1845, joining 
the house in 18-18. Mr Askam was born iu Dublin, Ireland, and is 
the son of the founder and a member of the firm since 1877. The 
business was originally located on Market Street, thence removing 
to Second Street, and has occupied its present site for upwards of 
thirty years past. The factory and warerooms comprise four 
floors, 50x75 feet iu dimensions, where are manufactured and car- 
ried iu stock tin- finest grades of children's carriages, richly uphol 
sterol and trimmed, easy running, handy, artistic and durable 
Both as to price and quality these goods maintain the lead. The 
firm also manufacture full lines of velocipedes, doll coaches, etc., 
and do a fine local trade, while they -.ell to leading jobbers and 

dealers all through the west to California. Liberal and honorable 
methods have over characterized this honorable firm and it is in 
every way thoroughly representative of the best methods and is 
noted for leading in introducing new and attractive styles, its pro- 
ducts meeting with ready sale and affording universal satisfaction 
wherever introduced. 

ANDOVER IKON COMPANY, Johu R. Fell, President; 
Charles Gilpin, Jr., Secretary and Treasurer; Furnaces, 
Phillipsburg, N. J. Office: No. 240 South Third Street.— 
One of the important industries of New Jersey and whose 
headquarters are permanently located in Philadelphia is the 
Audover Iron Company, manufacturers of pig iron of superior 
grades. The company was duly organized and incorporated under 
a special charter in 1863. It lias had able and enterprising man 
agemeut, and has grown steadily iu importance and in the volume 
of its business, its annual output now being upwards of 40,000 tons. 
It has a cash capital of $1, 000,000 held by leading capitalists. It is 
situated at Phillipsburg, N. J., and comprises two furnaces origin- 
ally built in 1848, but, enlarged and remodelled siuce. The product 
includes iron especially adapted for the manufacture of plate and 
sheet iron, wire, nails and car wheels. The Audover brand 
of iron has many qualification? of superiority and its large 
consumption by the great staple industries of the country indi- 
cates the skilful and advanced methods of the management. Mr. 
Joseph C. Kent, the superintended of the works, is a practical 
iron manufacturer. Mr. Johu P.. Fell, the president, was elected 
to the chair in 1888, bringing to bear wide experience gained by 
long identification with the Pennsylvania iron trade. He is inter 
ested iu various other furnaces and mills, aud is the president of 
the well known Allentown Rolling Mills. Mi'. Charles Giipiu, Jr., 
the secretary and treasurer, was born in Philadelphia and has all 
his active business life been identified with the iron trade. He has 
been connected with the company for eighteen years past, and 
ably and faithfully discharges the onerous duties devolving upon 
him. The company's product has been too long iu use and of too 
high a standard to require further comment and Philadelphia Is to 
be congratulated upon being made the company's permanent 

DC. HUMPHREYS, Awnings, Stencils, Signs, Etc.. of every 
description, No. 27 South Third Street.— By the side of old 
business houses new enterprises are continually arising 
aud quickly gaining by the energy brought into their man- 
agement, a forefront position iu their particular lines of trade. This 
"is precisely what should be, since it marks a progress and advance- 
ment in the welfare of the community where such houses are 
located. Among Philadelphia's new business establishments that 
have been sufficiently long founded to give evidence of being 
placed on a firm basis and of meeting with popular acceptance 
and support that of Mr. D. C. Humphreys, at No. 27 South Third 
Street is deserving of special mention. Mr. Humphreys is a man- 
ufacturer of awnings. stencils, signs, tarpauliugs, oil clothing, ban- 
ners, wedding canopies, etc., and hires out wedding canopies, 
camp chairs, dancing crash, etc. Mr. Humphrey has been identi- 
fied with this line of business from boyhood, and is thoroughly 
acquainted with its every detail. He was born twenty-six years 
ago in New York city, and when twelve years of age went to learn 
his present trade. For the past twelve years he has resided in 
Philadelphia, and iu July, 1888, started business on his own account 
at his present location. He at once met witli the most practical 
encouragement aud support, and lias been continuously increasing 
the number of his patrons, until he now lias a trade extending, not 
only throughout the city, but through Pennsylvania, New Jersey 
and Delaware. His business premises comprise the second and 
third tioors of the building, and these arc each 25xG0 feet in dimen- 
sion-, and equipped with every appliance for the economical and 
successful prosecution of the business. Six hands are employed, 
and wagon covers, awnings, stencils, signs, etc., are promptly 
made to order at the lowest rates. A heavy stock of tarpauliugs, 
oil clothing, banners, wedding canopies, camp chairs, dancing 
crash, etc., is constantly kept on hand, and orders by mail or tele- 
graph are given immediate attention, and business relations estab- 
lished with this house are sure to prove pleasant and profitable to 
all concerned, and to continue for a long time. 

ITS WEALTH AND 1 N L) U S T R 1 1 s . 


BROWN BROTHERS & COMPANY, Bankers, Fourth and Chest- 
nut Streets. The International prominence ami high stand- 
ing ol the famous house oi Messrs. Brown Bros. & Co., bankers, 
an' such, that no explanator} reference is necessary In this 
commercial review of Philadelphia, but a tow facts in regard to 
its rise, progress and wide field of usefulness will be of gi":>t. 
interest tu our numerous readers. Tin, business was originally 
founded in Baltimore by Mi. Alexander Brown in 1798, the father 
of William, George, John ami James Brown, who eventually bi 
members of the firm. The Liverpool house was established iu 1813, 
the Philadelphia one in 1815. and the New York established in 1836. 
Tlie Individual members of the firm at the present date are Messrs. 
Francis A. Hamilton. Sir Mark Wilks Collet, Bart, (at present Gov- 
ernor of the Bank of England) Howard Potter, Frederick Chalmers 
and Alexander Hargreaves Brown, all of Loudon,and Messrs.James 
M.Brown, ("has. D. Dickey, .lol in Crosby Brown, Waldrou P. Broun 
and D. Dickey. Jr., of New Xork. The New York, Philadel- 
phia, and Boston houses are conducted under the style and title of 
Brown Bros. & Co., the Baltimore house under that of Alexander 
Brown & Sons, while the London house is known by the firm name 
of Brown, Shipley & Co. in Philadelphia the firm occupy aspa- 
Cious and elegantly furnished banking house. They transact a 
general hanking business upon a scale of great magnitude, far 
exceeding in volume that of any of our national banks, and with, 
connections and correspondents that literally encircle the globe. 
The firm buy and sell bills of exchange on Great Britain and Ire- 
land, France, Germany, Belgium. Holland, Switzerland. Norway, 
Denmark, Sweden, the British West Indies, India and Australia. 
They likewise issue commercial and travelers' credits in sterling, 
available in any part of the wot Id, in dollars for use in this and 
adjacent countries and in francs for use in Martinique and Guade- 
loupe. The firm make telegraphic transfers of money betweeu the 
United States and Europe ami also make collections of drafts 
drawn abroad on all points iu this country and Canada, and also 
of drafts drawn iu the United States on all foreign countries. 
They likewise receive deposits subject to check. They are mem- 
bers of the London, New York, Philadelphia and Baltimore Stock 
Exchanges and buy and sell stocks, bonds and other securities on 
commission. Tins is the heaviest private banking house in the Uni- 
ted States, and is backed with abundance ol capital and managed 
by able and responsible financiers. Since its foundation the firm of 
Messrs. Brown Brothers & Co., has passed unscathed through all' 
commercial panics and crises, and at the present day offers unex- 
celled advantages for the satisfactory transaction of all business 
intrusted to it. 


Frederick Phillips, President; George N. Stubbs 
Cashier.— Among the ably and conservatively managed 
financial institutions of Philadelphia is the Merchants 
Exchange Bank which was founded in 1871, being originally 
known as the Iron Bank. Iu HTJ it was duly reorganized under 
the present name, and with a cash capital of $100,000, which was 
promptly taken by leading capitalists and business men. The 
bank made rapid progress under the guidance of Mr. Moro 
Phillips, its tirst president, ami proved of great benefit to tie vasl 
manufacturing and commercial Interests of this city. In 1SS5, he 
was succeeded by Ins son Mr. Frederick Phillips, the proprietor of 
theCainden Chemical Works, and a gentleman of large experience 
in banking and financial circles In ]s>;. Mr. George N. Stub! , 
was appointed cashmr. lie is a widely and favorably known i . 
ness man. and has a thorough practical knowledge of finance, ably 
ami faithfully discharging the onerous duties devolving upon him. 
The board of directors includes the president and cashier ; Mr. II. 
L. Carter, the president of the Susquehanna Water Power and 
Paper Company and also the president of the York Haven 
Paper Company, Mr. A. B: Frost and Mr. M. W. Watklnson Tiie 
bank transacts a general business, deposits are received sub 
ject to check, money is loaned on approved collaterals, prime 
commercial paper is discounted ami it may be added that the 
bank handles lines of the l"-st "gilt edge" paper in the city: 
letters of credit are issued, exi l. tnge bought and sold, and col- 
lections made on all points through the bank's chain of cones 

p lents, which includes the National Bank of New York. The 

bank's huge lines of deposits and its renumeratlve business, rendet 

il 01 "[ tie- mosl prosperous in the city. It has a surplus fund of 
with undivided profits, and is one of the popular and pro- 
gressive financial Institutions of this city, conducted on the best 
methods, the conservative policy by which all its nftafrs are m tu 
aged, with a due regard to the wants of the business community 
being generally recognized. President Phillips is one of Philadel- 
phia's, most respected capitalists, ami li is been identified with the 
bank's progress almost from its inception. He is the proprie- 
toi oi the Camden Chemical Works) winch are heated at Cam- 
den, N. J., and are of the most extensive character, covering 
an area of eight acres and employing an average force of two 
hundred hands. Ties., works are the only manufactory of phos- 
phorus iu the United States, and produce a quality of the utmost 
purity and excellence. They are fitted up in the most elaborate, 
complete manner, and produce all the various staple acids and 
fertilizers known to the trade. The works are the largest manu- 
factory of glauber salts in the country and in every repect are the 
model works of the kind in the United States. The works were 
established in Lsgo by Mr. Moro Phillips and Mr. F. Phillips, and 
the output has a high reputation. 

GROVES. WILSON & GROVES, Importers. Manufacturers and 
Retailers of Cabinet Furniture, Uphulstery and Bedding, 
Lace Curtains, Draperies and Decorations, Nos. 10J2 
and 10_'4 yiarket Street.— The development of the 
fine arts as applied to the utilitarian purposes of the outfit 
and decoration of private residences, offices, &C, has become a 
marked and most gratifying feature of the age. To the eminent 
house of Messrs. Groves, Wilson & Groves, belongs the credit of 
popularizing the choicest artistic achievements of the cabinet 
maker, the upholsterer ami the decorator. This representative 
concern was founded in IsTB, by Messrs. Groves, Thompson & 
Shaffer, succeeded in 1980 by Messrs. Groves, Thompson & Groves. 
In 1885, Mr. Thompson retired, and the present firm was formed, 
composed of Mr. William Groves. Mr. Alexander Wilson and Mr. 
William Groves, Jr. The co-partners possess every possible quali- 
fication, including ability, experience and perfected facilities, and 
they carry one of the largest, and the finest stock of art furni- 
ture, rich upholstery goods, curtains and decorative materials 
of any in the middle states. Their warerooins occupy an imposing 
structure with seven floors as showrooms. 'JJx2W feet, hand- 
somely fitted and thoroughly organized with departments, 
giving the most realistic idea of the character and appearance of 
the furniture in household surroundings. A large volume might 
be filled with descriptions of the beautiful goods manufactured by 
this firm for leading citizens of this city and the middle states. 
Every article of furniture Is made under their immediate super- 
vision, from new and artistic designs in all the popular cabinet 
woods, while the firm makes a specialty of embodying the wishes 
and views of those about to decorate and furnish private resi- 
dences, fitting up the interiors iu the most elaborate manner, and 
harmonizing the same in all the various features with the furni- 
ture selected. There is a refined taste and an attention to details 
in this house furniture and decorations, obtainable nowhere eise, 
as an appreciative public abundantly demonstrate by their 
increasing orders. The firm, with characteristic enterprise has 
rec< ntly issued a beautiful descriptive pamphlet of typical styles 
of their bed room and dining room suites, bookcases, desks, hall- 
stands, etc. Tlie pictures represent the furnished interiors, and 
are most beautiful and well repay close study. These illustrations 
abundantly demonstrate that the firm is now making lines of goods 
not only tirst class in workmanship, but likewise in correct styles, 
tas[,f U !, artistic, and of most elaborate finish. Tlie firm make 
specialties also of the richest and newest imported upholstery 

g Is, heavy curtains in new patterns ,,[ Lur Romans, Sheilas, and 

Velours. All the populai makes of lace curtains in exclusive 
designs, shades, awnings, slip covers, ere, arc here, and a! pi 
which quality considered, cannot be duplicated els, where. In 
interior woodwork, hardwood mantels, wainscots, etc., and all pop 
ular new decorative materials, this enterprising house maintains 

the lead, ami doe .i I y ami growing trade throughout this city 

and state, New Jersey, Maryland, Delaware, Ohio and tic- south. 
Upwards of forty skilled cabinet-makers and other-- are employed. 
and the house is iu every way progressive, the leading expouent 

ill it- line. 



NEWNAM <£ SONS. Engravers and Plate Printers, (Jayne's 
Building) No. 237 Dock Street.— Like all other inventions 
engraving and plate printing lias undergone a sort of revo- 
lution until from being a crudeand slow process it lias been 
brought to the state of comparative perfection that it obtains to- 
day. Philadelphia has always occupied a deservedly prominent 
position in the history of all branches of the engraver's and print 
ter's art in the United States, and the city possesses some of the 
most notable and best equipped establishments identified with the 
craft that can be found anywhere. Prominent among the engrav- 
ing and plate printing establishments here can be named that of 
Messrs. Newnam & Sons, of No. 237 Dock Street. The business of 
this concern was founded as far back as 1837 by Mr. John M. 
Butler, who conducted it until his death in 1865, when he was suc- 
ceeded by Mr- B. P. Newnam. This gentleman admitted into 
partnership his sons, John and George, in lS- ; 6, and since then the 
style of the concern has been Newnam & Sons. All the partners 
have spent the best years of their lives in the trade, in every 
department of which they are thoroughly proficient. Their prem- 
ises comprise two Boors which have an area of 40x100 feet and this 
is provided -with all necessary tools, presses and other appliances 
appertaining to the business. None but skilled and experienced 
artisans are employed, and the house is noted for the superior 
excellence of its engraving and plate printing. A specialty is 
made of photogravure and etching printing, and every facility is 
possessed for filling all orders satisfactorily with dispatch. The 
trade of the house extends all over New York and Pennsylvania 
The partners are uatives of this city, and are personally held in 
the highest esteem. 

FS. ROSENTHAL, Commission Merchant. Worsted, Woolen 
and Cotton Yarn, No. 22 Strawberry Street.— In its special 
t field of commercial enterprise the house of Mr. F. S. 
Rosenthal, the well-known commission merchant in 
worsted, woolen and cotton yarn, at No. 22 Strawberry Street, 
holds a commanding position in this city and throughout a wide ex- 
tent of country. It has been in successful operation for a period of 
ten years, and in its specialties it possesses the best possible facili- 
ties for supplying the trade to its perfect satisfaction. The building 
occupied for trade purposes is three stories high, 30x100 feet in di- 
mensions, and every modern convenience is at hand for conducting 
the business smoothly and for ministering to the wants of the trade 
witli the utmost promptness and disptatch. Mr. Rosenthal is widely 
prominent as sole selling agent In Pennsylvania and the south for 
the Mount Vernon worsted mills of Manayunk. Pa. ; the Economy 
worsted mills, of Manayunk : the Jenks Mills, of Pawtucket, R. I. ; 
and the New Union mills, of Manayunk. Consignments of these 
products are constantly reaching the house, and the stock here 
displayed contains the best goods in worsted, woolen au-l cotton 
yarns known to the trade. The exhibition is singularly attractive, 
and its detailed completeness surpasses that of any similar estab 
lishineiit in the city. The connections of the house with the most 
reputable manufacturers are of the most intimate and influential 
character, its resources are ample and abundant, its facilities are 
complete and perfect, and it commands every favorable opportunity 
of the market, enabling the proprietor to guarantee the prompt and 
satisfactory fulfillment of all orders, and to offer inducements to 
the trade, as regards botli reliability of goods and liberality of 
terms and prices, that challenge comparson and defy competition 
The trade is broadly distributed throughout Pennsylvania Llela- 
ware. Maryland and the eastern states, am! is steadily increasing 
in volume and value. Mr. Rosenthal is a native of Austria, a resi- 
dent of this country since 1669, and of high social and business 
standing in this city. 

-j-y C. COOPEK & CO.. Brokers in Stocks. Oil. drain and Pro 
l— | visions. No. 1018 Chestnut street.— The facilities enjoyed 
JL j[ . by the house of H. C. Cooper & Co., in every branch or 
the brokerage business m stocks, oil, grain and provisions 
are rarely equalled in this city. It has an influential and wide- 
spread connection, a large and permanent clientele, and a high 
reputation in financial circles, and is entrusted by in any parties 
with important commissions for investment which receive at all 
times th« most careful consideration. The office of the firm is 
provided with direct wires to New York and Chicago. They give 

special attention to both stocks, grain, oil and pro-, tsions, buy and 
sell all securities dealt In attheXevv York. Philadelphia and Chi- 
cago Stock Exchanges, at lowest rates of commission permitted 
by those organizations, obtaining continuous reports of the 
markets, executing all orders in s,ocks at Board prices, and trans- 
acting all business -promptly and satisfactorily. Orders for the 
purchase or sale of stocks, bonds, petroleum, grain and provi- 
sions are filled in quantities to suit purchasers, from ten shares of 
stock to five thousand shares, and grain, provisions and oils in like 
proportions and on margins of from one per cent, upward. In this 
system of business losses are limited to the amount of margin 
deposited, while profits are unlimited, and all the advantages of ' 
the markets obtainable by members of the different Exchanges 
are offered to clients as though they weie present on the flour of 
the Exchange themselves. Full quotationsof the different markets 
are received of all transactions and posted on blackboards in the 
oflice for the information of patrons and the public. The current 
gossip of Wall Street and Chicago is also received, and all sources 
of information are searched as a guide to the market. This office 
is alike opeu to the man of wealth and to the man of limited means, 
and all receive the same consideuntion at their hands. Mr. Cooper 
isanativeof Bucks County, Pa., a resident of this city for thirty 
years, still in the prime of life, and enjoys a business connection 
that fully shows his ability, energy and influence. . 

ROBERT SHOEMAKF.R & CO., Importing and Manufacturing 
Druggists and Chemists, North East Corner of Fourth and 
Race Street-.— The oldest in continuous active connection, 
and whose house is the leading representative in its line, is 
Mr. Robert Shoemaker, the prominent and honored head of theold 
and enterprising house of Messrs. Robert Shoemaker & Co., w hole- 
sale druggists and chemists. The business was founded by Mr. 
Shoemaker in 1837, who early achieved an enviable reputation 
for the pui ity and moderate prices of his stock of drugs and medi- 
cines. The steady growth of trade throughout the succeeding 
decide resulted in lS5o in his removing to his present stand, so 
desirably located at the corner of Fourth and Race Streets. In 
IS69 he took into co-partnership his two sous, Messrs. Richard M., 
and Thomas E. Shoemaker, and nine years ago took in Mr. Benja- 
min EI. Shoemaker. Jr., all young and enterprising business men, 
thoroughly versed as wholesale druggists and manufacturing 
chemists. The firm now includes Mr. Robert Shoemaker, Richard 
M. Shoemaker, Mr. Thomas E Shoemaker, and Mr. Benjamin H. 
Shoemaker, dr. The house covers the widest range of goods inclus- 
ive of and allied to drugs and chemicals, while they are nationally , 
celebrated for their skill and accuracy as manufacturing chemists. 
The stock carried is one of enormous magnitude, and the firm 
occupies an entire Bve-story and basement building, 60x70 feet in 
dimensions, and suitably fitted up. with every convenience at com 
maud. The firm have a fully equipped and extensive laboratory, 
where under the most skilful supervision, a large force of hands 
are employed in the manufacture of full lines of fluid extracts, 
syrups, pills, etc . after the most approved formulae, and of stand- 
ard accuracy and purity, the firm enjoying special facilities for 
securing the choicest and freshest of roots, herbs, barks, gums, 
chemicals, and compounding the same with the utmost nicety. 
Among specialties in addition to a complete stock uf drugs, chem- 
icals, essential oils and patent medicines are full lilies of powdered 
vanilla, and cod liver oil of the most famous brand, directly im- 
ported from Norway : they are the sole agents in Philadelphia for 
the eminent New Yolk house of W H. Schieffelin & Co., an impor- 
tant thing for pharmacists in this city and the middle states. They 
are also sole agents in the United States for Johnston's fluid beef. 
Hunter's Scotch oat meal, etc. They manufacture the strongest 

and purest tl.iv ig extracts, and pure -pices, whole and ground. 

Quality has ever been the first consideration with this honorable 
old hou-e while then scale of prices cannot fail to please. The 
trade developed is one ol corresponding magnitude, and the firm 
are in every way thoroughly representative of the most advanced 
progress of pharmaceutical science. Mr. Robert Shoemaker is an 
influential member of business circles, and a respected citizen, a 
valued factor in building up Philadelphia's commerce. He Pas 
able support in Messrs. Richard M , Tims, t: and Ben j. II. Shoe- 
maker, Jr., and the house is a vigorous exponent of the soundest 
principles governing mercantile lit" 



N<£ G. TAYLOR -COMPANY. Importers of Tin Plate and 
Dealers In Metals, sheet Iron, Wire, Etc: Offices, Nos. 301, 
303 ami 305 Branch Street.— The oldest anil most cele- 
brated house in America importing tin roofing plates and 
dealing generally in sheet iron, copper and other metals is that of 
Messrs. N". & 0. Taylor Co., of Philadelphia. It was in the year 
1S10 that the grandfathers of the present members of this firm laid 
the foundations of what has proved the representative house of its 
kind. They early developed an important trade and were even- 
tually succeeded by their respective sons, Messrs. Nathan and 
George E.Taylor. These gentlemen actively continued the busi- 
ness on the basis of equity and efficiency for which it had ever 
been celebrated, and in 1S61, upon the death of Nathan Taylor, 
changed the style to that of N. & G. Taylor Co. In 1SS2, Mr. George 

E. Taylor died, after a long, honored and useful career, and Messrs. 
Nathan aud George Taylor, and grandsons of the founders of the 
bouse, assumed the control of the business. They were born and 
grew up in Philadelphia, and early iD life became connected with 
their parents' establishment, acquii'ing a thorough practical knowl- 
edge of every detail, and when in turn becoming proprietors, 
bringing to their aid every possible qualification, including vast 
practical experience, perfected facilities and influential connec- 
tions at, home and abroad. In 1S10 the business was started on 
Second Street, subsequently was removed to Third Street, and in 
1SJ.J was permanently located at its present central stand. The 
premises are unusually spacious, comprising five floors and base- 
ment, 4<ixl50 feet in dimensions, elaborately equipped with every 
convenience, and where is carried the heaviest and most desirable 
stock of tin plate In the United States. This tin plate is the promi- 
nent specialty, and has deservedly achieved and maintained a 
national celebrity. It is worthy of special mention that this was 
the first house to sell what is kuowu as the " Guaranteed " roofing 
tin. and the only firm in the world to stamp its name on each and 
everj sheetof tin. Theirs is the "Old Style" brand of hand-dipped 
and double-coated rooting Terne plate, by far the finest roofing tin 
made and specially manufactured fnr the American trade of Messrs. 
N.& G.Taylor Co., by a famous house in Wales. Their guarantee is 
the fullest and most emphatic that could be worded ; guaranteeing 
it to be the heaviest coated plate aud richest in tin surface of any ; 
always uniform in quality and of the original brand; to have a 
thicker coating than any of its imitations, to be the heaviest plate 
made of standard thickness, fiat ami true, perfectly square, fault- 
lessly assorted, full size, perfect in every respect, and to be sold 
at the minimum of profit and at its real value. Architects gen- 
erally, the trade and sound Jud ;es of Terne plates use no others, 
as they find that the "Old Style" Registered Target aud Arrow- 
trade mark brand of Messrs. N. & G. Taylor Co.. Is far superior to 
any other and is much the most durable and economical. Their 
- ' es of these incomparable plates have deservedly attained pro- 
portions of enormous magnitude, and the firm numbers among its 
customers leading concerns all over the (jnlted States. The ci in 
p mj aie also leading dealers in I ■■• b st brand of sheet iron, sheet 
and ingot copper, iron, steel and copper wire, stamped ware, etc. 
Quality has ever been the first consideration of the Messrs. Taylor, 
ami th-ir fathers befon them, and no housi ei joys such an envi- 
able ui well Reserved reputation. They employ a forceof mo 
hinds in the building, and have fifty-four agencies established, 
one in each of the principal c< ntres of population, while a staff of 

fifteen traveling men are required on the road. As proprietor-- of 
the oldest and leading house In tin-, line in the United States, 
Messrs. N. and G. Taylor are prominent factors in promoting 
the commercial prosperity of Philadelphia and aie worthy mer- 
chants who have e\er retained the confidence of leading commer- 
cial aud financial circles. 

CONWAY BROTHERS, importers and Jobbers of Toys, fancy 
Goods aud Novelties; Nos. 229 and 2.';! Church Street.— A rep- 
resentative and one of the most noted houses in the United 
States, successfully engaged in the importation of toys, fancy 

goods and small wares, is that of .Messrs. Conway Brothers, whose 
office ami warehouse are located at Nos. 229 and '231 
Church Street. This business was established in IS55, by Thos. G. 
Conway, who was succeeded by the firm of Conway Brothers, both 
of whom brought a long practical experience to bear, coupled with 
an intimate knowledge of the requirements of the American 
market. Mr. Thos. G. Conway died, and his brothers assumed sole 
control of the business still conducting it under the old firm name. 
The premises occupied, comprise a spacious six-story building, 
fully equipped with every appliance and convenience for the 
accommodation and display iif the immense and well selected stock. 
Messrs. Conway Brothers import direct from the most famous 
houses in England, France and Germany, all kiuds of toys, small 
wares, fancy goods, novelties of all descriptions, etc. They 
promptly fill orders, and their trade extends throughout all sec- 
tions of the United States aud Canada, while it is steadily increas- 
ing, owing to the superiority and reliability of theirproductions. 
The firm promptly forward upon application a complete illustrated 
catalogue of their toys, which are the pick of all markets. This 
catalogue is illustrated with one thousand cuts, which are exact 
photographic copies of the goods and prices are quoted in plain 
net figures. Messrs. T. P. and J. F. Conway are both natives of 
Baltimore, but have resided in Philadelphia for the last 39 years. 
They are energetic and enterprising business men, who enjoy Che 
entire confidence of their numerous patrons, owing to their integ- 
rity aud fidelity to straightforward business principles. 

RB. WIGTON & SONS, Miners and Shippers of Morrisdale 
and Cunard Bituminous Coals, Manufacturers of Coke 
m Fire Brick. No. 228 South Fourth Street.— The centre of 
the American trade In bituminous coal and coke is admit- 
tedly Philadelphia and thehigh character and standiugof the prom- 
inent houses engaged in it are the best possible proofs of the mag- 
nitude and importance of this branch of the nation's commercial 
interests. In this connection special reference is made in this coru- 
ruerciarreview'ofthecity.tothe representative and old established 
house of Messrs. K. B. Wigton & Sons, whose offices are located at 
No. 22S, South Fourth Street. The firm has also an extensive estab- 
lishment at No. 49 Broadway, New York. Their coal wharves are 
situated at Greenwich Point, Port Richmond, South Amboy, Port 
Johnson, and Baltimore. This extensive business was established 
thirty years ago by Mr. R. B. Wigton, who eventually in 1S60 admit- 
ted his sons, Messrs. William H. and Frank II. Wigton. into partner- 
ship. Messrs. R. B. Wigton A Sons make a specialty of bituminous 
coals, which they mine from their own celebrated Morrisdale and 
Cunard mines and ship direct by cargo or carload lots to any point 
that may be desired. These coals are admirably adapted for use in 
steamships, locomotives, glass works, foundries etc., wherever in- 
tense heat is required. The firm also turn out vast quantities of 
first-class coke, and manufacture a very superior quality of fire 
brick, which has become highly popular with manufacturers and 
others, owing to its durability and uniform excellence. They 
promptly fill orders for coal, coke or fire brick at the lowest ruling 
market prices, and their trade extends principally all along the 
Atlantic coast, the middle, north-eastern and southern states. 
During the past year the firm sold 600,000 tons of coal. Mr. R. B- 
Wigton, the senioi partner, is a native of Chester Co., Pa. He is 
one of the pioneers of the bituminous coal trade aud is highly 
esteemed by tic community for his enterprise and sterling integ- 
rity. Mr. F. II. Wigton Is a popular member of the Union League 
and Manufacturers' Clubs, and is one of Philadelphia's public- 
spirited and influential citizens. The firm Is thoroughly identified 
with the best interests of Piiiladi Iphia, whose commerce they 
are promoting with zeal, energy and success. 



COMPANY.— One of the oldest anil mast solidly prosper- 
ous financial institutions in the United States is the Girard 
Life Insurance, Annuity and Trust Company, of Phila- 
delphia. It was duly incorporated on March 17, 1836, and - with 
but one exception is the oldest trust company in Pennsyl- 
vania. To an original cash capital of $3(30.000, its prudent and 
conservative management has added a surplus of $1,100,000, a 
sufficiently impressive proof of the company's prosperity, with- 
out further comment. Progress is the orderof the day, and the Gir- 
ai'd in response to the growing demands of the public is now 
bringing to completion building operations and increase of capi- 
tal which greatly enlarge its' facilities. The stockholders have 
agreed to add SI, 000,00) to Us resources, equally divided between 
capital and surplus, and the capital on January 1st, B90, will 
therefore stand at 31,000,000 cash full paid with a surplus fund of 
$2,000,000 additional. The corporation thus becomes one of the 
most prominent and extensive financial concerns in the United 
States. The company's present or old building has long been 
a picturesque land mark on Chestnut Street, constructed of 
granite and fire brick, 54 by 120 feet, while the company's enter- 
prise in erecting its new and splendid office building, is a 
still further proof of the progressive policy of its manage- 
ment. It occupies the site between Broad Street and the United 
States Mint fronting 100 feet on Chestnut Street and 95 feet on Broad 
Street. The edifice was designed by Addison Hutton, Esq., with 
special regard to the requirements of a modern office building, hav- 
ing abundance of light and air. The genera] style is modified 
Romanesque, of imposing appearance, the outer walls beingof the 
beautiful Indiana limestoue. The materials used are solely stone, 
brick and iron, and this is in every way absolutely a fire proof 
building. The stairways are of inarbleand iron, the roof of cement, 
while the plastering is laid over wire netting. The main entrance 
is under a lofty arched portal on Chestnut Street, while a similar 
entrance on Broad Street affords direct access to the banking 
floor. The building is nine lofty stories in height, surmounted by 
a handsome tower. The seven upper stories are specially design- 
ed, partitioned and arranged for offices most desirable for lawyers, 
brokers, agents, and all persons interested in having light airy 
offices with all modern improvements in a fire proof building at 
moderate rentals. The building is heated by steam; lit by the 
incandescent electric light; two Otis elevators of the greatest 
speed and safety, run continuously, while the plumbing and water 
supply is a model one, of the highest sanitary standard. This is in 
fact one of the finest office buildings in Philadelphia, and is much 
more than that, for in its lower and basement story are thestrong- 
est and most improved safe deposit vaults in the United States. 
The Girard conducts a general banking business, receiving the 
accounts of bankers, firms, and individuals upon liberal terms. 
It makes loans on approved high class collateral, on time or call. 
Collections are promptly made all over the country. The company 
acts as agent for the registration or transfer of stocks and bonds of 
corporations and in the payment of coupons, or interest on regis- 
tered securities. A most popular and much availed of feature is the 
fact of the company acting as attorney for the treasurers or trus- 
tees of churches, schools, colleges, chaiitable societies, etc., keep- 
ing their books, supervising their investments, collecting income 
and rendering accounts when required. As interest is paid on 
all balances lying idle, it is of manifest advantage to secure the 
services of such a responsible fiduciary agent. Its trust depart- 
ment, under the provisions of its perpetual charter, executes 
trusts of every description. It is entirely distinct from other de- 
partments and is under the supervision of Mr. Henry Tatnall, the 
company's vice president. Members of the bar desiring the ap- 
pointment of the company in any form of trust are retained as its 
counsel in such cases. Income is collected and estates are 
managed for persons who are absentees or need such service 

by reason of ill health, lack of experience, etc. The c pany's 

real e-tate department is thoroughly organized under Mr. 
Nathaniel B. Crenshaw, for the management, purchase and sale of 
really in Philadelphia and vicinity and the entire management of 
estates is included at lowest rates. The safe deposit department 
■offers absolute security at moderate rates, for the storage of valu- 
able securities, silver chests anil silver plate, etc. The vaults were 
constructed by Mr. George L. Damon, n ho built the vaults lor the 

United States Treasury in Washington and elsewhere. The outer 
walls of the Girard vaults are lire proof, while the inner lining 
is composed of numerous layers of chilled steel, so alternated 
with plates of other metals as to be impregnable. The vaults are 
located at a distance from the walls of the building, lit with elec- 
tricity, and constantly watched every moment of the 24 hours. 
They are roomy and a special vault is provided exclusively for 
ladies, with rooms furnished with desks, also for their sole use. 
Access can be had during business hours, while the rentals are very 
moderate. Wills are receipted for and kept safely without charge. 
The offices and managers of the Girard are as follows: Presi- 
dent, Effingham B. Morris, Esq; vice president and treasurer, 
Henry Tatnall, Esq, assistant treasurer, William N. Ely, Esq; 
real estate officer, Nathanial B. Crenshaw, Esq; solicitor, George 
Tucker Bispham, Esq; managers, Messrs. E. B. Morris, George 
Taber, John B. Garrett, William H. Jenks, H. X. Burroughs, George 
T. Bispham, John A. Brown, Jr., William H. Gavv. William Mas- 
sey, B. Andrews Knight, Benjamin W. Richards, Samuel B. Brown, 
Francis I. Gowen and George H. McFadden. Under these rep- 
resentative capitalists and successful merchants the company is 
making rapid aud substantial progress. The fundamental prin- 
ciples of conservatism and stability are ever kept in view and 
the public is enabled to place implicit reliance in its policies 
and methods of transacting business. 

JE. BURNS COMPANY, Spices and Mustards, Nos. 41 and 
43 South Front Street.— Few houses in the United States 
can claim an unbroken record of continuous prosperity of 
over one hundred and twenty three years, but such is the 
history of this reliable, substantial house, which is the oldest aud 
representative house of the kind in the Uuited States. The busi- 
ness was founded in 176(1 by Mr. Jonathan Fell and early achieved 
an enviable reputation for the superiority of its product and drew 
to it a trade which has its ramifications in every part of the United 
States. Mr. Jonathan Fell, was succeeded by C. J. Fell <fc 
Bro., and subsequently by the firm of J. E. Burns & Co., who 
were incorporated as a stock company in 185-5 with Mr. J. E. 
Burns as president, and Mr. H. M. Stone as secretary and 
treasurer. These gentlemen are leading authorities in this line of 
trade and bring to bear the widest range of practical experience 
coupled with perfected facilities and influential connections. The 
company are manufacturers, importers and wholesale dealers in 
spices, mustards and fine extracts. The premises comprise a spa- 
cious four-story building 40x00 feet in size, with offices and finely 
furnished salesroom on the first floor. Their factory at Frankford, 
Penn. R. R., is the largest in tha United States, is fully equipped 
with all modern appliances and improved machinery requisite for 
the business, having a large capacity for the manufacture of the 
choicest mustards, pure spices and fine flavoring extracts which 
have attained a national reputation for purity, reliability aud 
uniform excellence and have no superiors in this country or 
Europe. This staunch old house imports direct from the centres 
of growth, and controls cargoes of the choicest products, having 
influential connections with growers and producers everywhere. 
They handle the finest spices brought to the United States, in- 
cluding Singapore, Sumatra Black and White Pepper, China and 
Saigon Cassia, Pimento. Amboynia and Zanzibar cloves, African, 
Calcutta and Cochin ginger, unbleached Jamaica ginger, nutmegs, 
mace, etc. They are expert judges of these goods and the finest 
only is selected, quality being their first consideration. Their pro- 
ducts in general are the most salable articles of the kind on the 
market and are general favorites with the trade and consumers 
wherever-introduced. A heavy stock of these goods is constantly 
carried to meet orders promptly, and a large force of clerks, sales- 
men, packers, shippers, etc., are constantly employed in the build- 
ing, while traveling salesmen represent the house throughout 
every portion of the United States. Mr. J. E. Burns, the president 
of th>- company, aud Mr. H. M. Stone, the secretary and treasurer, 
are both members of the Grocers' and Importers' Exchange, and 
are also popular members of the Board of Trade where they are 
highly esteemed as enterprising, substantial business men, who, 
are honored by all with whom they have dealings. The trade will 
best consult its own interests by placing their orders with this em- 
inent anil substantial house, which is among the leaders in its line 
and the oldest house in the United States. 



UNION CREDIT COMPANY, of Philadelphia, Office No. 1S26 
Chestnut Street.— Credit underlies the fabric of modem 
commerce oi i lem society, n is a necessity and in its 

proper sphere highly beneficial, yet like everything else 
that is good, liable to abuse— and to very grievous ahuse as evi- 
denced in the millions of dollars annually lost by bad debts In this 
country. How to remedy this evil and secure the merchant and 
shop keeper against the oft recurring attacks of the credit " fiend" 
and who thus dishonorably lives at the expense of his neighbors, 
has remained an insoluble problem, until the yen 1889, n lien the 
Union Credit Company was duly Incorporated In this city, In order 
to put into operation a perfect system for the prompt cheeking of 
dishonest credit customers and for the supply of just the accurate 
information every grocer, butcher, baker, dry goods house, tailor, 
gents furnisher, &c. &c, has so long sought for in vain. The com- 
pany is composed of able and responsible business men and its offi- 
cers are competent and indefatigable in securing fullest informa- 
tion as to the character of any customer for being good or bail pay. 
They have thoroughly organized under Sailor's copy-righted sys- 
tem for business, covering every section of the city, while there 
are blanches established in ten other large cities of the Union. 
Their methods are briefly these: They give to their subscribers 
the earliest information as to how eacli customer pays his bills 
to others with whom he deals, thus covering the broad field 
of mercantile life, and enabling the merchant to immediately 
decide whether he can trust the party or not. Thus a chain of 
dealers are united to supply information as to a man's customs, 
whether to pay cash for a while, and confidence once established, 
run a big bill and then move, or whether he pays all cash at one 
store and none at another, or whether he is a chronic "beat"' 
whose credit is an unknown quantity and who has nothing to levy 
on if judgment was obtained. For a very moderate sum indeed, 
the merchant can now be fully protected against making bad 
debts. As the company's motto reads "Prevention is better than 
cure," and the company takes all care and trouble off the sub- 
scribers' mind. Facts are promptly furnished as regards every 
new customer— all strictly confidential, and such as no honorable 
man would object to, while all brauches of trade are covered. 
Already many merchants are reaping the great benefits of the 
company's system and every business man should examine into its 
merits. The company also makes collections cheaper and more 
promptly than any other concern can do, and it Ls well to add that 
its thoroughness, ability of management and early, accurate re- 
ports are pleasing the mercantile world and prove conclusively 
how satisfactorily the Union Credit Company supplies "the long 
felt want." 

BENJAMIN' F. TELLER, & BKO., Real Estate, Insurance, Con- 
veyancing. Notary Public. Etc., No. 601 Chestnut Street.— 
The leading real estate ageuts or Philadelphia are Messrs. 
Benjamin F. Teller & Bro., whose offices are located at No. 
601 Chestnut Street. The business was originally established in lsTo, 
by Mr. B. F. Teller, the present firm being organized in 1SS0 by the 
admission of Mr. Joseph R. Teller to partnership. Roth gentlemen 
enjoy a high repute in both social and business circles, and possess 
a large experience, wide acquaintance and influential connections 
as real estate and insurance agents, conveyancers, notaries public 
and prominent business men. The history of the rise and progress 
of this city shows that wise and prudent Investments made in real 
estate property ultimately yield a more certain and reasonable 
profit than any other form of investment. The Messrs. Teller have 
earned a high reputation for accurate judgment and superior busi- 
ness tact in conducting transactions in this interest, and have 
developed an important connection therein, including among their 
permanent patrons many leading capitalists, investors and pro- 
perty owners, and carrying through to a successful issue many 
heavy and valuable transactions. They have upon their books at 
all times descriptions of houses, lots, country seats and business 
blocks for sale or rent, and are prepared to take entire manage- 
ment of estates, securing good tenants, collecting rents, making 
repairs, paying taxes, etc. A safe packed with powers of attorney 
tells lien Implicitly they are trusted. Some of the largest estates 
• in tie city are placed entirely in the Tellers' bands, while the 
owners go to enjoy travel and European life for years at a time. 
Every ward in the city is represented on the Teller books and 

every class of property. There is a considerable line of selling 
done by the firm, while they are generally regarded a-- the best 
renting judges in the city. They also give special attention to the 
execution ot wills and administering to estates, acting as executors, 
administrators, trustees and guardians; wills are receipted for and 
safely kept, free of charge; money is securely invested in mort- 
gages and ground rents, and loans are negotiated ou ground rents, 
mortgages and mortgage collateral for a fixed period of years or 
repayable in installments. Messrs. Teller Be Bro., are also de en 
edly regarded as among the best Informed underwriters in the city 
and as authority upon all matters relating to tire insurance. They 
control the insuring of many of the choicest lines of business and 
residential .property iu the city, anil are universally popular with 
all classes of real estate owners, merchants and manufacturers. 
The Messrs. Teller are native Philadelphians, prominent members 
of the Real Estate Exchange, and leaders in real estate, convey- 
ancing and insurance matters, promoting the material Interests 
and mercantile development of this city with energy, discrimina- 
tion and decided success. 

WM. MOf.AND & SONS, Provisions, No. 9 North Water 
Street.— The trade in provisions is undoubtedly one of. 
the most important of the industries of Philadelphia. 
An old established and representative house in the 
city, extensively engaged in this steadily growing trade, is that of 
Messrs. Moland & Sons, whose store and office are located at No. 
9 North Water Street. The firm's packing house, whicbis fully 
equipped with modern appliances and machinery is situated at 
Nos. 154 to 158 Laurel Street. This business was established in 
18.M by Mr. Wm. Moland, who in 186+ admitted his son W. N., and 
in 18S5 George N. Moland into partnership. The firm handle only 
the best stock, and give the greatest care and attention to the 
meat through all stages of curing, smoking and packing, while the 
supervision exercised in the packinghouse is so complete, that it 
is impossible for any inferior animal to be entered for consump- 
tion. Messrs. Wm. Moland i- Sons make a specialty of sugarcured 
hams and bacon, which are unrivalled for quality flavor and geu- 
eral excellence, and are general favorites with the trade and pub- 
lic wherever introduced. The firm fill orders promptly at the low- 
est ruling market prices, and their trade extends throughout all 
sections of Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, Virgi- 
nia, West Virginia and the adjacent states. Their store Is a spaci- 
ous three story building 30x200 feet in area, admirably adapted and 
fitted up for the business. Here a large and very superior stock of 
provisions is kept constantly on hand. Mr. Wm. Moland, the 
founder of this house, Ls a descendant of a family dated lack to the 
Colonial days, one of his ancestors havingbeeu Colonial Governor 
of Pennsylvania, being appointed by the King of England. The 
partners are all natives of Philadelphia. They are energetic, able 
and honorable business men, fully meriting the large measure of 
success achieved in this reliable industry. 

CHARLES B. SPROG ELL. Real Estate and Mortgages. No. 7,"3 
Walnut Street. — Mr. Charles B. Sprogell. who has his ■•:: • 
at No. 733 Walnut Street, is one of the most experienced, 
as well as one of the best known and most trustworthy of 
the dealers in real estate and mortgages in the city. This gentle- 
man has been engaged in the business here for the past twenty- 
three years, and lias developed a solid business connection i r, .ill 
branches of realty. He negotiates mortgage loans of all kinds, 
buys, sells, rents, leases and lets properly, invests money, 
rents, and takes the entire management of estates. IP- hns the 
fullest confidence and esteem of the leading capitalists, investors 
and property owners and owing to the wide range and superior 
character of his connections he i> prepared to promptly dis| »se of 
realty at fair values, while offering to conservative Investors the 
be*t pos iible bargains that are guaranteed to produce a steady in- 
come ,m,i a prospective increase in values. His varied expi 
keen appreciation of value and large acquaintance with busine 
men combine to render his services peculiarly valuable to p rl 
dealing in realties and those in need of loans, and any bu 
entrusted to his care is always faithfully and honorably attend* 4 
tn in every particular. II Is anatlvt of Philadelphia, 

has a high standing in the real estate circh s of the city, and com- 
ds the confidence of all with whom he comes in contact. 



WHITE, HENTZ &. Co., Importers and Wholesale Deal- 
ers in Fine Whiskies, Wines and Liquors, Nos. 122 
and 224 North Second Street. Blanches, New York 
and Washington.— The oldest and one of the most 
prominent and reliable firms in Philaphlphia is that of White, 
Hrir.z &. Co., whose preu.ises are located at Nos. 222 and 
224 North Second Street. The business was established in 1793, 
by Philip Wager. In 1810 the house became known as Van 
Syekel & Garrison. After Mr. Garrison's retirement the firm 
took the title of Van Syekel & Sons. In 1S49 Wm. R. White 
and J. Henry Hentz formed a co-partnership under the title of 
White & Hentz. In 1865 the present style was adopted. The 
present partners are J. Henry Hentz, J. P. Kobinett and J. Henry 
Hentz. Jr. By the above date it will be seen that this is the oldest 
house in this line now in existence in Philadelphia, and one of the 
oldest in the world. From the first the credit of the house has 

j ■■->*■ ^S^=^3 - _ s' 


never been impeached, it having passed safely through the crises 
which shook so many substantial houses in the troublous times 
which followed the financial crashes attendant upon the political 
uncertainties of the early years of the century, and followed by 
the no less fateful results of the financial troubles of 1S37, 1S57 and 
and 1S73. There are hundreds of names on their books of persons 
or rlieir successors who can establish the fact of the perfect and 
entire integrity of the house in all business matters. In fact, the 
history of this house, its rise and progress, is truly, in one sense, 
identical with the history of the city. At the establishment of 
this business Philadelphia was comparatively a small town, with 
just such enterprise as might be expected from those who hail come 
herefrom the oppressions of Europe ; for it was just at that time 

that Philadelphia received its most valuable recruits to its citizen 
band. The site of the present premises of this firm was then the 
society resort of the city, where now there is little but the crush of 
drays and the discordant shouts of drivers. Mr. J. Henry Hentz, 
the senior partner of this great firm, was born in Philadelphia, and 
connected himself with the house when a young man. and was, after 
establishing his position by displaying his ability and pro\ ing his 
personal worth, admitted to partnership in 1S19. He is a repre- 
sentative business man of Philadelphia, and a perfect master of 
all the details of the business, from manufacturing to finance, 
and it may be stated here that this house is different from many in 
Philadelphia, not having found it necessary to go outside for 
expert assistance, all the partners by long experience and practical 
knowledge, in addition to the jealousy with which they guarded 
the reputation of their goods, briug possessed of every neeessary 
requirement. Mr. Hentz visited Europe in 1S79, returning in 
November, 1SS1. During this trip he visited all the leading mar- 
kets in Europe, and returned with much knowledge, which can only 
be obtained by personal observation in the old world, which, in his 
case, perfected au already ripe experience. During his trip he 
visited Rheiius, in France ; Cognac, so celebrated for its brandies ; 
Rotterdam, no less noted for its gins and schnapps j Cadiz, Spain's 
great seaport; Oporto. Portugal, and other cities. In every re- 
spect the financial and social standing of Mr. Hentz is fully con- 
ceded. Mr. J. P. Robinett is a Pliiladelphian by birth and educa- 
tion, and here it may be said that all the members of the firm were 
born in the Quaker City. He became connected with the house 
when very young, and by reason of his untiring effoits, always 
working for the best interests of the firm, he was admitted to 
partnership in 1S65. His ability as an expert, sound judgment and 
marked aptitude and general supervision have been of great value 
to the house. He is a first-class business man in every sense of 
the term. Mr. J. Henry Hentz, Jr., son of the senior partner, 
graduated from the Pennsylvania University, after which he be- 
gan to assist his father. He has proved very active aud energetic, 
with good business qualifications, andwas admitted to partnership 
in 1SS5. This house has always been one of the most persistent 
advocates of selling the best goods, and has aimed always to carry 
a general line suited to the wants of the trade. Indeed there is no 
house in the country which carries a line more suited to the 
demands of the market to which it caters than this. Buying on the 
most extensive scale everything is secured at the very lowest 
figure, they thus being enabled to dispose of their goods to the dis- 
tributing and retail trade at a lower price than those whose trans- 
actions or abilities are not so extensive, their known financial 
stability giving them m my .advantages in the purchase of goods. 
Their facilities are such that they are abie to thoroughly stock 
without leaving their premises any store in the country. This firm 
makes a specialty of tine high-grade whiskies, and imports direct 
brandies, gins, rums, ports, sherries, etc., catering to the best 
trade, an enormous stock being carried. The firm are the sole 
proprietors of the celebrated Trimble whiskey, introduced over 
sixty years ago, and which has enjoyed such an extended reputa- 
tiou and had so many imitators that they have continued to be the 
: first in demand for the finest bar and drug store trade. Old 
George Trimble brought this brand over the Allegheny mountains 
on a Conestoga wagon, and those who to-day obtain their best 
qualities of whiskies can little realize the anxieties and perils 
which attended the introduction to this part of the country of the 
first transportation. The quality of the Trimble whiskies has 
been maintained up lo this day, and there is no brand superior to 
them in the United States. As in all other makes of liquors, 
prices differ w ith regard to age. Knowing the value of the goods, 
the firm have pushed the sale with commendable energy, and now 
the demand is not only its own advertisers, but a perfect proof of 
the superiority of their quality, and the call for Trimble whiskey 
has increased to such an extent that the facilities for manufacture 
are being taxed to the utmost. Fine imported wines is a promi- 
nent department of the business of the house. The steady growth 
of the firm's trade in sherries, ports. Madeiras and other wines of 
all vintages and brands i; proof of their superior excellence. The 
house has never competed with cheap goods, too often adulterated, 
but has made the motto of the firm " The Purest and Best." 
Dui ing the present year, as in past years, there has been a steady 
and decided increase lu the volume of trade, and the prospects fora 



continuance were never mora encouraging. Iheoperatlons of the 
fhm extend over the entire United States, with shipments to con- 
sumers In Europe. Their New York hranch house is situated at 
No. 17 South William Street, and Is under the management of Mr. 
l>. Lieber. The Washington branch is located at No. 1200 Penn- 
sylvania Avenue. X. \V\, aud is in charge of Col. H. .A. Sell son. 
Tlu- same variety and high class of goods are to be obtaineil at 
these branch establishments, with the 3ame honest principles as 
characterize the home establishment. Travelers are constantly 
employed.visiting the various sections of the country. The Philadel- 
phia trade receives special attention. In fact, in all respects, the 
house ranks as one of the leading representative liquor houses in 
the country, ami is the oldest house in Philadelphia, if not in the 
United States The premises of the Arm extend back to Broad 
Sticet, a distance of 200 feet, the receiving and shipping being 
done in the rear. The location is the best that could be desired 
for this firm's business, which has been transacted here since 1793, 
nearly a century', a record almost unparalleled in any business 
house in this country, even if not of Europe, which is accustomed 
to antiquity in its many forms. As it is, this site is one of the most 
interesting land-marks of Philadelphia, and should not be over- 
looked by the seekers after local antiquities. The front on Second 
Street, erected in Isffi. No. 222, presents an imposing appearance, 
the design— executed in iron — being both artistic and substantial. 
That of No. 221 was erected in 1793. The rear premises of No. 22-4 
were built in 1850, and those in the rear of No. 222 are upwards of 
ninety years old. All are four-story buildings, except the old 
rear one. All these additions and rebuildings show in an emphatic 
manner the growth of this business, and the utility which has been 
secured leaves absolutely nothing to be desired. 

Whiskies, No. 4( 
of liquors in th 

AVER. SONS & CO., Importers and Dealers in Fine 
o. 407 North Third Street. —The consumption 
the United States is so vast, that the trade 
necessarily involves considerations of the greatest im- 
portance. Among the oldest and most reliable importers and 
wholesale liquor dealers in Philadelphia, extensively engaged in 
this steadily growing business, is the 6rm of Messrs. Mayer, Sons 
& Co., whose cellars and salesrooms are located at No. 407 North 
Third Street. This house presents a striking instance of what may 
be accomplished by a steady application to business and a liberal 
and honorable course of dealing. This business was established in 
1SH0 by Isaac Mayer, who eventually admitted his sous, Messrs. 
Adolph and Morris, In 1879, and Frank and Leon Mayer in 1885 into 
partnership, the firm being known by the style and title of 
Mayer. Sons & Co. The premises occupied comprise a spacious 
three-story double building 40x125 in area, fully equipped with 
every facility and appliance for the accommodation and preserva- 
tion of the choice and valuable slock of domestic and imported 
whiskies, which are unrivalled for quality, purity, flavor and 
general excellence. The rye and bourbon whiskies of this popular 
house possess a natural flavor and rare tonic, properties, and are 
sold under a guarantee to give perfect satisfaction. They are sold 
free or in bond, large quantities being allowed to remain in stock 
and mature, until required for the demands of the trade. Messrs. 
Mayer, Sons & Co.'s chief brands are Charter Oak, Luxury, 
Delaware Club, Canada Malt, Elite and others. These brands are 
general favorites wherever introduced, and are admirably suited 
for a first-class hotel, club and drug trade. The firm fills orders 
promptly at the lowest possible prices, and its trade extends 
throughout all sections of Pennsylvania, Maryland, New York and 
the southern states. Mr. Isaac Mayer was born in Germany, but 
has resided in the United States for the last forty years, while his 
suns. Messrs. Adolph, Morris. Frank and Le.m Mayer, are natives 
of Philadelphia. They are highly regarded in trade circles as en- 
terprising and reliable business men, who have gained the entire 
confidence of their numerous customers in all sections of the 


practical manufacturers, fully conversant with every teati 
this important industry, and the requirements of jobbers, deal- 
ers and the general public. The premises occupied comprise a 
commodious store 20x60 feet in area, with a spacious five-story fac- 
tory in the rear 50x100 feet in dimensions. The various depart- 
ments of the factory are fully equipped with t lie latest improved 
machinery, tools, apparatus and appliances, necessary for the .■ »• 
tematic and successful conduct of this valuable and steadily 
increasing Industry. Here 125 skilled operatives are employed, 
and the machinery Is driven by a powerful steam engine. Their 

g Is are unsurpassed for quality, finish and uniform excellence. 

and have no superiors in this city or elsewhere. All orders are 
promptly filled at the lowest possible prices, and their patronage 
extends throughout the entire United States. They are greatly 
respected in trade circles for their enterprise, skill aud integrity, 
ami their prospects in the near future in this growing industry are 
of the most favorable character. In conclusion we would add, 
that the influence exercised by this responsible house In the manu 
facture of metal goods has been of the most useful character, and 
those interested, establishing a connection witli it. may always 
depend upon receiving prompt and liberal treatment, and such 
marked advantages in goods aud prices, very difficult to be dupli- 
cated elsewhere. 


Street.— A house that enjoys the prestige resulting from 
its age and the honorable methods that have marked its 
career since its inception long years ago, is the establish- 
ment of Mr. John Mustin. of No. 1214 Chestnut Street, and its 
prominent position as well as the fact that it is a conspicuous land- 
mark in the commercial history of Philadelphia, entitle it to special 
consideration in this review. The business was founded in 1815 
by Mr. John Mustin, and in 1829 he was succeeded by his son, Mr. 
John Mustin, Jr., the present proprietor, who has for the sixty years 
since conducted the enterprise witli uninterrupted success, the trade 
of the house growing in a commensurate rate with the development 
of the city. The premises occupied for the business comprise a build- 
ing having five floors aud basement, dimensions of 2.ixl25 feet. 
The stock carried embraces a complete assortment of trimmings, 
gloves, mitts, corsets, edgings, ruEfiings, collars, cuffs, zephyr, knit- 
ting yarn and silk, thread, needles, notions, fancy goods, and 
ladies' furnishings in immense variety, all the latest novelties and 
the newest fashions in this line being represented. The second 
floor has been fitted up recently for the sale of cliildrens' dresses 
and outside wraps, and lias a pleasant sitting-room for customers. 
Orders are taken for all articles used by ladies and children aud 
customers will be accommodated with prompt attention at any 
distance from the city. A large staff of clerks and assistants are 
employed, customers are waited upon courteously and promptly, 
and in every case they are assured the highest values and lowest 
prices. Mr. Mustin is a native Philadelphia!!, now in his seventy- 
sixth year, and he is one of th- oldest and best known men hunts 
in the city. He has ever been noted for his inflexible in' 
and honorable character, aud justly enjoys the entire respei 
confidence of his fellow citizens. 

LEMCr & SON. Manufacturers of Silver, Nickel, Brass and 
Bronze Good-,. Etc., No. 248 North Eighth Street.— This 
! business was established fifteen veins ago by Mr. A. 
Ledig, Messrs R. A., and C. W. Ledig were subsequently 
admitted to the firm, all of whom are thoroughly expert and 

VIP.GIL W. WALTER, Tin Roofing. Roofs Repaired, Roof 
Painting. Speaking Tubes, No 146 North Sixth Street.— Mr. 
Virgil W. Walter is a representative of an important 
branch of industry extensively carried on in this city. He 
is a general tin and sheet metal worker, tin roofer, manufacturer 

of heaters, etc., and has been a practical workman in this 1 [or 

the past quarter of a century. Eighteen years ago lie started busi- 
ness for himself, and during this period, he has developed an ex- 
tensive and first-class trade throughout the city and vicinity. His 
business premises consist of a basement 40x100 feet in dimensions, 
and here he has in use the latest improved machinery, tools and 
other appliances pertaining to the trade. Every description of 
tin, copper, and sheet iron work is executed to order, tin rooting Is 
done, roofs are repaired and painted, speaking tales ;l i e put up. 
an. I all kinds of kindred jobbing work promptly and satisfactorily 
attended to. skilled aud experienced workmen are employed in 
every department of the business, and all operations ate conducted 
under flu- supervision of Mr. Walter, who guarantees the perfec- 
tion of all work executed, and prices fair and equitable. 



316,318 and 320 Chestnut Street: Thomas Cochran. President; 
Edward C. Knight. Vice President ; Harry J. Delany, Treas- 
urer; John Jay Gilroy, Secretary.— During the last few 
years a class of institutions has sprung up In the United States, 
intended to meet the requirements of holders of property, for its 
better protection during life and Its more certain and speedy 
transmission to.heirs atdeath. These trustandsafedeposit eoipoia- 
tions not only receive money on deposit like banks, but also secu- 
rities and other articles of value, and likewise rent safes in vaults 
absolutely burglar proof. Being corporations they never die. In 
connection with these remarks, special reference is made in this 
commercial review of Philadelphia to the reliable and representa- 
tive Guarantee Trust and Safe Deposit Company, whose splendid 
building is located at Nos. 3L6-320 Chestnut Street. This company 
was duly chartered by special act of the legislature of Pennsylva- 
nia on the 24t!i of -May. 1871, with a paid up capital of Sl.000.0c0. 
Under conservative and able management, it now has a surplus of 
$900,000. and its total assets amount to upwards ot 88,000,000. The 


company's building, speaking architecturally , is one of the finest 
in Philadelphia, and cost with its unrivalled vaults. 1700.000 The 

vaults aie very extensive, ami are absolutely impregnable to burg- 
lars ami indestructible by fire. The Guarantee Trust and Safe 
Deposit Company undertakes the safe keeping of all kinds of valu- 
ables, rents safes, receives deposits of money at interest, collects 
interest or Income, attends carefully to the execution of all manner 
of trusts, the management and settlement of estates as executor. 
administrator, assignee, receiver, trustee, guardian, agent or at- 
torney, etc. Safes of all desirable sizes are rented at $7.00 toS125.00 
each per annum. The largest safes have combination locks With 
the smaller, each renter is furnished with keys— the only k'-js in 
existence that will unlock his safe. The locks to these safes are 
all different and are changed with every change of renter. Each 
safe has within it one or more tin boxes or cases, in which t,. place 
the valuables deposited, under lock and key, held by the renter. 
These boxes or oases are not to be opened within the vault, bet 
must be removed to an adjoining room, fitted up with tlesks, 
screens, etc., where the owner, in perfect seclusion and privacy. 

can examine his securities, cut off coupons, etc. A renter wishing 
to visit his safe, must be identified by the safe-keeper, who will 
always accompany him into the vault. Any renter may, at his 
option, appoint a deputy toact in his stead; but in case ot his 
death, no one but his legal representative, duly authorized, eau be 
permitted to,have access to his safe— in order that the interests of 
heirs may be completely protected. For the accommodation of 
ladies who may become safe-renters, special provision is made, 
and separate apartments are fitted up for their exclusive use, with 
toilet room adjoining. Special accommodations are also provided 
within the treasury for committees and officers of insurance com- 
panies and other corporations, whereby an examination of securi- 
ties can be made without the trouble and risk of removing the 
same from the deposit vaults, to and from their offices. Wills are 
kept without charge, receipted for, registered and delivered in 
strict accordance with instructions, trunks, boxes and packages 
of silverware, etc.. are stored here for the summer or longer and 
security guaranteed at lowest rates. The company's cash depart- 
ment js a thoroughly organized banking institution, affording 
every facility to patrons, except the discounting of com- 
mercial paper. Loans, are made on approved collateral, 
and deposits received subject to check at sight and in- 
terest allowed thereon, while the collection of notes, 
drafts, coupons, interest, etc. .is made on favorable terms. 
Special deposits can be made and certificates issued at 
rates of interest tobe agreed upon. The company also acts 
as agent for the transferring and registering or counter- 
signing of certificates of stocks, bonds, or other obliga- 
tions of any corporation, association, state or public 
authority. It also undertakes the execution of trusts in 
any state of the Union, all trust funds being kept separ- 
ate from the assets of the company, and Invested in the 
names of the parties for whose benefit they are held. 
This responsible company is guardian for upwards of 
600 minors. The following gentlemen, who are highly 
esteemed in financial and business circles, for their pru- 
dence, executive ability and sterling iutegii'y are the 
officers and directors. Thomas Cochran, president: 
Edward (J. Knight, vice president; Harry J. Delany, 
treasurer, John J. Gilroy, secretary; Richard C. Win- 
ship, trust officer. Directors: Thomas Cochran, Edward 
(J. Knight, J. Barlow Moorhead, Thomas Maekellar, John 
J Stadiger, Clayton French, W. Rotch Wister, Alfred 
Fitler, J. Dickinson Sergeant, Aaron Fries, Charles A. 
Sparks. Joseph Moore, Jv., Richard Y. Cook. The presi- 
dent, Mr. Thomas Cochran, ha-s held office since 1877. He 
is one of Philadelphia"? public spirited citizens as widely 
known for his talents, as for the just manner in which 
lie attends to the interests of patrons. Mr. E. C. Knight* 
the vice president. ; Mr. H. J. Delany, the treasurer; Mr. 
John Jay Gilroy. the secretary, and Mr. R. C. Winship, 
, the trust officer, are able and experienced officers, with 
ggSs every qualification for their responsible positions. A 
thorough system of organization pervades the whole of 
the departments, and the efficient and prompt manner 
in which this extensive business is transacted, is in 'Me 
highest degree creditable to the management. The company's 
establishment is open for general business from 9 a. m. to 4 p. m,» 
for deposits of money and payment of checks from 10 to 3 p. m. 


J. WHJLT. Manufacturer of Ladies* Wrappers, Basques, 
Aprons, Etc., No. 624 Arch Street, (Second Floor) and No. 
2^48 North Front Street.— The house of Mr. J. J. Whilt was 
established eight years ago by the present proprietor and 
the trade has been steadily grow ing since the inception of the en- 
terprise. The premises occupied consist, of the office andsalesn , 

located at No 621 Arch Street, and the spacious factory located at 
No. 2348 North Front Street, employing a force nf fifty efficient 
operatives. Mr. Whilt carries on active operations as a manu- 
facturer of ladies' wrappers, basques, aprons, underwear and 
cliildrens' dresses of all kinds. The goods are made in the latest 
prevailing styles, of the best materials, and are unsurpassed by 
any similar merchandise obtainable in the market. An extensive 
stock is in all seasons carried, and orders are promptly filled. 
Mr. Whilt is a native of this city, and has always resided here.. 



SAXFORD & COOK. Importers or Diamonds ami Precious 
Stones; II. l>. LeCato, Manager, Keystone Nat al Bank 
Building, Ri li. So. 1326 Chestnut Street.— Although but 

a comparatively short period In existence, Hie Philadelphia 
branch of Sanford & Cook, importers of diamonds and precious 
Stones, No. II John Street, New Veil,. whose ottiee in this cit\, H. 
L). LeCato, Manager, is located at No. 1326 Chestnut Street, Room 
No. 14, in the Keystone National Bank Building, proved a success 
that more than attests the wisdom that inspired the venture, to 
say iintliiug of. the energy and ability displayed in its management. 
The widely and honorably known Arm whose name heads tins 
sketch was established something like a quarter o(a century ago 
in New York, and on April 1, 1889, opened the Philadelphia branch, 
whicli (run) its Inception has heen a highly gratifying enterprise. 
Only thoroughly reliable Al goods are handled, while all transac- 
tions are characterized by strictly upright methods, the house 
being conducted on sound and conservative business principles : 
and all orders tor the trade are executed in the most expeditious 
and trustworthy manner. The quarters occupied as office and 
salesroom in the Keystone National Bank Building are located on 
the third floor, and are compact, amply and tastefully appointed, 
a splendid display being made. A large, varied and superb assort 
nieut is constantly kept in stock, embracing rich and rare dia- 
monds, beautiful opals, exquisite rubies, choice specimens in onyx, 
sapphire, bloodstone, pearls and kindred gems in great variety; 
and the trade done here is of a very substantial character, and 
affords evidence of steady increase, the Philadelphia branch con- 
trolling the sales for Pennsylvania, southern and eastern New 
Jersey, Delaware, .Maryland and the South. Mr. LeCato, the effi- 
cient manager in this city, is a gentleman in the prime of life and 
a New Yorker by birth. He is a man of thorough experience in 
this hue, as well as energy and excellent business qualities, and 
prior to assuming charge here has been with the firm in New 

ISAAC PURSELL, Architect, No. 119 South Fourth Street.— 
Prominent among the leading architects of this city who 
have made a special study of this ennobling art, is Mr. 
Isaac Pursell, whose offices are located at No. 119 South 
Fourth Street. This business was established in 1878 by Mr. Isaac 
Pursell, who was succeeded by Pursell & Fry in 1885, Mr. Pursell 
resuming business again on his own account in 1887, since which 
time it ha- been successfully conducted by him. Mr. Pursell ts a 
thoroughly qualified and able architect who has evinced great 
skill and ability in the practice of his profession, designing and 
superintending the construction of many prominent buildings not 
only in Philadelphia hut all over the United States. He 
has made a specialty of the building of schools and churches, of 
which be has constructed many, the following having been some 
of his work in Philadelphia: Centennial Baptist Church. Hudel- 
burgh Reformed Church, Reformed Episcopal Church, corner of 
Twelfth and Oxford Streets; First Reform Church, Fifth Baptist 
Church, Christ Memorial Church, coiner of Forty-third and Chest- 
nut Streets, and the Cohocsink M. E. Church, and he has just made 
pi ins for the St. Matthews Lutheran Church, at Broad and Mt. 
Vernon Sts.aud the Second Reformed Church, at Twenty-second and 
Chestnut Streets. Many of the buildings erected by this responsi- 
ble architect are much admired for their beauty, while the elabor- 
ation of detail and care bestowed upon every department of the 
work reflects the utmost credit on the skill and jndg'ment of this 
popular gentleman. Mr. Pursell transacts a general business, 
including all branches of the profession, and possesses commodi- 
ous offices and draughting rooms where efficient assistants are 
employed. 11" is at all times prepared to give estimates and 
cheerfully furnish plans to meet the views of those intending to 
build. Mi. Pursell Is a popular and prominent member of the 
Franklin Institute and the Philadelphia I Ih ipter of the American 
Institute of Architects, and is highly regarded by the community 
for his integrity and ability. 

WAITE 8: VAN HARLTNGEN, Engineers, So. 305 Wal- 
nut Street.— Tin. rapid growth of the wealth and popu- 
lation of the Dnited States during the last quarter 
of a century, has caused a demand for all kinds of pub- 
lic works, railroads, etc , requiring the highi st qualities of engin- 

eering skill and talent. In this connection, we desire to make 
special reference in this commercial review of Phlladi Iphla, to 
the reliable and progressive firm of M-ssrs. Waite and Van Harlin- 
geu, engineers, whose offices are located at No, 808 Walnut street. 
This business n i- established in 1885 by Messrs. George K. Waite 
and Martin Van Hailiiigen, both of whom are able and expert 
mi • hanlcal and civil engineers, fully conversant with every detail 
and feature of this important profession. The firm contract for 
and superintend the erection and construction of waterworks. 
railroads, bridges, viaducts, etc. They likewise promptly furnish 
plans and specifications for Slemen's regenerative gas furnaces, 
steel melting, heating, puddling, tube welding, zinc and chemical 
furnaces; also glass tank and pot furnaces, fuel and illuminating 
gas works, all of which are contracted for and built complete. 
Mr. Waite was come, ted with Slemen's American agency'for 
nineteen years, and helped to build nine-tenths of the Siemen's 
furnaces now in operation in the United States. Mr. Van Harlingen 
was engaged as civil engineer with the Pennsylvania Railroad 
Company for many years, and is a popular member of C. E.CIul of 
Philadelphia. Mr. Waite is a member of the American Society of 
Mining Engineers. Both partners are highly esteemed by the 
community for their ability and integrity, and no more reliable or 
successful engineers can be found in the ranks of the profession. 

JOSEPH LUMLEY, Machinery, No. 144 North Third Street.—' 
The best known headquarters for general machinery, en- 
gines, lathes and mechanical devices in this section of the city 
is the well stocked and largely patronized depot or Joseph 
Lumley, located at No. 144 North Third Street. In this establish- 
ment can always be found a complete and first-class assortment 
of everything in the line indicated, both new and second hand, 
while the lowest consistent prices prevail, and no pains are -pared 
to render the fullest satisfaction to purchasers. Every article 
sold is warranted as represented, honorable dealing at al! times 
prevailing here, and all orders receive immediate attention. This 
prosperous business was established at the present place in 1574, 
by the gentleman whose name heads the sketch, and from its in- 
ception the venture has proved a positive and permanent success. 
Mr. Lumley, who is agent for the Valley Machine Comp iny, man- 
ufacturers of steam pumps, and for the File Foundry Machine 
Company of Ansonia, Conn., manufacturers of stone crushers, 
occupies a finely appointed and spacious first floor and basement 
as salesroom, and employs an efficient force of help. A large and 
varied stock is constantly carried, comprising light and heavy 
machinery of all kinds, steam engines and boilers; steam and 
hydraulic pumps, lathes and accessories, mill gearing, shafting, 
pulleys, hangers, etc., and the trade, which steadily Improves, 
extends throughout Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Delaware, Mary- 
land and adjacent states. He is a man of thorough experience 
in this line, as well as of energy and reliability, and has a com- 
plete knowledge of the business. 

Henry Winsor & Co., General Agents, No. 33S South Dela- 
ware Avenue.— Between Philadelphia and Boston the well 
known and reliable steamers of the Boston & Philadelphia 
Steamship Company have gained an excellent reputatii n foi 
speed, comfort and safety. This company commenced running 
boats on this route thirty-six years ago, and the regularity of its 
steamers is proverbial. Messrs. Henry Winsor & Co., the general 
agents, are located at No. 3Js South Delaware Avenue. The com- 
pany's agent in Boston is Mr. E. B. Sampson, 7n Long Wharf, in 
Providence, Mr. Geo. A. Kilton, Ives Wharf, and Mr. H. I. Jemegan 
Derrick Wharf, Fall River. The following steam boats widely 
known and favorably regarded by the traveling public for their 
speed, safety and superior appointments carry passcngcis and 
freight tor Boston, viz., Parthian, Spartan and Norman. The Saxon 
Aries and Catharine Whiting, for Providence and Fall River, carry 
freight only. For Providence: Every Wednesday and Saturday, 
at 12 noon, from Pier 2a S. Wharves; For Fall River: Every Wed 
nesday and Saturday, at 12 noon, from Pier 2a S. Wharves: For 
Boston: Everj Tuesday and Friday, at 12 noon, from Pier 20 S. 
Wharves, Foot Pine Street. Messrs. Henry Winsor & Co., promptly 
effect Insurance and quote through rates for all points in New 
England. Mr. Henry Winsor Is president of the company. 



turing Chemists and Importers of Kryolith, No., 115 Chest- 
nut Street.; T. Armstrong, President: F. P. Steel, Vice Pres- 
ident; A. M. Purves, Treasurer.— This representative and 
widely known company was chartered by the Legislature of Penn- 
sylvania. September 2.5, l s 5o, with ample capital. It was organized 
fur the purpose of engaging in the manufacture of soda ash of com- 
merce tinder the corporate name of the Pennsylvania Salt Manu- 
facturing Co. This title was partially a misnomer, as the manu- 
facture of salt was not the principal object of the organizers, but 
ar that period there existed no law in the state under which a com- 
pany could be incorporated for the production of chemicals. There 
was, however, a general manufacturing law containing a clause for 
the manufacture of salt and the products derivable therefrom, and 
under this clause the charter was issued, as soda is by a certain 
process a direct product from salt. The company's extensive works 

are located at Natronaon the Pennsylvania railroad, about twenty 

four miles from Pittsburg. The property purchased by the com- 
pany contains coal in unlimited abundance, and a plentiful supply 
of salt water is obtained upon sinking wells. The works are admir- 


ably equipped with the latest improved machinery, apparatus and 
appliances, necessary for the systematic and successful conduct of 
this important and steadily increasing industry. In their works, 
mines and quarries 1400 men are employed, who earn upwards of 
$f 0,000 annually. The capital and surplus of the Pennsylvania 
Salt Manufacturing Co., now amounts to several millions of dol- 
lars. The company manufactures extensively sulphuricacid.soda 
ash, caustic soda, sal soda, bicarbonate of soda, saponifer or con- 
centrated lye, glauber salt, alum, copperas, chloride of calcium, 
nitric and muriatic acids, nitrate of lead, epsom salts and many 
other chemical compounds. In consequence of the great expense 
of the preparation of soda compounds by the old methods the com- 
pany, in 1S64. directed its attention to the mineral '-kryolith." 
which is composed of sodium aluminum and Murine. This mineral 
is found on the southwest coast of Greenland, and was first dis- 
covered by the Esquimaux. Nowhere else has it been found except 
in sin-i ii quantities at, in the Ural mountains between. Rus- 
sia :uul Siberia. In Greenland it is a solid mass 600 feet long, 
200 feet wide, and 100 feet deep. A fleet of the company's ice 
fortified vessels, built expressly for this trade, bring many thou- 

sands of tons of this kryolith annually to Philadelphia, whence 
it is shipped by rail to the works at Natrona. To describe the 
company's machinery and apparatus in detail and the various 
operations, would require several columns. In short, the 
kyrolith mills, calcining houses, leaching vats, buildings for 
carbonizing and cystalization, massive tanks holding 2000 tons of 
soda each, immense agitators, cast iron kettles weighing eleven 
tons each, leaden chambers containing 3000 tons of lead, platiua 
stills costing over $100,000, saw mills, box factories, forty steam 
engines and twenty-nine boilers, etc., all these constitute only 
a part of the valuable and extensive apparatus utilized in these 
immense works. Upwards of 200,000 tons of freight are handled 
annually by this mammoth industry. A branch of the company's 
works are situated in Philadelphia, where over $1,500,000 is invested. 
At these works acids, alum and the famous Lewis lye are manu- 
factured. This Lewis lye is powdered and perfumed, and packed 
in pound cans for family use, and is ex- 
r.*-r-?"" N ~ T ;°>»gsv tensively useful in the household. In the 

company's copper and refining works at Na- 
5""*><g?Y^-"' — ^ trona, Rio Tinto or Spanish and native ores 
"?sSs53- J- T^ii-^ are utilized. Natrona copper is a miracle 

if purity, and the silver invariably tests 
399 hue. It has always been the aim of this 
reliable company to produce its goods on a 
scale and at a cost, that would insure uni- 
form excellence, as well as cheapness. All 
wares, chemicals, etc., that bear the stamp 
of " Natrona." are always recognized and 
appreciated by the trade and public as 
standard productions, possessing all the 
qualities claimed for them by the manu- 
facturers. These goods have no superiors 
in the home or foreign market, and the 
reputation of the company fur liberal and just dealing would be 
prized by the oldest commercial houses of the world. The company's 
central office is at No. 115 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia. At its 
works the company has erected several hundred substantial brick 
buildings for the accommodation of its operators. 
There are likewise several school houses and churches, 
and great interest is taken by the officers to make 
the homes of the company's workmen pleasant and 
attractive. The existence of this grand industry in our 
midst, its struggles and successes are eminently sug- 
gestive. Under practical free trade, when the United 
States depended upon Great Britain for its supplies of 
alkali and alum, the cost to the consumer was from '200 
to 3n0 per cent, greater than at the present day. The 
following gentlemen, who are widely and favorably 
known in financial and manufacturing circles for 
their enterprise, ability and honorable methods, are 
the officers and directors, viz: T. Armstrong, presi- 
dent; F. P. Steel, vice president; A. M. Purves, treas- 
urer: R.Dale Benson, F. G. VVolbert, J. W. McAllister, 
J. S. Jenks and Tims. w. Sparks, directors; P. A. 
Bour, general manager; R.O. Ewer, superintendent of Natrona 
works; G. F. Bihn. superintendent of Greenwich works; principal 
chemists, G. F. Bihn, Otto Luthy and Robert Heerlein ; chief metal- 
lurgist. Professor C. P. Williams. Iu conclusion, we would observe, 
that the prosperity of the Pennsylvania Salt Manufacturing Co. pre- 
sents a forcible illustration of the material benefits arising from a 
federal policy affording protection to American industries, result- 
ing in the development of the nation's wonderful resources. and in 
the creation of such great corporations as this one. thereby render- 
ing the United States forever independent of foreign manufactur- 



M. KNIGHT, Diamonds and Precious Stones. No. in South 
Eighth Street.— The steady and substantial increase of 
material wealth and advancement in refinement and edu- 
cation of the American people has developed a corres- 
ponding demand for rich and rare gems, especially diamonds for 
personal adornment. For aj^es past this rare gem has been 
held in the highest estimation of those who love jewelry, and the 
splendor of the finer stones has most certainly justified the pref- 
erence. Among the most prominent and responsible houses en 



gaged in the handling ol these gouds iu South Eighth. Street, this 
city, may be mentioned thai o( Mr. T. M. Knight, dealer in and 
importer of diamonds and precious stones, whose finely appointed 
and well ordered otliee and salesroom are located at No. 10, that 
crowded thoroughfare, also at No. 13 Craven Street, London, and 
No. 3 Rue St. Koch, Paris, and no house In its line in this section of 
Philadelphia maintains a better standing in the trade. Mr. 
Knight is a Philadelphia!! by birth and education and thoroughly 
devoted to every interest looking towards its future welfare and 
advancement, while his establishment, ivhich was founded origin- 
ally in 1ST.7 is the oldest house of its kind in the city, and from the 
date of its commencement has been continued with uniform and 
gratifying success, and has occupied the present location since 
LS77. Conducting ttie bouse on strict business principles, upright 
and honorable in his dealings and thoroughly conversant with the 
trade in all its branches, it is ouly in the nature of events that the 
house should have gained the popular bold on popular favor and 
patronage it enjoys. He occupies spacious anil commodious quar- 
ters elegantly furnished and carries at all times a large and mag- 
nificent assortment of diamonds, rubies, pearls, sapphires, emer- 
alds, and kindred gems in great variety, while polite and courteous 
assistants are in attendance, and the trade which is of a wholesale 
anil retail character, extends all over the United States, and cus- 
tomers dealing here can rely at all times upon every representa- 
tion made as to the character of the goods. Mr. Knight is au 
active and prominent member of Meade Post No, 1, G A. R., De- 
partment of Pennsylvania, having served for three years in the 
16th Pennsylvania 'Cavalry during the late civil war and Major on 
the staff of General Gregg of this state. He is an enterprising and 
energetic merchant and enjoys the highest respect and confidence 
of all with whom he has ever had any social or business relations. 

WATSON & PEALE, Plumbers and Gas-fitters, No. 1707 
Chestnut Street.— A house which has established the 
most enviable reputation for the superior character of 
its woik as plumbers and gas fitters is that of Messrs. 
Watson & Peale of No 1707 Chestnut Street. They unite every 
possible qualification, including vast practical experience, per- 
fected facilities, a thorough knowledge of the most advanced re- 
quirements of sanitary plumbing, and widespread influential con- 
nections. Both partners are practical sanitary engineers and 
master plumbers, who know what good, reliable work is, and in- 
sist on the best materials and skilled journey work. The business 
was established in 1Si>3 by Mr. Richard H. Watson, who early 
developed a growing trade, and continued to do agreat d»al of con- 
tract work for new buildings. In 188S Mr. Fulton F. Peale came 
into co-partnership under the existing name and style. Mr. Peale 
became connected with the house in 186S, and has superintended 
the plumbing and gas fitting of many of the finest office buildings 
on Chestnut Street and elsewhere. Mr. Watson is the oldest sani- 
tary engineer and practical master plumber in the city, having 
been iu active business since 1851. The firm do the finest work 
only and some idea of it may be gathered when we state that they 
have put the plumbing in most of the city hospitals: the Bullitt 
building, Girard Fire Insurance building, Wood building, American 
Fire Insurance building, the Old Drexel building, the Soutt man- 
sion, the Stratford flats, Rank of the Republic. Guarantee Trust 
Company's building, and many others too numerous to mention. 
They are now doing the new Pennsylvania Tnist Company's build- 
ing, and put the plumbing in the old one also, the best of reference 
that their work gave perfect satisfaction. The turn occupy very 
large premises most desirably located. They occupy the entire 
three-story and basement building No. 1707 Chestnut Street. 19x120 
feet in dimensions, where they have a large shop, and salesroom 
carrying a heavy and comprehensive stock of basins, pipe, sanitary 
plumbing materials of all kinds, etc. The firm are members of 
the master builder's exchange, and are popular and respected 
business men, the recognized authorities in their line who have 
*ver retained the confidence "i lending commercial circles. 

turers ol embroideries, etc., whose office and salesrooms are lo- 
cated at No. 237 Chestnut Street. This busini is was established 
in 1S7I and in 1883 the firm of M. H. Pulaski & Co. assumed 
control, the co-partners being Messrs. M.H.Pulaski, Louis Pulo ki 
and S, and A. Meyer. The firm's factory, which is admirably 
equipped with special machinery aud appliances is in Bruygen. 
The house at St. Gall, Switzerland, is carried on under the firm 
name or Pulaski A Meyer Peres. The business in Philadelphia is 
under the able and careful management of Mr. M. II. Pulaski, who 
has had great experience and i- thoroughly conversant with every 
detail of this steadily growing industry and the requirements of the 
American market. Messrs. M. II. Pulaski & Co., manufacture and 
deal hugely in embroideries of all descriptions, which are shipped 
direct from St. Gall to the firm's house in Philadelphia. The e 
goods are unrivalled for quality, elegance of design, finish and 
uniform excellence, and have no superiors in this country or 
Europe, while the prices quoted for them in all cases are exceed- 
ingly moderate. The premises occupied in Philadelphia comprise 
four spacious floors, each being 21x130 feet in dimensions, where 
are employed from thirty to sixty hands for handling samples, etc., 
outside of the clerical force required. Mr. Pulaski was horn in 
Hungary, but has resided iu Philadelphia for the last twenty-four 
years, where he is highly regarded in trade circles for his ability, 
promptness and just methods. The trade of this responsible house 
extends throughout all sections of the United States and is steadily 
increasing owing to the superiority of its productions, which are 
great favorites with the trade and public wherever introduced. 
Mr. H. Pulaski is the inventor aud patautee of the " Magic Edge 
Embroidery" which has already attained a large and rapid sale 
and is in demand by all first-class dealers and consumers all over 
the couutry for its durability and superiority above all others. It 
saves both time aud trouble of cutting out edges and protects the 
latter from fraying out in the washing and is guaranteed to last 
twice as long as if cut out by hand. This convenient and valuable 
trimming will be found for sale at all first-class dealers every- 
where and is a general favorite wherever introduced. 


H. PULASKI & CO., Manufacturers id Embroideries, Etc., 
No. 231 Chestnut si No rei lew of Philadelphia's whole- 
sale representative business houses would be complete 
without prominent mention being made of the reliable 
aud progressive firm of Messrs, M. H. Pulaski & Co., manufac- 

AA. BOCKIUS & CO., Importers and Jobbers in China, Glass 
and Queensware, No. lono Market Street.— An old es- 
t tablished and representative Philadelphia concern en- 
gaged in the wholesale china, crockery and glassware 
trade is that of A. A. Eockius & Co., of No. 1000 Market Street, 
which for a period of forty-three years ha3 maintained a leading 
place in its line. This is in fact, one of the oldest as well as one of 
the largest and foremost houses devoted to this branch of mer- 
cantile activity in the city, and fully sustains its well de- 
served reputation for fine goods, and honorable dealing. The 
firm are importers and jobbers of china, glassware, queens- 
ware, lamps, etc., and show at all times an exceedingly flue assort 
ment, every department being replete with the latest novelties, 
while the trade, u hich is very extensive, grows apace with years. 
This widely known and popular bouse was founded in 1S4S by 
Bockius & Gorgus, who were succeeded in 1863 by C. K. Bockius & 
Bio., the firm name again changing in 1S76 to Bockius & Mullison, 
and under this style the business was carried on up to 1883, when 
they were iu turn succeeded by A. A. Bockius & Co., by whom it 
has since been continued with uninterrupted prosperity. The em- 
porium occupies au entire five-story and basement building, SoxL25 
feet iu dimensions, and is tastefully appointed and excellently 
arranged throughout, a splendid display being made, while a 
large staff oT clerks and salesmen are employed. A vast, varied- 
ami superb stock is constantly carried, comprising beautiful tea 
sets, and imported china iu unique designs and delicate finish, 
exquisite vases, decorated ware ami art pottery in gre;,t variety 
magnificent cut ami blown glass, including hotel, bar and 
table ware ; handsome lamps, shades, globes, etc. ; every thing 
in the line of crockery and queensware, art novelties, bric-a 
brae and an art collection of ornamental articles for household 
decoration; ami altogether, both in the wholesale and retail de- 
partments, a flourishing business is done, the trade of the firm ex- 
tending all over Pennsylvania] New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland, 
Ohio, Virginia and West Virginia. Mr. A. A. Bockius, who is the 
sole member, the " Co. "' being nominal, is a gentleman In the 
prime of life and a na'he of this city, well and favorably known 
in mercantile and social circles. 



HAROLD R. LEWI? & CO.. Manufacturers and Sole Proprietors 
of •• Lardoline " Lubricating Oils, also of Cordage and 
Binder Twine, No. 115 North Second Street: Factory, Corner 
Division and Thompson Streets.— The trade in lubricants 
is one of the highest importance, directly affecting as it does every 
industi ial interest in the land. lu no one item of supply is quality 
and purity of such necessity, for an inferior lubricant is dear at. any 
price speedily destroying the machinery it is used upon. It is thus 
matter for congratulation that the enterprising house of Messrs. 
Harold R. Lewis & Co., have introduced to the public their famous 
"Lardoline "cylinder and machinery oils, and "Peerless" spindle 
oil. which have within a couple of years attained a consumption 
of enormous magnitude. Mr. Lewis is a native of Philadelphia, 
very widely and favorably known, and who in 1SS5 engaged in tire 
manufacture of cordage upon an extensive scale. The " Victoria 
Cordage Works." as this establishment was known, early became 
noted for the superiority of its product, and a trade of wide extent 
was developed. Mr. Lewis has produced in " Lardoline," the 
finest general lubricant known to the trade. It lias every possible 
qualification, and is pure and absolutely devoid of grit, acid or 
injurious ingredients. The enormous and rapidly increasing sales 
of " Lardoline " cylinder and machinery oils indicate how superior 
they are to all others m the market. They are now in use on rail- 
roads, and steamer lines; in our largest mills, factories, engine 
rooms, etc. The firm likewise manufacture the "Peerless" 
spindle oil, and the "Peerless" leather oils, and are refiners 
of French Degras which has supplanted the imported article, all of 
these goods being of the highest standard of excellence, am! in 
grpat and growing demand. These are all staple brands, kept up 
to the highest grade and are tlie most, satisfactory in use of any 
offered to the trade. The firm are also sole agents for the famous 
Frazer axle grease. The cordage works are situated corner of 
Division and Thompson Streets, and are extensive, fully equipped 
with the latest improved machinery and appliances, run by steam 
power, and affording employment to upwards of eighty hands in 
the manufacture of full lines of cordage and binder twine. These 
are goods of exceptional merit, produced from the best materials 
and warranted to in every respect affo'rd entire satisfaction. Mr. 
Lewis' w.i rehouse at No. 115 North Second Street is three floors -and 
basement in height, and twenty-five feet by one hundred in dimen- 
sions, where is earned a very heavy stock of lubricating oils and 
cordage, and from which the trade of a wide area is supplied. Mr. 
Lewis is represented by three traveling salesmen, and his goods 
are in demand both east, west and south. Mr. Lewis is a popular 
and public spirited citizen and an ardent lover of outdoor sports, 
and as president of the Philadelphia Bicycle Club, isgreatly promot- 
ing the popularity of this means of recreation and exercise. His com- 
mercial methods are straight forward and honorable ; his policy is 
one of enterprise and ability, and he is worthy of the large measure 
of success attending his commercial career. 

TH03. H. MeCOLLIN & CO., Photographers' Supplies, No. 
635 Arch street.— Philadelphia is noted among its other 
advantages as being a great and leading centre for the 
trade in photographic supplies of every description, the 
representative house in this line being that of Messrs. Thos. H. 
MeCpllin & Co. The business is the oldest of its kind in the 
United States, having been founded in 1S39. In 1816 Mr. Dabbs 
became proprietor, and was succeeded by Mr. J. Harworth. Twenty- 
years ago Mr. McCullin became sole proprietor, and during the 
intervening period, great advances in photography have been 
made, adding both to the volume and scope of the trade in the 
most wonderful degree. In every department and branch of the 
business Mr. McCollin has ever maintained the lead, manifesting 
a most progressive policy, and establishing widespread relations 
of the most influential character. In 18sT he took into co-partner- 
ship Mr. A. E. Maris, under the existing name and style, and the 
II mi to-day is in every way an exponent of the best equipment and 
materials and the greatest progress in the photographic art. The 
building occupied is 30x150 feet in dimensions, four floors and base- 
ment in height, and handsomely fitted up throughout. Messrs. Mc- 
Collin & Co., are both manufacturers and importers upon the most 
extensive scale, as well as publishers, being the proprietors of the 
leading magazine of photography in the United states, the American 
Journal of Photography, a monthly periodical edited by a practi- 

cal photographer and chemist, and supported by contributions 
aud papers from the pens of the ablest experimenters in the 
science. The magazine has a deservedly wide circulation and 
has received the highest* encomiums both at home and from 
abroad. As manufacturers Messrs. McCollin & Co., are widely 
known. They have great celebrity for certain specialties, among 
which is their wonderful compound known as blitz-pulver, which 
is driving all other preparations out of the market, being the most 
effectual and cheapest agent yet discovered for the production of 
flash light for photographing at night. The brilliant results which 
have been secured by its use in obtaining pictures of interiors, 
dark mines, caverns etc., as well as most exquisite portrait work 
have made it exceedingly popular. Gallery outfits are a specialty, 
and the firm offers the most substantial inducements both as to 
price and quality. The limits of this article prevent any attempt 
at a description of this immense and comprehensive stock, whicli 
includes a vast variety of the latest improved cameras, lenses, 
accessories, etc. Among the cameras are McCollin's gem, card 
and universal camera boxes; Chicago card camera; imperial card 
or cabinet portrait box; "Success ''camera, with the tangent screw 
movement, the Compact View Success camera; etc. In amateur 
outfits, the house leads in extent aud variety of styles, adapted to 
every requirement and at all prices from $9.00 up. Among special- 
ties are the popular climax detective camera, and Gray's vest' 
camera, worn under the vest, the Kodak and Lilliput, etc, while in 
albumen paper, chemical outfits and printing outfits ithasa wider 
range and more carefully selected stock. In lenses will be found 
full lines of Dallmeyer's, Morrison's, and Darlot's manufacture. 
The firm promptly fills orders for photographic enlargements for 
crayons, India ink, pastel and water colors. McCollin's outfit for 
photography with the microscope is another specialty, while in 
every branch of photography, the equipments supplied are the 
best and most perfect. Mr. McCollin was born in this city, and is 
a popular and respected business man. who has ever retained tiie 
confidence of leading commercial circles and is a worthy exponent 
of his branch of trade. Mr. Maris is likewise very widely and 
favorably known, and the house does a prominent business of 
great and growing magnitude all »>' t the United States. 

SEAVEY, FOSTER & BOWMAN, Agents for the Eureka Silk 
Manufacturing Co., Manufacturers of Hand and Machine 
Silks, Silk and Mohair Bindings, Cottoii and Linen Threads, 
No. 7'J8 Arch Street. — In the manufacture of silk, one of 
the oldest, as well as most extensive and best known exponents 
of the industry in this country is the Eureka Silk Manufacturing 
Company, whose mills are located at East Hampton, Conn., and 
Canton, Mass., and who are represented in this city by Messrs. 
Seavey, Foster & Bowman, at No. 728 Arch Street. This company 
are nationally famous as manufacturers of hand and machine 
silks, silk and mohair bindings, cotton and linen threads, and 
unong their most popular specialties are Eureka knitting silk, 
Eureka zephyr embroidery. Eureka rope embroidery, Eureka 
filling floss, Eureka etching silk, Eureka filoseue. and Eureka 
plain embroidery silk. The business has been in successful opera- 
tion for fifty years, and the Philadelphia house was first opened in 
1S-S3, under the personal management of Mr. George C. Oaks, 
member of the firm, who is the resident partner here, while 
Messrs. F. A. Foster and J. A. Bowman represent the company at 
No. 104 Arch Street, Boston. The mills of this company give 
employment to some 1,500 operatives, and the output is one of 
colossal magnitude and importance. The Philadelphia house 
holds the agency of the company in Pennsylvania, Delaware. 
Ohio, West Virginia, the eastern shore of Maryland and the South, 
and has an immense trade with jobbers throughout this extensive 
territory. The goods in all lines are of a superior character,, 
rarely equalled and widely preferred over all others as represent- 
ing the highest standard in quality and finish. Another important 
item in connection with the conduct of the business is that the 
preparation is so thorough that goods of the finest and must 
reliable quality are produced at the minimum of cost, and are 
placed to the trade on the most attractive terms. All experts in 
knitting, art embroidery, etching, etc., prefer the Eureka silk, 
while nil who desire pure silk and fast colors fir any purpose find 
the Eureka superior to all others. Orders are filled with care and 
dispatch, and customers are granted every possible advantage. 


THOMAS M. LOCKE, Dealer in Carpetings, So. 939 Market 
Street.— Handsome carpets, rugs, and othei floor coverings 
are regarded properly in these modern times as but pans of 
;\ harmonious whole in considering tin* various articles 
which constitute household furnishings and interior decorations. 
The product of the carpet looms of to-day are works of art, and 
these now almost indispensible articles for covering our floors, ate 
Confined no longer to the homes of the wealthy, as the economy of 
steam production . has placed them within reach of all who are 
provident. A popular and prosperous house engaged in this line 
of merchandise, both wholesale and retail, is that of Thomas M. 
Locke, deaUr in carpetings, whose fine warerooms are so centrally 
and eligibly located at No. 939 Market Street, second door below 
Tenth Street on the north side, which has attained a wide-spread 
reputation for the excellence of its goods and straightforward 
business management. Mr. Locke was born in Gloucester County, 
New Jersey, not far distant from Philadelphia, and after acquiring 
a thorough knowledge of this trade in all its various branches 
inaugurated this enterprise on his own account In 1SS3, and 
the business has been growing in popularity and importance 
ever since the date of its commencement. The premises oc- 
cupied are spacious and commodious, comprising a substantial 
fbui story niaible building, and furnished with all modern 
conveniences that good taste and enterprise can suggest for 
the successful prosecution of the business. The entire establish- 
ment is fully stocked, the assortment embracing all the leading 
novelties In carpetings, seasonable and latest designs in moquettes 
bidy brussels, double faced brussels, tapestry brussels, ingrains, 
full line of -art squares, druggets, three ply; also drugget, felt, linen 
and cotton crumb cloths, oil-cloths, linoleum, china, uapier and 
cocoa mattings, imported rugs and mats, etc. These goods are re 
ceived direct from the manufacturers and importers, and as to 
variety, quality and price his stock is unsurpassed by any similar 
concern in this section of the city, while the trade which is both 
wholesale and retail extends throughout this city, state and adjoin- 
ing states of New Jersey, Delaware and others. Patrons receive 
their goods at factory prices w hich are furnished from the stock ou 
hand here or shipped direct from the factory. The close connections 
which he lias established with producers and importers, in connec- 
tion with his unsurpassed facilities enables him tooffer inducements 
to purchasers that would be very difficult to obtain elsewhere. Mr. 
Locke is a merchant of recognized ability, industry and integrity, 
for which lie commands universal respect in social and commercial 
circles, and the success he has achieved is justly merited by his un- 
tiring perseverance. Mr. Locke is also prominent in civil and 
political affairs, having served as Commissioner of Philadelphia 
County for two terms, also as school director in Philadelphia for a 
number of terms. He was a promiuent member of the G. A. E. and 
is president of the Odd Fellows' Cemetery Company. He was also a 
member of the New Jersey Legislature and has filled these im- 
portant positions with honor to himself and his constituents. 

JAMES L. BRANSON, Manufacturer of the New Branson 
Knitting Machines, Automatic Rihbers, Etc., No. 612 Arch 
Street.— A branch of trade of a very meritorious character 
in Philadelphia, is that of the manufacture and sale of 
knitting machinery. In this connection special attention is 
directed to the representative and reliable house of Mr. James L. 
Branson, No. 612 Arch Street, manufacturer of the famous new 
Branson knitting machines, automatic libbers, and automatic fancy 
ribbers. This business was established In 1880 by Mr. J. C. Bran- 
sou. who Is a thoroughly practical machinist and inventor, fully con- 
versant with every detail and feature of knitting machinery and 
the requirements of manufacturers and others. The factory, 
which is fully supplied with special tools and machinery, is situated 
on Race Street. The " Branson knitter" has met with unbounded 
praise, wherever shown in used. It won the highest award at the 
Centennial for "simplicity of construction, good workmanship and 
fitness for purposes intended," and likewise at the American In- 
stuiit--. New York City, for" its extremely simple construction." 
This splendid knitting machine lias now been greatly improved, 
and is presented to the trade and public for further favors, Asa 
matter of fact, and in proof of the simplicity, durability, and 
entire practicability of this machine, it may be stated, that they 
ar.' now operated by boys ranging from the ayes of nine to fifteen 

years, where they are required to make twenty-eight pairs of 
meu - s socks in each day's work of seven hours. A common day's 
work by an adult operator is from furty to sixty pairs of socks or 
ladies' full hose of either cotton or wool. In the operation of th.- 
niaculne the heel is made so that not a single stitch Is added bj 
hand, and the toe with only two minutes' work with the m 

TO] luce this result no complication is added to tl rdlnarj 

tubular knitting machine, and in this operation no taking off or 
putting on of the stitches is required, either in heel or toe. The 
stitch is the same as made on the ordinary knitting needles", only 
more even and peifcct. It. will knit any yarn that can be knit by 
hand. Mr. Branson promptly fills orders at extremely low 
prices, and hit, trade extends not only throughout the entire 

^SsqVA" 8 i-V- tic t\ms ek. 

United States and Canada, but also to all parts of the world. The 
proprietor was born in Indiana, but has resided in Philadelphia for 
the last fourteen years, where he is highly esteemed by the com- 
munity for his mechanical skill, enterprise and integrity. The 
Chicago branch is located at No. 221 Fifth Avenue. 

Street.— The business interests in North Seventh Street are a 
singularly varied and highly important character. There is 
scarcely an industrial pursuit that can be mentioned which 
is not more or less conspicuously represented in the above named 
locality, and on a scale of considerable magnitude. The bonnet 
and hat bleachery trade is one of these interests, and it lias an 
energetic and excellent representative in the person of Mr. George 
W. Steinman, of No. 5-1 North Seventh. Street. This gentleman 
was born in the city, and in the last two years of the civil war 
served as a private in the ranks of the lS3d Union League Pennsyl- 
vania Volunteer Infantry, and was one of the youngest soldlei 5 of 
the regiment. Fie has had a long practical experience as a bonnet 
and hat bleacher, and the business which lie now controls was 
originally founded in 1880 by Mr. Henry Birch, whom hesucceeded 
as proprietor in 1885. The premises occupied for the business are 
commodious, and all the improvements that have been devisi .1 of 
late years for securing greater efficiency and perfect! n in 
ing operations, are In use here. From three to five exper! 
hands are employed, and a specialty is made of the execution of 
the finest class of work, for the straw hat and bonnet tl I 
well as for private individuals. A large patron ige is drawn from 
all parts of the city, and thorough satisf ictlon is guaranteed, while 
the pi ices are as low as i, consistent with good work. 



THE INVESTMENT COMPANY, of Philadelphia, No. 310 
Chestnut street.— Tlie city of Philadelphia has every reason 
to be proud of its numerous wealthy bankiug and financial 
corpor.itions, conducted as they are on such a thoroughly 
sound and conservative basis. Their importance as a means of con- 
tributing to develop the resources of not only Pennsylvania but. 
of the country at large cannot be doubted, while their solvency and 
rapidly increasing volume of business are guarantees of the pros- 
perity of the financial and industrial interests of the city and state. 
One of the most substantial and progressive financial corporations 
of Philadelphia is the Investment Company, whose offices are cen- 
trally located at No. 310 Chestnut Street. Tins company was duly 
organized under the laws of Pennsylvania in 1686\vlth a paid up 
capital of $-2,00o,0oo. In 18S7 its capital was increased to $4,000,000 
full paid, and after paying regular dividends to stockholders 
about $400,000 has been placeed to the credit of undivided 
profits. Its career has been a very successful one highly 
creditable to the conservative ability and prudence of its 
managament. The Investment Company of Philadelphia is ably 
officered, and its board of directors and advisory committee of 
stockholders are more than usually prominent and popular in 
financial and business circles. The list is as follows : William 
Brockie, president; Henry C. Gibson, vice-president; Henry M. 
Hoyt, Jr., treasurer; Ethelbert Watts, secretary. Board of di- 
rectors: William Brockie, George S. Pepper, Marton McMichael, 
Wharton Barker, Henry U. Gibson, T. Wistar Brown, Isaac H. 
Clothier. Advisory committee of stockholders, William Potter, 
George M. Troutman. William Pepper, II D., John G. Heading, 
Joseph E. Gilliughain, Henry E. Smith, Craige Lippineott. John 
Wanamaker, Hamilton pisston, Clayton French, William Wood, 
Walter Garrett, John Harrison, Edward H. Coates, Conyers But- 
ton. The company conducts a general banking business and al- 
lows interest on cash deposits, subject to cheque, or on certificates. 
It solicits the accounts of banks, bankers, corporations, firms and 
individuals, and buys and sells bills of exchange, drawing on 
Baring Bros. & Co., London ; Perier Freres et Cie, Paris; Mendels- 
sohn & Co., Berlin; Hope & Co., Amsterdam-, and others. The In- 
vestment Company also issues Baring Bros.& Co's, circular letters of 
credit for travelers, available in all parts of the world. It like- 
wise negotiates securities, railroad, state, municipal, etc.. under- 
takes the registration and transfer of stocks and bonds payment 
and collection of dividends, coupons and interest, and also acts 
as financial agent for individuals, municipalities, railroad and 
other corporations. The company also offers for sale first class 
dividend paying investment securities, and guarantees entire sat- 
isfaction to patrons. In fact it utilizes every modern system, 
which in any way tends to benefit financial transactions, and ex- 
tends to its customers every possible facility and convenience. 
The company transacts a considerable amount of its Philadelphia 
business through the First National Bank, Farmers' and Mechan- 
ics' National Bank, the Philadelphia National Bank and the Cen- 
tral National Bank of Philadelphia. The president, Mr. William 
Brockie is a director of the Philadelphia National Bank, adirector 
of the Lehigh Valley R. R. and president 'of the Maritime Ex- 
change. Mr. H. C. Gibson, the vice president is a director of tiie 
Fust National bank, and also of the Fidelty Trust Company. Mr. 
H. M. Hoj t, Jr.. treasurer, and Mr. Ethelbert Watts, the secretary, 
are able and honorable bank officers, eminently qualified for their 
important positions. In conclusion we would add. that the In- 
vestment Company of Philadelphia by a just and conservative 
course has seemed a leading position among the solid and respon- 
sible financial institutions of the United States, and fully merits 
the entire confidence of the community. 

430 Chestnut Street.— The city of Philadelphia lias.every rea- 
son to be proud of its numerous wealthy banking corpor- 
ations, conducted as they are on so thoroughly sound 
and conservative a basis. Their importance as a means of 
contributing to develop the immense resources of not only 
Pennsylvania, but of the country at large cannot be doubted, 
while their solvency and rapidly increasing volume of business are 
guarantees of the prosperity of the financial and Industrial Inter- 
ests of the city anil state. Prominent anion.' the leading hanks of 
Philadelphia, is the Independence National Bank, whose hanking 

offices are centrally located at No. 430 Chestnut Street. This bank 
was duly incorporated under the national banking laws in 1S£3, 
and its career has been a very successful one, highly creditable to 
the sound conservative judgment and executive ability displayed in 
Its management. The paid up capital of the Independence National 
Bank is 5500,000, winch has been further augmented by a surplus 
and profits of $123,347.10. The bank conducts a general business, 
and receives upon favorable terms the accounts of banks, bankers 
corporations, merchants, manufacturers and others. It issues 
sight drafts upon all the principal cities and points in the United 
States, grants letters of credit, makes telegraphic transfers of 
money, negotiates and collects bills of exchange, discounts first 
class commercial paper, etc. The bank makes a specialty of col- 
lections and prompt remittance of amounts received at a minimum 
of cost. The management is progressive, and neglects no point of 
efficiency demanded by modern commercial practice, and at the 
same time carefully guards the interests of its depositors, scrupu- 
lously protecting them against possibility of risk. The bank is 
ably officered, and its directors are more than usually popular and 
esteemed in financial circles. The list is as follows: R. L. Austin, 
president; George W. Blabon, vice president; Theo. E. Wteder- 
sheim, cashier. Directors: Charles Lennig, of Charles LennigConi- 
pany, (limited.) chemicals: George W. Blabon, or George W. Bla- 
bon & Co , oil cloth manufacturers; Jacob G. DeTurck, of Brown, 
DeTurck & .Co., wholesale upholstery goods: William B. Scott, of 
John Scott & Snns. coal miners and shippers; Philip Jagode, of 
David Scull & Co., wool.mercbants ; Simon B. Fleisher, of S. B. & B 
W. Fleisher, manufacturers of* yarns and woolens ; George Fales 
Baker, M. D. ; John Sailer, of Sailer A: Stevenson, bankers; James 
F. Sullivan, of Sullivan Bros., wholesale notions; Charles H. Dun- 
gan, of Bowen, Dungnn & Co., wholesale millinery goods; George 
W. Bremer, of Lewis Bremer's Sons, wholesale tobaccos: Charles 
J. Harrah, Jr., vice president Midvale steel works, and K. L. 
Austin, the president. The statement Issued. January 31, 18S9, 
shows the affairs of the Bank to be in a highly satisfactory and sub- 
stantial condition. The principal correspondents of the bank 
are the Chemical National Bank, N. Y. ; National Bank of the 
Republic, N. Y. ; Suffolk National Bank, Boston ; National Bank of 
Illinois, Chicago; First National Bank, San Francisco; Union 
National Bank, New Orleans. 

MILTON' PHILLIP.S, Wholesale Manufacturer of La. 
Misses' and Children's Fine Shoes, Slippers. Ties, 
No. 410 Arch Street.— The history of the progress 

ILTON' PHILLIP.S, Wholesale Manufacturer of Ladies', 

es, Etc., 
ress and 
development of the shoe manufacturing interests during 
the past half a century, has few parallels. This branch of trade 
has grown to vast magnitude, while the improvements effected in 
the goods produced has.been equally worthy of note, especially so 
in regard to fine female foot-wear. In this connection special 
mention ought here be made of the productions of Milton Phillips, 
wholesale manufacturer of ladies', misses' and children's shoes" 
slippers, etc., No. 410 Arch Street, which have secured an endur- 
ing hold on popular favor all over the country owing to the uni- 
formly high standard of excellence at which the same are main- 
tained. The goods manufactured by Mr. Phillips are noted for 
their general merit, being made of the best, carefully selected 
material, and by expert workmen, while in the matterof neatness 
of design, shape and comfort they are conceded to be the ne plus 
ultra in female and children's fine toot-wear. This widely known 
and nourishing concern, which is one of the oldest and leading 
enterprises of the kind in the city or state, was established some 
thirty-seven odd years ago by Cyrus Phillips (father of the present 
proprietor), who conducted the business alone up to ISfis, when he 
took into partnership his son Milton Phillips, who about eight 
years since assumed sole control. The factory and salesroom 
occupy three commodious floors, and are completely equipped with 
all needed facilities, while from forty to fifty hands are employed. 
The productions include ladies', misses' and children's fine hand 
and machine-sewed shoes, slippers, tics, etc., in all sizes, widths, 
styles and designs, of which an extensive assortment is always 
carried in stock ; and the trade of the house, extends through- 
out the United States. Mr. Phillips, who is a gentleman in 
the prime of life and a native of this city, is a man of energy 
and business ability, as well as practical skill and experience, and 
is thoroughly conversant with the wants of the trade. 



ROBERTS, TAYLOR & CO., Manufacturers of W. D. Roberl 
Sr's., Hard and Long Wearing, Fire and Water Proof 
Paints. Celebrated Blackboards, Et«:., No. 139 North Sixth 
Street.— A representative and widely known house ex- 
tensively engaged in the manufacture of hard and long wearing 
lire and water proof paints and black boards, etc., Is that ol 
Messrs. Roberts, Taylor & Co., whose office, salesrooms, etc., are 
located at No. 139 Xorth Sixth Street This business was estab- 
lished sixteen years ago by Mr. W. P. Roberts, Si'., who deserves 
great credit lor his perseverance and industry in building up a 
business without any capital and with only part of the house 
that he was living in to du his manufacturing, soliciting 
orders through the day and making up the goods at night. As 
busluess increased tie rented larger space, until some time ago he 
associated himself with .Mr. Win. E. D. Taylor. They now occupy 
a large building, three large floors of considerable depth, located 
at No. 1SU North Sixth Street, and have built up a liberal and 
permanent patronage in all sections of the United States from 
Mexico to Canada and as tar west as California. The firm make 

a specialty of manufacturing W. D. Roberts, Si's, hard and 
long wealing, hie and watei pioof paints, also W. D. Roberts, 
Sr's . improved black boards and. surface slating. Their marvelous 
paint when iipplied to metals, stone, brick or wood immediately 
Solidifies and becomes as hard as iron and it forms a coating, 
which is not affected by fire or water, and remains, therefore, 
unaltered under all the vicissitudes of the weather. Brick, wood, 
paper, etc., when painted with their water proof paint and placed 
in water for months will not absorb a drop of water and the 
fire proof paint is not affected by a flame of tire or red lint coals. 
Their unequaled roofing paint is guaranteed for ten years and 
some remarkable tests are made with it. Take a piece of tin 
coated on one side with their celebrated roofing paint and tic 
otl'.er side with other nest roofing paint and hold it over a flame of 
fire (their paint in the lire) and then pur it into water, it will be 
seen, that the heat going through their paint and the tin, will 
blister and burn off the other paint, while their paint will be 
found as good as at first, showing that the sun. heat or cold will 
hav.' no effect on it. These splendid paints penetrate into the finest 
pores of all materials to which they are applied, whether brick, stone 
canvas or wood. They exclude dampness, and resist the action of 
fire or water, salt air, acids, gases, vapor or steam. The firm 
guarantee them for five years and promptly supply the trade with 
the paint, which his a remarkable covering capacity, ready foi 
use. The linn's black-boards and slated surface have a reputa 
tation superioi to anything ever offered, owing to the finish being 
such as will admit of a flue, sharp, clear mark being made with 
either chalk or slate pencil, and likewise with the additional 
advantage over allother makes, that the surface will stand the 
u^" of sponge and water. These blackboards, some in use ovei 
fifteen years, were, on their own merits, without personal repre- 
sentation, award ■ I the first premium over three competing 
makes at the Pennsylvania Stat Fair, I8S5 and 1S86. The firm 
take contracts for coating new and re-coaling old walls and 
boards in school houses, colleges, etc. They have executed large 
contracts for their special proc tss in tic Philadelphia boys' high 
s.h, ni and other largest .ml best institutions in and near Phila 
delphia. also have bonafide testimonials from many of the largi t 
institutions as well as from largest jobbers in these goods. The 
bulletin boards at tin- •• Times " office, Eighth and Chestnut Streets 

and In front of the " Evei n Bulletin, SOTChestnul Street, were 

in ido by this linn, and li II along felt want over the Old troubh 
and unsatisfactory papei pasting. Messrs Roberts & Taylor are 
highly esteemed by the community toi their enterprise, b ■ 
capacity and integrity and honest liberal dealings, and their pros- 
pects in the near future are of the most favorable character. Their 
catalogue which is unusually interesting and instructive will be 
mailed on application. 

JOHN B. MORLEY <£ CO., Custom Tailors, Eighth and Chest- 
nut Streets. -The hading and largest custom tailoring 
establishment in Philadelphia is that of Messrs. John B. 
Morley & Co., whose premises are so centrally and prom- 
inently located at the corner of Eighth and i liestnut Streets. The 
busiuess was founded on February 17th, JS77, by Messrs. Ceo. A. 
Castor & Co., Mr. .1. B. Morley being Mi. Castor's co-partner. 
New methods, marked enterprise, exquisite .taste and good judg- 
ment in selection of cloths and woolens, coupl»d with fashionable 
tailoring done at lowest prices, speedllj secured to the firm an 
enormous and growing patronage. Eventually Mr. Castor's Im- 
mense stores in New York and Boston requiring all his time, he 
retired, and Mr. Morley has since ably and successfully carried on 
the business, and his facilities wereso taxed in the first store occu- 
pied, that he added on the corner store in 1880, thus securing 
premises. 43 by inn feet, elaborately fitted up withall con venien les, 
and decidedly the most spacious and attractive custom tailoring 
emporium in the city. The upper floors of the building, four 
stories in height, are devoted to the making of the garments, as 
measured to order below. Some idea of the magnitude of the busi- 
ness done may be gathered, when we state that on an average in 
the busy seasons from 300 to 400 journeymen tailors are employed. 
Mr. Morley was born in New York, and has been iu business off 
and on in Philadelphia for the prist 24 years, and is a recognized 
authority and expert. Fashionable tailoring is here conducted 
upon correct principles. Mr. Morley imports and offers to his cus- 
tomers only the finest goods (in the piece). He is always the lust 
with the new styles, and new seasons' offerings, and displays all 
the latest novelties in patterns, shades and texture;,-. The best 
classes of Philadelphia society secure their garments here. Each 
figure is made a study so as to best meet its contour, and to secure 
graceful, easy fitting garments, gratifying the wearer, both as to 
style and marked durability. The prices, perfection and quality 
considered, cannot be duplicated elsewhere, and the largest busi- 
ness of the kind in the city is being conducted here on the sound 
basis of efficiency, integrity and equity. Mr. Morley i-. a popular 
businessman, who has ever retained the confidence of leading 
commercial circles, and is one of America's leading representatii es 
of the highest advances in the merchant tailors' art. 

BENTON & BKOTHEK, Gold Pen Manufacturers, No. 628 
Chestnut Street.— It was away back iu lSO'i that Messrs. Ben- 
ton & Brother laid the foundations of the gold pen manu- 
facturing concern, at No 109 Chestnut Street, and later 
removed to No. 62S Chestnut Street, which has ever since been 
conducted In their name. The founders were Messrs. C. C. and 
William Benton, both of whom are dead. In IS58 the business 
passed into the hands of Mr. L. J. Garrett, who conducted il until 
his death in 1874 .sue'.' then it has been continued bj Ills widow, 
Mrs. L. J. Garrett, who is aided in the management of the eater- 
prise by skilled and experienced workmen. Commodious pn 
Are occupied, and gold pens of all kinds arc made to order or 
repaired. This house has gained a widespread popularity for the 
uniform excellence of its gold pens, and from the outset the 
utmost perfection of workmanship has been aimed at. The manu- 
facturing department i- equipped with the latest improved and 
perfected labor-saving machinery iu existence In this trade, and 
none but the most skillful and progressive workmen tin employed. 
The leading bankers, brokers, merchants and insurance men all 
join in expressing their high opinion as to the merits and perma- 
nent usefulness of the gold pens sent out from this establishment. 
The house also manufactures fountain and sfylog/aphic pi 
a full line of novelty pencils in solid gold, plated, ivory, pearl, sil 
ver, rubber and celluloid mountings. A full and complete stock 
of pens, stylographic pens, pencils. ol ail makes >■ c instantly kept 
on hand, gold and f llutaln ; ns being made a specialty of. 



t El:, smith & BRO., Vessel Owners and Shipping Agents, No. 

7 Market street— An important feature of the commercial 
\J activity and enterprise (or "which Philadelphia has always 

been credited, and one which has home a prominent pai t in 
rearing its vast business, wealth anil prosperity, is its multifarious 
shipping interests. Of the many individuals ami firm-, who have 
been instrumental in buildipg up ami fostering the maritime bush 
ness that has been the stepping stone to the city's greatness, no 
one house has done more or been more active than the great ship 
ping firm of Jer. Smith & Bro., whose commodious and busy offices 
and exchange are located at Mo. 7 Market Street, in the heart of the 
shipping trade of the city. The business which is so ably repre- 
sented by this active and responsible firm was established in 1S.3S, 
by Mr. Jeremiah Smith. In 1S61 the present firm, consisting of 
Messrs. Jeremiah and Brauklin Smith, took the business, and have 
since conducted it. The firm not only own andcontiol thirty-three 
vessels, which are in active trade with ports in all parts of the 
civilized world, but they represent, as agents, nearly seventy ves- 
sels, whose traffic carries them over every sea and to every land. 
The Atlantic coasting trade is a feature of the business of this firm 
that has been specially fostered and grown to be of the greatest 
importance, under their executive care. The firm leceive from all 
points, and give special attention to their transportation with 
every detail to safety and promptness. The vessels owned and 
controlled by Messrs. Jer. Smith d: Bro.. are of various tonnage, 
and in charge of able and trustworthy seamen whose long experi- 
ence fit them for the responsible trusts they assume. To judge of 
the enormity of the business conducted by this firm, it is but ne- 
cessary to say that they auuually pay the vessel owners, whose 
business they transact, over S15u,00(l for freights. For insurance 
and premiums on their own vessels, they pay about Si3,000 per 
annum. Mr. Jer. Smith, the senior member of the firm and foun- 
der of the business, is one or the pioneer vesselmen of the city. 
He was born at Cape May County. N. J., in 1832, and went to sea at 
the early age of fifteen years. Three years later his ability as a 
seaman was rewarded by his promotion to the responsible position 
of captain of the .schooner ' Lexington," then engaged in the 
coasting trade between Virginia and the New England states. 
At the age of twenty. Mr. Smith gave up the sea and engaged as 
clerk at the Ridgeway House in this city, which position he held 
until lSi*. when he founded the business which is to-day a monu- 
ment to his foresight, ability and enterprise. In commercial in- 
terests and fiduciary trusts. Mr. Smith has been and is prominent. 
Siuce 1872 he has been a director of the Camden Safe Deposit and 
Trust Company, and for the past twenty years he has held the 
position of treasurer of the Vessel Owners' and Captains' Association 
of which he has long been an active and valued member. The 
name of Jeremiah Smith for a long time was among the directors 
of the Marine Insurance Company. Mr. Smith is fifty-seven years 
of age and resides at Camden, N. J. Mr. Franklin Smith was born 
hi Cape May County, N. J., but has been a resident of the Quaker 
city for the past thirty-two years. He is a director of the Vessel 
Owners' and Captains' Association and is prominently identified in 
commercial anil financial matters. Both gentlemen are highly re- 
garded in business circles for their ability and sterling integrity 
and well deserve the success they have attained aud merit the re- 
gard in which they are held. 

RUDOLPH M. HUNTER. M. E., No. 926 Walnut-Street. -The 
established business of Mr. Rudolph M. Hunter, M, E , is 
well worthy of a notice in this book, not only because of 
the valuable assistance he gives to large numbers of Phila- 
delphians and concerns throughout the United States and Europe, 
but also because of his reputation as an inventor aud his estab- 
lishment of nianufactiu ing concerns within our state, based upon 
his own inventions. Mr. Hunter's offices comprise the first ami 
third floors of the commodious building, No. <J26 Walnut Street. 
Philadelphia. and part of the first floor of No. T,~ Broadway, N ■■w 
York city. He has agents in Washington and every country on 
the globe, to give attention to his foreign business. His specialty 
is patents in every branch, from pel feeting incomplete inventions, 
securing patents, designing and building the machines, carrying 
on sui's for infringement in the courts, ami giving expert opinions 
and evideuce, on patents anil all scientific subjects. In connec- 
tion with his extensive business h3 •■las'eeently organ i/c da branch 

of his business which is known as The Philadelphia Draughting 
Bureau, with which he has identified Messrs. Henry Driuy and D. 
S. Williams, two well known and skilled draughtsmen. This 
branch is located at No. 926 Walnut Street, Philadelphia aud does 
any and all kinds of draughting, designing, models, copying and 
reproductions, and is supplied with a full Corps of assistants 
Among the numerous commercial businesses- of this common- 
wealth organized on Mr. Hunter's inventions may be mentioned 
the well known Hunter Electric Company, now known as 
The Eleetiie Car Company of America, whose electric cars have 
been so frequently seen in our streets. The extensive works of 
the company are at Twenty-third Street and Washington Avenue. 
The president of this corporation is Win. Wharton, Jr., Esq., the well 
known street railroad builder, the treasurer is the widely known 
financial gentleman, Mr. Wharton Barker. This company is 
based on Mr. Hunter's numerous inventions in electric railways 
which are fundamental, and aggregating we are informed, many 
hundreds. This company is now equipping among others the 
Lehigh Ave. railway as an electric railway. Another company which 
he organized on his inventions is the Model Manufacturing Com- 
pany, whose works are at the corner of Huntingdon and Hancock 
Streets, the line of goods followed being hardware specialties, 
such as made by the Enterprise Manufacturing Company. He is 
also the inventor of the secondary generator system of electric 
lighting, commonly known as the Westinghouse system, the West- 
inghouse Electric Company of Pittsburgh, Pa., having secured his 
patent to support their claim to the exclusive right to use the 
invention. Many other" companies are actively working, aud 
others are now forming under his inventions. He has been since 
1878 largely identified with the gas interests in various parts of the 
country as an expert jmd is a promoter of fuel gas for cities. He 
is well known in all the extensive litigations in cable railways 
which have been carried on all over the country, having. been the 
expert in eveiy suit in this science which has taken place in the 
United States. His varied and extensive experience makes his 
assistance of peculiar advantage to corporations working under or 
based on patents. These are but a few of the branches of his pro- 
fession which he is daily carrying on. It might not be outof place 
to remark that this gentleman started business in Philadelphia 
in 187S, having inoved from Chicago, and has built up his wide 
spread reputation since that time. 

DYE & DATESMAN, Civil Engineers and Surveyors, No. 706 
Chestnut Street, and No. .100 West Tulpohocken Street. Ger- 
niantow n.— The profession of a civil engineer and surveyor 
is one of great responsibility, requiring superior ability, 
coupled with long practical experience. Prominent among the 
representative and reliable civil engineering firms of Philadelphia, ' 
is that of Messrs. Dye & Datesman, whose offices are located at No. 
706 Chestnut Street and No. 100 West Tulpohocken Street, German- 
town. Mr. John H. Dye, the senior partner, commenced the prac- 
tice of his profession thirty-nine years ago in Philadelphia and 
eventually on March 1st., 18SS, admitted Mr. Geo. E. Datesman into 
partnership. Both partners are able and expert civil engineers 
and surveyors, fully conversant with every detail and feature of 
this valuable profession. They undertake*proinptly and carefully 
topographical aud plain surveys and plans of cities, towns, villages 
and farms, also measurements of grading, brick and stone work. 
The firm give particular attention to the sub-division of large 
properties into building lots aud ot jury plans in road and other 
cases. The fidelity and accuracy manifested by this responsible 
firm has been generally recognized, and they have been entrusted 
with some of the most important public and private work, that 
has been carried out in Philadelphia and its vicinity during recent 
years. Mr. J. H. Dye was appointed in the city survey department 
iu 1H56, and continued in that department till June 1SS7. He 
organized the registry bureau, and had the supervision of all the 
plans of Philadelphia during that period, though he likewise 
attended to private practice. Mr. Dye is superintendent of the 
Commonwealth Title Insurance and Trust Company. Mr. Dates- 
man is a giaduate of Lafayette college ami has had six years sub- 
sequent experience in the practice of his profession, during three 
of which he was connected with the department of surveys. Both 
Messrs. Dye and Datesman are popular members of the Engineers' 
Club pud of various scientific societies. 



CLIFTON ikon COMPANY, Works, Ironaton, Ala., Fred- 
erick Prim.', Esq., Presideuti Office. So. 22! >i.nt!i linn! 
Street.— The development of the southern Iron manufactur- 
ing industry Is developing .it a rapid rate, and it is evident 
that with decreased expenses and the superior quality of native 
ores, coke, etc., ami with the improved scientific process ol pro- 
duction now being introduced, that with the South rests the 
supremacy of the American iron trade in the near future. A not- 
able instance ol progressive enterprise is . i tl ■ ■ i ■ i .- . l by the Clifton 
Iron Company, which was duly organized ami incorporated under 
the laws of Alabama in 1S81, with a paid up capital ol J500.000. The 
company has met with remarkable success in the manufacture ol 
the finest grade of pure charcoal iron, specially adapted for car 
wheels and wrought iron work requiring the highest tensile 
strength. The works at Irouaton comprise two modern built 
blast furnaces of a capacity of one hundred tons a day ; they are 
run under the skilful supervision of Mr. Stephen X. Noble, the 
Companys Superintendent, who resides in Irouaton. The com- 
pany is one of the best supplied for economical work in the 
United States, having its own ore mines and timber lands, making 
its own charcoal, and generally securing to its customers a grade 
of charcoal iron impossible to obtain elsewhere, price and quality 
considered. Mr. Prime, the president, is a well known Pennsyl- 
vania capitalist, interested for many years in the coal and iron 
trade, and under whose able and enterprising guidance the pros- 
perity of the company is assured, and under his management an 
ever widening field of consumption attends the production of its 
already so famous brand of charcoal iron. The President's office 
in this city is at No, 222 Soutli Third Street, where samples of its 
product can be inspected. 

HJ. BLAUVELT, Wholesale Lumber, No. 119 South Fourth 
Street, Forrest Building.— The lumber interests of Phila- 
delphia and environs, constitute, as it need scarcely be 
stated, a department of industrial and commercial 
activity of surpassing importance. The vast amount of capital 
invested, the extent of its proportions, and the numbers to whom 
the trade affords employment in all its branches, place it at once 
among the chief industries of the city to-day. The wholesale com- 
mission business in lumber forms one of its most valuable depart- 
ments of usefulness, and a leading representative and wholesale 
dealer engaged in this line is Mr. H. J. Blauvelt. whose office is 
eligibly located at No. 119 South Fourth Street. Mr. Blauvelt has 
been established for the past thirteen years, and has long been 
recognized as a practical authority on all questions connected 
with the lumber trad'-, and none in the city sustain a higher repu- 
tation for honorable dealing, as few, if any, receive so large a 
measure of public favor. He carries ou general operations as a 
wholesale and commission merchant in lumber of white piue and 
hardwood, supplying the same to retail dealers in car load lots. 
His connections with the leading sources of production are of the 
most influential character. He controls the product of several 
western concerns which he has shipped to his patrons direct 
from the mills, all orders being filled upon the most satisfactory 
term-. The trade supplied by him extends throughout Pennsyl- 
vania New Jersey and Delaware. Mr. Blauvelt is a native of 
New Yoik, is known in business circle* as a man of marked ability 
and worth, and he enjoys a deservedly high standing in the com- 
mercial world. 

WILLIAM H. LAUBACH, Jr., Apothecary, No. 1600 Chest- 
nut Street.— Among the popular pharmacies on West 
Chestnut Street, that of Mr. William H. Lauhach, Jr., is 
unquestionably one of the best equipped and most 
attractive on that fashionable thoroughfare. It is located at the 
southwest corner of Sixteenth Street, and presents a front of 20 
with a depth of SO leet. The interior arrangements are in perfect 
keeping with the character of the business, the fixtures are of 
modern design and the show cases and handsome ornamental soda 
fountain and general appointments for business purposes and con: 
venience aie all that could be desired. Mr. Laubach. who, 
although a young man, has had considerable practical expel ii nee 
a* an apothecary, and being familiar with drugs and med 
keeps on sale and u<-3 only such a- an- .if niaxii mill strength and 
purity. He is a regular graduate of the Philadelphia Col geol 

Pharmacy, and compounds and dl i diem."- with rare 

skill and exactitude. Three competent assistai uployed 

in the stoie, and every care and attention is given to the ] if 5. 

Besides the usual line of ding* and medicines a special feature Is 
made oi all the standard pharmaceutical and proprietary prepara- 
tions, and a nunib.'i or special compounds prepared in the laboi 1 
tory are In the store, and also toilet requisites of eveiy description 
of both foreign and home production. A native of Lehigh County, 
Mr. Laubach, who has resided in this city many years, is widely 
and popularly known in professional Circles. He lias been estab- 
lished in his present location about a year, and that his skill and 
efforts to mc't the demands of the public are appreciate.!, is show u 
by the substantial patronage he enjoys. He conducts his estab 
llshment according to modern ideas, and everything about it 
betokens thorough system and good practical management. 

JT. JACKSON & CO.. Real Estate Brokers, No. 7:1 Walnut 
Street.— There are none among Philadelphia's leading 
, real estate brokers that are better known or eujoy a larger 
measure of public confidence than J. T. Jackson & Co., whose 
well ordered offices are located at No. 711 Walnut Street. This 
popular and responsible firm was established in 1875, and during 
the fourteen years of its existence has been, by thoroughly honor- 
able methods, steadily pushing its way to the frout, building up an 
excellent clientele -throughout the city and vicinity. A general 
real estate business is transacted ; including the purchase, sab- and 
transfer of city and suburban property of every description on 
commision, personal attention being given also to the collection of 
reuts and interests, while estates are taken in charge and Judici- 
ously managed. Mortgages are negotiated likewise, and loans 
made on approved collateral security, while Investments are 
desirably placed, realty appraised for Intending purchasers and 
insurance effected in first class lira companies: in short, every- 
thing properly pertaining to real estate and kindred transactions 
is attended to in the most reliable and satisfactory manner. Mr. 
Jackson, who is now the sole proprietor, having dissolved partner- 
ship two years ago, is a gentleman in the prime of life, and a 
native of Chester County. Pa. He Is a man of energy, sagacity ami 
thorough experience in this line, as well as entire probity in his 
business relations, and is an active, well known member of the 
Eeal Estate Exchange. He is vice president of the Central Savings 
Fund Trust and Safe Deposit Company, also a director of the Key- 
stone Bank and of the California Mortgage Company, and is 
connected with several other large financial institutions and is 
highly esteemed as an able financier and business man. 

WJI. H. PERPICNAN, Merchaut Tailor, No. 612 Chestnut 
Street.— There is no more popular or successful mer- 
chant tailoring establishment in the city than that 
located at No. 612 Chestnut Street, and now conducted 
by Mr. William H Perpignan. This establishment was founded 
thirty years ago by Mr. J. Henry Ehrlicher, who. in 1878failed,aud 
the business was theu purchased by Mr. Perpignan, who had been 
in Mr. Ehrlieher's service as cutter for some years. The business, 
however, was continued in the name of Mr. Ehrlicher and under 
his management until 1S88, when Mr. Ehrlieher's services were 
dispensed w ith, and Mr. Perpignan assumed sole control of the busi- 
ness and in his own name. He is a practical tailor and artistic 
cutter of long experience. His business premises are spacious in 
size, eligibly locatedfor trade purposes, and perfectin convenience 
for display, inspection and sale. The salesroom has a width of 
25 feet and a depth of 100 feet, and here is exhibited one of the 
finest stocks of cloths and trimmings ever brought to this city, 
the very best sources of America and European production con- 
tributing to its wealth, it is complete in material, design and 
novelty, and gives the limit of manufacture in high class goods. 
Mr. Perpignan devotes his timeand talents to fine custom work only, 
and the garments produced here are simply perfection in style, 
fit and ai tistic workmanship. To be found ami nianent 

customers are many of Philadelphia's best dressed citizens, gen- 
tlemen old and young, who understand the merits of a ftrsl 
tailor, and who find in Mi. c establishment not only a 

line "f goods that is at all tinu s superior, but a plac ■ v ' 
general make up, fit and trimming of a garment Isanmti ;r of care- 
ful consideration and study. 



WRIGHT BROS., &Co., Manufacturers of Umbrellas aud 
Parasols, Nos. 322, 324 aud 326 Market Street.— The 
representative and most noted house in the United 
States extensively engaged in the manufacture of 
umbrellas and parasols, is that of Messrs. Wright Eros., & Co., 
whose office and warehouse are located at Nos. 322 to 326 
Market Street. Tin successful industry was established In 1816 
by Wright & Brother. The present co-partners. Messrs. Edmund 
aud Joseph Wright, Chas S. Howe, Harris Filson and Geo. 
T. Moxey, bring great practical experience to bear, coupled with 
an intimate knowledge of every detail of this important indus- 
try, and the requirements of the trade and a critical public. The 
firm's factories which are situated at Nos. 6, 8. lo, 12, H, 25 and 27 
Hudson Street, back of their Market Street store, are the larg- 
est and best equipped of their kind in the world, and furnish 
constant employment to 500 skilled operatives. Messrs. Wright 

established in 1357 and has already achieved a high position in the 
trade throughout the country by reason of the superiority of their 
productions and their general excellence and uniform reliability, 
besides the liberal and honorable treatment of all patrons dealing 
with the house. They occupy three floors of a building 25x125 feet 
in size, two floors of which are occupied as a factory and one large 
floor contains a heavy stock of samples and which is used as a 
salesroom. The factory is equipped with all the latest improved 
machinery and appliances and employment is given to fifty expert 
and skilled hands". A department for custom work where they 
manufacture fine walking shoes for their customers has been 
added. The output consists of fine goods exclusively, which are 
unexcelled for quality, fine finish, easy fit aud thorough durability, . 
and are unsurpassed by any other in the market. All work is 
done either by hand or machinery as ordered by patrons, a speci- 
alty being made of mens' fine hand sewed shoes. Messrs. Harkin 

Bros.. & Co.. manufacture in vastquantities umbrellas andparasols 
of every description. Their new designs and novelties embody 
every modern improvement and device, including the important 
features of strength and lightness, combined with thorough relia- 
bility of texture in ail the coverings used, while their splendid 
umbrellas are not only waterproof but are warranted fast colors. 
The frames, stuffs, etc., are all of the best materials, manufactured 
with special reference to durability. In fact. I he umbrellas and 
parasols manufactured by Messrs. Wright Bros., & &o., are abso- 
lutely unrivalled for quality, strength, finish and general excel- 
lence, ami have no superiors in the American or European markets, 
while the prices quoted in all cases are as low, as those of any 
other contemporary house in the trade. In their fine establish 
meat on Market Street is always displayed the largest and choic- 
est assortment of umbrellas and parasols to be found in the 
market. This stock is alike complete for city and country trade 
and their goods are now kept for sale by all the leading dry 
goods houses aud furnishing goods dealers throughout the 
entire United States. Special mention should be made of their 
patent adjustable umbrella tie, which recommends itself at a 
glance to every one using an umbrella. It is readily adjusted and 
made shorter or longer in an instant. The trouble with the ordi- 
nary umbrella tie, caused by its stretching too long after a few 
weeks use, or tearing silk by being too tight, is avoided by tiding 
Wright's silk '• Derby" mohair or "Perfection" fast black gingham 
umbrellas, all of which have their patent adjustable tie. The 
fine employ twenty-five traveling salesmen, and have branches 
in New York at.No. 450 Broadway, in Boston at Nos. 6'^ and 65 Essex 
Street, and in Chicago at Nos. 191, 196 and 1P8 Fifth Avenue. 
Messrs. Edmund and Joseph Wright, C. 8. Howe and G. T. 
Moxey, are natives of Philadelphia, while Mr. H. Filsou was 
b. in in New York. Mr. Joseph Wright is a director of the Girard 
National Bank, the United security Life Insurance and Trust Com- 
pany, also of the Union Trust Company of Philadelphia. Having 
thus briefly sketched the facilities of this reliable house, it only 
remains to be added, that its business has ever been conducted on 
Hi- enduring principles of equity, and relations once entered into 
with it, are certain to become not only pleasant torthe time being, 
but profitable and permanent. 

HA lth' IN' 
seen than in 
past few year 
in this depart 
to have bound 
progressive h 
men-', boys', 
South Fourth 

& !•'.' Ivt.i;, Manufacturers or Mens'. Youths'. Boys', 
and C'hil. liens' Fine Shoes, No. 59 South Fourth 
-Perfection seems to be rapidly approaching in every 
of manufacture; but nowhere is this most clearly 
the advancement which has been made within the 
in boots and shoes. A prominent and valued factor 
nient of skilled industry and one that might t< said 
ed into success from the start is the enterprising and 
>use of Messrs. Harkin & Becker, manufacturers of 
youths', misses' and cliilrtrens' fine shoes, at No. 59 
Street, corner of chestnut Street. The house was 

& Becker are young men of sixteen years practical experience in 
the business aud are expert judges of leather and allow nothing 
but the best materials to enter into the composition of their pro- 
duct, which is meeting with great favor with dealers on account of 
their salability and merit of both workmanship and finish. The 
individual members of the firm are Messrs. A. P. Harkin and C. J. 
Becker. Mr. Harkin is a native of New York State and has resided 
in Philadelphia for over seven years, and Mr. Becker is a native 
of this city. They are both experienced and accomplished manu- 
facturers and, thoroughly enterprising, and are reliable business 
men with whom it is always pleasant and profitable to deal. 

GEO. De B. KEIM, & Co., Manufacturers of Horse B'ankets 
Carriage Robes, Etc.. Nos. 610 and 612 Market Street.— The 
elements of commercial success are seldom found in 
happier combination than in the case' of the firm of 
Messrs. Geo. l)e R. Keim & Co.. of this city— who have se- 
cured for the goods manufactured and dealt in by this house such 
celebrity coupled with a trade of great and growing magnitude. 
Perceiving an opening in the line of better and cheaper grades of 
horse blankets and carriage robes, this firm, thirty years ago, 
began their manufacture under -the above linn name. By their 
energy, sound judgment, and honorable dealing the firm speedily 
secured the recognition afid patronage of the best class of the trade 
throughout the United States, and once introduced into any sec- 
tion, their horse blankets, carriage robes, saddlery, carriage and 
wagon hardware rapidly enlarged their sales strictly on their mer- 
its. The substantial inducements offered by Ihem both as to juice 
and quality had their natural result and the firm are now the 
leading representative in Philadelphia in this line of trade. They 
manufacture horse blankets and carriage robe-, very extensively, 
of all weights and grades adapted toe very class of trade throughout 
the United states. Quality has ever been the fiist consideration of 
this honorable old house. They have introduced the most popular 
original shades and patterns in robes, and the attractive array of 
these goods to be seen in their immense establishment, is sufficient 
evidence of their taste. They also import and deal heavily in all 
kinds of saddlery, carriage and wagon hardware, riding saddles. 
harness, and everything used on these lines in iron or steel, and ali 
bearing the famous brands of European and American manufac- 
ture, aud the best in their line. The premises occupied, consist of 
a spacious five-story and basement building. Nos. 610 and 612 
Market Street. This firm are recognized authorities in everything. 
appertaining to this branch of trade. In the factory all appliances 
and facilities are secured, including steam power aiuialarge num- 
ber of hands are engaged In manufacturing carriage robes, horse 
blankets, etc. The trade extends throughout the United States. 
and is steadily increasing. The firm is a type of Philadelphia's 
enterprising and honorable business men, to whom is so largely 
dne the capacity and ability which permanently retains to this 
section its due share of national trade supremacy. 



of Loudon ami Edinburgh; Philadelphia. Office, No in 
Walnut Street. Thos. ('. Foster, Resident Secretary -Fire 
insurance companies must always take a prominent place, 
as institutions practical and indispensable to the present state of. 
civilization, and indeed the protection they afford, furnishes the 
foundation for business undertakings. The leading American and 
British tire Insurance corporations, generally place their Interests 
in the care of gentlemen, who have seemed by yearn ol experience 
and practice honorable reputations intheirprofession. Prominent 
among the British companies, having a branch office in the city of 
Philadelphia, is the .North British i Mercantile Insurance 
Company of London and Edinburgh, which Is well known 
as one of the largest, strongest, and best managed Pie Insurance 
corporations in the world. Mr. Thomas C. Foster, is the 
resident secretary of this reliable corporation, and is enabled 
not only to offer superior inducements in liberally drawn policies, 
which give the assured all needed protection and the lowest possi- 
ble rates, but likewise to guarantee an equitable and prompt 
adjustment and payment of all losses that may occur. Mr. Foster 
has had many years' experience as an underwriter, and his knowl- 
edge and judgment as to fire insurance matters are such, as to 
make this company's office a very desirable one witli which to 
place one's insurance. The business of the North British & Mer- 
cantile Insurance Company has steadily increased with each suc- 
ceeding year until to-day it occupies a prominent position in the 
United States, and by honorable methods has secured the entire 
confidence of the business public. The following statement, Jan- 
uary 1st, I8S9, shows Its affairs to be in a most substantial and 
flourishing condition: United States Branch Statement, Cash 
Assets. United states Bunds, $1,012,605.00; first mortgage rail- 
road bonds, 31,725,420.00; Del. & Hudson Canal Company's bonds 
(tii st mortgage.) SS6.010.00; New York City and County bonds, $69, 
159.00; City of Boston, registered stock, 887,200.00; State bonds, 
(49,872.00; rash with bankers and. in office, $112,95916; agency 
balances in course of transmission. $237,070.93; interest due and 
accrued, $53,086.00; Other admitted assets, $9,151.67; total assets, 
$3,172(613.76. Liabilities. Reserve for unearned premiums, Sl.- 
443.475.61; reserve for unpaid losses, $168,651.72; all other liabili- 
ties. 53.lil.4J; net surplus. Sl.si7,844.7.S: total liabilities. $3,472,- 
613.76. Total income in 1888, $2,052,537.22; total expenditures in 
188S, $1,845,675.95; income over expenditures, 8206.f61.26. New 
York board of management: Solon Humphreys, Esq., (E. D. Mor- 
gan ,t Co.) chairman.: J. J. Astor, Esq.; n. W. Barnes, Esq. ; Chas. 
H. Coster, Esq., (Drexel, Morgan & Co.); David Dows, Jr., Esq., 
(David Dows, Jr. & Co.!;. Jacob Wendell, Esq., (Jacob Wendell & 
Co.) : Chas Ezra White, Esq. ; Sam. P. Blagden, manager. ; Win. A. 
Francis, assistant manager; Rnbt. H. VVass, general agent; H. 
M. Jackson, secretarj . 

PART/KICK & CARTER, Manufacturers and dealers in Elec- 
trical Supplies. Etc., No. ill South Second Street— The pro- 
gress made in recent years in the applied branches of electri- 
cal science is marvellous. In every department there has been 
uniform and constant progress, and one of the most noted and re- 
presentative houses in Philadelphia extensively engaged in this 
valuable industry, is that of Messrs. Partrick & Career, mauu 
facturers and dealers in electrical supplies, whose office, sales- 
rooms and factoryare located at No. 114 South Second Street. This 
extensive business was establish! d in 1867 by Mr. J. Partrick, who 
eventually admitted Mr. Franklin L. Carter iuto partnership. In 
ISS4 m,. Partrick died, when Messrs. Charles M. and E. Ward 
Wilkins became partners, the business however, being still con- 
ducted mid. i tin- old firm name of •• Partrick & Carter." The 
premises occupied comprise a spacious five-story building, hilly 
equipped with tie- latest improved special machinery and appli- 
ances, necessary for the sucessful conduct of this steadily increas- 
ing business. Here fifty skilled workmen are employed, and the 
machinery is driven by steam power. Messrs. Partrick & Carter 
manufacture largely telegraph, telephone and electric light sup- 
plies electro medical apparatus, electro platers' supplies, testing 
and experimental apparatus, and every description of general 
electrical goods and specialties. Their annunciators, electric 
bells, etc., are of the best possible workmanship and materials, and 
possess points of superiority, that place them far in advaureof 

the productions of other luanufactnrers. The firm direct 

special attraction to their patent needle or pointer annum 

This is without a rival, as to simplicity, quickness of action, and 
all qualities that constitute a tirst class annunciator. The gi I 
popularity and superiority of these famtjus patent needle annun- 
ciators have Induced several manufacturers to try and imitate 
them, but in all cases they have entirely failed, the general ap- 
pearance of the imitation i»ing similar in outside effect, but 
entirely different in the interior mechanism. The firm's annun- 
ciators are fully covered by letters patent of the Unit, d states. 
Messrs. I'ai trick & cuter also manufacture electric thermostats, 
electric gas-lighting apparatus, etc. The firm's electrical sup- 
plies are absolutely unrivalled, and have no superiors in America 
or Europe. All orders are promptly and carefully filled at the 
lowest possible prices, and the trade of the house now extends not 
only throughout the entire United States and Canada, but also to 
several foreign countries. 

EDWARD McFABLAND, Standard Heaters, Ranges and 
Plumbing, No. 112 North Sixth Street.— Prominent among 
the old established and representative houses iu Philadel- 
phia, extensively engaged in the manufacture and sab- of 
heaters, ranges, fruit evaporators, etc;, is that of Mr. Kdward 
McFarland, whose office and warehouse is located at No. 112 Koi t)i 
Sixth Street. This business was established thirty-two years ago 
by Perkins & McFarland, who conducted it till 1.S7H, when on the 
retirement of -Mr. Perkins, Mr. McFarland became sole proprietor. 
The premises occupied comprise a superior five-story building 25x 
100 feet iu area, fully equipped with every appliance and facility 
for the successful couduct of this steadily growing business. Mr. 
MeFarlaud keeps constantly on hand a large and well selected 
stock of standard heaters, ranges, furnaces, etc. He is tie si li 
manufacturer of the celebrated wrought steel standard heaters 
ami ranges, and owning his own patterns and patents, he invites 
special attention to these first-class heaters and ranges, being con- 
fident that dealers and users cannot fail to see in them decided 
points of superiority. He is also the manufacturer of the famous 
automatic fruit evaporator, which is admirably adapted for the 
desiccation of fruits and vegetables. The following are tie- pi in- 
cipal claims for this unrivalled evaporator, which is now used 
largely, not only in the entire United States and Canada, but also 
in Europe and Australia. The automatic evaporator after Ix un- 
tested with others in St. Petersburg. Russia, w as retained and placed 
in the emperor's private museum. Many testimonials stating the 
merits of the automatic fruit evaporator in Australia, have been 
received by the house. 1st. The improved connection made with 
it to the heater, is such that it is free from any danger by tire. 2nd. 
Its great simplicity. Its mechanism and mud'' of working i~ 30 
simple and so easily understood, that it does not require an exj ert 
to work if, but may be successfully operated by anybody of ordin- 
ary intelligence with a few horn's' practice. 3d. It is the cheapest 
as well as the best evaporator in the market. The perfection and 
simplicity of its mechanism enables Mr. McFarland to -.ill it at a 
much less price than it is possible to manufacture any other 
machine of equal capacity. 4th. Its economy in running expenses. 
It consumes less fuel, and requires less labor to attend to it than 
any other evaporator that will do the same amount of work. 5th 
Its uniform working. The fruit evaporated by it is uniformly of a 
superior excellence. In fact, it could not be otherwise, with 
proper handling of the machine. 6th. Its convenience foi draw- 
ing out the trays, while in use, to enable the operator to inspect 
the condition of the fruit at different poinl s of the drier. Tl i ■ i . 
decided advantage over any other, as it can be done quickly, with- 
out disturbing any other tray. Mr. McFarland, who is a thor- 
oughly practical mechanical engineer, likewise furnishes • i. 
mutes and makes contracts tor the complete healing and ventila! 

iog of buildings, and guarantees entire satisractiou to pat s id 

the lowest possibh prices, consistent with first class workmanship 
and the best materials. He is a native of Lancaster Count] . Pa 
but has resided in Philadelphia fur the last thirty-five yi us, where 
he is highly esteemed in business circles for his skill, energy and 
integi ity. In conclusion we would add, that those Interested giv- 
ing their orders to this popular house will secun the great* 
isfaction in the thoroughly good inaunei in which all work will be 



Street, and No. 915 Ridge Avenue.— Appalling Is the record 
of the In-,, of life and property through the explosions of 
the deadly fire damp in coal mines. Tens of thousands of lives, 
and millions of dollars worth of property have been sacrificed to 
this demon of the black depths, and though the utmost precau- 
tions have continued to be taken, and the fire boss, makes daily 
examinations of the mine, yet it is certain that each year, there 
will be a terrible list of mine disasters occasioned by the inability 
of the miners to detect, the presence of gas in explosive quantities 
or proportions. While the Davy safety lamp is a great boon to the 
miner, and now in fact his sole reliance in case of danger, yet it 
is but a poor, weak safe-guard at the best and often may be the 
accidental cause of a terrific explosion. The mining circles of 

the 'system on his grounds in the suburbs of Philadelphia. They 
include a thickly wooded hill rising steeply to the height of two 
hundred feet, and affording special chance for comparison with 
the bottom of a miue, anil the surface above. Mr. Shaw had sus- 
pended an iron tubing of quarter inch diameter through his 
grounds, its entire length being upwards of a mile, similar to the 
same length in the workings of a miue. It led eventually into a 
building on the top of the hill and out of sight of those at the foot. 
This building represented the mine office. At the lower end of the 
iron tube was attached a flexible rubber tube having at its end an 
ordinary T steamfitting, funnel shaped at one end and gauze cov- 
ered for admission of gases, the opposite end being provided with 
a whistle. At the junction of the iron and rubber tubes, a large 
tuning fork was attached. At the pit's mouth or oflice another one 
is attached, of the same pitch in its tone. By striking either fork. 


America are able and progressive, and adopt the best machinery 
and appliances for developing their collieries, hoisting the coal, 
pumping the water from the workings and forcing down pure air, 
which must be of sufficient volume to dissipate the gases and give 
air to the miner. If the amount of air forced down is not sufficient 
to dilute the dangerous gases sufficiently, the danger point is near 
and may be reached at any moment, yet with the Davy lamp, the 
miner is unable to decide when the danger is imminent, and it is 
this fatal ignorance that has precipitated such calamities in the 
past. Now, however a wonderful and tractical invention has been 
perfected and duly patented by Mr. Thomas Shaw. M. E., of this 
city, by which an automatic, sure, prompt and ever vigilant sentinel 
is on duty, which can be cheaply introduced into all parts of the 
mine and connected with the oflice above. It gives timely warning of 
the presence of gas far ahead of its gathering in explosive quanti- 
ties, this early warning necessarily saving the lives of the miners, 
and the property of the mine owner. No explosion can occur in a 
mine thus protected, while it also gives a perfect signal system 
connecting with the office and the mines. This extremely valu- 
able invention has recently been introduced by Mr. Shaw into the 
Morrell mine, and to illustrate and abundantly demonstrate Its 
remarkable powers and facilities for mine signalling and protec- 
tion, he recently gave a complete practical working exhibition of 

the sound is heard over a great length of the pipe, more in fact 
than would be required in any mine in operation at present. With 
these tuning forks and Mr. Shaw's simple code of signals, prompt 
and Intelligible communication can be had at any time with the 
office. There can be forty-two phrases expressed, such as good, 
all hands come up, men injured, send for a doctor, use no naked 
lights, etc., etc. An additional method of signalling is to kink the 
rubber tube, which produces a loud, shrill whistle at the other 
extremity. With the above mentioned tubing and signal system, 
Mr. Shaw conducted a most interesting and instructive series of 
tests between the building that represented the office at the pit's 
mouth, and the foot of the hill, or supposed mine bottom. In the 
building was a duplex engine and air compressor, for signalling 
downward or supplying fresh air to an imprisoned miner as 
desired; also a powerful vacuum pump devoted to pumping the 
gases from the mine. In the same room was a large table or cen- 
tral point where all the pipes coming from the supposed different 
divisions of the mine were assembled. C". the table was Mr. 
Shaw's standard test apparatus for ignitible gases and dii ectly con- 
nected to the pipes. The pump in this apparatus is connected with 
an ingenious valve that affords a circuit of connections with all 
the mine pipes, and as the vacuum pump lifts the gases, a sample 
is taken by the test apparatus. Thirty tests are thus made auto- 



matically every minute, and it any prove dangerous, a gong Is 
caused to sound automatically giving due warning to the party In 
charge. Of this a perfect illustration was afforded, t>y liberating 
five gallons of gas at the foot of the hill, when the test mechanism 
at once loudly gave warning of the danger : the operators at the 
foot or the hill were duly notified by the depressing "f a valve at 
the table letting high pressure of air enter the tube, that sounded 
a whistle at. the lower end. The operator below, by kinking the 
rubber tube answered that the warning had been heard, after 
which regular communication by means of the tuning forks was 
kept up, the whole series of operations occurring precisely as if m 
and above a deep coal mine. Mr. Shaw thus publicly demon- 
strated before the gathering of practical experts that there was 
always an automatic and positive test of mine gHses by his Inven- 
tion; a regular series of signals upward and downward, and the 
direct supply of pure air to the miners in case of being imprisoned 
below. The automatic tests of mine gases go on accurately and 
precisely, affording absolute certainty of due warning being given 
the office above, and the miners below, long before the dangerous, 
explosive condition arises. Another of Mr. Shaw's inventions was 
then shown, being a test apparatus for the use of the inspectors 
and fire bosses of mines. With this and a rubber bag of five gal- 
lons capacity, attached to a light diaphragm pump, and which is 
provided with a light brass extension tube for reaching up to the 
mine roof, where gases first accumulate, samples of the air in the 
workings can be secured in the bag and removed for testing pur- 
poses as ofteu as desired. This testing Instrument was operated 
and shown to give an absolute and accurate test of the per cent, 
of gas in the sample of air as admitted. This instrument can be 
operated to show the presence of either fire-damp, or choke-damp. 
The methods are so simple, that those having no knowledge of 
chemistry can make the tests, equally as well as skilled chemists 
and at a mere fraction of the cost, thus demonstrating that this, 
ingenious little instrument is the best adapted and the only prac- 
tical one to give quick positive tests of. mine gases in whatever ' 
proportion they may be present. The U. S. Mine Signal Manufac- 
turing and Supply Company, has been formed to place the above 
splendid system within reach of every operator and owner of 
mines. The officers and directors are as follows: Thos. Shaw, M. 
£., president and general manager; G. W. Mullin, treasurer and 
secretary; Directors: Hon. Thos. V. Cooper, Hon. A.G. Richey. 
Hon. Jos. M. Gazzam, Edward Longstretli, M E., J. D. Baker and G. 
W. .Mullin. Trustees; Ex-Gov. J. F. Hartranft and L. D. Maltby. 
These are names of prominent public men, whose interest in this 
grand and beneficent invention, is as much of a philanthropic, as 
of a material character. To the mine ow ner. the invention offers 
certain safety of his property and the lives of his miners, while to 
the miner it is the greatest of boons, next to life itself, and will 
banish forever the hideous night mare of dread that now hangs 
over the miner. This invention gives a positive test automatically 
that can be noticed 100 yards .distant by the most ignorant. It 
gives the test at least once every five minutes and from all over 
the mine at once: it establishes communication w ith the surface ; 
it makes the test from the highest points where the gases collect, 
and is an untiring vigilant monitor, making its test- in the most 
certain manner and inspiring in the miners a feeling of Confidence 
and safety while insuring to the owner the protection of his prop- 
erty. Mr. Shaw has at great cost of time and money brought this 
invention to a practical condition, and it is now ready fur intro- 
duction into the mines of America. The cost is so slight compared 
to the benefits bestowed, that there is no excuse for it. not being 
at work in every colliery in the land, and to all who are interested 
in this, the greatest invention supplied to the milling interests for 
over half a century, should send to the company for Mr. Shaw's 
most instructive and interesting book giving an account of terrible 
explosions in mines caused by fire-damp and how toavoid these 
great disasters anil protect both life and property by the use of hi- 
new invention. Mr. Shaw is a mechanical engineer of the highest 
standing in his profession, and a business man universally re- 
spected, who has now successfully solved the darkest and most 
difficult problem attending the safe working of mines. We have 
recently learned that Mr. Shaw on June 20th received order of test 
apparatus for the mine inspector's use from the authorities of 
Pennsylvania, thus officially placing this system of test as the 
standard of the state. 

Street; Works, Bethlehem, Pa.— Pennsylvania industries 
include several of a diversified character and of national 
importance as regards their product coming into successful 
competition with the best imported. Such for example is the case 
with the famous Lehigh Zinc and Iron Company, with headquar- 
ter.- ;it No. 47 North Front Street, this- city. Thh concern has 
achieved an international reputation for the purity and excellence 
of its oxide of zinc, spelter, etc., and a trade of an active and 
extended character has been developed under the present 
able and enterprising management. The company's works are 
situated at South Bethlehem, Pa., and were originally erected in 
1S33. having been since extensively enlarged and greatly Improved 
in all departments. Eight years, ago it came into control of the 
present proprietors who adopted the existing title of The Lehigh 
Zinc and Iron Company. In October, 1886, it was duly incorpora- 
ted under the laws of the state of Pennsylvania, with a large paid 
up capital, a splendid plant and equipment, and ample resources, 
coupled with perfected facilities for carrying on the manufacture 
of its specialties upon the most extensive scale. A thorough sys- 
tem of organization is enforced in the works which are extensive, 
and have the benefit of direct railroad transportation, cheap fuel 
and ores. An average force of 3S0 hands there find steady em- 
ployment, and under the able and experienced management of 
Mr. J. Price Wetherill, are the model metallurgical works of their 
kind on the continent. The company's officers are as follows • Mr. 
Richard Heckscher, president; Mr. S. P. Wetherill, vine president ■ 
Mr. J. Price Wetherill, general manager; Mr. A. Heckscher, treas- 
urer; Mr. J. H. Troutman, secretary. They form an able and 
prominently and favorably known executive, and under whose 
auspices the prosperity of the company is assured. Mr. Richard 
Heckscher is too widely known in leadiug circles of Philadelphia 
and New York to require any comment at our hands. He has long 
been actively identified witli the coal and iron trades, his offices 
being situated at No. 238 South Third Street. The company offices 
and headquarters are at No. 47 North Front Street, while its New- 
York office and warehouse are situated centrally ar No. 212 John 
Street. The company annually produces enormous quantities of 
the finest oxide or zinc 'known to the trade; likewise Lehigh 
spelter, etc., of the very highest, standard of excellence, and 
the rapidly increasing demand for which indicates its estab- 
lished pre-eminence with consumers. Such a great and bene- 
ficial industry as this, reflects the highest credit on all concerned, 
and Messrs. Heckscher, Wetherill and Troutman are to be con- 
gratulated upon the large measure of success attending their ably 
and honorably directed efforts. 

BORSCH & ROMMEL. Opticians, No. 1324 Walnut Street —Suc- 
cess in every department of business depends, to a very 
great extent, upon the intelligent proficiency and ability 
which are brought to bear upon it. This is more particu- 
larly true and applicable to the fine and intricate departments of 
trade, such as that in which Messrs. Borsch & Rommel, the well 
known manufacturing opticians, are engaged. The senior mem- 
ber of the firm, Mr. John L. Borsch, who was born in Germany, but 
has resided in Philadelphia since boyhood, started the business of 
his firm in 1868, at Tenth and Chestnut Streets. In 18S1 he removed 
to No. 221 South Ninth street, and finally to the present location, 
and formed a partnership with Mr. John Rommel, 3d, who I.-;; native 
of this city. In the rear of their store is a fully equipped 
workshop where all kinds of optical goods are manufac- 
tured and repaired, eleven workmen being there permanently 
emyloyed. The store is handsomely fitted up. Here Isdisplayeda 
splendid stock of fine optical goods, embracing spectacl 
glasses, opera and field glasses, thermometers, telescopes, artificial 
eyes, etc. The firm are manufacturers of ophthalmoscopes and ocu- 
lists' supplies for the lise of surgeons in making examinations of 
eyes. an. I they make a specialty of adjusting spectacles and eye 
glasses to suit all sights and of carefully filling oculists' prescrip- 
tions. The firm are acknowledged experts in the opticians' art, 
and all in need of correct fitting spectacles and eye glasses will 
fin 1 it advantageous in many ways to pay a visit to this establish- 
ment. The gentlemen composing the firm are men of experience, 
and a- they give their personal supervision to all orders patrons 
can always rely upon their wants being satisfactorily supplied. 



'ORRIS, TASKER & CO. .(Incorporated) Manufacturers of 
k/j Boiler Tubes, Oil Well Tubing and Casing, Wrought Iruu 
Pipes and Fitting. Etc.. Mills, Newcastle and Philadelphia; 
Offices and Warehouses, No. 224 South Third Street.— The 
pioneer in several of the most difficult branches of the iron industry, 
the old house of Morris, Tasker & Co., how the corporation of that 
Dame still continues prominently to lead all competitors in the char- 
act'"'! and quality of its product which includes boiler tubes, oil well 
Cubing and casing, wrought iron pipesand fittings, and generally 
foundry work oral! kinds. The business was founded in the year 
l^jl by Mr. S. P. Morris, wiio had a natural inclination for the iron 
trade and with characteristic energy, when no better openingpre- 
sented itself, he apprenticed himself to a country blacksmith and 
entered upon his career by forcing horseshoes. He made rapid 
progress, mastering every detail of the iron business, and intro- 
ducing many valuable improvements, one of which was a grate 
for the burning of anthracite coal then newly introduced. He 
opened a foundry at Sixteenth and Market Streets. Mr. Thomas 
T. Tasker, Sr.. subsequently a partner, and who was a most skil- 
ful master mechanic, being theu an employee. Tlje rapid growth 
of trade resulted in 1828, ill the building of new and larger shops on 
the east side of Third Street, between Walnut and Pear Streets. 
Mr. Henry Morris, his brother, was made bookkeeper, and Mr. 
Thomas T. Tasker was made superintendent of the mechanical de- 
partment, the concern doing a general foundry business and 
also making a specialty of the manufacture of grates, heaters, 
stoves and ranges, in 1831, Mr. Henry Morris and Mr. Tasker were 
taken into co-partnership under the style of Stephen P. Morris & 
Co., thus continuing for many years during which the business grew 
to proportions of great magnitude. Eventually. Mr. Stephen P. 
Morris retired, selling bis interest to his brother, Mr. Wistar 
•Morris, the firm then becoming Morris, Tasker & Morris. The in- 
troduction of gas for illuminating purposes about this time 
created an enormous demand for piping, the result being that 
this enterprising house, acquired the sole right of the English in- ■ 
ventors to manufacture machine-made butt-welded pipe for this 
and other purposes. The house now had a national reputation and 
their trade grew at such a rapid rate that pernianentenlargeruent 
upon a most extended basis was necessary, and the firm bought 
the square of ground now bounded by Tasker, Morris, Fourth and 
Fifth Streets, the tract having been a portion of the old Morris 
estate. In 1S-36 was begun the erection of the present Pascal iron 
works and to which additions had to be made at frequent 
intervals, including a large mill put up in 1846, fronting on Morris 
Street, and 400x80 in dimensions. This was devoted to extra lap- 
welded tubes for use in boilers, etc. Upon the retirement of Mr. 
Wistai Morris from the firm, Mr. Charles Wheeler and Mr. Thomas 
T. Tasker, Jr., were admitted under the now so familiar style of 
Morris, Tasker & Co. In 1S56, Mr. Henry Morris retired and his 
son, Mr. Stephen Morris took his interest in the firm. In 1S58 Mr. 
Thomas T. Tasker, Sr., retired, his interest being divided between 
his scis, Mr. Thomas T. Tasker, Jr., already a member of 
the firm, and Mr. Stephen P. M. Tasker being admitted. Sub- 
sequently Mr. Henry G. Morris succeeded toone half of his father's 
interest, while in 1S64, Mr. Charles Wheeler retired and in ISfiO, Mr. 
Henry G. Morris also retired. Later, the decease of Mr. Stephen 
Monis occurred, and his interest was bought by the surviving 
partners, Mr. Thomas T. Tasker, Jr., and Mr. Stephen P. M. 
Tasker. The concern at this time was of mammoth proportions, em- 
ploying over 2,000 men, and additional railroad facilities beiiiu 
needed, not readily secured at that time in the heart of this great 
city, the firm wisely decided to build a new works at Newcastle, 
Delaware, where both rail and water transportation could be 
utilized to the fullest extent. That mill and plant was designed by 
and constructed under the management of Mr. Stephen P. M. 
Tasker. and was the model of its kind producing 400 tons of finished 
tubes pei day. In 1876, Mr. Thomas T. "Tasker, Jr., sold out his 
interest, and Mr. Charles Wheeler and Mr. T. Wistar Brown being 
admitted, a joint stock company was formed, composed of Mr 
Stephen P. M. Tasker, Mr. Charles Wheeler and Mr. T. Wistai 
Brown. The death of Mr. Wheeler occured in ls.s.4, and upon the 
expiration of the term of the limited partnership, February S, 1S88 
a corporation was duly organized, under the appropriate style and 
title of " Morris, Tasker & Co.," (incorporated), the officers being, 
Mr. .Andrew Wheeler, president; Mr. Jonathan Rowland, vice 

president; Mr. T. Wistar Brown, treasurer; Mr. S. P. M. Tasker. 
consulting engineer, and Mr. H.C. Vansant, secretary, They are 
all able, experienced business men bringing to bear special qualifi- 
cations for the discharge or the onerous duties devolving upon 
them. With a capital of $500,000 and the splendid equipment, their 
Pascal iron works, they are justly famed for the superiority of 
their product, which here includes gas works outfits, retorts, 
holders, etc.; all kinds of heavy castings, wrought iron pipe of all 
sizes, fittings, etc. The company contracts for the erection of gas 
and water works complete. The works occupy two city 
blocks, afford employment to over 700 hands and produce 25,000 
tons of finished work a year. They have a wharf on the river 
front, and also excellent railroad connections, and the establish- 
ment is one of the most valued in Philadelphia. The works at 
Newcastle, are the property of a corporation known as the Dela- 
ware Iron Company, duly organized in 187:5 with a capital ot 
S1,0C0.000. The officers and directors are as follows: Mr. M. C.Mc- 
Ilvaine, president; Mr. T. W. Brown, treasurer, Mr. J. Row- 
land, secretary; and Messrs. S. P. M. Tasker, Andrew Wheeler, 
W. R. Mcllvaine and H. Vansant, directors. The works 
are of the most elaborate and extentive character, includ- 
ing one rolling mill, a lap welded pipe mill, furnaces, etc. Up- 
wards of si"' hands are employed, and from thirty-six to forty ■ 
thousand tons of finished pipe ranging from % up to 22 inches in 
diameter Is annually produced, for all of which there is a great 
and growing demand. 

cester, Mass., F. A. Howard, General Agent; Philadelphia 
Office No. 330 Walnut Street.— The necessity of making pro- 
vision for one's family in case of death, through the medium 
of lite insurance, has become so obvious to all prudent men, that 
the only question to be determined is, which is the best and most 
reliable company to insure in. This question is satisfactorily an- 
swered by the State Mutual Life Assurance Company, of Worces- 
ter, Mass., whose Philadelphia office is centrally located at No. 330 
Walnut Street. This famous company was incorporated in 1843 
under the laws of Massachusetts. Among the elements that have 
contributed to its steady growth and success and to its increasing 
favor with insurers, are its liberal contracts and generous dealing 
with policy holders, together with the issuance of all safe and de- 
sirable forms of policies. The State Mutual Life Assurance Com- 
pany is a mutual corporation : there are no stockholders to absorb 
its profits and no trustees- to divide its surplus. It is financially 
strong, having a surplus over all liabilities of 25 per cent. It is a 
Massachusetts company and carries with it all the advantages of 
the Massachusetts insurance laws wherever it goes. These laws 
forbid forfeiture for non-payment of premium; fix the value of 
every policy issued; guarantee said value to the insured, at the 
end of any policy year after the first, in cash or continued insur- 
ance. The company writes the,se cash and continued insurance 
values for every year in the policy at the time of issue. The con- 
ditions of the policy contrast are extremely liberal and stated in 
terms free from technicalities and easily understood. The annual 
dividends to the insured have ranged for many years above the 
average paid by other first-class companies. Dividends may be 
used, at the optjon of the insured, either to increase the amount of 
his insurance, or, to reduce the cost of currying what he has. The 
management is by the insured, for the insured, and is therefore 
thoroughly conservative and economical. The following gentle- 
men, who are highly esteemed by the community for their inte- 
grity, prudence and executive ability are the officers: A.G.Bul- 
lock, president and treasurer; Thomas H. Gage, vice president. 
The company's total assets January 1st, 1889, amounted to $5,066,- 
9S5.21, and its surplus according to the Massachusetts standard to 
' $793,045.51. The company's business in Philadelphia is under the 
able and careful management of Mr. F. A. Howard, the general 
agent, who has had charge since 1881. The remarkable success 
that Ins rewarded his efforts, is aeon vincing proof of the wisdom 
Shown in establishing this agency, and the judicious selection of 
the company's representative. Mr. Howard promptly issues poli- 
cies and pays death claims, and Philadelphia is to be congratu- 
lated upon having such a responsible corporation added to her 
not too extensive life insurance resources permanently located in 
her midst. 



Builders of Boilers and \pparatus for Steam and Hot Water 
Heating; Oflice and Salesi tfos. 143 and 145 North Third 

Street. Lovegrove & Co Gi m ral Agents. Apart from the 
manifest advantages t ha.t pertain to hot water ami the steam gen- 
erated therefrom as agents in the production and distribution of 
heat, andtho almost universal and increasing use of the same 

in dwellings, public building , scl is, churches, etc., the subject 

of artificial heating becomes one of pe< uliai importance alike from 
a sanitary, scientific and utilitarian standpoint, in view of the 
remarkable progress made in this direction of late years. What 
with invention, improvements and discovery, a high degree of p > - 1 - 
lection has been attained in the devices for the purposes indicated 
within a recent period. And while it is gratifying to observe that 
all, or nearly all, the contrivances of this character now offered for 
sale possess features of merit, the fact is equally worthy of note 
here, that for general excellence nothing of this kind yet Intro- 
duced compares with the boilers ami apparatus for steam and hot 
water heating manufactured by the Schiiupt & Keim Boiler and 
Manufacturing (.'•> . Lovegrove & Co., general agents, with princl- 


. mL 

pal office and ' sroom at Hos. 143 and 145 North Third Street, this 
city, and capacious works at Norristown, Pa. These boilers and 
accessories arc articles of exceptional merit, possessing features 
of construction and combination of parts that greatly facilitate the 
heating of water and the generation of steam, and are by general 
consent the most effective, durable reliable, economical and alto- 
gether superior appliance of the kind ever constructed. The 
Schimpf A; Keim circulating steam boiler (patented Sept. 8, 1885) 
is in short, conceded to in' the ne plus ultra in heating apparatus, 
ii. d id it-; superiority no more unfailing criterion could be asked 
than th>- enduring hold the same ha-- secured on popular favor 
wherever put in operation, while the demand has been, in fact, in 
excess of tii' output, thus n g the enlargement of the 

works, and tin inization of thi new stock company under arti 
cles of incorporation. Tie- boiler is simple in construction ; there 
an- no parts to get out of repair and no tubes to dog. audit 
requires bur little cleaning The boilei proper is directly over the 
tire box, ami has exteu ions projecting downward and surrounding 
the latter. Tie die box is cylindrical in form, and consists of an 

inner and ;•. iter shell, forming an annular water space. These 

shells are Ranged at top and b ittom, and well secured by riveting. 
Tie- lire box has a suitable feed opening. Across the top of the fire 

box is arranged an inverted T pipe, whose horizontal porl mi 

municates with Ihe water space of the fire-box, while its i 

poi tion extends into the boiler above. Short transverse pipes con- 

nect the lower portion of the boiler extension with the adjacent 
parts of the water space of the firebox. Thus it will be apparent 
that the water contained in the annular space of tin- II re-box will 
be quickly heated and w ill readily pass or circulate to the I 
The heat will pass downward around the boil i extension and 
thence upward over the top of Ihe boiler to the Chimney, thus prac- 
tical!} surrounding the boiler and the water which it contains, 
thereby quickly generating steam. Keim's patent oscillating 
grate (patented August 24, IS.-''.) is used, and this admits of the fire 
being easily cleaned, and is SO easy to opei ate in, a no one can fail 
to work it successfully. It is not liable to get out of repair, sosim- 
ple and perfect is its construction. Tin- material used Is of the 
best character anil the sections are so well proportioned that 
they will not warp or hum out. No brick work oi anything of that 
character is required, so that the boiler occupies the smallest 
space possible and much less than any other boiler in use. It is 
portable and can be set in place ready for use in two hours time. 
A decided advantage which it has over most competing boilers is 
the fact that it will burn either anthracite or bituminous coal or 
coke. As attesting the satisfaction rendered by these boilers and 
heating apparatus, a few from among hundreds of equally com- 
mendatory testimonials are appended herewith. (1) Shenandoah, 
Pa., March 23, l&s7. Messrs. Schimpf & Keim, Boiler Manufactur- 
ers, etc., Shenandoah, Penna.— Gentlemen: My opinion as to the 
merits of your improved steam boiler for steam heating purposes 
is that it is a grand success, and I would cheerfully recommend 
fire companies and all others contemplating putting in steam 
apparatus in their buildings to use yours. The boiler being made 
of wrought iron, with its design, together with the rocking grate, 
commends itself to the attention of the public. Our firemen, 
especially, find out the value of the apparatus and give due credit, 
owing to the tact that last winter the fumes of sulphur from the 
stoves discolored the nickle and metal parts of the engines in a 
few hours after cleaning them ; now they hold their polish for 
weeks, which means both money and labor saved to the firemen. 
Hope you will meet with Ihe success you deserve. Richard Amour, 
chief fire marshal. (2) Shenandoah. Pa., Jan. 21, 18S7.— 1 take pleas- 
ure in adding my testimony to the superior advantage of the 
Schimpf & Keim circulating boilei. In the most extreme cold 
weather my place of business is healed entirely satisfactory by 
your steam heating apparatus. Yours truly, M. M. McDermott. P. 
R & P. W. U. Tel. Co. (3) Messrs. Schimpf & Keim. Sirs.— We 
can in all honesty recommend your heating apparatus to any we 
know of. as we have investigated many. It uses less coal and 
gives more heat per ton of coal used with less trouble than any we 
know of. Have used it two years with not one cent's worth or 
repairs in that time. Would not do without it for twice what we 
paid for it. Yours C. W. Beddall, Ed. A. Beddall, Nathan Beddall. 
(4) Shenandoah, Feb .-., 1SS7. Messrs. Schimpf & Keim : Dear sirs:— 
It gives me pleasure to say that your stesm heating apparatus 
pi. uid in the Presbyterian church has give,, [i-, reet satisfaction in 
every particular. Yours very truly, D M. Hazlett, pastor. Tie- fol- 
lowing also are using the boiler with eminently satisfactory n 
T. tl Bechtel, No. 5U Market ?t., Philadelphia, Pa.;John<\ Knapp, 
MahanoyCity Pa.: Jonathan Kester, Kington u, P«.: Jacob Amaun, 
Hazletpn, Pa. ;.J.H. .Mover, Hazleton, Pa.; Ulasgowlron Co., Potts- 
town, Pa.; P.Williard, Trappe, Pa.:J. G.T. Miller, Trappe, Pa.: Car- 
lisle Manufacturing Co., Carlisle, Pa. :J.J. Kecly, Shenandoah. Pa.; 
Josiah Johnson Shenandoah, Pa. ; Samuel Weidman, Shenaudoah, 
Pa.; Oeorge T. Folmer, Shenandoah, Pa. ; Michael Peters, Shenan- 
doah, Pa.: Geo. w. Beddall & Bros.. Shenandoah, Pa.; A. E. Owens, 
Shenandoah, Pa.: Mrs. Sarah Wasley, Shenandoah, Pa ;Rescue 
Hook and Ladder Co., Shenandoah, Pa ; Shenandoah School Goard, 
Shenandoah, Pa. ;Shenai ig, Shenandoah, Pa. ; 

Presbyterian church, Shenandoah, Pa. The company operate 
extensive and thoroughly equipped works at Norristown, having 
in seivice there all the latest improved and finest machinery 
obtainable, with all necessary facilities, while a large ( 
skilled workmen are employed under an efficient sup 
With such a man as Thos. G. Lovegrove, of the firm of Lo egrove 
A Co., extensive dealers in machinery and boilers, tins city, presi- 
denl of the company, an. I T. II. Bestol, of Philadelphi t, and John 
ft Leiseoring, of Shi ii itidoah, ex 'Cutive officers, it do - not ; 

il draught upon prophetic ken to foresee for this enter- 
pi ise long ami enduring success. 



ENGLAND & BRYAN, Hides & Leather, Manufacturers of Oak 
Tanned Belting Butts; Scoured Oak Sole Leather Backs, &c. 
Nos. 256 to 260 North Third Street, and N'os. 302 to 308 Vine 
Street.— The importance of Philadelphia as a centre of the 
trade in leather and hides is generally recognized, and deservedly 
so, for here is permanently located the great and representative 
house of Messrs. England & Bryan, whose oak tanned leather is 
nuiv in soch universal demand. The immense business done in the 
Ann's great warehouse on North Third and Vine Streets, was 
founded in 1S55 by Mr. James England, one of the most successful 
curriers. In 1»!7, he took into co-partnership his sun. Mr. T. Y. 
England, under the style of James England & Son. In 1ST' the 
firm of England & Bryan, succeeded. Mr. J. Y. England, Mr. E. 
H. Bryan, being the co-partners and in la?" Mr. C. S. Walton, was 
admitted to partnership. They unite vast practical experience, 
perfected facilities and influential connections, and are progressive 
and enterprising. Their tanneries are located at Harrisonburg, 
Va., and Westminster, Md., and are equipped with modern appli- 
ances affording employment to upwards of seveuty-five hands in 
the production of the finest grades of oak tanned sole leatherand 
belting leather. Their Philadelphia premises comprise three floors 
and basement, each 80x150 in dimensions, and where is a large 
currier's shop, salesroom, etc. An average of seventy-five hands 
are employed in the currier's shop, and the leather turned out is in 
all respects of the highest grade. From this immense stock the 
largest orders are promptly filled and the house numbers among 
its customers leading manufacturers of belting, boots and shoes, 
etc. Their stock includes the best grades of oak tanned belting 
butts; scoured oak sole leather backs: oak shoe skirting for 
turn shoes; oak welt and wax upper leather; oak harness and 
bridle leather, etc. Their leather is recognized by experts to be 
the best in its line on the market, and for its great superiority. 
Their " Schlosser" tannage of oak sole leather received the medal 
at the Vienna. Centennial and New Orleans exhibitions. The 
severest tests of belting made from it, ami of boots and shoes in 
use, proves conclusively that these leathers have no equal for dura- 
bility, economy and general excellence. The co-partners are popu- 
lar and respected. Mr. England has long been active in tannery 
circles, and in tills branch of trade the house has achieved by its 
skill, ability and integrity, a position of prominence among the 
leading manufacturers of this 'great city, and is the most 
thoroughly representative of any concern in its line. 

CHARLES M. GHRISKEY. Hardware Commission Merchant, 
No. 5ns Commerce Street.— A house that has been estab- 
lished and in successful operation for a period of forty years 
must necessarily attract more than ordinary attention from 
the compiler of this review of the commerce and industries of the 
city of Philadelphia. Such an establishment is that of Mr. Charles 
M. Chriskey, the well-known hardware commission merchant, at 
No. 60S Commerce Street. This is the oldest house in the hard- 
ware trade of this city, having been established in 1849, by Messrs. 
Caldwell S: Ghriskey, the present proprietor succeeding to the sole 
control ten years later. The building which is occupied entire for 
trade purposes contains five floors and a basement, 1Sx90 Teet in 
dimensions, giving an abundance of room for supplying the most 
extens.'ve demand. The several departments are filled with an 
elaborate and diversified .stock, embracing builders' and general 
hardware, shelf goods and farming tools, locksmiths' aird butchers' 
supplies, carpenters', mechanics' and machinists" tools, table and 
pocket cutlery, and house-furnishing hardware of the best makes. 
Among the specialties handled by this firm, which bear such a high 
character for utility and superiority as to command universal 
attention and general patronage, may be mentioned Chapin's rules 
and planes, , Disston's saws, Wellington emery, Spencer's files, 
Chesterman's tapes, A.G. Goe's wrenches, and the best grades of 
edge tools, nuts, washers and clinch rings. To attempt an enumera- 
tion of the articles carried by this house would be to present our 
readers with an immense catalogue. Suffice it to say, it keeps 
everything. " trow a needle to an anchor." The supplies are pur- 
chased In vast quantities direct from the manufacturers, and care- 
ful attention is given to the quality and character of the produc- 
tions, the aim of the proprietor being not only to meet every want, 
but to offer the very best in every case that the markets afford. 
The rarest inducements are extended to the trade in the matter of 

terms and prices, and all the great, resources of the houseareused 
to promote the interests of its patrons. The business, which is 
exclusively wholesale, is immense and influential throughout the 
middle and southern' states, and unequalled facilities are afforded 
for the prompt and perfect fulfillment of all orders. Mr. Ghriskey 
is a native Philadelphian, and among our best-known and most 
successful merchants and solid, substantial business men. 

WILLIAM HODGES iCO., House Furnishing Goods, No. 732 
Market Street.— The most progressive house engaged in 
thevitally important business of house furnishing in this 
city is that of William Hodges & Co., located at No. 732 
Market Street. The methods, character and quality of stock bear 
no comparison with the average dealer in this line; on the con- 
trary, tins firm have from the inception of their business in 188<> 
conducted it upon the highest attainable plan of efficiency and 
excellence, omitting no effort or outlay in order to keep the best 
goods in every department in stock, and to fully cover the field so 
that buyers, however critical or refined their tastes, could here 
select exactly what they wanted. Every class in the community 
finds it, advantageous to buy here, where is carried the largest 
wholesale and retail stock of its kind in town. The business pre- 
mises comprise an entire four-story building, 25x100 feet in dimen- 
sions, which is handsomely fitted up, and perfect in convenienceof 
arrangement for display, inspection and sale.ofthe stock here car- 
ried which comprises every thing used for household and house-keep- 
ing purposes. The proprietors bring to bear ripe experience and 
ample resources in the harmonious gathering together of a bewil- 
dering, yet attractive, display of tin ware, cutlery, ice chests and 
water coolers, and other articles which it is impossible to par- 
ticularize. The stock embraces the products of themostcelebrated 
makers both in Europe and America. The housewife, the hotel 
keeper, and the retail dealer can here select from hundreds of 
samples. In cutlery the stock includes the finest knives, forks, 
carvers, slicers, steels, and spoons of heaviest electro-plate. The 
.business is brisk and lively in city and country, and the wants 
of all classes of patrons are ministered to with eminent success 
and satisfaction in every instance. Mr. William Hodges, the 
active member of the firm, is a native Philadelphian, for twenty 
years a member of the firm of Isaac S. Williams & Co., and of high 
standing in business and social life, eminently deserving of the 
substantial success he has achieved and the high degree of consid- 
eration in which he is held by the public at large, to whom the 
firm name has become a veritable " household word." 

EHFiET, Jr. & CO., Distillers, Coal Tar, and Coal Tar Pro- 
ducts, No. 423 Walnut Street. — An important branch of 
t manufacturing activity in Pennsylvania, and one deserv- 
ing of special mention in this commercial review, is the 
distillation of coal tar and coal tar products. In this connection the 
firm of Messrs. M. Ehret Jr. & Co., has achieved merited distinc- 
tion, owing to the superiority, quality and uniform excellence of 
its productions, which are unrivalled in the United States or 
Europe. This extensive business was established twenty-five 
years ago by M. Ehret Jr., conducted by him until lbS3, when the 
present firm succeeded to the management. The co-partners, 
Messrs. M. Ehret Jr.. G. W. Elkins and G. D. Widener, bring great 
practical experience to bear, and possess an intimate knowledge 
of every detail of this important industry, and the requirements of 
the American market. Their office in Philadelphia is located at 
No. 423 Walnut Street, while their works are at Thirty-sixth Street 
and Cray's Ferry Road and at Point Breeze. The works are 
among the largest and best equipped of the kind in the United 
States, and furnish constant employment to 250 workmen. Messrs. 
M. Ehret Jr. & Co., distill extensively coal tar and coal tar pro- 
ducts, and also manufacture roofing materials, roofing felt, etc. 
Their products and goods are standards in the market, and are 
general favorites with the trade, wherever introduced. The firm 
promptly and carefully fill orders at the lowest possible prices, and 
their trade now extends throughout all sections of the United 
States and Canada. Messrs. Ehret, Elkins and Widener are all 
natives of Philadelphia, and highly esteemed in business circles. 
They may justly be considered as thoroughly identified with the 
best interests of Philadelphia, whose commerce they are promoting 
with zeal, discrimination and success. 



STOCKHAM & ROWLEY , Wholesale Dealers In and Shippers 
ff Oysters, Fresh Fish. Lobsters, Game, Etc, Sos. 20, 
21, 34, 33, 50 and 51 Dock St. Wharf.— As a point of 
transit and reshlpment, as well as a central depot 
for all kinds of fish, etc.. Philadelphia has for many 
years absorbed a large portion of trade in this direction, 
and is so availably situated between the source of supplies and 
the larger portion of the middle states, as to have controlled, In a 
great measure, the handling of this indispensable product. Num- 
erous firms and Individuals are here engaged in the fish traffic, and 
in some instances have developed a capacity for Its managers at 
that has led to an extraordinary growth of facilities, and greatly 
enhanced the commercial thrift of the city. Prominent among 
such we must rank the firm of Messrs. Stockham & Rowley, of 
Nos. 20, 21, 34, So, 50 and 51 Dock Street Wharf. This firm are 
wholesale dealers, commission merchants and shippers of oysters, 
fresh fish of all kinds, clams, lobsters, game, etc., and in their line 
control an immense trade. This business was organized upwards 
of eighteen years ago by the late Mr. John E. Stockbam, who con- 
ducted it with large and continuous success until his death. 
Then he was succeeded by his brother, Mr. T. A. Stockham, who 
formed a partnership with Mr. A. S. Rowley, under the style of 
Stockham & Rowley. The firm occupy commodious premises, 
have fine dock accommodation with every facility for unloading 
vessels direct into their warehouses economically. They are cul- 
tivators of oysters, and have oyster beds in the York River, at 
West Point, Va., where they plant oysters in the spring, allow 
them to mature during the summer, and take them up during the 
winter as trade demands. The firm are the owners of vessels, 
employ a staff of numerous hand3, and are prepared to supply the 
trade with oysters, all kinds of fresh fish, game, terrapin etc., at 
short notice and at bottom prices. The house is a flourishing and 
responsible one. and the proprietors are both natives of the city 
and very popular young men. 

SS. DARMON, Wholesale Fruit and Produce Commission Mer- 
chant, No. 1-0 Spruce Street.— Philadelphia is not only one 
of the finest markets for the sale of fruits aud produce of 
all kinds, but is likewise the most popular purchasingpoint 
for a vast area of territory, being so central and with such per- 
fected transportation facilities. Among the leading produce com- 
mission merchants who have done so much to strengthen and 
develop this branch of trade is Mr. S. S. Darmon, whose warehouse 
is located at No. 120 Spruce Street. The business conducted by 
him upon a scale of such magnitude was originally founded in 
1862 by the old firm of Burbage Brothers. In 1872 it dissolved, 
being succeeded by the firm of Bnrbage & Co., composed of Mr. 
Burbage and Mr. Darmon. They thus continued until 1ST?, when 
Mr. Darmon became sole proprietor and under whose direct and 
able management, the business has grown to be one of the first 
importance in its line. Mr. Darmon was formerly located in the 
old Delaware Avenue market house, but in response to the grow- 
ing demands of trade, purchased this building for his own use and 
fitted it up, and removed here in March, 1?S7. He does a wholesale 
fruit and produce commission business, and is nationally popular 
as a responsible and honorable merchant, who does the best he 
can for every' consignment. He is a heavy 'receiver in car and 
cargo lots from both the south, west and north, making a promin- 
ent specialty of oranges, berries, peaches, watermelons and other 
fruits, al-n a full line of vegetables, etc., in fact all fine fruits and 
southern vegetables in their season. Many leading growers of the 
south consign exclusively to him, finding their interests - can 
fully guarded. All growers and buyers can rely on having their 
truck and fruits promptly disposed of by Mr. Darmou to best 
advantage, and Immediate account sales rendered. He has two 
larger!... ,rs here devoted to receipt and handling of stock and sells 
to the best class of trade throughout the city. Mr. r'armon is 
a prominent and respected member of mercantile circles, a 
native of New Jersey, coming here in 1864, and has done 
much to develop this branch of'the city's commerce. He is an 
active member of the Produce Exchange, and is on the board of 
managers, faithfully discharging the onerous duties thus devolv- 
ing upon him. lie bears the highest standing in financial and 
commercial circles and refers to such prominent Institutions a^ 
: Produce and Sixth National Banks ; to the Frounce Exchange 

and to Bradstreet's and Dun's commercial agencies. Able, 
enterprising and exercising judicious methods, Mr. Darmou is iu 
every way a worthy and leading representative of this Important 
branch of trade. 

WALTER RALEIGH, Insurance Broker, No. 31% Walnut 
Street.— Prominent among the widely known and tri- 
able insurance agencies of this section is that of Mr. 
Walter Raleigh, whose office Is conveniently located at 
No. 313~£ Walnut Street. This agency wa founded In 1886, and 
from the outset has had accorded to It a most liberal and substan- 
tial patronage, which is steadily Increasing yeai by year. Mr. 
Raleigh transacts all kinds of fire, marine, and inland insurance, 
as well as life, boiler, plate glass and accident insurance, and, 
having absolute control of the Philadelphia business of'the various 
insurance corporations he represents, is not only enabled to offer 
very superior inducements, but likewise to guarantee a prompt 
aDd sure adjustment of all losses that may occur. Both as an 
experienced underwriter, and as being proficient in all matters per- 
taining to insurance, Mr. Raleigh is a very desirable agent with 
which to place the insurance of one's property or merchandise. 
For a long period before beginning the insurance business, he 
was engaged In the mercantile and manufacturing business, 
and now represents some of the largest, most liberal and most 
responsible insurauce corporations, both foreign and Ameri- 
can, and insures all kinds of insurable property, at the lowest 
rates compatible with security, distributing the risks among sound 
companies only, renewing policies when expired, and generally 
relieving the business community of all care and trouble in this 
respect. Mr. Raleigh is a native of Philadelphia, an active and 
popular member of the Tariff Association, and is highly regarded 
for his excellent business principles and integrity. 

LANGFELD BROS., & CO., Manufacturers and Importers of 
Pocket Books and Fancy Leather Goods, Nos. 721 and 723 
Arch Street; New York Office, No. 336 Broadway.— The 
enterprising and eminent house of Messrs. Langfield Bros. 
& Co., has by reason of its able policy and magnificent stock of 
goods secured to the city of Philadelphia the most important 
trade in the United States in all kinds of imported and domestic 
pocket books.-purses and fancy leather goods generally. The busi- 
ness is very old established, having been founded by Messrs. 
Langfeld, Turner and Andrews upward of twenty years ago. They 
early achieved national celebrity for the superiority Oi their pro- 
duct, and developed a trade and connection of the most extended 
and desirable character. In 1SS6, Messrs. Abram M. and Morris 
F. Langfeld (brothers), formed the existing co-partnership under 
the name and style of Langfeld Bros. &Co. Both, as regards vast 
experience, perfected facilities and character and magnitude of 
their product they stand unrivalled on the continent to-day, and 
the best class of trade has so decided. Their concern is one of the 
great industrial establishments of the city, occupying five entire 
floors at Nos. 721 and 723 Arch Street, 80x150 feet in dimensions, 
having all modern conveniences, including elevator, and equipped 
with the best of machinery and appliances run by steam power. 
An average force of from 400 to 500 skilled hands are employed in 
the manufacture of pocket books and leather novelties of every 
description. The Messrs. Langfeld exercise the greatest c:>rein 
the selection of skins and other materials, trimmings, etc., they 
maintain the highest standard of excellence for workmanship and 
finish, and are justly celebrated for the originality and artistic 
beauty of their new styles of pocket books, stamp holders, cigar 
cases, albums, etc., etc. Their goods compare favorably with any 
others in this line made in America, and in addition the (inn are 
extensive importers of Berlin and Vienna novelties. They display 
by far the largest and most comprehensive stock known to the 
trade, and one that is specially sought after by leading jobbers, 
and large retailers, including thcbig dry goods houses, stationers, 
etc. The firm have a branch house at No. 836 Broadway, New 
York, and thence till the orders of the eastern trade and i:i that 
city. Messrs. Langfeld have here developed an industrial and 
commercial interest of the first magnitude, and one in the highest 
degree creditable to their ability, integrity and enterprise, while 
they retain to Philadelphia the supremacy in this staple branch 
of trade. 



phia, John . I. Kidgway, President; Aubrey H. Gillingham, 
Secretary and Treasurer; No. 721 Walnut Street.— The 
rapid development of the real estate market of Phila- 
delphia, and the steadily enhancing values of choice property 
render the financial interests involved of paramouut importance. 
No form ol investment has latterly become so popular with the 
conservative public as judiciously selected real estate, for not 
only in improved realty is a permanent source of income assured, 
but likewise a reasonable certainty of a prospective increase in 
value. In this connection special reference is made in this com- 
mercial review, to the reliable and substantial Real Estate Invest- 
ment Company, of Philadelphia, whose offices are located at No. 
721 Walnut Street. This progressive company was duly incorpo- 
rated under the laws of Pennsylvania in 1870 with a perpetual 
charter, its paid up capita! being S250,000. Its career has been a 
very successful one highly creditable to the conservative methods 
and judgment of its management. The following gentlemen, who 
are widely and favorably known in financial and real estate 
circles for their executive ability, prudence, and integrity are the 
officers: John J. Kidgway, president; William F. Deakyne, vice, 
president; Aubery H. Gillingham, secretary and treasurer; E. L. 
Mintzer, Jr., trust officer ; Robert Alexander, solicitor. This respon- 
sible company invests money in real estate and real estate securi- 
ties, buys and sells on five to ten days' notice, makes permanent and 
temporary loans on real estate, advances cash CO owners for taxes, 
water rents, repairs and improvements. The company also acts 
as agent for the general care of estates, collects rents, interests, 
dividends and income of all kiuds, attends carefully to the pay- 
ment of taxes, water rents and repairs. and performs all theduties 
of a real estate broker. A general banking business is aUo con- 
ducted, deposits being received subject to check at sight, while 
the company likewise makes collections, etc. Particular atten- 
tion is paid to Southern investments. The company has always for 
sale in amounts to suit investors 6 $ bonds first principals inter- 
est guaranteed and payable at its office. Mr. John J Ridg- 
way, the president, is ex-sheriff of Philadelphia. Mr. William F. 
Deakyne. the vice president, has an excellent reputation as an ex- 
pert upon the present and prospective values of city and county 
property, and has often been called upon to act officially as an 
appraiser of all descriptions of realty. His valuations have ever 
been borne out by subsequent rules and his just methods have 
gained fur him the confidence of the entire community. Mr. A. H. 
Gillingham, the treasurer and secretary, is an able and careful 
officer and one of our prominent capitalists. In conclusion we 
would add, that the business of the Real Estate Investment Com- 
pany is marked by a steady annual increase, and its present 
prosperous condition augurs well for the future. 

HICKS & DICKEY, Steel of every description and Forgings, 
Sales Agents for entire product, Crown & Cumberland 
Steel Company, Cumberland, Md., No. 413 Commerce 
Street.— In the metals market and an ever widening circle 
of consumers of machinery and tool steel, the product of the 
Crown .£ Cumberland Steel Company is justly celebrated for its 
superiority and uniform high standard and excellence, and the 
company's facilities are taxed to the utmost to supply the growing 
demand. The company's sales ageutsare Messrs. Ricks A: Dickey, 
the well known steel merchants of No. 413 Commerce Street, and 
win. handle the entire product of the company's works. These are 
situated at Cumberland, Md.. and are of large size, fully equipped 
with the latent unproved furnaces, crucibles, rolls, etc., and 
affording employment to upwards of 110 hands in the manufacture 
of fine grades of crucible steel for tools, taps, dies, chisels, drills, 
shear knives, etc., machinery and spring steel, inclusive of the 
heaviest steel shafts, car, and locomotive axles and forgings. Car 
spring steel is a prominent specialty, and is in steady demand by 
leading manufacturers. The works are under the efficient and 
experienced superintendence of Mr. Joslah Holmes, a recognized 
authority and expert in this branch of metallurgy. Mr. T. A. 
Hicks and Mr. W. C. Dickey formed their existing co-partnership 
upwards of ten years, importing and dealing in steel of every 
description, establishing widespread and influential trade rela 
tions, ami achieving an enviable reputation. About one year ago 
they became largely interested in the Crown & Cumberland Steel 

Company, Mr. Hicks becoming secretary and treasurer, and Mr. 
Dickey general manager. Under their able guidance the affairs 
of the company are in a most prosperous condition. Messrs. Hicks 
& Dickey occupy a centrally located four-story and basement 
building, twenty-five feet by one huudred in dimension, and where 
they carry the most comprehensive and desirable stock of crucible 
and open hearth steel in all shapes, to be found iu this city or else- 
where. Among the staple lines which can best be contracted for 
ahead, or purchased in quantities to suit from this concern, are 
open hearth machinery steel, lathe cut ends, special qualities of 
machinery steel from hammered billets, Bessemer machinery 
steel, inclusive of round shafts from 1" to 5" diameter, sawed 
off hot to specified lengths; cold die rolled or compressed steel 
for shafting iu bars or cut to special length as required ; steel tire 
in sets, toe calk steel, sleigh steel, carriage axle steel, steel wire 
nails, etc., and as before mentioned full lines and a heavy stock of 
the crucible cast steel from their own Cumberland works. Both 
Messrs. Hicks and Dickey are natives of Philadelphia, and have 
long been actively identified with her leading commercial 
interests; they are enterprising and by their enlightened policy 
and kuowledge of steel in all its qualities, are maintaining a highly 
important trade, national iu its extent, and one destined to extend 
to proportions of great magnitude. 

(Limited) of London, England, J. G. Hooven & Co., Man- 
agers ; Office Nos. 411 and 413 Walnut Street.— This represen- 
tative and substantial company established this office in 
1SS7, for the purpose of controlling its business in Pennsylvania, 
New Jersey and Delaware. The Employers' Liability Assurance 
Corporation issues policies indemnifying employers against any 
compensation or damages, which they may be required to pay, 
as the result of legal proceedings, on which with the concur- 
rence of the corporation, the employer may agree to pay in re- 
spect of accidents to workmen. The assistance and protection 
affoided by the policy may be thus summarized :- Upon the occur- 
rence of an accident to an employee in respect of which compen- 
sation is or may be applied for, the corporation at once, by com- 
petent inspectors and eminent counsel thoroughly investigates 
and considers the whole of the circumstances relating to the case, 
and if the same indicate a liability on the part of the employer 
steps are taken with a view to a settlement without litigation. 
Should, however, legal proceedings be taken, the corporation 
undertakes the case on the employer's behalf, relieves him of all 
trouble and responsibility, defrays the law costs and expenses, 
and, up to the limit undertaken by the corporation, pays any dam- 
ages which may be awarded. This system of insurance affords au 
inestimable relief to the heads of large factories and other employ- 
ers of labor in that they are relieved of all the trouble and anxiety 
attaching to accidents to their employees, and are able to deter- 
mine exactly their yearly expenses iu respect of such casualties. 
Limits of liability undertaken by the corporation: For death or 
disablement of any one workman, $1,500; or, in lieu thereof, an 
amount varying from $1,500 toS5,O00 (according to requirements, and 
at proportionate tates). For any one accident to several workmen, 
$10,000. The policy does not lapse upon these limits being reached, 
but continues its warranty to pay, within sucli limits, for every 
accident which may take place during the policy year, whether the 
number of such accidents be fifty or five thousand. The insured 
accepts no liability or responsibility other than the payment of the 
premium, which is the fust and only expense attaching to the 
policy. A number of our leading manufacturers with annual pay 
rolls of over S60.000.000 have availed themselves of the protection 
afforded by the company's policies. The aggregate amount of 
wages paid to all workmen employed is the basis on which the 
premium is charged, tiie premium being a percentage on every 
$100 estimated to be paid in wages during the year. The Employ- 
ers' Liability Assurance Corporation has a paid up capital of $500, 
000 and deposited in the United States. $200,000 InU. S. Government 
and other bonds. Trustees for the United States, Oliver W. Pea- 
body, Esq., Kidder, Feabody & Co., Boston; Chauncey M. Depew. 
Esq.. Prest, N. Y. Central & II. R. R. R. Co., New York ; Samuel 
Sloan, Esq., Prest. Delaware, Lack. & West. II. R. Co., New York ; 
Wm. A. French, Esq., Prest. Mass. Nat'l Bank; Abram French & 
Co., Boston; Hon. John Lowell, Boston. 



STEPHEN MORRIS, & .son. Manufacturers of Heaters and 
Ranges. Bricklaying and Building. Office Nos. 121 and 123 
North sixth Street, Warehouse, Kos. 866, B68 and S70 
Franklin .street.— The old-established and representative 

house of Messrs. Stephen Morris i Son, manufacturers of 
heaters and ranges, low grates ami open fireplaces, and con- 
tractors and builders, is the oldest in this line In Pennsylvania, 
and was established in 18L; by Mr. Stephen Morris, and Mr. Haines 
entered in 1VI7. Mr. Haines retired in H7<'. and the firm was 
changed to its present style on the admission of .Mr. E. \V. Morris 
who is now the sole proprietor, his father, Mr. Stephen Morris, 
havingdied February 14. lssy. The present premises have been oc- 
cupied since 1*47, the factory on Franklin street being equipped in 
the best manner and filled up with all the necessary tools and ap- 
pliances, while constant employment is afforded to from fifty to 
seventy-five skilled workmen. The Morris heaters and ranges 
have been on the market for forty-seven years and their reputa- 
tion as being the best that can be obtained is unquestioned ; 
ami they are the embodiments of mechanical excellence, 
of the best workmanship and the highest order of per- 
fection, and are universal favorites with the trade through- 
out the entire couutry and always command a rapid sale. 
Among the specialties of this concern may be mentioned the 
-Morris" wrought irou heater with the Morris patent shaking 
and dumping grate, an examination of which will show that it is 
far in advance of all others. It is the most powerful, durable, eco- 
nomical and absolutely self-clearing, air-tight furnace ever put 
upon the market and possessing none of the objectionable feat- 
ures urged against many furnaces. A large saving of fuel is 
guaranteed in using this furnace and this with no diminution of 
heating power. The "Favorite" heater, with air-tight front, has 
proved to be a most powerful heater, economical in the consump- 
tion of coal, having a poke hole door for the purpose of poking the 
lire and taking out cllnckers which prevents the draught from 
rapidly consuming coal. The " Dog House Heater" is made with 
permanent radiators or drums and is absolutely smoke and gas- 
tight, and isdesigned for heating large buildings, churches, school 
houses, etc. Their "Favorite Portable Heater" has met with 
great success and is simple in its management and gives satisfac- 
tion in every case. They also manufacture a large variety of 
ranges and other furnaces. Special mention should be made of 
the large "Morris Hotel Extension Range " which is extended to 
any number of ovens and fires and is for use in large hotels. In 
addition to this may be mentioned the " Morris Hotel Range," 
"The New Morris Range," "The Favorite Range," etc., all of 
which combine many improvements peculiarly their own. In their 
-spacious warerooms, which comprise a three-story building 40x100 
feet in size, aheavy stock of these goods is carried and orders are 
promptly tilled. Contracts are made and estimates are furnished 
for building, bricklaying etc., etc. Mr. Morris is a native of Phila- 
delphia where he is highly esteemed, as he is also in trade circles 
all over the country for his sound business principles, reliability 
and integrity. The house issues a fine illustrated catalogue which 
is forwarded on application. 

WH. MICHAEL. Foreign and Domestic Fruits. No. 114 
Dock Street, (West Side).— The importance of Phila- 
c delphia as a great centre of the wholesale and commis- 
sion trade in foreign and domestic fruits can not be 
overestimated. She is more central than any other port 
or railway terminus and has in every way the most perfect 
facilities and is the most desirable as a purchasing point. 
Among the leading representatives of the above braches 
of trade is Mr. \V. H. Michael whose enterprise, energy, skill, 
and sound judgment coupled with sterling integrity have 
given him a national reputation. Mr. Michael is a native of 
■Columbia County, N. Y., and came to Philadelphia in 1%!. In I16S 
he founded his present business, his warehouse first being located 
on Second Street, whence, owing to steady growth of trade, he 
had to remove tohis present spacious premises in 1380. He brings 
to bear the widest range of practical experience, and there is m> 
one so thoroughly well versed as lie in the wholesale trade In for- 
eign and domestic fruits. He is a heavy wholesale importer and 
dealer as well as commission receiver of oranges, lemons, etc., 
also peaches, pears, berries, and above all grapes. He may well 

be termed l In- "grape king "of the trade— the largest here and so tar 
a, we know, in the United States. He is one of the heaviest buyers 

and receivers of the Hudson Valley and Western New York grapes, 
and last season handled over seven hundred tons of grapes from 
New York State alone, besides Delaware, New Jersey, etc. Healso 
receives largely from Florida, and in season of peach,, from 
Delaware, and is unquestionably the ablest and one of the most 
popular commission merchants in town. Mr. Michael is very 
widely and favorably known, and has most Influential, widespread 
connections, enabling him to handle the largest carload or cargo 
consignments, speedily disposing of same, and promptly render- 
ing account sales. He is a respected citizen and a public- 
spirited member of the Philadelphia Produce Exchange, and 
also of the New York Fruit Exchange. Personally, lie is greatly 
esteemed for his undeviating integrity and geniality of tempera- 
ment, and those entering into business relations with him will 
find their wants carefully attended to, and their interests sedu- 
lously protected. 

JOHNSTON. HOLLO WAY & CO., Proprietary Medicines No.831 
Commerce. stiver. —Johnston, Hollow ay iCo., iate one of the 
largest proprietary medicine houses in the country, was form- 
ed in 1S53 by Hiram C. Johnston, William Holloway and 
James Cowden under the name of Johnston, Holloway & Cov del 
InI370 Mr. James Cowden retired and Messrs. Matthew A. Cowden 
and William F. McPherson were admitted and the firm name chang- 
ged to thepresent title. In 1S77 Mr. Johnston died and the remaining 
members purchasing his interest, continuing until Januarj 1888 
wheu Messrs. Matthew A. Cowden and Wm.F. McPherson retired, 
and William Holloway, M. D. the seuior partner, associated with his 
son, H. W. Holloway, continuing the same title, but relinquishing 
the jobbing proprietary business, to take charge of the large and 
growing proprietary medicines of the firm of worldwide reputa- 
tion, consisting of Hoofland's German bitters, an elegant elixir of 
root and herb juices for dyspepsia, liver and kidney disorders, and 
podophyllin pills for bilious disorders, Heiskell's tetter ointment 
for the perfect cure of all forms of skin disease, Holloway's vermi- 
fuge confections, Holloway's arnica plasters, Kromer's hair dye, 
Kirby's cholera drops. They are now located at No. 531 Commerce 
Street, where they have commodious quarters with every scientific 
appliance in their laboratory to manufacture extensively in the 
most approved manner their several preparations. The firm are 
greatly respected in business circles for the,r many sterling 
qualities and integrity and justly merit the success which has at- 
tended their enterprise and ability. 

CF. KOCKFELLOW. Wholesale Liquor Dealer. No. 330 North 
Second Street.— An old-esablished and well-known whole- 
sale liquor house in this city is that of C. F. Rockfellow, 
No. 330 North Second Street, which for forty years has 
been in prosperous existence. This popular and responsible con- 
cern has always borne an excellent name for fine goods and hon- 
orable dealing, and fully sustains to-day its well-deserved reputa- 
tion in these respects, while its trade affords evidence of steady 
and gratifying increase. The bouse was founded iu 1S49 by the 
firm of Gibson, Rockfellow &. Co.. and under this style it was con- 
ducted up to 1S72, when the present proprietor retired and 
assumed control of 335 North Second Street, and has since 
continued the business alone with uninterrupted success, oc- 
cupying this building about seventeen years. The premises 
here occupied comprise the whole of a four-story and base- 
ment structure, 20x150 feet in dimensions and a heavy stock is, 
constantly carried, including choice brands of importedaud domes- 
tic wines, brandies, gins, whiskies, rums, cordials, bitters, ease goods 
and everything in the line of vinous and spirituous liquors, fine 
native whiskies being a specialty. Several efficient assistants are 
employed in the establishment with an experienced salesman on 
the road, while the proprietor exercises close personal supervision 
over every detail of the business, and the trade of the house, 
which is large and active, extends all over the city, state and 
adjoining states. Mr. Rockfellow, who is a gentleman of sixty 
three and a native of New Jersey, forty years in Phil 
man of strict integrity in K-. dealings, as well as thorough exper- 
ience in the busin !SS, and is well and favorably known in the 



facturers o£ Wire Goods ; Warerooms and Factory, No. 13 
North Sixth Street; H. A. Darby, Proprietor.— It is impos- 
sible to enumerate all the uses of copper, iron, brass and 
steel wire. At the present day it is woven into fine wire cloth for 
sieves, screens, etc., and in fact wire is in- 
valuable for domestic and other uses. A pro- 
gressive and reliable house actively engaged 
in the manufacture and sale of all kinds of 
wire goods, is that known as the Philadel- 
phia Ornamental Wire Company, No. IS 
North Sixth Street, of which Mr. H. A. Darby 
is the popular and enterprising proprietor. 
Mr. Darby is a thoroughly practical ex- 
pert wire worker whose business was estab- 
lished five years ago, since which period it 
1 has increased to a liberal and permanent pat- 
ronage in Pennsylvania. Delaware, Mary- 
land and New Jersey and the west. He oc- 
cupies four spacious floors, each being 20x100 
feet in area. The manufacturing department 
'^ is fully supplied with the latest improved 
wire working machinery and appliances, 
known to the trade. Here is manufactured 
largely, plain and twisted wire goods of every description, and he 
makes promptly to order and gives estimates for original and 
artistic designs in wire. He makes and keeps constantly in 

stock flower stands, fire screens, pen racks, egg whips, soap hold- 
ers, potato mashers, sponge racks, card and plate easels, etc. 
and quotes prices very difficult to te secured elsewhere^Mr. Darby 
is the son ef the senior partner of 
Darby & Sons, wire manufacturers, 
whose establishment Is the largest 
and oldest of the kind in Penn- 
sylvania. All goods manufactured 
by this company are unrivalled for 
quality, finish and excellence, and I 
have no superiors in this country. |~ 
Mr. Darby is highly esteemed in 
trade circles for his energy and 
Integrity, and his success in this 
useful industry is as substantial 
as it is well merited. In connection with this establishment may 
be mentioned Mr. Edward Dawson, a practical wire worker, who 
has been connected with the well known firm of Woods, Sherwood 
& Co., of Lowell, Mass., for a period of fifteen years, and who has 
brou lit with htm a thorough knowledge or wire goods ot twisted 
or plain wire of every description. There is also another depart- 
ment operated by the same company, werefertothetinning works, 
where is done all their own plating, besides tinning iron for the 
hardware trade. We would ask that our readers give them a lib- 
eral patronage. 

VfTT B. HACKENBURG, &. CO., Manufacturers of Machine and 
i J Sewing Silks, No. 25 North Third Street, Factory Nos. 
Y 1341, 1343, l."4*. and 13-17 Noble Street.— No branch of 

skillPd industry requires greater practical knowledge 
and more perfected facilities and large capital at command than the 
manufacture ofmachiue and sewing silks. Inthisliue Philadelphia 

has the benefit of the permanent location in its midst of the 
nationally celebrated house of Messrs. W. B. Hackenburg & Co., 
of No. 25 North Third Street. The immense business centred 
here was founded in lSK-'i by Messrs. Aule. Hackenburg & Co., suc- 
ceeded iu 1883 by the present co-partnership, being after Mr. Aule's 
decease. The partners, Mr. William B. Hackenburg, and Mr. 
Anthony Bohem. bring to bear every possible qualification. Mr. 
Hackenburg was born in this city, and early in life became identi- 
fied with the branch of trade in which he has achieved such suc- 
cess. Mr. Bohem was born in France, thirty years resident here, 
and is a practical silk manufacturer. The firm's business has 
steadily enlarged, and recently they removed from their old fac- 
tory on North Front Street to their new and enlarged premises at 
Nos. 1341 to 1847 Noble Street, which are fitted up with the latest 
improved machinery and appliances run by steam power and 
affording steady employment to an average force of one hundred 
hands iu the manufacture of full lines of machine twist and sew- 
ing silks. The raw silks used in their goods are all imported direct 
from China and Japan for them. The firm exercise the greatest 
care in the selection of their raw silks, and treat the materials in 
the most approved scientific manner. Their silks are not over- 
weighted in dying, like so many, but are on the contrary of true 
honest weight, of brilliant, fast colors, and spun to an even size 
and number, so that thorough uniformity to the highest standards 
is maintained. Their machine silks are all put up with their own 
name attached, and their well known brands of Unique, William 
Penn and Superior, have attained an enormous sale, direct to large 
consumers and jobbers, etc., all over the United States. They pos- 
sess every good quality, and have no equal for general service 
So, likewise their sewing silks and button hole twists are of 
admirable quality and run even and true through the largest 
quantity. The strength of their silks is remarkable, and their high 
finish unsurpassed. The firm have no travelers on the road— they 
do not need them, the trade coming direct here and to the branch 
salesrooms in New York, Baltimore, Cincinnati and Chicago. At 
their store in North Third Street is always carried a very heavy 
and fully assorted stock, from which the best trade in this city and 
state — manufacturing, jobbing, and retail obtain their supplies, 
and Messrs. Hackenburg & Co., true to their honorable record, 
permanently maintain the lead and the uniform high standard 
of their product. 

GOODMAN BROTHERS, .Youth's Boys' and Children's Fine 
Clothing, No. 306 Market Street.— The great house of 
Messrs. Goodman Brothers, has been an important factor 
in revolutionizing the American trade in fine clothing, and 
has aided materially iu placing itupon a plane of thorough excel- 
lence and efficiency. As makers of and wholesale dealers 
in youth's, boys' and children's fine clothing, this firm enjoys 
a national reputation and have built up a trade co-extensive 
with the limits of the entire country. The business was origi- 
nally established in 1S7S, by Messrs. Goodman, Simon & Co., 
who were succeeded by the present firm in 1SS2. The build- 
ing occupied for manufacturing and sales purposes is five 
stories in height, 30x100 feet in dimensions, and equipped with new 
and improved machinery, operated by steam power. Forty skilled 
hands are employed in the building, and from eight hundred to 
one thousand persons are supplied with work in the city of Phila- 
delphia alone. Their trade has enlarged at an annually increas- 
ing ratio, and their name is honored ami respected from Maine to 
Texas and from the Lakes to the Gulf. The firm are regarded as 
authority in the matter of woolens and suitings, and exercise the 
utmost care, taste and judgment over every detail of the business. 
The stock carried is rarely equalled in extent, variety and value 
by any contemporary house iu the country, enabling the firm to 
promptly fill the largest orders and to offer inducements to the 
trade, as regards both reliability and excellence of goods and lib- 
erality of terms and prices, which challenge comparison and defy 
successful competition. The co-partners, Messrs. Harry and Solo- 
mon W. Goodman, are native Philadelphians, and accounted 
among that class of energetic, vigorous and progressive young 
businessmen who build up great enterprises in every avenue of 
commerce and trade. Their establishment reflects great credit 
upon their management ami is an honor to the name and fame of 
this city as a leading commercial ami industrial centre. 



J i I3EPH ZENTMAYER, Optican, Manufacturer of Microscopes, 
Etc., No.209South Eleventh Street.— 1 lie representative and 
most noted bouse in Philadelphia extensively engaged iu the 
manufacture of optical goods, niicroseopes, etc., is that of Mr. 
Joseph Zeutmayer, whose office, salesrooms and factory are located 
at No. 209 South Eleventh Street. This business was established in 
1- : ii> Mr. Joseph Zentmayer, who conducted it till 1888, when he 
died after a long, successful and honorable career. Hewassuc- 
... ,1- l by his sous. Messrs. Frank and Edward Zeutmayer, who 
are now carrying on the business under the old name of Joseph. 
Zentmayer. The illness that at last resulted in the death of Mr. 
Zentmayer came on very slowly, and fortunately only after he 
had thoroughly instructed liis sons in the processes, that have 
made his work so celebrated not only in America, but also in all 
parts of the world. His sons have had charge for a number of 
years of the construction of the instruments, that have given such 
great satisfaction to all who have used them. Mr. Zentmayer's 
constant efforts were to improve his methods as well as improve 
the construction of his instruments. His inventions, that have 
carried the name of Zentmayer to all parts of the civilized globe, 
were not made rapidly, as a rule. He pondered over all his im- 
provements for a long time, and they all show deep thought. 
Those who knew him best remember the look of deep thought 
impressed on his speaking face when they called and found him 
alone with his big dark-colored working microscope before him. 
Ttn'y knew he was being interrupted in work that would soon add 
some new thing to his list of accessories, or in the perfection of 
some instrument. With his life has gone the spirit of a pure- 
minded and upright man, a good citizen, a lover of liberty and a 
lover of truth. We find, the following articles, which were his 
work, in the Journal of the Franklin Institute: On a mechanical 
finger for use in mounting diatoms under the microscope ; On an 
erecting prism, for use in the microscope; A lecture on lenses; 
On improvements in microscopes. Also in the PhiladelphiaPhoto- 
grapher, 15rV7, vol. 4, p. 251, we find an article entitled " Refraction 
without Dispersion, and some Reflections." Mr. Zentmayer was 
elected a member of the American Philosophical Society in 1S73, 
and of the "Franklin Institute" in 1S65. He received the Elliott 
Cressou medal for improvements in microscopes iu 1875. The 
great triumph of his microscope making was the perfection of the 
stand, known as that of 1S76, which elicited so much favorable 
comment during our Centennial Exhibition. The binocular micro- 
scope, under his hand, became more useful than ever before. It 
was not until he bad perfected this form that he was willing tosell 
a binocular instrument. Messrs. Frank and Edward Zentmayer, 
who are thoroughly able and expert opticans and microscope 
makers, are now following with great zeal and energy in the foor- 
st-p^ of their honored and talented father. They manufacture 
carefully all kinds of optical goods and instruments, microscopes, 
microscopic apparatus, .spectacles and eye glasses, and pay special 
attention to oculists' prescriptions. Their goods and instruments 
are absolutely unrivalled for reliability, quality, utility and uni- 
form excellence, and have no superiors in this country or Europe, 
while their prices in all cases are exceedingly just and moderate. 
In regard to the quality and efficiency of their instruments, they 
ref-r to any of our first class liiicroscopisN, universities orcolleges, 
and at the same time guarantee entire satisfaction to the most 
critical patrons. Both Messrs. Frank and Edward Zentmayer are 
natives of Philadelphia, where they are highly esteemed by the 
community for their scientific skill, ability and just methods. 

HC. BRIDLE, Platinotype Enlargements, (Willis' Patent) 
by Electric and Solai Light, No. 913 Arch Street— One of 
the greatest improvements in Che art of photography is 
that known as Willis' platinotype enlargements by electric 
and solar light, now in use by Mr. H. C. Bridle, at No. 913 Iron 
street. Willis 1 patent is by far the easiest printing process 
known to the art. while at the same time there is no print- 
ing process in existence where the posibilities of making artistic 
pictures are so great as by the platinotype. Mr. Bridle has been 
established in business here since 1879, and occupies spacious 
and well-equipped premises, giving unsurpassed facilities for 
securing the rint-st effects in all undertakings. In the enlarge- 
i o( pictures aud photo jraphs he is in a position to execute a 
class ol work that challenges comparison and defies sue 

competition. With the platinotype there is no toning or fixing, 
and no prolonged washing. The great amateurs of England, such 
as Emerson. Berkeley, and many others, in making negatives, 
always expose for the shadows aud let the high lights take care Ol 
themselves, using a well-restrained developer. This is one of the 
secrets of their success in making such beautiful platinotype pic- 
tures for which they almost always take prizes whenever they 
exhibit. The best work can only be accomplished by doing every- 
thing well, whether In selection of the subject, exposing the 
plate, developing the negative or making the print. Mr. Bridle 
invites correspondence to give the benefit of his advice, and to 
examine prints as often as they wish to send them. Mr. Bridle is 
a native of the city of Frome, England, and is known and hon- 
ored in this city as an accomplished master of his art, and a reli- 
able, responsible business man. 


AIR & CRANMER, Sail Makers, Mo. 136 South Delaware 
Avenue.— One of the most reliable aud old established 
houses engaged in sail making, etc., is that of Messrs. 
Mair & Cranmer, of No. 136 South Delaware Avenue. This 
business was founded twenty-three years ago under the style of 
Mair & Co., at No. ISO South Delaware Avenue, a removal having 
been made to the premises now occupied in 1S75. when the firm 
were burned out. The individual members of the firm are Messrs. 
John Mair and H. W. Cranmer. Mr. Mair, who was born in Scot- 
land, fifty-four years ago, has resided in Philadelphia for the past 
forty -two years, and Mr.. Cranmer, who has lived in Philadelphia 
for thirty-three years, was born fifty years ago in New Jersey. 
Both gentlemen have had great experience as sail makers, and 
their patronage is by no means confined to the city, but extends 
all along the Atlantic coast. Their workshop consists of one 
floor, twenty-five feet wide and one hundred and fifty feet 
deep, and this is provided with all necessary appliances, and 
conveniences, for the successful and economical prosecution of the 
business, which requires the employment of from twenty to thirty 
hands. The firm manufacture sails fur all kinds of sailing craft, 
Italian awnings, tents, flags, wagon coverings, sackings andstore 
awnings of every description. They make a specialty of yacht 
flags, and also supply promptly canopies for weddings, recep- 
tion parties, etc. An excellent assortment of awning stripes of 
various patterns are kept constantly on hand and all orders are 
carefully attended to at extremely moderate prices. Messrs. Mair 
& Cranmer keep in stock a large number of tents of all sizes aud 
flags of all nations, which are let upon reasonable terms. All 
sails, awnings, tents, etc., manufactured by this firm are made of 
the bt-st materials and are unrivaled for tioi-h aud workmanship. 
The firm are noted for promptness and straightforward dealing. 

VALLEE BROS. & CO., Manufacturers and Dealers in Elec- 
trical Supplies, No. 727 Filbert Street.— The progress made 
in recent years iu the applied branehesof electrical science 
is marvelous. A prominent and reliable house manufac- 
turing and dealing in electric supplies, is that of Messrs. Vallee 
Bros., <£ Co., whose office, salesroom and workshops are located at 
No. 727 Filbert Street. This business was established fourteen 
years by the present co-partners, Messrs. Garrett A. &Geo. W. 
Vallee, both of whom are practical and able electricians ready 
to utilize and introduce every new invention, that proves an 
improvement on existing methods. Their workshops are spacious 
and are fully equipped with the latest improved special machinery, 
tools and appliances, necessary for the successful prosecution of 
this important industry. Messrs. Vallee, Bros., & Co., manufac- 
ture to ord^r or otherwise annunciators, electric bells, burglar 
alarms, batteries, wire, watchmans' time registers, Zimdars' 
pneumatic bells, etc., and also m tke a specialty of contracting for 
incandescent wiring and the complete installation of electric light 
plants. All work turned out by this responsible firm is unrivalled 
for reliability, efficiency, quality or materials and general excel- 
lence and has no superior in this or any other market. They 
promptly fill orders at exceedingly low prices, and guarantee 
entire satisfaction to patrons. Both Messrs. G. A. and G. 
W. Vallee an- natives of Philadelphia. They are greatly re- 
spected in business circles for their scientific aud mechanical 
ability and integrity, and their prospects In this useful and valua- 
ble industry are "! the most encouraging character. 



W&. T. ALLEN &. CO., Manufacturers and Wholesale 
Dealers in Clotbing, Nos. 619 Market Street and 610 
Commerce Street.— A house which has established an 
enviable reputation for its clothing throughout the 
United States is that of Messrs. W. & T. Allen & Co., of this city. 
Many houses in the line have been longer in the field, but none 
have so thoroughly and permanently established relations with the 
best class of jobbing and retail trade wherever their goods have 
been introduced. Quality has ever been the first consideration of 
this popular and enterprising house, and its trade is rapidly pro- 
gressing based on the merits of its product coupled with moderate 
prices. The business was started in 1S76, and has during the inter- 
vening period developed to extended proportions. The concern 
was formerly located at Fifth and Market Streets, and in response 
to a demand for enlarged facilities, the firm removed to their 
present location in 18S6. The premises occupied are unusually ex- 
tensive, comprising No. 610. five stories and basement in height, 
and 25x150 feet in dimensions, coupled with three floors of No. 621, 
25x150 feet in size. This vast area of floor space is none too much 
for the accommodation of the departments of the concern. The 
establishment is finely fitted up, and a thorough system of organiz- 
ation is enforced. The co-partners bring to bear the widest range 
of experience coupled with sound judgment in the selection of 
woolens, suitings, etc. They are leaders in fashionable style, and 
employ the best talent obtainable in the cutting room. A large 
portion of the clothing is made in the'irown factoryin the building 
under their person! supervision, so as to insure the best workman- 
ship. The force of hands employed in and outside average from 
500 to 600, and the utmost care is maintained to secure the best 
workmanship and most elegant finish to all the clothing produced 
here. Manufacturing is conducted upon correct principles by 
Messrs. Allen, and the results are seen in their heavy and growing 
trade, which extends all over the country, requiring the services 
of twelve traveling men on the road. Messrs. William and Thomas 
Allen are influential and respected merchants, whose energy and 
enterprise materially contributed Philadelphia's prosperity. As- 
sociated in copartnership with them are Messrs. John R., and 
William Allen, Jr., young business men of marked ability, and 
the house is abundantly worthy of the great success attending its 
honorably and ably directed efforts. 

WB. ZIEBER'S Great Literary Emporium. Northwest 
Corner Third and Walnut Streets.— In reviewing 
the many industries of this great commercial and 
manufacturing city we find many old established 
houses whose history dates back over half a century. Among those 
particularly noticeable is that familiarity known as "Zieber's" 
which was established on Third Street as long ago as 1836 by G. 
B. Zieber and afterwards continued by W. B. Zieber. Since 1S4S 
it has been under the control of the luttf r gentleman and in 1S76 
the very eligible premises now occupied at the northwest corner of 
Third and Walnut Street were secured. Every facility and conven- 
ience is at hand for meeting the demands of the public and fur- 
nishing all the various magazines, periodicals, newspapers, etc., of 
both foreign and American production, and plain, fancy and count- 
ing house stationery, blank books, etc. Zieber's Great Literary 
Emporium is the oldest establishment of the kind in the country 
and is not only well known to Philadelphians but has a wide repu- 
tation in all the adjoining states. Wm. B. Zieber is a thorough, ener- 
getic, reliable businessman, prompt and responsible, and imports to 
order English magazines and books and publications of all kinds 
and receives subscriptions for foreign periodicals and the New 
York newspapers which are regularly delivered in all parts of the 
city. A special business is made of supplying reading rooms, clubs, 
libraries, etc.. with all the serial literature of the day at publishers 
prices, and among the magazines and periodicals are the Atlantic 
Magazine, All the Year Round, American Agriculturist, Bankers' 
Magazine, Cornhill Magazine. Country Gentlemen, Chambers' 
Edinburgh Journal, London Engineer, Eclectic Magazine, Eng- 
lish Illustrated Magazine. Longman's Magazine, Good Words, 
London Graphic, Nineteenth Century, Harpers' Magazine, 
Harper's Bazar, Harper's Weekly, Illustrated London News, Lip. 
plncott's Magazine, Leisure Hour, Popular Science Monthly, Lit- 
tell's Living Age, London World of Fashion, Loudon Society Maga- 
zine, Scientific American, Century Magazine, St. Nicholas, .Maga- 

zine for Boys and Gills, Saturday Review, (London,! Seribner's 
Magazine, Silliman's Journal Spectator, (Loudou,)Suuday-at-Home, 
(Loudon,) Temple Bar, Wide Awake, and many others not enumer- 
ated. Plain, fancy and commercial printing is also a special feat- 
ure, the work being executed with a degree of skill, neatness and 
excellence unexcelled. Mr. Zieber is a I'hiladelphian by birth and 
one of the best known men on Third Street, the great centre of 
business activity in the city, and we know of no better evidence of 
his popularity and the high reputation of his establishment than 
the many years he has been located in the vicinity supplying the 
demands of the public with the various serial publications, sta- 
tionery, etc. 

HAMILTON & DIESINGER, Manufacturers of Sterling Silver- 
ware, No. 810 Sansom Street.— The establishment of Messrs. 
Hamilton & Diesinger. No. 810 Sansom Street, Is not only 
largest in the manufacture of sterling silverware in Phila- 
delphia, but one of the most prominet institutions of its kind in the 
country. It was originally established In 1S79, by Mr. Matthew 
Hamilton, and in 1SS1 the present firm was organized by the ad- 
mission of Mr. Herman Diesinger to partnership. The field covererj 
by these gentlemen is an interesting and important one. The 
premises occupied for manufacturing and sales purposes comprise 
a building 20x100 feet, and the facilities of the firm for meeting every 
demand of the trade include all the machinery and appliances 
known to the art of the silversmith. The arrangements and con- 
veniences are ample for the prosecution of a very extensive busi- 
ness, and the proprietors have with characteristic enterprise 
availed themselves of every late and meritorious device for insur- 
ing rapid and perfect production. A force of fifty skilled hands 
contribute to the satisfactory operations of the house, and the 
reputation achieved for the execution of work of a very high order 
of merit is excelled by no similar institution in the country. The 
range of manufacture Includes a vast array of novelties for the 
trade, in tea sets, punch bowls, forks, spoons, pitchers and general 
table ware: snuff boxes, cigar and cigarette cases, and mountings, 
etc., The display made in the handsome salesrooms of the house 
is worthy the attention of connoisseurs in this line, as it is un- 
equalled in this section of the country for originality and beauty 
' of design, and for artistic workmanship. The goods are recognized 
as standard novelties in all markets, and are in heavy and in- 
fluential demand in all the leading mercantile centers of the 
country. They are supplied at term3 and prices which are 
eminently fair and equitable, and orders are filled with prompt- 
ness and care, and satisfaction is guaranteed all customers and 
business relations once formed are sure to prove permanent and 
profitable to all concerned. 

HC. BONSALL&CO., Shippers of Anthracite and Bituminous 
Coal and Coke, General Offiee, No. 138 South Fourth 
Street. — Of all the great staple products entering into 
general consumption, there is none more Important than 
coal, as it goes without saying. Among the firms contributing 
most largely to the sum of commercial activity in the line indi- 
cated in Philadelphia may be mentioned that of H. C. Bonsall & 
Co., shippers of anthracite and bituminous coal and coke, with 
general office at No. 138 South Fourth Street, (room 4), and w hose 
trade, which extends throughout Pennsylvania, Delaware, Mary- 
land, New Jersey and New York, is of a most substantial 
character, their total sales during the present year reaching a 
handsome figure. This enterprising and responsible firm was 
established in December, 1888, and bounded at once into promi- 
nence and prosperity. They conduct an exclusively wholesale 
business, receiving direct from the mines, and are prepared to fill 
all orders for anything in the line of hard and soft coal or coke in 
the most expeditious manner at the lowest rates. Messrs. H. C. 
Bonsall and W. J. Smith, who compose the firm, are both men of 
thorough experience in the coal trade, as well as men of energy 
and enterprise, and maintain an Al standing in commercial life. 
Mr. Bonsall, who is a comparatively young man and a native of 
Delaware County, Pa., was formerly with the Kittaning Coal Com- 
pany, and also with the Tipt'in Coal Company; while Mr. Smith, 
who is a gentleman of middle age and a Philadelphian by birth, 
was long head of the firm of W. J. Smith & Co., bituminious coal 
miners and shippers. 



HEP.CTLES ATKIN 4: CO.. Carpets, Etc., No. S25 Arch Street. 
—In every large community there will be found one or more 
exteusive establishments dealing in carpets and kindred 
house furnishings, which with acquired resources and 
most sedulous care in regard to their output, have attained a repu- 
tation an'} a trade that insures them the confidence of the pur- 
chasing public. Of such emporiums in this city it requires no hesi- 
tation to point out that of Hercules Atkin & Co., located at No. 825 
Arch Street, as being a leader in its line and deserving ol the 
highest consideration. This reliable house was established Id 
18o7. and has long been a leading headquarters for carpetings of 
every description, and for ball and kitchen floor oil cloths. The 
premises occupied for sales purposes comprise a four-story brick 
building. 20x200 feet in dimensions, all of which splendid floor 
space is utilized in disposing of the immense and valuable stock 
that is constantly carried. The building is stored from top to bot- 
tom with a complete and varied assortment of goods from first 
hands, embracing the most recent designs in foreign and domestic 
carpets, such as wiltou, axminster, velvet, brussels, tapestry aud 
ingrains : as well as oil cloths, rugs, mattings, linoleums, etc., in 
great variety, all ofwbicb are offered at prices which average 
far below those obtaining at any other establishment in the city— 
an item well worth the investigation of every buyer. The reputa- 
tion and standing of the house may be regarded as a guaranty of 
the highest character for theiprompt and satisfactory fulfillment 
of all orders. Its trade is large, first-class and influential in city 
and country, and is annually increasing in volume and import- 
ance under enterprising and reliable management and extends 
through the middle and southern states. Mr. Atkin is a Philadel- 
phian, and one of its popular merchants and solid, substantial 
business man with whom It is always pleasant and profitable to 

JOHN J. DeZOUCHE CO, (Limited). Furniture. Decorative 
Upholstery, Window Hangings, Etc., No. 1517 Chestnut 
Street.— The rapid growth of wealth and increase of cul- 
ture and refinement throughout socml circles in America, 
has created an ever increasing demand for the artistic and the 
beautiful in the furniture, decorations and surroundings of 
the house, the office and the store and also in courts aud other 
public buildings, theatres, halls, churches, etc. A coucern 
which has achieved a specially representative and significant 
position iu the facilities it enjoys, and the ability it manifests in 
the departments of cabinet furniture, upholstery, rich hangings. 
draperies, curtains, etc., is the John J. DeZouche Company, 
(limited), successor to the old house of John J DeZouche &Co. 
The vast and important interests centered here, date their incep- 
tion back to l~50 when the business was stai ted by Messrs. Kelty, 
Carrington & Co. In 1867, they weie succeeded by the firm of 
Carrington, DeZouche & Co., followed in ISIS by that of Messrs. 
John J. DeZouche i Co. The of the business 
resulted on February 1, 1889, in the organization of the existing 
limited liability company, composed'of Mr. John .7. DeZouche. Mr. 
George Walker, Mr. George Duncan, and Mr. F. M. Campbell. 
They unite every possible qualification, including vast experience, 
perfected facilities aud influential connections. The proprietors 
are old residents and are unusually respected for their honorable. 
equitable policy. Finding tbeir four-stor'j pn mises, southeast cor- 
nerof Thirteenth and Chestnut Streets, too small they In Jan. 1880, 
n moved to their present location so desirably located at No. 1517 
< hestnut Street (next to the Chinch of the Epiphany), riie premises 
afford a Favorable illustration of I he company's ability and correct 
taste and judgment in furnishing and decorating, as there are few 
if any salesrooms in Philadelphia so attractive and harmoniously 
treated. The company is direct importer of all kinds of Interior 
decorations, in bamboo, teak, satinwood, etc.. rich and antique 
cabinet furniture, cabim t>. tables, mantels, chairs, etc., pieces of 
the finest carvings, marquetrie work etc., also rich damasks and 
other curtains, rugs and art novelties from the East Indies. China 
Japan and Europe. The concern has a reputation for doing gen- 
erally the fiTi~-t decorative upholstering in this city, New Voi k or 
elsewhere. All the choicest stuffs are carried In stock and the 
most critical can be ami are daily suited. Among mansions re 
eently ruruished and decorated by them are Hon. Judge S| 
residence in New Orleans; Mr. Henry Disstoa's mansion : Mr. John 

B. Stetson's mansion; and numerous others both here and in var- 
ious sections of the Onion. They also fitted up and decorated the 
Supreme Court room in Philadelphia; ladies rooms, etc., of the 
Broad Street station, Pennsylvania Kailroad, etc. They employ 
a number ol hinds in the various departments of their business 
and will be found ready at the shortest notice to decorate and 
furnish the largest private residences, hotels, public buildings, etc. 
They deal iu furniture, hangings, etc., of rarest beauty aud origi- 
nality not elsewhere duplicated and offer eveiy Inducement to 
those who seek the highest outcome of modern inventive and 
artistic genius, skill and correct taste. 

S\V. & H. L. Dl'NN & Co., James Dunn Engraving Works, Nos. 
213 and 2-15 .South Third Street.— The most noted and site- 
M cessful house in Pennsylvania, engaged in engraving rolls 
for calico and paper printers, etc., is that of Messrs, S. W. 
& H L Dunn & Co.. whose James Dunn Engraving Works a:e 
located In Philadelphia, at Nos. 2*3 and 245 South Third Street. 
This artistic aud important industry was established by James Dunn 
the father of the present proprietors, who was with the Fraukford 
Print Works, of Frankford. Pa., and was also head of the engraving 
department of William Simpson & Son, of Falls of Schuylkill, Pa„ 
which is now the Eddystnue Manufacturing Company, of Chester, 
Pa., and was also with the flrni of Miller, Reader & Co., of Phila- 
delphia. Having had a practical experience In every department 
of the engraving art and understanding every detail of the busi- 
ness he inaugurated this enterprise in 1S77 and soou developed a 
large and appreciative patronage which has been greatly 
augimieuted by the enterprise ami artistic ability of his two ms 
Messrs. S. W. i H. L. Dunn, till now it extends throughout the 
United States and Canada, also to Mexico and South America. Mr. 
James Dunn died in 1SS5, after a successful and honorable career, 
and was succeeded by ms sons, who are thoroughly able and ex- 
pert engravers. The firm's workshops are spacious, and are 
fully equipped with the latest improved special tools and 
machinery. Here fifteen highly skilled workmen are employed. 
and the machinery is operated by steam power. Messrs. S. W. & 
H. L Dunn & Co., have gained an excellent reputation as machine 
^nd hand engravers to oil cloth, calico, satinet aud paper pi intei s, 
and they also produce rolls for embossing cloth, paper, leather, 
rubber and all sheet materials. The firm also deal in die and mill 
steel. All work turned out by this reliable firm is absolutely un- 
rivalled for finish, design and uniform excellence. The partneis 
promptly and carefully fill orders. Both Messrs. S. W. & H. L. 
Dunu are uatives of Philadelphia. 

ROBERTS & WILLIAMS, Wholesale Fruit and Produce Com- 
mission Merchants, No. 1G Vine Street.— The remarkable 
development of the general produce interest in Philadel- 
phia during the past quarter of a century probably rinds no 
counterpart in the history of the growths of any other branch of 
industry, commerce or trade in this city. Within the period men- 
tioned scores of Lure and flourishing concerns devoted to the 
wholesale handling of fruits, vegetables and farm products have 
sprung up, while the. number steadily grows. One of the most 
widely known among the houses referred to Is that of Roberts <S 
Williams, general commission merchants, whose capacious estab- 
lishment is conveniently located at No. 16 Vine Street, and whose 
business connections are of a most substantial character, their 
total annual sales reaching a handsome figure. This stanch and 
responsible firm was established in 1872 and its career! rom the 
start has been a hlsroi y ol stead) progress. They occupy the whole 
of a commodious four-stoiy building, employing twelve in help, 
and carry on hand always, a heavy stock, which comprise: Eoi 
and domestic fruits, nuts, cocoanuts, vegetables, cm ntrj ; 
generally and peaches, grapes and berries iu season. The firm 
receive from all points in the middle and southern states, 
handle California green and dried fruit by the carload. They 
solicit consignments, on which liberal advances are made, while 
returns therefor are promptly furnished in every instance, and 
all business placed with tins responsible firm is certain to be 
handled in the most judicious manner. Messrs. John H. Rol rts 
and Henry B. Williams are men of energy, sagacity and < 
euce, as well as entire probity in their business relaiii i I 

are prominent members of die l'n duce Exchange. 



WM. BRICE & CO., General Commission Merchants, \viii>- 
kies, Rum. etc., No. 23 South Water Street.— Recent im- 
provements iu the processes of distillation assure the 
production of spirituous liquors, that are of the highest 
standard both in quality and purity. In this connection, special 
reference is made in tills commercial review to the old established 
and representative house of Messrs. Win. Brice & Co., general com- 
mission merchants in whiskies, rum, etc., whose office and sales- 
rooms are located at No. 23 South Water Street. The business 
was established in 1852 by Mr. Wm. Brice, who eventually in 1871 
admitted his son Mr. E. Brice into partnership, the firm being 
known by the style and title of Wm. Brice & Co. The premises 
occupied, comprise five spacious floors which are well arranged 
and fitted with every convenience for the systematic and success- 
ful conduct of this steady increasing business. Here the firm keep 
an extensive and well selected stock of the choicest whiskies, rum, 
etc., which are offered- to customers at the lowest ruling market 
prices. Messrs. Wni. Brice & Co., are sole agents of the famous 
Hannis Distilling Company for the sale of the new whiskies of the 
Hannisvilie and Mount Vernon distilleries. They also represent 
E. N. Cook <£ Co.. of Buffalo, (whiskies) and Felton & Co., of 
Boston (rum). The Hannis Distilling Company's whiskies took 
the first award at the Centennial Exposition, also at New Orleaus, 
ana what is more worthy of special mention, is that the Mount 
VeinoD Distillery was specially selected by the United States 
Government, as the model for illustrating a complete and 
perfectly equipped American distillery and its workings at the 
Exhibition. Full plans of this distillery, together with specimens 
of the successive stages of manufacture, from the grain used to 
the spirit produced were inspected by hundreds of thousands of 
interested \ isitoi s at the Chemical Division in the Bureau of Agri- 
Culture I . S. Government Building, during the Centennial. All the 
whiskies handled by Messrs. Wm. Brice & Co., are unrivalled for 
quality, purity and uniform excellence, and have no superiors in 
tills or any other market. These whiskies are sold under a guar- 
antee to give entire satisfaction to patrons. The trade of this re- 
liable firm now extends throughout all sections of the United 
States. Mr. Wm. Brice was born iu Ireland, but has resided iu 
Philadelphia for the last forty-five years, while his son Mr. E. 
Brice, is a native of this city. Mr. Win. Brice is one of our public 
spirited and influential citizens. He is an ex-president and ex- 
vice-president of the Commercial Exchange, ex-president of the 
Hibernian Society and a popular member of the Public Building 
Commission. Mr. Wm. Brice is highly esteemed in trade circles 
for his energy, business ability and integrity, justly meriting the 
liberal and permanent patronage secured in this important indus- 
try. In conclusion we would observe, that the Hannis whiskies 
hold the foremost position on their merits, the enormous demand 
for them is neither ephemeral nor forced, and at the same time the 
taste of the public quick to discern wiiat is best, patronizes that 
line of trade which keeps in stock a full supply of the Hannis 
brands of rye whiskies. 

C WILKINSON'S SONS, Wholesale Fruits. Nos. 132 and 134 
Dock Street.— The leading and largest house devoted to 
p the wholesale and commission trade in foreign and 
d' mestic fruits is that of Messrs. C. Wilkinson's 
Sons, whose extensive store is so advantageously located at 
Nos. 152 and 134 Dock Street. This is an old business ami an hon- 
ored house. It was founded by the late Mr. Charles Wilkinson 
upwards of twenty-five years ago. and who early developed a 
growing trade owing to his prompt, liberal methods, and the 
superiority of the goods he dealt in. After a lengthy, honorable 
and useful mercantile career, he died iu 1S77. and was succeeded 
by tlo- present firm composed of James s;. Wilkinson, Joseph 
K. Wilkinson, Frank P. Mulford, and Edward S. Wilkinson. They 
bring to bear special qualifications, including \ast practical 
experience, perfected facilities and influential connections. They 
occupy a substantial double building, three floors and basement, 
50x11*1 feet in dimensions, and where is ale. ays canied the largest 
and finest stock of tropical fruits in town. This very enterprising 
firm make specialties of Florida, Cuba, and Jamaica oranges. 
lemons, etc., cocoa nuts, bananas. Malaga anil I.isbou grapes, 
likewise Virginia ami oilier growths of peanuts. They also deal 
very extensively at wholesale during the season, in peaches, pears, 

berries, grapes, etc., and supply mauy of the leading retailers, 
etc., botli here, and throughout a wide area of territory. To ade- 
quately accommodate their large consignments they have a five- 
story, warehouse located on South Water Street,25xl50 feet in dimen- 
sions, thus enabling them to promptly fill the largest orders. The 
firm have special facilities for handling consignments, effect- 
ing speedy disposalof the fruitand rendering promptaccouutsales. 
An average force of thirty hands are employed in the various 
departments, the steady growth of the trade taxing their facil- 
ities to the utmost. The fruit they ship, is most carefully assorted -. 
it is all shipped in prime, sound condition and invariably affords 
entire satisfaction to customers. The proprietors were all born in 
New Jersey, and are merchants of ability and integrity, who 
have ever retained the confidence of leading commercial circles 
and are well worthy of the large measure of success achieved. 

SD. BUTTON, Architect and Superintendent of Buildings, 
Peun Marble Building, No. 430 Walnut Street— Philadel- 
t phia has long been a fruitful field for the exercise of the 
highest order of talent in the line of modern architecture, 
and on every hand are evidences of the skill and ability that have 
reared such permanent monuments of constructive effort. In 
reviewing the progress of architectural education in our midst, 
the name of Mr. S. D. Button will at once suggest itself to hun- 
dreds of our readers, as that of the oldest aud best-known expon- 
ent of the art in this city. Mr. Button was born iu Connecticut 
seventy-six years ago, and has been established as an architect for 
fifty years and as architect and superintendent of buildings iu this 
city for upwards of forty years. He occupies spacious office quart- 
ers at No. 430 Walnut Street, in the Penn Marble Building, aud 
gives his prompt personal attention to all branches of his profession. 
He is widely recognized as a thoroughly representative member of 
the distinctive American school of architecture, and has ably and 
successfully solved the complex problem of how best to utilize the 
minimum of building aiea with the maximum of accommodation 
and architectural beauty of design. Proofs of his commanding 
ability aud practical still are embodied in the many splendid edi- 
fices erected under his direction and plans in this city and vicinity, 
which are greatly admired by experts for their stability and ele- 
gance, including the Chestnut Street Theatre, the Spring Garden 
National Bank Building, the Philadelphia Savings Fund Society 
Building, Schenck's Building on Arch Street; State Agricultural 
College in Auburn. Ala.; the State House. Montgomery, Alabama; 
the Hotel Kaaterskill, at Catskill, N. Y. ; Stockton Hotel, Cape 
May; the City Hall, at Camden, N. J- : Monmouth Hotel, 
Spring Lake; Eowland Hotel at Long Branch. Mr. Button is a 
prominent member of Philadelphia Chapter of the American 
Institute of Architects. 

CB. TRUITT, Ju., Real Estate, No. 502 Walnut Street.— Among 
the prominent representative business men of Walnut Street 
there are none enjoying in a higher degree the considera- 
tion and respect of their fellow citizens than Mr. C. B. 
Truitt, Jr., the popular agent for real estate and mortgages. Mr. 
Truitt began business in IsSfl, at No. 419, and recently removed to 
No. 502, Walnut Street. His offices, are very complete, aud are 
admirably equipped with every convenience for the prosecution of 
his enterprise. A leading feature is made in e\ery branch of real 
estate in the buying, selling, exchanging, leasing and letting of 
lands and buildings of every description, and in tiie negotiation of 
loans on bouds and mortgages. Money is invested in property or 
good freehold collateral securities on behalf of patrons. Mr. Truitt 
is a gentleman of high standing in the community, has made a 
complete study of the law of real estate, and he can be engaged 
and consulted with implicit confidence in all matters pertaining 
thereto. He conducts business on fixed principles, which has 
materially contributed to gain for him the confidence of the prin- 
cipal real estate owners of this city. He makes a specialty of let- 
ting houses, stores, flats etc., of collecting rents and managing 
estates; and we can conscientiously assert that those who are 
interested in Forming business relations with him will find their 
interests carefully guarded. Mr. Truitt is a native of the city. 
Personally, h»- is greatly esteemed fur his unswerving honor and 
strict integrity iu mercantile life, and justly merits the success 
win, h has attended his perseverance, energy and ability. 



RBIiOOKE, MAOKCDERS; CO. .Manufacturers of Specialties 
etc.. No. 80 North Seventh Street.— An establishment in 
m ttiis city which is engaged in the production an J sale of 
some valuable specialties is that of Messrs. R. Brooke 
Magruder & Co., of No. 30 North Seventh Street. The firm are 
proprietors and manufacturers of Magruder's facility lamp fil- 
1 1 ii ^t attai hment, a device by the use of which all the unpleasant 
and disagreeable features connected with replenishing lamps 
with oil are avoided. As shown in the above cut, it is a hinge con- 
nectlug collar, which is screwed between the lamp aud the burner 

and allows the latter to be thrown back for filling in an instant 
like opening a watch, without getting a particle of oil on the 
hands, or on the outside of the lamp. They are ueat. durable and 
substantial : the burner never has to be removed, thus saving the 
wear and tear. They retail at ten cents each, and large sizes are 
furnished for fifteen cents. In addition to handling the above 
Messrs. Magruder & Co., sell Stabler's hot-corn holders, and are 
sole agents for United States, for the Xaylor patent ice cream 
disher, which is stronger, and more durable than any other disher 
in the market. Also Naylor freezer and the Acme nutmeg 
grater. The best of satisfaction has ever been given to those who 
have used them. A large stock is carried and all orders are filled 
promptly and accurately. The members of the firm, Messrs. R. 
B. Magruder and G. H. Flood, are business men of push, energy 
and enterprise, and have built up a large active trade, and those who 
enter into business relations with them cannot fail to receive 
marked advantages. 

JAMES. S. WATSON. JR., Importer and Dealer in Bar aud 
Cast steel, files, Blacksmith Supplies, Tools, Etc., No. 512 
Commerce Street.— The leading authority In Philadelpha on 
several staple lines of the metals and hardware trade is 
Mr. James S. Watson, Jr., the widely and favorably known mer- 
chant of No. 512 Commerce Street. He here deals upon the most 
extensive scale in cast steel for tools, boiler plates, bar steel, 
files, hammers, blacksmith tools, &c. The business is very old 
established, having been founded by Mr. Jaines S. Watson, Jr., in 
1801, and who subsequently took his son, Mr. James S.Watson, 
Jr.. into co-partnership under the style of Jas. S. Watson & Son. 
They continued together for a number of years actively develop- 
ing a trade of gre;it magnitude with influential connections and 
perfected facilities. In 1S.s7, Mr. Watson, Sr., retired, since when. 
Mr. Watson, Jr.. lias ably conducted the business upon the old 
time basis of equity, ability and marked spirit of enterprise. Mr. 
Watson carries a very heavy stock in hi* handsomely fitted up 
establishment, including such specialties as Howe, Brown & Co's. 
famous cast steel for tool--; machinery and fire and spring steel; 
full lines and sizes of boiler plates etc. Howe. Brovvu &. Co., are the 
second largest manufacturers in Pittsburg, Pa. Mr. Watson is also 
a direct importer of the product of F, W. Mo*s, manufacturer of 
steel files, etc. He also carries a full ill k of the celebrated goods 
of Moss & Gamble, of England. Their product is nationally re- 
nowned for its superiority, and Mr. Watson supplies leading con- 
cerns in this city, me! throughout a wide area of surrounding ter- 
ritory, lie aNo deals in the splendid lines of files, manufactured 

bj Messrs. McCaffrey Bros,, of this city. He makes quail t; I 
consideration. All goods purchased from him invariably stand tiie 
severest tests, and meet the most exacting requirements He has 

built up a heauy trade and enviable reputation on tie' i> 
merit and integrity, and has hen: in his native city dev< oped 
a commercial Interesl of the first magnitude aud of direct benefit 
to Philadelphia at large. 

BK. JAMISON, i CO., Bankers, Northwest Corner Thirl and 
Chestnut street*.— The centralization ofcapital In tie city 
m of Philadelphia and the correspondingly marked degree of 
financial enterprise and activity inherent in the money and 
stock markets, are to a great extent due to the conservative 
methods aud ability of our leading bankers and brokers. Among 
the old established and representative houses thus referred to, a 
prominent one is that of Messrs. B. K. Jamison &Co., who-- offices 
are centrally located at. the' northw est corner of Third and ( hest- 
nut Streets. This business was established in 1851 by R. J. P.o-s & 
Co., who were succeeded by P. F. Kelly & Co., the co-partners 
being P. F. Kelly ana B. K.Jamison. In 1869 Mr. Kelly died, and 
the firm of B. K. Jamison & Co., was organized, the partner- tx In - 
Messrs. B. K. Jamison and William M. Stewart. This firm con- 
tinued to carry ou bnslness till 1873, when Mr. M, .1. Henry Ker- 
show was admitted into partnership, and eventually some time 
after Mr. Philip F. Kelly became a partner. The members of this 
responsible firm bring to bear a wide range of practical expi ri 
coupled with an intimate and accurate knowledge of the money 
and stock markets. Messrs. B. K. Jamison & Co., conduct a 
general banking and brokerage business, and are advantagi 
connected with an influential circle of banks, bankers, corp ora- 
tions, etc., in all parts of the United States, Canada and Ed 
They buy andsell;United States Government, state and city bonds, 
receive deposits subject to check at sight, issue travelers' and 
commercial letters of credit and effect cable trai 
The partners are popular members of the Philadelphia Stock 
Exchange, and have always been active supporters of all 
measures, conducive to the benefit and welfare of this ire- 
ful and important institution. Mr. B. K. Jamison was horn iu 
Indiana County, his father being State Senator in 1656. Mr. 
Stewart was previously a partner in the firm of Sutton & Stewart," 
bankers, Indiana, Pa. He is president of the Deposit Banking 
Company at that place, and has been for several years attorney of 
the West Pennsylvania Railroad. Mr. Kershow began his career 
in this house in 1870, and eventually by his ability and just 
methods was admitted into the firm. The same can be said of Mr. 
Kelly, who is a son of one of the founders of this house. 

HC. CONKLE, Manufacturer of " Grandma's," " Star." and 
"Daisy "Darning Cotton, No i South Third Street.— For 
over fifty-seven years the productions of the widely known 
establishment conducted by H. C. Conkle. manufacturer 
of" Grandma's, "' "Star," and " Daisy "darning cotton, No. 4. South 
Third Street, this city, have been in steady and growing demand 
throughout the country, owing to the uniformly high standard of 
excellence at which the same have always been maintained. The 
goods produced in this time-honored concern are arlic 
exceptional merit, being by common consent the ne plus ultra in 
darning cotton, and, as a consequence, have secured an enduring 
hold on popular favor all over the land. This thriving enterprise 
was established in 1832, at the present location, by Henry Conkle, 
who conducted it up to I860, the business in 1874, passing into the 
hands of his sou ami successor, the gentleman whose name heads 
the sketch, and under whose capable management it has ilnce 
been continued with unbroken success. The factory i 
occupy a 25x100 foot (fourth) floor, and has ample and complete 
facilities, wlille half a dozen or more expert hands are em] 
Besides the "Grandma," " Star," and " Daisy " darning 
cotton, the productions also include welting cords of a very 
superior quality, and nil orders are promptly and faithfully tilled 
a full aud fine stork being kept on hand always, and the trade, 
which is large, active and permanent, extends to all parts of the 
United States. Mr. Conkle, who is a gentleman of middl 
and a native of this city, is a man of untiring energy and | 
cat skill, ami is thoroughly conversant with even I 
detail in tiie business. 



ner of Broad and Chestnut Streets; Thos. J. Prickett, Presi- 
dent. —The absolute necessity of a thorough commercial 
education for those who desire to succeed in the business 
win Id was never so imperative as to-day. No intelligent young 
person any longer debates whether a commercial education and 
training is needed or not. The vital questions to solve are: Which 
is the best college to attend? and which the most thorough? There 
are numerous institutions in existence, and many make the most 
specious promises including the quoting of low rates and a short- 
ened course of study. The student should go slowly and exercise 
Hie utmost care in the selection of a college, for the best is invari- 
ably the cheapest in the end. After a careful survey of the field 
we unhesitatingly pronounce the National Collegeof Commerce the 
best in the United States, both as regards accommodations, improve- 
ments, scope and character of education imparted, rapid progress 
under the most competent staff of professors, and a well grounded 
certainty of not only securing remunerative employment after 
graduation, but of being perfectly competent to discharge the 
duties devolving upon them. The National College of Commerce 
is the leading and oldest school of business sciences in Pennsyl- 
vania, having been established by Messrs. Bryant and Stratton, in 
1857. upwards of 32 years ago. In 1?85 Mr. Thos. J. Prickett suc- 
ceeded, and under his able and enterprising management it has 
become the model business college of the world. The college has 
the finest school rooms of any private institution in the city, pos- 
sessing all the modern improvements, beautifully lighted and per- 
fectly ventilated, and in winter thoroughly heated by steam, but 
this institution prefers co be judged by the merit of the work dune in 
the school room, and to every patron is guaranteed a full measure 
of satisfaction or the refunding of the money paid for tuition, their 
motto being : Our students our best advertisement. The only facil- 
ity possessed by this school which they want an intelligent pub- 
lic to consider is the superior ability of the faculty as is evidenced 
by the unprecedented success nf their graduates in all their busi- 
ness engagements. The faculty consists of the most prominent 
specialists in every department, and are: Thos. J. Prickett, Presi- 
dent and Superintendent of Departments of Instruction; H. W. 
Elickinger, Secretary, Penmanship Department: author " Barnes' 
National System of Penmanship ; " George K. Morris, D. D., lecturer 
on ethics of business: Edward Brooks, A. M. PH. D., lecturer on 
civics: P.. Moon, Esq., lecturer on commercial law, civil govern- 
ment, political economy ; John W, Francis, senior practice depart- 
ment, fellow American association of public accountants; Thos. 
J. Prickett. banking, real estate and brokerage, joint stock com- 
panies, manufacturing, commission, etc.; F. O. Smalley, account- 
ant junior practice department, business practice, correspondence, 
book-keeping, arithmetic and customs of business; Jos. W. Ken- 
worthy, intermediate department, book-keeping, correspondence, 
arithmetic, forms anil customs of business ; James Rea, theory de- 
partment, book-keeping, arithmetic, and business forms; Miss 
Mary H. Baldwin. ladies' department, book-keeping and English 
branches: J. G. Herclielroth, English department, English 
brandies; Francis H. Hemperley, shorthand and type-writing; 
Miss Margaretta S. Crumley, shorthand and type-writing; James F. 
Baynard. book-keeping and business practice; J. E. Bingaman, 
penmanship and correspondence: (To be supplied), assistant in 
theory department; Charles C. Grebe, French and German ; M. 
Zara. Spanish and Latin The course of study is a perfect one— the 
most comprehensive of any, and includes book-keeping, grammar, 
spelling, letter writing, political economy, commercial law, busi- 
ness ethics, commercial geography, stenography, type writing and 
detection of counterfeit money. Each commercial student passes 
through the business exchange department— a reflex of the great 
mercantile world where students actually buy and sell goods, open 
bank account 1 , make notes, draw drafts, and make out invoices 
and statements of accounts. By arrangement they alsodo business 
with students in other colleges in New York, Baltimore, etc When 
they have become efficient here, they are actually conversant with 
the methods and forms of the business world, and being so thor- 
oughly drilled in every branch of study when they pass the final 
examinations and receive their diploma, they are ready to enter 
upon any position in commercial lif». In their handsome cata- 
logue are hundreds of the most nattering testimonials we even* id, 
many iron: those who went from the college to lucrative positions 

in large mercantile houses all over the United States. The type- 
writing and shorthand department is the largest in the United 
States. There are here long rows of the Remington, Caligraph and 
Hammond machines, and rapid progress is guaranteed. Hundreds 
of young ladies have become proficient liere in a. short time, and 
are now earning good salaries as stenographers, secretaries and 
amanuenses. Here is the place to become perfect in short hand, 
type-writing, penmanship, business correspondence and office prac- 
tice. The college is one of the largest on the continent, and schol- 
ars come from all over the middle and southern states, the attend- 
ance being very large, and the young man or young lady 
who seeks a thorough practical commercial education, should by- 
all means attend the National College of Commerce. The presi- 
d -nt and superintendent, Mr. Thos. J. Prickett, has been in this col- 
lege for the past fifteen years, and was one of the faculty before 
succeeding to the proprietorship. He is a native and resident of 
Burlington County, N. J., and is a thorough disciplinarian, and an 
intellectual and accomplished gentleman. 

CHARLES E. ZANE, Importer Fine Leather, Wool and Cash- 
mere Gloves, Kid Gloves, Silk Mitts, Etc., N T o. 731 Arch 
Street.— It need scarcely be said that the kid glove trade is 
of the most Important and interesting branches of business 
to be found in our great centres of commercial activity. Among 
those who have attained prominence and prosperity in this line in 
Philadelphia, is the well known and popular importer of French 
and German kid gloves. Also cashmere gloves and silk mits, etc., 
and n hose establishment is located at No. 731 Arch street. The 
business of this concern was inaugurated in 1S70 under the style 
and title of Zane<£ Schoedler. In 1882 Mr. Zane purchased his 
partner's interest in the business, and assumed sole control of the 
enterprise, w hich has had a steady, large growth, until the house 
is now regarded as a leader in its line of trade in this section. 
Until the first of January, 1SS9, the business was conducted at No. 
823 Market Street, and on that date possession was taken of the 
premises now occupied on Arch Street. These premises consist of 
a salesroom and basement, severally 25x100 feet in dimensions. The 
salesroom is very handsomely appointed and admirably arranged, 
and it is replete with one of the largest and choicest stocks of its 
kiud to be found in the city. It is thoroughly representative of all 
the newest and most stylish productions of the most celebrated 
manufacturers of kid, fine leather, wool and cashmere gloves, silk 
mitts, etc., which are imported direct in vast quantities by Mr. 
Zane, who is an acknowledged expert in determining grades and 
qualities of gloves, and devoting close personal attention to every 
detail of his business. The customers of the house are scattered 
all over the country. Five traveling salesmen are employed, and 
the business done is of a very extensive and prosperous character, 
this house being enabled to offer inducements to dealers that few- 
other establishments can equal. Mr. Zane is a native of New Jer- 
sey, and resides at Merchantville, in that state. He is a man of 
high business merit and very popular. 

SCHRACK & SHERWOOD, Manufacturers and Dealers in Fun- 
eral Supplies, Nos. 231 and 23S .Market Street.— One of the 
best arranged and most reliable establishments extensively 
engaged in the wholesale trade in funeral supplies in Phila- 
delphia, is that of Messrs. Schrack & Sherwood, whose office and 
wareheuse are centrally located at Nos. 231 and 233 Market Street. 
The firm's factory, which is fully supplied with modern machinery 
and appliances, and furnishes constant employment to seventy- 
operatives, is situated at No. 135 North Third Street. This business 
was established seventeen years ago by Messrs. S. F>. Schrack ami 
G.H. Sherwood, both of whom have had great experience, and have 
suceeded in establishing an enviable reputation with the trade tor 
the superior quality of their undertakers' supplies. Their ware- 
house is a superior rive-story building, 25x125 feet in area, fully pro- 
vided v. ith every convenience and facility. Here the firm keep all 
kinds of trimmings and ornaments for coffins, plumes, robes, cask- 
ets, corpse preservers, etc. They are agents for Crane, Breeds & 
Co's metallic caskets, and their trade now extends throughout 'he 
entire United states. Messrs. Schrack <fe Sherwood also manufac- 
ture largely upholstery and ladies' dress trimmings. The firm 

promptly and carefully riil orders at the lowest possible p; s.ahd 

guarantee complete satisfaction. 



BILLINGS & CO, Designers and Constructors ol Ai ti -tic 
Memorials, No. DiW Walnut Street.— In making suitable 
reference Co the house of Billings & Co., 3< I [Tiers anri 
constructors ot artistic memorials, at No. 90*5 Walnut 
Street, we introduce to our readers a firm of art memorial labi tea- 
tors of wide celebrity, ranking first in quality and second to fen 
in the volume of production. Iheir trade Is local, suburban and 
country-wide, ever enlarging, popular with the general public, 
and deservedly increasing in volume and Importance, its wares in 
large demand wherever once Introduced. Fabi Ication of memorial 
work has become an art requiring originality of conception, tech- 
nical training, patient endeavor, assiduous and intelligent applica- 
tion, and the very acme of expert workmanship to secure an artis- 
tic totality of admirable and enduring qualities. To fully meet 
these essential requisites the efforts of this firm are unremitting. 
Tliis firm are successors to the Hurricane Island Granite Company, 
and have been established in the business since 1881, They repre- 
sent quarries at Hurricane Island. Me., Quincy, Mass., and West- 
erly. K. I. .Mr. Oscar L. Billings, the active member ot the firm, 
has had an experience of eleven years in this line of work, and is 
ablj assisted by Mr. G. Frank Stephens, a sculptor of large experi- 
ence and established reputation. Every design is under their 
personal supervision, requiring no further guaranty. By special 
arrangements with the best quarries of New England, every pro- 
cess, until the work is delivered to the purchaser complete upon 
its foundation, is under their immediate control, and they offer the 
intending purchaser an undivided responsibility. While handling 
all approved granites, this firm are left free to recommend that 
particular stone that is best suited to its special use— their judg- 
ment being unwarped by any trade bias. Precious serpentine, a 
stone heretofore procurable only in quantities sufficient for jew- 
ellers' use, is now being produced in sizes suitable for small urns, 
vases, columns, etc. It has the durability of granite with the 
beauty of Russian malachite. This firm are prepared to furnish it. 
The expert choice of raw material- involves consummate discrimin- 
ation, absolute technical knowledge, wide observation and great 
practical experience. These qualifications are amply possessed 
by this representative house. All work proves as represented, is 
guaranteed to be satisfactory in every respect, and all statements, 
expressed or implied, in letter and spirit are fully substantiated. 
The fullest extent of artistic possibility has signalized their many 
productions. Their well-tested merits, marked appreciation in the 
cemeteries of this city and throughout Pennsylvania, New Jersey, 
Delaware and the south, is their best recommendation, their only 
needed endorsement. An energetic application of their resources 
to excel in their various productions, to keep pace with the grow- 
ing demand of the times and refinements of the age, year in and 
year out, will be the earnest endeavor of this eminently progress- 
ive house. 

BICKEL A- MILLFP.. Commission Merchants and Dealers, in 
Eggs, Butter, Poultry aud Dried Fruits, No. 12 Vine Street.— 
Prominent in the staple branches of the produce commis- 
misslon trade, the house of Messrs. BickeKt Miller, at No. 12 
Vine Street, has developed influential and widespread connections 
of the must desirable character, and is reg irded as a leader in its 
line in the city. The business was founded in 1S64, by Messrs. 
Gable & Bickel, who were succeeded by the present firm in 1684. 
The business premises comprise an entire four-story building, 25 by 
100 feet in dimensions, giving an abundance ol room for supplying 
the most extensive demand. The firm handle consignments ol 
eggs, butter, poultry and "other dried fruits, received direct from 
the best producers throughout the western, middle and southern 
states, and have developed an important ti ade of great and grow- 
ing magnitude, with intimate connections among both produce! . 
shippers and buyers. They have tin capacitj and facilitie for 
handling the largest consignments, making liberal ad vam ison 
the same, and rendering prompt account sale,. The large 
and permanent trade with produce merchants, grocers, hotels, 
restaurants, and large consumers in this city show con- 
clusively that they are in a position i,, afford entire sat- 
isfaction in all their opei ' The stock is kept up t-> tin- 
highest standard ,,f excellence and efficiency, and recommends its 
own superior merits to the favi i md ci nfidence <<f tin- mast criti- 
cal and disci in in.iting of buyei s." Th» establishment is familarly 

known as the Philadelphia Fgg House, the firm being the largest 
egg dealers in the city, and ol which they make a leading spei 
This is an interesting place to visit as well as a profitable h 
patronize. The house refers, among others, to the Consolidation 
National Bank of Philadelphia; Beyer Bros., Warsaw, Indiana; 
Iinmell&Metz.ChaiiiU-rsburg, Pa.: McCray & Son, Kendal 
Indiana; S. P. Pond & Co., Keokuk, Iowa; and Buhl, Kobelgard 
& Co., Clarksburg, West Virginia. The individual members of 
this firm are Messrs Jorias Bickel and Jacob F. Miller, the former 
a native of Montgomery County, Fa., the latter of Fredericks- 
burg, Va.. and both members of the Produce Exchange, or the 
highest repute and standing in commercial circles, and deserving 
of the popularity and prosperity which they now enjoy. 

EDWIN F. DUTtANCr, Architect, Beneficial Saving Fund 
Building. No. 1200 Chestnut Street.— The city of Philadel- 
phia has had elected within its limits during the last quar- 
ter of a century, some of the finest public buildings, stores 
and residences, that can be found anywhere in the United States, 
and is rapidly going ahead In improvements of the architectural 
display of its better class of edifices. Much of this remarkable 
progress is due to the many excellent architects she has in her 
midst. Prominent among these Is Mr. Edwin F. Durang, whose 
offices are centrally located in the Beneficial Saving Fund Build- 
ing, No. 1200 Chestnut Street. Mr. Durang wa3 born In New York, 
and after having received an excellent education commenced the 
practice of his profession in Philadelphia in 1859. He enjoy? 
every facility for draughting, making computations, etc., and 
spares neither time nor pains to fulfill the expectations of patrons. 
Mr. Durang's design shave become deservedly famous, his fame 
and reputation rest on a long and successful career, engaged as 
he has been largely in designing and supervising the erection of 
superior public and private buildings, churches, residences, etc., 
not only in Philadelphia, but also in the adjacent cities. It is 
needless to particularize in regard to the work of such a popular 
architect as Mr. Durang. but we may mention the following build- 
ings latterly erected by him. which are admired by experts fur 
their stability, finish and elegance: Beneficial Saving Fund 
Building, St. Agatha"s Church, Polish Church, in Kensing- 
ton, Mechanic's Fire Insurance Building, St. Charles Borron- 
eo's Church, etc. Mr. Durang attends faithfully to details, his 
plans are always well digested and studied, and his architectural 
efforts have tended greatly to improve the character of the build- 
ings iu Philadelphia. 

HBK1NCKMAN & CO.. Wholesale Commission Merchants 
Oysters, Clams, Terrapin, Crabs, Game, Etc., No. 322 
South Delaware Avenue— But few persons outside those 
immediately interested have any idea or the extent of 
the trade in shell fish here in Philadelphia at the present day. 
During the past deoade or two the interests indicated have 
noticeably increased, while the volume of business in bivalve- and 
mollusks gives evidence of steady ami substantial growth. Among 
the leading and best known firms engaged in this line in the city- 
can be named that of H. Brinckman & Co., wholesale conn 
merchants in oysters, clams, terrapin, crabs, game, etc., No. 322 
South Delaware Avenue, who have an extensive and flourishing 
trade throughout the surrounding states, with a large local pat- 
ronage also. This concern was originally established some thirty 
years ago. and for quite some time was conducted by Christ Maeg, 
who was succeeded by Christ Hitter/house, by whom the bu 
was continued up to 1886, when the present proprietor a 
control. The firm are oyster planters, with beds on the west : ire 
of Delaware Bay and also on Maurice River Cove, and are whole- 
sale dealers and general commission merchants, likewise keeping 
on hand a large, first-class stock. Consignments are solicited, and 
returns f. ,r tie- -nine promptly made, (this latter being a 

I while all orders from city or country receive immediate at- 
tention. Mr. Brinckman, who Is the sole member, the " Co." being 
nominal, isa gentleman of about forty-five- and a Philadelp! 
birth. He is a man ,,f entire responsibility in his dealings, as well 
as of energy, enterprise ami experience ; ami all consignments en- 
trusted to him :u rt.iin to be handled in the most judicious and 

satisfactory manner Accounts opened with this house will be 
attended to promptly and profitably. 



GPH. MULLF.R & CO., Manufacturers of Ladies', Hisses', 
a-iJ Chiidrens' Straw Goods, No. 530 Arch Street.— The 
leading manufacturers in Philadelphia and Pennsylvania 
of strictly high grade straw goods for female wear, are 
recognized to be Messrs. G. Ph. Muller JtCo.. of Arch Street. This 
honorable and enterprising concern has especially tine facilities 
at command, while Mr. Miiller and his co-partner, Mr. Miiller Jr., 
are leading authorities having vast practical experience and exer- 
cising marked executive capacity, and sound judgment. Mr. G. 
Pli. Miiller was born in Germany and came to this country thirty- 
eight years ago. He had a thorough, practical knowledge of the 
straw goods trade, and in 1873 established in the business upon his 
own account. He early achieved an enviable reputation for the 
superiority of his product, and had to repeatedly enlarge his facili- 
ties to meet tlie growing demands of the trade. In 1882 he took his 
nephew, Mr. G. Ph. Miiller Jr., into copartnership under the exist- 
ing name and style. They nave very extensive manufacturing 
facilities, occupying seven entire floors at No. 531) Arch Street, 
while opposite are two additional establishments supplying them 
with certain lines of straw goods. From 200 to 250 hands all told 
are employed and the product which is very heavy is in every way 
the finest placed on the market. Messrs. Miiller & Co., introduce 
the most popular, fashionable styles of ladies' and. misses,' hats, and 
their shapes are popular favorites with jobbers and the millinery 
trade generally. They also manufacture an extensive line of boys 
and gentlemen's hats, including all the standard and most fashion- 
able styles in which they do a large business. Only the finest 
materials are u>ed and a careful supervision is exercised over all 
the processes of manufacture, thus insuring the permanent main- 
tenance of the highest standard of excellence. The firm is popular 
and respected, and has ever retained the confidence of leading 
commercial circles, pursuing an upright and honorable policy and 
securing to Philadelphia a most valuable branch of skilled indus- 

y^ISHEF. & ROSS., Importers and Dealers in Foreign and Domes- 
1-4 tic Iron and Steel. Nos. 343 South Front and 3+2 South Water 
Streets.— The oldest established house in the United States in 
tile fundamental line ofirou and steel, is that of Messrs Fisher 
& Ross, whose office and salesrooms in the city of Philadelphia are 
located at Nos. ?AZ South Front and 312 South Water Streets. This 
business was originally founded in 1753 and after various changes 
in the proprietorship the firm of Cresson & Ross, was organ- 
ized and assumed the management, and conducted the business 
till 1SS1 when Messrs. Ellicotr i-'i -her and Thomas Ross, became 
proprietors. The business has been conducted in the present 
building for 1S»5 years, which was likewise the residence of the first 
Mayor of Philadelphia. The building is still substantial, and is 
fitted up with every convenience for the successful prosecution of 
the business. Messrs. Fisher & Ross deal largely in foreign and 
domestic iron and steel, horse shoes, horse shoe nails, rasps, files, 
springs, axles, carriage bolts, anvils, vises, bellows, etc. The 
firm's goods are unrivalled for quality, reliability, and general 
excellence and have no superiors in this or any other market. 
Messrs. Fisher & Rnss promply fill orders at the lowest possible 
prices, and their trade now extends throughout all sections of Penn- 
sylvania, Delaware. New Jersey, Virginia and Maryland. Mr. 
Fisher is a native of Germantown, Pa , his forefathers having come 
over and settled with William Penn, while his partner, Mr. Ross, 
was born in Belfast, Ireland, but has been a resident of Philadel- 
phia for tlie last thirty-eight years. They are popular members of 
the Iron Merchants' Association, and are highly esteemed in 
trade circles for their sound business principles, energy and in- 
tegrity. This establishment is a famous laud mark in Philadel- 
phia, and a lasting monument to the industry and enterprise of its 
founders and their successors. 

SMITH, ARMSTRONG & CO., Limited, Manufacturers of Blue 
Process Paper, No. 425 Locust Street.— Keeping pace with 
the march of progress in the art and sciences, notable 
improvement has been made in late years in all blanches 
pertaining to blue printing for architects, engineering, etc. Espec- 
ially is this true in regard to the paper used in the process indi- 
cated, in which a large degree of excellence akin to perfection 
lias been attained by some of our Philadelphia firms engaged in 

the manufacture thereof, particularly so as to the productions of 
Smith, Armstrong & Co., Limited, No. 425 Locust Street. The blue 
process paper produced by the firm mentioned is an article of 
exceptional merit, being not, in fact, surpassed for general excel- 
lence by anything of the kind manufactured in the country and 
of its superiority, no more unfailing criterion could be offered 
than the enduring hold it has secured in favor tnroghout the whole 
of the United States. The business premises occupy two spacious 
floors, with ample and complete facilities, all the latest improved 
appliances being at hand, while several competent assistants are 
employed. Beside the manufacture of blue process paper, the 
firm also do blue printing in the most expeditious and excellent 
manner, and all work executed in the establishment is warranted 
first class. The concern was established in 1SSS by Smith, Arm- 
strong & Co., and about eight months ago passed into sole control 
of Frank A. Brunner, formerly a member of the firm for two and a 
half years, and under this gentleman's efficient management the 
business has since been conducted under the style and title of 
Smith, Armstrong & Co., Limited, with uninterrupted success. 
Mr. Brunner, who is a native of this city, is a young man of practi- 
cal skill and experience, as well as of push and enterprise, and 
has a thorough knowledge of the business in all its branches. 

GEO. P. KEATING. Goodyear' s Rubber Goods Store, No. 50 
North Second Street.— About the most complete and best 
stocked rubber goods emporium in this quarter of the city 
is the popular and excellent Goodyear's store, conducted 
by Geo. P. Keating at No. 50 North Secoud Street. In this well 
patronized establishment can be found always an extensive and 
first-class assortment of everything comprehended in the line of 
business indicated at remarkably low prices— rock-bottom figures 
being quoted, while purchasers are assured of getting an excellent 
article as well as prompt and polite attention at all times here. 
The store, which is desirably situated, is ample, neat and well 
arranged, and several courteous assistants are in attendance. The 
stock includes water-proof cloaks, coats and rubber clothing of 
every description; boots and shoes of all kinds and sizes; toilet 
articles, toys, balls, dolls, and a full line of goods for mechanical 
uses such as belting, hose packings and pump valves, also a speci- 
alty in sugar house and mine belting, and a complete line of 
imported and domestic rubber productions; all orders, both whole- 
sale and retail, receiving immediate attention, and the trade of the 
concern, which is large and active, extends throughout the city, 
state and adjacent states. Mr. Keating, the proprietor, is a New 
Yorker by birth, and has been in Philadelphia since 187T. He 
established himself in business in this city about eight years 
since, and was formerly located on Market Street, whence lie 
moved to No. 814 Arch Street, and has been at the present com- 
modious quarters something more than a year. Mr. Keating is 
also special ageut for the New York Rubber Company, incorpor- 
ated 1851. 

WH. BENNETT & Co., Steel Merchants, Office and Ware 
house No. 17 North Fifth Street, and No. 422 Commerce 
u Street.— A reliable and prominent house in the funda- 
mental lines of steel, heavy hardware, and specialties 
is that of Messrs. W. H. Bennet & Co., whose office and sale- 
rooms are situated at No. 17 North Fifth Street and No. 422 Com- 
merce Street. This business was established m 1883 by the present 
proprietors. Messrs. W. H. Bennett and W. i'l. Stubbs, both of 
whom have great experience in the iron and st -i trade, and are 
fully conversant with every detail of this indust] ;• and the require- 
ments of patrons. They occupy a spacious store and basement, 
which ate fully stocked with a superior assortment of allsizes and 
qualities of steel, files, grindstones, heavy hardware and special- 
ties. Best cast steel blocks in all sizes are furnished at short 
notice, also cast steel and machine steel forgings. Messrs. W. H. 
Bennett & Co., handle only the best and most reliable grades of 
steel, and quote prices very difficult to be duplicated elsewhere. 
The business is both wholesale and retail, and now extends 
throughout all sections of the United States. Mr. Bennett is a 
native of Long Island N. Y., while his partner, Mr. Stubbs. was 
born in Maryland. This firm is commended to those interested as 
liberal and honorable in a marked degree, and is well calculated 
to promote the best interests of its numerous customers. 



Third Street. -John W. Moffly, President: W. FI. Helsler, 
Vice President and Cashier; Samuel Campbell, Assistant 
Cashier, in no respect has the city of Philadelphia devel- 
oped a greater degree of Influence and progress, than in that ol her 
bunking facilities, which are in every respect of a thoroughly rep- 
resentative and conservative character. Prominent among the 
old established and reliable flscal corporations ol the city, is the 
Manufacturers' National Bank, whose banking rooms are centrally 
located at No. 27 North Third Street. This successful bank was 
duly chartered under special act of the Legislature of Pennsyl- 
vania, fifty years ago, as the Manufacturers' and Mechanics' Bank. 
Eventually in 1864 it became a National Bank. The paid up capi- 
tal of the bank is $935,000, which has been further augmented by a 
surplus of $100,000. The bank transacts a general hanking busi- 
ness, such as the opening and care of current accounts, the issuing 
of sight drafts on all the principal cities and centres of the United 
States, Canada and Europe. It likewise makes telegraphic trans- 
fers, discounts first class commercial paper, deals in Government 
and other bonds, and makes collections at all accessible points on 
favorable terms. The management is judicious, prudent and pro- 
gressive, neglecting no point of efficiency demanded by modern 
commercial practice, by which means it is enabled to carefully 
guard the interests of its depositors and stockholders, scrupu- 
lously protecting them against any possibility of risk. The follow- 
ing gentlemen, who are highly regarded in financial and commer- 
cial circles for their executive ability and just methods are the 
officers and directors, viz: John W. Moffly, president; W. H. Heis- 
ler, vice-president and cashier; Samuel Campbell, assistant cash- 
ier. Directors; John W Moffly, W. E. S. Baker, Daniel Sutter, M. 
E. McDowell, Henry Davis, Leopold Bamberger, Mason Hirsh, M. 
W. Woodward, W. H. Heisler. The bank's discount days are Tues- 
days and Fridays, and its principal correspondents are the Mer- 
chants Exchange and Western National Banks, New York ; Hide 
and Leather National Bank, Chicago; National Hide and Leather 
Bank, Boston; National Farmers' and Planters' Bank, Baltimore, 
and the American National Bank, Kansas City. The report 
of the Manufacturers' National Bank issued at the close of busi- 
ness, December 12th, 1SSS, shows its affairs to be in a thoroughly 
sound and flourishing condition. In conclusion we would observe 
that the Manufacturers' National Bank, by an honorable and 
conservative course, has secured a leading position among the 
responsible fiscal institutions of the United States, and fully merits 
the entire confidence of the community . 

JOHN M. ROWE, SON A CO., Importers and Wholesale Deal- 
ers in Broom, and Brush Makers' Supplies, Woodenware, 
Etc.. No. 123 North Water Street.— The leading and oldest 
established house in Philadelphia and the Middle States 
devoted to the trade in staple wood-ware, to the trade in broom 
corn, importers and dealers in bristles and brush fibres, broom 
and brush makers' supplies, peach, truck and berry baskets, etc., 
is that of Messrs. John M. Rowe, Son & Co., whose immense estab- 
lishment four-story in height and nearly 200 feet in depth, is so 
centrally located at No. 123 North Water Street, covering the upper 
floors, of Nos. 119-125-127 of the same street extending through 
to North Delaware Ave. The business is very old, having been 
founded in 1837 by Messrs. Leonard & Rowe, the latter gentleman 
being Mr. Manley Rowe, brother of the present senior partner. In 
1S-13, Mr. Manly Rowe succeeded to the sole proprietorship, and 
in 1S-15 took into co-partnership his brother, Mr. John M. Rone. 
He is a native of Franklin County, Massachusetts, who early in 
life (at the age of fifteen) came to Philadelphia and subsequently 
as above mentioned joined the firm. In 1S54 it became tlrat of 
Messrs. Rowe & Eustin, and thus continued until in lsTl. wben 
Mr. John M. Rowe became sole proprietor. His warehouse was 
originally located on Third Street, where it remained for many 
years. Since 1S7.'. it has been at the present address, No. 123 
North Water Street, their ware-rooms occupying the upper floor 
of Nos.119, 125 and 127 North Water Street, extending through to 
No. 130 North Delaware Avenue In 1883, Mr. Rowe in view ,>f 
the engrossing claims of his ever enlarging trade, took int.' 
co-partnership under the existing name and style, his son, Mr. 
Arthur M. Rowe, born in this city, and Mr. Benjamin F. Graves, 
born in Massachusetts and who had b»-en resident here since 

1867, and hail been connected with the concern for years 
Both partners are able and respected business mi n, possessed 
of vast practical experience in this line, and valued factors 
in promoting the success and efficiency of their house. The 
firm deal in the choicest growths of broom corn, and make a 
prominent specialty of broom makers' and loush manufac- 
turers' supplies. Their warehouse is suitably equipped for car- 
rying this Immense stock, which includes full lines of the best 
make, of woodenware, the firm being manufacturers' agents, and 
representing several of the most extensive Eastern and Western 
factories. Among specialties, we might mention peach, truck and 
berry baskets and packages, etc., all of which are of the highest 
standard of excellence, and offered at prices which cannot be 
duplicated elsewhere. This is the oldest and leading wholesale 
woodenware business in Philadelphia, and the firm's trade is 
national in extent, largely with manufacturers, jobbers and deal- 
ers throughout Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, 
Virginia and West Virginia. Quality has ever been the first con 
sideration of this honored old house, and the scope and character 
of its operation indicates the established reputatiou that exists in 
regard to all goods it handles and sells. 

WAGNER & TAYLOR, General Insurance Agency, No. 138 
South Fourth Street.— The insurance interests of Phila- 
delphia at the present day are of surpassing import- 
ance, as it is needless to observe, and grow apace with 
years. Engaged in the branch of business devoted to the placing 
of risks on life and property, this city has a number of stanch and 
flourishing firms, prominent among them being that of Wag- 
ner & Taylor (successors to Louis Wagner), whose handsome aud 
well ordered office is located at No. 138 South Fourth Street. 
They are general insurance agents and brokers, placing alio , 
of desirable risks with responsible companies at the lowest rates 
compatible with absolute security, and are city agents for the 
Merchants' Insurance Company of Providence, R. I., while they 
represent in this city the following solid and substantial institu- 
tions: Equitable Fire and Marine of Providence; Atlantic Fire 
and Marine, Providence; Commercial of San Francisco; Union. 
San Francisco; Sun Fire officeof London and the United Firemen's 
of Philadelphia. The office is connected by telephone (2522), and 
an efficient corps of clerks is employed, the proprietors exrrcising 
close personal supervision over every important feature and 
detail: and, altogether, a very large business is carried on. This 
well and favorably known agency was established in 1807 by Louis 
and Geo. E. Wagner, the former of whom subsequently assumed 
sole control, and in 1887 was succeeded by the presenr firm, under 
whose judicious management the business has since been con- 
ducted with uninterrupted success. Messrs. Louis M. Wagner, 
aud John Taylor, who are both natives of this city, are men of 
thorough experience as well as gentlemen of the highest personal 
integrity and prior to assuming control or the ageucy had been 
employed as clerks in the office for many years. 

ADDISON BUTTON, Architect, No. 400 Chestnut street.— One 
of the most distinguishing features of Philadelphia, is the 
unusual size and splendor of its buildings, aud in this con- 
nection it need scarcely he said that the line character of 
the city's edifices, is but a reflex of the talent and skill of the 
architects whose ability created them. This arduous and exacting 
profession has many practitioners in Philadelphia, among whom 
the name of Mr. Addison Button, No. -!00 Chestnut Stieet, holds a 
conspicuous place. Mr. Hutton commenced the practice of his 
profession in this city in 1865, and has developed an extensive aud 
permanent patronage among the leading property own. 
capitalists of this vicinity. He is widely known as an all: and 
skilful professional man, ardently devoted to his profession, and 
conscientiously discharging his duties, towards those who favor 
him with commissions. Mr. Button has d< sign id and superin 
tended the construction of many first-class buildings, ail of which 
are greatly admired for their stability, finish and elegance by 
experts. His plans and specifications are always complete in de- 
tail, and are based on the practical and comprehi nsi\r knowledge 
of quantities and values. Mr. Hutton has resided in Pliilad 
for the last 30 years. Ue is a popular member of the Philadelphia 
Chapter of the American Institute ..f Architects 



JOHN C. DELL & SON, Manufacturers of Patent Coffee Mills, 
Patent Standard Scales, Grocers' Fixtures, Etc.; No. 422 
Vine Street.— Unquestionably the finest, fastest, easiest 
running and most durable coffee mills in the world are 
those manufactured by Messrs. John C. Dell & Son. Mr. John 
C. Dell, the head of this popular and enterprising firm, is a 
most skilful, practical machinist, and a natural born inventor. He 
has been a permanent resident of Philadelphia for the past forty 
years, and in 1SR4, established the present business. He early 
achieved an enviable reputation for his Mill's platform, grocers' and 
other scales.and the growing demand for the same has taxed his facil- 
ities to the utmost to supply. In 1SS7 he admitted his son, Mr. Wil- 
liam A. Dell, into co-partnership, under the existing name and 
style. He is an able and experienced young business man, univer. 
sally popular and respected. The firm's manufactory and ware, 
house are centrally located at No. 422 Vine Street, comprising a 

whole building, fully equipped with the latest improved machinery 

and appliances, and where a numerous force of skilful hands are 
employed. All told, Messrs. Dell iSon have fifty to seventy hand- 
at work, and turn out annually an immense quantity of coffee 
mills, scales etc. Dells improved mills aie duly protected by pat- 
ents issued in 1S78, lsy> and 15S4. These are of the most valuable 
character, securing them perfectly against all injury by stones or 
nails entering the hopper with the coffee or spices ; the guard to 
the grinders is infallible in its action, preventing tbe shock so de- 
structive to all other makes of mills. The adjusting arrangement 
is the simplest and best of any. anil by simply turning a screw the 
mill can be set to grind cn.irse or fine in an instant. None but the 
best of materials are allowed in his establishment, while the elab- 

orate and handsome design of his mills, attractive ornamentation 
and honest workmanship render them the best for grocers. They 
are also the fastest grinders, and the larger sizes grind from three 
to four pounds of coffee per minute, and are fitted to run either by- 
steam or hand power. These mills have carried off the chief award 
wherever exhibited, notably at the Centennial Exhibition; the 
Pennsylvania State Agricultural Fair; the American Institute 
Fair, New York, and the Cincinnati Industrial Exposition. Messrs. 
Dell & Son possess numerous convincing testimonials as to the 
superiority of these coffee mills, which are so rapidly superseding 
all other makes. Their patent scales are equally famous, being of 
the most accurate precision, sensitive, figures most easily read, and 
which can be had in all styles, including platform, grocers', butch- 
ers', confectioners', etc. Special scales will be promptly made to 
order, and both as to price and quality, they have no equal else- 
where. Messrs. John C. Dell & Son are prompt, honorable busi- 
ness men, permanently retaining the confidence of leading com- 
mercial circles, and worthy of the success achieved. 

EJ. SPANGLER, & CO., Manufacturers of Envelopes, Tags, 
Glove, Seed. Coin, Segar and Tobacco Bags, No. 507 Minor 
, Street.— The attention devoted to the production of enve- 
lopes, tags and kindred articles of late years has resulted in 
the development of a very substantial and interesting branch of 
activity, a3 well as a notable improvement in the quality of the 
product, and, as an illustration of these facts, attention is here 
directed to the extensive establishment of Messrs. E. .1. Spangler 
& Co., the leaders in this line of manufacture in Philadelphia, 
located at No. 50T Minor Street. This firm enjoy a national repu- 
tation as manufacturers of envelopes, tags, glove, seed, coin, segar 
and tobacco bags, and their business is conducted with signal 
ability and steadily increasing success. The enterprise was 
inaugurated in 1S60, by Messrs. R. T. Kensil & Co., the present firm 
succeeding to the control in 1862. They occupy an entire five- 
story building, 25x100 feet in dimensions, completely equipped 
with every necessary appliance and facility, while steady employ- 
ment is given to a force of twenty expert hands. The output is 
one of great magnitude and variety, and a very heavy stock is 
constantly carried, to the end that no delay may be experienced 
in the filling of orders. The goods are widely preferred by dealers 
over all other similar productions, owing to their great salability, 
uniform excellence and peculiarnierits, andare in heavy and influ- 
ential demand in all parts of the country, while a fine growing ex- 
port trade is also enjoyed with Canada. The terms and prices 
which prevail are eminently fair and equitable, and the interests 
.tvons are carefully watched and safely guarded in all cases. 
Tk-- •■-partneis, Messrs. E. J. and C. P. Spangler, are native Phila- 
delphians, thoroughly experienced and practical as manufactur- 
ers, and reliable and responsible as business men. 

HH. BARTON, Manufacture of "Best" American Flint 
Paper, Garnet Paper, etc., Store No. 222 Market Street.— 
A representative and widely known house extensively 
engaged in the manufacture of emery paper and emery 
cloth etc., is that of Mr. H. H. Barton, whose office and store are 
located at No. 222 Market Street. The factory which is fully 
supplied with special machinery and appliances, and furnishes 
constant employment to thirty operatives, is situated at Tucony. 
This business was established ten years ago, by Mr. Barton; who 
has since built up an extensive patronage not only throughout the 
entire United States and Canada, but also in Mexico, the West 
Indies, South America and Europe. Mr. Barton manufactures the 
" Best" American paper, flint paper, garnet paper, emery paper, 
emery cloth, etc., and deals in emery, glue and curled hair. 
He occupies a spacious store and basement, each being 25x125 
feet in dimensions. Here he keeps constantly in stock full sup- 
plies of his productions and specialties, which are offered to the 
tiarte at exceedingly low prices. His goods are unsurpassed for 
quality, utility and excellence, and have no superiors in this 
country or elsewhere. He promptly and carefully fills orders, 
and guarantee-, all goods to be exactly as represented. Mi. Bat ton 
is a native of England and has been over fifty years in this country 
and has resided in Philadelphia for the last seventeen years. He 
is an energetic, honorable business man, liberal in all transactions 
and well merits the substantial success he is achieving. 



F.mrth Street. Luther S. Kent, President; Eben F. Barker, 
Vice President aud Treasurer ; Edmund N. Smith, Secretary. 
Fur many years it was asserted by foreign manufacturers 
that the properties and quality of American ore and iron were 
unsuitedto the proper manufacture of steel, and that even the 
■characteristics of our coke and coal were unfitted [01 the pur- 
pose. These false statements however, have been entirely obliter- 
ated by the skill, energy and resources of our manufacturers, who 
now produce steel of all descriptions, quite equal if not superior to 
the best made abroad. Prominent among t lie representative aud 
progressive corporations, actively engaged >ln this valuable 
Industry, is the famous Pensylvania .steel Company, whose 
offices .ire located at So. 208 South Fourth Street. This com- 
pany was duly incorporated in I860 under the laws of Pennsyl- 
vania with ample capital, and its trade now extends throughout 
all sections of the United states. Canada and Mexico. The follow- 
ing gentlemen, who are widely and favorably known iu trade cir- 
cles for their executive ability, enterprise and just nietho'Ls are 
the officers and directors: Luther S. Eent, president; Ebeu F. 
Barker, vice president and treasurer; Edmund N*. Smith, secre- 
tary: F. \V. Wood, General manager: Edgar C. Fulton, superin- 
tendent: H. H.Campbell, assistant superintendent; G. IV. Pear- 
son, superintendent of Frog Department. Directors: L.S.Bent, 
E. F. Barker. Ed. Smith. C. Tower, George Small, H. H. Houston, W. 
H. Spackman. The company's extensive works are advantageously 
located at Steel ton. Pa.; they cover an area of upwards of ten acres, 
and at the same time the company owns one hundred and fifty 
acres adjoining. These works are among the largest and best equip- 
ped in the United States, and furnish constant employment to four 
thousand skilled operatives. They have a capacity of turning 
out three hundred thousand tons of steel rails, and vast quantities 
of other steel specialties annually. The processes by which the 
manufacture of steel rails is conducted here are of the most per- 
fect character, and the utmost care is exercised to maintain always 
the highest standard of excellence, so that the company's rails are 
absolutely unrivalled for quality, durability and workmanship by 
those of any other first class house in America or Europe. The 
tracks of the principal railroads of the United States, the great 
trunk and transcontinental routes have been all wholly or par- 
tially relaid with steel rails of this company's manufacture. The 
Pennsylvania Steel Company also manufactures steel in bars, 
sheets, strips, etc., for girders, columns, braces: also frogs, 
switches, slabs and billets. All orders are promptly Blled at the 
lowest ruling market prices, and entire satisfaction is guaranteed 
to patrons. The career of this noted company has been one of 
steady development, characterized by energetic and skilled 
management, and the signal success achieved is a just ti Unite to a 
business policy, founded on the enduring principles of equity. 

Francis J. Ci illy. Alex. J,. Crawford, Chas. A. McMatius. Til transacts a general business, taking risks on dwi 
stores, warehouses, mills, factories and public buildings. A 
merchandise, stocks "t go,,, is in stores, its forms of policy are 
clear ami explicit, its rates low. while it has acquired an excellent 
reputation for the prompt manner in which all its losses are 
adjusted and paid. The officers and directors are gentlemen ol 
ripe experience in insurance affairs, and capitalists of high 51 lad- 
ing, whose policy is both conservative and mutually beneficial to 
the company and its customers. The statement issued Janu- 
ary 1st, 1889, shows the affairs of the Mechanics' Insurance Com- 
pany to be in a most substantial and favorable condition: Messrs. 
W I. Gallagher, and .Martin, are business men of superior exec- 
utive ability, who are as widely known for their promptness, as 
for the just manner they attend to the interests of the company's 
customers. For rates, etc., those about to insure, can obtain all 
details at the company's offices, or from its agents. 

J P. ANDERSON A CO , Manufacturers of Confectioners' 
Tools, Machine. Moulds, etc., Nos. 61*, 616 and 618 Fil- 
a bert Street.— A representative and reliable house 
successfully engaged in the manufacture of confec- 
tioners' tools and machinery, is that of Messrs. J. P. Anderson A fa •. 
whose office ami workshops are situated at Nos. 611 to 618 Filbert 
Street. This business was established eight years ago by Messrs. 
J. P. Anderson and .T. C. Keller, who conducted it till ISSS.when Mr. 
Anderson died after a successful career. The business is now the 
sole property of Mr. Keller, who is carrying it ou under the old 
firm name of J. P.Anderson i Co. The premises occupied com- 
prise a spacious floor 40x125 feet in area, which is fully supplied 
with special machinery, tools and appliances, necessary for the 
systematic conduct ol this useful industry. Mr. Keller manufac- 
tures all kinds of confectioners' tools, machines, moulds, etc., in- 
cluding patent candy cutters, improved mixing machines, improved 
vertical caramel and jap cutters, cocoa nut and fruit graters, roll- 
ing or sizing machines, ice cream freezers, eggand sponge beaters, 
etc. Special machines are made to order in a prompt and careful 
manner, and satisfaction is guaranteed in every particular. Many 
of these machines are made from patterns and designs of Mr. Kel- 
ler's own invention, and have met with great favor from the trade, 
as being the best, strongest, most simple and easily operated ma- 
chinery 01 the kind in the market. All these confer 1 .' 

machines and tools are made with unusual care and accuracy, and 
of the best materials, while the prices charged [or them, .11 • 
exceedingly moderate. Mr. Keller promptly tills orders, and his 
trade now extends not only throughout the United States and Can- 
ada, but also to Europe. He is highly regarded in trade cln ' 
his ability and integrity, justly meriting the liberal and permanent 
patronage secured in this useful industry. 

MECHANICS' INSURANCE COMPANY, THE. James Tr OVEGROVE & CO., Manufacturers and Dealers in Engines. 
Wood, President: Charles J. Gallagher. Vice Presi- Boilers, Machine Tools, etc., Xos. 143 and 145 North Third 

dent: Simon J. Martin, Secretary. Office, No. S00 Walnut J_j Street.— A successful and reliable house in Philadelphia 

Street.— The fire insurance business of this city 
is one of its most important interests, while iii its detail and 
successful management is invested large capital, affording protec- 
tion to property that could not be accorded by any other means, 
and at the same time merchants can purchase extensive stocks of 
merchandise with a feeling of confidence, that a great conflagration 
« ill not destroy their investments. In this connection w s desire to 
■nake special reference iu this commercial review, to the old 
established and reliable Mechanics' Insurance Company, of Phila- 
delphia, offices are located at No. 500 Walnut Street. This 
company was duly organized in 1S 5 .4, under the laws of Pennsylva- 
nia, with u perpetual charter, and has built up a liberal and per- 
manent patron ige in the eastern, middle and part of the western 
states The Mechanics' Insurance Company hnsa pni I up capital 
of $250,000, and its assets now amour' to $64S,4S9.T7. The ;■ llowing 
geutlemi n air the officers and directors: James Wood, president; 
(has. .1. Gallagher, vice president: Simon J. Martin, secretary; 

Tn lore F. Jenkins, solicitor. Directors: Francis Falls, Patrick 

McHugh, Jam is \v 1. Charles G. Hooki y, Edward H Flood folin 

Mirkil. B. F. McFillln, Peter S. Dooner, Charli F. Gall ;] :r. John 
P. McGrath. Edward T. Maguire, James P. Sullii tu, Willi • 1 Foley, 
C es T Quin, Robert Laughlin, Peter Carrigan M P Heraty] 

actively engaged in the sale and manufacture of steam 
engines, boilers, etc., Is that of Messrs. Lovegrove & Co. This bus 
iness was established in 1S70 by Mr. Thos. G. Lovegrove, who is 
sole proprietor. Mr. Lovegrove is a thoroughly practical and 
expert mechanical engineer, fully conversant with every detail of 
this important industry. He manufactures and deals in steam 
engines, boilers, machine tools, pumps, steam heating apparatus, 
pulleys, valves, belting etc., and supplies. His engines are of the 
latest and most approved designs, combining strength, durability 
and finish aud are operated with great economy of fuel. The pis 
tons are carefully fitted with rings and springs, and the shafts are 
of the te-t hammered wrought iron, while the connecting r.M and 
cross heads are fitted with brasses and arranged foi heavy wear 
All work is done by first class mechanics, and at the same time 
satisfaction Is guaranteed in every instance. Mr. Lovegrove 
promptly tills orders for all kinds steam engines, pum] i.etc. at 
the lowest possible prices, and his trade now extends not only 
throughout the entire United States and Canada, but a 1 so to Mex 
ico, the West Indies aud South America. ThepremLs . 

in Philadelphia emprise a spacious store an. I basement earl: 
being 40x150 feet in area, and he likewise has a warehouse a! N>. 
23S Q larrj Street. 



JO. RICHARDSON. Pig Iron, and Sales Agent for Swede 
and Rook Hill Fig Iron, No. 23S South Third Street.— A 
prominent representative of the pig iron trade in this city 
* is .Mr. J. O. Richardson, wholesale commission merchant 
in pig iron and sales agent for Swedish and Rockhill pig 
iron. Jlr. Richardson has been literally brought, up in the iron 
business having been connected with it since he was a boy, and is 
a practical man at the business with SO years experience in this 
line, first as broker and then as wholesale commission merchant. 
Before coming to Philadelphia twenty years ago he was con- 
nected with a large iron company in Danville, Pa., for several 
years and understands every requirement and detail of the busi- 
ness and the wants of foundries, mills, aud railroad companies 
everywhere. Mr. Richardson is especially prominent in trade 
circles as agent for Swede pig iron and for Rockhill pig iron. 
These brands of pig iron are very widely known to the various 
branches of the trade, foundrymen etc., and include every quality 
of iron, and he offers substantial inducements to the trade every- 
where. Mr. Richardson contracts for supplying railroad com- 
panies with rails and all kinds of railway equipments and fur- 
nishes foundries and mills with everything requisite in pig iron 
for the requirements of their products, and his trade extends to 
all portions of Pennsylvania, New Jersey and Delaware and New 
York, a heavy trade being done also throughout New England. 
Mr. Richardson is a native of Philadelphia and his standing is 
too high in commercial circles to require comment at our hands, 
and both as regards business capacity and true American enter- 
prise, he justly merits the prestige he has attained and so perman- 
ently enjoys, and is recognized everywhere as an expert in the pig 
iron trade. He is highly esteemed for his liberality aud reliability 
which is a sufficient assurance that all orders will receive faithful 
attention and be filled with promptness and with satisfaction to 
all concerned. 

JOHN McCAY, Steam Packing Box Manufacturer, Nos. 613 & 
615 Cherry Street. — One of the most reliable houses 
engaged in the manufacture of packing boxes and general 
carpentry work, is that of Mr. John McCay, Nos. 613 and 
615 Cherry Street, which has gained an enviable reputation both 
for the quality of the work and for the neatness and dispatch with 
which it is executed. The business of this concern was started ir 
1SS2 by Mr. M. Fife, who, in 1861, was succeeded by Mr. John Wil- 
son. In 18ii9 the latter disposed or the enterprise to R. and J. 
McCay. who were succeeded by the present proprietor and 
under his able management the trade of the house has exper- 
ienced a steady aud constant increase. The premises occu- 
pied comprise a three-story building, 40\ino feet in dimensions, 
anJ these are fully equipped with all the latest improved machin- 
ery and appliances necessary for the systematic conduct of the 
business, employment being given to a force of from thirty to 
forty skilled and experienced workmen. All the operations as far 
as possible are performed by machinery, and this fact not only 
explains the exactness and neatness of the work, but also the 
reason for the very fair prices at which his packing boxes are 
placed upon the market. His productions embrace every descrip- 
tion of packing box used by manufacturers, merchants or store- 
keepers. Estimates are promptly furnished for any style or size 
of box that may be desired, and orders by mail, telegraph or 
telephone receive immediate attention. Carpenter work in all its 
branches is carefully executed at the lowest rates. Mr. McCay, 
who is a native of Ireland, has resided in this city since ISiJS, and 
his ability, energy and probity have gained him an enviable repu- 

JOHN CROMPTON <fc CO., Manufacturers of Paper Boxes of 
all Grades, Nos. 29 and 31 North Fourth Street.— The branch 
of business devoted to the manufacture of paper boxes con- 
stitutes, as it goes without saying. a very important and ex- 
tensive industry in every large city. Engaged in this line Philadel- 
phia has some noteworthy firms, prominent among which is that of 
John Crompton & Co.. whose capacious factory is located at Nns.c.i 
and 31 North Fourth Street. This is one of the oldest and leading 
concerns of the kind in the city, being in existence some forty-five 
years, and its productions are steadily increasing in demand 
annually, to the general excellence of the article- tinned 

out. They manufacture paper boxes in all sizes, styles, shapes, 
forms and grades, making a specialty of druggists,' jewelers," and 
fancy boxes, and have a large and flourishing trade throughout the 
city and vicinity. The business premises occupy three commodious 
floors, with ample and complete facilities, a large force of hands 
being regularly employed, while avast and varied assortment is 
constantly kept in stock, all orders being filled in the most prompt 
and reliable manner. This prosperous enterprise was established 
in 1844 by Mr. John Crompton, who died May ■_», 18S0, and under the 
firm name that heads this sketch it is now being conducted with 
uninterrupted successs, Harvey Piatt being sole proprietor, hav- 
ing been admitted into partnership twenty years ago. The busi- 
ness was removed to the quarters now occupied March, lsTj. Mr. 
Piatt is a native of New York, but has resided in Philadelphia 
since 1870. He is a gentleman of long practical skill and experi- 
ence, and is thoroughly conversant with the wants of the trade. 

facturers and Jobbers of Cabinet and Builders' Hardware, 
Hardware Specialties, Etc., Nos. 37 and 39 Strawberry Street. 
—One of the largest houses devoted to the manufacture of 
fine builders', and cabinet hardware and all kinds of novelties in 
iron, bronze and brass and hardware specialties is that of "The 
Philadelphia Hardware Specialty Co.," of Nos. 37 and 39 Straw- 
berry Street. This business was established eight years ago on 
Church Street, and rapidly developed an enormous demand for 
their product resulting in larger quarters and better facilities 
being required, which they procured by moving to their present 
commodious premises six years ago. The store is 25x80 feet in 
dimensions which is fitted up with every appliance and facility for 
the prosecution of the business and is fully stocked with a superior 
assortment of all kinds of cabinet and builders', hardware, hard- 
ware specialties, all kinds of small iron, bronze, brass, etc. f 
novelties, yankee inventions in hardware, house furnishing goods 
iron toys, etc. These goods are unrivalled for quality, finish, 
utility and general excellence by those of any other first class 
house in the trade in this country or Europe, while the prices quoted 
are as low as the lowest. The trade extends throughout all sec- 
tions of the United States where their specialties and the uniform 
and reliable quality of all goods handled by this responsible house 
have gained for it an enviable reputation and patronage. Mr. M. 
Elkins, the enterprising proprietor, is a native of Philadelphia and 
a member of F. and A. M.. and worshipped master of his lodge, a 
prominent member of the Knights of Pythias and the Knightsof 
the Golden Eagle and I. O. O. F., and many other benevolent asso- 

CHARLES YARD, Broker and Real Estate Agent, No. 733 
Walnut Street.— Prominent among the most successful, 
most experienced and most reliable of the real estate 
brokers and agents in this city is Mr. Charles Yard, whose 
office is located a No. 733 Walnut Street. This gentleman was born 
in this city sixty-four years ago, and from his boyhood has been 
identified v. irh the real estate interests of the city. His lather was 
in the business before him, and he was one of the oldest and most 
trusted real estate men in the city. Mr. Yard was for a long 
period an active assistant to his father, and when the latter died 
the present proprietor assumed the sole direction of the business. 
No man in real estate circles possesses a more intimate knowledge 
of present and prospective values in the business and residential 
sections of Philadelphia and its suburbs. By his system of obtain- 
ing the fullest information in regard to all property placed in his 
hands for sale, thoroughly investigating everything wiih his keen 
knowledge of values, aud assuming responsibility for his state- 
ments he has made his office a trustworthy directory, whose merit 
is widely known to investors. His ability to dispose of property 
without delay induces owners. who desire quick transactions to 
engage his services. He buys, sells, exchanges, leases and lets all 
kinds of property, makes a specialty of collecting rents and 
managing estates, and gives satisfactory attention to the negotia- 
tion of mortgage loans, etc., at reasonable rates. There is a con- 
siderable line of selling done by Mr. Yard of both city and 
suburban property, a numb, r of wards in the city being repre- 
sented on his books as well as every class of property, while he is 
justly recognized as one of the best renting agents in the city. 



L MARTIN .t CU., Manufacturers of Lamp Black, No. 226 
Walnut Street.— One of Philadelphia's most important in- 
dustrial and commercial interests, and which are of inter 
national celebrity, an- th" great lamp black works "f 
Messrs. L. Martin & Co., the lai gest In the world. Thesupei inrity 
of the product is also universally recognized, and the demand for 
it annually increasing. This concern is also the oldest in the 
United states, having been rounded in 1848 by the firm of Lather 
Martin & Co., upon a comparatively small scale. The quality of 
their lamp black, however, was so superior as to elicit the general 
attention of consumers ami enlarged facilities were so much needed 
that in 1855 the firm built their tirst works. These had repeated 
extensions, and not being sufficient the firm subsequently bought 
out the works and good will of Bihn & Co.. o[ this city. The busi- 
ness grew rapidly In magnitude, and eventually in 1874 a factory 
was secured at Cincinnati, O., from which to more readily supply 
the western trade. These works were burned, when they were re- 
built by the firm in 1887, and now are one of the finest in the country 
•having all modern improvements. Seven years ago, the linn 
purchased additional large works, located respectively at Butler, 
Pa., aud Foster's Mills, Pa. These are all in addition to their great 
Philadelphia establishment, covering ten acres and having vast 
tanks and Improved machinery, while the latest scientific pro- 
cesses of manufacture are followed. The lamented decease of 
Luther Martin occurred in July, 1886, since which date the business 
has been conducted by Messrs. Luther and Robert W. Martin, his 
sons. They are the recognized authorities in this branch of trade, 
and are noted for sound judgment and marked executive capacity. 
Their vast Interests are thoroughly organized, while they perman- 
ently maintain the reputation of manufaeturingthe very bestlamp 
black in the world. Wherever exhibited it has carried off the honors, 
and medals were awarded it by the Franklin Institute in 1S52, and 
again in 1874: by the Massachusetts Charitable Mechanic's Associa- 
tion, of Boston, in I860: by the American Institute, of New York, 
in 1867; and the highest award with medal by the centennial ex- 
hibition of 1876. The firm produce forty brands of special adapta- 
tion for the great variety of uses In existence, such as for printing 
inks, blacking, leather manufacturers, rubber factories, etc. The 
firm is known all over the globe and sells to the trade in every 
civilized country. Quality lias ever been the first consideration of 
this honorable old house, and it stands pre-eminent, the highest ex- 
ponent of its branch of industry. One of its new grades is the 
printers' " velvet " lamp black, positively the purest and most 
brilliant black ever put on a roller. It. is specially prepared to 
produce a flue-bodied ink, and is of very light gravity, entirely free 
from oil or grit, and makes the best flowing ink on record, one 
that will distribute itself evenly, possessing great covering power 
and making a solid black impression. This black is the favorite of 
the finest commercial and job printers, and its use is rapidly attain- 
ing enormous proportions. Messrs. Luther and Robert W. Martin 
are natives of this city. Mr. Luther Martin is an active member 
of the Art Club, and of the Philadelphia Historical Society. Mr. 
Robert W. Martin is also a member of the Historical Society, and 
both gentlemen are respected citizens who have ever accorded a 

hearty support to all measures best, calculated toadvai the 

permanent welfare and prosperity of the city. 

HUEY'S STORAGE WAREHOUSES, For theStorageof Furni- 
ture, Pianos, Mirrors, Etc., Nos. 1316-1918 Market Street.— 
Large buildings fitted up expressly for the storRge of 
household goods have proved a great convenience to the 
citizens and among those that are widely known and reliable and 
safe is the Huey's storage warehouses at Nos. 1916 and inis Market 
street. The business has been in successful operation since 1882 
and the facilities afforded have In that time been highly appreci- 
ated by the best classes of the community. The combined dimen- 
sions of the premises are 41x180 feet, and throughout the buildings 
are provided with every safeguard against burglars and fire, and 
to add to the security, watchmen are kept on duty both day and 
night. There are 8U0 seperate rooms In the building with strong 

locks and keys, and every care is taken with g is left here n 

storage. Furniture and pianos and mirrors are carefully handled 
and taken care of for any length of time upon small inouthly pay- 
ments and when desired- money is advanced on goods which are 
also insured while on the premises, at the very lowest rates. The 

proprietor, Mr. D. a Philadelphia!! by birth and 

well known in this community as a popular business man. He is 
courteous, obliging nod attentive, and is prompt and correct In 

business transactions. Goods are called for anywhere within a 
radius of twenty miles of the city, and a special business is made 
of packing pianos, mirrors and furniture for shipment, from thir- 
teen to lilt. 'en expert practical men being kept constantly em- 
ployed about the premises for handling and packing and taking 
care of all articles left in the warehouses on storage. 

AND CLOAK STOKES, No.s. 40 and 12 North Eighth Street. 
— Wearing apparel of good material, made ii. an elegant 
and fashionable style and in the most thoroughly artistic 
manner for ladies have become more and more of a necessity in 
these days ot steady increase in material wealth, refinement and 
culture, and it is a matter of no little importance to every lady of 
fine tastes to know where it is possible to secure the very latest 
and most desirable styles of garments. Anything that adds to 
their personal appearance is always of importance and for these 
reasons we call particular attention to the well known and pros- 
perous Gersou's leading millinery, dress trimmings and cloak 
stores, which are so conveniently situated at Nos. 40 and 42 North 
Eighth Street, one of the most crowded and fashionable thorough- 
fares in this section of Philadelphia, and for many years has 
maintained an enviable reputation for the superior excellence of its 
goods and honorable business methods. Mr. R. Gerson, the pro- 
prietor of this elegant establishment, is a native of this city and 
after acquiring a complete knowledge of the trade, inaugurated 
this enterprise on his own account originally in 1872 on Second 
Street, and from a moderate beginning at that date it soon de- 
veloped a very large and influential patronage which increase,] 
annually to such large proportions, that he was obliged to seek 
more commodious and eligible quarters and accordingly i emu ed to 
his present address in I8S1. The premises occupied are very 
spacious and commodious, comprising two entire four-story sub- 
stantial brick buildings having a frontage of 04 feet with a depth 
of 110 feet, and is very handsomely furnished in the latest approved 
modern style; and fully equipped with every facility for the suc- 
cessful prosecution of the business, accommodation and advan- 
tageous display of the elegant and complete stock of goods con- 
stantly on hand. The establishment is suitably arranged into 
separate departments suitable for the different lines of goods. 
Here will be found at all times a splendid assortment of every- 
thing fashionable and seasonable in straw, chip and felt hats, also 
bonnets and bonnet frames in the very latest styles and shapes, 
both trimmed and untrimmed, embodying the most prevalent fash- 
ious of the day after the most celebrated modistes of Paris and 
London, besides everything in the line of satins, plushes, silks, 
laces, crapes and mourning goods, ostrich plumes, feathers, artifi- 
cial flowers, laces, head ornaments, ribbons, etc., for millinery 
trimmings. A corps of experienced artistes in millinery is em- 
ployed constantly and hats and bonnets are trimmed while cus- 
tomers wait when desired, while special attention is given to 
mourning orders, aud executed at the shortest notice. His assort- 
ment of dress trimmings and fancy goods embraceseverything that 
can be thought of in that line, while his stock of fine ladies' cl 
and wraps includes everything new, fashionable and seasonable, 
such as plush, velvet, brocade, satin and silk fur lined cloaks and 
circulars, dolmans, wraps, also newmarkcts in check, mottled, 
striped and plain goods, jerseys, etc. An inspection of these goods 
reveals the fact that they are made of the very best materials, in 
the most artistic and durable manner bj skilled designers and 
operatives, and the range of sizes is such that a graceful el 
and comfortable fit is easily obtained, while prices throughout the 
entire establishment are exceedingly reasonable. A full corps of 
refined and courteous assistants serves customers promptly and 
every effort is made to meet the slightest wish of patrons, and a 
perfect system of order is observable on all sides, and this fact 
is due largely the success of the establishment, and as t':e busi- 
ness increases this is more notlceable r showing in a marked degree 
the foresight of the proprietor. Mr. Gerson is an active, energ-tic 
and reliable merchant who Is popular with bis customers aud de- 
votes his entire attention to theii best interests, while he a 
his business on the highest standard of commercial integrity. 



DELL & JOSEPH C. NOBLIT, Importers and Manufacturers of 
Upholster; Goods and Curtain Materials, Etc., N03. 222 
Suutli Second and 1222 Chestnut Streets.— The devel- 
opment ot the trade in the finest of upholsteries, curtain 
materials and of elegant and beautiful types of interior decora- 
tions, etc., is indicative of the refined and appreciative tastes of 
the American public in the highest planes of the flue arts. A rep 
resentative and progressive house in Philadelphia extensively 
engaged in the importation and manufacture of upholstery goods, 
etc., is that of Messrs. Dell & Joseph C. Noblit, whose establish- 
ment is centrally located at Nos. 222 South Second and 1222 Chest- 
nut Streets. Tins business was established hi 1M9 by Dell & John 
Noblit, who were succeeded in IStB by Noblit, Brown, Noblit & Co. 
Eventually in 1S7S the present firm was organized and assumed the 
management, the co-partners being Messrs. Dell Noblit & Joseph 
C. Noblit. The partners are gentlemen of great practical experi- 
ence, closely identified with this important trade from boyhood, 
and are personally conversant with the tastes and demands of the 
best classes of the conunuuity, and iu catering to the same make 
the most splendid display in Philadelphia in their spacious ware- 
rooms. They occupy an entire four-story building, wherein is car- 
ried a well selected and immense stock of upholstery goods, cur- 
tain materials, silk darua-sks, brocatels, rich silks in great variety, 
sateens, plushes, satins, and a full assortment of railroad supplies, 
all shades of decorative fabrics and silks are in stock, as also 
appropriate fringes and trimmings of every kind. The firm also 
manufacture mattresses, bedding, etc., and make a specialty of 
nigh class interior decorations. They make use of all the new 
decorative materials, so that the public « ill find here the most 
artistic effects at low prices, that would have been impossible a 
few years ago. The firm import direct from the most celebrated 
European houses, and their trade, which is both wholesale and 
retail, is steadily increasing, and dow exteuds throughout all 
sections of the United States. All ordei'3 are promptly and care- 
fully filled at the lowest possible prices, and entire satisfaction 
Is guaranteed to patrons. Messrs. Dell & Joseph C. Noblit are 
natives of Delaware, but have resided in Philadelphia for the last 
fifty-four years, where they are highly esteemed in business circles 
for their enterprise, ability and integrity. Mr. Dell Noblit 
was president of the Corn Exchange National Bauk for seven- 
teen years. He is a popular member of the Manufacturers' and 
Union League Clubs, and is one of Philadelphia's public spirited 
and influential citizens. Mr. Joseph C. Noblit is a member of the 
Union League Club. In conclusion we would observe to those 
interested iu the modern progress of the upholstery trade, that 
the stock here carried presents features as to complete assort- 
ments, elegance and high quality, very difficult to be duplicated 
elsewhere in this country. 

CHAS. LIPPINCOTT & CO., Manufacturers of Soda Water Ap- 
paratus, No. 923 to 920 Filbert Street.— The name of Lippin- 
cott has for long over half a century been prominently ident- 
ified with the manufacture of the most perfect forms of 
soda water apparatus in existence. No house in the country has 
been so progressive in introducing improved methods, perfected 
apparatus and the most original designs and artistic rich finish of 
their magnificent marble fountains. The business, now growu to 
proportions of such magnitude, was founded on April 28th, 1S32, by 
Mr. Charles Lippincott who early became nationally celebrated as 
the loading expert and authority in this line. He developed wide- 
spread relations, his apparatus grew in demand all over the coun- 
try, necessitating repeated enlargements of his facilities. In 
1886 the present firm of Charles Lippincott & Co., was formed, 
composed of Mr. diaries Lippincott, Mr. Alfred H. Lippincott, and 
Mr F. Hazavd Lippincott. They are all practically experienced in 
this branch of industry, able and energetic business men. They 
occupy very extensive premises in Filbert Street at Nos. 925,927 
and 929, and fronting on Rementer Street at 920, and on Fayette 
Street at Nos. AS and 40. It Ls live stories and basement in height, 
120 feet in depth, and has an area of over 50.000 square feet of Boor 
space, with all modern improvements, steam elevators aud power 
on every Boor. It is the most complete establishment of the kind 
on the continent, and comprises copper, brass, bfitanuic, fitting, 
carpenter and machine shops, silver plating works, electrotyping 
foundry, and large and complete steam marble works. An average 

force of 150 hands are employed in the various departments under 
the direct supervision of the proprietors. The firm are not only 
leaders in producing the most beautiful soda and mineral water 
fountains, but have introduced vastly improved dispensing appa- 
ratus, which meets the wishes of leading users all over aud so rap- 
idly taking the place of old. inferior styles. Their new dispensing 
apparatus is recognized by experts to be much the best for dis- 
pensing pure, cold beverages and is also the simplest aud must 
conveneint made, and leading druggists pronounce it perfect. 
Among the improvements are a white porcelain jar and all rubber 
cock iu place of glass, more durable and less likely to be affected 
by heat and cold. A deep compact icebox contains the jars in 
front, the new coolers exposing a larger surface to the ice, and 
insuring the coldest beverages. Among characteristic features of 
their apparatus, are the extra thickness of the marbles, caretully 
cut and accurately fitted. The cases are joined with bronze 
clamps and silver bolts, insuring stability while the ice box is 
heavy copper, tinned on both sides. It is large aud deep with the 
jars in front, giving them the advantage of the ice, while it 
thoroughly coversthe Acme cooler, which is duly patented, and pro- 
ducing the lowest temperature on record, as soda water at 33° can 
be drawn from these coolers. There are also numerous other ad- 
vantages as regards the syrup jars and attachments . draught 
tubes, plating, etc. Those interested in having the best, most 
beautiful and reliable soda water apparatus in the world should 
order from this enterprising house, which shows its characteristics 
in its magnificeut illustrated catalogue of 211 quarto pages, giving 
accurate pictures of its scores of various styles from the mammoth 
"Stratford," 12 feet long by 9 high, having 28syrups aud 100 draught 
tubes costing $6,000, down to the smallest sizes used by druggists 
and confectioners. All are equally reliable and durable. A word 
as to the firm's marbles. They devote special atteution to the se- 
lection of the finest colored marbles, imported from all parts of 
the world and which are finished in the admirable manner for which 
this house is so justly celebrated. It is well recognized that the 
splendid apparatus so ornate and attractive draw trade, aud they 
are rapidly coming iuto use throughout the country at large. This 
is distinctively a Philadelphia triumph, as the Messrs. Lippincott 
were born and brought up here, and have here developed their 
great success on the broad basis of merit— the best materials, most 
skilful workmanship, most improvedscientific methods and greatest 
artistic beauty. 

HOLLINISHED BROTHERS. Wholesale Jewelers, No. S06 
Chestnut Street. —Philadelphia has always been recognized 
as a leading headquarters of the wholesale trade iu fine 
jewelry, watches, etc., and among those prominently identi- 
fied with it, we find the firm of Holhushed Bros., who with ample 
capital at their command and an experience extending over 
thirty years are enabled to offer advantages that it would indeed 
be difficult to obtain at any other reliable, responsible establish- 
ment. They have splendid connections and are enabled to secure 
the very best productions of Europeau and American manufactur- 
ers and have brought together an assortment of goods conspicuous 
for delicate beauty and superiority of workmanship. In the 
assortment there is an eudless variety of exquisite novelties in 
unique designs in fashionable jewelry of all kinds and also gold 
and silver watches of all the best makers, the firm representing 
such well kuown manufacturers as the VValtham, Elgin aud others. 
The display of silverware is also very handsome and in the stock 
will be found everything for the appointment of the table aud a 
great variety of useful and ornamental articles required iu the 
household. A very desirable location is occupied by the firm and 
the premises, a spacious salesroom, is very neatly and attrac- 
tively fitted up and the stock is always replete with the very best 
efforts of the most distinguished manufacturers. The business is 
strictly wholesale and is widely diffused over the south and south 
western states. Mr. Charles and Mr. Henry Hollinshed, Jr., are 
natives of England and have been established in their present 
location since 1S.S6. The volume of their business is large and it is 
rapidly growing and expanding. Both members of the firm are 
popularly known in business circles and their house is one of the 
most reliable, responsible, substantial and representative in its 
line in the city, and sustains an excellent status throughout this 
country mi mercantile circles. 



NV E & TREDICK, Manufacturers of Patent Automatic Circu- 
lar Rib Knitting Machines, No. 608 Arch Street.— A re- 
presentative and progressive firm in Philadelphia, success- 
fully encaged in the manufacture and sale of knitting ma- 
chines, is that of Messrs. Nye&Tredick, whose office and salesrooms 
are situated at \.' >.''-s Audi Street This hu-incss w.u established 
five years ago by Messrs. George E. Nye and Edward Tredick. The 
firm's factory, which is fully equipped with the latest improved 
tools, machinery arid appliances and furnishes constant employ. 
merit to seventy-five skilled mechanics and operatives, is located at 
Wilmington. Delaware. Messrs. Nye A Tredick manufacture all 



W/ JSL * \\ A 

styles ol circular rib knitting machines tor plain and fancy 
ribbed hosiery, leggings, underwear, skirts, caps, jackets, etc., 
and automatic welt top and cut? machines and shirt border 
machines. The firm are likewise agents for the " Keystone 
Knitter" for seamless hosiery. The knitting machines manu- 
factured by this firm are made from patterns and designs 
of the proprietors' own invention. These have met with great 
favor from the trade, a- being the best, strongest, most simple and 
easily operated machinery of the kind ill the market, and have 
proved invaluable to manufacturers. Messrs. Nye 4 Tredick 

guarantee all their machinery, and refer by permission to many 
promiuent manufacturers, who now have their machines In 
successful operation. They promptly fill orders at the lowest 
possible prices, and their trade now extends throughout all 
sections of the United States and Canada, also to Mexico, South 
America, Europe and Australia. Those interested requiring 
really superior knitting machines cannot do better than give their 
orders to this responsible establishment, where they will obtain 
advantages difficult to be secured elsewhere. 

LAtJTZ BROS. & CO., Manufacturers of Staple Soaps. Phila- 
delphia Office and Salesroom. Nos. 13 and 15 South Front 
Street— It is a cold fact that soap-using is a sign or civiliza- 
tion, just as in the words of the inspired writer, "cleanli- 
ness is next to godliness." Yet there are many soaps which olten 
cause the very troubles against which they- are intended to guard, 
and the consumer ha3 but one safeguard in purchasing--to buy no 
soaps for personal use or clothes-washing unless they bear some 
name which is a synomym for excellence and purity of product, 
the name of some firm thfsole object of which is not the realiza- 
tion of large profits without regard to consequences as they affect 
customers. There are such firms, and in the roll of honor which 
contains their names we find no more prominent place than that 
long occupied by Lautz Bros. & Co., the well-known manufacturers 
of staple soaps, at Euffalo, N. Y., whose Philadelphia branch is 
located at Nos. 13 and 15 South Front Street, under the manage- 
ment of Mr. Charles H. Hays. Lautz Bros. & Co. are recognized 
as leaders in quality the country over, and enjoy a national 
reputation both as manufacturers of soap and also of starch. The 
Philadelphia salesrooms were opened in 187S, and comprise a four- 
story building, 25x80 feet in dimensions. Mr. flays has control of 
the products of the firm in the statesof Pennsylvania, New Jersey, 
Delaware, Maryland and Virginia. He carries an immense stock 
in all departments, and is prepared to supply the trade in quanti- 
ties to suit and at the shortest possible notice. The leading brands 
of soap manufactured by Lautz Bros. & Co., are the Acme, Circus, 
Acorn, Marseilles White, White Spray, Paima, Oleine, Ready, 
Capitol, May Bell, Big Five. Excellent and Nickel. They have also 
a large number of standard family and cream borax soaps. Their 
brands of starch are Niagara Laundry Starch, Niagara Gloss 
Starch, and Niagara Corn Starch. This starch is used by Mrs. 
Rorer in all her lectures and at her school, and is used by the 
chefs of all our principal hotels; all of which are in active and 
influential demand among dealers on account of their great stabil- 
ity, uniform excellence and solid merits. Mr. Hays, the popular 
manager, will be found a gentlemau of ability and integrity with 
whom it is ever a pleasure to deal. 

AE. NORRIS S: CO., Fine Rye Whiskies, No. 20u South 
Front Street.— The wholesale house of A. E. Norris & 
n Co., at No. 209 South Frout Street, has long been recog- 
nized by first-class dealers and critical buyers as head- 
quarters for the highest grades of pure wines and li'iuors. Hun- 
dreds of buyeis throughout New Jersey, Pennsylvania. Delaware, 
New York and the southern states have discovered that the choic- 
est champagnes, ports, sherries, rye whiskies, etc., can only be 
had through this firm's direct importations. The business of this 
house was started at its present location, No. 209 South Front 
Street, in 1884, under the style of Eruce, Norris A- Co. This firm 
was dissolved on June, by the retirement of Mr. Arthur 
Bruce, and since then the style of the concern lia-. been A. E. Nor- 
ris &. Co., Mr. Alfred E. Norris being the sole proprietor. He brings 
to bear on the enterprise the widest range of practi :al e! perience, 
coupled with ample resources, and direct influential connections 
both at home and abroad. The building occupied for the bu~ir.e>s 
contains three floors, each 25x50 feet in dimensions, adr 
equipped f'->r the storage and preservation of the choice and valu- 
able stock. The house handles the finest foreign and domestic 
wines of the most celebrated vintages, champagnes, brandies, 
Scotch, Irish, old bourbon and rye whiskies, and are general im- 
porters, dealers and rectifiers. The firm make a specialty of rye 
whiskies, and the favorite brand is the " Garrick Club Rye Whis- 
key." The house is a progressive one. Is in high reputi with the 
trade, and is conducted with energy, liberality and intel 
Mr. Norris is a native of Philadelphia. 



HALT. & CARPENTER, Importers of Tin Plate and Metals, 
Manufacturersof Crown Specialties, No. 709 MarketStreet. 
— An important and progressive factor in the promotion of 
Philadelphia's prosperity is the fanions old house of Messrs. 
Hall & Carpenter, the largest and leading importers of tin plate, 
sheet iron and metals and manufacturers of fancy metal special- 
ties. The founder and now sole partner of this house, Mr. Augus- 
tus R. Hall was born at. Paterson, N. J., the direct descendant of 
Robert Hall, of Westminster, England, who arrived in Pennsyl- 
vania in 1682. His ancestors held positions of prominence and 
public trust throughout the early colonial days. Mr. A. R Hall 
came to Philadelphia wheu a child with his parents, and at the age 
of twenty-one entered into connection with the old house of W. N. 
and G. Taylor, importers of tin, terne plates, metals, etc. In Jan- 
uary, 1862, Mr. Hall, who had proved his excellent business quali- 
fications, and marked executive capacity, was admitted into co- 
partnership in connection with Mr. Win. Y.Taylor, uuder the style 
of the N. Si G. Taylor Co. Mr. Hall took entire control of the sales 
department imbuing his spirit of progressive enterprise into the 
firm's operations and commencing the direct importation of tin and 
terne plates, which it had previously secured via New York. On 
February 1st, 1S67, Mr. Hall withdrew from the firm, and founded 
his own house of Hall & Carpenter, and which, from its inception 
bas enjoyed a patronage of a rapidly enlarging and most substan- 
tial character. Since the decease of Mr. Carpenter in June, 1883, 
Mr. Hall has continued sole proprietor under the original name 
and style, and is conceded to be the leading authority in tin 
and terne plates and all sheet metals. Mr. Hall, imports and 
deals in the following: tin plate and metals, tinsmiths' and stove 
makers' supplies, sheet copper and ingot copper, black sheet 
iron, galvanized sheet iron, wire rivets, corrugated' conduc- 
tor, spiral pipe, registers, Kalamcin sheet iron, tinners tools and 
machines, sheet zinc stamped ware, japanned ware, wire nails, etc 
He manufactures crown specialties, Moores and the Buckeye ven- 
tilators, solder, etc. Quality has ever been his Srst consideration 
and only the best brands and uniform high quality, characterize 
his stock. The premises occupied are most central and extensive, 
comprising five floors and basement 22x2o5 feet in dimensions, 
running into Filbert Street, and where is carried the most import- 
ant and comprehensive stock of the kind in Philadelphia. Mr. Hall 
does a trade covering the entire United States, and which is annu- 
ally enlarging. He is a public spirited citizen, who has ever given a 
hearty support to all measures best calculated to advance the 
city's welfare. He was an earnest advocate of.the formation of the 
direct steamship line from Liverpool to this port and which has 
enabled Philadelphia merchants to'have importations come by 
steam direct to our wharves, and no branch of trade has benefitted 
more than that in tin and terne plates. Mr. Hall is an active and 
honored member of the Masonic Order, and is also a member of 
the Board of Trade, Commercial Exchange, Maritime Exchange, 
Union League, Historical Society of Pennsylvania, while he is also 
an honorary member of the 1st Regiment Veteran Corps. He has 
ever retained the confidence of leading commercial circles, and is 
a worthy exponent of this important staple branch of trade. 

JOHN A. KIRCHNER. Cutlery Grinder, Etc., No. 229 Vine 
Street.— The industries of Philadelphia are numerous in 
number and cover every brancli of skilled activity, and 
yet we doubt if there is one of greater importance or one 
requiring a higher trained experience and ability than that of 
practical cutlery grinding. In this line, it is generally recognized 
throughout the city that Mr. John A. Kirchner is the leading 
representative, and one who is fully qualified to promptly till any 
and all orders. Mr. Kirchner not only brings long practical 
experience to bear, but has brought his specialty to the exactitude 
of a science, and by welding theory and practice together has 
brought the art of grinding, polishing and setting cutlery goods to 
a higher standard of perfection than it has ever attained before. 
He occupies finely adapted premises at No. 221 Vine Street, where 
he has the second floor fitted up with the finest modem appliances 
and machinery, impelled by adequate steam power, promptly fill- 
ing the largest orders for razor, shear and scissor grinding d>r the 
trade, also gentlemen', razors, ladies' and family scissors, tailors', 
barbers' and paper-hangers' shears, carving, table and pocket 
knives, etc. A special feature is also made of polishing and set- 

ting as also the concave grinding of baibers' razors, a stock of 
superior razors expressly concaved and set ready for use, being 
Constantly kept on hand. He has now been permanently estab- 
lished in business since 18-11, primarilyopeuing on the opposite side 
of Vine Street and moving ty his present quarters, No. 229, in the 
year 18S0. ilr. Kirchner is of Uerman uatioualty, but has made 
Philadelphia his home since 1841. He is now in the eighty second 
year of his age, yet despite his advanced age still takes that 
active, personal supervision in his business which for so long a 
period has proved the meaus of affording his many patrons such 
complete satisfaction. 

GrSTAVUSC.SEIBEL, Real Estate Broker, Conveyancing, Etc. 
No. 309 Callowhlll Street.— The condition of the real estate 
market may justly be considered as a thermometer of the 
real soundness and stability of business affairs in the coun- 
try generally. It is gratifying to note the present situation of 
real estate affairs throughout the land, especially in our larger 
cities. In Philadelphia the impetus received from local and subur- 
ban improvements is conspicuously apparent in the great number 
of good business men who are seeking investments in eligible 
property. Among the real estate agencies that are actively en- 
gaged in supplying this demand is that conducted by Mr. Gustavus 
C. Seidel, at No. 309 Callovvhill Street. The business so success- 
fully conducted by him was originally established in 186S, by Mr. 
G. Seidel, who was succeeded at his death in April, 1S75, by his 
son, the present proprietor. He occupies commodious offices ou 
the ground floor, provided with telephone communication, and 
possesses every auxilliary to facilitate transactions. Mr. Seidel is 
especially prominent in real estate circles as the agent for the 
Broad Street, the 2d Broad Street, the 3d Broad Street, and the 
Broad and Wyoming, Mutual Land Associations. He is also a con- 
'siderable owner of real estate both city and suburban, im- 
proved and unimproved, and is prepared to furnisli customers 
with building lots, stores and dwellings on easy payments. 
He gives special attention to the collection of rents and in- 
terests, does conveyancing, and has upon his books numerous 
houses, flats and apartments to let on desirable terms. He also 
negotiates loans on bond and mortgage, and tikes the entire man- 
agement of estates. Mr. Seidel is a native Philadelphian, a direc- 
tor of the German American Title Company, and a young man of 
experience and sagacity, whose diligent and faithful attention to 
all matters placed in his charge has given him the esteem and con- 
fidence of the entire community. 

KEYSTONE CHOCOLATE CO., Manufacturers of Fine Choco- 
lates, Office and Salesroom No. 131 North Second Street. 
Factory Nos. 136 and 138 Elfreth Street.— The growing de- 
mands tor a pure, choice grade of confections so noticeable 
of recent years in this country lias resulted, in the nature of things, 
in marked improvement having been made in the goods produced 
of late. Especially is this true in regard to such toothsome products 
as chocolate creams, etc., some exceptionally fine articles in this 
line being now made by some of our Philadelphia manufacturers, 
notably so by the Keystone Chocolate Co., whose office and sales- 
room are located at No. 131 North Second Street, and factory at 
Nos. 136 and 13? Elfreth Street. The productions of this concern 
are noted for their purity, flavor and quality : and for general ex- 
cellence are unsurpassed by anything of the kind produced in the 
country, being conceded to be the ne plus ultra in fine chocolate 
confections; and of their superiority no more unfailing criterion 
could be offered than the extensive and increasing demand that 
has grown up for these goods in the trade throughout the Cnited 
States. The Keystone Chocolate Co., of which Win. Baker Craig, is 
sole proprietor, was established in June, 1SSS, and the unequivocal 
success that has attended the enterprise from its inception amply 
attests the wisdom that inspired the venture, to say nothing of the 
excellence of the productions. The premises occupied as office 
and salesroom are spacious and tastefully appointed, and several 
efficient salesmen are employed, besides ten or more expert hands 
in the factory, while a heavy stock is constantly carried, including 
wholesome and delicious chocolate creams, caramels, bon-bons, and 
kindred toothsoome chocolates, and the trade, which is both w hole- 
sale and retail is very large. Relations with this house are prof- 
itable and lasting. 




THF.. John K. Gittens, Jr., William B. Smith, Man., - I . 
520 Walnut Street.— The necessity and value or life 
Insurance needs no supporting arguments in this enlight- 
ened age. The only question that the public seeks a direct 
answer to, Is: which is the best company In which to secure the 
needed Insurance? The field is a broad one, ami there are num- 
erous competitors, bat not one so fully ami admirably affords 
every element of security, profit ami low rates of premium, as the 
old, reliable Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company of 
Springfield, Mass. It has always been a favorite with the public 
ot the Middle states and here in Philadelphia has written large 
lines of insurance on the lives of our most prominent citizens. 
The company was organized in 1851 on the mutual plan— the only 
fair and satisfactory one in life insurance, and from its first 
inception has had an office in this city. The present management 
is both able and enterprising, and there are no more popular and 
respected representatives than Mr. John K. Gittens, Jr., and Mr. 
William B. Smith. Mr. Gittens is a native of New York, but has 
been a permanent resident of Philadelphia for the past nineteen 
years, and has long been a recognized exponent of the best meth- 
ods of life insurance. Mr. Smith is too widely and favorably 
known to require comment at our hands; as mayor of this city he 
exerted a highly beneficial influence in advancing a policy of 
retrenchment and reform, while as a business man he is noted for 
his superior executive abilities, sound judgment and energy of 
character. He became associate manager with Sir. Gittens in 
January, 1S89, and the business developed is of the most reassur- 
ing and satisfactory character. The Massachusetts Mutual has in 
many respects the most popular, liberal and safe schemes ot insur- 
ance. Its new forms of life and endowment policies are the most 
popular ever issued, offering the most substantial inducements of 
any, and carrying with th»m all the benefits of the Massachusetts 
paid up and cash value law. The company's officers and directors in- 
clude many of the most prominent and respected citizens of Spring- 
field, and are headed by M. V. B. Edgerly as president ; Henrys. 
Lee, vice president, and Oscar B. Ireland, actuary. Under their 
guidance the company has been uniformily prosperous, and is 
making rapid progress both as to new business and growth of 
assets. It issued 3.6:51 policies in 1888, and now has 18,767 policies 
in force which (including reversionary additions) represent, S49,- 
480,581. the receipts In 1SX8 being S2,130,74.96, the disbursements, 
$1,578,367.46. and the assets, $9,565,622.65, while the liabilities 
are summed up at $755,527.61. Its assets are invested in the ablest 
and most secure manner, and no company has a more creditable 
record for able and honorable management, and the public of 
Pennsylvania, Maryland and Delaware are largely availing them- 
selves of the absolute protection afforded by holding policies in 
this standi old corporation, and whose various forms of policy 
enable every one to be suited. 

YOUNG & SONS. Manufacturers of Engineering Instruments, 
etc.. No. 43 North Seventh Street.— Philadelphia is well- 
known all over the United States as the leading city in 
manufacturing, engineering, mining and surveying instru- 
ments : owing to the energy .skill and enterprise of its manufactur- 
ers, their specialties have superceded German, French and English 
makes. A representative and the most prominent house in 
extensively engaged in this important business is that of Messrs 
Young & Sons, whose office, salesroom and factory are located at 
No. 43 North Seventh Street. This house were the inventors and 
introducers of the American Transit Instrument, which has 
entirely superceded t lie old cumbersome Theodolite. This busi- 
ness was originally founded in 1820, by Win. J. Young, who was 
succeeded by Allied Young, and in lssj, Allied ('. Young became 
sole proprietor, Mr. A. C. Young is a practical and scientific engi- 
neering instrument maker, fully conversant with all details and 
features of this valuable industry, and the requirements of the most 
critical patrons. The premises occupied comprise three spacious 
floors, which are fully supplied with every facility and appliance 
for the systematic conduct of the business. The manufacturing de- 
partments are equipped with the latest improved special tools and 
machinery, operated by steam power. Here 30 skilled workmen 
are employed and the trade of the house now extends not only 
throughout all sections of the United Stab- ami Canada, but also to 

Mexico, South America, China and Japan. In the salesrooms are 
constantly kept in stock all the instruments used by engineers and 
surveyors, including high grade transits and levels, for city, tunnel 
railroad and astronomical work. These instruments and specialties 
are unrivalled for accuracy, utility, rellablity and uniform excel- 
lence aud have no superiors in this country or Europe. Of such 
excellence and precision are these instruments that they were 
awarded a certificate and medal at the Centennial exhibition in 
1876. aud their popularity may be clearly understood when it is 
stated this house furnished the instruments for the survey of the 
Nicaragua canal. Mr. Young gives personal attention to all details 
of this extensive business and all ins t rumen ts are put to the sever- 
est test before shipment. The proprietor is a native of Philadel- 
phia, and is desirous that his native city shall lead in the future as 
it has in the past, in all leading improvements in thelrspecialline. 

turers Sheet, Brass and Nickle Silver, Etc., No. 17 North 
7th Street, A. P. Reger, Agent.— Prominent among the 
great industrial corporations of the United States, which 
have by permanently locating a branch in Philadelphia, added so 
materially to its influence as a source of supply, is the famous 
Benedict *fc Bumham Manufacturing Company, of Waterbury, 
Conn. The company's rolling mills and factories are the largest 
and best equipped of the kind in the world and furnish constant 
employment to 900 operatives. The Benedicts Burnham Manu- 
facturing Company, which was organized in 1812, manufacturers 
brass, copper and German silver in the roll, sheet, Hire, 
tube or casting, also seamless brass and copper tubing, brass and 
German silver leadings and fancy wires, silver plated metal, drop 
bandies aud knobs for furniture, patent safety pins, etc. They 
also turn out in vast quantities brass and copper rivets and 
burs, wrought brass butt hinges, brass and iron jack chaius, 
composition roller castings, printers' rules and galley plates, 
kerosene oil burners and lamp trimmings, etc. All goods and 
specialties manufactured by this noted company are unrivalled 
for finish, quality, reliability and general excellence, and have 
no superiors iu the American or European markets, while the 
prices quoted in all cases are extremely moderate. The Phila- 
delphia store, which is fully stocked with the company's - pro- 
ductions, is under the able and careful management of Mr. A. P. 
Reger, who has had charge for the last 23 years. He supplies cus- 
tomers in the middle states and south, and is greatly respected in 
trade circles for his promptness and integrity. The trade of the 
Benedict & Burnham Manufacturing Company is steadily increas- 
ing in all sections of the United States and Canada, owing to the 
superiority and excellence of its goods, which are general favorites 
wherever introduced. 

ufacturers of the Kane Sensitive Automatic Sprinkler, 
offices No. 2516 Kensington Avenue, and No. 411 Walnut 
Street; Win. Kane, President aud General Manager; 
H. C. Groome, Secretary and Treasurer.— This successful and 
reliable company was incorporated under the laws of Pennsyl- 
vania iu 1888, with a paid up capital of $100,000, and since its organ- 
ization has obtained a liberal and influential patronage. The Kane 
Automatic Sprinkler has recently been adopted by the Pennsyl- 
vania Railroad Company, after a thorough investigation of the 
subject as the best, and has been accepted by all fire insurance 
companies as equal to the best. It has been proved however, 
superior to any in simplicity of construction, in certainty of auto- 
matic action, in the distribution of water, in being absolutely non- 
corrosive, and in the compoundment of its level-, [by which the 
strain is practically removed from the solder joint, ami the pos- 
sibility of being burst open by water pressure in the absence of 
fire entirely obviated.; One hundred and twenty buildings are 
already equipped witli this automatic sprinkler iu Philadelphia 
and though there have been thirty-eight (38) fires, the average 
loss for fire has been ten dollars. Mr. Win. Kane, the inventor 
and patentee, is a thoroughly able and expert mechanical engineer 
and machinist, lb' is a native of Philadelphia and Is highly re- 
garded by the community for his skill, energy and integrity, fully 
meriting the signal success secured in this valuable industry 
which is constantly expanding its field of operation. 



COWPERTH WAIT & CO., Publishers, Nos. 62S and 650 Chestnut 
Street.— One of the oldest established firms of educa- 
tional publishers in Philadelphia, and ooe o( the most 
enterprising, able and influential in the United States, is 
that o! Messrs. Cowperthwait & Co. The business was established 
upwards of fifty years ago and the firm early became justly cele- 
brated for the excellence of their text books, accurate, lucid treat- 
ises on all branches of study, carefully brought down to date, and 
got up iu the highest style of the printers' and binders* arts. Upon 
the retirement of Mr. H. Cowperthwait after a long, honorable and 
useful career, his son, Mr. J. B. Cowperthwait, continued the busi- 
ness upon the old time basis of efficiency and enterprise. In 187:! 
the present firm of Cowperthwait & Co., was formed, composed of 
Mr. J. B. Cowperthwait, Mr. David Wetherby, and the late Mr. Dex- 
ter S. Stone. The decease of the latter gentleman occurred in 
1887, since which date the two surviving partners have continued 
the business. They occupy two entire floors, each 50 by 100 feet in 
dimensions, and where is carried one of the largest stocks of edu- 
cational works iu the city. Their series of text books covers read- 
ing, spelling, geography, physiology, chemistry, grammar, lan- 
guage and literature; history, mathematics, composition, book- 
keeping, etc. They have ever exercised the soundest judgment as 
to the authors of their educational series, and the most learned 
and able professors and teachers are called upon to write text 
books on the branches of learning in which they are recognized 
authorities. Hundreds of thousands of children have already 
received their primary grammar school education through the 
medium of these series of text books, and which are justly cele- 
brated and in demand all over the United States. Among the 
standard works now on the firms lists, we may mention Hagar's 
algebra and arithmetics, Eddy's geometry, Goodrich's and Berard's 
histories ot the United States, Greene's grammars and language 
series, Appleton's chemistries, Blaisdell's physiology, Warren's 
geographies with special editions for a number of the states, 
Monroe's, and Leach's spellers, and Monroe's series of readers, 
much the most complete and progressive of any, and which 
Include his famous reading charts (56 numbers) for primary 
classes. The firm are officially appointed contractors for the sup- 
ply of text books to many state boards of education and to thou- 
sands of the leading public and private schools in Pennsylvania, 
and all over the land, and the character and magnitude of their 
business is at once a benefit to this city and a lasting source of 
credit to this honored and responsible old publishing house. 

BUCHANAN, BROMLEY & CO., Manufacturers, Importers and 
Dealers in Photographic Materials, Nos. 1031) Arch Street, and 
lO'Ja Cuthbert Street.— For all descriptions of photographic 
materials, the headquarters both at wholesale and retail in 
Philadelphiaisat Messrs. Buchanan, Bromley &Co's., No. 1030 Arch 
Street. The business was founded in 18S1, the co-partners, Mr. \V. P. 
Buchanan, Mr. A. H. Bromley, and Mr. Benjamin Siedenbach, 
bringing to bear the widest range of practical experience coupled 
with perfected facilities for the supply of absolutely the best and 
most improved makes and brands of photographic apparatus, chemi- 
cals, accessories, etc. They are not only importers and dealers, but 
manufacturers of many important articles and have developed a 
trade of great magnitude, strictly on the basis of merit. They now 
have three en tire floors, each 24 feet by 120 in dimensions, and where 
both the professional and the amateur can best select what will meet 
their requirements. The firm carry full sizes of the celebrated I 'all 
meyer lenses, Novel, Success, Albion and Climax cameras; Fairy 
Bicycle, and the new Detective cameras ; amateur outfits at all 
prices, chemicals, Stanley and Keystone dry plates; posing chairs, 
accessories, field outfits, all literature on photography, etc., etc. 
There is nothing in use by the photographer which cannot be ob- 
tained here of the best quality and at most moderate prices. The 
firm are justly celebrated for their enterprise in securing every- 
thing of the latest improved character, and also for executing 
sound judgment in the selection of materials, so that the best re- 
sults and the most perfect pictures can always be obtained. Both 
photographers and amateurs should send for Messrs. Bpchanan, 
Bromley & Co."s handsome illustrated catalogues, which will give 
not only the prices, but full detailed descriptions of the goods, with 
methods of use. Ths firm is progressive and enterprising, alive to 
the rapid progress of the photographic art, and achieving a merit- 

ed success in retaining to Philadelphia such a large and growing 

JOHN SIMMONS' Paper and Kag Warehouse, Nos. 20 and 22 
Decatur Street.— Mr. Simmons is widely prominent as a buyer 
and seller of paper stock, and has been established in the 
business for upwards of thirty years, and has never given a 
promissory note in all that time. The utilitarian tendencies of this 
wonderfully progressive age are aptly illustrated iu the use now 
made of articles which were formerly thrown away or destroyed, 
as possessing no value whatever. From the discovery of pro- 
cesses, whereby these so-called w aste materials can be again made 
commercially available, has sprung up more than one great de- 
partment of business. The use of old rags and paper in the manu- 
facture of new is an example of what we mean that is familiar to 
all our readers. There are now in operation in this country over 
one thousand paper mills, turning out about one hundred million 
dollars' worth of paper every year, and nearly the whole of this 
immense business is based upon the utilization of what would 
otherwise be waste substances. An immense business has thus 
grown up of late years in the collection, sorting, packing and ship- 
ping of rags, waste paper and paper stock of all kinds, which in- 
dustry is well represented at Mr. Simmons' paper and rag ware- 
house. The building occupied for the business is four stories in 
height, 40x63 feet in dimensions, and an extensive business is 
transacted at both wholesale and retail. The highest prices are 
paid for paper, rags, shavings, metals, etc., which are supplied in 
immense quantities to mills throughout Pennsylvania and the 
eastern states. All sizes of book binders' boards are also kept in 
stock, or made promptly to order. To manufacturers this house 
offers superior inducements, in that it pays the highest prices for 
stock, and by the nature of its cash transactions accumulates the 
most desirable classes of goods and furnishes them in quantities to 
suit and at the most advantageous rates. As Philadelphia furnishes 
by its location especially favorable rates for shipment, the facili- 
ties offered by this house present themselves without further com- 
ment. Mr. Simmons is one of the old and honored paper men of 
the city, honored and respected in all the various relations of life, 
and has built up a prosperous business by energy, industry and 
thoroughly legitimate methods. 

WILLIAM WURFFLEIN, Manufacturer of the " Wurfflein " 
Breech- Loading Sporting. Target and Gallery Rifle, No. 
208 North Second Street.— A leading headquarters in this 
city for guns, targets and general sporting goods is the 
establishment of Mr. William Wurffiien, located at No. 208 North 
Second Street. This gentleman enjoys a national reputation as 
the manufacturer of the celebrated '"Wurfflein" breech-loading, 
sporting target and gallery rifle, and also as an extensive whole- 
sale and retail dealer in ammunition, sporting goods, fishing tackle, 
etc. The business was founded in 1843, by Mr. Andrew Wurfflein, 
who was succeeded by his son, the present proprietor, in 1S70. The 
business premises comprise a large four-story factory, and spacious 
salesrooms, and steady employment is given In the season to a 
force of twenty-five skilled and expert hands. The factory is 
equipped with new and improved machinery and ample steam 
power, and every modern facility is at hand tending to insure rapid 
and perfect production. This is the second oldest house in its line 
here, and the only one in the city manufacturing guns and targets 
by steam power. It has been operated for forty-three years on this 
same site, and is a veritable landmark in the history of the past, 
as well as a prime factor in the commerce ot the present. The 
proprietor does not aim to transact a clap trap business, advertis- 
ing one thing and selling another, but deals squarely and fairly 
with all men. He guarantees every article as represented, and 
possesses unsurpassed facilities for executing all orders with 
promptness and dispatch. His experience in the manufacture of 
the finest gallery target and sporting rifle and "sporting target ex- 
tant warrants his goods, in every point of excellence ot material, 
mechanism, simplicity and shooting qualities, to be unexcelled. 
His goods in all departments are the best to be found any where, 
while inducements are constantly offered to the trade and the 
public, as regards terms and prices, which defy competition. 
Mr. Wurfflein is a native Philadelphia!!, and recognized in 
commercial and trade circles as an accomplished manufacturer. 



South Eleventh Street, Win. B. Bement, President; John W. 
Francis. Treasurer and Secretary: Franklyn A. Lee, Man- 
ager.— Tills representative company was incorporated under 
the laws of New Jersey, in 1888, with ample capital, for the pur- 
pose of Introducing absolutely correct time in the city or Philadel- 
phia. The Spellier Electric Time Company has secured the sole 
ownership of all letters patent granted to Louis H. Spellier, relat- 
ing to the subject of electric time distribution. It leases clocks 
at very reasonable rates, and furnishes correct time to its patrons. 
By the Spellier system of electric time distribution, any number 
of clocks or clock circuits can be electrically controlled from one 
well regulated master clock at the central station, without impos- 
ing upon subscribers, the slightest care for the time piece upon 
which he depends for the transaction of his daily business. The 
company has arranged for the daily corrections of its master 
clock at the central station by astronomical observations, thereby 
securing to its subscribers absolutely correct time. The company's 
electric clock works can be used in all kinds of clock cases from 
the cheapest to the most elaborate. A feature of special interest 
in the Spellier system is the device of controlling tower clocks of 
any dimensions by purely electrical means. The price of rental 
varies according to the styles and sizes of the clocks, and covers 
the whole cost of attaching and maintaining, thus entirely reliev 
ing patrons of all care and expense of cleaning and repairing 
clocks. Special attention is paid by the company to the establish- 
ment of plants, and the equipment of factories and all institu- 
tions, where the wires of the company's central station do not 
reach, and where uniform time is required in different localities. 
The following gentlemen, who are widely known and highly 
esteemed in business circles for their enterprise, executive ability 
and just methods, are the officers and directors: Wm. B. Bement, 
president; John W. Francis, secretary and treasurer; Directors: 
Wm. B. Bement, Win. A. Redding, Henry B. Cutter, Horace Geiger, 
Horace A. Pinkham. William Bault, Frederick Schorl, Lindley M. 
Garrison, John T. Roberts; Executive committee: Wm. A. Red- 
ding, Win. B. Bement, H. B. Cutter, Horace Geiger. Louis H. 
Spellier, Electrician: F. A. Lee, Manager. The Spellier system 
was awarded the Elliot Cresson Medal by the Franklin Institute 
of the state of Pennsylvania. Further details, etc., are cheer- 
fully furnished at the company's office No. 27 South Eleventh 
Street, on application. 

RF. BANCROFT & SON, Builders' Iron Works, Contractors 
for Iron Fronts, Columns, Etc.. Nos. 1109 and 1111 Locust 
Street.— Iron is the modern building material. Keep it 
properly painted, and after years of exposure to the wind 
and weather an iron front will be as perfect as on the day of erec- 
tion. Iron for building purposes possesses unsurpassed advant- 
ages for strength, durability, economy and adaptability to ornament 
and decoration. No other material is so valuable after it has 
served its original purpose, as it may be cast into new forms and 
adapted to new uses. In connection with these statements special 
reference is made in this commercial review to the old 
established and reliable firm of Messrs. R. F. Bancroft & Son, 
whose iron works are located at Nos. 1109 and 1111 Locust Street. 
The premises occupied comprise a spacious and substantial four- 
story building 4Sx»0 feet in dimensions. The various workshops 
are fully supplied with the latest improved machinery, tools and 
appliances. Ueie thirtyskillcd mechanics and operatives are em- 
ployed, and the machinery is driven by steam power. Messrs. R. 
F. Bancroft & Son contract for and construct iron fronts and roofs, 
columns, girders, WTOUght-iron beams and roof trusses, vault- 
lights, fireproof doors and shutters and all kinds of general build- 
ing iron work. All iron work turned out is unrivalled for quality 
of materials, finish, strength and workmanship by that of any 
other first class house in the trade. The flrmpromptly rill orders at 
the lowest possible prices, and their tiade extends throughout 
all sections of Pennsylvania, New Jersey and Delaware. Messrs 
R. F. Bancroft & Sou constructed and put in the iron work into 
the following buildiugs, gi * ing entire satisfaction to patrons, viz: 
Manufacturing Club. Philadelphia Library. Penn L', Bank of the 
Republic, United Security, Brown, Wood ,\ Co., also in the N. J. 
s if.- Deposits Trust Co's, Camden City Hall, Wilmington Station. 
B. & (). R. R.. Wilmington Court House, lehigh Valley Stat , 

Mauch Chunk, Pa., University Building. Bethlehem, Pa., and 
many others. Mr. R. F. Bancroft Is a native of Cape May. N. J., 
while Mr. Chas. R. Bancroft was born in Philadelphia. Both part- 
ners are highly regarded in trade circles for their mechanical 

ability and integrity, and may justly be considered as thoroughly 
identified with the best interests of Philadelphia. 

822 Chestnut Street, Benjamin .Miller, President; Edward 
Hoopes, Vice President; It. X. McOarter, Jr., Secretary 
and Treasurer.— This representative and progressive com* 

pany was incorporated in lSSo under the laws of Pennsylvania 
with a paid up capital of $500,000, and has since built up an influ- 
ential, liberal and permanent patronage. The Philadelphia 

Mcu'tgage and Trust Company acts as executor, administrator, 
agent, or trustee under appointment by the courts, for corpora- 
tions or individuals. It takes charge of the property of absentees, 
collects and remits income promptly and executes trusts of every 
description known to the law. Trust funds are always kept sep- 
arate and distinct from the assets of the company. Th>- cash 
department of the company is a thoroughly organized banking 
institution, affording every facility except the discounting of com- 
mercial paper. Loans being made on approved marketable collat- 
eral, and deposits being received subject to check at sight. Spe- 
cial deposits can be made for fixed periods at rates of interest to 
be agreed on. The Philadelphia Mortgage and Trust Company 
also deals in first mortgages on improved Western farms and city 
property, and issues five per cent, real estate trust bonds and sells 
at six per cent, interest with their guarantee attached. All its 
investments are made with the greatest care and judgment, while 
its ventures of capital are always well secured. The company has 
a branch in Omaha. The following gentlemen, who are highly 
regarded in business and financial circles for th»-ir prudence, 
executive ability, and just methods are the officers and directors: 
Benjamin Miller, president; Edward Hoopes, vice president; R. 
T. McCarter, Jr., secretary and treasurer. Directors: Benjamin 
Miller, Charles Piatt, Edward Hoopes, Joseph . Harris, Winthrop 
Smith, Charles Huston. Charles L. Bailey, Francis B. Reeves, jno. 
H. Catherwood, Geo. D. McCreary, Chas. H. Banes, Win. H. Ing- 
bam, Thos. Woodnutt, Alan Wood, Jr., Joseph L. Caven. In con- 
clusion we.would add, that the Philadelphia Mortgage and Trust 
Company by an honorable and conservative course has secured a 
prominent position among the solid and responsible institutions of 
the state, and fully merits the confidence of the community. 


ERCHANT& CO., Importers of Tin Plate. Metals. Sheet_ 
Copper and Brass, etc , Nos. 51" Arch street, and 512 
and 514 Cherry Streets.— One of the most noted and 
prominent houses in the United States, extensively 
engaged in the importation of tin plate and all kinds of metals, 
is that of Merchant & Co., whose offices and salesrooms 
are situated at No. 517 Arch Street, and Nos. 512 and 521 
Cherry Streets. The firm have also extensive houses in New 
York, Chicago and London, England. This business was established 
in 1805, by Mr. Clarke Merchant, and eventually in 1888. Mr. 
Henry W. Merchant was admitted into partnership, the firm being 
still conducted under the old style and title of Merchants Co. Both 
partners have had great experience in the metal trade, and pos- 
sess an accurate knowledge of the requirements of the Ameri- 
can market. The premises occupied comprise a spacious 
four-story building 25x203 feet in area, fully equipped with 
every appliance and facility for the accommodation of the 
immense and valuable stock, which has no superior in this country 
or Europe. They are manufacturers' agents for the " Gilbert son's 
MM Method " and "Camaret" brands of guaranteed roofing 
plates, and also manufacture fine babbit, and anti friction mi tal, 
solders, sheet copper and brass, seamless and brazed brass and 
copper tubes. Messrs Merchant & Co., handle only the best and 
most desirable metal goods and specialties, this being the pi . 
adopted in tin- beginning and which has always been adhered to. 
Their trade mm extends throughout the entire Cnited States and 
Canada The firm employ twelve traveling salesmen, seventy 
clerks, assistants, etc., in their warehouse. The partners are 
widely known as honorable business men, and the p- rmanent 
trad.- they have secured is but a just tribute to their character 



RIEHLE BROS, Manufacturers of Scales, Testing Machines, 
Trucks Etc., No. 413 Market Street.— The oldest established 
firm of scale manufacturers in the United States, and un- 
questionably the leading representatives in their line are 
Messrs. Riehle Bios, of this city, both as regards their facilities, 
experience and the wonderful record of their scales and testing 
machines for uniform accuracy and durability. The important 
business interests or which they are proprietors, include not only 
the manufacture of scales of all kinds, testing machines, etc., but 
alsu iron founding and general machinist work. The busiuess was 
found i! in 1SI3 by Messrs. Elliott & Abbott, who early developed 
a national reputation for their scales. In 1346 they were succeeded 
by the hi ,n of Messrs. Abbott 4 Co., followed by Mr. A B. Davis as 
sole proprietor, and eventually in 1S67 he was succeeded by tire 

present firm or Messrs. Kiehle Bros. Their works are located at 
Ninth Street above Master, and are extensive and fully equipped 
with tiie latest Improved machinery and appliances and affording 
employment to a numerous force of skilled hands. They here 
manufacture platform, warehouse, store and other scales; includ- 
ing special lines for railroads, blast furnaces, rolling mills, cattle 
and drove yard-;, etc. The workmanship is thorough, the materials 
are the very best, and the scales are all set with the utmost scien- 
tiilc accuracy, notably so. and in this respect in advance of any 
other make in the world. The firm ihas achieved international cele- 
brity not only for its scales but also for its famous "Harvard " 
testing machines from 10,000 to 200,000 pounds capacity, manufac- 
tured to work by screw or hydraulic power adapted to the testing 
of chain, wire and hemp rope, bridge bolts, iron and steel rods and 
wire, iron and steel boiler plate, leather belting etc., by tensile 
stram. And for the testing of car springs, iron, steel, wood etc., by 
transverse and compression strains, Riehl6's are the official testing 
machines every where, and over 300 are now in vise in the United 
States ami foreign countries. Tests of material are. made daily at 
the firm's works by their experts, and certificates thereof are dnly 
furnished. Reports are copied and all statistics kept strictly con- 
fidential. With their splendid facilities at command Messrs. 
Richie Bros, are prepared to manufacture special scales and 
trucks for every purpose, and gladly furnish estimates on a 1 
classes of scale and foundry work. Their establishment is the 
most complete of its kind in the United States. A model in every 
way, combining, not only foundry and machine shop, but also 

pattern makers\c:irpenreiV and blacksmiths'shops, besides polish- 
ing, Japanning and painting rooms iu couuectiou with their scale 
and testing machine departments. All classes of new work and 
repairing can be dune by them in the best maimer and by the 
most skilful workmen at lowest prices. Their store at No. 413 
Market Street, is spacious and handsomely furnished and contains 
the most complete and extensive stock or scales, refrigerators, 
filters and coolers, laboratory, yam and silkscales iu use by nearly 
all leadiug concerns in above branches of trade. The firm's scales, 
etc., are fouud on sale in all the great cities of the Union, and will 
be found to give the best satisfaction of any make. The proprie- 
tors are natives of Philadelphia, business men of marked ability, 
high scientific attainments and equitable methods, and are worthy 
representatives of their important branch of trade. 

H KAMPE, & CO., Furniture, No. S33 Market Street— In the 
furnishing of our modern dwellings, the tastes ami ten- 
, dencies of the times are seen to have influenced produc- 
tion in many ways. Instead of the bare walls, formal 
distribution of a few pieces of stiff and solemn looking furniture, 
and empty corners, characteristic of 
the American house of thirty or forty 
years ago, we find a widely prevailing, 
universal appreciation of handsome, 
attractive furnishings, odd bits of fur- 
niture, and ornamental pieces for- 
merly unknown. An old-established 
and popula'- house engaged in the fur- 
niture trade in this city is that or 
Messrs. H. Kampe A Co., whose busi- 
ness quarters are located at No. 833 
Market Street. The business of the 
concern was founded in 1866 by Mr. H. 
Kampe. this house being the second 
oldest in its line on Market Street, and 
he has since continued the enterprise 
under the above firm, style. Re has 
won an extensive first-class patronage 
from residents of the city and the sur- 
rounding country, and has become an 
acknowledged leader in the trade. 
The fine premises occupied consist of 
a brick building having four Hours, 
each 20x200 feet in dimensions, and ar 
ranged throughout in the most con- 
venient manner for the display and 
SSpS*= handling of goods and the accommo- 
dation of patrons. The. heavy stock 
carried embraces a complete assortment ol parlor, bedroom, 
dining room, kitchen, hall, and lihrary furniture of every descrip- 
tion", made in a vast variety of styles, and all representing the best 
class of workmanship in this line. A staff of efficient clerks assist 
Mr. Kampe, and all customers are waited upon promptly. 

nut SI 

EORGE N. BELL, Civil and Sanitary Engineer, No. 427 Wal- 
Street. — The gentleman whose name heads this sketch 
a reputation for skill as a civil and sanitary engin- 
eer that gives him a place at once at the head of his pro- 
fession. He is without doubt one of the foremost exponents of 
both branches of the art indicated in Philadelphia, and has done 
some notable pieces of work in and around the city, among others 
the landscape features of the Bradford Hills and Huntingdon 
Parks and the sanitary engineering of the Methodist Episcopal 
Orphanage and the Sanitarium at Danville, Pa. Mr. Bell, who is a 
comparatively young man, was born in Brooklyn, N. Y., and has 
resided In this city since 1886. He is a thoroughly, practical, and 
export civil and sanitary engineer, experienced in his profession, 
and prior to coming to Philadelphia hud been in the Government 
service at Newport for some years on river and harbor improve- 
ments. Mr. Bell occupies well appointed offices ar No. 427 Walnut 
Street where he employs an efficient corps of assistants an.d is 
prepared to give professional service in all matters pertaining to 
sanitary and landscape engineering. Mr. Bell is an active mem- 
ber of the American Public Health Association and Engineers' 
Club of Philadelphia. 



and 319 Chestnut Street.— In no respect lias Hie clt} nl Phila- 
delphia developed a greater degree ol Influence audproj ress 
than in that of her banking (acuities, are in every way of a 
thoroughly representative and conservative character. Prominent 
among the largest and most substantial hanks in tins city, is the 
Fust National, Nos. 815,817 and S19 Chestnut Street. Tills hank 
lias the honor of being the first one that was organized under the 
National banking laws, its application for a charter having been 
tiled in the early part ol 1863. It commenced operations July 1S63, 
and was at once successful in obtaining confidence, support and 
business, and its career reflects great credit upon the conservative 
judgment and executive ability displayed in its management. The 
paid up capital of the hank is $1,000,000, which has been further 
augmented by a surplus of $500,000. A general banking business is 
transacted, the accounts of banks, bankers, corporations, manu- 
facturers, merchants and individuals are received upon favorable 
terms, while every system, which tends to benefit financial opera- 
tions is followed, and that its efforts are duly appreciated by the 
mercantile community, is clearly shown by its exteusive and in- 
fluential patronage. The bank makes collections on available 
points in the United states, Canada and Europe, issues travellers' 
and commercial letters of credit, discounts first-class commercial 
paper, makes telegraphic transfers of money, deals hi Government 
anil other bonds. Its investments are made with care and judg- 
ment, while its ventures of capital are always well secured. It is 
ably officered, and its board of directors is more than usually 
prominent and popular in financial and mercantile circles. The 
list is as follows: George Pliiller, president : Morton McMicliael. 
cashier; Kenton Warne, assistant cashier ; directors: George Pliil- 
ler, S. A. Caldwell, James A. Wright, Thomas Drake, Henry C. 
Gibson. John F. Betz, J. Tatnall Lea. Mr. Pliiller lias been presi- 
dent since 1873, and Mr. McMicliael. the cashier, has held office 
from the foundation of the bank. They are both able and ener- 
getic bank officers, with every qualification for their responsible 
positions. The business of the Fust National is steadily increas- 
ing ami its deposits at the present date amount to 57,000,000.00, 
while its future prospects are of the most encouraging nature. 
The principal correspondents are the First National of Boston, 
First National of New York, First National of Chicago, and First 
National of Baltimore. 

TP. CHANDLER, Architect, No. 323 Chestuut Street.— The 
architectural advancement made during the last few 
years in the United States, is as remarkable for Its beauty 
as it is for utility and stability. Here in Philadelphia the 
work of our leading architects is of a character to elicit the warm- 
est commendations of the public and the favorable opinions of 
critical experts. A prominent member of the profession is Mr. T. 
P. Chandler, whose offices and draughting rooms are located at 
No. 328 Chestnut Street. Mr. Chandler is devoted to his profes- 
sion, and has designed the plans for and superintended the erec- 
tion of a number of the finest and handsomest buildings in Phila- 
delphia and its vicinity. Establishing himself in the city in 1S75, 
he has brought to hear the experience of many years' close study 
and practical application of the science and art of the skilled 
architect, and lias also evinced marked originality and ability in 
dealing with the difficult and ever varying problems and require- 
ments of the building enterprises contracted for. The following 
building, were designed and erected by Mr. Chandler, viz: 
Brown, Bros.. &■ Co., banking house No. 328 Chestuut Street : Lou 
don, Liverpool & Globe Insurance Company's building. Walnut 
Street; Commercial Union Assurance Company's building. Wal- 
nut Street: The Pennsylvania Mutual Life Insurance Company's 
buildmgon Chestnut Street, which is one of the finest buildings of 
its kind ; the handsome church corner of Thirty-seventh and Chest- 
nut Streets and a great number of other magnificent chuiv lies ; das. 
P. Scott's mansion, Walnut Street: Court House, Wilmington, Dela- 
ware: asylum for deaf mutes. Seranton. Pa., and numbers ol others. 
These buildings are greatly admired by experts for their stability 
and elegance. Mr. Chandler makes the same careful study of the 
interior requirements nf his buildings asof their exteriors, his com. 
putations are accurate, his plans thoroughly practical, while his 
style of architecture Is pure and symmetrical. His aim is always 
to secure to the owner the nest results within the limits of esti- 

mates, and ins el,-,,- adherence to specifications and careful super- 
vision of builders and contractors point him out as a sound con- 
servative business man, a. well as an architect of the highest pro- 
fessional attainments. Mr. Chandler was born in Boston, Mass. 
lie is president of the Philadelphia Chapter of the American 
In -td ute of Architects, a member of the Union League and several 
other organizations, and at the same time is one of Philadelphia's 
progressive and public spirited citizens. 

TOWNSEND WIIKI.KN & CO., Bankers and Stock Brokers, No. 
::i" Walnut Street.— This house was founded by Chamley 
& Wheleu In 1837, who were succeeded by E. S. Wheleni 
Co. Eventually in i s, i'j the firm of Townsend whelen & Co., 
assumed the management. In 1875, Mr. Townsend Whelen -lied 
after a successful ami honorable career, and the business is now- 
conducted by Messrs. Henry, Wm. N., Henry, Jr., and Charles S. 
Wheleu, under the old firm name of Townsend Whelen & Co. The 
partners are active members of the Philadelphia and New York 
Stock Exchanges. They bring great experience to bear, and 
possess an accurate know ledge of the stock and money markets. 
Messrs. Townsend Whelen & Co., possess exceptional facilities for 
the prompt filling of all orders for the purchase and sale for cash 
or on margin of all securities listed on the exchange, etc., of Phila- 
delphia, New York, Boston, Chicago, San Francisco, and also 
abroad, including government, railroad bonds and stocks. The 
firm likewise transact a general banking business, receiving de- 
posits subject to check at sight, allowing interest on balances, and 
they also act as financial agents for banks, bankers, corporations 
and private individuals making collections on the most favorable 
terms. Theirs is strictly a commission business in the purchase 
and sale of stocks and bonds and they make a specialty of desa 
able dividend paying investment securities. The firm are agents 
for the New England Loan it Trust Co, of Des Moines, Iowa, si* per 
ceut mortgage ami debenture bonds. They also pay the coupons 
and interest or the Allegheny Valley Railroad Company, the 
Richmond, Fredericksburg it Potomac Railroad Company, thecities 
of Pittsburg, Allegheny, Altoona, Oil City, etc. Their corres- 
pondents in New Y'ork are Messrs. Wlnslow, Lanier &Co., Morton, 
Bliss & Co., Marqnond Darly, and several other leading firms. 
The firm undertake likewise the marketing of securities for rail- 
road companies and other corporations. They number among 
their permanent patrons many of our leading capitalists and in- 
vestors, and to-day are classed among the prominent banking 
ard brokerage firms of the country. 

JN.S F. A. DONALDSON, Insurance, No. 216 South Third 
Street.— One of the ablest and most successful insurance 
t firms in Philadelphia is that of Messrs. J. N". & P. A. Don- 
aldson, whose office is eligibly located at No. 216 South 
Third Street. The junior partner, F. A. Donaldson, was a member 
of the firm of l'revost, Herring & Co., from which he withdrew and 
opened an office on his own account. On January 1st. 1889, he 
associated his brother, Mr. Jacob N. Donaldson, formerly of the 
Heaton & Deuckla Hardware Company, to form the present firm. 
They are prepared to transact a general insurance business, in 
fire, life, marine, accident, boiler and plate glass insurance, and 
have built up a large business both in this city and in New York. 
They promptly place the largest lines of insurance at lowest rates, 
the risks being well distributed among responsible companies. 
They control the insuring of desirable lines of business and resi- 
dential property in Philadelphia and vicinity, and they have become 
deservedly popular with all classes of property-holders. Their 
connections with Insurance corporations both at borne and abroad 
are of the most superior character, their methods will be found 
thoroughly fair anil equitable, while they have acquired a high 
reputation for the promptitude with which they settle and adjust 
all losses. The Messrs. Donaldson are both nativesand well-known 
citizens of Philadelphia, and still in the active prime of life. Mr. 
F. A. Donaldson served three years in the late war. enlisting as a 
private and being promoted to a captaincy, and was wounded in 
battle and a prisoner in Libby Prison for four months. He i~ a 
member of Post No. 2. G. A. R., the Loyal Legion and the Tariff 
Association, and a recognized authority upon insurance matl -- 
Mr. J. N. Don aid. son also sei \ed in the war as a.i emergency man, 
and is a member of Post No l, G. A. It. 



Street, Win. Wood, P 
flent: Hartman Bak 

, President ; James Whitaker, Vice Presi- 
aker. Casliier; Herbert B. Tyson, Assis- 
tant Cashier.— The importance of Philadelphia as a great 
financial centre, is forcibly demonstrated by the record and solid 
prosperity other leading banks. Commercial stability is largely 
dependent on the extended facilities accorded by these fiscal 
institutions, and they are intimately linked with the growth of 
every interest in the city and Pennsylvania. Prominent among 
the substantial and progressive banks of Philadelphia, is the 
Merchants National Bank whose, banking offices, are centrally 
located at No. 108 South Fourth Street. This bank was duly or- 
ganized under the National banking laws, and opened its doors 
for business, March 23d, 1884. From the day of its organization to 
the present date, it has eujoyed a prosperous career, and this 
fact speaks volumes for the sound conservative judgment displayed 
in its management. The Merchants National Bank has a paid up 
capital of S&no.OW, while its surplus and individual profits now 
aggregate $123,311.95. Its board of directors is as follows: 
William Wood, of William Wood & Co.; James Whitaker, of 
William Whitaker & Sons: George H. Stuart, John Wanamaker, 
James S. Moore, of Gloucester Manufacturing Co. : K. Williams, Jr., 
of Thomas Dolan & Co. ; James H. Gay, of John Gay's Sons ; 
Andrew C. Sinn, late of Hood, Bonbright & Co. ; John Boyd, of 
Boyd, White & Co.; W. S. McCahan, of W. J. McCahan & Co.; 
William H. Arrott, insurance: William H. Scott, of Allen, Lane & 
Scott: F. W. Ayer, of N. W. Ayer & Son. The above named gentle- 
men are influential and prominent in commercial circles, their 
names are synonymous with stability and integrity, and there is 
no fiscal institution in the city thatenjoysgreaterconfidence. The 
president, Mr. William Wood, is recognized as one of Philadelphia's 
ablest financiers. Mr. James Whitaker, the vice president, and 
Mr. Hartman Baker, the cashier, have had great practical exper- 
ience and are eminently qualified for their important positions. 
The Merchants National Bank transacts a general business, and 
receives on favorable terms the accounts of banks, bankers, co- 
porations, merchants and individuals. It has large and remunera- 
tive lines of loans and discounts and makes extended collections, 
while it numbers among its correspondents the following banks 
in New York City: Continental National Bank, Hanover National 
Bank, National Bank of the Republic, Mercantile National Bank, 
United States National Bank; Third National Bank, Baltimore, 
Md.; National Revere Bank, Boston, Mass. The deposits of the 
bank now amount to $3, 129,000 and its future prospects are of the 
most favorable and encouraging character. 

turers, Importers and Dealers in Paper, Nos. 30, 32 and 34 
South Sixth Street, and Nos 600, 602 and 604 Jayne Street.— 
Philadelphia, the home of the printers' art in America, has 
ever been celebrated as headquarters in the wholesale paper 
trade, and the largest leading house in the line, is that of Messrs. 
A. G. Elliot & Co., Nos. 30, 32 and 34 South Sixth Street, and pro- 
prietors of the " Rose Glen " paper mills, and importers and deal- 
ers in papers of every description, chemicals, etc., etc., The busi- 
ness is very old established, having been founded by Mr. Charles 
Megargee in 1853, succeeded by Messrs. J. G. Ditman & Co. These 
firms early achieved an enviable reputation for the superiority of 
their stock and product. In 1884, Messrs. A. G. Elliot and J. B. 
Mitcher, succeeded to the proprietorship under the existing name 
and style. This firm brought to bear every possible qualification 
for the successful carrying on of this difficult branch of trade, in- 
cluding wide range of experience, perfected facilities and influen- 
tial connections. They have developed a trade of great magnitude 
and being agents for over thirty of the leading paper mills of the 
United States are prepared to promptly fill the largest orders for 
all descriptions of paper, including hook, news, writing and blot- 
ting paper, matillla papers, paper bags. etc. .also card-board, binders, 
board, etc. Their prominent specialties for which they are inter- 
nationally celebrated are water-proof parchment paper, paper 
mailing tubes, and American matrix The special attention is 
called of the trade and of producers ami manufacturers of butter, 
Cheese and lard, fish packers, ham and sausage dealers, cracker, 
biscuit and cake bakers, grocers ami tea dealers, tobacco and 
Cigar manufacturers and a host of other lines of business to their 

parchment paper as produced by their Rose Glen paper mills. It 
is made from the choicest linen and cotton fibre in every way, so 
far superior to the wax papers as to forever banish them fiom use 
when the parchment paper is once tried. Paper that is waxed is 
easily rendered useless, acids and juices decompose the wax, w hile 
the wax paper is fragile and may injuriously affect the contents 
of package. On the contrary, parchment paper is unaffected by 
liquors or oils, becomes like vellum when dampened and is pref- 
erable in all cases to wax paper, tin foil, muslin, etc. Almost all 
branches of industry are benefitted by the use of this paper. In 
addition to the lines of trade previously mentioned, it is in rapidly 
increasing use by seedsmen and florists, soap makers, refrigerator 
makers and sugar refiners for lining cases and barrels, druggists, 
perfumers and confectioners, provision dealers, powder makers; 
hospitals in place of oiled silk; boxmakersfor lining paper, straw 
and wood boxes; and to hotels, restaurants, caterers, etc., for 
wrapping lunches, sandwiches, cakes, pies, oysters, ice cream, etc. 
Nothing so good, so clean, cheap and popular. Us absolute purity 
Is guaranteed. The mills are situated at Pascal Station and are 
extensive and fully equipped, having a capacity of two and one- 
half tons of parchment paper per day, twenty -five hands find 
employment there, and fully fifty at their warehouse, an immense 
five-story and basement structure, 50x100 feet, and where the most 
desirable stock of paper of all kinds is carried, adapted to every 
requirement. This is the leading and largest concern of the kind 
in Pennsylvania, and the co-partners are to be congratulated upon 
the large measure of success attending their ably directed efforts. 

JF. HOBSON & CO., Fruit and Produce Commission Mer- 
chants, No. 262 South FroutStreet; Warehouse. No. UOSpruoe 
Street.— The trade in general produce is undoubtedly one of 
the most important in Philadelphia and the city is well re- 
presented in this respect by a large number of responsible and re- 
liable houses devoted to this branch of commerce. Among this 
number is that of Messrs. J. F. Hobson <fc Co., whose office and 
salesroom are located at No. 262 South Front Street, and with 
warehouse at No. 110 Spruce Street. The business was founded In 
1372 by Mr. Hobson who conducted it alone until 1884, when the 
present co-partnership was formed with J. D. Fleming Both gen- 
tlemen bring to bear the widest range or practical experience and 
are noted for their responsibility and integrity. We recommend 
them to the growers and shippers all over the United States as 
produce commission merchants with special facilities at command. 
They have an extensive and influential connection throughout the 
producing sectionsof the south. New York, New Jersey. Delaware, 
Maryland and Pennsylvania, which enables them to promptly dis- 
pose of the largest consignments at top prices ; prompt account 
sales are rendered and all consignments will have the best 
personal attention, liberal advances being made on them when re- 
quired. The premises occupied on South Front Street comprise a 
superior four-story building 25x75 feet in size which they have oc- 
cupied for the past four years and which is fitted with every 
necessary appliance. Messrs. J. F. Hobson & Co., are heavy re- 
ceivers of all kinds of fruits and vegetables, the firm making a 
specialty of southern fruits and vegetables, especially in peaches 
and berries, the house having the largest peach trade in the city 
They are active and popular members of the Produce Exchange 
and thus give customers the benefit of the widest range of market. 
All orders are promptly and satisfactorily filled. Mr. Hobson is a 
native of Delaware and has lived in Philadelphia rorthepast seven- 
teen years, while Mr. Fleming is a native of New Hampshire and 
has resided in th<* city for twenty years, having been engaged in 
this line of business with his father-in law for sixteen years. 
Enterprising and progressive, pursuing a liberal, honorable policy 
the house of Messrs. J. F. Hobson & Co.. is one in every way 
worthy of patronage and relations once entered into with them 
will not only prove pleasant but lasting and permanent. Its stand- 
ing will be understood when we say that, it refers to such eminent 
concerns as the Farmers' Bank, Dover, Delaware; Smyrna Bank, 
Smyrna, Delaware; the Produce National Bank, Philadelphia: 
Johnson & Stokes, seed merchants, Philadelphia ; Dr. S. D. Smoke, 
Micanopy. Fla. ; D. K. Rawlins, real estate, Gainesville, Fla ; 
Maj. John Mullins, Norfolk, Va.; and many others. The house Is 
well situated fin- the sale of southern fruits and consignments are 
disposed of quickly, returns being made on the day of sale. 



HENRY E. MILLER, Real Estate and Conveyancing: Law 
and Collection Agency, No. 241 South Fifth Street.— Among 
the many occupations enjoin;; the attention of the active 
business men in this populous city there are noue of more 
importance than that of the law and collection, and real estate 
and conveyancing. Among those prominently identified with all of 
these branches we And Mr. Henry E. Miller. Dining the past five 
years he has established a tine reputation, secured connections or 
the most substantial character, and obtained a thriving patronage 
In transactions and operations he has shown an adaptability to the 
needs of his client.s, and possessing a valuable experience in every 
branch of his business, he has achieved a well earned popularity, 
for sagacity, promptness, and honorable methods. Mr. Miller is 
widely known as a law and collection agent. Collections of new, 
old or doubtful claims are safely made in any part of the world, 
and the methods employed by him have insured the approval of 
his patrons. No remittances are delayed and all returns are 
promptly made and satisfaction guaranteed. By a system devised 
and introduced by him he is conferring inestimable benefits upon 
the community. The rates of charges for collections are very 
reasonable, and the success which has crowned Mr. Miller's efforts 
iu this direction leave no doubt of the efficacy of the system he has 
adopted and put into practice. Mr. Miller also negotiates loans on 
bond and mortgage, leases houses, buildings, and lands, buys, 
sells and exchanges city and suburban property, collects rentals, 
examines titles, takes care of and manages estates, attends to con- 
veyancing and all branches pertaining to the business. He 
is a young energetic man of experience and enterprise, and 
is fully competant both by education and natural ability to 
conduct operations in his especial line of business. He inspires 
at the same time the confidence, consideration and esteem 
of the public, whose interests are greatly enhanced by his labor. 
He is a Fhiladelphian by birth and popularly known in commercial 
and financial circles. 

LISSER & SON. Manufacturers of Fine Cigars. No. 237 South 
Fifth Street.— Among the various interests which diversify 
the industries of Philadelphia, none deserve more promiuent 
mention than that of cigar making. It is one that gives 
employment to a large number of operatives, and in many ways 
forms an important item in estimating the manufacturing and 
commercial importance of this enterprising and thriving city. 
The house whose name forms the caption of this article is a new 
recruit among the many followers of this Industry, ami starting as 
they do with the aim and purpose to make only an honest cigar 
worthy of the good opinion of smokers and to scrupulously main- 
tain the high character of their brands, their success, under such 
auspices, may rather be regarded as a foregone conclusion than 
otherwise. Messrs. Lisser >£ Son with this object have secured a 
spacious and commodious floor, 20x100 feet in dimensions, equipped 
with every modern convenience for the different processes of 
cigar manufacture. Their specialties, are " La Perfectos," " Fink 
Pearl," "MatchMe," " Elegantos " and"Edenia" brands, which, 
viewed, from the purity of their material and excellence in point 
of manufacture, seem destined to speedily become popular 
throughout the United States. The individual members of 
the firm are Messrs. Oscar A. Lisser and Alonzo I.isser, his 
son. the former a gentleman of twenty-eight years exper- 
ience in the trade, and formerly foreman for the well known 
cigar house of Goldsmith & Co.. the latter an experienced sales- 
man in the same line. Such adjuncts, blended with the energy 
and perseverance necessary for success, leaves no room to doubt 
the prosperous career of the house of Lisser & Son. and can con- 
fidently predict their rise to pre-eminence in their line at no 
very distant date. 

SULLIVAN & BROTHER. Importers of Hosiery. Gloves and 
Notions, No. 410 Market Street.— This extensive business 
was established in 1SIV5 by Messrs. Jeremiah J., and James 
F. Sullivan, both of whom bring great practical experience 
to bear, coupled with an Intimate know ledge of the requirements 
of the American market. The premises occupied, comprise a 
spacious four-Story building 25x150 feet in area, fully supplied 
with every appliance and convenience for the. successful and syste- 
matic conduct of this steadily increasing business. The firm handle 

only the finest and most desirable hosiery, gloves and notions, 
which they import direct from the most famous European houses. 
They promptly and carefully fill orders at the lowest possible 
prices, and their trade now extends throughout all sections of th>* 
middle, western and southern states, requiring the services of 
many traveling salesmen. Both Messrs. Jeremiah J. t and James F 
Sullivan were born in Ireland, but have been residents of Philadel- 
phia since childhood. Mr. J. J. Sullivan is president of the Fifth 
and Sixth Street railroad company, and a trustee of the Beneficial 
Savings Fund Company. Mr. James K. Sullivan, is a director of 
the Independent National Bank, a director of the Green S Coates 
P. R. W. Co., and of the Midvale Steel Company. The Messrs. 
Sullivan are largely interested in manufacturing in their own and 
other lines of business. 

AH. SIMMONS, Agent for and Dealer in Bradbury Pianos, 
and Vocallon Organs, No. 1020 Arch Street.— The highest 
outcome of perfection in the manufacture of pianos 
and organs respectively has been achieved by F.G. Smith, 
manufacturer of the world famous "Bradbury" piano-forte and 
by Mr. A. H. Simmons, agent for the equally celebrated Ham- 
ilton vocalion church and parlor organ, which has marvelous 
scope, and volume of tone and power, producing the true pipe 
tones from the common reeds. These are the instruments to-day 
most thoroughly typical of the greatest degree of progress, and In 
Philadelphia, and throughout the middle states, they are the popu- 
lar favorites. The Bradbury piano was the outcome of the series, 
of practical experiments conducted by that eminent musician, 
composer, and skilled mechanician, Mr. William B. Bradbury. 
Associated with him for many years was Mr. Freeborn G. Smith, 
who became a recognized leading authority and expert in piano 
manufacturing, and upon Mr. Bradbury's permanent retirement In 
1867, owing to failing health, Mr. Smith, the superintendent of the 
great factory in Brooklyn, N. Y., succeeded him. He lias since con- 
tinued the sole proprietor and manufacturer of the Bradbury 
pianos, and has met with the great success he so richly deserves. 
His business has had a steady ratio of growth, taxing his facilities 
and requiring repeated enlargement of factory accommodation. 
His case factory is situated at Leominster, Mass., and his n: .In 
factory at Raymond and Willoughhy Streets, Brooklyn, N. Y. 
Only the choicest materials are used in the construction of the 
Bradbury, while the most skillful workmen are employed, and the 
instruments turned out. are in every respect the best. Everything 
is first-class; the actions are perfect, the pianos are strung with 
the heaviest imported wire, keys and ivory are of the best quality, 
and the cases are of the strongest character and most elaborately 
finished. The result is that the Bradbury with its special im- 
provements is unrivalled for power, sweetness, brilliancy and sing- 
ing qualities of tone, evenness throughout the entire scale, deli- 
cacy and elasticity of touch, strength, durability and beauty of 
finish. Over 2,000 of them are now In use all over the laud, and 
the demand is rapidly increasing among the best classes of the 
public. The Bradbury has been honored by being purchased for 
the White House, Admiral Porter, many of the leading bishops and 
clergy, including Rev. Dr. Talmage, all own Bradbury pianos and 
speak in the most flattering terms of its excellences. The P.rad- 
bury has carried off the honors wherever exhibited, and is the 
only instrument on record to receive seven first premiums within 
four weeks, fn 1886 Mr. A. H. Simmons opened his present 
eligibly located warerooms in Arch Street, for the sale of the 
Bradbury, and has a large stock always on hand, inclusive of the 
popular new scale uprights. He sells, rents and exchanges new 
and old instruments, and is prepared to sell these magnificent 
instruments on easy instalment tern's. All In search of a piano, 
should first of all visit these warerooms and tes' the superlortone 
and quality of the Bradbury. The sales here in Philadelphia and 
Pennsylvania an- very large and to the best class of the music lov- 
ing public. Mr. Simmons also has in stock a full line of the cele- 
brated vocallon organs, which have opened up a new world to the 
musician. These Instruments duplicate in small compass and low- 
cost, tie- most magnificent and powerful achievements of the gri-at 
pipe organs found only in churches and halls, and combine a 
melody, tone, diversity of expression and durability, possible in no 
other musical Instrument. Mr. Simmons i< a business man of 
marked executive capacity, sound judgment and ability. 



RW. HARTNETT & BROS., Printers - Machinists, aud Manu 
facturersof Printers' Supplies. ;Nos. 52 and 54 North Sixth 
Street. — Philadelphia has many representative business 
houses, and from time to tine is coming forward and lead- 
ing in special lines of trades, among whom we may mention that 
of K. VV. Hartnett & Bios., whose offices aud salesrooms are 

after. In the salesrooms there is always a large stock of cylinder 
and job printing presses of all sizes and makes, paper cutters, aud 
bookbinders and lithographers machinery. Through the enter- 
prise of this firm, liberality in advertising, and a desire to excel 
they have succeeded in gaining for themselves a national reputa- 
tion in the trade for making the best wrought iron chases that are 

located at Nos. 52 and 34 North Sixth Street. This business was made in the United States, which is substantiated by the fact that 

'■, , ,..,',jb,|.vr/Vi A:-.' 

•a _■-■ _ .? 


T?32P" -, 


- ^K 

established in 1879 by Messrs. Richard W., John, and James J. 
Hartnett, all of whom are practical, skilled machinists, and fully 
conversant with every detail of repairing and manufacturing 
pnuteis'and bookbinders' machinery — as they have been identified 
with these branches for the past thirty years, which places them in a 
position to fully meet all the various wants of the trades. The fac- 
tory connected with their business, is immediately in the rear of the 
salesrooms, where none but the best skilled mechanics are em- 
ployed, numbering at times, as many as sixty. Their machine 
shop is equipped with the latest improved machinery, competent 
workmen are employed in every department, and their business is 
so systematized, that their customers may depend on having good 
wolk at reasonable rates; the fact that all three brothers are 
practical men, aud personally superintend all the-details of the 
business is an assurance that their customers interests are looked 

thej are constantly the recipients of unsolicited testimonials from 
all sections of the country, and during the year just passed they 
have used 35 tons of bariron in this one branch. 'When Hartnett 
Bros, commenced business in Philadelphia they recognized the im- 
portance of carrying in stock paits of priuting presses, etc., that 
were frequently broken and which would cause serious inconven- 
ience to their customers if compelled to wait for duplicate parts 
from the manufacturers, and their stock in this line is larger than any 
similar concern in Philadelphia. Their printers' supply department 
has gradually gi own to be the headquarters (or printers in this 
section as all the latest novelties and tools used by the trade are 
constantly in stock, and their prices are such, that together with 
the general excellence of all their goods, this one fact has been 
one of their best advertisements. R. VV. Hartnett & Eros., are the 
Philadelphiaagents for the sale of what is known among the trade 



as copper-alloy type, made by the Central Type Foundry of St. 
Louis, Mo., and tlte Boston Type Fouudry Of Boston, Mass., a full 
stock of which is always on hand. About eight years ago they 
began the manufacture of a three-roller ink mill, (an Illustra- 
tion of which is given below) which is used by nearly all 
the manufacturers of printing and lithographers' inks for 
grinding their colors, and Is also used in many of tlie large litho- 
graphic printing establishments. Tins mill has steadily grown in 
favor, and they are proud to say that their mill is gradually dis- 
placing many of the German and English makes, and claim better 

with every appliance and facility for the successful prosecu- 
tion of this steadily increasing business. The stock carried 
is essentially representative of the choicest food products, 
staph- and fancy groceries and sundries from every quarter 
of the globe. A specialty Is made of teas, coffees, canned goods, 
fancy groceries, etc., which cannot he excelled In this city or 
elsewhere either as regards quality or prices, They always 
carry in stock full supplies of fresh crop Oolongs, .lupuns, gun- 
powder. Imperial Young Hyson. English breakfast and otherstand 
ard teas, that are renowned for purity, flavor and quality. In 


Built by R. W. Hartnett & Bros., Nos. 52 and 54 North Sixth Street, Philadelphia, fa. 

coffees, fresh and pine spices, for- 
eign and domestic fruits, condi- 
ments, sauces, pickles, etc., their 
stock challenges comparison. The 
greatest care is taken to handle 
only those brands of canned goods 
that are properly packed, full 
weight and containing the best 
selected prime fruits and vege- 
tables, and the trade can at all 
times select here with perfect con- 
fidence of having a first class, 
salable and appreciated lot. Iu 
such staples as flours, cereals, 
sugars, syrups, molasses, soaps, 
tobacco, cigars, etc., they are pre- 
pared to offer substantial induce- 
ments to the trade. Twenty clerks, 
salesmen, etc.. are employed in the 
warehouse, and the trade of the 
house now extends throughout all 
sections of the middle states. Mr. 
Reiff was born in Montgomery Co. 
Pa., but has resided in Philadelphia 
for the last fifty years, where he 
Is highly regarded by the commu- 
nity for his enterprise and sterling 
integrity. He was president, and 
one of the founders of the Grocers' 
and Importers' Exchange, and is 
one of Philadelphia's public spirit- 
ed and influential citizens. Busi- 
ness relations opened with this old 
and reliable house will be found 
pleasant and profitable. 

work and better results generally than can be obtained from any 
other three-roller mill: the one fact alone that it will grind skins, 
is of considerable Importance in the economical manufacture of 
printing inks. Messrs. Richard W„ and John Hartnett were born 
in New York City, and Mr. Hartnett in Connecticut. All 
three brothers at an early age connected themselves with Messrs. 
R. Hoe & Co.. of New York City, where all the early advancement 
in printing press building has been made, since which time they 
have continually been associated with this one branch of the 
machine business. They are greatly respected in trade circles, for 
their integrity, promptness, and mechanical ability, justly meet- 
ing the liberal and permanent patronage of our first printers, alto- 
gether making a firm foundation for an industry that Philadelphia 
may well foster. 

REIFF, WENTZ It CO.. Wholesale Grocers. Nos. 130 and 132 
South Front Street.— Representative among the largest 
and most reliable establishments in the city of Philadel- 
phia is that of Reiff. Wentz <t Co., wholesale grocers and 
tea dealers, whose office and salesrooms «re eligibly located at 
Nos. IMand 132 South Front Street. This business was established in 
Fein nary. 1859, by Reynolds, Howell ,i Reilf. who were succeeded 
by Keiff, Howell A Harvey, and Reiff & Harvey. Eventually Mr. 
B. Reiff became sol- pi -.;>i ietor, and admitted his son, Mr. Thomp- 
son H. Reitt" Into partnership. In March, 1885, Mr. Thompson jr. 
Reiff died, and the business was conducted by Mr. Benjamin Reiff, 
till May 1st, 1889 when the present copartnership v.. is formed. 
The premises occupied comprise two superior five-story build- 
ings each being 25x125 feet in area, fully supplied and fitted up 

IP. THOMAS A SON CO.. Manufacturers of Sulphuric Acid, 
Bone Fertilizers. No. 2 Chestnut Street.— The effects 
m of fertilizers on any land are readily apparent on the 
first crop raised, after the employment of a suitable 
fertilizing chemical. The plants whether cereals, tobacco, 
cotton, or any other standard crop grown in this country 
assume a well nourished appearance through the application of 
fertilizers, that cannot otherwise be produced. It may be stated 
distinctly that the principal element in the soil, that the farmer 
needs to replace, is available phosphoric acid, amount-potash, 
and this can only be done by the use of suitable fertilizers, 
obtained from reliable and representative houses, which have 
gained an honorable reputation in this important trade. Promi- 
nent among the numbei thus referred to in Philadelphia, is the 
widely known and responsible I. P. Thomas &. Son Company, 
whose office is located at No. 2 Chestnut Street. The company's 
works, which are aiming the largest and best equipped in this sec- 
tion, ami furnish constant employment to one hundn 
twenty workmen, are situated at Mantua Point, on the Delaware 
River. This extensive business was established in 1869 by Mr. I. 
P. Thomas, who was succeeded by the firm of I. P. Thomas A Co. 
Eventually in JSs? it was duly Incorporated under the laws of New 
Jersey with a paid up capital Of$150 I ' 0, and its trade now extends 
west to the Mississippi River. The [. p. Thomas i S,,u Co., nianu. 
factures extens : vely sulphuric acid and bone fertilizers, super- 
phosphates, potato manure, tobacco fertilizer, fish guar 
ground bone, etc. Full particulars of the analysis of each of the 
company's splendid manures and fertilizers may be obtained at 
the office on Chestnut Street. 



A HENTSCHKE, Prop'r. Seefeldt Musical Instrument Manu- 
facturing Co., No. 731 Kace Street.— The great increase 
m in the manufacture of musical instruments in the United 
States from year to year is a pleasing proof of the 
spread of that musical education which is a sure evidence of a 
higher civilization. The business conducted by the Seefeldt Musi- 
cal Instrument Manufacturing Company, at No. 731 Kace Street, is 
an illustration in point. It was established in 1SS2, under the 
above title, and in 1879 Mr. A. Hentschke, who had been connected 
with the house for twenty years, succeeded to the sole control, 
continuing the business under the original name. This geutleman 
may be justly classed among those who, bringing long practical 
experience, deep research and study into every detail of their bus- 
iness, attain what can be secured in no other way — eminence in 
their chosen profession. As manufacturers of brass and German 
silver band instruments, no concern is better or more favorably 
known, and the workmanship, merits and tone of the instruments 
here made have gained an enviable reputation throughout the 
entire United States. It is the oldest manufacturing house in its 
line in the country, and the leader in its branch of industry in 
this city. The premises occupied are spacious in size, and all the 
arrangements for the production of thoroughly first-class goods 
are of the most admirable and perfect character. The range of 
manufacture embraces every kind of instrument used in a band, 
and the proprietor is In receipt of testimonials from the highest, 
authority attainable whicli declare that, for purity of tone and 
thorough finish, his products are unsurpassed by thoseof any other 
manufacturer in the country, or in fact the world. As an authority 
upon band instruments, Mr. Heutschke is considered thoroughly 
reliable in musical circles, and he is prepared to guarantee any 
instrument made by him to be perfect in all details of tone, tune 
and workmanship. Besides producing a full line of brass and Ger- 
man silver b?nd instruments, this house manufactures surgical 
and dental instruments for the trade, exclusively to order, and 
guarantees the prompt aud perfect fulfillment of all commissions. 
We cordially recommend this establishment to band masters, musi- 
cians and the trade everywhere, as one with which to form busi- 
ness relations of the most profitable and enduring nature. Mr. 
Hentschke was born in Germany, and came to this city in 1S6S. He 
early developed a taste and talent for music, enjoyed a thorough 
training in all the derails of musical instrument manufacture, and 
is honored and esteemed in musical and trade circles for his rare 
genius, commanding ability and sound judgment as a manufac- 
turer and accomplished master of his art. 

COOPER JESSUP, Commission Merchant in Oysters. Fish, Pro- 
duce, Etc.. No. 7 Vine Street.— Twenty-one years mark the 
history of the prosperous and flourishing oyster, fish and 
produce commission house of Mr. Cooper Jessup, of No. 7 
Vine Street. It is with pleasure that we are enabled in this review 
of one of the leading and important branches of the city's commer- 
cial activity to refer to the honorable and successful career of such 
a prominent and highly reputable establishment as this. Mr. 
Jessup entered upon his present business venture in 1S68, and for 
the past two years has occupied his present premises on Vine 
Street, where he has ample accommodation for the large and var- 
ied -lock he carries and all requisite facilities for the handling of 
consignments of oysters, lish. eggs, poultry, game, vegetables and 
country produce of every description, and for the prompt and sat- 
isfactory filling of dealers' orders. This house enjoys a vast dis- 
tributive trade throughout the city and vicinity, and it is one to 
which dealers have come to look for the bulk of their supplies 
from a conviction that nowhere else can more fresh and reliable 
good-, be obtained, and that the prices prevailing here are invari- 
ably the lowest in the market, while the service is prompt, and all 
transactions characterized by courteous, liberal and honorable 
treatment. Producers have long ago discovered that this house is 
a most desirable one to uhi'di to forward their consignments, 
since sales are quick, returns prompt, aud all business trans- 
actions pleasant and profitable. Mr. Jessup is one of the most pro 
gressive, diligent, and successful merchants of his class, ami per- 
sonally enjoys a widespread and well deserved popularity. He 
resides at Camden, and is a native of New Jersey. He is the 
owner of Woodbury farm in that state, aud his father is one of the 
largest land owners in New Jersey, owning tweuty-six farms. 

BAKER & DALLETT, Architects; South West Corner Walnut 
and Fifth Streets.— The architectural advancement during 
the past de'eade of American development is as remarkable 
tor its notable beauty and elegance, as it is for extreme 
utility and stability. Here in Philadelphia the work of leading 
local architects is of a character to elicit the warmest commenda- 
tion or the public, aud the favorable opinions of experts. A lead- 
ing firm identified with the profession is that of Messrs. Baker & 
Dallett. whose offices are located on the corner of Walnut and 
Fifth Streets, the co-partners being Mr. Louis C. Baker, Jr., and 
Mr. E. James Dallett, both of whom are natives of the city. For 
eight years they were connected with the house of Messrs. Furness, 
Evans S: Co., in which they were partners for about two and a half 
years. On December 17, 1S88, they severed themselves from this 
firm and formed their present partnership. They bring to bear on 
their enterprise the experience of many years' close study and 
practical application of the science and art of the skilled architect 
and have evinced marked originality and great executive ability 
in dealing with the difficult aud ever varying problems and re- 
quirements of the building enterprises contracted for. References 
are permitted to the following gentlemen: Dr. S. Weir Mitchell, 
Mr. J. Dundas Lippincott, Messrs. George S. Fox & Sons, Phila- 
delphia; John Dallett, Esq., (Bolton, Bliss & Dallett), E. A. Ste- 
vens, Esq., (president of Hoboken Land& Imp. Co.) New York ; 
Hon. Edward Betts, Mr. Job H. Jackson, (president Jackson & 
Sharp Co.) Mr. F. L. Gilpin, Wilmington Del.; Hoopes Bro. & 
Thomas, Hon. Wm. B. Waddell, West Chester, Pa. Messrs. Baker 
and Dallett are members of the American Institute of Architects 
They make in their designs of buildings the same careful study of 
the interior requirements as of the exteriors; their computations 
are accurate, their plans thoroughly homogeneous and practical, 
and their style of architecture pure and symmetrical. Their aim 
is to secure to the owner the best results within the limits of esti- 
mates, and their close adherence to specifications and careful su- 
pervisions of builders poiut them out as sound, conservative busi- 
ness men, as well as architects of the highest attainments. 

STWTTCHELL A BRO., Manufacturers, Importers and Deal- 
ers in Bottlers' Supplies, Nos. 223 and 223 Vine Street.— 
The largest and leading house engaged in the manufacture 
and sale of bottlers' supplies in this city is that of Messrs. S 
Twitchell & Bro., located at Nos. 223 and 225 Vine Street. It is an 
important source of supply for a long line of goods, and enjoys an 
international reputation for the superiority of its productions and 
the enterprise and reliability of its business policy. The house 
was originally established in 1872 by Mr. Selden Twitchell, and 
in 1880 the present firm was organized by the admission of Mr. 
Oscar Twitchell to partnership. The building occupied for manu- 
facturing and trade purposes comprises four floors and a basement, 
40x100 feet in dimensions, all of which splendid floor space is util- 
ized in conducting the immense business of the firm. The equip- 
ment embraces all the requisite machinery and apparatus for 
manufacturing in their line, and a well equipped laboratory with 
all the latest appliances for accurate scientific work is also provi- 
ded. The firm are prominent aud popular in trade circles as 
manufacturer of new process burnt sugar colorings for all pur- 
poses, also harmless permanent colorings appropriate to all fruit 
flavors for carbonated beverages, also for their extensive line of 
bottlers' extracts of which they manufacture for making every 
known carbonated beverage: also, bottling tables, filterers, and fill- 
ing and corking machines for cork and all patent stoppered bot- 
tles. They are also extensive importers and dealers in essential 
oils, corks, bottles, tartaric and citric acids, oil vitriol, whiting, 
marble dust, bottle washing aud rinsing machines. A specialty is 
made of Twitchell's improved sell acting floating ball stoppered 
bottles for carbonated beverages, the latest improved, the simplest 
for the purpose, as well as the most perfect, and therefore the 
cheapest. The motto of this firm is " full weight, measure, count 
and quality." No house in the country is better prepared to min- 
ister to the wants of its trade, or stands better before the public. 
Its trade is immense and influential throughout the entire United 
States and extends to the Sandwich Islands on the west and to 
the Bermudas on the east, also embracing the Canadas. The trade 
is naturally attracted by the honorable methods in force, and the 
eminently satisfactory manner in which their orders are filled. 



WM. A. SIMPSON & SON, Insurance, No? 829 Walnut street. 
—Insurance is undoubtedly the right man anil main sup- 
port or all business enterprises, ami as such it merits 
special recognition In this work. The insurance agent 
occupies an important position in the business. He acts both as 
agent tor the company or companies he represents, ami of the 
property owner who employs him to place his insurance. He 
must necessarily be thoroughly posted In insurance matters, and 
be competent to judge nature and liability of a risk and- what an 
amount it should pay. The advantage to a property owner in 
employing such an agent is in the fart that he is relieved of much 
trouble and expenses In placlug his own insurance, especially 
should it be a large line. One of the best-known and most popu- 
lar agencies in this city is that so long and so successfully con- 
ducted under the firm name of Wis, A. Simpson &. Son, at No. 329 
Walnut Street. This agency was originally established thirty 
years ago. His son, Mr. B. Mitchell Simpson, became associated 
as a partner in '..Nil. The senior member of the firm diedin 1878, 
and in Is7° Mr. James G. Donley was admitted to partnership with- 
out change in firm name. This firm represents the following 
first-class companies, viz: The British Associated Company, of 
Toronto; the City of London, of Loudon ; the Boatmen's Fire and 
Marine, and the Citizens', of Pittsburg, Pa.: aud the Washington, 
of Cincinnati. They also transact a general brokerage business in 
fire, life and marine insurance, and are prepared to effect insur- 
ance in any company desired, at the lowest rates compatible with 
security, guaranteeing a prompt and liberal adjustment of all 
losses. They have a large and influential patronage in city and 
country, and are highly esteemed by all classes of -property-holders 
for their ability, energy and integrity. Mr. Simpson has been con- 
nected with this house for a period of thirty years, and is recog- 
nized as a reliable authority upon all matters pertaining to 
insurance : is a director of the Jefferson Fire Insurance Company, 
of Philadelphia, and prominent and popular in insurance and 
business circles. Mr. Donley came into the office in 1&73, and 
both he and Mr. Simpson are native Philadeiphians, members of 
the Tariff and Underwriters' Associations. and gentlemen of large 
experience and established reputations in business affairs, with 
whom it is always pleasant aud profitable to open business rela- 

RM. WILLIAMS, Manufacturer of Ladies', Misses' and 
Children's Fine Hand Made Shoes, Nos. 206 aud 
t 208 Gold Street.— It is generally conceded that 
no city in the country turns out such excellent 
tine hand made ladies", misses' aud children's shoes as 
Philadelphia. In this special line of manufacture there 
are a number of well-known representatives, among them being 
Mr. R. M. Williams, who has had an extended experience in the 
business, and the position he has attained in the trade may justly 
be ascribed to his indefatig Me industry and thorough Familiarity 
with the public demand and unswerving devotion to fair and hon- 
orable dealing. The business he is now conductingsosuccessfully 
was originally established in lsTT by Taylor .x V.'yninn with whom 
he worked as journeyman and foreman for a period of seven years 
when he succeeded to the control of the establishment. Since that 
time he has made many improvements and enlarged the facilities 
and besides the customers left him by his predecessors he has 
made many new ones by his liberality as a business man, and the 
production of a high class of goods which meet with a read] s, L |e 
and are always in demand. The premises utilized for manufactur- 
ing purposes consist of two floors, each 10x50 feet in area, at Nos. 
206 and 208 Gold Street, which are complete and perfect as regards 
equipment and furnish steady employment to from fifteen to 
twenty skilled operatives. A special business :^ made of measured 
and sritched work to order and the greatest care and attention 
i~ ui v >-u to all work executed m the establishment and the result 
is that for beauty of style, excellence of material and superiority 
of fit and finish and wearing qualities, the '_-i>"ds manufactured by- 
Mr. Williams are unsurpassed in this city or elsewhere. A native 
of Ireland but for many years a resident of Philadelphia, Mr. 
Williams, whose future is bright with substantial and increasing 
success is very popular and influential He served with dis- 
tinction during the war and enjoys the esteem and regard of a 
wide circle of acquaintances. 

JOSKril S II VGAN. Real Estate and Insurance Broker, No.f>02 
Walnut Street and fo 2941 Korth Third Street.— The leading 
field of financial investment in Philadelphia Is unquestion- 
ably city and suburban real estate, and iu no way can large 
or small sums of money be better applied to secure sure and pro- 
ductive returns. Prominent among those who have taken an 
active part in promoting the best interests of the city in this res- 
pect, and who have built up a widespread connection with 
property owners aud the public, is Mr. Joseph S. Hagan, notary 
public and real estate and insurance broker. Of Nos. 502 Walnut 
and 2941 North Thud Streets. Mr. Hagan has had many years' 
experience in real estate and insurance matters, although he has 
only been in business on his own account Since 1887. He occupies 
eligibly located offices, and his facilities for transacting business 
are of a strictly fiist-class character. He buys, sells, aud lets 
property of every description, collects rents, manages estates and 
negotiates loans on bonds and mortgages. He also places insur- 
ances iu the most reliable companies at lowest rates, and, in fact, 
covers cvciy branch of the business in the most prompt and satis- 
factory manner. Mr. Hagan is treasurer of the Active Land 
Association, which consists of members holdiug shares, each share 
representing a lot, in building lauds located in the Twenty-third 
ward, within a few squares of Kensington and Lehigh Avenues, 
and near the route of the proposed elevated railroad. Each lot is 
sold for 5200, and Is paid for in monthly payments of $5.00. These 
lots are in an improving neighborhood and form a very desirable 
investment. Full particulars can be had from Mr. Hagan. He is 
a native of this city, and a very energetic, progressive business 
man aud enjoys the confidence and esteem of all who know him. 

BW. HARPER, Insurance Broker, Room 1, Philadelphia 
Exchange Building, Third aud Walnut Streets.— Few feat- 
ures of modern progress have secured such a stronghold 
on the popular support as insurance. Like all other pro- 
gressive- and beneficent innovations, the idea of Insurance was 
compelled to pass through all the varied stages of ridicule, argu- 
ment and experiment before belief iu the correctness of its princi- 
ples was finally established. Among the ablest and most success- 
ful exponents of the insurance business in this city is Mr. B. W. 
Harper, whose office is in room No. 1. on the first floor of the Phila- 
delphia Exchange building, Third and Walnut Streets. This gentle- 
man has been a general insurance broker and agent for the past 
quarter of a century, and represents all the leading foreign and 
home fire, marine, accidental, boiler aud plate glass insurance com- 
panies. He makes a specialty of fire and marine insurance, and on 
behalf of responsible aud substantial insurance corporations issues 
policies in respect of all risks at the lowest rates compatible with 
securities. He controls a large and growing business. For one 
concern alone he secured $000,000 to $500,000 in insurance policies 
and he writes about three-and-a-half million dollars' worth of poli- 
cies a year for local and foreign companies. This fact of itself fur- 
nishes abundant testimony of the confidence lep-ised iu Mr. Har- 
per by the the property owners, mill corporations, merchants and 
the public generally. He is a native of the city, a gentleman of 
middle age, of fine business ability and prompt and reliable in all 
his dealings. 

CANDELA MINING & SMELTING CO., Miners and Smelters of 
Copper Ores, No. 400 Chestnut Street; Th:>s. Graham, Presi- 
dent; T. R. English, Secretary aud Treasurer.— The Candida 
Mining & Smelting Coin pau\ , miners and smelters of i 
ores, was incorporated in 1S78, under the laws of Pennsylvania with 
a paid up capital of S250.000. and its success has been as substan- 
tial, as it is well merited. The company's mines, which are 
equipped with all modern appliances and machinery, are situated 
in Coahuila, Mexico. The capacity of the mines is 100 tons of 
refined copper monthly. The copper produced he-re is unrivalled 
for quality and purity, and has no superior in the United States 01 
Europe. The Candela Mining & Smelting Company also ships cop- 
per ore. The following gentlemen, who are highly regarded iu 
business eiieles for their enterprise and just nieth ds, aie tie offi- 
cers and directors: Thos. Graham, president ;T. f: English, secre- 
tary and treasurer. Directors: Thos. Graham, J. Dickinson Sear- 
gent, L. Rodman, Richard Wood, J. M. Fox, Thos. H. Butcher, and 
H. Butcher. 



HARVEY FILLEV & SONS, Manufacturers o[ Silvev-Plated 
Ware. No. 15 South Thirteenth Street.— One of the most 
attractive and prosperous as well as oldest establishments 
in the line of business in the city or in the country, is that 
of Harvey Filley & Sous, manufacturers of silver-plated wares, jew- 
elers and dealers in bronzes, etc. This responsible house was 
founded as Inn- ago as ISIS by Mr. Harvey Filley, who for many 
years carried on the business at No. l-J'2 Market Street and con- 
ducted it with unbroken prosperity and formed wide spread busi- 
ness connections throughout the United States. In 1864 his sons 
J. and O. Filley were admitted to an interest in the house 
and the operations materially increased and extended. The senior 
Mr. Filley dying some eight years ago. the business has since been 
under the control of the sons and in January 18S5 Mr. James H. 
Filley admitted his son Win. H. to the firm. They still continue it ' 
under the old firm name and in 1S86 removed to the premises now 
occupied at No. 15 South Thirteenth Street and have since added 
jewelry and bronze and kindred goods to the stock. The com- 
modious store which presents a front of 2(1x60 feet, is admirably 
suited to the business and an extensive assortment of rich, elegant 
goods is displayed, embracing handsome silver-plated ware in 
beautiful styles including everything for the appointment of the 
table, and o'her articles, and fine jewelry conspicious for delicate 
beauty in exquisite designs in accord with the prevailing fashions, 
and also bronzes, cutlery, etc., and a varied line of useful and 
ornamental requisites for the household. The goods are all 
first class in every respect aud the assortment unexcelled. 
Au important invention for housekeepers and which is something 
new to prevent silver and plated ware from tarnishing, is the 
unrivalled Anti-Tarnish Finish. Housekeepers can apply this 
preparation, without injury, to the most delicate article at a small 
cost and ware treated in this way will keep its lustre, without 
tarnishing or getting black, and will not wash off and will save 
much time a;.l labor in cleaning at home. The peculiar finish of 
the goods renders them absolutely tarnish-proof ; hence, wiping 
occasional; with a soft damp cloth is ail the cleaning necessary. 
Anyone having any articles they waDt preserved in this way, 
can drop a postal to this firm and they will send for them. The 
reputation o! rhe house in its special line of manufacture is well 
known and the high artistic excellence of the workmanship has 
given it an enviable reputation in the trade. Both membersof the 
firm are native Philadelphians and are expert practical designers 
and thorough business men and control a substantial patronage, 
while the prices that obtain are invariably governed by a sense of 
moderation for which the house has a thoroughly established repu- 

GEORGE LAY" COCK, Real Estate and Insurance Broker, No. 
911 Walnut Street.— The real estate interests of Philadelphia 
have in recent years at tained proportions of such magnitude 
that they unquestionably represent the most important fac- 
tor iii her financial strength, and have enlisted in their service the 
highest order of talent, energy and enterprise in tile business world. 
Prominent among the best connected and most enterprising of the 
houses thus referred to is that of Mr. George Laycock, the well- 
. known real estate and insurance broker, located at No. 914 Walnut 
Street. This gentleman has had an experience of twenty years in 
the real estate business, and established his present enterprise in 
1886. He makes a leading specialty of Twenty-seventh ward pro- 
perty which he is disposing of on time payments atabargain. He 
can be relied upon to give sound aud reliable advice to persons 
seeking profitable investments in real estate, and has always on 
hand many desirable bargains in both city and suburban property. 
Every ward in the city is represented upon his books, as well as all 
classes of property, while property is rented, sold, bought, or ex- 
changed, and conveyancing is done in all its branches. Rents are 
collected and prompt returns are made; loans are negotiated on 
bond and mortgage, and the entire management of estates is con- 
ducted. Mr. Laycock brings to hear on his business great practi- 
cal experience coupled with an intimate personal knowledge of 
the advantages of the residential and business sections of Philadel- 
phia and its suburbs, while his keen appreciation of values, pres- 
ent and prospective, together with a large acquaintance with busi- 
ness men renders hi, services peculiarly valuable to parties deal- 
ing in realties or intending to invest therein. Mr. Laycock is a 

Philadelphia!! by birth, and of integrity in his dealings and busi- 
ness relations, and noted for his sagacityatul indomitable energy. 

Street.— Among the old established, ably and honorably con- 
ducted financial institutions of Philadelphia is the Common- 
wealth National Bank. It was duly incorporated iu 1857 as 
the Commonwealth Bank, thus continuing until 1S64, when it reor- 
ganized under the national banking act. In 1884 its charter was ex- 
tended under the provisions of the act. It has had an honorable 
and useful career, reflecting the utmost credit on the conserva- 
tism aud integrity of the management. Its stock is held by lead- 
ing capitalists and business men as an investment of the soundest 
and most remunerative character, while its board of directors is 
composed of repiesentative and public spirited citizens as follows: 
Messrs. H. N. Burroughs, president; Samuel Dutton, J. H. Bur- 
roughs, Edwin F. Keen, J. Hicks Conrad, T. H. Bechtel, George S. 
Hensel, George P. Eldredge. and Win. L. McDowell. Mr. H.N. 
Burroughs was elected a director in 166S, aud was elected presi- 
dent in 1872 He is widely known and highly esteemed as an ex- 
perienced and able financier, and is a vigorous exponent of the 
soundest principles governing banking anil finance. Mr. Effing- 
ham Perot was elected cashier in 1872, and is an able and popular 
officer, conversant with every detail of banking, who follows the 
soundest and most conservative methods and faithfully discharges 
the onerous duties devolving upon him. No bank in the city 
stands higher in public confidence and none has a more desirable 
class of patronage both as regards depositors and customers. The 
bank transacts a general business, receiving the accounts of banks, 
bankers and merchants on favorable terms, discounting the best 
class of commercial paper. Collections are made on all points at 
lowest rates, while the business of correspondents is promptly and 
accurately attended to. Among its correspondents are the Mer- 
chant's Exchange National Bank of New York, and the First 
National Bank of Chicago. The bank has occupied its present de- 
sirable quarters since 1S74 and has every facility at command. The 
management of this old reliable Institution has always been 
thoroughly conservative, and it permanently retains its position 
among the solid fiscal institutions of the United States. 

BARCUS BROS., Manufacturers of Coach Housings, Gig Hous- 
ings, Bridle Fronts, Etc.No. 333 Arch Street.— The elements 
of commercial successareseldom found in happier combina- 
tion than in the case of the houseof Barcus Bros., who Cujoy 
a national reputation as extensive manufacturers of coach hous- 
ings, gig housings, bridle fronts, etc., located at No. S33 
Arch Street. This house was originally established in 1866, by 
Messrs. Friuk & Decker, who were succeeded in lSfll by Barcus 
Bros. & Bean, then by Barcus Bros. & Co.. in 1884, and in 18S5 the 
firm of Barcus Bros., assumed control, consisting of Messrs. John A., 
George W. and Chas. L. Barcas. Iu 1S86 two of the brothers retired, 
leaving Chas. L. Barcus as sole proprietor, continuing the business 
without change in firm name. The premises occupied for manufac- 
turing and trade purposes comprise two tioors. 30x125 feet each, fine- 
ly fitted up witli new and improved machinery, operated by steam 
power, and steady employment is given to a force of seventeen 
hands. The range of manufacture embraces pad housings, bridle 
fronts and general coach housings. The house long ago secured 
the recognition and patronage of the best class of trade throughout 
the United States, and, once introduced into any section, its hous- 
ings, bridle fronts, etc., and other specialties rapidly enlarged 
their sales strictly on their merits. The substantial inducements 
offered by the proprietor, both as to quality and price, have also 
had their natural result, and the name of Barcus has become known 
far and near as the synonym for reliable goods, honorable dealing 
and low prices. Mr.Barcus is a recognized authority upon everything 
appertaining to his branch of trade ; quality has ever been his first 
consideration, and his personal attention is given to the selec- 
tion of all materials for the purposes of manufacture and all pro- 
cesses employed, thus insuring greater efficiency and durability 
in the output. Mr. Barcus is a native of Philadelphia, and is a 
true type of the enterprising, progressive manufacturer, to whom 
is so largely due the renewed spriit of capacity and ability, u hich 
permanently retains to this city its due share of national trade 



LAPP DRUG COMPANY, Manufacturing ami Jobbing Diug- 
gists, So. 208 Market Street. — One of the oldest established 
and leading represensative concerns engaged In themanufac 
tui lug and wholesale drug trade is the' Lapp Drug Company 
o[ Philadelphia. The business was establish)- J in ls-io by Messrs. 
William Wilson A Co., Mr. Lapp being the junior partuer. The 
house early achieved an enviable reputation for the superiority 
of its preparations, and the purity and freshness of its drugs and 
chemicals, and its business expanded at a rapid ratio, with influ- 
ential relations all over the world. On July 11th, 1 *S7, the impor- 
tant Interests were capitalized, and the Lapp Drug Co., of Phila- 
delphia, organized with a cash capital of $00,000, with the fol- 
lowing board of directors: Messrs. Amos Hassell, president; L- 
Hassell Lapp, general manager; George G. Green, P. C. Hollis, 
William H. Hollis, Wilmot Hassell, aud Dr. William A. Piper. 
Representative, able and energetic, under the guidance of the 
bo.ud, the company is making rapid progress, and las one of the 
most complete laboratories and drug warehouses in the United 
States. Messrs. Hassell and Lapp are recognized pharmaceutical 
authorities aud leading manufacturing chemists. Mr. George G. 
Green is deservedly celebrated as the proprietor of several of the 
most valuable medicines ever introduced to the public. Mr. Hollis 
is a prominent Philadelphia capitalist, and president, of the 
National Bank of Commerce. Mr. William H. Hollis is a well- 
known and aid" member of the Bar, while Mr. Wilmot Hassell is a 
practical druggist of the highest standing. The company occu- 
pies a most centrally located five-story and basement building, 
20x125 feet in dimensions, and completely fitted up with every 
convenience and appliance at command. The first floor is the 
salesroom and where a very comprehensive stock of pure drugs 
and chemicals, essential oils, etc., and of its own preparations is 
carried. Its laboratory is a model one, in which the most thor- 
ough system of organization is enforced, and where an average of 
forty to titty hands are employed in the manufacture of such 
staple and famous remedies as Wright's tonic mixture for fever 
and ague: Lapp's ague pills; Hassell's easy to take worm syrup ; 
Lapp's famous silver cleaner: Durham horse and cattle powder; 
Bennett's embrocation, etc., etc. The firm are exclusive agents 
for Hansen's rennet tablets; Lincoln lithia water, and the popu- 
lar Milwaukee malt extract: while they aredirect importers of the 
pure and famous Tol. U. Borthens Norway cod liver oil. The 
above goods are all of the highest standing on their merits, both 
with the trade and profession, and have a consumption vast in 
extent. The company ever maintains the same high standard of 
excellence, and quotes the lowest possible prices to the trade, 
while these remedies ami specifics being of «uch universal use, 
they are the very best goods for druggists and general merchants 
to handle. 

JOHN T. WINDRIM, Architect, No. 132 South Third Street.— 
Prominent among the progressive and reliable architects 
of the city, is Mr. John T. Windrini. This business was 
established twenty-six years ago by Mr. J. H. Windrim, 
who is now architect of the Treasury Department of the 
United States, liming just been appointed by President Harri- 
son. Mr. J. H. Windrim is one of the ablest architects in America, 
and for many years had charge of the architectural department of 
the Pennsylvania Railroad between Philadelphia and Pittsburg. 
He designed am! built the following first-class buildings in this 
ciry, viz: Masonic Temple, Western Savings Fund Society. Bank 
of Northern Liberties. Lafayette Hotel, Philadelphia Trust Com- 
pany's, Peoples' National Bank, National Safe Deposit Company, 
Hood, Bonbl'lght & Co., Girard Building in Market Street ; Flem- 
ing Building. Washington Street; Soldiers' and Sailors' Home, Erie, 
Pa.; Municipal Building. Philadelphia: Pennsylvania Railroad 
Depot and Shops, Pittsburg : Altoona Masonic Temple : Pratt Insti- 
tute. New York, ami many others. These buildings are greatly 
admired by experts for their stability and elegance, while the elab-' 
oration of detail and care bestowed upon every department of the 
wnk, reflects the greatest credit upon his honoraMe and able 
methods. Mr. John H. Windrim i-a native of Philadelphia, and is 
a papular member of the Philadelphia Chapter of the American 
Institute of Architects. This extensive business is now controlled 
by Mr. John T. Wind: im. who has been thoroughly trained by his 
father in all details of the profession, and is highly esteemed in 

professional circles for h:s ability and energy. He has made a 
careful study of the interior requirements as well as of the exter- 
iors, his computations are always accurate, his plans huningenous 
and practical, while his style of architecture i> pure aud symmet- 
rical. He undertakes promptly the designing of all kinds of build- 
in its and no more responsible and talented architect can be found 
in the ranks of the profession. 

ESTEY, BRUCE & CO., Pianos and Organs.No. 18 N. Seventh 
Street.— Few names are so widely known and honored in the 
musical world as that of Estey. The organs and pianos hear- 
ing that name are deservedly popular everywhere. Messrs. 
Estey, Bruce & Co., of No. 18 North Seventh Street, are the agents 
for these incomparable instruments throughout Pennsylvania, 
Delaware and the western portion or New Jersey. The business 
was originally established here thirty years ago, by E. M. Bruce, 
the present Arm style being adopted in 1885. The establishment 
occupied by this firm as a musical emporium is one of the attract- 
ive features of this busy thoroughfare: four stories high, 25 by 100 
feet in dimensions, and ornamented by a handsome clock that 
points the way to the Estey headquarters. Here is displayed the 
finest assortment of pianos and organs to be found in the city, 
Estey organs and pianos being handled exclusively. The busi- 
ness is conducted at both wholesale aud retail, and forms an im- 
portant factor in the mercantile activity of this great commercial 
centre. The Estey organs are too well known to require any words 
of commendation in these pages. Their success anil popularity 
has been unmistakable, decisive and pronounced the world over. 
The Estey planois now but repeating the triumphs won years ago 
by the Estey organ. The methods of manufacture in vogue with 
the Estey Piano Company are the most advanced, while many 
Dovel and valuable improvements have been introduced, promi- 
nent among which is the new patent repeating action. The piano 
is steadily growing in public favor as its merits become better 
known, and It is justly claimed as ranking second to none in 
America, ft possesses all the excellencies claimed for other pianos, 
besides many that are peculiarly its own, while It is especially 
remarkable for volume, purity and sweetness of tone, delicate and 
even touch, light and responsive action, and for durability of 
construction, handsome appearance, and elegant and artistic 
finish. Those engaged in their manufacture are experieuced 
masters of their art, from the president of the company, Hon. 
Jacob Estey, of Brattlehoro. Vt., down to the tuner and finisher, 
all of which results in superior excellence and the most gratifying 
results. The Estey pianos, as well as the Estey organs, are sold 
very low for cash or on easy monthly payments, and the demands 
of all classes of purchasers are readily met by this enterprising 
firm. Mr. Bruce, the resident partner. Is a Verrnonter by birth. 

HENRY SARTAIN. Mezzotinto & Line Plate Printing, Office 
No. 202 South Ninth Street.— The mezzotinto and line plate 
printing establishment of Mr. Henry Sartain, located at No. 
202 South Ninth Street, is the oldest of its kind, not only in 
the city of Philadelphia, but in the entire country. It was founded 
by the present proprietor's father, Mr. John Sartaiu, in 1883, who 
conducted the enterprise alone until 1859, when he formed a part- 
nership under the firm style of Sartain A Irwin. In 1863 the 
present proprietor succeeded to the business, which, since 18o4 
has been conducted at its present location. The premises occu- 
pied comprise two Boors, one of which is 20x60, and the other 
20x150 feet in dimensions. The mechanical equipments of this estab- 
lishment are most perfect, aud nothing is lacking to secure the 
production of the finest class of work known to the trade, while 
from ten to twenty expert hands are employed in the business. 
Mr. Sartain was born and reared in the business and there is no 
more experienced or accomplished artist in his line in the country. 
His enterprise and business tact have been the means. si:;ee h,. 
succeeded to the direction of the business, in securing a great 
increase of patronage. He is courteous and painstaking in the 
management of his concern, and the printiug executed here is of a 
high-class character, the proprietor justly taking pride in seeing 
that all the products of his establishment are of a character that 
will withstand the closest criticism. Both in commercial and 
social circles he is widely known and highly esteemed for his 
many excellent qualities. 



CHARLES P. PERRY. Oils, Paints and Naval Stores, No. 16 
North Delaware Avenue. — One of the oldest and best known 
mercantile houses in Philadelphia is that of Mr. Charles P. 
Perry, the dealer in oils, paints and naval stores of No. 16 
North Delaware Aveuue. A review of the business interests of the 
city would be incomplete without mention of this establishment. 
For thiity years this business has 
been conducted under the same firm 
name and at the same location, 
and it has gained a flourishing and 
still increasing trade and a reputation 
second to no house in its line in the 
city. A very large stock is always 
carried, and will be found to include 
everything in the way of oils, paints 
and naval stores at prices as low as 
those of any house in the country. Mr. 
vholesale and 
ughout Penn- 
N'ew Jersey. 
A large business is done in general 
vessel and ship out-fitting. The store 
! occupied is 20xS0 feet in dimensions. 
Mr. Perry is a native of Bridgton, N. 
J., but was brought up in Montgomery 
County, Pennsylvania, where in 1S39 
he started in business as a painter and paper hanger. Thiity 
years ago he removed to Philadelphia and established his present 
business. He is one of the oldest merchants in Philadelphia, and 
is highly regarded both in business and social circles. 

;<3'", ,,j.,„. j^-| those of any house in the coi 
*»>Py^^*SS 5 f| Perry's trade is both who! 
£iiYV\'V' ■ ' jJ /n|y retail, and extends througl 
S * ".• Z-^if'J sylvauia, Delaware and Ne 

S3EJ "^ ^-^f'S^ 

*^-*^_ ~ s 

LANDIS & CO., Wholesale Dealers in Wood and Willow Ware, 
Carpets, Oil Cloths, Etc., Nos. 420 Market and 415 Mer- 
chant Streets.— A representative and progressive house 
in the city of Philadelphia, exteusively engaged in the 
wholesale wood and willow ware trade is that of Messrs. Landis 
<tCo., Nos. 420 Market and 415 Merchant Streets. This business 
was established twenty-eight years ago by Graybill & Co., who 
were succeeded in 1SS-1 by the present firm, the co-partners Messrs. 
Samuel E. and Calton L. Landis, aud Samuel L. Gabel, special 
partner. The managing partners have had great experience, and 
possess an accurate knowledge of every detail of the wood and 
willow trade, and the requirements of jobbers, dealers and the 
general public. The premises occupied comprise a spacious five- 
story building 25x125 feet in area, fully equipped with every 
appliance and convenience for the accommodation and display of 
the immense stock. Messrs. Landis & Co., keep constantly on hand 
full lines of wood and willow ware, carpets, oil cloths, ropes, 
twine, cotton bats, brushes, baskets, brooms, etc. They handle 
only the best and most desirable goods, and quote prices very 
difficult to be secured elsewhere in this country. The firm em- 
ploys twenty clerks, assistants, etc., in the warehouse, ami thirteen 
traveling salesmen on the road. Messrs. Landis & Co., promptly 
and carefully fill all orders, their trade now extends throughout 
the entire United States, while all goods are fully warranted to be 
exactly as represented. Mr. Samuel E. Landis is a native of 
Boyertovvn, Pa., while Mr. Calton L. Landis was born in Juniata 
County, Pa. They are liberal, enterprising and honorable business 
men, and are meeting with a well merited success. 

CHAS. A. BICKEL, Manufacturer of Canes, Crutches and 
Whips, No. 30 North Sixth Street.— The oldest establish- 
ment devoted to the manufacture of canes, crutches and 
whips in tliis city is the widely known concern of Chas. A. 
Blckel, No. 30 North Sixth Street, whose productions are in exten- 
sive and growing demand in the trade throughout the country, 
owing to their general excellence. The work turned out here is of 
a very superior character, and for beauty of design, elegance of 
finish, ami all features of merit sought to be attained in such arti- 
cles is not surpassed by anything of the kind produced in Philadel- 
phia. This prosperous business was established in 1856 by August 
Bickle, who iulsTl admitted into partnership his sun Charles, (the 
present proprietor), and under the firm name of A. Bickel $ Son, 
It v. as conducted up to 1886, when the senior member retired and 
the son assumed sole control. The factory and salesroom occupy 

two spacious Moors, ami seven expert hands are employed, special 
attention being given to the manufacture of gold and silver headed 
canes and crutches fur presentation. An extensive and superb 
assortment of canes, in unique designs ami exquisite workman- 
ship, is constantly kept in stock; also crutches and whips, and 
the trade of the establishment, which is both wholesale and retail, 
is at once large and active, extending to all parts of the United 
States. Mr. Bickel. who is a gentleman of middle age aud a 
native of this city, is a man of thorough experience in tins line, as 
well as skill and enterprise, and has a complete knowledge of the 
business in all its details. 

IG. KOHLER, German Publisher, Bookseller, Importer and 
Bookbinder, No. ytl Arch Street.— The German publishing 
house of Mr. Ignatius Kohler, located at No. 911 Arch 
Street, is one of Philadelphia's oldest business landmarks, 
surrounded by pleasant historic associations. It was opened by 
Mr. Kohler in ls-13, and has been conducted by him through all 
these forty odd years with patient perseverance, studious care and 
annually increasing success. It lias long beeu the chief source of 
supply in this city for German publications of every description, 
includiug text-books, standard works of prose and poetry; medical, 
scientific and agricultural works; church and theological litera- 
ture; illustrated magazines and books in line bindings; art publi- 
cations, novels and song books, and the latest German newspapers 
and periodicals; also for photographs of ancient and modern mas- 
ters, fine photograph albums and portfolios, stationary and holi- 
day goods. To every stranger it is from its literary attractiveness 
a place not to be overlooked, while the German population of the 
city make it their chief rendezvous. Todrop into Holder's for a 
chat, a glimpse of the last new book or magazine, ami an inter- 
change of good fellowship is with them a daily duty. It is a popu- 
lar shopping-place for the ladies, who patronize its works of art, 
its department for church literature, and its society news. It is 
never without the last "new thing " in German literature, and is 
prepared to supply schools, town libraries and clubs with bouks 
in any number desired and at the shortest possible notice. The 
terms and prices which prevail will be found eminently fair aud 
reasonable, and orders are received for bookbinding. Mr. Kohler 
is a Germau by birth and has resided in Philadelphia for full half 
a century. He is known and honored in both German ami Ameri- 
can society for his broad culture, wide reading and ready wit, and 
has richly deserved the popularity he uowenjoys in both social aud 
business life. 

LOUIS MIDDLETON, Conveyancer, Real Estate and Fire 
Insurance Broker, Offices No. 731 Walnut Street, aud No. 
805 North Tenth Street.— The handling and transferring of 
realty aud the placing of risks on property constitutes 
as it goes without saying, a branch of business of peculiar import- 
ance in every centre of industry, commerce, and trade. And it 
may be observed, also, that it is asphereof usefulness that occu- 
pies the attention of some of the most solid and sagacious 
citizens in every community. Among such in this city few are 
better known or enjoy a larger share of public favor than Louis 
Middletou, the popular and responsible conveyancer, real estate 
and insurance broker. Mr. Middletou, who is a man in the prime 
of life, and a Philadelphian by birth, is a gentleman of the high- 
est personal integrity, as well as energy and experience, and is an 
active member of the Real Estate Exchange, and also of several 
social orders and clubs. He has been in business since 1876, and 
from the first his career has been marked by steady progress, 
building up a highly gratifying connection. Mr. Middletou con- 
ducts a general real estate and fire insurance brokerage business, 
buyiug and selling city and suburban property of every descrip- 
tion, and gives personal attention also to the collection of rents 
and interest. and tiie ma:- _. . oent of estates; loans are negotiated 
likewise— money being obtained and carefully invested in mort- 
gages and ground rents— while risks on real estate, household 
goods and merchandise are placed with the most reliable com- 
panies, at the lowest rates consistent with absolute security, and 
conveyancing in all its details accurately executed ; in short 
everything appertaining to the purchase, sale, transfer, and cam 
of realty, with its kindred interests, is judiciously and reliably 
attended to. 



ANTONIO ROIG & LANGSDORF, (Limited) Manufacture! t ■•( 
Havana Uigars, Store.No. 641 Arch Street, Factor} Nos. 
.117. :;i;i and 321 Nortl) Seventh Street.— As a national pur- 
chasing point for all staple and special!} high grade joods, 
Philadelphia is unquestionably the best on the continent. This is 
very Forcibly illustrated in the importaut line of tine Havana 
cigars as manufactured by the famous corporation of Antonio 
Roig & Langsdorf (limited). gentlemen's names are veri- 
table trade marks, linked with the very choicest cigars known to 
any trade. Mr. Antonio Roig, the president of the company, was 
born on the island of Cuba, where lie practically learned ever} 
detail of the cigar manufacturing industry and became an expert 
Judge of the choicest growths of vuelta abajos and other desirable 
growths of tobacco used in Havana. Twenty-five years agohe settled 
in Philadelphia, and here in 1871 began to manufacture the high- 
est class of pure Havana cigars. From the start his product met 
witli a most favorable reception from the trade and the public 
necessitating repeated enlargement of facilities, in 18S8 .Mr. 
Isidore Langsdorf, a widely and favorably known citizen and busi- 
ness man of Philadelphia came into co-partnership, other impor- 
tant interests involved were duly capitalized, aDd the present 
■company of Antonio Roig & Langsdorf (limited) organized with 
ample resources at command, and the equally important factors 
of vast practical experience, sound judgment and most influential 
connections. Mr. Langsdorf is the secretary and treasurer. The 
company's factory was for several years located at Nos. 641 Arch 
and 107 and 109 North Seventh Street, but the steady growth of 
trade, necessitated enlarged capacity, and in June, 1SS9, the com- 
pany removed to their present stand, a grand four-story building 
•equipped throughout, and where three bundled hands are em- 
ployed, of which, two hundred are the most skilful cigar makers 
to be found in Havana. The company's cigars are all handmade 
in the most careful cleanly manner and their famous special brand 
of '• La Flor Especial," is w itbout exception the most popular of 
any in fine American trade. The company is direct importer of 
the best growths of Havana leaf tobacco, also of Sumatra leaf for 
wrappers. The company allows no inferior leaf tobacco? in its 
factory, neither any but t lie most skilful cigar makers, and under 
vigilant supervision, tin- result is the perfect cigar, one that lead- 
ing and all lovers of tin fragrant leaf dearly enjoy, and always 
call for. It is thus a nm- judicious thing for cigar dealers, hotels, 
restaurants and jobber ■ to always have the " Roig & Langsdorf " 
cigars in stock. 

EDWARD J. DURBAN. Fire Insurance Agent, No. 403 Walnut 
Street.— Insurance is undoubtedly the right arm and main 
support of all business enterprises, and as such it merits 
special recognition in this work. The insurance agent oc- 
cupies an important position in the profession. He acts as the 
agent both of the company or companies he represents and of 
the property owner who employs him to place his insurance. He 
must necessarily be a thoroughly posted insurance man, compet- 
ent to judge the nature and liability of a risk and judge what an 
amount it should pay. The advantage to a property owner in em- 
ploying such an agent is in the [act that he is relieved of much 
trouble and expense in placing his own insurance! especially should 
it be a large line. Among the best known and most experienced 
insurance agents in Philadelphia is Mr. Edward J. Durbun. of No. 
403 Walnut Street. This gentleman has been identified with the 
Are insurance business for a period of eighteen years, and m 1SS8 
became the agent for the .-Etna Insurance Company, of Hartford, 
Conn., and opened his present office. He also represents the Com- 
merce of Albany, N. Y. ; the Farmers' of York. Pa., and the Cniou, 
of Pittsburg. He is the authorized agent and attorney for the 
.'Etna in the state ot Pennsylvania, and is prepared to effect in- 
surance at the lowest rates compatible with security, distributing 
the same in the most judicious manner, and guaranteeing the 
prompt and liberal adjustment of all lesses. The.Etua is the l.u 
gest insurance company in the United States, having a cash capital 
of -i v i.00,a net surplus ot £3,606,514.94, and total assets of $9,- 
780,751.63. It has been represented in Philadelphia fur over fifty 
years, and many of our largest property owners can testify to the 
just and equitable manner in which their interests have been sub- 
served by this great corporation. Mr. Durban is a native of Phila- 
delphia, a member of the Manufacturers' Club and of the Board of 

Underwriters, a director of various manufacturing companies, and 
of high repute and standing in commercial, and trade circles. 

Hensel, colladay company. Manufacturers and Im- 
porters of Ladles Dress Trimmings, Nos. 45,47, 19 and 51, 
North Seventh Street, New York Office, 386 Broadway.— 
This representative corporation is the successor to the 
old house of Messrs. Hensel, Coliaday a; Co., and .•■:.. duly 
Organized under the lausul Pennsylvania about eighteen months 
ago. The immense business controlled here was originally found- 
ed in 1850 by Henry W. Hensel, and who early achieved an 
enviable reputation for the superiority of his product. He was 
succeeded by the firm of Wolf i Co., ami they by the previously 
mentioned firm of Hensel, Coliaday & Co. The present company 

has a capital of $200, ami is in every respect the most 

thoroughly equipped concern of the kind in the country. The presi- 
dent, i? George S. Hensel ; secretary. S. B. Coliaday, and treasurer, 
W. F. Draper, merchants long and favorably known in leading 
commercial and financial circles, and who bun- to bear vast 
practical experience, markedexecutive capacity and great energy 
of character. The manager of the vain. us departments of the 
business are Messrs. Thomas Adams and E. L.Mullen, gentlemen 
of practical experience in dress trimmings, designing ami manu- 
facturing, and who enforce a thorough system of organization. 
The company own the immense building (five floors of which they 
occupy) and which is one of the largest and finest foi commercial 
purposes in the city. It is SoxlOO feet in dimensions aud is ver; 
handsomely furnished. Here is carried the largest ami most di - 
sirable stock in the United States of both imported die?, trimmings 
and those of the company's own manufacture. The departments 
include those devoted to gimps, cords, tassels, dress oruaments, 
plush balls, undertakers' trimmings, lambrequin-., Persian bauds, 
etc. The officers and managers of the company are renowned fur 
iheir superior skill and excellent taste and good judgment in the 
designs, patterns, novelties, etc., of all goods of their manufacture, 
and from 500 to 1000 hands are employed according to the season 
in the building and outside on special lines of work. All the richest 
and most attractive novelties are imported direct from Berlin, 
Paris, London, etc., and the company's laudable ambition to 
excel is generally recognized. They sell to the best trade of the 
United States, having a large branch warehouse at No. :',s,j Broad- 
way, New York, with branches also ill Boston and Chicago. 

SHUSTER Artistic Tailoring, No ElSouth Ninth Street 
—In the different industries ot Philadelphia the merchant 
tailoring business must be considered one of the most sig- 
nificant branches. In connection with this special ti lew i 
desire to jail attention to the Shuster Eros., who are young men 
possessing abilities of the highest order, and exquLsite taste and 
judgment in all that pertains to eleg .nee in gentlemen's wearing 
apparel, and who as designers, cutters and fashioners of coats ol all 
kinds, trousers, vests, etc , are not excelled. They have had a val- 
uable experience in the business, and Mr. H. W. Shuster. the head 
of the firm, was for a period of seven years one of the accomplished 
cutters in the house of John Wanamaker, while hi , brothel and co- 
partner, Mr. A. J. Shuster, has been identified with the trade 

upwards of ten yeai s. Their well appointed establisl ut at No. 

221 South Ninth Street is 26x60 feet, in size, aud is not only commod- 
ious and tastefully fitted up, but contains a superior assortment of 
the finest goods imported direct from Europe and of home produ 
tion, from which the most fastidious or critical need hud no diffi- 
culty in making a selection, while in fit ami workmanshq t 
satisfaction is guaranteed and given. The patronage is steadily 
growing and becoming widely extended, which bespcal sin the 
strongest terms the public appreciation of the skill and ability ol 
the firm, whose splendid workmanship and sut'.-i - i . ■ i artistic I illor- 
ing and sedulous attention to busiuessand the demands ol tl 
toners have given the establishment a high degree a 
Mr. A. W. Shuster, who was born in Lancastei Co .. tin state, but 
has lived in Philadelphia since childhood, while Mr A.J. Shuster 
was hem in this city. They have acquired well deserved reputa- 
tions as artists in their business Moderation in prices is a feature 
of the establishment, and the high, pet sonal character of the lii m 
is a sufficient assurance of the reliable maimer orders are 



THOS. THOMPSON*. SONS & CO., Manufacturers and Import- 
ers of Upholstery Goods, Cabinet Hardware and Railroad 
Car Supplies, No. 242 South Second Street.— The leading 
wholesale dealers, importers and manufacturers of up- 
holstery goods, cabinet hardware, etc., are Messrs. Thos. Thomp- 
son, Sous & Co. This is the oldest house 111 this line in the United 
States or in fact in the whole country, it being the first to engage 
in the importation and manufacture of these articles. Its incep- 
tion dates b;ick to 1S:"~, when it was founded by the late Mr. Thomas 
Thompson who early became noted for the select desirable char- 
acter of his importations of fine upholstery goods. He subse- 
quently took his brother into copartnership under the style uf 
Thos. & Lewis Thompson.' They subsequently dissolved, Mr. Thus. 
Thompson continuing the business and subsequently forming the 
firm of Thos. Thompson. Sous & Co., Mr. Washington Nicholson 
being a partner. The lamented decease of Mr. Thomas Thompson 
occurred ill 1SS0. aud lie was followed to the grave the next year by- 
Mr. Nicholson, leaving Messrs. Thomas M., and Lewis A. Thomp- 
son, sole proprietors, and who have since ably and successfully 
carried on the business, retaining the old and honored name and 
style. They bring to bear the widest range of practical experience 
coupled with perfected facilities and influential connections, and 
have always oil hand the most extensive ami desirable stock of 
upholstery goods in town. They built their present fine warehouse 
iu 1S72, the business having, its inception on Dock Street, remov- 
ing thence to next door to the present stand, No. '242 South Second 
Street. The premises are rive stories in height, 25x125 feet in di- 
mensions and handsomely fitted up. Here they carry the choicest 
imported silk plushes, raw silks, tapestries, velours, art fabrics, 
cretonnes, etc., also full lines of trimmings, fringes, gimps, 
etc., etc. An important department is that devoted to cabinet 
hardware of best brands, while another has everything in the line 
of railroad car supplies, including the strongest and most elastic' 
car seat springs yet made and which are manufactured by the 
arm upon an extensive scale. The firm number among their cus- 
todiers leading jobbers and furniture houses, upholsterers, car 
works, etc.. selling all over the middle states and south, while 
New York city trade has grown to be a prominent specialty. Mr. 
Thomas M. Thompson has been in the dim for thirty years past. 
He may be said to have been raised in the business, and is a recog- 
nized leading practical authority therein. He is the president of 
the Furniture Board of Trade, ably discharging the duties thus de- 
volving upon him, is a member of the Union League, aud is a 
public spirited citizen, who has ever give a hearty support to all 
measures test calculated to advance the city's welfare. He 
is also a member of the city council, aud chairman of the com- 
mittee on finance, and has devoted his best efforts to guiding the 
policy and methods of municipal government on the lines of honest 
administration of reform. Mr. Lewis A. Thompson is likewise a 
native of Philadelphia, who has had twenty-four years experience 
in this branch of business, and devotes close personal attention to 
the wants of the trade. He is a member of the Union League, and 
an influential, respected citizen. The house is nationally cele- 
brated iu Its line, and is unquestionably the most able, enterprising 
and well equipped exponent in its line on the continent. 

EDWARD H. CLOUD, Conveyancer and Real Estate Broker,, Southeast Corner Sixth and Walnut 
Stieets.— One of the most responsible and popular real es- 
tate brokers in this city is Mr. Edward H. Cloud, whose 
ofliee is eligibly situated at the southeast coiner of Sixth and Wal- 
nut stieets. None in the business sustains a higher reputation, and 
few enjoy a larger share of public favor aud confidence. Heh;:s 
been established as an uttorney-at-law, conveyancer and real es- 
tate broker since lSsTO, making a leading specialty of handling im- 
proved city property on commission, dwellings, building lots, 
stores and other tonus of property are bought, sold and exchanged, 
rents are collected, conveyances and all kinds of legal instruments 
are drawn up. titles are examined, estates are managed for absent 
owner 5 , and unsurpassed facilities are possessed for the prompt 
negotiation of loans on bond and mortgage. Investments are de- 
sirably placed, and Mr. Cloud is accounted among the best judges 
of the present and prospective values of improved city property in 
the business. He numbers among his clientele many of the 
wealthiest citizens and largest property owners in the city, and 

has carried through to a successful issue many heavy and import- 
ant transactions. His services are in constant requisition in a pio- 
fessional capacity as an agent and expert, and are always ren- 
dered witli promptitude and conscientious fidelity to the test 
interests of his clients. Mr. Cloud is a native Philadelphia!), aud 
a young man of the highest social, professional aud business stand 
ing. He was one of the founders of the Real Estate Title Insur- 
ance and Trust Company, of this city, and has won success in his 
business by honestly deserving it. 

GEO. RUNGE & CO., Importers and Commission Merchants, 
No. 2S Bank Street.— The wholesale trade in dry goods and 
woolens has several accessory branches, quite as essential 
and important in their way, and prominent among the num- 
ber is the trade in buttons, braids and tailors' trimmings, so well 
represented iu this city by the old established houseof Geo. Runge 
<5sCo.,the well-known importers aud commission merchants, at 
No. 28 Bank Street. This house was originally established in 1854, 
by Messrs. Runge & Scliwietering, who were succeeded by Messrs. 
Geo. Runge and H. T. Plate in 1862, under the name of Geo. Kunge 
& Co. In 1882 Mr. Runge died, since which time Mr. Plate has 
continued the business as sole proprietor without change ot firm 
name. The premises cccupied for trade purposes comprise three 
floors, 25x100 feet each, where is always displayed a complete 
assortment of every pattern, texture, width and shade, including 
braids and trimmings for tailors and various supplies for manu- 
facturers of a kindred character. Mr. Plate has made a special 
study of the trade in tailors' trimmings and is a recognized author- 
ity in the market, handling all the staple products and freshest 
novelties of European manufactories. He makes a specialty of 
fine goods and first class fancy trimmings, and handles important 
lines of the above goods on commission, offering inducements of 
the most substantial character both to jobbers and retailers. His 
trade is large and influential throughout Pennsylvania, New 
Jersey. Maryland and the south, and he has ever retained the con- 
fidence of our leading commercial circles. The characteristics 
which regulate the business policy of tins house are such asentitle 
it to general respect and consideration, while the close attention 
devoted to the filling of orders Is characteristic of the establish- 
ment and serves to steadily enlarge the trade, both from city and 
country, Mr. Plate is an expert and reliable merchant who has 
won a measure of popularity, confidence and respect in trade cir- 
cles second to none in the trade. 

DURYEAS' Starch and Improved Corn Starch, and Diamond 
Sugar Works; Sugar. Syrup and Glucose. Glen Cove Manu- 
facturing Co., No. 21 South Front Stieet.— The Glen Cove 
Manufacturing Company and Duryeas' starchand improved 
corn starch enjoy a national reputation and a trade co-extensive 
with the limits of the entire country. They are represented in 
Philadelphia by Mr. J. K. El welt, who occupieseligible salesrooms 
at No. 21 South Front Street, and who has been established in the 
business here since 1881. He has the exclusive sale of these goods 
throughout the state of Pennsylvania, aud is prepared to fill the 
largest ordeis for the celebrated Duryeas' starch, corn starch, as 
well as sugar, syrup and glucose, at the shortest nottce. The- 
manufacturers employ at their factory from six hundred to one 
thousand hands, and their output is one of colossal magnitude and 
importance. They have been engaged in the industry for a period 
of thirty years, aud their products have become so universally 
popular as to practically supplant all similar goods in many of the 
leading markets of the country. The characteristics which regu- 
late the business policy of this great manufacturing concern are 
such as entitle it to every consideration, while the extent of its 
trade has made it t he most prominent one in its line in the Union, 
while the Inducements offered to customers are ot the most sub- 
stantial character. The manager in this city brings to bear the 
widest range of practical experience, coupled with an intimate 
knowledge of the wants and requirements of the trade, and is 
eminently popular and successful in meeting all its demands. 
The call upon his resources is such as to necessitate the carrying 
of an immense stock, to the end that no delay may be experienced 
in the filling of orders, while tin: quality and character of the pro- 
ducts handled commend them to the confidence aud patronage of 
the most critical and discriminating of buyeis. 



F. It. Ruoads, State Agent Office, No. 130 Walnut Street.— 
At the present day insurance against accidents is becom- 
ing universal. Any person whether he be walking, riding, 
driving, boating, or traveling by land or water, or in an; 
ol tlie usual avocations of life is liable at any moment to unfor- 
seeu disaster. In fact accident insurance is to yourself, what life 
Insurance is tn your successor, while at the same time it costs very 
much less than life insurance*, and with many particulars is mote 
within the reach of t lie mil I inn. In connection with these remarks, 
special reference Is made in this commercial review of Philadel- 
phia, to the representative and reliable Accident Insurance Corn- 
pany of North America, whose office is located at No. 430 Walnut 
Street. This progressive company was incorporated ill 1ST.', and 
now bus a paid up capital of $132,000,00, Its career has been a 
very successful one, highly creditable to the conservative methods 
and prudence of its management. Whether men travel much or 
not is almost indifferent, as it will be usually found that when the 
loan who is not used to traveling, does travel, his chances of 
accident are greater than those of the experienced traveler. Be- 
sides, there are numerous channels ror accidents apart from those 
of mere travel ; accidents await and befal man every day, in ways 
too numerous to indicate in this short circular; suffice it to say, 
that accident insurance should, when fully understood and ap- 
preciated, commend itself to every cautious man. The great 
amount of benefit to be derived ill proportion or the trilling charge, 
renders it a provision that should be availed of by all. Policies are 
granted against accidents causing bodily injury or loss of life ; for 
the payment of a stipulated sum per week, from $5 to $25, for dis- 
abling injury ; or the payment of the principal sum insured, from 
$250 to $5,000, it the injury cause death within three months. It is 
not necessary that the insured should be killed out-right in order 
to entitle his friends to the benefit of the policy. Should he die 
from the direct causes of the accident, within three months after 
the occurrence of the accident, his policy will be good for t tie full 
amount insured, less such sums as may have beeu paid him in the 
meantime, as weekly allowances. The following advantages have 
been recently added, making the policies of this company the 
most complete and protective extant:— Payment of the full face 
of the policy, in case of the hiss by accident of two limbs it the 
sight of both eyes. Payment of one-third of the face of the policy 
in case of the loss by accident of one complete limb, (arm or leg). 
The Accident Insurance Company of North America Is noted for its 
reliability and liberality, proof of which is that it lias paid over 
18,200 losses for upwards of 5870,000. It has now ample resources 
and has made all requisite deposits with the insurance depart- 
ments of the United States and Canada. The chief executive 
officers of the company are the Hon. James Ferrier, president, 
senator, and. chairman Grand Trunk Railway, and Edward 
Rawlings, managing director. Mr. F. li. Rhoads, the manager of 
the Philadelphia office, has control of the company's business in 
Pennsylvania, New Jersey and Delaware. Hfi> highly regarded 
by the community for his promptness and integrity, and has had 
charge of this branch for the last eight years. The conditions of the 
company's policies are broad and liberal, and injuries received in 
the attempt to save human life are fully covered. Tile company's 
head office is iii Montreal, Canada, and the foil. .wing aie its 
references In Philadelphia: Benjamin t'.. Comegys, president 
Philadelphia National Rank; J. Livingston Erringer, president 
Philadelphia Trust and Safe Deposit Company ; Alfred M, Collins,A. 
M. Collins, Sons & c... : John C. Sims, Jr., secretary Pennsylvania 
R. R. Company; C. Hartshome, vice-president Lehigh Valley R. 
R.; G. R. W. Amies, treasurer Sheiiadoah Valley R. R. 

PKEUPP & PONS, Shoe Manufacturers, No. 223 North 
Third street.— Few if an> departments of industrial 
m activities have attained greater perfection in this city 
than that of the manufacture of Hue boots and The 
competition has been great, but those engaged In the industry 
have been equal to all emergencies and the result is that It class ,.f 
goods is produced not excelled by any others in the country 
Among those prominently engaged in this special line of ma 
ture we find the linn of P. Krupp & 
men of experience and although only established about three years 
b.iv.- sec iied a _■ ml si ! r.intia! \ - riuaueiit trade in tins city and 

through the statesot Pennsylvania, New Jersey and Delaware by 
being rait and liberal in their dealings and supplying a line o( 
goods which fur superiority of material and high standard char- 
acter ... workmanship are not surpassed. Their method of doing 

business at once brought the firm int.. prominence and n-> .. 
quence the goods produced are always in demand among the best 

cl f dealers. The Hint was! lerlj located at No. 318 Cherry 

Street, but were compelled In February last to seek larger and 
more commodious quarters to meet the growing demands of the 
trade and secured the premises now occupied at No. 223 North 
Third Street, which consists of the whole of the third floor of a 
targe budding having dimensions of 20x100 feet. The equipment 
is of the very best character and a force of skilled workmen are 
kept constantly engaged. The firm manufacture a general line of 
fine and medium grade boots, shoes and gaiters for men, youths 
.ml beys. an. i ladies, misses, and children In all the new popular 
prevailing styles and can quote prices that cannot be otherwise 
than satisfactory. Mr. P. Krupp and his sons and co-partners Mr. 
E. and R. Krupp are all natives of Germany. They have been in 
thi- country and in Philadelphia many years and as successful 
manufacturers their standing is of the very best. 

BRIEAN & GODWIN, Architects and Engineers. No. 1413 Fil- 
bert Street. — This firm are deservedly prominent both as 
general architects and mill engineers and have beeu estab- 
lished in practice here since l.sstj. Mr. Josiah S. Brlean has 
charge of the architect work of the firm, while Mr. Harold I od 
win Is a civil, mechanical and mining engineer or large experi- 
ence and high reputation, and makes a -pecialty of designing mill 
buildings and the putting in of manufacturing plants. The latter 
gentleman is a graduate of the Polytechnic College of Philadel- 
phia, and among the important commissions executed by him may 
be mentioned. Geo. Richard-.', machine works: A. H. F.;:_ 
carriage factory, J. B. Van Sciver & Co's. furniture factory and 
many other mills in the city and vicinity. The linn Iravedesigned 
the plans for and superintended the erection of many of the hand- 
somest residences iu the city and suburbs, while samples of tTeir 
taste and skill are scattered throughout Pennsylvania, New Jer- 
sey, Delaware and many other states of the union. They make 
the same careful study of the interior requirements as of exteri- 
ors, while their computations are accurate, their plans thoroughly 
homogeneous and practical, and the style of architecture pure, 
chaste and symmetrical. The aim of the firm is to secure to tile 
owner the best results within tile limits of estimates, and their close 
adherence to specifications and careful supervision of builders, 
point them out as architects of the highest professional attain- 
ments. Messrs. Briean £ Godwin are both natives of Delaware, 
residents of this city for the past ten years, and gentlemen of the 
highest social and business standing whose future is bright with 
the promise of a long career of usefulness and prosperity. 

CH. COLESWORTHY, Manufacturer of Bra-s Edged mid Zinc 
Boot and Shoe Patterns of all kinds, No. 249 Arch Street.— 
As an example of what energy and enterprise, when intel- 
ligently directed, nan accomplish tor men in business life, 
it is interesting to note the career of Mr. C. H. Coleswoi rhy manu- 
facturer of brass edged and zinc boot and shoe patterns of all 
kinds, whose ably conducted establishment is located at No. -t'.> 
Arch Street. Being a man of push ami foresight, as well as skill 
and ambition, he determined in 1833 to engage in business on his 
own account. The result has proven eminently satisfactory, for, 
from the inception of his enterprise, his career has been a record 
of steady progress, and to-day he maintains a pre-eminent posi- 
tion in this branch of trade in Philadelphia. The premises occupied 
are ample and commodious, and a force of skilled and expert v. ork. 
men are employed in manufacturing all kinds of pattern- In metal 
used in the cutting of uppers and soles of shoes. The best and 
latest mechanical appliances appertaining to the trade are in u>e 
here, and the establishment is excellently equipped for meeting 
all orders promptly and satisfactorily. The products of this pros- 
perous house are in great demand everywhere among shoemakers, 
owing to the ii gen ivl uniform excellence and reliability, the 
trade extending to all parts of the United states. All orders are 
promptly tilled on short notice. Special patterns are satisfai 
supplied on order at reason ible rates. 



HF. PHILLIPS, Commission Merchant, Oysters, No. 330 South 
Delaware Aveuue.— The importance of the oyster trade as 
m a representative commercial industry ol this great busi- 
ness centre is apparent, in consequence of the prominent 
part it has taken in the general growth atid prosperity of the busi- 
ness interests of the city. Among the principal causes which have 
led to the great increase of this trade, are the great improvements 
made and provided for the speedy and preservable condition of 
these goods in transportation to consumers at a distance. A. 
prosperous and thoroughly progressive house engaged in this trade 
in Philadelphia well deserving of especial mention in this volume 
is that of Mr. H. F. Phillips, whose place of business is centrally 
located at No. 330 South Delaware Avenue, and has acquired a 
marked reputation for the superior excellence of its products and 
reliable business management. Mr. Phillips is a native of Virginia. 
»nd established himself in this line of trade originally as a 
planter of and dealer in oysters in Virginia in 1S70, and from the 
date of his commencement has met with uninterrupted suc- 
cess, his trade increasing to such proportions that he deter- 
mined to come to this city and establish more direct communica- 
tions with his customers. He iuaugurated this branch of the busi- 
ness at his present headquarters originally in September 1888, 
which has met with popular approval as is evidenced by the large 
and constantly increasing trade he now enjoys. He occupies 
spacious and commodious premises which are fitted up with 
special reference to the receiving and shipping of large consign- 
ments and general handling of all kinds of shell-fishas his trade is 
exclusively wholesale, and extends throughout this city and state, 
New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland and other regions, and bids fair' 
to become much greater in the Dear future. He plants and raises 
his own oysters at Hampton Ear, Virginia, besides dealing in large 
quantities from other famous beds, and handles only the very 
choicest and best grades of oysters, clams, hard and soft-shell 
crabs, terrapins, green turtles, etc. He has the best possible 
facilities at.hand for the prompt fulfillment of all orders, forward- 
ing his oysters, clams, etc., in barrels, pails, tubs, crates, baskets, 
etc., in the best preservable condition by the shortest and most 
direct routes. Customers can obtain from him inducements as re- 
gards both prices and reliability of goods, besides the most liberal 
terms and prices. Mr. Phillips is a gentleman of middle age, 
affable and courteous in his social relations and enjoys the fullest 
confidence of all witli whom he has ever had any business rela- 

PETER F. CUNNINGHAM & SON, Publishers and Catholic 
Booksellers, Importers of Catholic Books and Catholic Goods, 
No. 817 Arch Street.— The leading headquarters in this 
city for Catholic books and Catholic goods is the establish- 
ment of Messrs. Peter F.Cunningham & Son, located at No. 817 
Arch Street. This firm are widely prominent as publishers and 
Catholic booksellers, at wholesale and retail, and as extensive im- 
poi r rs of the best foreign goods known to this line of trade. The 
business was originally established in I860, by Mr. Peter F. Cun- 
ningham, and in 1SS0 the present firm was organized by the admis- 
sion of Mr. Francis A. Cunningham to partnership. The business 
premises comprise an entire four-story brick building, 40x150 feet 
in dimensions, giving ample room for supplying the most ex tensive 
demand. The stock carried is oue of the finest and most compre- 
hensive of its kind in the country, and the trade and public are 
promptly supplied with this class of goods, in any amount desired 
and at terms and prices which are safe from successful competi- 
tion. Among the late and valuable publications of this house may 
be named Early Martyrs, in five series; Lives of St. Augustine. St. 
Aloysius Gonzaga, St. Thomas of Villianova, St. Stanislas Kostka, 
St. .John Berchm.His. St. Charles Borromeo, St. Catherine of 
Sienna. St. Teresa, St. Cecilia. St. Rose of Lima, St. Margaret of 
Coitona, St. Aryela Merice, St Agnes of Borne, St. Benedict the 
Moor, and B. Mary Ann of Jesus; Butler's catechism. Meditations 
of St. Ignatius, Meditations on the Litany, Sanctuaries of the 
Madonna, The Roman Catacombs, The Ruccolta, Man's Contract 
v.itli God, The Year of .Mary, Devotions for the Dying, and many 
popular Catholic tales, and a large collection of entertaining and 
instructive volumes for the }oung Catholic's library. Mr. P. F. 
Cunningham, the senior partner and founder of the house, is a 
native of Ireland, and is well known and highly esteemed in this 

city for his business ability and sterling integrity. Mr. F. A. Cun- 
ningham, the junior partner, is a well-known member of the Phila- 
delphia bar, and combines his energy and enterprise to form a 
arm of commanding influence, wide popularity andsnlid worth. 

WOLF i CO., Importers, Publishers and Manufacturers of 
Fine Art Novelties, Chromoand Advertising Cards, Etc., 
Nos. 617 and 619 Arch Street.— Without question the 
house of Wolf & Co., has attained the lead and main- 
tains the supremacy in advertising and art novelties and gives 
the public the benefit of all the latest novelties as fast as they 
appear in Europe or America, while their own facilities are unri- 
valled. The firm is composed of Messrs. Edward, Isaac andGus. 
Wolf. They established in business ten years ago, and during the 
intervening period have developed a trade of enormous magnitude 
their house being the largest in the United States in this line. Th« 
scope of their operations covers all classes of fine art novelties, 
chromo. advertising and show cards and embossed envelopes 
being specialties. Their lithographic novelties are world famous 
and the firm are exporting them to Europe. The house has 
repeatedly had to enlarge its premises and facilities, and now has 
an extensive lithographing and printing house, corner of Seventh 
and Dickinson Streets, fully equipped with improved machinery, 
etc. and where fully two hundred hands find steady employment. 
Their Arch Street store is also of very large size, extending entirely 
through the block to Cherry Street, 40x2SS feet in dimensions. 
The office and salesroom occupy fifty feet on the Arch Street 
front, while the remainder is devoted to manufacturing, sixty 
clerks, salesmen and other hands are employed here In point of 
strikingly original and attractive designs, and artistic embellish- 
ments, Messrs. Wolf & Co's., cards are the most popular and in 
greatest demand. The firm command the most popular novelties 
for advertising purposes, including elegant framed cards, giving 
large portraits of actresses and other beautiful women, etc., 
specially in use by cigarette and tobacco houses, and numerous 
others: dry goods and fancy goods novelties in chromo cards, in 
such styles as fancy tans, easels, placqnes, etc, embossed cards 
etc. Messrs. Wolf & Co.. sell very heavily to the trade of the 
United States, as well as filling large orders for leading houses. 
A Berlin branch is located at No. 10 Alte Jacob Strasse, while to meet 
the growing demands of the trade in New York and the east, they 
have an office in that city at room forty -eight, Prescott building. 

HUNTER & DrCKSON. Pipe, Fittings and Brass Goods for 
Gas, Steam and Water, Nos. 2t:i and J4.5 Arch Street.— In 
the progress of this review of the various industries of this 
thriving metropolis, attention is directed to the well- 
known and popular house of Messrs. Hunter & Dickson, jobbers of 
iron and galvanized pipe, fittings and brass goods, located at Nos. 
243 and 245 Arch Street. The business of this house was established 
in 1881, and its subsequent career of prosperity is indicative of the 
zeal and ability devoted to its management. The premises occu- 
pied for trade purposes are spacious in size, and a splendid stock 
of the above-named commodities is constantly carried. Being eon- 
ducted on sound business principles, and with the ability, capacity 
and foresight that are naturally inspired by a thorough knowledge 
of the business and the requirements of patrons, the firm long ago 
attracted the attention of the trade throughout a wide section of 
the country, and have steadily retained its favor and confidence. 
The success attending the operations of this enterprising firm has 
been steady and continuous, and to-day they occupy a position in 
the trade scarcely second to any house in the country. The sup- 
plies furnished by them comprise everything in pipe, fittings and 
brass goods used for gas, steam and water, and they are of a char- 
acter that recommends their own superior merits to the confidence 
of close and critical buyers. They are placed to the trade at terms 
and prices which are safe from successful competition, and they 
are m heavy and influential demand throughout Pennsylvania, 
Delaware, New Jersey, Maryland, Virginia and West Virginia. 
Orders hy telephone, or otherwise, are given prompt and perfect 
fulfillment, and trade is brisk and lively at all seasons. The co- 
partner-, Messrs. T. Comly Hunter and D. Frank Dickson, are 
native philadelphians, and young men of ability, energy and wide 
popularity, whose continued success and permanent prosperity 
seems well assured. 



ers of the " Famous '' Oil Ranges, Etc., No. 123 North Second 
Street, W. L. McDowell, President, S. V. Reeves, Secretary. 
—We question if to any other subject connected with our 
modes of being in the United States, so much careful thought in 
connection with inventive talent ami taste lias been devoted, as 
that of providing the means for the production ol artificial heat for 
domestic and cooking purposes. As a result American stoves, 
heaters and ranges are unequaled for economy in the consumption 
of fuel ami general efficiency, while at the same time they are the 
embodiments of mechanical workmanship of the highest order of 
perfection. No better illustration id the truth of this statement 
can be found, than by an inspection of the extensive stock of 

i 'y'~">^-'-*. 

stoves, heaters and ranges, shown by the representative and popu- 
lar Leibrandt and McDowell Stove Company, No. 123 North Second 
Street. Philadelphia. The company's foundries, which are among 


the largest and best equipped in America, are located at Gunner's 
Run. Girard Avenue and Ash Street, Philadelphia, and it likewise 
has branch offices and salesroooms at No. 17 East Lombard Street, 

■ . I ...... 

- , w 

< ; 

Baltimore. This extensive business was established in 1841, b; 
Warniek & Leibrandt, who were succeeded by Leibrandt & 
McDowell, and Leibrandt, McDowell A Co. Eventually in 1S69 it 
was duly incorporated under the laws of Pennsylvania, with 
ample capital as the " Leibrandt and .McDowell Stove Company," 
and its trade now extends throughout the entire United Stat»s 
and Canada. In the foundries lied operatives are employed, 

who turn out annually vast numbers oi stoves, ran;.-., and fur- 
naces, holloware, etc. The company's goods are unsurpassed for 
beautiful ornamentation, excellence of finish, symmetrical pro- 
portions and, perfect operation, fully meeting the requirements 
Of the most critical customers. These splendid stoves, ranges 

ami heaters .are admirably adapted to the wauts of any 
section of the country and kind of fuel, while the prices 
quoted foi them In all cases are exceedingly just and moderate. 
Thp company's many years experience enables it to accomplish 
novel and useful improvements, for winch its officers are constant- 
ly on the alert, and as soon as practical place them before the pub- 
lic witltnew goods, or by careful remodelling the company's popu- 
larand well tested patterns. The company's " Famous" oil itove 
and ranges have latterly attained great popularity, and are the 
most practical, original, safe and desirable apparatus of this class. 
Explosion with these unrivalled oil stoves i, Impossible, there is 
no leakage or bad odor, while they are unsurpassed for economy, 
capacity, utility and durability. The following gentlemen who are 
widely and favorably known in trade circles for their enter- 
prise, ability and just methods are the officers. W. I,. V 
Dowell, president ;S. R. McDowell, vice president; W. G. J' > 
Dowell, treasurer; S. V. Reeves, secretary; The Philadel- 
phia warehouse Is a spacious four-story and basement 
building, 40x200 feet in area, fully equipped with every 
convenience and appliance for the accomodation and dis- 
play of the immense stock of the company's goods and spe 
cialties which have nosuperiors in America, anil are general 
favorites with the trade aud public wherever introduced. 
Mr. W. L. McDowell, the president, is a director of the Com- 
monwealth National Bank, secretary and treasurer of the 
West Buck Mountain Coal and Don Company, and presi- 
dent of the Bryn Mawr and Merlon Turnpike Company. The 
Leibraudt and McDowell Stove Company publishes annually a 
very superior illustrated catalogue, which is forwarded to any 
address promptly upon application. 

WJ. McCANDLEsS & CO., Sanitary Plumbing, No. 716 Wal- 
nut Street. -Of late years plumbing has become a 
m science, and upon its proper study and application 
depend the solution of many questions of drainage, 
ventilation and sanitary conditions. In these days of complexities 
Of city life, the plumber has become essential in the highest degree 
to our comfort and health, and the necessity of employing only 
those who are thoroughly qualified in every department of the 
business is apparent to every man of ordinary intelligence. A 
popular and progressive house engaged in this line of industry, in 
this great manufacturing and commercial centre, worthy of more 
than passing mention in these pages is that of Messrs. W. .1. Mc- 
Candless & Co., whose establishment is so centrally located 
at No. 710 Walnut Street, and for years has sustained a most 
enviable reputation for superior work and fair, square buM- 
ness management. The members of the firm are W. J. McCami- 
less and Robert A. Arthur, both young men ami native Philadel. 
phians. They are both first-class and experienced men in this 
business, which was acquired by years of close application and the 
study of sanitary engineering : and are licensed to carry on their 
business by the Board of Health of this city. They found 
establishment under the present Arm title in 1S76 and at once met 
with the mast gratifying success, building up in a very short time 
a very liberal and Influential patronage derived principally from 
among our leading architects, building contractors, house owners 
and business men generally, which is annually increasing to very 
large proportions, They occupy premises of ample dimension . 
suitably arranged ami tally equipped with all the necessary tools 
and appliances required in the business, and employment is fur- 
nished to a force of workmen sufficient in numbei s to meet the d ■- 
mauds of their trade. The firm is prepared to do a.ll kinds oi woi k 
pertaining to plumbing, gasandsteam-Stting business includin tl 
entire wmk of public buildings, business houses, residences, livery 
Stables and other structures, which is performed in tit" most thor- 
ough and satisfactory manner. Water and sewer connect.' 
ceive careful attention, and in fact all sanitary engineering is 
looked after in the best possible manner. Estimates are fu : i 
contracts a re entered into and executed promptly and satisfactor- 
ilj at the time specified while they always quote bed-rock prices 
Repairing receives prompt attention also at i- is liable 
Ml ;srs. MeCandlesS and Arthur are wide awake, energetic and re 

liable business men, and recognize the tact that •_• 1 work at f r 

ami le.nest prices arc conducive to success and permanency in 



COMMERCIAL NATIONAL BANK, of Pennsylvania, No. 311 
Chestnut Street. George L. Knowles, President, E. P. Gra- 
ham, Cashier.— One of the oldest banking institutions in 
Philadelphia arid the state, is the Commercial National Bank 
of Pennsylvania, whose banking offices are centrally located at 
No. 314 Chestnut Street. This veteran fiscal corporation dates its 
origin back to the early part of the present century, viz:. 1810. In 
that year it was duly incorporated by a special act of the legisla- 
ture, and commenced business with a paid up capital of $1,000,000. 
The first president was Andrew Bayard, a noted Philadelphia 
n.'iaueier v. ho was also first president of the Philadelphia Savings 
Fund Society. He served the bank from 1S10 to law, the time of his 
death, and wa3 succeeded by another eminent financier, James 
Dundas, who served until January 1840, when he resigned. Under 
these two administrations, the Commercial National Bank attained 
a large share of importance in the commercial and industrial inter- 
e-.tsof Philadelphia. Jacob M.Thomas was president from January, 
1849, to October. 1853, when he died and was succeeded by William 
Walnwright. who was president from 1853 to 1S57. He was succeeded 
by Joseph Jones from 1S57 to 1S6S and then by James L. Claghorn, 
from lsrt.s to 1884, when he died. Eventually in 1884 Mr. Geo. L. 
Knowles, who now so ably fills the office of president and is a gen- 
tleman long and favorably known in the financial world was 
elected to the office. The charterer the bank was renewed from 
time to time until the national system was established aud under 
that act it was reorganized in 1864 as the Commercial National 
Bank of Pennsylvania. Its present capital is 8810.000 with a sur- 
plus of $221,000. By its sound and liberal methods, the Commercial 
National Bank has largely aided the development of the mercan- 
tile and manufacturing interests of the city in the past, and the 
growth of the bank has been only commensurate with the energy, 
liberality and progressive spirit of Its management. A valuable 
aud increasing list of patrons is drawn to its counters, the skill of 
the management and the high standing of its officers and directors 
giving every guarantee of the intelligent conservation of all inter- 
ests committed to their care. It may be mentioned as an historical 
fact that the board of directors of the bank since its very inception 
has been composed of men of the highest standing, both as regards 
position, capita!, intellect amiability. Its management has always 
been thoroughly conservative, and it is to-day one of the most 
vigorous exponents of the soundest principles governing banking 
and finance. It is a bank of issue and deposit, discounts approved 
commercial papers, negotiates loans, makes collections in ail 
available points in the United States, Canada and Europe, and 
engages in all transactions that come legitimately under the head 
of banking. Its officials are noted for their courtesy and prompt 
ness in the dispatch of business, thoroughly accommodating to 
patrons and popular with all who are brought into business rela- 
tions with them. The following is the list of the officers and direc- 
tors: George L. Knowles, president: E. P. Graham, cashier; Direc- 
tors: George L. Knowles, P. Jenks Smith, William Weightman, John 
Sellers, Jr., J. Dundas Lippincott, Francis M. Brooke, Edward 
Hellor, William P. Smith, Jr., James C. Brooks, James W. Cooke, 
L<?o Loeb and Thomas Moore, this bank participated in the early 
loans to the National Government in 1861 and it has successfully 
weathered all financial panics during the last seventy-nine 
years and has come down to us as strong and as sound as ever 
and is as full of life and business energy as when it was first 
organized, and it is to-day one of the live financial institutions of